DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1—12 & 14—21 have been examined in this application. This communication is a Non Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Amendments/Remarks” filed 12/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1—11, 20 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2012/0137440 to Richards (Richards hereafter) in further view of U.S Patent 6,108,843 A to Suzuki (Suzuki hereafter)in view of U.S Patent Application 2012/0079662 A1 to Dzioba (Dzioba hereafter).
As per claim 1, Richards teaches
A support system (10—Fig.1; para [0026]) comprising:
a bladder having a first inflatable compartment (36—Fig.8; para [0034]); an envelope enclosing the bladder (230—Fig.8; para [0041]), the envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet (annotated Fig.6), thereby defining an interior region of the envelope comprising a first sheet (46—Fig.8; para [0034]); and
a pump (164—Fig.5; para [0036]) coupled in selective fluid communication with the first inflatable compartment and in selective fluid communication with the interior region of the envelope (164—Fig.5; para [0042]), wherein the same pump is operable to selectively inflate the first inflatable compartment and to selectively pump air from the interior region of the envelope external to the bladder (para [0035])
Note:
The examiner considers element 230 as the envelope and defines elements 42, 44,46 & 48 as the interior region. Richards teaches wherein air may flow into and out of interior region elements 42, 44,46 & 48 via air control system 140 which includes pump 164. The examiner further notes that the same pump element 164 is in fluid communication with the inflatable compartment elements 32,34,36 and 38.
and thereby cause the first sheet of the envelope to selectively conform to corresponding regions of the selectively inflatable compartment (230—Fig.8: first sheet of envelope 230 conforming to the first inflatable compartment); wherein the pump comprises a suction line (176—Fig.5; para [0035]) in selective fluid communication with the atmosphere (para [0035]: line 176 opens to atmosphere via 166 which may act as a relief valve by expelling air to atmosphere see para [0040]) .
Richards does not explicitly teach fluid communication with the atmosphere via a calibrated vacuum relief valve.
Suzuki teaches fluid communication with the atmosphere via a calibrated vacuum relief valve (31f-Fig.7; Col 7 lines 35—52).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Suzuki (directed to a patient support with a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to release extra compress air from the system to atmosphere as taught in Suzuki (Col 7 lines 35—52).
Richards (as modified) does not teach [wherein the same pump is operable to selectively inflate the first inflatable compartment] to a pressure between approximately 3psi and 5psi.
Dzioba teaches, the envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet (102 & 104—Fig.2; para [0058]) [wherein the same pump is operable to selectively inflate the first inflatable compartment] to a pressure between approximately 3psi and 5psi (para [0075]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Suzuki (directed to a patient support with a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with an interior region in fluid communication with the inlet of the pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to bond a first and second sheet with seams that appear transparent to a medical imaging device as taught in (para [0059]).
As per claim 2, (as modified) Richards teaches: The support system of claim 1.
Richards does not teach wherein the portions of the first and second sheets of the envelope defining the interior region are imperforate.
Dzioba teaches, wherein the portions of the first and second sheets of the envelope defining the interior region are imperforate (para [0058]).
Note:
Imperforate as defined by Webster’s dictionary is "lacking the normal opening; not perforated" . The examiner notes the first and second sheets of the opening may therefore be classified as imperforate as they both sheets lack a normal opening.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet wherein the portions of the first and second sheets of the envelope defining the interior region are imperforate) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable wherein the portions of the first and second sheets of the envelope defining the interior region are imperforate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to bond a first and second sheet with seams that appear transparent to a medical imaging device as taught in (para [0059]).
As per claim 3, Richards (as modified) teaches
The support system of claim 1, the first inflatable compartment defining a plurality of inflatable cells (36 & 38—Fig.5; para [0042]), each of the plurality of inflatable cells defining a corresponding contact node (annotated Fig.6 above).
Richards does not teach, wherein the bladder comprises: a first flexible sheet and a second flexible sheet, the first and second flexible sheets bonded together at a seam, wherein the first and second flexible sheets and the seam cooperate to define the first inflatable compartment.
Dzioba teaches, wherein the bladder comprises: a first flexible sheet and a second flexible sheet (102 & 104—Fig.2; para [0058]), the first and second flexible sheets bonded together at a seam (para [0059]), wherein the first and second flexible sheets and the seam cooperate to define the first inflatable compartment(para [0059]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with an interior region in fluid communication with the inlet of the pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to bond a first and second sheet with seams that appear transparent to a medical imaging device as taught in (para [0059]).
As per claim 4, (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 3 wherein the first sheet of the envelope selectively conforms to individual ones of the plurality of selectively inflatable cells (230—Fig.8: envelope 230 first sheet conforms to cell 36).
As per claim 5, (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 4 further comprising a valve (150—Fig.5 para [0035]) arrangement operable to enable selective fluid communication of an inlet of the pump (168—Fig.5 para [0035]) with the interior region of the envelope and to enable selective fluid communication of an outlet of the pump (170—Fig.5 para [0035]) with the first inflatable compartment (para [0035—36]).
As per claim 6, (as modified) Richards teaches
The system of claim 5 wherein the valve arrangement comprises a first valve (150—Fig.5 para [0035]: element 150 includes a number of valves) operable to selectively and alternatingly enable fluid communication between the outlet of the pump (para [0035]) and the first inflatable compartment or fluid communication between the first inflatable compartment and an atmosphere surrounding the support system (para [0035]).
As per claim 7, (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 6 further comprising a controller (50—Fig.5; para [0035]) operable to control alignment of the first valve and to selectively cause the pump to be energized (para [0035]).
As per claim 8, (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 7 wherein the pump further is in selective fluid communication with the atmosphere surrounding the support system (para [0035]).
As per claim 9, (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 8 wherein the bladder further comprises a second inflatable compartment (34—Fig.5; para [0035]), and wherein the valve system is further configured to enable selective fluid communication of the outlet of the pump with the second inflatable compartment (para [0035]).
As per claim 10, (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 9 wherein the valve arrangement further includes a second valve (150—Fig.5 para [0035]) operable to selectively and alternatingly enable fluid communication between the outlet of the pump and the second inflatable compartment (para [0035]) or fluid communication between the second inflatable compartment and the atmosphere surrounding the support system (178—Fig.5; para [0035]).
As per claim 11, (as modified) Richards teaches
A support system (10—Fig.1; para [0026]) comprising: a bladder (36—Fig.8; para [0034]), the bladder comprising: a first flexible sheet (annotated Fig.6) the selectively inflatable compartment defining a plurality of selectively inflatable cells (34 & 36—Fig.5; para [0035]) each of the plurality of selectively inflatable cells defining a corresponding contact node (annotated Fig.6)
an envelope enclosing the bladder (230—Fig.8; para [0041]), the envelope comprising a first sheet (annotated 230—Fig.6; para [0034]) and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet (annotated 230—Fig.6; para [0034]), thereby defining an interior region of the envelope (46—Fig.8; para [0034]);
a pump (164—Fig.5; para [0036]) coupled in fluid communication with the interior region of said envelope (para [0035]), the same pump configured to selectively pump air from the interior region of the envelope external to the bladder (para [0035]) and thereby cause the first sheet of the envelope to selectively conform to corresponding regions of the selectively inflatable compartment (230—Fig.8: first sheet of envelope 230 conforming to the first inflatable compartment), wherein the pump comprises a suction line (176—Fig.5; para [0035]) in selective fluid communication with the atmosphere (para [0035]: line 176 opens to atmosphere via 166 which may act as a relief valve by expelling air to atmosphere see para [0040]); a valve system (150—Fig.5; para [0035]) operable to enable selective fluid communication of an inlet of the pump with the interior region of the envelope (para [0035]) and to enable selective fluid communication of an outlet of the pump with the selectively inflatable compartment (para [0035]) and with an atmosphere surround the support system (para [0035]); and a controller operable to control valves of the valve system (50—Fig.5; para [0035]).
Richards does not explicitly teach fluid communication with the atmosphere via a calibrated vacuum relief valve.
Suzuki teaches fluid communication with the atmosphere via a calibrated vacuum relief valve (31f-Fig.7; Col 7 lines 35—52).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Suzuki (directed to a patient support with a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to release extra compress air from the system to atmosphere as taught in Suzuki (Col 7 lines 35—52).
Richards (as modified) does not teach the bladder comprising: a first flexible sheet and a second flexible sheet, the first and second flexible sheets bonded together at a seam, wherein the first and second flexible sheets and the seam cooperate to define a selectively inflatable compartment, and being inflated to a pressure between approximately 3psi and approximately 5 psi;
Dzioba teaches the bladder comprising: a first flexible sheet and a second flexible sheet (102 & 104—Fig.2; para [0058]), the first and second flexible sheets bonded together at a seam (para [0058]), wherein the first and second flexible sheets and the seam cooperate to define a selectively inflatable compartment (para [0058]), and being inflated to a pressure between approximately 3psi and approximately 5 psi (para [0075]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Suzuki (directed to a patient support with a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with an interior region in fluid communication with the inlet of the pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to bond a first and second sheet with seams that appear transparent to a medical imaging device as taught in Dzioba (para [0059]).
As per claim 20, (as modified) Richards teaches
A support system (10—Fig.1; para [0026]) comprising: a bladder (36—Fig.8; para [0034]), the bladder comprising: a first flexible sheet (annotated Fig.6), each of the first inflatable compartment and the second inflatable compartment defining a corresponding plurality of selectively inflatable cells (34 & 36—Fig.5; para [0035]), each of the corresponding plurality of selectively inflatable cells defining a corresponding contact node (annotated Fig.6);
an envelope enclosing the bladder (230—Fig.8; para [0041]), the envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet (annotated 230—Fig.6; para [0034]), thereby defining an interior region of the envelope (46—Fig.8; para [0034]);
a pump (164—Fig.5; para [0036]) coupled in fluid communication with the interior region of said envelope (para [0035]), the same pump configured to selectively pump air from the interior region of the envelope external to the bladder (para [0035]) and thereby cause the first sheet of the envelope to selectively conform to corresponding regions of the first inflatable compartment (230—Fig.8: first sheet of envelope 230 conforming to the first inflatable compartment), wherein the pump comprises a suction line (176—Fig.5; para [0035]) in selective fluid communication with the atmosphere (para [0035]: line 176 opens to atmosphere via 166 which may act as a relief valve by expelling air to atmosphere see para [0040]);
a first valve (150—Fig.5; para [0035]) operable to enable fluid communication of an outlet of the pump with the first inflatable compartment in a first mode of operation (para [0035]), and to enable fluid communication of the first inflatable compartment with the atmosphere in a second mode of operation (para [0035]);
a second valve (150—Fig.5; para [0035]: a number of valve provided in element 150) operable to enable fluid communication of the outlet of the pump with the second inflatable compartment in the second mode of operation (para [0035]), and to enable fluid communication of the second inflatable compartment with the atmosphere in the first mode of operation (150—Fig.5; para [0035]); and
a controller operable to control the pump, the first valve, and the second valve (50—Fig.5; para [0035]).
Richards does not explicitly teach fluid communication with the atmosphere via a calibrated vacuum relief valve.
Suzuki teaches fluid communication with the atmosphere via a calibrated vacuum relief valve (31f-Fig.7; Col 7 lines 35—52).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Suzuki (directed to a patient support with a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to release extra compress air from the system to atmosphere as taught in Suzuki (Col 7 lines 35—52).
Richards does not teach and a second flexible sheet, the first and second flexible sheets bonded together at a seam, wherein the first and second flexible sheets and the seam cooperate to define a first inflatable compartment and a second inflatable compartment and being inflated to a pressure between approximately 3psi and approximately 5 psi.
Dzioba teaches and a second flexible sheet, the first and second flexible sheets bonded together at a seam (102 & 104—Fig.2; para [0058]), wherein the first and second flexible sheets and the seam cooperate to define a first inflatable compartment and a second inflatable compartment (100—Fig.6; para [0058]) and being inflated to a pressure between approximately 3psi and approximately 5 psi (para [0075]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Suzuki (directed to a patient support with a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet being inflated to a pressure between approximately 3psi and approximately 5 psi) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with an interior region in fluid communication with the inlet of the pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a desires pressure based on design and dimensions of the support surface as taught in Dzioba (para [0014]).
As per claim 21, (as modified) Richards teaches The support system of claim 1.
Richards does not teach wherein the pump is operable to selectively inflate the first inflatable compartment to a pressure of approximately 4psi.
Dzioba teaches, wherein the pump is operable to selectively inflate the first inflatable compartment to a pressure of approximately 4 psi (para [0075]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet being inflated to a pressure between approximately 3psi and approximately 5 psi) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with an interior region in fluid communication with the inlet of the pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a desires pressure based on design and dimensions of the support surface as taught in Dzioba (para [0014]).
Claims 12, 14—19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2012/0137440 to Richards in further view of U.S Patent 6,108,843 A to Suzuki in view of U.S Patent Application 2012/0079662 A1 to Dzioba in further view of US 2011/0094040 A1 to deGreef et. al (deGreef hereafter).
As per claim 12, (as modified) Richards teaches The support system of claim 11.
Richards (as modified by Dzioba) does not teach wherein the valve system comprises a solenoid valve configured to selective enable: (i) fluid communication of an outlet of the pump with the selectively inflatable compartment or (ii) fluid communication of the selectively inflatable compartment with the atmosphere.
deGreef teaches wherein the valve system comprises a solenoid valve (Claim 2 valve assembly comprising a plurality of solenoid valves) configured to selective enable: (i) fluid communication of an outlet of the pump with the selectively inflatable compartment or (ii) fluid communication of the selectively inflatable compartment with the atmosphere (Claim 2; Fig 11: Solenoid valve in fluid communication with pump outlet via element (1112) & (1120)).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet) and (directed to a support apparatus including a valve system comprises a solenoid valve) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with a valve system comprises a solenoid valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to regulate the amount of inflation in each air chamber as taught in deGreef (abstract).
As per claim 14, (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 12 wherein the bladder further comprises a second selectively inflatable compartment (38—Fig.5; para [0035])
Richards does not teach and wherein the valve system further comprises a second solenoid valve configured to selective enable: (i) fluid communication of the outlet of the pump with the second selectively inflatable compartment or (ii) fluid communication of the second selectively inflatable compartment with the atmosphere.
deGreef teaches and wherein the valve system further comprises a second solenoid valve (Claim 2 second valve assembly comprising a plurality of solenoid valves) configured to selective enable: (i) fluid communication of the outlet of the pump with the second selectively inflatable compartment or (ii) fluid communication of the second selectively inflatable compartment with the atmosphere.(Claim 2; Fig 11: Solenoid valve in fluid communication with pump outlet via element (1112) & (1120))
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet) and (directed to a support apparatus including a valve system comprises a solenoid valve) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with a valve system comprises a solenoid valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to regulate the amount of inflation in each air chamber as taught in deGreef (abstract).
As per claim 15, (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 14 wherein the inlet of the pump is in selective fluid communication with the atmosphere (para [0035]: line 176 opens to atmosphere via 166 which may act as a relief valve by expelling air to atmosphere see para [0040]).
As per claim 16, (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 14 further comprising a pressure sensor (para [0134] element 132, 134 & 136) operable to sense pressure within the selectively inflatable compartment and a second pressure sensor operable to sense pressure within the second selectively inflatable compartment (para [0134]), wherein the pressure sensor and the second pressure sensor are operable to provide respective pressure signals to the controller (para [0034])
Richards does not teach, and the selectively inflatable compartments being inflated to approximately 4psi.
Dzioba teaches, and the selectively inflatable compartments being inflated to approximately 4psi (para [0075]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet being inflated to a pressure between approximately 4psi ) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with an interior region in fluid communication with the inlet of the pump. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide a desires pressure based on design and dimensions of the support surface as taught in Dzioba (para [0014]).
As per claim 17, (as modified) Richards teaches The support system of claim 16.
Richards does not teach wherein the controller is operable to effect alignment of the solenoid valve to enable: (i) fluid communication of the outlet of the pump with the selectively inflatable compartment or (ii) fluid communication of the selectively inflatable compartment with the atmosphere.
deGreef teaches wherein the controller is operable to effect alignment of the solenoid valve (Claim 14: "a controller for reading and analyzing data from the plurality of flexible potentiometers and the plurality of pressure sensors, and for instructing two or more solenoid valves of the plurality of solenoid valves to allow fluid to flow to or discharge from a corresponding two or more inflatable chambers during an overlapping period of time.") to enable: (i) fluid communication of the outlet of the pump with the selectively inflatable compartment or (ii) fluid communication of the selectively inflatable compartment with the atmosphere (Claim 14 ).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet) and (directed to a support apparatus including a valve system comprises a solenoid valve) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with a valve system comprises a solenoid valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to regulate the amount of inflation in each air chamber as taught in deGreef (abstract).
As per claim 18, (as modified) Richards teaches The support system of claim 17.
Richards does not teach wherein the controller further is operable to effect alignment of the second solenoid valve to enable: (i) fluid communication of the outlet of the pump with the second selectively inflatable compartment or (ii) fluid communication of the second selectively inflatable compartment with the atmosphere.
deGreef teaches wherein The support system of claim 17 wherein the controller further is operable to effect alignment of the second solenoid valve (Claim 14: "a controller for reading and analyzing data from the plurality of flexible potentiometers and the plurality of pressure sensors, and for instructing two or more solenoid valves of the plurality of solenoid valves to allow fluid to flow to or discharge from a corresponding two or more inflatable chambers during an overlapping period of time.") to enable: (i) fluid communication of the outlet of the pump with the second selectively inflatable compartment or (ii) fluid communication of the second selectively inflatable compartment with the atmosphere (Claim 14).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Dzioba (directed to a patient support with an envelope comprising a first sheet and a second sheet bonded to the first sheet) and (directed to a support apparatus including a valve system comprises a solenoid valve) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope with a valve system comprises a solenoid valve. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to regulate the amount of inflation in each air chamber as taught in deGreef (abstract).
As per claim ,19 (as modified) Richards teaches
The support system of claim 12 further comprising a relief (166—Fig.5; para [0035]) operable to selectively enable fluid communication of the outlet of the pump with the atmosphere (para [0035]: line 176 opens to atmosphere via 166 which may act as a relief valve by expelling air to atmosphere see para [0040]).
Richards does not explicitly teach a relief valve.
Suzuki teaches a relief valve (31f-Fig.7; Col 7 lines 35—52).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the feature of Richards (directed to a patient support with an envelope and an inflatable compartment) with the feature of Suzuki (directed to a patient support with a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively) and arrived at a patient support with an inflatable bladder enclosed by a selectively inflatable envelope a relief valve which communicates with atmosphere selectively. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to release extra compress air from the system to atmosphere as taught in Suzuki (Col 7 lines 35—52).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 3, filed 12/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) claims 1, 11 and 20 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2012/0137440 in further view of U.S Patent 6,108,843 A to Suzuki to Richards in view of U.S Patent Application 2012/0079662 A1 to Dzioba.
Applicant’s Arguments:
• Regarding the Final Rejection filed on 12/30/2025, the Applicant argues,
1) Regarding independent claim 1, 11 and 20 , Applicant respectfully submits that Richards does not teach or suggest a calibrated pressure relief valve as claimed. The cited disclosure in Richards describes a vent 176 that is "open to atmosphere" and connected to a switching valve 166 (Richards, Fig. 5; [0035]-[0040]). The vent 176 merely provides an atmospheric exhaust path when the switching valve 166 is positioned to allow air to exit the pump outlet to atmosphere during evacuation of the bladders. There is no disclosure in Richards of any structure or functionality that calibrates the vent to open or close at a predetermined pressure threshold.
Accordingly, Richards and Dzioba fails to teach or suggest the claimed "calibrated pressure relief valve." The Examiner's reliance on vent 176 of Richards is misplaced. For at least these reasons, the rejection under § 103 should be withdrawn.
2) Regarding dependent claims dependent claims 2-10, 12 and 14-19 & 21, The Applicant respectfully submits that since dependent Claims 2-10, 12, 14-19 and 21 directly or indirectly depend upon independent Claims 1, 11 or 20, thereby containing each and all of the limitations of independent Claims 1, 11, or 20, and since Claims 1, 11, and 20 should be allowed for at least the reasons set forth above, pending dependent Claims 2-10, 12, 14-19 and 21 should be allowed for at least these reasons. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Examiner's Response to Arguments:
• The examiner respectfully disagrees to the Applicant’s Arguments for the following reasons:
1) Regarding independent claim 1, 11 and 20 the examiner relies on the teachings of U under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2012/0137440 to Richards in further view of U.S Patent 6,108,843 A to Suzuki in view of U.S Patent Application 2012/0079662 A1 to Dzioba.
The examiner submits that Richards as modified by Dzioba and Suzuki teaches the calibrated pressure relief valve as presented above.
2) Regarding dependent claims dependent claims 2-10, 12 and 14-19 & 21, the examiner forms the basis of these rejections as presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application 2011/0068939 to Lachenbruch teaches a patient support with inflatable bladders within an envelope. The bladder elements may exhaust air into the interior region of the envelope (para [0039]).
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 05/30/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673