DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) have been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 2/10/2026. As directed by the amendment: claim(s) 49, 55, and 71 have been amended, and claim(s) 72-73 have been added. Thus, claims 49, 51, 54-56, 58-65, and 67-73 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/10/2026 with respect to the independent claim(s), particularly the amended subject matter pertaining to the manner that the recirculation circuit connects to & is arranged relative to elements of the gases pathway, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 49, 51, 54-56, 58-68, and 67-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160158468 A1, henceforth written as Tang, in view of US 20030028139 A1, henceforth written as Inoue, and in view of US 20120165610 A1, henceforth written as Poll.
Regarding Claim 49,
Tang discloses:
A system for laparoscopic surgery, the system comprising:
(system 200; fig 3)
a insufflator configured to generate a flow of gases for delivery to a body cavity along an insufflator gases pathway; --
(insufflation gas source 214, therein considered an insufflator; fig 3; fig 1 illustrating the body cavity as pneumoperitoneum 116; see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below , denoting the claimed insufflator gases pathway)
--a recirculation circuit connecting the body cavity to the insufflator gases pathway at an entry point ,
(see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below , denoting the claimed recirculation circuit and entry point )
wherein the recirculation circuit is configured to receive gases passing through the body cavity and to direct the gases into the insufflator gases pathway between the insufflator and the [delivery component] such that gases from the recirculation circuit are reintroduced into the body cavity without passing through the insufflator,
(see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below , denoting the claimed recirculation circuit and presenting Tang's arrows indicating gas flow direction demonstrate that gases from the recirculation circuit are reintroduced into an anatomical cavity without passing through insufflation source 214)
a filtration unit positioned along the recirculation circuit, the filtration unit comprising a filter and a pump,
(the claimed filtration unit is considered to comprise filter 223 and pump 212; fig 3)
wherein the filter is configured to remove smoke and other debris from the gases flowing through the recirculation circuit,
(paragraph 29-30+32+35)
and wherein the pump comprises an inlet and an outlet,
( see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below, denoting the claimed inlet and outlet of pump 212)
wherein the pump is configured to create a pressure differential between the inlet and the outlet; and --
(paragraph 30-31+33-34; pump 212 produces a high pressure side on its outlet end to circulate pressurized within the system, therein creating a pressure differential between the claimed inlet and claimed outlet)
[a portion of the recirculation circuit] comprising a heated conduit, the [heated conduit is] positioned along the recirculation circuit upstream of the filtration unit such that gases leaving the body cavity and flowing through the recirculation circuit pass through the [heated conduit] before passing through the filtration unit.
( see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below, denoting the claimed heated conduit, positioned in the claimed manner, which may be considered heated as the conduit receives gas of a temperature from the pneumoperitoneum 116 such that thermal energy/heat of the gas may be conferred to the portion of tubing it travels through, therein heating the tubing of the heated conduit section)
Tang discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
a humidifier in fluid communication with the insufflator along the insufflator gases pathway, the humidifier configured to at least humidify the flow of gases received from the insufflator ;
wherein the recirculation circuit is configured -- to direct the gases into the insufflator gases pathway between the insufflator and the humidifier such that gases from the recirculation circuit are reintroduced into the body cavity without passing through the insufflator,
and wherein the humidifier is positioned within the recirculation circuit such that the humidifier receives gases from both the insufflator and from the body cavity;
However, Inoue teaches a pneumoperitoneum gas heating and humidifying apparatus wherein:
a humidifier in fluid communication with the insufflator along the insufflator gases pathway, the humidifier configured to at least humidify the flow of gases received from the insufflator ;
(paragraph 32+59-60; gas heating and humidifying apparatus 1 receives flowing gas from gas flow regulator 15, and provides means for maintaining temperature of a gas for dispensing into a body cavity for preventing cooling and excess condensation while being conveyed in the tube; fig 1+3, demonstrating the position of apparatus 1 after other forms of gas processing and before being delivered to a patient)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the humidifier apparatus teachings of Inoue to the tubing downstream of the claimed insufflator disclosed by Tang, such that Inoue’s apparatus is similarly disposed in Tang’s conduit 217 after other forms of gas processing have occurred and prior to delivery to a patient therein arriving at the claimed invention, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which inhibits excessive cooling and consequential condensate formation while conveying gas to a body cavity, see paragraph 59-60 of Inoue.
Examiner notes in light of the above modification of Tang in view of Inoue, that the apparatus 1 of Inoue is disposed within Tang’s insufflator gases pathway along conduit 217 immediately prior to delivering insufflation gas to dual lumen cannula 10, such that the claim limitations of “wherein the recirculation circuit is configured -- to direct the gases into the insufflator gases pathway between the insufflator and the humidifier such that gases from the recirculation circuit are reintroduced into the body cavity without passing through the insufflator, and wherein the humidifier is positioned within the recirculation circuit such that the humidifier receives gases from both the insufflator and from the body cavity” is met as gas which is originally evacuated from the body cavity via Tang’s dual lumen cannula 10 passes through the recirculation circuit toward Inoue apparatus 1 without passing through source 214 as this evacuated gas meets the insufflator gases pathway at the Tang’s entry point, such that Inoue’s apparatus 1 receives gas from insufflation source 214 and receives gas from the recirculation circuit which has not passed through source 214.
Tang in view of Inoue discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
a condensate management system configured to minimize condensate in the recirculation circuit,
the condensate management system positioned along the recirculation circuit upstream of the filtration unit such that gases leaving the body cavity and flowing through the recirculation circuit pass through the condensate management system before passing through the filtration unit.
However Poll teaches an insufflation system:
a condensate management system configured to minimize condensate in the recirculation circuit,
(paragraph 158; moisture trap 236 cooperates with drain channels 238 in inlet tubing 230 to remove, therein minimize, condensate in ; fig 39-40)
the condensate management system comprising a heated conduit,
(moisture trap 236 and tubing 230 receives hot air from the operating cavity such that thermal energy/heat of the gas may be conferred to the tubing it travels through, therein heating the portion of the tubing)
the condensate management system positioned along the recirculation circuit upstream of the filtration unit such that gases leaving the body cavity and flowing through the recirculation circuit pass through the condensate management system before passing through the filtration unit.
(fig 39 and paragraph 158 demonstrates trap 236 is upstream of filter 216)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Poll’s condensate management system into the heated conduit of Tang, such that Tang’s heated conduit is disposed with Poll’s drain channels 238 and Poll’s moisture 236 upstream of Tang’s filtration unit therein arriving at the claimed invention, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which separates and collects condensing moisture from a gas as soon as possible after gas is evacuated from a cavity, see paragraph 158 of Poll.
Regarding claim 51, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses:
The system of Claim 49, wherein the gases flowing from the humidifier to the body cavity are humidified.
Examiner notes that in light of the modification made in claim 49 above, the humidifier of Inoue is disposed in the claimed gases pathway such that humidified gas is distributed to a body cavity.
Regarding claim 54, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses:
The system of Claim 49, wherein the filtration unit comprises a flow generator portion.
Tang: (paragraph 30-31; the pressurization generating means (not enumerated/illustrated) within pump 212 is considered the claimed flow generator portion)
Regarding claim 55, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses:
The system of Claim 54, wherein the filtration unit comprises an inlet, an outlet,
(see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below, denoting the filtration unit’s claimed inlet and outlet)
and a filtration portion,
Tang: (the particulate filtering means (not enumerated/illustrated) within filter 223 is considered the claimed filtration portion)
wherein the filtration portion is positioned between the inlet and the flow generator portion, wherein the gases from the body cavity are drawn in to the filtration unit through the inlet and out of the filtration unit through the outlet.
(see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below, demonstrating the claim elements in the claimed configuration relative to one another)
Regarding claim 56, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll teaches:
The system of Claim 49, wherein the humidifier comprises an inlet, an outlet,
Inoue: (apparatus 1 includes inlet (not enumerated) and outlet (not enumerated) of line 3; fig 1)
a chamber configured to hold a volume of liquid, and
Inoue: (water conduit 4; fig 1)
a heating element associated with the chamber.
Inoue: (heater 5a; fig 1)
Regarding claim 58, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll teaches:
The system of Claim 49, wherein the condensate management system is positioned along a portion of the recirculation circuit extending between the body cavity and the filtration unit.
Examiner notes in light of the modification made in claim 49 above, Poll’s condensate management system is disposed in the heated conduit of Tang such that it is disposed between Tang’s pneumoperitoneum 116 and Tang’s filtration unit
Regarding claim 59, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll teaches:
The system of Claim 49, wherein the condensate management system is positioned adjacent to an inlet of the filtration unit.
Examiner notes in light of the modification made in claim 49 above, Poll’s condensate management system is disposed in the heated conduit of Tang such that it can be considered being positioned adjacent Tang’s filtration unit’s inlet
Regarding claim 60, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll teaches:
The system of Claim 49, wherein the condensate management system comprises a reusable water trap.
Poll: (paragraph 158; continuously operating, therein reusable for continuing flow, moisture, therein water, trap)
Regarding claim 61, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses:
The system of Claim 49, wherein the condensate management system comprises a film or foamed breathable polymer, wherein the film or foamed breathable polymer comprises a conduit.
Tang: ( the claimed heated conduit of the condensate management system is comprised of conduit for conveying a flow of gas, such that there is an internal lumen (not enumerated/illustrated) bound by outer layer of the conduit for containing/guiding flow within the lumen; Examiner notes that broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim term " film " to a person of ordinary skill in the art, not inconsistent with the disclosure, may be best provided by Oxford's English dictionary: " A fine skin, sheet, or covering forming a thin layer or coating on a surface ", such that the outer layer of the conduit containing/guiding flow within the conduit’s lumen may be considered a film.
Regarding Claim 62,
Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above.
The system of Claim 49, wherein the condensate management system comprises a canister.
Poll: ( moisture trap 236 has a housing (not enumerated), considered a canister; fig 39)
However, Tang in view of Inoue and Poll is silent regarding:
a canister containing a substance with an affinity to water.
However, Poll teaches:
a canister containing a substance with an affinity to water[ for minimizing condensate].
(paragraph 130; dehumidifying unit 106 comprises a rotor, therein a canister containing a rotor, such that the canister contains desiccants with a high affinity for adsorbing water)
Examiner also notes in paragraph 163 of Poll, that it is disclosed that parts of the invention may be rearranged.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the desiccant container taught by Poll into the moisture trap of the modified invention of Tang in view of Poll and Inoue, such that Poll’s moisture trap 236 contains desiccant to adsorb water vapor and liquid water therein arriving at the claimed invention, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved means for capturing and retaining moisture, see paragraph 130 of Poll.
Regarding claim 63, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll teaches:
The system of Claim 62, wherein the substance comprises a foam material or a chemical that absorbs water.
Poll: (paragraph 130; the condensate managements system of the modified invention contains desiccants, therein a chemical, with a high affinity for adsorbing water)
Regarding Claim 64,
Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above.
The system of Claim 49, wherein the condensate management system comprises a tube
Poll: ( moisture trap 236 has a housing (not enumerated), considered a tube; fig 39)
However, Tang in view of Inoue and Poll is silent regarding:
a tube containing absorbent material.
However, Poll teaches:
a tube containing absorbent material[ for minimizing condensate].
(paragraph 130; dehumidifying unit 106 comprises a rotor, therein a tube containing a rotor, such that the tube contains desiccants with a high affinity for adsorbing water)
Examiner also notes in paragraph 163 of Poll, that it is disclosed that parts of the invention may be rearranged.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the desiccant container taught by Poll into the moisture trap of the modified invention of Tang in view of Poll and Inoue, such that Poll’s moisture trap 236 contains desiccant to adsorb water vapor and liquid water therein arriving at the claimed invention, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved means for capturing and retaining moisture, see paragraph 130 of Poll.
Regarding Claim 65,
Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, Tang in view of Inoue and Poll is silent regarding:
wherein the condensate management system comprises a desiccant located near the filtration unit
However, Poll teaches:
a tube containing absorbent material[ for minimizing condensate].
(paragraph 130; dehumidifying unit 106 comprises a rotor, therein a tube containing a rotor, such that the tube contains desiccants with a high affinity for adsorbing water)
Examiner also notes in paragraph 163 of Poll, that it is disclosed that parts of the invention may be rearranged.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the desiccant container taught by Poll into the moisture trap of the modified invention of Tang in view of Poll and Inoue, such that Poll’s moisture trap 236 contains desiccant to adsorb water vapor and liquid water therein arriving at the claimed invention as trap 236 is disposed near the claimed filtration unit of Tang, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved means for capturing and retaining moisture, see paragraph 130 of Poll.
Regarding Claim 67,
Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, Tang in view of Inoue and Poll regarding:
The system of Claim 49,wherein the heated conduit is insulated.
However, Inoue teaches:
wherein the heated conduit is insulated.
(paragraph 59-60; insulating material (not enumerated) is provided on the piping 17, fig 1+3, to minimize condensate formation)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the insulation-condensate relationship teachings of Inoue to the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll, such that the heated conduit of Tang is formed from an insulating material, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved means for minimizing condensate formation in its tubing, see paragraph 59-60 of Inoue and MPEP 2144.06(I).
Regarding Claim 68,
Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above. However, Tang in view of Inoue and Poll regarding:
The system of Claim 49, wherein the heated conduit comprises a heating element.
However, Inoue teaches:
wherein the heated conduit comprises a heating element.
Inoue: (paragraph 59-60+67; temperature maintaining heater 5a; fig 1)
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the heater-condensate relationship teachings of Inoue to the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll, such that the heated conduit of Tang has a heating element, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention with improved means for minimizing condensate formation in its tubing, see paragraph 59-60+67 of Inoue and MPEP 2144.06(I).
Regarding claim 69, the modified device of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll teaches:
The system of Claim 68, wherein the heated conduit comprises a tube with a wall defining a lumen, wherein the heating element is positioned at least one of: outside of the wall, inside of the wall, outside of the lumen, or inside of the lumen.
Inoue: ( fig 1 illustrates the position of heater 5a outside of the lumen defined by membrane 8, and within the wall of body 2)
Claim 72 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Inoue and Poll, as applied to claims above, in view of US 6238365 B1, henceforth written as Gord.
Regarding Claim 72,
Tang in view of Inoue and Poll discloses all of the elements of the current invention which the present claim is dependent upon, as described above, including the following limitations of the present claim.
[a control system] using [ pressure sensor] to control [an pressure within the body cavity]
(paragraph 34; annular lumen 20 serves as a sense line for sensing abdominal pressure within the pneumoperitoneum 116)
However, Tang in view of Inoue and Poll is silent regarding:
a controller configured to control the insufflator using a control algorithm, wherein the controller controls a flow rate of the flow of gases from the insufflator into the insufflator gases pathway.
However, Gord teaches device and method For Insufflating Gas Into A Cavity:
a controller configured to control the insufflator using a control algorithm, wherein the controller controls a flow rate of the flow of gases from the insufflator into the insufflator gases pathway
(col 5 line 31 to col 6 line 59; the invention describes a control algorithm utilized by a controller, with input data from pressure/flow sensors 36 38 to regulate pressure/flow rate from a gas source 32 via regulator 34, in order to determine and control an actual pressure within a corporeal cavity 30; fig 1-3
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the controller and control algorithm taught by Gord to the modified invention of Tang in view of Inoue and Poll, such that a pressure/flow from Tang’s insufflation source 214 is regulated by Gord’s controller and regulator 34 based on inputs from Gord’s pressure/flow sensors, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which can determine and control an actual pressure within an abdominal cavity, see col 2 line 1-44 of Gord.
Claims 70-71 and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang in view of Inoue.
Regarding claim 70,
Tang discloses:
A system for laparoscopic surgery, the system comprising:
(system 200; fig 3)
an insufflator configured to generate a flow of gases for delivery to a body cavity;--
(insufflation gas source 214, therein considered an insufflator; fig 3; fig 1 illustrating the body cavity as pneumoperitoneum 116)
a supply conduit connecting the insufflator to the [delivery component] and configured to allow the flow of gases to flow from the insufflator to -- the supply conduit defining a portion of a gases pathway,
(see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below, denoting the claimed supply conduit and gases pathway )
the gases pathway directing the flow of gases from the humidifier to a delivery component for delivering the flow of gases into the body cavity;
(dual lumen cannula 10 is considered the claimed delivery component)
a recirculation circuit connecting the body cavity to the gases pathway, the recirculation circuit comprising:
(see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below , denoting the claimed recirculation circuit )
a first conduit section configured to receive gases passing through the body cavity, at least a portion of the first conduit section configured to be heated; and
(see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below , denoting the claimed first conduit section; which a portion of which may be considered configured to be heated in that it receives gas of a temperature such that thermal energy/heat of the gas may be conferred to the portion of tubing it travels through, therein heating the portion of the first conduit section)
a second conduit section downstream of the first conduit section, the second conduit section connected to the supply conduit at an entry point between the insufflator and the [delivery component] such that the gases from the body cavity are directed through the supply conduit and into the [delivery component] before being reintroduced into the body cavity via the delivery component and without passing through the insufflator; and
(see examiner's annotation of Tang's fig 3, below, denoting the claimed second conduit section and entry point positioned in the claimed manner )
a filtration unit positioned along the recirculation circuit between the first conduit section and the second conduit section, the filtration unit comprising a filter and a pump,
(the claimed filtration unit is considered to comprise filter 223 and pump 212; fig 3)
wherein the filter is configured to remove smoke and other debris from the gases flowing through the recirculation circuit.
(paragraph 29-30+32+35)
Tang discloses the elements of the present claim, as described above. Yet, its present embodiment is silent on:
a humidifier in fluid communication with the insufflator and configured to humidify the flow of gases received from the insufflator;
a supply conduit connecting the insufflator to the humidifier and configured to allow the flow of gases to flow from the insufflator to the humidifier
the second conduit section connected to the supply conduit at an entry point between the insufflator and the humidifier such that the gases from the body cavity are directed through the supply conduit and into the humidifier before being reintroduced into the body cavity via the delivery component
However, Inoue teaches a pneumoperitoneum gas heating and humidifying apparatus wherein:
a humidifier in fluid communication with the insufflator along the insufflator gases pathway, the humidifier configured to at least humidify the flow of gases received from the insufflator ;
(paragraph 32+59-60; gas heating and humidifying apparatus 1 receives flowing gas from gas flow regulator 15, and provides means for maintaining temperature of a gas for dispensing into a body cavity for preventing cooling and excess condensation while being conveyed in the tube; fig 1+3, demonstrating the position of apparatus 1 after other forms of gas processing and before being delivered to a patient)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the humidifier apparatus teachings of Inoue to the tubing downstream of the claimed insufflator disclosed by Tang, such that Inoue’s apparatus is similarly disposed in Tang’s conduit 217 after other forms of gas processing have occurred and prior to delivery to a patient therein arriving at the claimed invention, in order to advantageously arrive at an invention which inhibits excessive cooling and consequential condensate formation while conveying gas to a body cavity, see paragraph 59-60 of Inoue.
Examiner notes in light of the above modification of Tang in view of Inoue, that the apparatus 1 of Inoue is disposed within Tang’s insufflator gases pathway along conduit 217 immediately prior to delivering insufflation gas to dual lumen cannula 10, such that the claim limitations of “a supply conduit connecting the insufflator to the humidifier and configured to allow the flow of gases to flow from the insufflator to the humidifier the second conduit section connected to the supply conduit at an entry point between the insufflator and the humidifier such that the gases from the body cavity are directed through the supply conduit and into the humidifier before being reintroduced into the body cavity via the delivery component” is met as gas which is originally evacuated from the body cavity via Tang’s dual lumen cannula 10 passes through the recirculation circuit toward Inoue apparatus 1 without passing through source 214 as this evacuated gas meets the insufflator gases pathway at the Tang’s entry point, such that Inoue’s apparatus 1 receives gas from insufflation source 214 and receives gas from the recirculation circuit which has not passed through source 214.
Regarding claim 71, Tang in view of Inoue discloses:
The system of Claim 70, wherein the pump comprises an inlet and an outlet, and wherein the pump is configured to create a pressure differential between the inlet and the outlet.
Tang: (paragraph 30-31+33-34; pump 212 produces a high pressure side on its outlet end to circulate pressurized within the system, therein creating a pressure differential between the claimed inlet and claimed outlet)
Regarding claim 73, Tang in view of Inoue discloses:
The system of claim 72, wherein the insufflator is configured to control a pressure of the body cavity.
Tang: (paragraph 30+34; insufflation source 214 maintains pressure, therein controls pressure, within pneumoperitoneum 116)
Conclusion
/FORREST B DIPERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783