DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are subject to examination.
Applicant’s claims 7/14/25 and remarks are acknowledged. Accordingly, the claims 1-24 are entered for examination over the claims dated 3/13/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended claim 1 contains, determining, based on a device identifier associated with the user device determined via the first communication session, a second network identifier of a second network and one or more security parameters, both previously associated with the user device; and based on the determination of the second network identifier of the second network previously associated with the user device and the one or more security parameters, broadcasting, by the network device, the second network identifier of the second network.
However, the claims do not contain that the second network identifier of a second network and one or more security parameters were indeed associated with the user device. The specification does not implement “a second network identifier of a second network and one or more security parameters, both previously associated with the user device” without the device is indeed associated with both before implementing the determining.
For example, the specification and Claim 2 of this application claims, wherein the first communication session is established without a security parameter, which does not mean that the device was previously associated with both of them.
For example, the specification and Claim 24 of this application claims, wherein establishing the open communication session comprises establishing the open communication session without the one or more security parameters.
Hence, the specification mentions that if the previous sessions did not use “both” in the past, then “previously associated” is not implemented.
Claims 8, and 17, claim similar limitations regarding “previously associated” of claim 1.
Claims 1, 8, 17, contains, based on establishment of the first communication session: determining, based on an identifier associated with the user device, a network identifier of a second network previously associated with the user device; and based on the determination of the network identifier of the second network previously associated with the user device, broadcasting, by the network device, the network identifier; and establishing, based on the network identifier, a second communication session between the user device and the network device via the second network.
However, the specification does not contain, based on establishment of the first communication session: … and contrarily with,
determining, based on a device identifier associated with the user device determined via the first communication session, a second network identifier of a second network and one or more security parameters, both previously associated with the user device; and based on the determination of the second network identifier of the second network previously associated with the user device and the one or more security parameters, broadcasting, by the network device, the second network identifier of the second network
The specification contains, [0077] In step 1112, a secure communication between the user device and the network can be established. In an aspect, the established secure communication can be based on the third identifier. Establishment of the secure communication can be in response to a selection of the third identifier on the user device. In a further aspect, the secure communication can utilize the security information associated with the user device. The result being that the user device connects to the network device by using an SSID and security parameters that were previously configured for the user device to connect to another network device.
Claims 1-7, 9-16, 18-20 are dependent claims of claims 1, 8, 17 respectively, and hence subject to the same rejections.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “previously associated” in claims 1, 8, 17, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “previously associated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The claims contain, the second network identifier of a second network and one or more security parameters were indeed associated with the user device. The specification does not implement “a second network identifier of a second network and one or more security parameters, both previously associated with the user device” without the device is indeed associated with both before implementing the determining. It is not clear whether “previously associated” is before the broadcasting step, establishing the session, or just before the determining steps. The claimed “previously associated” is no different as compared to “associated” the “associated” is considered “previously associated” after it is referenced first time in the claim.
It is not clear how “previously associated” makes both of them different as compared to “associated”.
Claims 1, 8, 15 recites the limitation "previously associated". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claims do not contain “associated” with “both” to which "previously associated" refers to.
Claims 1-7, 9-16, 18-20 are dependent claims of claims 1, 8, 17 respectively, and hence subject to the same rejections.
Drawings
The figures submitted on the filing date of this application are noted.
Applicant’s remarks dated 4/1/24 and 12/20/24, Applicant respectfully submits that at least the combination of FIGs. 3, 5, and 7, along with the corresponding descriptions of each of those figures, show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, contrary to assertions, these figures do not show, “based on the determination of the second SSID associated with the second network previously associated with the user device, broadcasting, by the network device, the second SSID”, “broadcasting …” establishing … session …, broadcasting, by the network device, based on the network information, a second network identifier …; and establishing, based on the second network identifier, second communication session…
Applicant is reminded about figures 9-11, in which method steps of claims 1, 8, 17 do not exist, and rather contains unclaimed steps in the figures 9-11. Hence, figures 9-11 can be updated to show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Applicant’s remarks dated 9/19/23, Applicant respectfully submits that an express illustration of the steps of a method is not necessary for understanding by one of ordinary skill in the art of the subject matter to be patented; are noted. However, such mere arguments would not overcome the objections. The objections are based on the MPEP.
Applicant’s remarks dated 9/19/23, The Office Action is improperly interpreting the language of the Code as requiring all features of the invention to be contained in a single drawing; are noted. Applicant failed to provide a single drawing with the remarks dated 9/19/23, and rather provided there mere/incorrect statement, which do not compact the prosecution of this application.
Applicant’s remarks dated 8/7/24, Applicant respectfully submits that at least the combination of FIGs. 3, 5, and 7, along with the corresponding descriptions of each of those figures, show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Accordingly, withdrawal of this objection is respectfully requested.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show features of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, components of the claims 1, 8, 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
As seen in below figures 9-11, method steps of below claims 1, 8, 17 do not exist, rather unclaimed steps are presented in the figures 9-11. Replacement of unclaimed method steps of claims 1, 8, 17, with claimed method steps is suggested in the figures 9-11, in order to overcome the objections.
A proposed drawing correction or corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled --Replacement Sheet-- in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the examiner does not accept the changes, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Applicant’s remarks dated 3/20/23 are noted. Regarding Applicant’s statements, “Applicant notes that, as outlined in MPEP 608.02 Drawing [R-07.2015], the statutory requirement for showing the claimed invention only requires that the “applicant shall furnish a drawing where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter to be patented...” (See 35 U.S.C. 113, See also 37 CFR §1.81(a), which states “t]he applicant for a patent is required to furnish a drawing of the invention where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented...”). In the pending application, Applicant respectfully submits that an express illustration of the steps of a method is not necessary for understanding by one of ordinary skill in the art of the subject matter to be patented. Accordingly, withdrawal of this objection is respectfully requested. Further, the Office Action limits its review of the drawings for Figures 9-11 and apparently ignores the remaining eleven figures. 37 C.F.R. § 1.83(a) requires the drawings “must show features of the invention.” The Office Action is improperly interpreting the language of the Code as requiring all features of the invention to be contained in a single drawing.”; the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant failed to mention that figures 9-11 belong to method steps that were claimed in the parent application that has been abandoned. Applicant is not required to present all features of the invention to be contained in a single drawing. Rather Applicant wants to keep the drawings for figures 9-11 method steps that do not belong to the claimed invention in this divisional application. Applicant fails to follow “t]he applicant for a patent is required to furnish a drawing of the invention where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented...”). One of ordinary skilled in the art, would readily know that figures 9-11 steps express illustration of the steps of a method that the applicant had claimed in the abandoned application and is not necessary for understanding of the subject matter that is not patented in the abandoned application. Rather, one of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that the Applicant choose to provide the steps for the abandoned application and had considered to be necessary for understanding by one of ordinary skill in the art of the subject matter to be patented in the abandoned application. The Applicant is contrarily stating that the figures 9-11 should not reflect the claimed invention of this application, and rather continue to reflect the claimed invention of the abandoned application, even after filing a divisional application. Mere arguments would not overcome the objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollu-Qualcomm 2016/0094662 in view of Lee KR 2014/0055857 A and Ramalingam et al., US 10038729 and CAI et al., WO 2013164032 A1.
Referring to claim 1, Kollu-Qualcomm substantially teaches a method comprising:
broadcasting, by a network device, a first network identifier of a first network (broadcast first SSID associated with LAN/WAN, etc., para 73, connection to accomplish data transfer, para 124); establishing, based on the first network identifier (using the first SSID, para 73), a first communication session (connection to accomplish data transfer, para 124) between a user device (connecting to client device, abstract) and the network device (connecting by the device with the network, abstract) via the first network (using the LAN/WAN, etc., para 73); based on establishment of the first communication session (after the connection is made using the first SSID, para 73), determining, based on a device identifier associated with the user device, network information of a second network identifier (various identifying information about the client device including MAC address, para 39, 68, 10, IP address assigned to the client device, para 39, 68, 10, SSID(s) mapped and associated with the client device identifiers including MAC address / IP address, para 68, 39, 10), determined, via the first communication session, a second network (SSID(s) mapped and associated with the client device identifiers including MAC address / IP address, para 68, 39, 10); broadcasting, by the network device of the second network, based on the network information, a second network identifier of the second network (broadcasting second SSID associated with another LAN/WAN, etc., para 73); and establishing, based on the second network identifier (using the second SSID, para 73), a second communication session (connection is created using second ssid for transfer of traffic/packets, para 39, 68, 10, 44) between the user device (client device, para 10) and the network device via the second network (device using second SSID associated with second LAN/WAN/etc, para 10, 44).
Kollu-Qualcomm does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Lee discloses, the second network previously associated with the user device (the wireless LAN network is searched through the interworking with the access point unit 410 (S100). At this time, the access point unit 410 registers a MAC (Media Access Control) address of the terminal,
Then, the terminal 100 performs authentication for the terminal in cooperation with the authentication unit 430 (S110). At this time, the authentication unit 430 stores the MAC address of the UE and International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) information. In step S100 and step S110, it is determined whether the terminal 100 searches for a wireless LAN network and how the authentication unit 430 performs authentication for the terminal 100.
When terminal authentication is completed in step S101, the terminal 100 requests the access point 410 to use the same IP in the wireless LAN network.
The access point unit 410 requests an IP to be allocated to the terminal 100 to the network unit 420 (S103). Since the access point 410 transmits the MAC address of the already stored terminal together when requesting the IP, the network unit 420 registers the MAC address of the terminal 100 after receiving the IP request signal (6th- 12th para, page 4).
register the location of the terminal, generates an IP address to be used both on the first network and a second network in the same way, and allocates the IP address to the terminal to enable the mobility between the first network and the second network (page 1, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of previously associated network. The registered terminal using IP address and/or MAC address would enable the device to connect and access information from the network. This would enable the mobility between the first network and the second network, abstract, 6th- 12th para, page 4.
Kollu-Qualcomm and Lee does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Ramalingam discloses, based on the determination of the second network identifier of the second network previously associated with the user device, broadcasting the second network identifier (
(26) The cooperative access point module 114 executing on the access point 104 may provide one or more functions. One function is providing an identifier associated with the cooperative network. For example, the access point 104 may be configured to broadcast a first service set identification (“SSID”) for the user's private network of “mybusiness” and a second SSID for “coop” which is associated with the cooperative network, col., 4, lines 61-67,
(41) In the mobile user device scenario 130, the user device 102(1) is in motion from one physical location to another. The motion may be detected based on signal strength received from the access points 104, positioning system data, accelerometer data, and so forth. One or more modules in the system 100 may use the motion to determine a predicted path 134. For example, the cooperative maintenance module 120 may be configured to use the motion information about the user device 102 to generate the predicted path 134. The predicated path 134 may be used to coordinate the activity of one or more of the cooperative maintenance module 120, the cooperative routing module 122, the cooperative participant module 110, or the cooperative access point module 114. The cooperative participant module 110 may be provided with the SSIDs or other settings or credentials needed for use of access points 104 along the predicted path 134, before coming into the communication range 106 of those access points 104. For example, shortly after starting in motion at T=0, the user device 102(1) may receive the settings or credentials for the access point 104(1) such that, at T=1 when the user device 102(1) is in communication range 106(1) of the access point 104(1), communication may be established or maintained, col., 7, lines 22-44,
(57) Other controls for setting private SSIDs 410 may also be presented. A private SSID is an SSID associated with a network other than the cooperative network. For example, the access point 104 may be configured to support multiple simultaneous SSIDs, such as a first SSID associated with the cooperative network and a second SSID associated with the private network, col., 14, lines 7-12,
(99) As described above with regard to FIG. 1B, one or more of the cooperative network server 118, the cooperative participant module 110, or the cooperative access point module 114 may be configured to maintain connectivity when relative motion occurs between the user devices 102 and the access points 104. For example, motion may be determined and used to provide communication credentials, SSIDs, and so forth to the cooperative participant module 110, the cooperative access point module 114, and so forth. For example, the user may be traveling with the user device 102, moving from the communication range 106 of one access point 104 to another. In another example, the user device 102 may be stationary while the access point 104, such as a portable hotspot, is in motion, col., 15, lines 30-45,
(76) The datastore 516 may store configuration data 518 associated with operation of the access point 104. The configuration data 518 may include SSIDs, QoS settings, and so forth. In some implementations at least a portion of the configuration data 518 may be received from the cooperative network server 118 or another device configured to remotely configure the access point 104. In some implementations the datastore 516 may include at least a portion of one or more of account data 124 or usage data 126. Other data 522 may also be stored in the datastore, such as the MAC address of the communication interfaces 506, list of network addresses provided by a dynamic host configuration protocol (“DHCP”) module, and so forth, col., 12, lines 49- 59.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known stored second SSID. When the user device is in the communication range of the access point, the user device would receive the broadcasted second SSID that is associated with the range of the access point. Each time the user device that is travelling on the same path is within the access point range, the same (previous) SSID would be available for the user device to make a connection, col., 7, lines 22-44.
Kollu-Qualcom, Ramalingam and Lee does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Cai discloses, security parameter also previously associated with the device (abstract, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known security parameter. For example, the password would provide secure access since others would not be able to access information without the password. When the session terminates, the password is also requires for the upcoming/next/following session and which is provided for the network.
Note: The specification contains, the security parameters can comprise one or more of, a password, WEP encryption, WPA encryption, WPA encryption, MAC address restriction, any other security parameters, para 19
Referring to claim 2, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches wherein the first communication session is established without a security parameter (security parameter is not used, para 73).
Referring to claim 3, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches wherein the first network comprises a public network (internet, WAN, para 32), and wherein the second network comprises a private network (LAN, para 32, private IP addresses, para 10).
Referring to claim 4, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches wherein the device identifier comprises at least one of a media access control (MAC) address or an Internet protocol (IP) address (various identifying information about the client device including MAC address, para 39, IP address assigned to the client device, para 10).
Referring to claim 5, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches wherein the network information comprises at least one of a service set identifier (SSID), a password, an encryption, an Internet protocol (IP) address, or an address restriction (SSID, para 10, various identifying information IP address, para 10).
Referring to claim 6, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches receiving, by a remote computing device, the first network identifier (first SSID, remote source/device, para 80, 81).
Referring to claim 8, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches a method comprising: establishing a first communication session between a user device and a network device via a first network (connecting using a first SSID associated with LAN/WAN, etc., para 73, connection to accomplish data transfer, para 124); based on establishment of the first communication session (after the connection is made using the first SSID, para 73), determining based on an identifier associated with the user device, a network identifier of a second network associated with the user device (SSID(s) mapped and associated with the client device identifiers including MAC address / IP address, para 68, 73); broadcasting, by the network device, the network identifier (broadcasting second SSID associated with another LAN/WAN, etc., para 73); and establishing, based on the second network identifier (using the second SSID, para 44, 73, 10); and establishing, based on the network identifier (using the second SSID, para 44, 73, 10), a second communication session (connection is created using second ssid for transfer of traffic/packets, para 10, 44, 73) between the user device and the network device via the second network (device using second SSID associated with second LAN/WAN/etc, para 10, 44).
Kollu-Qualcomm does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Lee discloses, the second network previously associated with the user device (the wireless LAN network is searched through the interworking with the access point unit 410 (S100). At this time, the access point unit 410 registers a MAC (Media Access Control) address of the terminal,
Then, the terminal 100 performs authentication for the terminal in cooperation with the authentication unit 430 (S110). At this time, the authentication unit 430 stores the MAC address of the UE and International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) information. In step S100 and step S110, it is determined whether the terminal 100 searches for a wireless LAN network and how the authentication unit 430 performs authentication for the terminal 100.
When terminal authentication is completed in step S101, the terminal 100 requests the access point 410 to use the same IP in the wireless LAN network.
The access point unit 410 requests an IP to be allocated to the terminal 100 to the network unit 420 (S103). Since the access point 410 transmits the MAC address of the already stored terminal together when requesting the IP, the network unit 420 registers the MAC address of the terminal 100 after receiving the IP request signal (6th- 12th para, page 4).
register the location of the terminal, generates an IP address to be used both on the first network and a second network in the same way, and allocates the IP address to the terminal to enable the mobility between the first network and the second network (page 1, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of previously associated network. The registered terminal using IP address and/or MAC address would enable the device to connect and access information from the network. This would enable the mobility between the first network and the second network, abstract, 6th- 12th para, page 4.
Kollu-Qualcomm and Lee does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Ramalingam discloses, based on the determination of the second network identifier of the second network previously associated with the user device, broadcasting the second network identifier (
(26) The cooperative access point module 114 executing on the access point 104 may provide one or more functions. One function is providing an identifier associated with the cooperative network. For example, the access point 104 may be configured to broadcast a first service set identification (“SSID”) for the user's private network of “mybusiness” and a second SSID for “coop” which is associated with the cooperative network, col., 4, lines 61-67,
(41) In the mobile user device scenario 130, the user device 102(1) is in motion from one physical location to another. The motion may be detected based on signal strength received from the access points 104, positioning system data, accelerometer data, and so forth. One or more modules in the system 100 may use the motion to determine a predicted path 134. For example, the cooperative maintenance module 120 may be configured to use the motion information about the user device 102 to generate the predicted path 134. The predicated path 134 may be used to coordinate the activity of one or more of the cooperative maintenance module 120, the cooperative routing module 122, the cooperative participant module 110, or the cooperative access point module 114. The cooperative participant module 110 may be provided with the SSIDs or other settings or credentials needed for use of access points 104 along the predicted path 134, before coming into the communication range 106 of those access points 104. For example, shortly after starting in motion at T=0, the user device 102(1) may receive the settings or credentials for the access point 104(1) such that, at T=1 when the user device 102(1) is in communication range 106(1) of the access point 104(1), communication may be established or maintained, col., 7, lines 22-44,
(57) Other controls for setting private SSIDs 410 may also be presented. A private SSID is an SSID associated with a network other than the cooperative network. For example, the access point 104 may be configured to support multiple simultaneous SSIDs, such as a first SSID associated with the cooperative network and a second SSID associated with the private network, col., 14, lines 7-12,
(99) As described above with regard to FIG. 1B, one or more of the cooperative network server 118, the cooperative participant module 110, or the cooperative access point module 114 may be configured to maintain connectivity when relative motion occurs between the user devices 102 and the access points 104. For example, motion may be determined and used to provide communication credentials, SSIDs, and so forth to the cooperative participant module 110, the cooperative access point module 114, and so forth. For example, the user may be traveling with the user device 102, moving from the communication range 106 of one access point 104 to another. In another example, the user device 102 may be stationary while the access point 104, such as a portable hotspot, is in motion, col., 15, lines 30-45,
(76) The datastore 516 may store configuration data 518 associated with operation of the access point 104. The configuration data 518 may include SSIDs, QoS settings, and so forth. In some implementations at least a portion of the configuration data 518 may be received from the cooperative network server 118 or another device configured to remotely configure the access point 104. In some implementations the datastore 516 may include at least a portion of one or more of account data 124 or usage data 126. Other data 522 may also be stored in the datastore, such as the MAC address of the communication interfaces 506, list of network addresses provided by a dynamic host configuration protocol (“DHCP”) module, and so forth, col., 12, lines 49- 59.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known stored second SSID. When the user device is in the communication range of the access point, the user device would receive the broadcasted second SSID that is associated with the range of the access point. Each time the user device that is travelling on the same path is within the access point range, the same (previous) SSID would be available for the user device to make a connection, col., 7, lines 22-44.
Referring to claim 9, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches wherein establishing the first communication session comprises establishing the first communication session without a security parameter (security parameter is not used in para 73, 124).
Referring to claim 10, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches wherein the first network comprises a public network (internet, WAN, para 32), and wherein the second network comprises a private network (LAN, para 32, private IP addresses, para 10).
Referring to claim 11, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches receiving at least one of a media access control (MAC) address or an Internet protocol (IP) address associated with the second network (various identifying information about the client device including MAC address, para 39, IP address assigned to the client device, para 10).
Referring to claim 12, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches associating a subscriber with the user device (entity providing subscriptions for the client device, para 20, 10, 68).
Referring to claim 14, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches wherein the network identifier comprises a service set identifier (SSID) (para 68).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollu-Qualcomm in view of Ramalingam, Cai, Lee and Kim 20160150298.
Referring to claim(s) 7, Kollu-Qualcomm, Cai, Ramalingam and Lee does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Kim discloses, obtaining, by a remote computing device, the first network identifier from a gateway (ssid(s) from gateway(s) is obtained by the device, para 65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of SSID(s). The obtained SSID would enable the device to connect and access information para 65. Kim’s multiple gateways would provide different SSID and the device would be able to connect with multiple devices using the different SSIDs and access information from different devices, para 65.
Claim(s) 13, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollu-Qualcomm in view of Lee, Ramalingam and Cai.
Referring to claim(s) 13, Kollu-Qualcomm, Ramalingam and Lee does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Cai discloses, establishing the communication session based on a password, abstract. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of password. The password would provide secure access since others would not be able to access information without the password. When the session terminates the password is also reset and a (new) password of upcoming/next/following session is provided for the network, para 162.
Referring to claim(s) 15, Cai teaches establishing the second communication session based on a security parameter associated with the first network, abstract.
Referring to claim(s) 16, Cai teaches receiving, by the network device and from the user device, a security parameter (password provided by the user to the network device, abstract), wherein the second communication session is established based on the received security parameter, abstract.
Claim(s) 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollu-Qualcomm in view of Lee, Ramalingam, Cai and Persson et al., 2016/0277974.
Referring to claim 17, Kollu-Qualcomm substantially teaches a method comprising: establishing, based on a first service set identifier (SSID), a communication session between a user device and a network device via a first network (using first SSID associated with LAN/WAN, etc., para 73, connection to accomplish data transfer with client device, para 124)
based on establishment of the first communication session (after the connection is made using the first SSID, para 73), determining, based on a device identifier associated with the user device, a second SSID associated with a second network (SSID(s) mapped and associated with the client device identifiers including MAC address / IP address, para 68, 17, 10, various identifying information about the client device including MAC address, para 39, IP address assigned to the client device, para 10, 17, 68);
broadcasting, by the network device, the second SSID; (broadcasting second SSID associated with another LAN/WAN, etc., para 73, 10, 68) and
establishing, based on a parameter associated with the device identifier (using multiple client identifiers, parameters, para 68), a communication session between the user device and the network device (connection is created using second ssid for transfer of traffic/packets, para 10, 44) via the second network (device using second SSID associated with second LAN/WAN/etc, para 10, 44).
Kollu-Qualcomm does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Cai discloses, security parameter, secure communication (session using password abstract. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of password. The password would provide secure access since others would not be able to access information without the password. When the session terminates the password a (new) password is needed upcoming/next/following session is provided for the network, abstract.
Kollu-Qualcomm and Cai does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Lee discloses, the second network previously associated with the user device (the wireless LAN network is searched through the interworking with the access point unit 410 (S100). At this time, the access point unit 410 registers a MAC (Media Access Control) address of the terminal,
Then, the terminal 100 performs authentication for the terminal in cooperation with the authentication unit 430 (S110). At this time, the authentication unit 430 stores the MAC address of the UE and International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) information. In step S100 and step S110, it is determined whether the terminal 100 searches for a wireless LAN network and how the authentication unit 430 performs authentication for the terminal 100.
When terminal authentication is completed in step S101, the terminal 100 requests the access point 410 to use the same IP in the wireless LAN network.
The access point unit 410 requests an IP to be allocated to the terminal 100 to the network unit 420 (S103). Since the access point 410 transmits the MAC address of the already stored terminal together when requesting the IP, the network unit 420 registers the MAC address of the terminal 100 after receiving the IP request signal (6th- 12th para, page 4).
register the location of the terminal, generates an IP address to be used both on the first network and a second network in the same way, and allocates the IP address to the terminal to enable the mobility between the first network and the second network (page 1, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of previously associated network. The registered terminal using IP address and/or MAC address would enable the device to connect and access information from the network. This would enable the mobility between the first network and the second network, abstract, 6th- 12th para, page 4.
Kollu-Qualcomm, Cai, Lee does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Persson discloses, open communication session (open wifi for user connection, para 37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known open wifi. When the user is at a public place, like café, the user would be able to access information using the open wifi, which is good for non-secure information purpose of the user, para 176.
Kollu-Qualcomm, Persson and Lee does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Ramalingam discloses, based on the determination of the second network identifier of the second network previously associated with the user device, broadcasting the second network identifier (
(26) The cooperative access point module 114 executing on the access point 104 may provide one or more functions. One function is providing an identifier associated with the cooperative network. For example, the access point 104 may be configured to broadcast a first service set identification (“SSID”) for the user's private network of “mybusiness” and a second SSID for “coop” which is associated with the cooperative network, col., 4, lines 61-67,
(41) In the mobile user device scenario 130, the user device 102(1) is in motion from one physical location to another. The motion may be detected based on signal strength received from the access points 104, positioning system data, accelerometer data, and so forth. One or more modules in the system 100 may use the motion to determine a predicted path 134. For example, the cooperative maintenance module 120 may be configured to use the motion information about the user device 102 to generate the predicted path 134. The predicated path 134 may be used to coordinate the activity of one or more of the cooperative maintenance module 120, the cooperative routing module 122, the cooperative participant module 110, or the cooperative access point module 114. The cooperative participant module 110 may be provided with the SSIDs or other settings or credentials needed for use of access points 104 along the predicted path 134, before coming into the communication range 106 of those access points 104. For example, shortly after starting in motion at T=0, the user device 102(1) may receive the settings or credentials for the access point 104(1) such that, at T=1 when the user device 102(1) is in communication range 106(1) of the access point 104(1), communication may be established or maintained, col., 7, lines 22-44,
(57) Other controls for setting private SSIDs 410 may also be presented. A private SSID is an SSID associated with a network other than the cooperative network. For example, the access point 104 may be configured to support multiple simultaneous SSIDs, such as a first SSID associated with the cooperative network and a second SSID associated with the private network, col., 14, lines 7-12,
(99) As described above with regard to FIG. 1B, one or more of the cooperative network server 118, the cooperative participant module 110, or the cooperative access point module 114 may be configured to maintain connectivity when relative motion occurs between the user devices 102 and the access points 104. For example, motion may be determined and used to provide communication credentials, SSIDs, and so forth to the cooperative participant module 110, the cooperative access point module 114, and so forth. For example, the user may be traveling with the user device 102, moving from the communication range 106 of one access point 104 to another. In another example, the user device 102 may be stationary while the access point 104, such as a portable hotspot, is in motion, col., 15, lines 30-45,
(76) The datastore 516 may store configuration data 518 associated with operation of the access point 104. The configuration data 518 may include SSIDs, QoS settings, and so forth. In some implementations at least a portion of the configuration data 518 may be received from the cooperative network server 118 or another device configured to remotely configure the access point 104. In some implementations the datastore 516 may include at least a portion of one or more of account data 124 or usage data 126. Other data 522 may also be stored in the datastore, such as the MAC address of the communication interfaces 506, list of network addresses provided by a dynamic host configuration protocol (“DHCP”) module, and so forth, col., 12, lines 49- 59.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known stored second SSID. When the user device is in the communication range of the access point, the user device would receive the broadcasted second SSID that is associated with the range of the access point. Each time the user device that is travelling on the same path is within the access point range, the same (previous) SSID would be available for the user device to make a connection, col., 7, lines 22-44.
Referring to claim 18, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches wherein the device identifier comprises at least one of a media access control (MAC) address and an Internet protocol (IP) address (various identifying information about the client device including MAC address, para 39, IP address assigned to the client device, para 10).
Referring to claim(s) 19, Cai teaches wherein the security parameter comprises a password (abstract).
Referring to claim(s) 20, Cai teaches receiving, by the network device and from the user device, the security parameter (abstract).
Referring to claim(s) 21, Cai teaches determining, based on the device identifier, the security parameter (password for the user device identity, abstract).
Referring to claim 22, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches associating, based on the device identifier, a subscriber with the user device (subscriptions for the client device, para 20, 10, 68).
Referring to claim 23, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches wherein the first network comprises a public network (internet, WAN, para 32), and wherein the second network comprises a private network (LAN, para 32, private IP addresses, para 10).
Referring to claim 24, Kollu-Qualcomm also teaches establishing the communication session without the security parameter or another security parameter (security parameter is not used, para 73).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/25, pages 6-14, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, rejection of claims 1-24 is maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s concern for the limitations, of the independent claims 1, 8, 17, “based on establishment of the first communication session” “based on the determination of the second network identifier of the second network previously associated with the user device, broadcasting, by the network device, the second network identifier of the second network”
The First inquiry must be into exactly what the claims define. See In re Wilder, 166 USPQ 545, 548 (CCPA 1970). What is claimed is, based on establishment of the first communication session, which is not limited to when the first communication session was established. For example, one second ago or a year ago, before the “determining …. A second network identifier ….” Is performed. The first communication session is subject to termination, which can be prior to or after “determining …. A second network identifier ….”. The outcome of “determining …. A second network identifier ….” Is same regardless of the addition of the amended limitations. The determination of the second network identifier of the second network is not limited to having the second network identifier being valid or invalid. The second network identifier is not limited to any particular size, value, etc. The second network identifier is merely associated with the user device. The second network identifier is not limited to of the user device or on the user device, etc. The second network identifier has no impact from the user device. The determining of the second network identifier would be performed regardless of what the user device is. The determining of the second network identifier would be performed regardless of what the device identifier is. The determining of the second network identifier would be performed regardless of when a second network identifier is somehow associated, as the previously means one second ago, or 1 year ago. The limitations, broadcasting, the second network identifier of the second network, do not accomplish anything. broadcasting which is not performed across anything. The broadcasting is not over a network or a plurality of networks. Mainly, not a single device receives the broadcast. Such limitations do not accomplish anything.
Regarding remarks, for a motivation to combine with references.
Applicant failed to consider, The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. In re Linter, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972).
Contrary to Applicant’s the primary reference is open for modifications.
Lee is merely relied upon and discloses, the second network previously associated with the user device (the wireless LAN network is searched through the interworking with the access point unit 410 (S100). At this time, the access point unit 410 registers a MAC (Media Access Control) address of the terminal,
Then, the terminal 100 performs authentication for the terminal in cooperation with the authentication unit 430 (S110). At this time, the authentication unit 430 stores the MAC address of the UE and International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) information. In step S100 and step S110, it is determined whether the terminal 100 searches for a wireless LAN network and how the authentication unit 430 performs authentication for the terminal 100.
When terminal authentication is completed in step S101, the terminal 100 requests the access point 410 to use the same IP in the wireless LAN network.
The access point unit 410 requests an IP to be allocated to the terminal 100 to the network unit 420 (S103). Since the access point 410 transmits the MAC address of the already stored terminal together when requesting the IP, the network unit 420 registers the MAC address of the terminal 100 after receiving the IP request signal (6th- 12th para, page 4).
register the location of the terminal, generates an IP address to be used both on the first network and a second network in the same way, and allocates the IP address to the terminal to enable the mobility between the first network and the second network (page 1, abstract).
Ramalingam is merely relied upon for, based on the determination of the second network identifier of the second network previously associated with the user device, broadcasting the second network identifier.
The combining of the Ramalingam and Lee do not impact the structure of the Kollu-Qualcomm. Kollu-Qualcomm is capable of but do not specifically mention about these limitations, which Ramalingam and Lee specifically show that can be performed by the Kollu-Qualcomm.
Kollu-Qualcomm substantially teaches a method comprising:
broadcasting, by a network device, a first network identifier of a first network (broadcast first SSID associated with LAN/WAN, etc., para 73, connection to accomplish data transfer, para 124); establishing, based on the first network identifier (using the first SSID, para 73), a first communication session (connection to accomplish data transfer, para 124) between a user device (connecting to client device, abstract) and the network device (connecting by the device with the network, abstract) via the first network (using the LAN/WAN, etc., para 73); based on establishment of the first communication session (after the connection is made using the first SSID, para 73), determining, based on a device identifier associated with the user device, network information of a second network identifier (various identifying information about the client device including MAC address, para 39, 68, 10, IP address assigned to the client device, para 39, 68, 10, SSID(s) mapped and associated with the client device identifiers including MAC address / IP address, para 68, 39, 10), determined, via the first communication session, a second network (SSID(s) mapped and associated with the client device identifiers including MAC address / IP address, para 68, 39, 10); broadcasting, by the network device of the second network, based on the network information, a second network identifier of the second network (broadcasting second SSID associated with another LAN/WAN, etc., para 73); and establishing, based on the second network identifier (using the second SSID, para 73), a second communication session (connection is created using second ssid for transfer of traffic/packets, para 39, 68, 10, 44) between the user device (client device, para 10) and the network device via the second network (device using second SSID associated with second LAN/WAN/etc, para 10, 44).
Kollu-Qualcomm does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Lee discloses, the second network previously associated with the user device (the wireless LAN network is searched through the interworking with the access point unit 410 (S100). At this time, the access point unit 410 registers a MAC (Media Access Control) address of the terminal,
Then, the terminal 100 performs authentication for the terminal in cooperation with the authentication unit 430 (S110). At this time, the authentication unit 430 stores the MAC address of the UE and International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) information. In step S100 and step S110, it is determined whether the terminal 100 searches for a wireless LAN network and how the authentication unit 430 performs authentication for the terminal 100.
When terminal authentication is completed in step S101, the terminal 100 requests the access point 410 to use the same IP in the wireless LAN network.
The access point unit 410 requests an IP to be allocated to the terminal 100 to the network unit 420 (S103). Since the access point 410 transmits the MAC address of the already stored terminal together when requesting the IP, the network unit 420 registers the MAC address of the terminal 100 after receiving the IP request signal (6th- 12th para, page 4).
register the location of the terminal, generates an IP address to be used both on the first network and a second network in the same way, and allocates the IP address to the terminal to enable the mobility between the first network and the second network (page 1, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known use of previously associated network. The registered terminal using IP address and/or MAC address would enable the device to connect and access information from the network. This would enable the mobility between the first network and the second network, abstract, 6th- 12th para, page 4.
Kollu-Qualcomm and Lee does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Ramalingam discloses, based on the determination of the second network identifier of the second network previously associated with the user device, broadcasting the second network identifier (
(26) The cooperative access point module 114 executing on the access point 104 may provide one or more functions. One function is providing an identifier associated with the cooperative network. For example, the access point 104 may be configured to broadcast a first service set identification (“SSID”) for the user's private network of “mybusiness” and a second SSID for “coop” which is associated with the cooperative network, col., 4, lines 61-67,
(41) In the mobile user device scenario 130, the user device 102(1) is in motion from one physical location to another. The motion may be detected based on signal strength received from the access points 104, positioning system data, accelerometer data, and so forth. One or more modules in the system 100 may use the motion to determine a predicted path 134. For example, the cooperative maintenance module 120 may be configured to use the motion information about the user device 102 to generate the predicted path 134. The predicated path 134 may be used to coordinate the activity of one or more of the cooperative maintenance module 120, the cooperative routing module 122, the cooperative participant module 110, or the cooperative access point module 114. The cooperative participant module 110 may be provided with the SSIDs or other settings or credentials needed for use of access points 104 along the predicted path 134, before coming into the communication range 106 of those access points 104. For example, shortly after starting in motion at T=0, the user device 102(1) may receive the settings or credentials for the access point 104(1) such that, at T=1 when the user device 102(1) is in communication range 106(1) of the access point 104(1), communication may be established or maintained, col., 7, lines 22-44,
(57) Other controls for setting private SSIDs 410 may also be presented. A private SSID is an SSID associated with a network other than the cooperative network. For example, the access point 104 may be configured to support multiple simultaneous SSIDs, such as a first SSID associated with the cooperative network and a second SSID associated with the private network, col., 14, lines 7-12,
(99) As described above with regard to FIG. 1B, one or more of the cooperative network server 118, the cooperative participant module 110, or the cooperative access point module 114 may be configured to maintain connectivity when relative motion occurs between the user devices 102 and the access points 104. For example, motion may be determined and used to provide communication credentials, SSIDs, and so forth to the cooperative participant module 110, the cooperative access point module 114, and so forth. For example, the user may be traveling with the user device 102, moving from the communication range 106 of one access point 104 to another. In another example, the user device 102 may be stationary while the access point 104, such as a portable hotspot, is in motion, col., 15, lines 30-45,
(76) The datastore 516 may store configuration data 518 associated with operation of the access point 104. The configuration data 518 may include SSIDs, QoS settings, and so forth. In some implementations at least a portion of the configuration data 518 may be received from the cooperative network server 118 or another device configured to remotely configure the access point 104. In some implementations the datastore 516 may include at least a portion of one or more of account data 124 or usage data 126. Other data 522 may also be stored in the datastore, such as the MAC address of the communication interfaces 506, list of network addresses provided by a dynamic host configuration protocol (“DHCP”) module, and so forth, col., 12, lines 49- 59.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known stored second SSID. When the user device is in the communication range of the access point, the user device would receive the broadcasted second SSID that is associated with the range of the access point. Each time the user device that is travelling on the same path is within the access point range, the same (previous) SSID would be available for the user device to make a connection, col., 7, lines 22-44.
Kollu-Qualcom, Ramalingam and Lee does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Cai discloses, security parameter also previously associated with the device (abstract, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Kollu-Qualcomm to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing well-known security parameter. For example, the password would provide secure access since others would not be able to access information without the password. When the session terminates, the password is also requires for the upcoming/next/following session and which is provided for the network.
Conclusion
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496