DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed 12/16/2025 has been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-6 are currently pending and are herein under examination.
Claims 1-6 are rejected.
Priority
The instant application claims domestic benefit as a continuation to U.S. Application No. 14/684,242 filed 04/10/2015. The claim to domestic benefit for claims 1-6 is acknowledged. As such, the effective filing date for claims 1-6 is 04/10/2015.
Withdrawn Rejections
35 USC 103
The rejection of claims 1, 3-4 and 6 over Baldwin in view of Gilbert is withdrawn in view of further consideration of these references. However, new grounds of rejection are applied using newly cited portions of Gilbert in view of Baldwin.
The rejection of claims 2 and 5 over Baldwin in view of Gilbert and in further view of Ashutosh and McCarroll is withdrawn because the rejection of claim 1 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert et al. (“Gilbert”; US 2015/0203907 A1; effective filing date 16 Jan. 2015; previously cited on PTO892 mailed 05/07/2025) in view of Baldwin et al. (“Baldwin”; Genetics in Medicine 10, no. 6 (2008): 415-429; previously cited on PTO892 mailed 05/07/2025).
This rejection is newly recited in view of further consideration of references cited.
The bold and italicized text below are the limitations of the instant claims, and the italicized text serves to map the prior art onto the instant claims.
Claim 1:
enriching a genomic sample using baits for a plurality of genomic backbone regions and a plurality of genomic mutation regions of interest in a genomic locus of a subject, wherein the baits for the genomic backbone regions are located approximately 50 kb or more apart, and
Gilbert discloses “a capture library for target enrichment of sequences of interest from a genome DNA sample. The capture library comprises a plurality of capture oligos tiling a plurality of capture regions evenly-spaced along a genome” (enriching a genomic sample using baits) (abstract). Gilbert teaches “This capture library can be used to measure … copy number variation in human pediatric acute lymphocytic leukemia samples, and is also broadly applicable to any CNV application” (plurality of genomic mutation regions) (abstract) [6] [94] [111] (Figure 2).
However, Gilbert does not enrich genomic backbone regions with baits located approximately 50kb or more apart.
Baldwin discloses an array comparative genomic hybridization (aCGH) allowing enhanced detection of clinically relevant genomic imbalances using targeted and whole genome coverage (abstract). For genome-wide coverage, 41,023 probes were established across euchromatic regions of the genome to provide backbone region coverage (pg. 417, col. 1, para. 2-3) (pg. 415, col. 2, para. 4). For the backbone regions, one probe is placed every ~75 kb, designated as vertical black lines in Figure 1 (a plurality of backbone regions located approximately 50 kb or more apart).
Baldwin also teaches, in addition to probes covering genomic backbone regions, probes for targeted coverage “to create additional high density coverage of oligonucleotides in the known clinically relevant regions including the telomeres, centromeres, common microdeletion and microduplication syndromes and selected Mendelian disorders” (pg. 417, col. 1, para. 5) (Complementary Table 2). Figure 1 shows the 75 kb spaced genomic backbone region probes along with the higher density clinically relevant targeted region probes.
the baits for the genomic mutation regions of interest are located 5-10 kb apart;
Gilbert recites “Each two adjacent capture regions of the plurality capture regions are separated by a spacing of about 6 to about 14 kilobases in length” (abstract). MPEP 2144.05.I recites that “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). Therefore, the range of Gilbert renders prima facie obvious the range of the instant claims because they overlap.
obtaining a plurality of sequence reads from the enriched genomic sample by next-generation sequencing, and the plurality includes sequence reads for the plurality of genomic backbone regions and sequence reads for the plurality of genomic mutation regions of interest.
Gilbert performs target enrichment for sample sequencing libraries comprising total genomic DNA fraction by using the capture library [133] (Figure 4). Next generation sequencing (NGS) is performed after target enrichment to generate sequence reads (obtaining a plurality of sequence reads from the enriched genomic sample by NGS) [61] [137-138]. This includes the capture regions (sequence reads for the plurality of genomic mutation regions of interest) (Figure 2).
However, Gilbert does not teach using NGS to produce sequence reads of genomic backbone regions obtained by probes spaced 50 kb or more apart.
Baldwin discloses enriching genomic backbone regions using probes spaced about every 75 kb (abstract). The combination of Gilbert and Baldwin teach sequencing both the targeted regions and the backbone regions to produce sequence reads.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill to have modified probe/oligo target enrichment and sequencing regions of interest to detect CNVs in Gilbert by including probes/oligos that enrich genomic backbone regions spaced about every 75 kb to detect CNVs as taught by Baldwin. The motivation for doing so is taught by Baldwin who recites “the genome-wide backbone coverage identified an additional 10 cases (4.7%) of clinically significant abnormalities that would not be detected by current targeted array designs” (pg. 425, col. 2, para. 3). Thus, using probes for both targeted regions and genomic backbone regions would increase a number of CNVs detected, which is advantageous for detecting genomic alterations in disease.
Gilbert teaches further motivation to incorporate genomic backbone region probes by reciting “One concern in selecting an aCGH platform for gene discovery is usually the minimal size of the genomic region having altered copy number that can be reliably detected. This concern also exists in design of capture probes for sequence capture. In design of capture library, both upper and lower resolution limitations should be calculated. Resolution means capture spacing” [120]. Because Baldwin uses both upper and lower limits (i.e. probes for genomic backbone regions and clinically relevant regions) in an aCGH, it would have been prima facie obvious to replicate the probes and probe spacing of Baldwin’s aCGH in Gilbert in order to address the concern of upper and lower resolution limits.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success to use probes for genomic backbone regions and targeted regions because Gilbert teaches that “Different capture spacing may be defined according to different specific applications such as CGH, pre-natal diagnosis, etc. For example, the minimal size of genomic region having altered copy number may be about 6-12 kb, which is generally provided by microarray platform” [120]. Although mentioning CGH instead of aCGH in the previous quote, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the capture library of Gilbert could also be defined according to an aCGH application. This is because aCGH uses capture probes that have probe spacing. The probe spacing of Gilbert could be designed after the probe spacing used in aCGH.
Furthermore, there also would have been a reasonable expectation of success because Gilbert recites “the spacing, i.e., distance, between two adjacent capture regions may be various” [123]. This indicates that probe spacing is not limited to a range of 6-14 kb. Thus, a genomic backbone probe spacing of about 75 kb could be used.
Claim 3:
wherein one or more of the genomic mutation regions are associated with cancer.
Gilbert teaches that the capture regions are associated with copy number variation used to detect human pediatric acute lymphocytic leukemia samples (abstract).
Claim 4:
wherein the enriched genomic sample is from a human.
Gilbert teaches the capture oligos target human genome DNA sequences [130].
Claim 6:
wherein the next-generation sequencing comprises parallelized sequencing-by-synthesis, sequencing-by-ligation, nanopore sequencing, or electronic-detection sequencing.
Gilbert discloses using NGS platforms such as sequencing by synthesis and sequencing by ligation [61].
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilbert et al. (“Gilbert”; US 2015/0203907 A1; effective filing date 16 Jan. 2015; previously cited on PTO892 mailed 05/07/2025) in view of Baldwin et al. (“Baldwin”; Genetics in Medicine 10, no. 6 (2008): 415-429; previously cited on PTO892 mailed 05/07/2025), as applied above to claim 1, and in further view of Ashutosh et al. (US 2015/0073724 A1, published; ref. 5 on IDS filed 01/07/2021; previously cited) and McCarroll et al. (“McCarroll”; Nature genetics 40, no. 10 (2008): 1166-1174; previously cited on PTO892 mailed 05/07/2025).
This rejection is newly recited in view of further consideration of references cited.
The bold and italicized text below are the limitations of the instant claims, and the italicized text serves to map the prior art onto the instant claims.
The limitations for claim 1 have been taught in the rejection above by Gilbert in view of Baldwin.
Claim 2:
wherein the genomic mutation regions of interest comprise single nucleotide polymorphic sites.
Gilbert detects CNVs (abstract). Baldwin detects common microdeletion/microduplication and Mendelian disorders (Figure 1; Table 1).
However, Gilbert and Baldwin do not target regions that contain SNPs.
Ashutosh discloses a method for identifying a sequence variant in a sample that has been enriched for a particular genomic region [6]. Ashutosh states that the sequence variant can refer to a single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) [24].
Claim 5:
wherein the enriched genomic sample is obtained using baits designed to target locations in the genome based on known single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) allelic frequency and estimated properties of the genomic mutation regions of interest in a reference genome.
Gilbert enriches genomic DNA using target capture probes/oligos (abstract).
However, Gilbert and Baldwin do not use probes/oligos to target and enrich regions based on known SNP allelic frequency and estimated properties of genomic mutation regions in a reference genome.
Ashutosh states that an enriched genomic region may be enriched by using hybridization to an oligonucleotide probe [39]. These enriched genomic regions may contain a mutation associated with a cancer [38]. The mutations may be SNPs [24] and have a frequency of at least 1% in a population [16]. The mutations are compared against a reference sequence from a database of known cancer-associated SNPs. One of the SNPs may be from the KRAS gene, which has various mutations that have been catalogued and found at high rates in leukemias, colorectal cancer and lung cancer (designed to target locations in the genome based on known SNP allelic frequency and estimated properties of the genomic regions of interest in the reference genome) [54].
Prima facie case for obviousness:
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of Gilbert and Baldwin to include capture oligos/probes that target genomic regions based on known SNP allelic frequencies and estimated properties in a reference genome as taught by Ashutosh. This is because Ashutosh states that SNPs can be used to detect, characterize, classify, differentiate, diagnose, or prognose a condition such as leukemia [54] [57].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because these references rely on oligos/probes to target and enrich regions of interest. The combination would have resulted in oligos/probes designed to target regions with SNPs and CNVs.
There also would have been a reasonable expectation of success to generate capture oligos/probes that target both SNPs and CNVs because McCarroll discloses a hybrid genotyping array that simultaneously measures SNPs and CNVs (abstract). Gilbert discloses using hybrid capture microarrays for sequence capture [113-155]. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have recognized that the hybrid capture method of Gilbert could contain oligos/probes that simultaneously capture SNPs and CNVs.
Response to Arguments under 35 USC 103
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that modifying the aCGH and probes of Baldwin to be used by the sequencing method of Gilbert would render Baldwin unsatisfactory for its intended purpose of an array-based method equivalent to a 6000 karyotype (pg. 4 – pg. 5, para. 1 of Applicant’s remarks). Applicant argues further that Gilbert does not teach or suggest that a capture library can be derived from aCGH (pg. 5, para. 2 of Applicant’s remarks). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive for the following reasons:
Gilbert teaches “Different capture spacing may be defined according to different specific applications such as CGH, pre-natal diagnosis, etc.” [120]. Although reciting CGH and not aCGH in this quote, Gilbert explicitly teaches using hybrid capture techniques for target-specific next generation sequencing (NGS), which allows selective capture of genomic regions prior to sequencing using microarrays [113] [115]. aCGh is a hybrid capture technique. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that the capture spacing of Gilbert could be designed in view of an aCGH, which is a hybrid capture technique. Gilbert recites “spacing, i.e., distance, between two adjacent capture regions may be various” [123].
Although the new grounds of rejection do not rely upon sequencing the probes of an aCGH directly from a microarray, there is evidence to suggest that an aCGH can be adapted for direct use in NGS. Mamanova et al. (“Mamanova”; Nature methods 7, no. 2 (2010): 111-118; newly cited) discloses target-enrichment strategies for NGS (title). Figure 1 shows hybrid capture techniques, such as array capture, which are used for target enrichment and subsequent sequencing (Figure 1C caption). Mamanova teaches that hybrid capture arrays have been adapted to be used in NGS (pg. 115, col. 1, para. 2-3). Figures 3b and 4 show sequencing directly from hybrid capture arrays. Mamanova explicitly recites that an aCGH was adapted to be used in NGS (pg. 115, col. 1, para. 2) (Table 1).
Applicant’s arguments on pg. 5, para. 3 – pg. 6, para. 1 regarding using aCGH probes on a glass slide directly in a capture-sequencing environment have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection using newly cited portions of Gilbert in view of Baldwin and does not rely upon modifying Baldwin. The current rejection also does not rely upon directly sequencing from an aCGH. Though it is possible to do so, as taught above by Mamanova.
Applicant argues that the capture probes of Gilbert used to target 68-196 bp capture regions are different from the 25-85 bp probes of Baldwin (pg. 6, para. 2 of Applicant’s remarks). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive for the following reasons:
Gilbert discloses that capture regions may be 68-196 bp. However, the actual capture probes/oligos are about 70 nucleotides in length (abstract). Therefore, the capture probes/oligos of Gilbert can be designed based on the 25-85 bp aCGH probes in Baldwin.
Applicant argues that aCGH probes of Baldwin are not compatible for use in sequencing because they are attached to a solid surface and do not have the necessary capture chemistry, sequence-unique properties, or stability in solution to be used in sequencing (pg. 6, para. 2 of Applicant’s remarks). Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection using newly cited portions of Gilbert in view of Baldwin. The current rejection does not rely upon directly sequencing probes designed for use in aCGH. Though it is possible to do so, as taught above by Mamanova.
Applicant argues that Gilbert does not teach repurposing aCGH probes for use in sequencing nor motivation to modify Baldwin. Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill would not make the modification nor have a reasonable expectation of success because capture sequencing and aCGH are two different technologies (pg. 6, last para. – pg. 7, para. 2 of Applicant’s remarks). Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection using newly cited portions of Gilbert in view of Baldwin. The current rejection does not rely upon directly sequencing probes designed for use in aCGH. Though it is possible to do so, as taught above by Mamanova.
Applicant argues that Baldwin does not teach any of the limitations in the instant claims (pg. 7, para. 1 of Applicant’s remarks). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive for the following reasons:
Baldwin discloses the limitation in claim 1 of enriching a genomic sample using baits that for genomic backbone regions located approximately 50 kb or more apart. Baldwin teaches that backbone regions had probes placed every ~75 kb, designated as vertical black lines in Figure 1 (pg. 417, col. 1, para. 2-3) (pg. 415, col. 2, para. 4).
Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 2 and 5 have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the new grounds of rejection using newly cited portions of Gilbert in view of Baldwin (pg. 7, para. 3 of Applicant’s remarks).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Inquiries
/N.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1687
/KAITLYN L MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1685