DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on December 3, 2025 has been received and carefully considered. Claims 2 and 7 are canceled. Claims 8-39 are withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1 and 3-6 are currently under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on December 3, 2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the prior art fails to disclose or teach a metal oxide having the formula AxA’1-xByB’1-yO3-δ, wherein 0<x<1, 0<y<1, and 0≤δ≤1, and wherein B and B’ are not the same element, as set forth in amended claim 1. In other words, the claimed metal oxide is a mixed metal oxide that requires both elements B and B’.
Vieten et al. (J. Mater. Chem. A, 2016, 4, 13652) discloses a metal oxide comprising Ca0.8Sr0.2MnO3-δ (see Abstract), which lacks a B-site substitution.
Lin et al. (US 6,059,858) discloses a metal oxide comprising La0.8Sr0.2MnO3-δ or Y0.9Sr0.1CrO3-δ (see column 4, lines 35-44), which also lacks a B-site substitution.
The arguments are considered persuasive, and therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of the newly discovered prior art references to Jiang et al. (Applied Energy 228 (2018) 1506-1514), Arjmand et al. (Energy Fuels 2013, 27, 4097-4107), and Ambrosini et al. (US 10,107,268).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (Applied Energy 228 (2018) 1506-1514).
The instant “system” claims are considered apparatus claims.
Regarding claim 1, Jiang et al. discloses a system for producing nitrogen (i.e., an apparatus for solar-heat driven chemical-looping combustion (S-CLC); see Fig. 1 and description under 2. Description of the solar-heat driven chemical-looping combustion), comprising:
a reduction reactor (i.e., a Fuel Reactor) comprising a heat source (i.e., concentrated solar heat supplied by a parabolic trough solar collector);
a nitrogen production reactor (i.e., an Oxidation Reactor that produces nitrogen); and
a mass of metal oxide within the reduction reactor (i.e., a mass of a perovskite-type metal oxide ABO3 within the Fuel Reactor);
wherein the mass of metal oxide is heated by the heat source and reduced in the reduction reactor to produce a mass of reduced metal oxide (i.e., the metal oxide ABO3 is heated by the concentrated solar heat in the Fuel Reactor, and the metal oxide ABO3 is reduced in the Fuel Reactor to produce a mass of reduced metal oxide ABO3-δ);
wherein the mass of reduced metal oxide is oxidized in the nitrogen production reactor in the presence of an input stream comprising oxygen and nitrogen to remove the oxygen and produce an enriched nitrogen stream (i.e., the reduced metal oxide ABO3-δ is transported from the Fuel Reactor to the Oxidation Reactor, and the reduced metal oxide ABO3-δ is re-oxidized to the metal oxide ABO3 in the Oxidation Reactor in the presence of air comprising oxygen and nitrogen supplied to the Oxidation Reactor by an Air Compressor, to remove the oxygen from the air and produce an enriched nitrogen stream N2(O2));
wherein the metal oxide is a mixed ionic conducting oxide selected from the group consisting of metal oxides having the formula AxA’1-xByB’1-yO3-δ (i.e., a perovskite-type oxide comprising LaCuxNi1-xO3-δ; see Abstract);
wherein A and A’ = La, Sr, Ca, Ba, or Y (i.e., both A and A’ = La; the claim does not exclude A and A’ from being the same element);
wherein B and B’ = Mn, Ti, Ni, Cu, Zr, Al, Y, Cr, V, Nb, or Mo (i.e., B = Cu and B’ = Ni);
wherein B and B’ are not the same element (i.e., different elements Cu and Ni);
wherein 0<x<1, 0<y<1, and 0≤δ≤1 (i.e., LaCuxNi1-xO3-δ, wherein x = 0.025, 0.050, 0.075, 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, or 0.5, and wherein δ can range from 0 to 1, depending on the temperature during use; see Abstract and FIG. 5); and
wherein the heat source is concentrated solar energy (i.e., concentrated solar heat).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang et al. discloses that the reduction reactor (i.e., the Fuel Reactor) is a solar heating zone of a falling particle solar receiver or other receiver configurations (i.e., the Fuel Reactor is a heating zone receiving concentrated solar heat from the parabolic trough solar collector, wherein the Fuel Reactor comprises an upper inlet for receiving the metal oxide ABO3 and a lower outlet for discharging the reduced metal oxide ABO3-δ, such that the metal oxide is able to fall by gravity through the Fuel Reactor).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang et al. discloses that the input stream is air (i.e., the Oxidation Reactor receives air from the Air Compressor; see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang et al. discloses that the mass of metal oxide is a mass of metal oxide particles (i.e., the perovskite-type oxide is in particulate form, so as to enable its transport between the Fuel Reactor and the Oxidation Reactor; see FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arjmand et al. (Energy Fuels 2013, 27, 4097-4107) in view of Jiang et al. (Applied Energy 228 (2018) 1506-1514).
The instant “system” claims are considered apparatus claims.
Regarding claim 1, Arjmand et al. discloses a system for producing nitrogen (i.e., an apparatus for chemical-looping combustion (CLC); see Figure 1) comprising:
a reduction reactor (i.e., a Fuel Reactor);
a nitrogen production reactor (i.e., an Air Reactor producing N2);
a mass of metal oxide within the reduction reactor (i.e., a mass of a metal oxide MexOy as an oxygen carrier);
wherein the mass of metal oxide is reduced in the reaction reactor to produce a mass of reduced metal oxide (i.e., the metal oxide MexOy is reduced in the Fuel Reactor to produce a reduced metal oxide MexOy-1);
wherein the mass of reduced metal oxide is oxidized in the nitrogen production reactor in the presence of an input stream comprising oxygen and nitrogen to remove the oxygen and produce an enriched nitrogen stream (i.e., the reduced metal oxide MexOy-1 is transferred from the Fuel Reactor to the Air Reactor, and the reduced metal oxide MexOy-1 is re-oxidized to the metal oxide MexOy in the presence of an input stream of air comprising oxygen and nitrogen supplied to the Air Reactor, to remove the oxygen and produce an enriched nitrogen stream);
wherein the metal oxide is a mixed ionic conducting oxide selected from the group consisting of metal oxides having the formula AxA’1-xByB’1-yO3-δ, (i.e., the oxygen carrier is a perovskite material of the type CaxLa1−x Mn1−yMyO3−δ; for example, Ca0.9La0.1Mn0.9Ti0.1O3−δ (CLMT) or Ca0.9La0.1Mn0.9Cu0.1O3−δ (CLMC), see Table 1 on page 4099);
wherein A and A’ = La, Sr, Ca, Ba, or Y (i.e., A = Ca and A’ = La for both CLMT and CLMC);
wherein B and B’ = Mn, Ti, Ni, Cu, Zr, Al, Y, Cr, V, Nb, or Mo (i.e., B = Mn and B’ = Ti for CLMT; or B = Mn and B’ = Cu for CLMC);
wherein B and B’ are not the same element (i.e., different elements Mn and Ti for CLMT; or different elements Mn and Cu for CLMC); and
wherein 0<x<1, 0<y<1, and 0≤δ≤1 (i.e., x = 0.9 and y = 0.9 for both CLMT and CLMC; δ values can range from 0 to 1, see 3.4. Attributes of the Oxygen Carriers after the Redox Cycle).
The system of Arjmand et al. is the same as the claimed system, except that Arjmand et al. fails to disclose that the reduction reactor (i.e., the Fuel Reactor) comprises a heat source that is concentrated solar energy.
Jiang et al. discloses a system for producing nitrogen (i.e., an apparatus for solar-heat driven chemical-looping combustion (S-CLC); see FIG. 1 and description under 2. Description of the solar-heat driven chemical-looping combustion), comprising:
a reduction reactor (i.e., a Fuel Reactor) comprising a heat source (i.e., concentrated solar heat supplied by a parabolic trough solar collector);
a nitrogen production reactor (i.e., an Oxidation Reactor that produces nitrogen); and
a mass of metal oxide within the reduction reactor (i.e., a mass of a perovskite-type metal oxide ABO3 within the Fuel Reactor);
wherein the mass of metal oxide is heated by the heat source and reduced in the reduction reactor to produce a mass of reduced metal oxide (i.e., the metal oxide ABO3 is heated by the concentrated solar heat in the Fuel Reactor, and the metal oxide ABO3 is reduced in the Fuel Reactor to produce a mass of reduced metal oxide ABO3-δ);
wherein the mass of reduced metal oxide is oxidized in the nitrogen production reactor in the presence of an input stream comprising oxygen and nitrogen to remove the oxygen and produce an enriched nitrogen stream (i.e., the reduced metal oxide ABO3-δ is transported from the Fuel Reactor to the Oxidation Reactor, and the reduced metal oxide ABO3-δ is re-oxidized to the metal oxide ABO3 in the Oxidation Reactor in the presence of air comprising oxygen and nitrogen supplied to the Oxidation Reactor by an Air Compressor, to remove the oxygen and produce an enriched nitrogen stream N2(O2));
wherein the heat source is concentrated solar energy (i.e., concentrated solar heat).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a heat source that is concentrated solar energy for heating the reduction reactor in the system of Arjmand et al. because the concentrated solar heat could be used to drive the endothermic reduction reaction in the reduction reactor, and the concentrated solar heat could be converted into chemical energy and stored in the reduced metal oxide, and, accordingly, the chemical-looping combustion process could be conducted in an efficient and environmentally friendly manner, as taught by Jiang et al. (see Abstract; also, 2. Description of the solar-heat driven chemical-looping combustion, under Thermal cycle).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang et al. discloses that the reduction reactor (i.e., the Fuel Reactor) is a solar heating zone of a falling particle solar receiver or other receiver configurations (i.e., the Fuel Reactor is a heating zone receiving concentrated solar heat from the parabolic trough solar collector, wherein the Fuel Reactor comprises an upper inlet for receiving the metal oxide ABO3 and a lower outlet for discharging the reduced metal oxide ABO3-δ, such that the metal oxide is able to fall by gravity through the Fuel Reactor). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the reduction reactor (i.e., the Fuel Reactor) in the modified system of Arjmand et al. as a solar heating zone having the same configuration as taught by Jiang et al.
Regarding claim 4, Arjmand et al. discloses that the input stream is air (i.e., Air is supplied to the Air Reactor; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Arjmand et al. discloses that the mass of metal oxide is a mass of metal oxide particles (i.e., the oxygen carrier comprises particles of CLMT and CLMC; see 2.1. Preparation and Fabrication of the Oxygen Carriers, at page 4099).
Regarding claim 6, Arjmand et al. discloses that B and B’ can be selected from the group consisting of Mn, V, Mo, Cr, and Cu (i.e., for the oxygen carrier Ca0.9La0.1Mn0.9Cu0.1O3−δ (CLMC), B and B’ are not the same element, and B and B’ are further selected from Mn and Cu).
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ambrosini et al. (US 10,107,268).
The instant “system” claims are considered apparatus claims.
Regarding claim 1, Ambrosini et al. discloses a system for producing nitrogen (i.e., a thermal energy storage and power generation system; see Figure) comprising:
a reduction reactor (i.e., a solar receiver reduction reactor (SR3) 16; see column 5, lines 4-19) comprising a heat source (i.e., a source of concentrated sunlight 33, which is solar energy 30 concentrated by one or more heliostats or solar collection systems 32);
a nitrogen production reactor (i.e., a re-oxidation reactor (ROx) 20 capable of producing nitrogen in a discharge gas 40 when air is supplied to the ROx 20 as an input gas 38; see column 5, line 44, to column 6, line 2);
a mass of metal oxide (i.e., a mass of thermochemically active, metal oxide particles 34 (MOx); see column 7, lines 55-63; column 8, lines 11-25) within the reduction reactor 16;
wherein the mass of metal oxide is heated by the heat source (i.e., the metal oxide particles 34 in the SR3 16 are directly irradiated by the concentrated sunlight 33) and reduced in the reduction reactor to produce a mass of reduced metal oxide (i.e., the heated metal oxide particles 34 undergo a reduction reaction in the SR3 16 that generates O2, which is removed from the SR3 16 as an O2 flow 36, and a mass of reduced metal oxide particles (MOx-δ); see column 5, lines 12-15; column 7, lines 55-63);
wherein the mass of reduced metal oxide is oxidized in the nitrogen production reactor 20 in the presence of an input stream 38 comprising oxygen and nitrogen to remove the oxygen and produce an enriched nitrogen stream 40 (i.e., the reduced metal oxide particles (MOx-δ) are transported by gravity from the SR3 16 to the ROx 20, and the reduced metal oxide particles are re-oxidized to form the metal oxide particles (MOx) in the presence of an input stream 38 of air, which is made up of oxygen and nitrogen; the oxygen is thus removed from the air, and enriched-nitrogen is discharged from the ROx 20 as the discharge gas 40); and
wherein the heat source is concentrated solar energy (i.e., concentrated sunlight 33).
Ambrosini et al. (see column 8, lines 18-24) further discloses,
“In an embodiment, the particles may be mixed ionic-electronic conducting (MIEC) metal oxide material. In an embodiment, the MIEC may be a doped perovskite, AxA’1-xByB’1-yO3-δ. In an embodiment, the doped perovskite may be AxA’1-xByB’1-yO3-δ where A=La, Sr, K, Ca, Ba, Y and B=Mn, Fe, Co, Ti, Ni, Cu, Zr, Al, Y, Cr, V, Nb, Mo, where x=0-1, y=0-1, and 0≤δ≤0.5.” (with emphasis added).
The claimed group of metal oxides falls within the scope of the MIEC metal oxide materials disclosed by Ambrosini et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a claimed metal oxide for the mass of metal oxide in the system of Ambrosini et al. because the claimed metal oxides would have been considered suitable thermochemically active, metal oxides for the practice of the invention.
Regarding claim 3, Ambrosini et al. discloses that the reduction reactor 16 is a solar heating zone of a falling particle solar receiver or other receiver configurations (i.e., the metal oxide particles 34 fall via gravity through the SR3 16, see Figure; other configurations are also possible, see column 7, line 64, to column 8, line 7).
Regarding claim 4, Ambrosini et al. discloses that the input stream 38 is air (see Figure).
Regarding claim 5, Ambrosini et al. discloses that the mass of metal oxide is a mass of metal oxide particles 34 (see Figure).
Regarding claim 6, as discussed above, the claimed group of metal oxides falls within the scope of the MIEC metal oxide materials disclosed by Ambrosini et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a claimed metal oxide for the mass of metal oxide in the system of Ambrosini et al. because the claimed metal oxides would have been considered suitable thermochemically active, metal oxides for the practice of the invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
* * *
/JENNIFER A LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774