DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments received 10-27-2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-7, 14, and 17-19 have been cancelled.
Claims 21-22 are new.
Claims 8-13, 15-16, and 20-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 15-16, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clos (US 20200047887 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Clos discloses, a roller tray (Clos: [0026] the aircraft cargo roller panel 100); a first power drive unit (Clos: [0028] the motive devices 115 can include wheels and motors to transport the aircraft cargo 180 within the compartment 174 of the aircraft) located in the roller tray (Clos: [0028] the motive devices 115 can include wheels and motors to transport the aircraft cargo 180 within the compartment 174 of the aircraft), the first power drive unit comprising: a first drive roller (Clos: [0028] the sub-panel 101A includes a motive device 115A and a motive device 115B, the sub-panel 101B includes a motive device 115C, the sub-panel 101C includes a motive device 115D and a motive device 115E, the sub-panel 101D includes a motive device 115F and a motive device 115G, the sub-panel 101E includes a motive device 115H and a motive device 115I, and the sub-panel 101F includes a motive device 115J; [0006] an aircraft cargo roller panel includes a plurality of omnidirectional rollers configured to facilitate loading aircraft cargo into a compartment of an aircraft; also see [FIG. 1A(115X)]); a motor configured to drive a rotation the first drive roller (Clos: [0028] the sub-panel 101A includes a motive device 115A and a motive device 115B, the sub-panel 101B includes a motive device 115C, the sub-panel 101C includes a motive device 115D and a motive device 115E, the sub-panel 101D includes a motive device 115F and a motive device 115G, the sub-panel 101E includes a motive device 115H and a motive device 115I, and the sub-panel 101F includes a motive device 115J; [0006] an aircraft cargo roller panel includes a plurality of omnidirectional rollers configured to facilitate loading aircraft cargo into a compartment of an aircraft; also see [FIG. 1A(115X)]); a first load cell (Clos: [ABS] A method includes receiving, at a controller, a signal from each load cell of a plurality of load cells coupled to an aircraft cargo roller panel of an aircraft. Each signal is indicative of a load experienced by the load cell when cargo is on the aircraft cargo roller panel. The method also includes determining, based on the signals, a weight of the cargo, a center of gravity of the cargo, or both; [0027] one or more load cells 111 that are configured to generate signals indicative of a corresponding experienced load when the aircraft cargo 180 is on the aircraft cargo roller panel; [FIG. 1A(111a-n)]) configured to detect a first load applied to the first drive roller (Clos: [0023] Multiple load cells are coupled to the aircraft cargo roller panel. When the cargo is placed on the aircraft cargo roller panel, each load cell is configured to generate a signal indicative of a load experienced by the load cell; [0027] one or more load cells 111 that are configured to generate signals indicative of a corresponding experienced load when the aircraft cargo 180 is on the aircraft cargo roller panel; [FIG. 1A(111a-n)]); a second power drive unit (Clos: [0028] the sub-panel 101A includes a motive device 115A and a motive device 115B, the sub-panel 101B includes a motive device 115C, the sub-panel 101C includes a motive device 115D and a motive device 115E, the sub-panel 101D includes a motive device 115F and a motive device 115G, the sub-panel 101E includes a motive device 115H and a motive device 115I, and the sub-panel 101F includes a motive device 115J; [0006] an aircraft cargo roller panel includes a plurality of omnidirectional rollers configured to facilitate loading aircraft cargo into a compartment of an aircraft; also see [FIG. 1A(115X)]), the second power drive unit including: a second drive roller (Clos: [0028] the sub-panel 101A includes a motive device 115A and a motive device 115B, the sub-panel 101B includes a motive device 115C, the sub-panel 101C includes a motive device 115D and a motive device 115E, the sub-panel 101D includes a motive device 115F and a motive device 115G, the sub-panel 101E includes a motive device 115H and a motive device 115I, and the sub-panel 101F includes a motive device 115J; [0006] an aircraft cargo roller panel includes a plurality of omnidirectional rollers configured to facilitate loading aircraft cargo into a compartment of an aircraft; also see [FIG. 1A(115X)]); and a second load cell (Clos: [ABS] A method includes receiving, at a controller, a signal from each load cell of a plurality of load cells coupled to an aircraft cargo roller panel of an aircraft. Each signal is indicative of a load experienced by the load cell when cargo is on the aircraft cargo roller panel. The method also includes determining, based on the signals, a weight of the cargo, a center of gravity of the cargo, or both; [0027] one or more load cells 111 that are configured to generate signals indicative of a corresponding experienced load when the aircraft cargo 180 is on the aircraft cargo roller panel; [FIG. 1A(111a-n)]) configured to detect a second load applied to the second drive roller (Clos: [0023] Multiple load cells are coupled to the aircraft cargo roller panel. When the cargo is placed on the aircraft cargo roller panel, each load cell is configured to generate a signal indicative of a load experienced by the load cell; [0027] one or more load cells 111 that are configured to generate signals indicative of a corresponding experienced load when the aircraft cargo 180 is on the aircraft cargo roller panel; [FIG. 1A(111a-n)]); and a controller electrically coupled to the first load cell and the second load cell (Clos: [ABS] A method includes receiving, at a controller, a signal from each load cell of a plurality of load cells coupled to an aircraft cargo roller panel of an aircraft. Each signal is indicative of a load experienced by the load cell when cargo is on the aircraft cargo roller panel. The method also includes determining, based on the signals, a weight of the cargo, a center of gravity of the cargo, or both; [0027] one or more load cells 111 that are configured to generate signals indicative of a corresponding experienced load when the aircraft cargo 180 is on the aircraft cargo roller panel; [0030] the load cells 111 coupled to the other sub-panels 101B-101F can also generate signals indicative of the load experienced and provide the signals to the controller 170; [FIG. 1A(111a-n)]), wherein the controller is configured to: command at least one of a master control panel of the cargo handling system or a local control panel of the cargo handling system to display an alert (Clos: [0023] if the weight or the center of gravity is not compliant, one or more crew members (e.g. aircrew members or ground crew members) may be alerted; [0031-0035]; [0042] display a notification 234 that indicates whether the aircraft cargo 180 is accepted; [0055] provides a visual verification of whether the aircraft cargo 180 is compliant with reported parameters) if a difference between an aft cargo weight determined by the first load cell and a forward cargo weight determined by the second load cell is greater than a difference threshold (Clos: [0007] One advantage of the above-described implementation is an ability to verify whether aircraft cargo is compliant with reported parameters on an aircraft load and trim sheet or other similar document when the aircraft cargo is loaded on an aircraft. For example, the aircraft cargo is placed onto an aircraft cargo roller panel that includes multiple load cells. Based on a load experienced by each load cell, a controller can determine a weight of the aircraft cargo and a center of gravity of the aircraft cargo while the aircraft cargo is on the aircraft cargo roller panel. If the weight and the center of gravity are compliant with a reported weight and center of gravity in the aircraft load and trim sheet or other similar document, the aircraft cargo roller panel loads the aircraft cargo into a compartment of the aircraft. However, if the weight or the center of gravity is not compliant, crew members may be alerted; [0023] the controller can determine a center of gravity of the cargo based on the loads experienced by the load cells … If the weight and the center of gravity are compliant with a reported weight and center of gravity in the aircraft load and trim sheet or other similar documents ... if the weight or the center of gravity is not compliant, one or more crew members (e.g. aircrew members or ground crew members) may be alerted; [0031] the sum of the loads experienced by the load cells 111 is approximately equal to the weight of the aircraft cargo; [0033] if a difference between the center of gravity of the aircraft cargo 180 and the expected center of gravity of the aircraft cargo 180 in the cargo manifest satisfies a center of gravity difference threshold, the controller 170 can determine to accept the aircraft cargo 180. However, if the difference between the center of gravity of the aircraft cargo and the expected center of gravity of the aircraft cargo 180 fails to satisfy the center of gravity difference threshold, the controller 170 can reject the aircraft cargo 180 or alert the crew member; [0039] The controller 170 is configured to access at least one of a cargo manifest 222 or an electronic flight bag 224 from a database 204 to determine an expected weight 226 of the aircraft cargo 180, an expected center of gravity 228 of the aircraft cargo 180, or both; [0053] the expected center of gravity 228 for the aircraft cargo 180 is not specified in the cargo manifest 222. However, the aircraft cargo 180 is acceptable because the center of gravity 214 is within a percentage difference of the threshold); and deactivate at least one of the first power drive unit or the second power drive unit (Clos: [0043] In response to accepting the aircraft cargo 180, the controller 170 can enable the cargo transport system 172 to move the aircraft cargo 180 within the compartment 174. For example, a transport system controller 236 can generate an enable signal 238 that is provided to components of the cargo transport system 172. For example, the motive devices 115 of the cargo transport system 172 can be responsive to the enable signal 238 to move the aircraft cargo 180 over the cargo transport system 172 such that the aircraft cargo 180 is transported within the compartment 174; [0050] The aircraft 300 includes a door 302 that opens for entry into the compartment 174B. In the illustrated example of FIG. 3A, an aircraft cargo roller panel 100B is located in compartment 174B and has a similar configuration as the aircraft roller panel 100. For example, aircraft cargo 180B can be placed on the aircraft cargo roller panel 100B, and the controller 170 can determine parameters (e.g., a weight and a center of gravity) of the aircraft cargo 180B based on load cells coupled to the aircraft cargo roller panel 100B. In a similar manner as described with respect to FIG. 2, based on the parameters, the controller 170 can determine whether to accept the cargo 303; [0055] based on a load experienced by each load cell 111, the controller 170 can determine the weight 212 of the aircraft cargo 180 and the center of gravity 214 of the aircraft cargo 180 while the aircraft cargo 180 is on the aircraft cargo roller panel 100. If the weight 212 and the center of gravity 214 are compliant with the expected weight 226 and the expected center of gravity 228 in the cargo manifest 222, the cargo transport system 172 transports the aircraft cargo 180 into the compartment 174. However, if the weight 212 or the center of gravity 214 is not compliant, a crew member may be alerted and additional actions may be taken) if the difference between the aft cargo weight and the forward cargo weight is greater than the difference threshold (Clos: [0007]; [0023]; [0031]; [0033]; [0039]; [0053]); and deactivate at least one of the first power drive unit or the second power drive unit (Clos: [0055] based on a load experienced by each load cell 111, the controller 170 can determine the weight 212 of the aircraft cargo 180 and the center of gravity 214 of the aircraft cargo 180 while the aircraft cargo 180 is on the aircraft cargo roller panel 100. If the weight 212 and the center of gravity 214 are compliant with the expected weight 226 and the expected center of gravity 228 in the cargo manifest 222, the cargo transport system 172 transports the aircraft cargo 180 into the compartment 174. However, if the weight 212 or the center of gravity 214 is not compliant, a crew member may be alerted and additional actions may be taken) if the difference between the aft cargo weight and the forward cargo weight is greater than the difference threshold (Clos: [0023] if the weight or the center of gravity is not compliant, one or more crew members (e.g. aircrew members or ground crew members) may be alerted; [0024] enable aircraft systems to monitor and verify parameters (e.g., a weight and a center of gravity) of cargo as the cargo is loaded on to the aircraft; [0033] if the difference between the center of gravity of the aircraft cargo and the expected center of gravity of the aircraft cargo 180 fails to satisfy the center of gravity difference threshold, the controller 170 can reject the aircraft cargo 180 or alert the crew member).
Clos does not explicitly recite the terminology “local” or “master” panel. However, Clos discloses displaying a notification to crew members regarding cargo compliance. Which, implies a local or master display.
Clos does not explicitly recite the terminology “deactivate at least one of the first power drive unit or the second power drive unit”. However, Clos discloses, a conveyer system rejecting an item that is not compliant with a manifest and not moving the item into the cargo hold, once already placed on the roller panel ([0043], [0050], [0055]). Which, the examiner respectfully submits, is a deactivation of conveyance motors.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include crew notifications and not conveying non-compliant items disclosed by Clos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the center of gravity are compliant with a reported weight and center of gravity in the aircraft.
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Clos remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Clos also discloses, determine the difference between a weight of an aft section of the cargo handling system and a weight of a forward section of the cargo handling system (Clos: [ABS] determining, based on the signals, a weight of the cargo, a center of gravity of the cargo, or both), the controller further configured to determine the difference using a first electrical signal received from the first load cell and a second electrical signal received from the second load cell (Clos: [ABS] A method includes receiving, at a controller, a signal from each load cell of a plurality of load cells coupled to an aircraft cargo roller panel of an aircraft. Each signal is indicative of a load experienced by the load cell when cargo is on the aircraft cargo roller panel. The method also includes determining, based on the signals, a weight of the cargo, a center of gravity of the cargo, or both).
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Clos discloses, receiving, by the controller, a first electrical signal from a first load cell (Clos: [ABS]), wherein the first load cell is operably coupled to a first power drive unit (Clos: [0027-0028]; [FIG. 1A]; [Claim 20]); receiving, by the controller, a second electrical signal from a second load cell (Clos: [ABS]), wherein the second load cell is operably coupled to a second power drive unit (Clos: [0027-0028]; [FIG. 1A]; [Claim 20]); determining, by the controller, an aft cargo weight in an aft section of the cargo handling system using on the first electrical signal (Clos: [0033] satisfies a center of gravity difference threshold); determining, by the controller, a forward cargo weight in a forward section of the cargo handling system using on the second electrical signal (Clos: [ABS]); calculating, by the controller, a difference between the aft cargo weight and the forward cargo weight (Clos: [0032]); comparing, by the controller, the difference between the aft cargo weight and the forward cargo weight to a difference threshold (Clos: [0033]); commanding, by the controller, at least one of a master control panel of the cargo handling system or a local control panel of the cargo handling system to display an alert if the difference between the aft cargo weight and the forward cargo weight is greater than the difference threshold (Clos: [0033]; [0023]; [0042]; [0055]); and deactivating, by the controller, at least one of the first power drive unit or the second power drive unit if the difference between the aft cargo weight and the forward cargo weight is greater than the difference threshold (Clos: [0055]).
Clos does not explicitly recite the terminology “local” or “master” panel. However, Clos discloses displaying a notification to crew members regarding cargo compliance. Which, implies a local or master display.
Clos does not explicitly recite the terminology “deactivate at least one of the first power drive unit or the second power drive unit”. However, Clos discloses, the conveyer system rejecting an item that is not compliant with a manifest and not moving the item into the cargo hold. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, is a deactivation of conveyance motors.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include crew notifications and not conveying non-compliant items disclosed by Clos. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to determine the center of gravity are compliant with a reported weight and center of gravity in the aircraft.
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Clos remains as applied above to claim 16. Further, Clos also discloses, reactivating, by the controller, the at least one of the first power drive unit or the second power drive unit in response to the difference between the aft cargo weight and the forward cargo weight decreasing to less than the difference threshold (Clos: [0055] based on a load experienced by each load cell 111, the controller 170 can determine the weight 212 of the aircraft cargo 180 and the center of gravity 214 of the aircraft cargo 180 while the aircraft cargo 180 is on the aircraft cargo roller panel 100. If the weight 212 and the center of gravity 214 are compliant with the expected weight 226 and the expected center of gravity 228 in the cargo manifest 222, the cargo transport system 172 transports the aircraft cargo 180 into the compartment 174. However, if the weight 212 or the center of gravity 214 is not compliant, a crew member may be alerted and additional actions may be taken).
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Clos remains as applied above to claim 8. Further, Clos also discloses, deactivate the at least one of the first power drive unit or the second power drive unit while the cargo remains positioned on the roller tray, and prior to the cargo being conveyed into or out of the aircraft compartment (Clos: [0007] If the weight and the center of gravity are compliant with a reported weight and center of gravity in the aircraft load and trim sheet or other similar document, the aircraft cargo roller panel loads the aircraft cargo into a compartment of the aircraft. However, if the weight or the center of gravity is not compliant, crew members may be alerted; [0023] the controller generates a control signal to enable the motive devices to engage the cargo and transport the cargo within the compartment. However, if the weight or the center of gravity is not compliant, one or more crew members (e.g. aircrew members or ground crew members) may be alerted. In one implementation, a crew member can override a non-compliance determination by entering employee identification information into the controller. Upon overriding the non-compliance determination, the motive devices engage the cargo and transport the cargo within the compartment for storage; [0033, 0035, 0048, 0055, 0061]).
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Clos remains as applied above to claim 16. Further, Clos also discloses, transmitting, by the controller, a deactivation command signal over a communication bus to at least one of the first power drive unit or the second power drive unit, the deactivation command signal configured to interrupt electrical power to a motor of the respective power drive unit (Clos: [0007] If the weight and the center of gravity are compliant with a reported weight and center of gravity in the aircraft load and trim sheet or other similar document, the aircraft cargo roller panel loads the aircraft cargo into a compartment of the aircraft. However, if the weight or the center of gravity is not compliant, crew members may be alerted; [0023] the controller generates a control signal to enable the motive devices to engage the cargo and transport the cargo within the compartment. However, if the weight or the center of gravity is not compliant, one or more crew members (e.g. aircrew members or ground crew members) may be alerted. In one implementation, a crew member can override a non-compliance determination by entering employee identification information into the controller. Upon overriding the non-compliance determination, the motive devices engage the cargo and transport the cargo within the compartment for storage; [0033, 0035, 0048, 0055, 0061]).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clos (US 20200047887 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Harms (US 20170015503 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Clos remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Clos does not explicitly disclose, a brake roller electrically coupled to the first load cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Harms discloses, a brake roller (Harms: [0005] a cargo handling system comprising a power drive unit (PDU), said PDU comprising a permanent magnet motor (PMM) having a power drive function, a first braking function, and a second braking function; [0026] PMM 200 is designed to have a cogging torque sufficient to effectuate first braking function 110 or the static restraint braking function in static state) electrically coupled to the first load cell (Harms: [0032] the reaction force of second braking function 116 is tailored by adjusting the resistance load 400 applied at the terminals of PMM 200 to react based on the specific commands of cargo handling system 102. According to various embodiments, the reaction force 401 of second braking function 116 may be tailored to provide a linear increasing force 402 which increases linearly with container velocity, or a non-linear increasing force 404, and may preferably take into account factors such as maximum transport speed, tilt of cargo system platform 105, container weight, etc. to provide sufficient restraint for a run away container, according to various embodiments), for the benefit of preventing a stationary or nearly stationary container positioned upon rollers of the tray from moving and maintaining braking in a power-off state.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Clos to include braking taught by Harms. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent a stationary or nearly stationary container positioned upon rollers of the tray from moving and maintaining braking in a power-off state.
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Clos in view of Harms remains as applied above to claim 9, and further, Harms discloses, the brake roller is configured to adjust a braking force based on an electrical signal output by the first load cell (Harms: [0008] According to one embodiment, the PMM comprises a resistance load effectuating said second braking function. According to another embodiment, the second braking function comprises a linear increasing force or a non-linear increasing force; [0032] the reaction force of second braking function 116 is tailored by adjusting the resistance load 400 applied at the terminals of PMM 200 to react based on the specific commands of cargo handling system 102. According to various embodiments, the reaction force 401 of second braking function 116 may be tailored to provide a linear increasing force 402 which increases linearly with container velocity, or a non-linear increasing force 404, and may preferably take into account factors such as maximum transport speed, tilt of cargo system platform 105, container weight, etc. to provide sufficient restraint for a run away container, according to various embodiments).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Clos in view of Harms remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Harms discloses, a first electrical signal output by the first load cell is configured to generate a first braking force (Harms: [0004] a first braking function for a static state which is a static restraint braking function effectuated by designing the PMM to have a high cogging torque; [0005] a cargo handling system comprising a power drive unit (PDU), said PDU comprising a permanent magnet motor (PMM) having a power drive function, a first braking function, and a second braking function; [0009] a first braking function, and a second braking function; and a wheel component in power driving engagement with said PMM), and wherein a second electrical signal output by the first load cell is configured to generate a second braking force (Harms: [0004] a first braking function for a static state which is a static restraint braking function effectuated by designing the PMM to have a high cogging torque; [0005] a cargo handling system comprising a power drive unit (PDU), said PDU comprising a permanent magnet motor (PMM) having a power drive function, a first braking function, and a second braking function; [0009] a first braking function, and a second braking function; and a wheel component in power driving engagement with said PMM), the second braking force being greater than the first braking force (Harms: [0008] According to one embodiment, the PMM comprises a resistance load effectuating said second braking function. According to another embodiment, the second braking function comprises a linear increasing force or a non-linear increasing force. [0009] According to various embodiments, disclosed is a power drive unit (PDU), comprising: a permanent magnet motor (PMM) including a power drive function, a first braking function, and a second braking function; and a wheel component in power driving engagement with said PMM, wherein said first braking function comprises a static restraint braking function, and said second braking function comprises a dynamic control braking function. According to one embodiment, the PMM has a cogging torque of at least 16 ounce inch. According to one embodiment, the PMM has an output torque of at least 76 ounce inches. According to one embodiment, said second braking function comprises regenerative braking. According to one embodiment, the PMM comprises a magnet component including a magnet pole arc of approximately between 120 and 160 electrical degrees. According to one embodiment, the PMM comprises a resistance load effectuating said second braking function. According to yet another embodiment, said second braking function comprising a linear increasing force or a non-linear increasing force).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clos (US 20200047887 A1) in view of Harms (US 20170015503 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Rawdon (US 5184366 A).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Clos in view of Harms remains as applied above to claim 11, and further, Clos as modified, fails to disclose, the first electrical signal output is configured to generate a first amount of thermal expansion in one more friction disks of the brake roller, and wherein the second electrical signal output is configured to generate a second amount of thermal expansion in the one more friction disks of the brake roller.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Rawdon discloses, the first electrical signal output is configured to generate a first amount of thermal expansion in one more friction disks of the brake roller (Rawdon: The friction brakes 139 may be retracted and extended by any conventional means (Col. 6, Ln. 56-57)), and wherein the second electrical signal output is configured to generate a second amount of thermal expansion in the one more friction disks of the brake roller (Rawdon: The friction brakes 139 may be retracted and extended by any conventional means (Col. 6, Ln. 56-57)), for the benefit of cargo being moved directly and quickly from the aircraft to a truck cargo bed (or vice-versa) without the use of ground-based material handling equipment.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by a modified Clos to include a friction brake taught by Rawdon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to move cargo directly and quickly from the aircraft to a truck cargo bed (or vice-versa) without the use of ground-based material handling equipment.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clos (US 20200047887 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Huber (US 20060065786 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Clos remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Clos does not explicitly disclose, a brake caster, the brake caster including: a cup; a brake caster roller configured to swivel relative to the cup; a thrust bearing located between the brake caster roller and a floor of the cup; and the second load cell located between the thrust bearing and the floor of the cup.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Huber discloses, a brake caster (Huber: [0011] the brake elements are designed as swivel casters; [0023] there are also braked ball elements 10 and/or braked swivel casters 20), the brake caster including: a cup (Huber: [0027] In this ball element 10 a ball 11 runs on bearing balls 13 lying in a bearing shell 12. The bearing shell 12 is supported on a spring assembly 14 that is braced against an insert 16 within a housing 15 of the ball element 10. The ball 11 is kept within the housing 15 by a retaining ring 13, and the housing itself is mounted in the mat 1); a brake caster roller configured to swivel relative to the cup (Huber: [0011] the brake elements are designed as swivel casters; [0023] there are also braked ball elements 10 and/or braked swivel casters 20); a thrust bearing located between the brake caster roller and a floor of the cup (Huber: [0027] The bearing shell 12 is supported on a spring assembly 14 that is braced against an insert 16 within a housing 15 of the ball element 10; [FIG. 5(13, 14)]); and the second load cell located between the thrust bearing and the floor of the cup (Huber: [0027] The bearing shell 12 is supported on a spring assembly 14 that is braced against an insert 16 within a housing 15 of the ball element 10; [FIG. 5(14)]; [0028] From the insert 16 a brake finger 17 projects through the bearing shell into the region of the bearing balls 13, in such a way that when a load is applied to the ball 11 from above, pressing the bearing shell 12 downward against the force of the spring assembly 14, the brake finger 17 counteracts the movement of the bearing balls 13 within the bearing shell 12, as a result of which in turn a braking action is exerted on the ball 11. It should be emphasized here that this represents only one of various possible ways of braking the ball 11 more or less strongly, depending on the load being imposed by an item of freight), for the benefit of braking movement of an item of freight with a predetermined, finite braking force while it is being transported into the cargo hold or out of the cargo hold.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Clos to include a brake assembly taught by Huber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to brake movement of an item of freight with a predetermined, finite braking force while it is being transported into the cargo hold or out of the cargo hold.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filled 10-27-2025 and beginning on page 7, with respect to the drawing objections of record, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The drawing objections of record has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 10-27-2025, beginning on page7, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 8, to the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant has contended, the prior art of record, specifically Clos (US 20200047887 A1), fails to disclose:
deactivate at least one of the first power drive unit or the second power drive unit
[0043] In response to accepting the aircraft cargo 180, the controller 170 can enable the cargo transport system 172 to move the aircraft cargo 180 within the compartment 174. For example, a transport system controller 236 can generate an enable signal 238 that is provided to components of the cargo transport system 172. For example, the motive devices 115 of the cargo transport system 172 can be responsive to the enable signal 238 to move the aircraft cargo 180 over the cargo transport system 172 such that the aircraft cargo 180 is transported within the compartment 174;
[0050] The aircraft 300 includes a door 302 that opens for entry into the compartment 174B. In the illustrated example of FIG. 3A, an aircraft cargo roller panel 100B is located in compartment 174B and has a similar configuration as the aircraft roller panel 100. For example, aircraft cargo 180B can be placed on the aircraft cargo roller panel 100B, and the controller 170 can determine parameters (e.g., a weight and a center of gravity) of the aircraft cargo 180B based on load cells coupled to the aircraft cargo roller panel 100B. In a similar manner as described with respect to FIG. 2, based on the parameters, the controller 170 can determine whether to accept the cargo 303;
[0055] based on a load experienced by each load cell 111, the controller 170 can determine the weight 212 of the aircraft cargo 180 and the center of gravity 214 of the aircraft cargo 180 while the aircraft cargo 180 is on the aircraft cargo roller panel 100. If the weight 212 and the center of gravity 214 are compliant with the expected weight 226 and the expected center of gravity 228 in the cargo manifest 222, the cargo transport system 172 transports the aircraft cargo 180 into the compartment 174. However, if the weight 212 or the center of gravity 214 is not compliant, a crew member may be alerted and additional actions may be taken
if the difference between the aft cargo weight and the forward cargo weight is greater than the difference threshold
[0023] if the weight or the center of gravity is not compliant, one or more crew members (e.g. aircrew members or ground crew members) may be alerted;
[0024] enable aircraft systems to monitor and verify parameters (e.g., a weight and a center of gravity) of cargo as the cargo is loaded on to the aircraft;
[0033] if the difference between the center of gravity of the aircraft cargo and the expected center of gravity of the aircraft cargo 180 fails to satisfy the center of gravity difference threshold, the controller 170 can reject the aircraft cargo 180 or alert the crew member
As cited above, Clos (US 20200047887 A1) discloses, receiving a cargo on a roller panel, determining weight and center of gravity, and if measurements do not match a trim sheet, the automatic roller panel does not moving the cargo into a storage area. Which, is not activating or deactivating drive units do to threshold breach. The examiner respectfully submits, cutting power to a drive unit and refusing to power a drive unit because of discrepancies between real-time measurements and a trim sheet is a parallel teaching in spirit, scope, or result.
Further still, regarding claims 8, to the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant has contended that the prior art of record, specifically Clos (US 20200047887 A1), fails to disclose:
command at least one of a master control panel of the cargo handling system or a local control panel of the cargo handling system to display an alert
[0053] FIG. 4 is a diagram of a cargo verification system display 400. The cargo verification system display 400 can be displayed on display device 232 of FIG. 2. According to the cargo verification system display 400
[0054] After acceptance of the aircraft cargo 180, the cargo verification system display 400 indicates that the total weight 248 of the cargo in the compartment 174 (e.g., the “cargo hold”) is 141,818.60 lbs. In the example of FIG. 4, the flight parameters 274 indicate that the expected total weight is 139,425 lbs. According to the cargo verification system display 400, the total weight 248 is acceptable because the total weight 248 is within a percentage difference of the expected total weight (e.g., the total weight 248 is within a two percent difference)
[0055] The cargo verification system display 400 provides a visual verification of whether the aircraft cargo 180 is compliant with reported parameters
[FIG. 4]
As cited above, Clos (US 20200047887 A1) discloses, displaying a notification/alert to a crew member, on a verification system display. Further, in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom [MPEP 2144]. In this case, to the examiner’s best understanding, the verification system display can only be a “master” or “local” if a crew member is prompted to intervene, because it is not displayed to a remote base where crew cannot provide human intervention, including removal of cargo.
In conclusion, regarding claim 8, because the prior art of record discloses that which is claimed, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Regarding claim 9, to the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant has contended that the prior art of Harms (US 20170015503 A1) fails to disclose:
a brake roller
[0005] a cargo handling system comprising a power drive unit (PDU), said PDU comprising a permanent magnet motor (PMM) having a power drive function, a first braking function, and a second braking function;
[0026] PMM 200 is designed to have a cogging torque sufficient to effectuate first braking function 110 or the static restraint braking function in static state
electrically coupled to the first load cell.
[0032] the reaction force of second braking function 116 is tailored by adjusting the resistance load 400 applied at the terminals of PMM 200 to react based on the specific commands of cargo handling system 102. According to various embodiments, the reaction force 401 of second braking function 116 may be tailored to provide a linear increasing force 402 which increases linearly with container velocity, or a non-linear increasing force 404, and may preferably take into account factors such as maximum transport speed, tilt of cargo system platform 105, container weight, etc. to provide sufficient restraint for a run away container, according to various embodiments
As cited above, Harms (US 20170015503 A1) discloses adjusting a braking amount based upon “such factors as … weight”. Which, the examiner respectfully submits, implies or suggests a roller brake coupled to a load cell. Because Harms (US 20170015503 A1) discloses that which is claimed, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection if claim9 under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Regarding claim 10, see response to claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 11, see response to claim 9 above, specifically, adjusting braking force according to weight.
Regarding claim 12, Harms (US 20170015503 A1) discloses a braking caster, adjusting braking force depending upon weight (sensor signals). The applicant has contended that the prior art of Rawdon (US 5184366 A) fails to disclose:
the first electrical signal output is configured to generate a first amount of thermal expansion in one more friction disks of the brake roller
The friction brakes 139 may be retracted and extended by any conventional means (Col. 6, Ln. 56-57)
and wherein the second electrical signal output is configured to generate a second amount of thermal expansion in the one more friction disks of the brake roller.
The friction brakes 139 may be retracted and extended by any conventional means (Col. 6, Ln. 56-57)
In considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom. In this case, the prior art of Rawdon (US 5184366 A) discloses operating a friction brake by any conventional means. Further, routine optimization or customization within the prior art conditions through routine experimentation resulting in predictable results, and applying a specific species of a genus is well within the scope of customary practices for one of ordinary skill. Because Rawdon (US 5184366 A) discloses operating a friction brake by any conventional means, which, infers thermal, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of claim 12 under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Regarding claim 13, to the examiner’s best understanding, the applicant has contended the prior art of Huber (US 20060065786 A1) fails to disclose:
a brake caster
[0011] the brake elements are designed as swivel casters;
[0023] there are also braked ball elements 10 and/or braked swivel casters 20
the brake caster including: a cup
[0027] In this ball element 10 a ball 11 runs on bearing balls 13 lying in a bearing shell 12. The bearing shell 12 is supported on a spring assembly 14 that is braced against an insert 16 within a housing 15 of the ball element 10. The ball 11 is kept within the housing 15 by a retaining ring 13, and the housing itself is mounted in the mat 1
a brake caster roller configured to swivel relative to the cup
[0011] the brake elements are designed as swivel casters
[0023] there are also braked ball elements 10 and/or braked swivel casters 20
a thrust bearing located between the brake caster roller and a floor of the cup
[0025-0027] The bearing shell 12 is supported on a spring assembly 14 that is braced against an insert 16 within a housing 15 of the ball element 10
[FIG. 5(13, 14)]
and the second load cell located between the thrust bearing and the floor of the cup
[0027] The bearing shell 12 is supported on a spring assembly 14 that is braced against an insert 16 within a housing 15 of the ball element 10 ... The ball 11 is kept within the housing 15 by a retaining ring 13
[FIG. 5(14)]
[0028] From the insert 16 a brake finger 17 projects through the bearing shell into the region of the bearing balls 13, in such a way that when a load is applied to the ball 11 from above, pressing the bearing shell 12 downward against the force of the spring assembly 14, the brake finger 17 counteracts the movement of the bearing balls 13 within the bearing shell 12, as a result of which in turn a braking action is exerted on the ball 11. It should be emphasized here that this represents only one of various possible ways of braking the ball 11 more or less strongly, depending on the load being imposed by an item of freight. [0029] Of course it is also possible not to construct the braking device as a conveyor element (according to FIGS. 2-5) but rather to provide a separate brake, for instance in the form of an elastic brake cushion, which then likewise can exert a larger or smaller braking force in dependence on the load. Furthermore, it is possible to design the braked conveyor elements shown in FIGS. 2-5 in such a way that the braking force depends on the transport velocity, i.e. the speed with which the roller 23 and/or the ball 11 rotates. It is also possible for the braking devices to be so constructed that the braking force can be reduced to 0, i.e. the brakes can be inactivated;
[0030] 1 Mat [0031] 2 Roller conveyor belt [0032] 3 PDU [0033] 4 Ball element [0034] 10 Ball element braked [0035] 11 Ball [0036] 12 Bearing shell [0037] 13 Bearing ball [0038] 14 Spring assembly [0039] 15 Housing [0040] 16 Insert [0041] 17 Brake finger [0042] 18 Retaining ring [0043] 20 Swivel caster braked [0044] 21 Free-wheel [0045] 22 Brake [0046] 23 Roller [0047] 24 Swivel plate [0048] 25 Base [0049] 26 Swivel bearing [0050] 27 Roller bearing [0051] 28 Shaft
As cited above, Huber (US 20060065786 A1) discloses a caster brake in a housing (“cup”), spring loaded bearings located between the caster wheel and the floor, wherein the two springs are load cells that adjust braking (Huber: [0012] The brake elements can be constructed such that the braking force can be changed in dependence on a load force that acts on the brake element perpendicular to the transport plane). Because Huber (US 20060065786 A1) discloses that which is claimed, the examiner respectfully maintains the rejection of claim 13 under 35 USC §103, obviousness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sullivan (US 3752339 A)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663