DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As per the submission to the Office filed on 01/21/2026 the following represents the changes from the previous claims: Claims 1-4, and 6-7 were amended, and claims 5, 8 and 13 were canceled. Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-12, and 14-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 01/20/2021 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
For claim 1, the limitation “opposite the” in line 4 should read –opposite to the--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, states the limitation “an elongated base having a first side and a second side, wherein the second side is opposite the first side in a direction perpendicular to a length of the elongated base,” in lines 3-5, however, the specification does not indicate which portion of the elongated base is the first side and the second side as one having ordinary skill in the art could interpret the first side and the second side to either be the left and right portion, or the top and bottom portion of the elongated base. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would not be able to understand which portion of the elongated base is the first side and the second side.
Claims 2-4, 6, 7, 9-12, and 14-20 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westerfield (US 20150007482 A1) in view of Bromwell (US 3084467 A).
Regarding claim 1, Westerfield teaches an apparatus (10 in Figs. 1-6C) for securing an accessory (2) to a device (12 in Fig. 2), the apparatus comprising:
an elongated base (18) having a first side (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 where the outer surfaces of 18 and 38 make up the first side) and a second side (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 where the inner surfaces of 18, 42 and 44 make up the second side),
wherein the second side is opposite the first side in a direction perpendicular to a length of the elongated base (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 as the arrows depict how the second side is opposite to the first side in a direction perpendicular to a length of the elongated base),
wherein the elongated base comprises a groove (44) extending along the length of the elongated base on the first side ([0060] and see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 as the groove 44 extends along the first side of the elongated base);
a clamp (fig. 3), comprising:
a first section (30) disposed on the first side of the elongated base (fig. 3 and [0056]); and
a second section (20) slidably coupled to the first side of the elongated base (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 and [0056]);
wherein the second section comprises a tongue ([0061] as the second section 20 has protrusions) configured to mate with the groove on the first side (the tongue is capable to mate with the groove [0061] and see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3);
wherein the groove of the elongated base and the tongue of the second section are configured to be coupled slidably such that the second section is configured to slide along at least a portion of the elongated base ([0060-0061] as the tongue of the second section slidably fits into the groove of the elongated base, and so the second section is configured to slide along at least a portion of the elongated base);
a mount (14 of Fig. 2) for securing the apparatus to the device (12 of Fig. 2), wherein the mount comprises at least one of a fastener or a threaded bore (the device 12 connects to mount 14 and is secured in place [0055]) configured to secure the mount to the device (Westerfield is capable to secure the mount to the device (fig. 2 and [0055])); and
a lever (22) operable for locking and un-locking the second section ([0063]), wherein a first end (see the examiner’s illustration of fig. 3) of the lever is pivotally secured to the elongated base (Fig. 2 depicts the lever pivoting and [0057]) on the second side of the elongated base (see the examiner’s illustration of fig. 3);
a linkage (24A in Fig. 6C) operatively coupling the second section and the lever to each other (Figs. 6A-6C and [0064]-[0066]), wherein the linkage comprises a head (62);
wherein the elongated base comprises an opening (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3) from the first side to the second side (see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 as the opening is between 38, which makes up part of the first side and the inner portion of 44 [0060]) through which the head of the linkage is accessible from the first side (fig. 6A depicts the head within the opening as 62 is part of the linkage ([0065]-[0066]) and see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3), wherein the head is rotatable (62 is used to rotate threaded ends 60 so as to adjust the total length 27A of the linkage 24A ([0065]-[0066])) to adjust a force required for locking and un- locking the second section (the adjustment of the position of hoods 20 relative to hood 30 results in the adjustment of the force required for locking and un-locking as the rotation of the head 62 will adjust the length 27A of the linkage 24A ([0065]-[0066])),
wherein the accessory is configured to be received on the first side of the elongated base (the accessory is received on the first side of the elongated base as the accessory is placed on the outer surface of 18 in fig. 5).
However, Westerfield is silent about wherein the elongated base comprises a tongue; wherein the second section comprises a groove configured to mate with the tongue; wherein the at least one of the fastener or the threaded bore is oriented in a direction parallel to the length of the elongated base.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Westerfield to be wherein the elongated base comprises a tongue; wherein the second section comprises a groove configured to mate with the tongue in order to restrict movement of the second section 20 ([0061] of Westerfield), since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Bromwell teaches wherein the at least one of the fastener (62) or the threaded bore is oriented in a direction parallel to the length of the elongated base (60; fig. 7 as the fastener 62 is in a direction parallel to the length of the elongated base as depicted in applicant’s fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one of the fastener or the threaded bore is oriented in a direction parallel to the length of the elongated base as taught by Bromwell into the apparatus of Westerfield in order to further secure the mount to the elongated base (fig. 7 and Col. 3, lines 16-26 of Bromwell), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 2, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Westerfield further teaches wherein: the second section locks when the lever is displaced in a first direction ([0058] and Fig. 2 shows double arrows of the lever pivoting); and the second section un-locks when the lever is displaced in a second direction opposite the first direction ([0063]).
Regarding claim 3, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Westerfield further teaches wherein: the second section slides towards the first section when the lever is displaced in a first direction ([0063]); and the second section slides away from the first section when the lever is displaced in a second direction opposite the first direction ([0063]).
Regarding claim 4, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Westerfield further teaches wherein: the second section slides towards the first section and locks when the lever is displaced in a first direction (Fig. 5 and [0063]); and the second section un-locks and slides away from the first section when the lever is displaced in a second direction opposite the first direction (Fig. 2 and [0063]).
Regarding claim 6, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Westerfield further teaches wherein: the lever comprises a second end (34); and the linkage comprises a first end (23A) and a second end (25A), wherein the first end of the linkage is pivotally coupled to the lever proximate the first end thereof (figs. 3 and 6A-6C and [0064]-[0066] as the linkage 24A is inserted where 24 is), and the second end of the linkage is pivotally coupled to the second section (figs. 3 and 6A-6C and [0064]-[0066] as the linkage 24A is inserted where 24 is).
Regarding claim 7, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 6, and Westerfield further teaches wherein: the second section slides towards the first section and locks when the lever is displaced in a first direction (Fig. 5 and [0063]); and the second section un-locks and slides away from the first section when the lever is displaced in a second direction opposite the first direction (Fig. 2 and [0063]).
Regarding claim 9, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Westerfield further teaches wherein the first and second section are configured for receiving at least a portion of a base (4 in Fig. 5) of the accessory.
Regarding claim 10, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and Westerfield further teaches wherein the first section is biased towards the second section ([0064]-[0066]).
Regarding claim 11, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 9, and Westerfield further teaches wherein the accessory is secured to the apparatus by placing the base of the accessory between the first section and the un-locked second section and then locking the second section (Figs. 2-5).
Regarding claim 12, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 11, and Westerfield further teaches wherein the accessory is removable when the second section is un-locked ([0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Westerfield further teaches the elongated base (18) and the mount (14 in Fig. 2), but is silent about wherein the elongated base and the mount have complementary features for being removably attached to each other, wherein the complementary features comprise a tongue-and-groove configuration.
Bromwell teaches wherein the elongated base (60) and the mount (68) have complementary features for being removably attached to each other (Col. 3, lines 14-26 and Fig. 7), wherein the complementary features comprise a tongue-and-groove configuration (Col. 3, lines 14-26 and Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the elongated base and the mount have complementary features for being removably attached to each other, wherein the complementary features comprise a tongue-and-groove configuration as taught by Bromwell in the apparatus of Westerfield as modified by Bromwell, in order to make the bow more versatile to suit the user’s preference, such as if the user wishes to use the bow for archery instead for bowfishing and ensure a more secured attachment of the mount and elongated base (Col. 3, lines 14-26 and Fig. 7 of Bromwell).
Regarding claim 15, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Westerfield further teaches wherein the lever is a camming lever ([0063] and Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 16, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Westerfield further teaches wherein the accessory is a fishing reel (2 in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Westerfield further teaches wherein the accessory is a fishing reel for bowfishing ([0055] and the reel is capable of being used for bowfishing).
Regarding claim 18, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell the apparatus of claim 1, but is silent about wherein the device is a bow.
Bromwell teaches wherein the device is a bow (10 in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the device is a bow as taught by Bromwell in the apparatus of Westerfield as modified by Bromwell, depending on the user’s preference, the user may prefer to use a bow with a fishing reel mounted instead of a rod.
Regarding claim 19, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell the apparatus of claim 1, but is silent about wherein the device is a fishing bow.
Bromwell teaches wherein the device is a fishing bow (10 in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the device is a fishing bow as taught by Bromwell in the apparatus of Westerfield as modified by Bromwell, depending on the user’s preference, the user may prefer to fish with a fishing bow instead of a rod.
Regarding claim 20, Westerfield as modified by Bromwell the apparatus of claim 1, but is silent about wherein the mount is removably attached to the elongated base via a second fastener, wherein the second fastener is oriented in the direction perpendicular to a length of the elongated base.
Bromwell teaches wherein the mount (68) is removably attached to the elongated base (60) via a second fastener (62 and Col. 3, lines 16-26), wherein the second fastener is oriented in the direction perpendicular to a length of the elongated base (fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the mount is removably attached to the elongated base via a second fastener as taught by Bromwell in the apparatus of Westerfield as modified by Bromwell, in order to make the bow more versatile to suit the user’s preference, such as if the user wishes to use the bow for archery instead for bowfishing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the second fastener is oriented in the direction perpendicular to a length of the elongated base as taught by Bromwell into the apparatus of Westerfield as modified by Bromwell in order to further secure the mount to the elongated base (fig. 7 and Col. 3, lines 16-26 of Bromwell), since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “In the Action's interpretation, the "first side" is an outer side and the "second side" is an inner side. However, the claimed recitation requires the "tongue extending along the length of the elongated base on the first side" and "a second section slidably coupled to the first side of the elongated base, wherein the second section comprises a groove configured to mate with the tongue on the first side." The amended language of claim 1 defines a position for the tongue and the groove that Westerfield does not teach. At best, the groove is on the "second side" and the tongue (as alleged by the "second section 20 ha[ving] protrusions" at p. 4 of the Action) is also on the "second side" as alleged in the above figure. The mechanical configuration required by amended claim 1 is not present in the teachings of Westerfield.”
The examiner respectively disagrees. Examiner would like to state that the claimed language and the specification do not specify which sides of the elongated base is the first side and the second side. Therefore, Westerfield teaches the claimed language wherein the tongue and the groove are both on the first side as depicted in examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 as the first side comprises of the elongated base (18) comprising of the groove (44 wherein [0060] and examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 describe the groove 44 to extend along the first side of the elongated base) and the second section 20 comprises of the tongue ([0061] and see examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 as the second section 20 has protrusions).
While reference 18 comprises of the groove 44 and reference 20 comprises of the tongue, the examiner has previously stated how it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Westerfield to be wherein the elongated base comprises the tongue and the second section comprises the groove configured to mate with the tongue in order to restrict movement of the second section 20 ([0061] of Westerfield), since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Applicant further argues “As a result of the location of the tongue and groove recited in amended claim 1, the "first end of the lever is pivotally secured to the elongated base on the second side of the elongated base," which is not shown or disclosed in Westerfield in which the pivot point for the Westerfield lever would be on the same side of the device as the alleged tongue and groove.”.
The examiner respectively disagrees as fig. 2, examiner’s illustration of fig. 3 and [0057] of Westerfield teaches the first end of the lever to be pivotally secured to the elongated base on the second side of the elongated base. Also, as stated above, Westerfield teaches the claimed language wherein the tongue and the groove are both on the first side as depicted in examiner’s illustration of fig. 3.
All other claims with arguments are similarly unpersuasive as they relate to claim 1 and the art used for those claims were used for other features that are not claimed in claim 1.
Conclusion
/SAHAR ALMATRAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3643 /DARREN W ARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647