DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 02/18/2026.
Claims 130-149 are pending and are examined in this office action.
No new claim has been added and previously claims 1-129 had been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument: Regarding claim 130:
Applicant argues in substance the combination of SUNG and PARK does not teach claim limitations “... cause at least one request message to be transmitted to an access
server, the at least one request message including the callee identifier and an IP address
associated with a location of the mobile telephone;
receive an access code reply message from the access server in response to the at least one request message, the access code reply message including an access code
different from the callee identifier and associated with the callee identifier, the access
code being based on the IP address associated with the location of the mobile
telephone; [emphasis added].” (See REMARKs).
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims merely recites, a mobile telephone “one request message including the callee identifier and an IP address
associated with a location of the mobile telephone” to access server and “, the access
code being based on the IP address associated with the location of the mobile
telephone” without further detail.
In plain language,
(1) a mobile telephone sends a request message to access server which includes callee identifier and IP address associated with a location of the mobile telephone.
(2) Access server sends to mobile telephone “access code” based on IP address associated with location of the mobile telephone.
The examiner used SUNG to address (1) part of the above claim and used PARK to address (2) part of the above claim.
As per Fig. 11 and Par. 0009, 0011, 0085-0086, 0088 of SUNG (which is cited by the examiner along with other supporting paragraphs as cited here to clarify the claim mapping) ,
User of mobile terminal 10 provides callee ID information,(Public IP terminal 13 ) to mobile terminal 10 ([0009]-[0011]). Aforesaid mobile terminal 10 transmits a Connection Request Message to SWITCHING SYSTEM 30 along with Callee ID and IP address to mobile terminal 10 as SOURCE IP address of the mobile terminal for the particular location ( [0085]-[0089]). Thus SUNG teaches (1) part of the claim “one request message including the callee identifier and an IP address associated with a location of the mobile telephone” to access server.
As per Par. 0011, 0039-0040, 0045, 0062-0065 0094-0095, of PARK (which is cited by the examiner along with other supporting paragraphs as cited here to clarify the claim mapping) ,
a Mobile Node (MN) (==mobile terminal/telephone in SUNG ) has been moved from one network to different network. A server maps the mobile node based on its current location : [abstract]; [0011]; when aforesaid MN move, aforesaid MN sends updated IP address of MN to server : [0094]-0095]; Server /DNS Server reply message having an IP address corresponding to the current location of MN which create a communication channel (==access code ) with correspondent node (CN) to aforesaid Mobile Node (MN): [0096]-[0097], [0062]-[0065]; NOTE: MN moves from one place to another. Server gets location of MN and along with a IP address of current location of MN. Aforesaid server create a communication of MN based on new location of MN; Thus MN’s communication channel is based on new location with IP address of MN; see fig. 2, also [0039]-[0040], [0045]). Thus PARK that access server sends to mobile telephone “access code” based on IP address associated with location of the mobile telephone.
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2026 IDS Considered have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 130-149 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUNG et al. (US 20050135391 A1; hereinafter as “SUNG ” ) in view of PARK et al. (US 20040228335 A1; hereinafter as “PARK”).
Regarding claim 130, SUNG teaches A mobile telephone (see fig. 11: private IP terminal #1(10) : [0084]) comprising:
a processor circuit (IP terminal #10 with Control Unit 102 in Fig. 2: [0045]-0047] ,
a network interface in communication with the processor circuit (see fig. 2: IP terminal with IP interface 104 which communicate with Control unit 102 : [0045]-[0048]) and
a non-transitory computer readable medium in communication with the processor circuit and encoded with codes for directing the processor ( see fig. 2: memory and control unit are in communication : [0045]-[0049] ) circuit to:
receive, from a user of the mobile telephone (==User Interface 101 in fig. 2), a callee identifier associated with the callee (using the User Interface in Fig. 2, aforesaid IP terminal 10 receives VoIP service call with callee phone number information : [0009], [0011]. Aforesaid “IP terminal #1(10) generates the call connection request message according to a user's VoIP service request and transmits the message to the switching system 30 (S150). ”: [0085]; aforesaid “ IP terminal #1(10) generates a call connection request message having the public IP address information of the public IP terminal 13 (==callee identifier associated with the callee ) of the incoming terminal as the destination IP address and transmits the message to an adjacent router #1(40).”: [0086]; “control unit 102 generates the call connection request message according to the input signal provided from the user interface 101 and transmits the message to the other IP terminal 10. The control unit 102 also generates a voice packet according to the voice signal provided from the user interface 101 and transmits the message to an incoming IP terminal 10 when a call for the voice communication is connected to the other IP terminal 10.”: [0046]; NOTE: user of IP terminal #1 (10) to call Public Terminal 13);
use the network interface ( ==IP terminal with IP interface 104 ) to cause at least one request message to be transmitted to an access server (==Switching System 30 in Fig. 11), the at least one request message (==Transmitting Call Connection Request Message S150 ) including the callee identifier and an IP address associated with a location of the mobile telephone (aforesaid “ IP terminal #1(10) generates a call connection request message having the public IP address information of the public IP terminal 13 (==callee identifier associated with the callee ) of the incoming terminal as the destination IP address and transmits the message to an adjacent router #1(40): [0086]; Aforesaid call connection request message includes Source IP address : [0086];);
receive an access code reply message (==Transmitting Response Message S180 in Fig. 11 ) from the access server (==Switching System 30 in Fig. 11), in response to the at least one request message (see fig. 11: Transmitting Response Message S180 (==an access code reply message) from Switching System 30 to IP Terminal #1 (10); Aforesaid Transmitting Response Message S180 includes “identify the packet port information of the other party with which the packet is exchanged. Therefore, the port management unit 31a of the switching system 30 transmits the packet port information of the outgoing IP terminal while transmitting the call connection request message to the incoming IP terminal, and includes the packet port information of the incoming IP terminal in the response message and then transmits the message to the outgoing IP terminal when the response message is received from the incoming IP terminal.”: [0088]);
the access code reply message (==Transmitting Response Message S180 in Fig. 11 ) including an access code (==port information ) different from the callee identifier and associated with the callee identifier (==public IP terminal 13 (==callee identifier associated with the callee) )Aforesaid Transmitting Response Message S180 (== access code reply message ) includes “identify the packet port information (==Access Code ) of the other party with which the packet is exchanged. Therefore, the port management unit 31a of the switching system 30 transmits the packet port information of the outgoing IP terminal while transmitting the call connection request message to the incoming IP terminal, and includes the packet port information (==an access code) of the incoming IP terminal in the response message and then transmits the message to the outgoing IP terminal when the response message is received from the incoming IP terminal.”: [0088]); NOTE: Packet Port Information is different than public IP terminal 13 (==callee identifier associated with the callee), ….and
initiate a call using the access code to identify the callee ( Establishes a call between IP Terminal #1 (10) and Public IP terminal 13; “When the public IP terminal 13 connects the call to the switching system 30 (S190), the switching system 30 connects the call to the private IP terminal #1(10) (S200).”: [0088] ; “ private IP terminal #1(10) makes the public IP address `201.111.198.20` of the incoming IP terminal as the destination IP address, and transmits the voice packet to the `9000` port of the packet port information included in the response message.”: [0091]).
SUNG, when teaching “receive an access code reply message from the access server in response to the at least one request message, the access code reply message including an access code different from the callee identifier and associated with the callee identifier”,
SUNG appears silent on
the access code being based on the IP address associated with the location of the mobile telephone. In particular, SUNG teaches the claimed access code reply message as response message Fig. 11:S180. Fig 3. of SUNG shows the general structure of a message such as response message S180. Paragraphs [0051-52] further teaches that the message can have an IP address for private IP terminal. An IP address provides a rough location of where the device is, thus, the IP address is broadly associated with a location as claimed. However, assuming this does not broadly equate to the location of a mobile terminal, examiner notes that it would have been further obvious in view of PARK below.
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
the access code (==communication channel which is Port Information in SUNG above) being based on the IP address associated with the location of the mobile telephone (A Mobile Node (MN) has been moved from one network to different network. A server maps the mobile node based on its current location : [abstract]; [0011]; when aforesaid MN move, aforesaid MN sends updated IP address of MN to server : [0094]-0095]; Server /DNS Server reply message having an IP address corresponding to the current location of MN which create a communication channel (==access code ) with correspondent node (CN) to aforesaid Mobile Node (MN): [0096]-[0097], [0062]-[0065]; NOTE: MN moves from one place to another. Server gets location of MN and along with a IP address of current location of MN. Aforesaid server create a communication of MN based on new location of MN; Thus MN’s communication channel is based on new location with IP address of MN; see fig. 2, also [0039]-[0040], [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the technique of PARK to the system of SUNG in order deleting tunnelling when a correspondent node is connected to a mobile node that has moved to a different network (or foreign network). (PARK, [0003], [0017]). The motivation would be continue with a connection of Mobile Node (MN) while aforesaid MN moves to different location to provide constant connection (PARK, [003], [0017]).
Regarding claim 131, SUNG teaches An access server (==Switching System 30 in Fig. 11; also “ FIG. 6 is an internal block diagram for explaining a construction of a switching system according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention;”: [0035] ) comprising:
a processor circuit (Switching Control Until 31 in Fig. 6 ),
a network interface in communication with the processor circuit (see fig. 6 element 33: Network Interface 33 is connected with Switching Control Unit 31 ; “ FIG. 6, the switching system 30 according to the present invention includes a switching control unit 31, a network interface 33, and a database DB 32, the switching control unit 31 includes a port management unit 31a, and the data base 32 stores a port table 32a.”: [0060]: ) and
a non-transitory computer readable medium encoded with codes for directing a processor (Port Management Until 31a in Fig. 6: “The port management unit 31a of the switching control unit 31 identifies phone number information, public IP address information and port information included in the link test message received through the network interface 33, generates the port table 32a, and stores the table in the database 32.”: [0062] ) circuit to:
receive at least one request message associated with a mobile (==IP terminal#1 (10) in Fig. 11 ) initiating a call to a callee, the at least one request message including a callee identifier identifying the callee and an IP address associated with a location of the mobile telephone (“ IP terminal #1(10) generates a call connection request message (==at least one request message ) having the public IP address information of the public IP terminal 13 (==callee identifier associated with the callee ) of the incoming terminal as the destination IP address and transmits the message to an adjacent router #1(40): [0086]; Aforesaid call connection request message includes Source IP address of IP terminal #1 (10) : [0086]; );
communicate with a routing controller (==an adjacent router #1(40) in fig. 11) to obtain from the routing controller an access code identifying an communication channel based on the IP address associated with the location of the mobile phone (“IP terminal #1(10) generates a call connection request message having the public IP address information of the public IP terminal 13 of the incoming terminal as the destination IP address and transmits the message to an adjacent router #1(40)”: [0086]; “ he address processing unit 41a of the router #1(40) searches for the public IP address information and signaling port information of the private IP terminal 10 which has transmitted 15 the call connection request message from the NAT table 42a, changes the source IP address included in the call connection request message to the searched public IP address information, and transmits the address information to the switching system 30 through the searched signaling port.”: [0086]; NOTE: Router 40 provides PORT Mapping between IP Terminal #1 (10) and IP Terminal 13 ),
the access code being different from the callee identifier and useable by the mobile telephone to initiate a call to the callee using the communication channel ( Aforesaid Transmitting Response Message S180 (== access code reply message ) includes “identify the packet port information of the other party with which the packet is exchanged. Therefore, the port management unit 31a of the switching system 30 transmits the packet port information of the outgoing IP terminal while transmitting the call connection request message to the incoming IP terminal, and includes the packet port information (==an access code) of the incoming IP terminal in the response message and then transmits the message to the outgoing IP terminal when the response message is received from the incoming IP terminal.”: [0088]);
and
cause a reply message including the access code to be transmitted to the mobile telephone ( Establishes a call between IP Terminal #1 (10) and Public IP terminal 13; “When the public IP terminal 13 connects the call to the switching system 30 (S190), the switching system 30 connects the call to the private IP terminal #1(10) (S200).”: [0088] ; “ private IP terminal #1(10) makes the public IP address `201.111.198.20` of the incoming IP terminal as the destination IP address, and transmits the voice packet to the `9000` port of the packet port information included in the response message.”: [0091]).
SUNG appears silent on “identifying an communication channel based on the IP address associated with the location of the mobile phone ”.
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
identifying an communication channel based on the IP address associated with the location of the mobile phone ( Mobile Node (MN) has been moved from one network to different network. A server maps the mobile node based on its current location : [abstract]; [0011]; when aforesaid MN move, aforesaid MN sends updated IP address of MN to server : [0094]-0095]; Server /DNS Server reply message having an IP address corresponding to the current location of MN which create a communication channel (==access code ) with correspondent node (CN) to aforesaid Mobile Node (MN): [0096]-[0097], [0062]-[0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the technique of PARK to the system of SUNG in order deleting tunnelling when a correspondent node is connected to a mobile node that has moved to a different network (or foreign network). (PARK, [0003], [0017]). The motivation would be continue with a connection of Mobile Node (MN) while aforesaid MN moves to different location to provide constant connection (PARK, [003], [0017]).
Regarding claim 132, SUNG teaches A method (see fig. 11) of completing a call from a mobile telephone (==IP terminal #1 (10) in Fig. 11 ) to a callee using an access server (==Switching System 30 in Fig. 11 ), the method comprising:
receiving, at the access server (==Switching System 30 in Fig. 11) a callee identifier associated with the callee, the callee identifier being transmitted by the mobile telephone (see fig. 11: Transmit Call Connection Request Message from IP Terminal #1 (10) to Switch System 30; (aforesaid “ IP terminal #1(10) generates a call connection request message having the public IP address information of the public IP terminal 13 (==callee identifier associated with the callee ) of the incoming terminal as the destination IP address and transmits the message to an adjacent router #1(40): [0086]; Aforesaid call connection request message includes Source IP address : [0086]);
receiving, at the access server (==Switching System 30 in Fig. 11) , a location identifier associated with a location associated with the mobile telephone (Aforesaid call connection request message includes Source IP address of IP Terminal #1 (10): “ the source IP address included in the call connection request message ”: : [0086]);
sending, from the access server (==Switching System 30 in Fig. 11), to said mobile telephone (==IP terminal #1 (10) ), said access code, said access code being different from said callee identifier and being based on said location identifier (see fig. 11: Transmitting Response Message S180 (==an access code reply message) from Switching System 30 to IP Terminal #1 (10); Aforesaid Transmitting Response Message S180 includes “identify the packet port information of the other party with which the packet is exchanged. Therefore, the port management unit 31a of the switching system 30 transmits the packet port information of the outgoing IP terminal while transmitting the call connection request message to the incoming IP terminal, and includes the packet port information of the incoming IP terminal in the response message and then transmits the message to the outgoing IP terminal when the response message is received from the incoming IP terminal.”: [0088]); ( Aforesaid Transmitting Response Message S180 (== access code reply message ) includes “identify the packet port information of the other party with which the packet is exchanged. Therefore, the port management unit 31a of the switching system 30 transmits the packet port information of the outgoing IP terminal while transmitting the call connection request message to the incoming IP terminal, and includes the packet port information (==an access code) of the incoming IP terminal in the response message and then transmits the message to the outgoing IP terminal when the response message is received from the incoming IP terminal.”: [0088]); and
detecting a call made with the mobile telephone using said access code to identify the callee and causing a routing controller (==Router 40 in Fig. 11) to establish the call to the callee ( Establishes a call between IP Terminal #1 (10) and Public IP terminal 13; “When the public IP terminal 13 connects the call to the switching system 30 (S190), the switching system 30 connects the call to the private IP terminal #1(10) (S200).”: [0088] ; “ private IP terminal #1(10) makes the public IP address `201.111.198.20` of the incoming IP terminal as the destination IP address, and transmits the voice packet to the `9000` port of the packet port information included in the response message.”: [0091]; [0086]).
SUNG appears silent on: selecting an access code identifying one of a telephone number or Internet Protocol (IP) network address representing a channel capable of carrying a call from the mobile telephone to the callee identified by the callee identifier, said access code being based on the location identifier associated with the location of the mobile telephone.
PARK, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
selecting an access code identifying one of a telephone number or Internet Protocol (IP) network address representing a channel capable of carrying a call from the mobile telephone to the callee identified by the callee identifier, said access code being based on the location identifier associated with the location of the mobile telephone (A Mobile Node (MN) has been moved from one network to different network. A server maps the mobile node based on its current location : [abstract]; [0011]; when aforesaid MN move, aforesaid MN sends updated IP address of MN to server : [0094]-0095]; Server /DNS Server reply message having an IP address corresponding to the current location of MN which create a communication channel (==access code ) with correspondent node (CN) to aforesaid Mobile Node (MN): [0096]-[0097], [0062]-[0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the technique of PARK to the system of SUNG in order deleting tunnelling when a correspondent node is connected to a mobile node that has moved to a different network (or foreign network). (PARK, [0003], [0017]). The motivation would be continue with a connection of Mobile Node (MN) while aforesaid MN moves to different location to provide constant connection (PARK, [003], [0017]).
Regarding claim 133, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches, The access server of claim 131, wherein the communication channel is configured to cooperate with an IP network to cause a call involving the mobile telephone and the callee to be routed through the IP network in response to a call received at a gateway associated with the communication channel (see fig. 11 is a IP network where IP Terminal #1 (10) make a VoIP Call to IP Terminal 13 thought Switching System : [0085]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 134; the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches, The access server of claim 131, the server further comprising: a network interface (==Network Interface 33 in fig 6) for receiving an one or more request messages, said request messages including a callee identifier received from a user of the mobile telephone and a location identifier separate and distinctive from said callee identifier, said location identifier identifying a location associated with the mobile telephone (see fig. 11 User of IP terminal #1 (10) makes a VoIP Call to IP Terminal 13 identifying IP Terminal IP address/Source Address : [0085]-[0091]).
Regarding claim 135; the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches, The access server of claim 131, the server further comprising:
an access code generator for selecting an access code from a pool of access codes based on the location that is associated with the mobile telephone the selected access code enabling the mobile telephone to establish a call to the callee identified by the callee identifier, the selected access code being different from said callee identifier; and a network interface for transmitting an access code reply message to the mobile telephone, said access code reply message including the selected access code, for use by the mobile phone in initiating the call to the (Port Mapping in Fig. 7 “ At first, each of the IP terminals 1x is connected to the switching system 30 and the signaling and packet ports through the IP network, and transmits the first and second link test messages. The switching system 30 stores the port table 32a in the database 32 as shown in FIG. 7 (S10). The public IP terminal 13 transmits the call connection request message to make the voice communication to the private IP terminal #1 (10) to the switching system 30 according to user's selection (S11).
[0078] At this time, the control unit 102 of the public IP terminal 13 generates the call connection request signal including the phone number information of the public IP terminal #1 (13) of `3100` according to an input signal provided from the user interface 101, and transmits the signal to the switching system 30. The network interface 33 of the switching system 30 provides the switching control unit 31 with the call connection request message transmitted from the public IP terminal 13, and the port management unit 31a searches for the public IP address information of the private IP terminal #1(10) corresponding to the phone number information of `3100` and the signaling port information included in the call connection request message (S12).
[0079] The port management unit 31a includes the packet port information of the public IP terminal 13 in the call connection request message, and transmits the message to the public IP address `201.111.198.40` through the searched signaling port information `7500`. The address processing unit 41a of the router #1 (40) searches for the private IP address corresponding the public IP address information of the call connection request message transmitted from the switching system 30 from the stored NAT table 42a as shown in FIG. 5, and signaling port information corresponding to the signaling port information. The address processing unit 41a transmits the call connection request message from the NAT table 42a to the private IP address information `100.10.10.1` through the searched signaling port information `6000` (S13).”: [0077]-[0079]) .
Regarding claim 136, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches, The method of claim 132 further comprising transmitting said access code from said access server to the mobile telephone on a non-voice ( Fig. 11 is VoIP network : “ Turning now to FIG. 11, FIG. 11 is a flow chart for explaining a method for providing VoIP service according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 11, the private IP terminal #1(10) connected to the switching system 30 through the IP network generates the first link test message including the signaling port information in a desired period and transmits the message to the switching system (S100), and the public IP terminal 13 also generates the first link test message including the signaling port information in a desired period, and transmits the message to the switching system 30 (S110). The private IP terminal #1(10) generates the second link test message including the packet port information in a desired period and transmits the message to the switching system 30 (S120), and the public IP terminal also generates the second link test message including the packet port information and transmits the message to the switching system (S130).
[0085] The switching system 30 manages the public IP address information and each of the port information of each of the IP terminals 10 and 13 as the port table 42a as shown in FIG. 7 according to the link test message transmitted from the each of the IP terminals 1.times.(S140). The private IP terminal #1(10) generates the call connection request message according to a user's VoIP service request and transmits the message to the switching system 30 (S150).
”: [0084]-[0085] )
Regarding claim 137, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, PARK teaches The method of claim 132 wherein said location identifier represents a wireless voice signal station in wireless communication with the mobile telephone ( “an IP address corresponding to a current location of the mobile node MN in the subnet 2 is registered in the DNS server 200.”: [0063]).
Regarding claim 138, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, PARK teaches The method of claim 132 wherein said location identifier comprises a user- configured identifier of a location associated with the mobile telephone ( “an IP address corresponding to a current location of the mobile node MN in the subnet 2 is registered in the DNS server 200.”: [0063]; “ nce the new correspondent node CN of FIG. 10 sends the DNS query message to the DNS server 1000 to connect to the mobile node MN of FIG. 10, the DNS server 1000 provides the correspondent node CN with the DNS reply message having an IP address corresponding to the current location of the mobile node MN. Subsequently, the correspondent node CN of FIG. 10 directly transmits a packet to the mobile node MN.”: [0096]).
Regarding claim 139, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches The method of claim 132 wherein said access code is temporarily associated with said callee identifier at least until the call is completed (see PORT TABLE in Fig. 6: “ Turning now to FIG. 7, FIG. 7 is a diagram for explaining a port table according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 7, phone number information of the IP terminal 1x, public IP address information of the IP terminal 1x, signaling port information and packet port information are stored in the port table 32a. That is, the port management unit 31a identifies the IP address information from the source IP address field (b) of the first link test message received from the network interface 33, signaling information from the source port field (d) and phone number information from the data field (f), and stores the information in the port table 32a. The port management unit 31a identifies the IP address information from the source IP address field (b) of the second link test message received through the network interface 33, the packet port information from the source port field (d), and phone number information from the data field (f), and stores the information in the port table 32a.”: [0063] ).
Regarding claim 140, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches The method of claim 132 wherein the said access comprises an IP address associated with a channel operably configured to cooperate with an IP network to cause a call involving the mobile telephone and the callee to be routed through the IP network (see fig. 6-8, Fig. 10 “ ; “ Turning now to FIG. 8, FIG. 8 is a flow chart for explaining a method for managing a port table for each of IP terminals according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 8, at first, the IP terminal 1x is connected to the switching system 30 through the IP network (SI). Each of the IP terminals 1.times.periodically generates the first and second link test messages, and transmits the messages to the switching system 30 (S2).
[0066] At this time, when the public IP terminal 13 transmits the first and second link test messages through the public network 60, a router #3 40 transmits the first and second link test messages transmitted from the public IP terminal 13 to the switching system 30. On the other hand, when the private IP terminals 10, 11 and 12 generate and transmit the first and second link test messages, a router #1 40 or a router #2 40 changes the private IP address set in the source IP address field (b) of the first and second link test messages transmitted from the private IP terminals 10, 11 and 12 to a corresponding public IP address, and port information set in the source port field (d) to corresponding port information (S3).
[0067] The router 40 transmits the first and second link test messages where the IP address information and port information are changed, to the switching system 30 (S4). The switching system 30 manages the port table 32a using the phone number information, the IP address information, the signaling port information and the packet port information included in the first and second link test messages transmitted from the router 40 or the public IP terminal 13 (S5). For example, a case will be explained in which the NAT table 42a shown in FIG. 5 is stored in the router 40, and the private IP terminal #1 (10) whose private IP address is `10.10.10.10`, whose signaling port information is `6000`, whose packet port information is `9000` transmits the first and second link messages. ”: [0065]-[0067] ) .
Regarding claim 141, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches The method of claim 140 wherein the channel is associated with a gateway that provides communication services to a set of geographical locations including the location associated with the mobile telephone (see fig. 5 Fig. 7 : IP address mapping with Port Numbers : [0056]-[0059]).
Regarding claim 142, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches The method of claim 132 further comprising: communicating with the routing controller to obtain from the routing controller said access code, wherein said access code identifies a gateway that is useable by the mobile telephone to cause the routing controller to establish a call to the callee using the gateway ( see fig. 4 : ROUTER, “ The PC 20 is connected to the IP network using the private IP address used in the private network 51, and provides a user with web surfing or material search service. The plurality of routers 40 route a receiving packet and transmit the corresponding packet to a destination. The router 40 changes a source IP address of the packet transmitted from the private IP terminals 10, 11 and 12 to a public IP address corresponding to the private IP address, and a destination IP address of the packet received from the public network 60 to a private IP address corresponding to the public IP address. The router 40 identifies a port with which each of the private IP terminals 10, 11 and 12 exchanges the packet in order that each of the private IP terminals 10, 11 and 12 receives the packet transmitted from the public network 60, and transmits the packet through the port. When a call connection request message is transmitted from the IP terminal 1x, the switching system 30 identifies an incoming IP terminal 1x and switches to connect a call through an IP network between an outgoing IP terminal 1x and an incoming IP terminal 1x.”: [0044]; “ According to an example, the public IP terminal transmits the voice packet to the packet port information included in the call connection request message, `7600` with the public IP address of the outgoing public IP terminal, `201.111.198.40` as a destination IP address. The switching system transmits the received voice packet to the destination IP address `201.111.198.40` through the `7600` port. When the voice packet is received through the `7600` port, the router #1(40) searches for the IP terminal which uses the `7600` port as the packet port in the NAT table 42a. According to the searched result, the packet is transmitted to the private IP terminal #1(10) whose private IP address is `10.10.10.10` through a `9000` port. The private IP terminal #1(10) makes the public IP address `201.111.198.20` of the incoming IP terminal as the destination IP address, and transmits the voice packet to the `9000` port of the packet port information included in the response message.
[0091] When the voice packet is received from the private IP terminal #1(10), the router #1(40) changes the source IP address of the packet header to the corresponding public IP address and transmits the address to the switching system 30. The switching system 30 transmits to the public IP address `201.111.198.20` of the destination IP address of the received voice packet through the `9000` port. ”; [0090]-0091]).
Regarding claim 143, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, PARK teaches The method of claim 132 wherein said access code expires after a period of time ( “ Once the message receiving unit 301 receives the DAD request message, the timer 302 is reset. Time data is generated according to the operation of the timer 302 and is provided to the domain name and address detecting unit 303.
[0043] If the time data provided by the timer 302 is equal to a predetermined time, the domain name and address detecting unit 303 determines that a domain name and/or IP address contained in the DAD request message are not used in the subnet 2. ”: [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 144, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches The method of claim 132 further comprising identifying an access code that is associated with the location identified by the location identifier and that is not currently associated with another callee identifier (see fig.6: PORT TABLE, “ The network interface 33 of the switching system 30 provides the port management unit 31a with the first and second link test messages transmitted form the router 40. The port management unit 31a identifies the IP address information, the port information and the phone number information set in the source IP field (b), the source port field (d), and the data field (f) of the received first and second link test messages, and generates the port table 32a as shown in FIG. 7. That is, the port management unit 31a identifies the phone number information of the private IP terminal #1 (10) from the data field (f) of the first link test message transmitted from the router 40, the public IP address information from the source IP address field (b), and the signaling port information from the source port field (d). The port management unit 31a generates the port table 32a using each information of the identified private IP terminal #1 (10) and stores the table in the database 32.”: [0074] ).
Regarding claim 145, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches The method of claim 132 further comprising selecting an access code associated with a communication system node with which the callee is associated (select ports from PORT TABLE: 0074]-0075]).
Regarding claim 146, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, PARK teaches The method of claim 132 wherein the access server receives a message with a location identifier field for use in determining an area associated with the mobile telephone ( “ when a new correspondent node attempts to connect to the mobile node that has moved to the different network, the correspondent node obtains the home address of the mobile node from the DNS server. As a result, a packet destined to the mobile node by the correspondent node is intercepted by the home agent and is then tunneled to a current location of the mobile node.”: [0008]; “ ] By means of the above-described operations of the DNDU server 210 and the mobile node MN, a domain name and an IP address corresponding to a current location of the mobile node MN in the subnet 2 is registered in the DNS server 200.”: 0063]).
Regarding claim 147, SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches, The mobile telephone of claim 130 further comprising:
transmitting means for causing an access code request message to be transmitted to an access server to cause the access server to seek an access code from a pool of access codes wherein each access code in said pool of access codes identifies one of a respective telephone number or Internet Protocol (IP) network address that enables a call to be made to call the callee identified by the callee identifier, said access code request message including said callee identifier and a location identifier separate and distinctive from said callee identifier, said location identifier identifying a location associated with the mobile telephone;
receiving means for receiving at the mobile telephone an access code reply message from the access server in response to said access code request message, said access code reply message including an access code different from said callee identifier and associated with said location identifier; and means for initiating a call using said access code to identify the callee (see fig. 5-11: [0085]-[0092]).
Regarding claim 148, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches The mobile telephone of claim 130 wherein the telephone causes a location identifier of a location associated with the mobile telephone to be transmitted to the access server, wherein said location identifier includes at least one of an IP address associated with the mobile telephone in an IP network; an identifier of a wireless voice signal station in wireless communication with the mobile telephone; and a user-configured identifier of a location associated with the mobile telephone ([0085]-[0095]).
Regarding claim 149, the combination of SUNG and PARK, specifically, SUNG teaches A system for initiating a call to a callee, the system comprising the mobile telephone of claim 130 and further comprising:
a routing controller; and an access server comprising: a network interface for receiving from the mobile telephone at least one request message for an access code and for transmitting a reply including said access code to the mobile telephone; and a routing controller interface for communicating with said routing controller to obtain from said routing controller said access code, wherein said access code identifies a channel and is useable by the mobile telephone to cause the routing controller to establish a call to the callee using the channel (see fig .11: [0085]-[0092]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411 /DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411