DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim states, “further comprising the step of introducing…” and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Applicant is advised to replace “the step” with “a step”.
Regarding claim 5, the claim states, “further includes the step of introducing…” and there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It is also unclear if the claim limitation is in relation to the “solids” of claim 1 or if the claim requires the addition of further solids. Applicant is advised to amend the claim accordingly (e.g. “The method of claim 1 further comprising a step of introducing solids…” or “The method of claim 1, wherein the step of introducing a solid comprises introducing the solids through…”).
The claim also states, “wherein the solids represent less than 3750 part per million” and it is unclear if this is the added solids or the total solids.
Regarding claim 8, the claim states, “wherein the combination of carbon dioxide is…” and it is unclear what is to be considered “the combination” given that only “carbon dioxide” is recited. It is unclear if “the combination” is in relation to “the combination of carbon dioxide and hydrogen gas” stated in claim 7 or something else.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka JP 2004243151.
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a method of producing a canned hydrogen infused carbonated beverage comprising the steps of: providing a can (presently filed specification [0019] states a can to include “a rigid plastic container”); introducing a solid that includes metal into the can, wherein the solid comprises magnesium; filling the can with a carbonated liquid having water; generating molecular hydrogen from the reaction of the solid and the water; generating magnesium bicarbonate from the reaction of the solid and the carbonated liquid; and sealing the can (page 1, see [0003] and page 4, 1st ¶).
While not expressly recited, the reaction of the Tanaka’s metallic magnesium and carbonated liquid comprising water will naturally generate molecular hydrogen and would naturally generate magnesium bicarbonate.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is applied as stated above. Tanaka teaches the addition of metallic magnesium into carbonated water prior to sealing (page 1, see [0003] and page 4, 1st ¶) and said reaction would naturally introduce magnesium bicarbonate into the can.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka JP 2004243151 in view of Northwestern extract (hereafter, “Northwestern”) (https://www.northwesternextract.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Intro-to-the-Mfg-of-Soft-Drinks_NEW.pdf) .
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 is applied as stated above. Tanaka teaches the drinking water may a carbonated beverage but does not expressly disclose the volume of carbon dioxide. Northwestern teaches carbonated beverages typically have over 1.5 volumes of carbonation (page 13). Thus, one would have reasonably assumed that the carbonated beverage of Tanaka had 1.5 volumes or more of carbon dioxide.
Regarding claim 4, claim 3 is applied as stated above. Modified Tanaka does not expressly disclose wherein the combined carbon dioxide and hydrogen gas remains less than 6.5 volumes after sealing the can. Northwestern teaches carbonated beverages typically have about 2.0-5.0 volumes of carbonation (page 13). Thus, one would have been motivated to ensure the sealed carbonated beverage of Tanaka maintained the typical amount after sealing.
Alternatively, as Tanaka is directed to making a hydrogen water to “remove active oxygen from the body” and to promote health (page 2, 1st ¶), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amount of magnesium and carbonated liquid to arrive at a beverage having the desired volume of carbon dioxide and hydrogen gas after sealing the can in order to for the beverage to possess the desired properties.
Regarding claim 7, it is noted that the present claim is directed to a product and also recites product by process limitations (e.g., the water being infused with carbon dioxide); applicant is reminded of MPEP 2113: “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).”
The invention of Tanaka teaches a beverage comprising a sealed can (“bottle”, see presently filed specification [0019]) having a volume, the volume comprising water/carbonated beverage, hydrogen gas and magnesium hydroxide (page 2, First Embodiment).
Tanaka does not expressly disclose wherein the combination of carbon dioxide and hydrogen gas is less than 6.5 volumes.
Northwestern teaches carbonated beverages typically have about 2.0-5.0 volumes of carbonation (page 13). Thus, one would have been motivated to ensure the sealed carbonated beverage of Tanaka maintained the typical amount after sealing.
Alternatively, as Tanaka is directed to making a hydrogen water to “remove active oxygen from the body” and to promote health (page 2, 1st ¶), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the amount of magnesium and carbonated liquid to arrive at a beverage having the desired volume of carbon dioxide and hydrogen gas after sealing the can in order to for the beverage to possess the desired properties.
Regarding claim 8, claim 7 is applied as stated above. Tanaka teaches the drinking water may be a carbonated beverage but does not expressly disclose the volume of carbon dioxide. Northwestern teaches carbonated beverages typically have about 2.0-5.0 volumes of carbonation (page 13). Thus, one would have been motivated to ensure the carbonated beverage of Tanka comprised typical amounts of carbon dioxide.
Regarding claims 11, claim 7 is applied as stated above. Tanaka teaches a hydrogen rich beverage but does not expressly disclose the hydrogen concentration is greater than 1.6 ppm. However, as the invention of Tanaka is directed to making a hydrogen water to “remove active oxygen from the body” and to promote health (page 2, 1st ¶), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the concentration of hydrogen needed to arrive at the desired beverage having the desired properties.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka JP 2004243151.
Regarding claims 5, claim 1 is applied as stated above. Tanaka teaches adding metal magnesium into the can by infusion (page 3) but does not expressly disclose the amount of metal magnesium as less than 3750 ppm. However, as the invention of Tanaka is directed to making a hydrogen water to “remove active oxygen from the body” and to promote health (page 2, 1st ¶), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount to magnesium needed to arrive at the desired beverage having the desired properties.
Regarding claims 6, claim 1 is applied as stated above. Tanaka teaches adding metal magnesium into the can (page 3) but does not expressly disclose the amount of metal magnesium as less 225mg per liter of water. However, as the invention of Tanaka is directed to making a hydrogen water to “remove active oxygen from the body” and to promote health (page 2, 1st ¶), it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount to magnesium needed to arrive at the desired hydrogen rich beverage having the desired properties.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka JP 2004243151 in view of Northwestern extract (hereafter, “Northwestern”) (https://www.northwesternextract.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Intro-to-the-Mfg-of-Soft-Drinks_NEW.pdf) and in further view of Kulthanan et al., The pH of water from various sources: an overview for recommendation for patients with atopic dermatitis.
Regarding claim 9, claim 7 is applied as stated above. Tanaka teaches producing a hydrogen rich water with a carbonated liquid (page 1, see [0003] and page 4, 1st ¶) but does not expressly disclose the pH of the water beverage.
Kulthanan discloses the pH of water from various sources and teaches carbonated water has an average pH of 5.5 (Table 1). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to ensure the pH of the carbonated water of Tanaka was within the typical range of carbonated water, for the purpose of meeting consumer expectation.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka JP 2004243151 in view of Northwestern extract (hereafter, “Northwestern”) (https://www.northwesternextract.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Intro-to-the-Mfg-of-Soft-Drinks_NEW.pdf) and in further view of Total Dissolved Solids (TDS)
Regarding claim 10, claim 7 is applied as stated above. Tanaka teaches producing a hydrogen rich water with a carbonated liquid (page 1, see [0003] and page 4, 1st ¶) but does not expressly disclose wherein a total amount of dissolved solids is less than 2750mg /liter.
Total Dissolved Solids teaches the concentration of total dissolved solids in drinking water can have an impact on health (Health Considerations) and affect taste and that “excellent” taste is considered to have less than 300 mg/L TDS (Other Considerations). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to ensure the water beverage of Tanaka comprised less than 2750mg/L TDS in order to have a pleasant taste.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 16/057,164 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of ‘164 encompasses the presently claimed limitations of instant claims 1. While the method of ‘164 does not expressly recite generating magnesium bicarbonate, the reaction of magnesium and carbon dioxide would naturally do so.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Lela S. Williams/ Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792