DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 21, “the fourth lateral side” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-30 re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 21 now recites that the cable retention cover is configured to (both) engage and disengage the body block. However, the cable retention cover cannot do both at the same time, but only alternatively.
Claims 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 21 recites that the cable retention cover is configured to (both) engage and disengage the body block. However, the cable retention cover cannot do both at the same time, but only alternatively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahajan (US 7,604,498) in view of Hayashi et al. (US 10,476,179), Noda (US 5,498,172) and Ittah (US 5,199,899).
Regarding claim 21, Mahajan discloses a bridge/splitter connector configured to perform any of a splice, a tap, or a bridge connection (intended use), the bridge/splitter connector (100) comprising a body block (120) and first and second cable retention covers (110a, 110b), each of opposite identical first and second sides, each of the body block including: a cable channel (120a, 122a) configured to receive a multi-conductor flat cable there-within; a plurality of conductive piercing members (102, 104) within the cable channel, the plurality of conductive piercing members configured to piece insulation of the multi-conductor flat cable when received within the cable channel; a first opening (left end of 120a, Fig. 1A) to the cable channel located at a first or second end of the body block, respectively; a cavity (right end of 120a, Figs. 1a and 1b) within the body block (120), the cavity contiguous with and perpendicular to the cable channel (three dimensional space has at least one dimension that is perpendicular to the longitudinal extension of the channel), the cavity configured to receive a cut end of the multi-conductor flat cables therewithin; and wherein [at least one of] the cable retention covers (110a) configured to [alternatively]: 1) engage the body block, so as to retain the multi-conductor flat cable within the cable channel (Fig. ab); and ii) disengage the body block to expose the cable channel, thereby permitting the multi-conductor flat cable to be received within and/or removed from the cable channel (Fig. 1a), wherein the each of the conductive piercing members within the cable channel on the first side of the body block is conductively coupled to a corresponding one of the conductive piercing members within the cable channel on the second side of the body block, thereby providing conductive coupling between corresponding conductors of the multi-conductor flat cables received within the cable channels on both of the opposite identical first and second sides of the body block, and wherein the body block has 180° rotational symmetry such that the opposite identical first and second sides can be interchanged with one another by rotating the body block 180° about an axis of symmetry (vertical line in Fig. 1a).
Hayashi teaches the body block (10) having 180 degrees rotational symmetry such that the opposite first and second sides can be interchanged with one another by rotating the block about an axis of symmetry (SL1 or X, Figs. 3 and 4) that is perpendicular to the cable channel (17). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a body block to have symmetry on an axis that is perpendicular to the channels, as taught by Hayashi, in order to simplify use.
Noda teaches a removable tab (27) blocking a second opening to the cable channel at a second or first end opposite that of the first or second end, respectively, at which the first opening is located; a cavity (space between 27 and 24) extending into the body block (21) from the cable channel (23), the body block enclosing the cavity at a bottom thereof and on all lateral sides thereof when the removable tab (27) has not been removed, the cavity configured to receive a cut end of the multi-conductor flat (30) therewithin. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a removable tab and cavity space, as taught by Noda, in order to cover unused openings and house and protect the end of the cable.
Ittah teaches a cable channel (56-59) having a longitudinal direction such that the cable channel is configured to receive a longitudinal portion of a multi-conductor flat cable there-within (intended use); and a cavity (not labeled, at 35 in Fig. 4, see also Figs. 5 and 6) extending into the body block from the cable channel, the body block enclosing the cavity at a bottom and on three lateral sides, configured to receive a cut end of the multi-conductor flat cable in a direction perpendicular to that of the longitudinal direction of the cable channel (intended use). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use perpendicular channels, as taught by Ittah, in order to allow for cooling and save material. Please note that the use of the removable tab (of Noda) with the cavity of Ittah, results on the removable tab forming a fourth lateral side (at 60-63) of the cavity.
Regarding claim 22, Mahajan discloses that, for each of the opposite identical first and second sides, the conductive piercing members are driven into the conductors of the multi-conductor flat cables in response to engaging the cable retention cover with the body block (Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 23, Mahajan, as modified, discloses that for each of the opposite identical first and second sides, the cavity is located between the plurality of conductive piercing members and the removable tab, thereby ensuring that when a cut end of the multi-conductor flat cable is inserted into the cavity, the conductive piercing members will pierce the insulation of a portion of the multi-conductor cable residing within the channel.
Regarding claim 24, Mahajan discloses that each of the opposite identical first and second sides of the body block can be independently configured either to connect to the multi-conductor flat cable extending from only one the first and second ends of the body block or to connect to the multi-conductor flat cable extending from both first and second ends of the body block (Figs. 1b and 4).
Regarding claim 25, Mahajan discloses that each of the opposite identical first and second sides of the body block can be independently configured to either connect to the cut end of the multi-conductor flat cable or to connect to a middle portion of a multi-conductor flat ribbon cable (Figs. 1b and 4).
Regarding claim 26, Mahajan, as modified, discloses that each of the opposite identical first and second sides of the body block can be configured to connect to the cut end of the multi-conductor flat cable in response to: the removable tab not being removed; the cut end of the multi-conductor flat cable being inserted into the cavity; the multi-conductor flat cable being bent at an intersection of the cavity and the cable channel, thereby laying a portion of the multi-conductor flat cable within the cable channel and over the plurality of conductive piercing members; and the cable retention covers being engaged with the body block, so as to retain the multi-conductor flat cable within the cable channel, the multi-conductor cables extending from the first opening at the end of the body block (Fig. 1b).
Regarding claim 27, Mahajan, as modified, discloses that each of the opposite identical first and second sides of the body block can be configured to connect to the middle of the multi- conductor flat cable in response to: the removable tab being removed; the first and second removable tabs not being removed, thereby revealing the second opening to the cable channel; the middle of the multi-conductor flat cable being laid into the cable channel; and the cable retention covers being engaged with the body block, so as to retain the multi-conductor flat cable within the cable channel, the multi-conductor cables extending from both the first and second openings to the cable channels at the first and second ends of the body block (Figs. 1a and 1b).
Regarding claim 28, Mahajan discloses that the bridge/splitter can be configured to perform a tap by configuring each of the first and second sides to couple to the cut end of the multi-conductor flat cable received with the cable channel (intended use).
Regarding claim 29, Mahajan discloses that the bridge/splitter can be configured to perform a splitter by configuring one of the first and second sides to couple to the cut end of the multi-conductor flat cable received with the cable channel and configuring the other of the first and second sides to couple to the middle of the multi-conductor flat cable received with the cable channel (intended use).
Regarding claim 30, Mahajan discloses that the bridge/splitter can be configured to perform a bridge by configuring each of the first and second sides to couple to the middle of the multi-conductor flat cable received with the cable channel (intended use).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as applied.
Ittah teaches a cavity (not labeled, at 35 in Fig. 4, see also Figs. 5 and 6) extending into the body block from the cable channel (56-59), the body block enclosing the cavity at a bottom and on three lateral sides.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the use of the removable tab (of Noda) with the cavity of Ittah, would result on the removable tab forming a fourth lateral side (at 60-63) of the cavity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833