DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 4-5, 10-12, 15, 19, 21, 23 and 27-36 are cancelled. Claims 9, 13-14, 16-18, 20, 22 and 24-26 are withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 37 are presently examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabes (US 11,918,025) in view of Perfetti (US 4,924,883).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 37, Rabes discloses a process for manufacturing a reconstituted tobacco (column 3, lines 58-60) in which tobacco parts obtained from tobacco leaves are mixed with water in order to extract the water-soluble products of the tobacco (column 3, lines 61-63), the water-soluble products are separated from the tobacco fibers (column 3, lines 64-65), the tobacco fibers are formed into a base sheet (column 3, lines 66-67), the water soluble products obtained during the extraction are concentrated (column 4, lines 1-2), and the water soluble products are incorporated along with a humectant into the base sheet in order to form a reconstituted tobacco sheet (column 4, lines 3-6). Rabes does not explicitly disclose (a) the humectant being combined with nicotine prior to being added to the base sheet and (b) the exact order in which the liquid components are mixed with each other prior to being incorporated into the base sheet.
Regarding (a), Perfetti teaches a cigarette type smoking article (abstract) having a nicotine flavorant (column 10, lines 38-59) that is added to a reconstituted tobacco material (column 12, lines 4-21) that forms a substrate that releases an aerosol (column 10, lines 13-27).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the nicotine of Perfetti to the base sheet of Rabes. One would have been motivated to do so since Perfetti teaches an aerosol forming substrate that is flavored with nicotine.
Regarding (b), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mix the liquid components in the claimed order. In general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to not patentably distinguish the processes. See MPEP § 2144.04 (IV)(C).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Rabes discloses that the humectant is propylene glycol (column 3, lines 21-22).
Regarding claim 8, Perfetti teaches that 24.03 mg of nicotine is added to a reconstituted tobacco material weighing 0.3014 g (column 12, lines 4-21), which produces a total nicotine content of about 8.0 wt%.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (a) that Rabes teaches away from adding additional tobacco extract that may include nicotine, (b) that it would not have been obvious to modify the order of process steps in light of the PTAB decision in Ex parte Chau, (c) that the claimed invention produces unexpected results, and (d) that the dependent claims are allowable due to dependence on an allowable claim.
Regarding (a), the modification as set forth above did not suggest that a tobacco extract is added to the composition of Rabes. Perfetti states that nicotine is added in the form of a flavor (column 10, lines 38-59), however, nowhere does Perfetti teach that the nicotine is contained within a tobacco extract when it is added. This is an assumption of applicant that is unwarranted by the disclosures of either Rabes or Perfetti. Furthermore, even if tobacco extract were added to the composition of Rabes, Rabes does not teach away from adding all amounts of tobacco extract. While Rabes may disclose that a weight percentage of the aqueous soluble fraction should not be raised above 35% (column 2, lines 59-67), Rabes does not teach away from adding tobacco extract so long as that threshold is not exceeded. Finally, Rabes does not directly disclose any impact on mouth feel that pure nicotine has, but rather that the disclosed product has good mouth feel (column 1, lines 50-56).
Regarding (b), Ex parte Chau is not listed as a precedential or informative decision on the current list of precedential or informative PTAB decisions maintained by the Office (https://www.uspto.gov/patents/ptab/precedential-informative-decisions), nor is there any indication in the decision itself that the decision should be considered to set a precedent for future examination. Furthermore, the claims at issue in Ex parte Chau require specific intermediate forms that are more than just a mixture, but rather specific compositions such as a pill in the form of a coated powder matrix that is subsequently coated. These various solid components will not mix together, unlike the liquids of the claimed invention.
Regarding (c), applicant’s allegation of unexpected results is unsupported by objective evidence indicating that the results are truly unexpected as required by MPEP § 716.01(a).
Regarding (d), all examined claims, including the examined independent claim, are rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755