DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s IDS submitted in the RCE dated 1/12/2026 has been reviewed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 2007/0133743).
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches an X-ray inspection device (Figs. 1, 3, 8 and 9) for inspecting the contents of an article (in tub 82), comprising:
a conveyor belt (16) configured for movement relative to a transport axis, the conveyor belt being configured to support the article (82) and transport the article relative to the transport axis;
a housing (72) having a longitudinal axis and defining an inspection chamber having an entrance (74) and an exit (76), a portion of the conveyor belt being positioned within the inspection chamber (72) such that the transport axis of the conveyor belt is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the housing (Fig. 3);
an X-ray emission tube (80), wherein, upon activation, the X-ray emission tube is configured to emit X-rays toward the conveyor belt within the inspection chamber of the housing;
a sensor (micro-switch 128) configured to detect the presence of the article within the inspection chamber (occupied conveyor position 124), the sensor (128) being operatively coupled to the X-ray emission tube such that, upon triggering of the sensor, the X-ray emission tube is activated (occupied conveyor position 124 triggers the micro-switch 128; ¶ 0058); and
one or more trigger doors (deflectable arm 126) pivotally coupled to the housing proximate the entrance to the inspection chamber (Fig. 9), each trigger door of the one or more trigger doors being configured for pivotal movement about and between a closed position (122) and an open position (124),
wherein, upon contact between the one or more trigger doors and the article, each trigger door of the one or more trigger doors is configured to move to the open position (deflector arm 126 is configured to move in the open position 124 when contacting tub 82; ¶ 0058), and
wherein at least one trigger door of the one or more trigger doors is shaped to trigger the sensor (micro-switch 128 sends a signal when in occupied conveyor position 124; ¶ 0058) when the one or more trigger doors are positioned in the open position, thereby activating the X-ray emission tube (¶ 0058 teaches empty conveyor position 122 prevent x-rays from projecting and sending a signal when the deflectable arm moves to the occupied position (i.e. open position), implying that the occupied tub is irradiated. Since the purpose of the device is for security screening of objects (abstract) and the closed or empty position prevents x-ray irradiation (¶0058), the open position inherently irradiates the occupied tubs such that the contents may be screened).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 1, wherein the sensor has a detection zone (area inside structure 72; Figs 8 and 9), wherein the sensor (128) is configured to detect the presence of an article within the detection zone, and wherein, in the open position (124), at least a portion of at least one trigger door of the one or more trigger doors is positioned within the detection zone (¶ 0058; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 4, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 3, wherein the entrance to the inspection chamber is defined by opposed first and second side portions of the housing and a top portion of the housing extending between the first and second side portions (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 4, wherein the one or more trigger doors comprises a single trigger door secured to the top portion of the housing (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 4, wherein the one or more trigger doors comprises a single trigger door secured to one of the first and second side portions of the housing (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 1, wherein the one or more trigger doors comprises opposed first and second trigger doors respectively secured to the opposed first and second side portions of the housing (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 1, wherein the one or more trigger doors are hingedly attached to the housing (¶ 0052; Figs. 8 and 9).
Regarding claim 9, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 8, wherein, during movement from the closed position to the open position, the one or more trigger doors are configured to open inwardly in the direction of movement of the article relative to the transport axis (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 1, wherein the one or more trigger doors are biased to return to the closed position (¶ 0057).
Regarding claim 11, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 1, wherein the one or more trigger doors are shaped to substantially fill the entrance to the inspection chamber of the housing (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Johnson teaches a trigger door assembly (Figs. 1, 3, 8 and 9) for triggering a sensor (128) of an X-ray inspection device during inspection of an article (82), the X-ray inspection device having a housing (structure 72) defining an inspection chamber defining an entrance (74) and an exit (76), and an X-ray emission tube (80) operatively coupled to the sensor, the sensor being configured to detect the presence of the article within the inspection chamber (¶ 0058), the trigger door assembly comprising:
one or more trigger doors (deflectable arm 126), each trigger door of the one or more trigger doors being configured for pivotal coupling to the housing of the X-ray inspection device proximate the entrance to the inspection chamber (Figs. 8 and 9; ¶ 0052),
wherein each trigger door of the one or more trigger doors is configured for pivotal movement about and between a closed position and an open position (Figs. 8 and 9; ¶,
wherein, upon contact between the one or more trigger doors and the article, each trigger door of the one or more trigger doors is configured to move to the open position (deflector arm 126 is configured to move in the open position 124 when contacting tub 82; ¶ 0058), and
wherein at least one trigger door of the one or more trigger doors is shaped to trigger the sensor (micro-switch 128 sends a signal when in occupied conveyor position 124; ¶ 0058) when the one or more trigger doors are positioned in the open position, thereby activating the X-ray emission tube (¶ 0058 teaches empty conveyor position 122 prevent x-rays from projecting and sending a signal when the deflectable arm moves to the occupied position (i.e. open position), implying that the occupied tub is irradiated. Since the purpose of the device is for security screening of objects (abstract) and the closed or empty position prevents x-ray irradiation (¶ 0058), the open position inherently irradiates the occupied tubs such that the contents may be screened).
Regarding claim 13, Johnson teaches the trigger door assembly of claim 12, wherein the one or more trigger doors comprises a single trigger door, and wherein the single trigger door is configured to be pivotally coupled to a top portion of the housing (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 14, Johnson teaches the trigger door assembly of claim 12, wherein the one or more trigger doors comprises a single trigger door, and wherein the single trigger door is configured to be pivotally coupled to a side portion of the housing (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 15, Johnson teaches the trigger door assembly of claim 12, wherein the one or more trigger doors comprises opposed first and second trigger doors, and wherein the first and second trigger doors are configured to be pivotally coupled to opposing first and second side portions of the housing (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 16, Johnson teaches the trigger door assembly of claim 12, wherein the one or more trigger doors comprise respective hinges, and wherein the hinges of the one or more trigger doors are configured to pivotally couple the one or more trigger doors to the housing (Fig. 8; ¶ 0052).
Regarding claim 17, Johnson teaches the trigger door assembly of claim 12, wherein the article is configured for movement relative to a transport axis, and wherein, during movement from the closed position to the open position, the one or more trigger doors are configured to open inwardly in the direction of movement of the article relative to the transport axis (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 18, Johnson teaches the trigger door assembly of claim 12, wherein the one or more trigger doors are configured to be biased to return to the closed position (¶ 0057).
Regarding claim 19, Johnson teaches a method of inspecting the contents of an article (82) using an X-ray inspection device (Figs. 1, 3, 8 and 9), comprising:
positioning the article on a conveyor belt (16), the conveyor belt configured for movement relative to a transport axis, a portion of the conveyor belt being positioned within an inspection chamber (structure 72) defined by a housing of the X-ray inspection device (80), the housing having a longitudinal axis, the conveyor belt (16) being positioned within the inspection chamber (72) such that the transport axis is substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the housing, the X-ray inspection device having one or more trigger doors (deflectable arm 126) pivotally coupled to the housing proximate an entrance (74) to the inspection chamber, each trigger door of the one or more trigger doors being configured for pivotal movement about and between a closed position (122) and an open position (124); and
selectively activating the conveyor belt such that the article is transported relative to the transport axis, wherein the article is transported relative to the transport axis such that the article contacts and passes through the one or more trigger doors (Figs. 8 and 9),
wherein each trigger door of the one or more trigger doors is configured to move to the open position as the article contacts and passes through the one or more trigger doors (deflector arm 126 is configured to move in the open position 124 when contacting tub 82; ¶ 0058),
wherein, in the open position (124), at least one trigger door of the one or more trigger doors is shaped to trigger a sensor of the X-ray inspection device when the one or more trigger doors are positioned in the open position, (micro-switch 128 sends a signal when in occupied conveyor position 124; ¶ 0058) the sensor being operatively coupled to the X-ray emission tube of the X-ray inspection device and configured to detect the presence of the article within the inspection chamber (¶ 0058), and
wherein, upon triggering of the sensor, the X-ray emission tube is activated (¶ 0058 teaches empty conveyor position 122 prevent x-rays from projecting and sending a signal when the deflectable arm moves to the occupied position (i.e. open position), implying that the occupied tub is irradiated. Since the purpose of the device is for security screening of objects (abstract) and the closed or empty position prevents x-ray irradiation (¶ 0058), the open position inherently irradiates the occupied tubs such that the contents may be screened).
Regarding claim 20, Johnson teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising generating an X-ray image of the article (¶ 0029).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Johnson (US 2007/0133743) in view of Dennis (US 4,020,346).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson teaches the X-ray inspection device of claim 1, but fails to further teach that the sensor is a photoelectric eye switch.
Dennis teaches an x-ray inspection device comprising a conveyor belt, a housing defining an inspection chamber, an x-ray emission tube, a sensor for detecting the presence of an article within the chamber, and a door/curtain, wherein the sensor is a photoelectric eye switch configured to sense the movement of the article and to activate an x-ray emission tube after the regulated time (Col. 2 line 67 – Col. 3 line 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate a photoelectric eye switch as the sensor in Johnson’s x-ray inspection device, because a photoelectric eye switch is known and used in the art to use to detect the movement of an article in an inspection device and to activate an x-ray emission after a regulated time, as taught by Dennis.
Conclusion
/HSIEN C TSAI/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881