Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1, 8, 12, 15 and 18-19 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Po-Kai (US 20190335454 A1) in view of Han (US 20230083503 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 12 and 18-19 Po-Kai teaches, a method used in a non-access point (non-AP) multi-link device (MLD), [0062] A “multi-link AP logical entity” is a multi-link logical entity, wherein each STA within the multi-link logical entity is an AP. A multi-link non-AP logical entity is a multi-link logical entity, wherein each STA within the multi-link logical entity is a non-AP STA. In some embodiments, a multi-link logical entity allows STAs (AP or non-AP STA), comprising: generating a data frame or a control frame [0119] a multi-link setup Request Frame that includes capability information of the STAs 504 of the plurality of STAs 504; and receive, from the AP 502, a multi-link setup Response Frame that includes capability information of the APs 502 of the plurality of APs 502, comprising information on capability of the (non- AP) (MLD) to simultaneously transmit and receive [0111] the capability information of the other APs 502 may include per-link capability information for at least one of the links, including one or more of: a maximum number of links that can be enabled for operation at a time; on each of the links that are enabled for frame exchange, whether the links are to support transmission on both sides of the link, reception on both sides of the link, or both transmission and reception on both sides of the link; and/or other, Physical Layer (PHY) [0029] Each of the baseband processing circuitries 108A and 108B may further include physical layer (PHY) and medium access control layer (MAC) circuitry, Protocol Data Units (PPDUs); [0091] the wireless device 700 is configured to decode and/or encode signals, packets, and/or frames as described herein, e.g., PPDUs and transmitting the data frame or a control frame to an AP MLD. [0119] the STA 504 may transmit, to the AP 502, a multi-link setup Request Frame that includes capability information of the STAs 504 of the plurality of STAs 504.
Po-Kai does not teach wherein the information is represented by a bitmap indicating links on which the non-AP MLD can simultaneously transmit and receive PPDUs
However, Hans teaches wherein the information is represented by a bitmap indicating links on which the non-AP MLD can simultaneously transmit and receive PPDUs [0075] Each non-AP MLD also reports the STR capability information of every pair of links to an AP MLD accessed by the non-AP MLD. As shown in FIG. 9, the non-AP MLD may also use a bitmap to indicate the STR capability of every basic bandwidth. In this case, the basic bandwidth is 20 MHz. As such, the 160 MHz bandwidth channel of link1 needs an 8-bit bitmap, where each bit represents STR capability of a 20 MHz bandwidth. If one bit is set to 1, the corresponding 20 MHz bandwidth can do STR operation with respect to link2. Otherwise, the corresponding 20 MHz bandwidth cannot do STR operation with respect to link2.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Po-Kai and Huang before him or her, to modify the method of Po-Kai to include bitmap as taught by Huang.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved communication efficiency. (0211 Huang).
In regards to claims 8 and 15, Po-Kai and Han teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Po-Kai does not teach wherein the information is contained within an Operating Mode (OM) Control field of the data frame.
However, Han teaches wherein the information is contained within an Operating Mode (OM) Control field of the data frame, [0075] Each non-AP MLD also reports the STR capability information of every pair of links to an AP MLD accessed by the non-AP MLD. As shown in FIG. 9, the non-AP MLD may also use a bitmap to indicate the STR capability of every basic bandwidth. In this case, the basic bandwidth is 20 MHz. As such, the 160 MHz bandwidth channel of link1 needs an 8-bit bitmap, where each bit represents STR capability of a 20 MHz bandwidth. If one bit is set to 1, the corresponding 20 MHz bandwidth can do STR operation with respect to link2. Otherwise, the corresponding 20 MHz bandwidth cannot do STR operation with respect to link2.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Po-Kai and Han before him or her, to modify the method of Po-Kai to include frame configurations as taught by Han.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved transmission efficiency. (0078 Han).
Claim [4,14,11 and 17] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Po-Kai in view of Han Further in view of Huang (US 20200396568 A1).
In regards to claims 4 and 14 Po-Kai and Han teaches, the limitations of the parent claims.
Po-Kai and Han do not teach wherein the information is contained within an Aggregated Control field of the data frame or the management frame.
Huang also teaches wherein the information is contained within an Aggregated Control field of the data frame or the management frame; [0144] An AP indicates if other APs in the same MLD have buffered group addressed data for transmission. A new control field variant of an A-Control in HT control is introduced to indicate the status of the buffered group addressed data for other APs in the same MLD. A link ID bitmap with each bit corresponding to the link ID of the AP can be used for the indication.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Po-Kai, Han and Huang before him or her, to modify the method of Po-Kai and Han to include data frame as taught by Huang.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved communication efficiency. (0211 Huang).
In regards to claims 11 and 17, Po-Kai and Han teaches, the limitations of the parent claims.
Po-Kai and Han do not teach wherein the frame is transmitted to the AP MLD unsolicited or after being solicited by the AP MLD.
However, Huang teaches wherein the frame is transmitted to the AP MLD unsolicited or after being solicited by the AP MLD. [0076] The third method may be a GCR unsolicited retry: in this case, group addressed data with sequence number x are retried for a fixed amount of times without any acknowledgment before moving on to the next group addressed data with sequence number larger than x.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Po-Kai, Han and Huang before him or her, to modify the method of Po-Kai and Han to include data frame as taught by Huang.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved communication efficiency. (0211 Huang).
Claim [ 5, 6 and 9 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Po-Kai in view of Han further in view of Huang .
In regards to claims 5, Po-Kai, Han and Huang teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Po-Kai and Huang do not teach information that can be used by the AP MLD to arrive at a transmit configuration so that the non-AP MLD can simultaneously transmit and receive PPDUs.
However, Han also teaches information that can be used by the AP MLD to arrive at a transmit configuration so that the non-AP MLD can simultaneously transmit and receive PPDUs, [0094] The non-AP MLD may get the self-interference status based on the AP MLD which the non-AP MLD wants to associate with. The non-AP MLD includes the operation parameters of every pair of links in (re) association request frame, where the operation parameters may include: e.g. STR mode, constrained modulation and coding scheme, constrained transmission power, constrained transmission bandwidth, and/or constrained physical layer convergence procedure (PLCP) protocol data unit (PPDU) length.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Po-Kai ,Huang and Han before him or her, to modify the method of Po-Kai and Huang to include frame configurations as taught by Han.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved transmission efficiency. (0078 Han).
In regards to claims 6, Po-Kai, Han and Huang teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Po-Kai and Huang do not teach a Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR) links bitmap subfield, and the information is contained within the STR links bitmap subfield.
However, Han teaches a Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR) links bitmap subfield, and the information is contained within the STR links bitmap subfield, [0075] Each non-AP MLD also reports the STR capability information of every pair of links to an AP MLD accessed by the non-AP MLD. As shown in FIG. 9, the non-AP MLD may also use a bitmap to indicate the STR capability of every basic bandwidth. In this case, the basic bandwidth is 20 MHz. As such, the 160 MHz bandwidth channel of link1 needs an 8-bit bitmap, where each bit represents STR capability of a 20 MHz bandwidth. If one bit is set to 1, the corresponding 20 MHz bandwidth can do STR operation with respect to link2. Otherwise, the corresponding 20 MHz bandwidth cannot do STR operation with respect to link2.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Po-Kai ,Huang and Han before him or her, to modify the method of Po-Kai and Huang to include frame configurations as taught by Han.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved transmission efficiency. (0078 Han).
In regards to claims 9, Po-Kai, Han and Huang teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Po-Kai and Huang does not teach wherein the OM Control field comprises a Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR) links bitmap subfield, and the information is contained within the STR links bitmap subfield.
However, Han teaches wherein the OM Control field comprises a Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR) links bitmap subfield, and the information is contained within the STR links bitmap subfield, [0072] The AP MLD may indicate where non-STR BW and STR BW of every pair of multi-links are. The AP MLD can broadcast or unicast the STR capability information. The STR capability includes STR capability of every basic bandwidth. As shown in FIG. 9, the AP MLD uses a bitmap to indicate the STR capability of every basic bandwidth. In this case, the basic bandwidth is 20 MHz. As such, the 160 MHz bandwidth channel of link1 needs an 8-bit bitmap, where each bit represents the STR capability of a 20 MHz. If one bit is set to 1, the corresponding 20 MHz can do STR operation with respect to link2. Otherwise, the corresponding 20 MHz cannot do STR operation with respect to link2
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Po-Kai ,Huang and Han before him or her, to modify the method of Po-Kai and Huang to include frame configurations as taught by Han.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved transmission efficiency. (0078 Han).
Claim [ 5, 6 and 9 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Po-Kai in view of Huang further in view of Han .
In regards to claims 9, Po-Kai, Han and Huang teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Po-Kai and Huang does not teach wherein the OM Control field comprises a Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR) links bitmap subfield, and the information is contained within the STR links bitmap subfield.
However, Han teaches wherein the OM Control field comprises a Simultaneous Transmit and Receive (STR) links bitmap subfield, and the information is contained within the STR links bitmap subfield, [0072] The AP MLD may indicate where non-STR BW and STR BW of every pair of multi-links are. The AP MLD can broadcast or unicast the STR capability information. The STR capability includes STR capability of every basic bandwidth. As shown in FIG. 9, the AP MLD uses a bitmap to indicate the STR capability of every basic bandwidth. In this case, the basic bandwidth is 20 MHz. As such, the 160 MHz bandwidth channel of link1 needs an 8-bit bitmap, where each bit represents the STR capability of a 20 MHz. If one bit is set to 1, the corresponding 20 MHz can do STR operation with respect to link2. Otherwise, the corresponding 20 MHz cannot do STR operation with respect to link2
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Po-Kai ,Huang and Han before him or her, to modify the method of Po-Kai and Huang to include frame configurations as taught by Han.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved transmission efficiency. (0078 Han).
Claim [ 7 ] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Po-Kai in view of Huang further in view of Han further in view Hedayat (US 20180020460 A1) .
In regards to claims 7, Po-Kai, Huang and Han teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Po-Kai, Huang and Han do not teach a Target Downlink (DL) Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) subfield, a Recommended Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) subfield, and a Station (STA) Transmit Power subfield
However, Han teaches a Target Downlink (DL) Received Signal Strength Indication (RSSI) subfield, a Recommended Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) subfield, [0116] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating a format of a Per-user Info field, according to some embodiments. The Per-user Info field may include a User Identifier subfield, an RU allocation subfield, a Coding Type subfield, an MCS subfield, a DCM subfield, an SS Allocation subfield, a Target RSSI subfield, and a Type-dependent Per User Info subfield and a Station (STA) Transmit Power subfield, [0118] The trigger frame described above is structured such that all of the STAs that are expected to participate in the UL MU simultaneous transmission transmit a particular type of data frame or a specific type of control frame or control information
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Po-Kai ,Huang, Han and Hedayat before him or her, to modify the method of Po-Kai, Huang and Han to include control subfields as taught by Han.
The motivation to do so would be the improved AP and Non AP transmission. (0038 Hedayat).
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant essentially argues with respect to claim 1 on page 4 of the remark’s files on 01/21/2026 that “Po-Kai [0111] fails to teach “generating a data frame or a control frame comprising information on capability of the non-AP MILD to simultaneously transmit and receive Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Units (PPDUs)””.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument, it is noted that the feature “generating a data frame or a control frame comprising information on capability of the non-AP MILD to simultaneously transmit and receive Physical Layer (PHY) Protocol Data Units (PPDUs)” is included in [0111 and 0171] “if a transmitter wants to transmit an aggregated MPDUs belonging to a certain TID stream, the transmitter will initiate ADDBA request/response sequence to setup BA agreement with the intended receiver. The ADDBA request frame will indicate the TID for which the block ack agreement is being set up”. Here the transmitter initiates a ADDBA request or response for c control frame type (ADDBA frame), the requested frame contains specific information (TID).
The applicant also argues with respect to claim 1 on page 4 of the remark’s files on 01/21/2026 that “Han [0075] fails to teach “wherein the information is represented by a bitmap indicating links on which the non-AP MLD can simultaneously transmit and receive PPDUs
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument, it is noted that the feature “wherein the information is represented by a bitmap indicating links on which the non-AP MLD can simultaneously transmit and receive PPDUs” is included in [0075 and 00083] “the frequency segment 1 cannot be used for STR operation when non-AP MLD is simultaneously transmitting or receiving on link2; but the frequency segment 0 can be used for STR operation when non-AP MLD is simultaneously transmitting or receiving on link2.”. Here the bitmap representation 0 can do STR and 1 cannot do STR, but with specific frequency segments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 /JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466