Detailed Action
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15 are pending in this application. Claims 4, 9, 14 were cancelled. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 5/20/26 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0267360 issued to Spector in view of US 2017/0099579 issued to Ryan et al.(Ryan) in view of US in view of Moore (US 2007/0219810).
As to claims 1,6,11, Spector discloses a method for event response/An apparatus comprising at least one processor and a memory storing computer program instructions executable by the at least one processor, wherein the memory and the computer program instructions and the processor are configured to cause the apparatus to/ A non-transitory computer-readable medium tangibly comprising computer program instructions, which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor(Fig.1, para.43) to at least:
(b) receiving, by the processor, an alert, wherein the alert is at least one of a 911 call, an emergency response alert, and a social media post (para.58.. In step 200, the emergency control center 105 receives an emergency notification..);
(c) receiving, by the processor, a plurality of profiles from the plurality of user equipments, wherein the plurality of profiles are received by the processor prior to the alert but cannot be accessed by the processor prior to the receiving the alert(Fig.2, para.57; FIG. 2 illustrates one embodiment of a databank in accordance with an aspect of the present invention. The databank includes a plurality of first responders. In this case, Ned S., Jill, J, Fred D. and Em D are the first responders. Each of the first responders has one or more associated skill levels. The skill levels can indicated different skills. For example, skill level 1 may indicate the ability to deal with hazardous materials. Skill level 2 may indicate the ability to deal with injured persons. Other skill levels can be included in the databank of FIG. 2. The databank also includes an availability of the first responder. This can be provided by the first responder entering the availability into his or her associated personal computing device. Alternatively, the availability can be assigned by the emergency control center or by any other means possible. The location of the first responder is also provided in the databank. The location is preferably provided by the information provided by the positioning unit 101 for each first responder; information such as skill level, availability, location, etc is interpreted as user’s profile; para. 49,58-59; FIG. 3 illustrates the steps performed by the emergency control center 105 in accordance with one aspect of the present invention. In step 200, the emergency control center 105 receives an emergency notification. The notification specifies the type of emergency and the location of the emergency. In step 202, the emergency control center, which includes a processing center that accesses the databank 106, searches the databank 106 for available first responders. Using the example of FIG. 2, Ned S., Fred D. and Em D. would be available; users information/profile is stored in databank prior to receiving the emergency notification(ie alert) and it obvious to one ordinary skill in the art that the user information/profile is not accessed/searched until there is an emergency notification);
(d) receiving, by the processor, an indication that at least one of the plurality of user equipments are located within a predetermined geographic area (para.60; In step 206, the emergency control center 105 determines the location of each of the first responders and their distance from the emergency location. This determination is made based on the location information concerning the emergency from step 200 and from the location information of each first responder provided by the personal computing device 100 and positioning unit 101 associated with each first responder.);
(e) determining, by the processor, a plurality of instructions for each one of the at least one of the plurality of user equipments based on the received plurality of profiles (para.62; Based on this determination, the emergency control center issues a message to one or more first responders to respond the emergency. The message is displayed on the personal computing device associated with the selected first responders (which is also stored in the databank). The message can be an email communication, a light, a text message, an alarm or any other type of message. The message can specify the location of the emergency and the type of emergency; the message to the first responder to respond to the emergency is interpreted as the “instructions”); and
(f) transmitting, by the processor, a plurality of instructions to the at least one of the plurality of user equipments (para.62; Based on this determination, the emergency control center issues a message to one or more first responders to respond the emergency. The message is displayed on the personal computing device associated with the selected first responders (which is also stored in the databank). The message can be an email communication, a light, a text message, an alarm or any other type of message. The message can specify the location of the emergency and the type of emergency).
Spector does not explicitly disclose (a) transmitting, by a processor, a profile questionnaire to a plurality of user equipments and the plurality of profiles are stored in a restricted access state, wherein the processor is prevented from accessing the plurality of profiles until receiving the alert. Spector however does teach a databank with different user’s information/profile, Fig.2 and para.49,58-59 teaches that the databank is searched for the appropriate person to handle an emergency.
Ryan teaches the plurality of profiles are stored in a restricted access state, wherein the processor is prevented from accessing the plurality of profiles until receiving the alert([0052] Information retained by emergency server 320 includes user data 322. System users utilizing the EEMS_App may optionally store personal information into this secure data archive for use during an emergency. User data 322 may include, for example, medical history, drug allergies, primary care physician, family contacts, insurance information, etc. Information stored in this subsystem, especially sensitive personal information, is protected via security mechanisms such as passwords and data encryption and access may be limited during emergencies according to user defined rules. All attempts to access user stored data may be recorded and available for review by users to ensure privacy and data access accountability.; it is obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention that the protected user profile is only accessed when there is an emergency based on user defined rules).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Spector of storing user/first responder profile in a databank and identifying a first responder to handle emergencies to apply the teachings of Ryan of storing protected user profile information in a secure data archive for use during emergencies to Spector’s first responder profile in order to provide the predictable result of storing protected user/first responder profile in a databank and accessing the databank during emergencies for identifying a first responder to respond to emergencies.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to provide security for information and protect user’s sensitive information.
Spector in view of Ryan does not teach (a) transmitting, by a processor, a profile questionnaire to a plurality of user equipments.
Moore explicitly teaches (a) transmitting, by a processor, a profile questionnaire to a plurality of user equipments(para.62; There are various ways by which such a personal profile can be established 105. By one approach the information can be acquired by way of a questionnaire and/or interview process ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Spector in view of Ryan of storing protected user/first responder profile in a databank and accessing the databank during emergencies for identifying a first responder to respond to emergencies to use the known method of Moore of using a questionnaire to build a user/first responder profile in order to provide the predictable result of using a questionnaire to collect a first responder’s information to build a profile to handle certain types of emergencies.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to provide the best first responder to certain types of emergencies.
As per claims 2,7,12, Spector in view of Ryan in view of Moore teaches the method/apparatus/non-transitory readable medium according to claim 1,6,11, wherein the profile questionnaire comprises medical skills questions, emergency response experience questions, law enforcement questions, and military questions(Moore, para.62; There are various ways by which such a personal profile can be established 105. By one approach the information can be acquired by way of a questionnaire and/or interview process para. 59 …. In many cases this personal profile may comprise information regarding the candidate authorized beneficiary's likely personal response to an emergency situation (such as, but not necessarily limited to, a civilly-catastrophic event). This might comprise, depending upon the application context, information regarding (but not necessarily limited to) a personal history of violence, military service, emergency services employment, emergency services training, medical services employment, medical services training, law enforcement service, law enforcement training, mental health, quantified intelligence (as represented, for example, by an intelligence quotient score), physical mobility capability, an assessed response to stressful circumstances, assessed anxieties, and/or assessed levels of self confidence, to name but a few.). Motivation to combine set forth in claim 1,6,11.
As per claims 3, 8,13, Spector in view of Ryan in view of Moore teaches the method/apparatus/non-transitory readable medium according to claim 1,6,11, wherein the plurality of user equipments comprise a plurality of cellphones(Spector, para.3,18, claim 3; teaches cell phone; para.62 receiving messages such as email, text etc) however does not explicitly teach smartphones and wearables. Admitted Prior Art; the use of smartphones and wearable(watches) are well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Spector in view of Moore of user’s receiving messages to respond to emergencies on a cellphone to use the well known devices such as smartphones and wearable(watches) in order to provide the predictable result of user’s receiving messages to respond to emergencies on a cellphone, smart phone, and/or wearable (watch). One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to receive different types of emergency messages on different devices. Note: the applicant fails to adequately traverse the Official Notice taken on 1/16/25, therefore the common knowledge or well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art. MPEP 2144.03(C).
As per claims 5,10,15, Spector in view of Ryan in view of Moore teaches the method/apparatus/non-transitory readable medium according to claim 1,6,11, wherein the plurality of profiles comprise at least medical skill information, emergency response experience information, law enforcement information and military information(Moore, para.62; There are various ways by which such a personal profile can be established 105. By one approach the information can be acquired by way of a questionnaire and/or interview process; para. 59 …. In many cases this personal profile may comprise information regarding the candidate authorized beneficiary's likely personal response to an emergency situation (such as, but not necessarily limited to, a civilly-catastrophic event). This might comprise, depending upon the application context, information regarding (but not necessarily limited to) a personal history of violence, military service, emergency services employment, emergency services training, medical services employment, medical services training, law enforcement service, law enforcement training, mental health, quantified intelligence (as represented, for example, by an intelligence quotient score), physical mobility capability, an assessed response to stressful circumstances, assessed anxieties, and/or assessed levels of self confidence, to name but a few.). Motivation to combine set forth in claim 1,6,11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Boss et al.(US 2018/0365785), teaches cognitive emergency task coordination are disclosed. In embodiments, computer-implemented method comprises: receiving, by a computing device, participant data from one or more participant devices; inferring, by the computing device, skills or expertise of one or more available participants based on the participant data; generating, by the computing device, a task list including tasks associated with an emergency; assigning, by the computing device, select participants of the one or more available participants to one or more of the tasks in the task list based on the inferred skills or expertise; and sending, by the computing device, coordination data to the select participants, the coordination data including information regarding the one or more of the tasks assigned to the respective select participants
Spector(2011/0071880) teaches identification of a responder for responding to an emergency is disclosed. A server receives user data generally in the form of an electronic transmission wherein the user data includes at least an emergency type, user identity, and location of the emergency. A user profile is then retrieved from a user database based on the user identity. One or more responders are identified to dispatch to the emergency by searching a responder profile database that includes real-time location information based upon a criteria set including, the availability of the responder as indicated in the responder profile, and the proximity of the responder to the location of the emergency. The server electronically contacts one or more responders that meet the criteria set. An acceptance is received at the server from one or more of the responders. The server then dispatches one or more of the accepting responders to the location of the emergency. In certain embodiments, the server determines if a specialized responder is required based at least upon the user profile. In other embodiments, the transmission of the user data includes an emergency code and the server determines if a specialized responder is required based upon the emergency code.
US 9,826,358 issued to Ryan et al., teaches this disclosure provides a method and system for tracking and communicating with responders in the event of an emergency situation. An emergency server coupled to a wireless telecommunications network receives a notification of an emergency situation, establishes a first geofence around a location of the emergency situation, determines a set of candidate responders registered to an area associated with the location, transmits a request for UE locations of the set of candidate responders to a location server and receives a response, determines which UEs of candidate responders are within an area bounded by the geofence, and transmits messages soliciting responders to the UEs.
/BACKHEAN TIV/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2459