*DETAILED ACTION*
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application claims benefit in provisional application 62/956,706 filed on 01/03/2020.
Claim Status
Claims 6-22 are pending. Claims 1-5 were canceled. Claims 6, 7, 21, and 22 are
examined. Claims 8-20 remain withdrawn. No claims were amended or newly added.
Maintained Claim Rejections —35 USC § 103
Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 6, 7, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jabs (US 2017/0188584 Al Published July 6, 2017).
The claims encompass pesticidal mixtures.
The teachings of Jabs are related to pesticidal mixtures comprising a Bacillus strain and a pesticide (Title and Abstract). Particular preference is given to mixtures comprising as component 1) B. amyloliquefaciens AP-188 and as component 2) at least one pesticide II selected from pyraclostrobin, azoxystrobin, trifloxystobin; fluxapyroxad, penflufen, sedaxane, fluopyram; ipconazole; oxathiapiprolin, valifenalate; fipronil; imidacloprid; chlorantraniliprole; and cyantraniliprole (page 0185). Specific mixtures encompass an agrochemical composition comprising a fungicidally or insecticidally effective amount of at least one microorganism I and at least one pesticide II. Such an amount can vary in a broad range and is dependent on various factors (paragraph 0224). In the mixtures, the weight ratio of the component 1) and the component 2) generally depends on the properties of the active components used, usually it is in the range of from 1:10,000 to 10,000:1, regularly in the range of from 1:100 to 10,000:1, preferably in the range of from 1:100 to 5,000:1, more preferably in the range of from 1:1 to 1,000:1, even more preferably in the range of from 1:1 to 500:1 and in particular in the range of from 10:1 to 300:1 (paragraph 0258). According to further embodiments of the mixtures and compositions, the weight ratio of component 1) and the component 2) usually is in the range of from 1:1 to 1:1000, often in the range of from 1:1 to 1:100, regularly in the range of from 1:1 to 1:50, and preferably in the range of from 1:1 to 1:20 (paragraph 0261).
Regarding claims 7 and 21, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have formed a pesticidal mixture comprising an effective amount B. amyloliquefaciens and imidocloprid wherein the weight ratio
of B. amyloliquefaciens to imidocloprid ranges from 1:1 to 1:1000, with a reasonable expectation of success because Jabs teaches a pesticidal mixture comprising B. amyloliquefaciens as component I and at least one pesticide selected from imidocloprid as component II, where the weight ratio of component I to component II ranges from 1:1 to 1:1000 and where the microorganism and the pesticide are present in a fungicidally or insecticidally effective amount.
The claimed ranges of ratios of B. amyloliquefaciens to imidocloprid are obvious because the claimed ranges of “from about 1:177 to about 1:200” and “about 177” are encompassed by the prior art range of from 1:1 to 1:1000.
Regarding claims 6 and 22, it would have been further obvious to the skilled artisan to have added at least one suitable auxiliary to pesticidal mixture, with a reasonable expectation of success because Jabs teaches that the composition further comprises at least one auxiliary (paragraph 0138). It would have been obvious to have selected a stabilizer as a suitable auxiliary, with a reasonable expectation of success because Jabs teaches stabilizers as suitable auxiliaries (paragraph 0231).
The prior art composition contains the same active agents as claimed and in a range of weight ratios that encompasses the claimed ranges of weight ratios. It would have been reasonable to expect the prior art composition to have the same properties as claimed composition when placed under identical conditions including being capable of controlling tomato spotted wilt virus, absent evidence to the contrary. A composition and its properties are inseparable.
Combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results supports obviousness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted in the remarks dated April 25, 2025, were fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
The claimed ranges of weight ratios are obvious because they overlap with Jabs’ range of weight ratios. It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
The examiner acknowledges that the claimed ranges are narrower than Jabs’ range, however that is not sufficient to render the claimed ranges nonobvious over Jabs. The specification was reviewed and there is no evidence that claimed ranges are critical or provide an unexpected property to the claimed composition.
Jabs teaches using the microorganism and the pesticide in a fungicidally or insecticidally effective amount. Jabs further teaches using each component in an effective amount and further teaches that the ratios are advantageously chosen so as to produce a synergistic effect (paragraph 0252). A person skilled in the art would have been capable of varying the ratios of the two in the range of 1:1 to 1:1000 in order to arrive at a composition that contains the two in an effective amount, and alternatively to obtain a composition having the two components that produce a synergistic effect. It would have been routine to vary concentrations and ratios of the two components in order to arrive at a composition having fungicidally or insecticidally effective amounts of the components, and alternatively having synergistic amounts of said components.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alma - Pipic whose telephone number is (571)270-7459. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00am-5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Hartley can be reached on 571-272-0616. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALMA PIPIC/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617