DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 4-5, 10, 15, 19, 21, 23 and 27-37 are cancelled. Claims 9, 13-14, 16-18, 20, 22 and 24-26 are withdrawn. Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are presently examined.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection under 35 USC 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 5/28/2026 is overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabes (US 11,918,025) in view of Rojo-Calderon (US 11,632,978) and Gao (US 9,521,864).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 8, Rabes discloses a process for manufacturing a reconstituted tobacco (column 3, lines 58-60) in which tobacco parts obtained from tobacco leaves are mixed with water in order to extract the water-soluble products of the tobacco (column 3, lines 61-63), the water-soluble products are separated from the tobacco fibers (column 3, lines 64-65), the tobacco fibers are formed into a base sheet (column 3, lines 66-67), the water soluble products obtained during the extraction are concentrated (column 4, lines 1-2), and the water soluble products are incorporated along with a humectant into the base sheet in order to form a reconstituted tobacco sheet (column 4, lines 3-6). The reconstituted tobacco sheet has less than 1.22 wt% nicotine in various embodiments (column 6, lines 18-36). Rabes does not explicitly disclose (a) the humectant being combined with nicotine prior to being added to the base sheet and (b) adding nicotine in a solution that consists only of nicotine and a humectant.
Regarding (a), Rojo-Calderon teaches an aerosol generating article having an aerosol generating substrate (abstract) made from reconstituted tobacco (column 7, lines 31-36) having a varied nicotine content to provide customized performance (column 8, lines 66-67, column 9, lines 1-6). The nicotine is an additive (column 7, lines 9-30).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the nicotine additive of Rojo-Calderon to the base sheet of Rabe. One would have been motivated to do so since Rojo-Calderon teaches an aerosol forming substrate that contains a nicotine additive to provide customizer performance.
Regarding (b), Gao teaches a method for stabilizing nicotine and incorporating it into a cellulosic product (column 1, lines 54-67) in which liquid nicotine is mixed with a diluent that is a humectant at between 2 wt% and 75 wt% (column 2, lines 64-67, column 3, lines 1-16), which is higher than the nicotine concentration of the sheet of Rabes. Gao additionally teaches that diluting nicotine with the humectant can help meter a precise amount of nicotine (column 5, lines 36-59).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the nicotine addition method of Gao to add the nicotine of Rojo-Calderon to the base sheet of Rabes. One would have been motivated to do so since Gao teaches a method for adding nicotine that allows metering of a precise amount of nicotine.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Gao teaches that the diluent is propylene glycol (column 3, lines 17-67, column 4, lines 1-4).
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (a) that there is no motivation to modify Rabes in view of Gao since the wet slurry of Rabes would prevent the nicotine-humectant complex from being absorbed, (b) that the nicotine would evaporate and be degraded during the drying process of Rabes, (c) that the claimed invention produces an unexpected technical effect, (d) that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have a reasonable expectation of success to modify the references as proposed, and (e) that the dependent claims are allowable due to dependence on an allowable claim.
Regarding (a), Gao teaches that diluting the liquid nicotine with the humectant can help meter a precise amount of nicotine (column 5, lines 36-59). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this motivation is applicable regardless of whether the nicotine is being added to a wet or dry composition.
Regarding (b), while it may be true that some of the nicotine would be evaporated or degraded, this is true of any constituent of the reconstituted tobacco of Rabes that is dried. For instance, Rabes discloses that glycerol is added to the tobacco aqueous soluble fraction (column 5, lines 41-47) immediately before the sheet is dried (page 5, lines 48). Glycerol is another volatile component, but clearly its volatility does not prevent it from being dried along with the rest of the sheet. Applicant presents no evidence that tobacco in particular would suffer damage if included during a drying process.
Regarding (c), applicant’s allegations of unexpected results are unpersuasive since they are not supported by objective evidence as required by MPEP § 716.01(c).
Regarding (d), the only modifications being proposed are the mixing and addition of ingredients together to form a final product. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to follow such instructions in order to combine the ingredients as proposed, indeed, such a process is familiar to anyone who has ever cooked food according to a recipe that requires mixing specific amounts of ingredients to form a final food. This group includes almost every adult human on the planet, and one of ordinary skill in the art would certainly be familiar with this process.
Regarding (e), all examined claims, including the examined independent claim, are rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755