DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11, filed 6/30/2026, with respect to the status of the claims is hereby acknowledged. Pending claims 1-8, 10-18, 20-24, and 26- 31 are rejected. Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 16-18, 30 and 31 are amended herein without prejudice. Claim 2 is cancelled without prejudice.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11-12, filed 6/30/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 16-18 and 30-31 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered. The examiner notes that the applicant’s arguments are directed, in part, to the newly amended limitations. Therefore, the arguments in view of the amendments are persuasive and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 has been withdrawn. In view of the newly amended limitations, a new obviousness grounds of rejection will be set forth below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/22/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 16-18, 20-24, 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haberman; Seth US 20170006351 A1 (hereafter Haberman) and in further view of KIM; Sung-Hee et al. US 20140115649 A1 (hereafter Kim) and in further view of Cook; Michael et al. US 20130198786 A1 (hereafter Cook) and in further view of Yun et al., PG Pub 2012/0127268A1 (hereafter Yun) and in further view of Kondo; Tetsujiro US 20100325678 A1 (hereafter Kondo) and in further view of Zhou; Liang US 20170154451 A1 (hereafter Zhou) and in further view of Gupta; Sameer M. et al. US 20160279516 A1 (hereafter Gupta) and in further view of Navin; Ashwin et al. US 20190327526 A1 (hereafter Navin).
Regarding claim 1, "a method for adapting presentation of content on a presentation device comprising: receiving from the presentation device presentation device information and a request for a configuration profile associated with a content asset” Haberman para 57 teaches the initiation of a movie through the user device triggers a computing element to analyze the movie or otherwise access or receive information associated therewith and the computing element may communicate with the cloud, content distribution system or components of a content distribution system to identify content and/or to obtain provider presentation settings. Regarding “retrieving exogenous data relating to capture and production of the content asset; receiving environmental data from the presentation device, wherein the environmental data includes sensory information relating to the environment in which the presentation device is located; retrieving provider presentation settings according to the presentation device information, the environmental data, the exogenous data, and the content asset” Haberman para 26, 32, 39, 47, 52, 57 teaches presentation settings comprises creator, studio, editor, and/or production information interpreted as exogenous data relating to the capture and production of the content asset settings but does not use the term exogenous (in haec verba); see also para 37-38, 47 information obtained by sensors are used to obtain environmental conditions to specify the presentation settings. Regarding “using a machine-learning display adaptation tool comprising a learning module to automatically adapt one or more display settings of the presentation device, wherein the learning module is configured to record and learn, over time and multiple instances of processing exogenous data, how to automatically adapt the one or more display settings of the presentation device” Haberman para 48 teaches user settings for a content asset may be transmitted to an entity or application configured to generate provider presentation settings in order to allow the entity and/or application to learn user presentation settings for a content asset for the generation of future provider presentation settings for use with the same content asset or other content assets but does not reference a machine-learning display adaptation tool. Regarding “generating presentation instructions corresponding to the automatically adapted one or more display settings, the presentation instructions configured to cause the presentation device to adapt the one or more display settings; generating a configuration profile including the provider presentation settings and the presentation instructions; and transmitting the configuration profile to the presentation device” Haberman para 39, 41-46 provider presentation settings may be transmitted over a broadcast network or the Internet (e.g., through service provider 115 and/or network 110) to a content presentation device 205 to change the presentation settings of the content presentation device 205. In one non-limiting example, a portion of a content stream may include a data package detailing certain audio/visual display settings (i.e., the provider presentation settings) specifically tailored to the particular content being streamed. In some embodiments, a content package may be downloaded to or otherwise accessed by a content presentation device 205, including a similar data package with the tailored audio/visual settings (i.e., the presentation settings 210). As discussed above, wherein Haberman does not use the term “exogenous”, the term is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to include relating to or developing from external factors.
In an analogous art, Kim paragraph 13, 54-60, 75-76 discloses that the prior art recognizes collecting surrounding environment information of a user where user devices are located and then the currently available realistically reproducing devices voluntarily sensed are transmitted to the realistic broadcasting platform in order to provide an immersive media presentation based on the extracted sensory elements. In reviewing the teachings of Kim, the prior art teaches “development of a real-time context-aware technology for actively addressing space-time environment information of a user and of a complex immersive media service that is combined with processing sensory context information of content are on progress.” Kim [0010] and Kim does not limit the type of information that is obtained from the realistically reproducing devices. Whereas Kim does not use the terms “sensory information” (in haec verba), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably inferred that in order to control the realistically reproducing devices, the real-time, space-time environment information would need to be established by identifying the status of the device in the environment as will be discussed below with Cook and Yun. Kim also does not disclose machine learning adaptation as claimed.
Furthermore, based on the broadcast reasonable interpretation of the terms “sensory information”, Kim teaches:
[0053] The immersive media gateway 130 includes a realistically reproducing device management unit 131, an interworking interface 132, a service synchronization unit 133, an immersive media streaming unit 134 and a content modality extension unit 135.
[0054] The realistically reproducing device management unit 131 senses and searches for one or more realistically reproducing devices 200 capable of providing a realistic broadcasting service in an area in which the user is located. From among a plurality of media devices existing within a predetermined range, the realistically reproducing device management unit 131 selects one or more realistically reproducing device 200 which is capable of providing an immersive media service by interworking with the apparatus 100. Specifically, the realistically reproducing device management unit 131 searches for a plurality of media devices existing within a predetermined range, and select a media device, which is equipped with interworking interface 132 and able to interwork with the realistically reproducing device management unit 131, as a realistically reproducing device 200 from among a plurality of media devices.
[0055] Then, the realistically reproducing device management unit 131 groups one or more selected realistically reproducing devices 200 into one to thereby configure a realistic broadcasting space 150. The realistic broadcasting space 150 refers to a service space that is configured such that the currently-available realistically reproducing devices 200 voluntarily sensed and registered by the realistically reproducing device management unit 131 are rearranged according to a usage purpose of a user to thereby reproduce modality of content more realistically. The realistically reproducing device management unit 134 generates realistically reproducing device information about one or more realistically reproducing devices 200 composing the realistic broadcasting space 150, and transfers the realistically reproducing device information to the realistic broadcasting platform 110.
Based on the teachings of Kim, the immersive gateway comprising a realistically reproducing device (i.e., presentation device) senses and searches for one or more reproducing devices 200 that are ten grouped into one to thereby configure a realistic broadcasting space. Therefore, Kim’s reproducing device obtains data on all the reproducing devices that are in vicinity that is the environment of the claimed and corresponding presentation device. Kim also does not use the term “exogenous.”
Whereas Kim does not use the exact term as a “configuration profile”, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that a policy about a scenario to be reproduced is set as disclosed in Kim corresponds to a configuration profile that will be utilized to configure the viewer’s media devices for converting the received content into the sensory content by curating curation information included in the content according to each modality of the content para 0021, 0040, 0070-0073, 0078. For example, in an analogous art, to Cook, the disclosure of Cook does not use the term exogenous but Cook does teach Fig. 10, 12 and para 0079-0089 - teaches packing data with video content in order to utilize the data to configure sensory devices while displaying the video content. Cook, not only teaches dynamically altering the light in the room (e.g., lighting gets stronger, lighting gets reduced)(para 0028, 0033, 0037, 0041-0043) but also teaches controlling heat sources (para 0035). Whereas Cook does not use the terms “sensory information” (in haec verba), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably inferred that in order to control the realistically reproducing devices, the real-time reproducing environment information would need to be established by identifying the status of the device in the environment as will be discussed below with Yun, Kondo, Zhou, and Gupta.
The deficiency of Kim and Cook is further evidenced by Yun’s invention comprising a home network for 4D broadcasting (para 37-49) and further teaches obtaining environment data at the side of a home network in order to compare collected realistic effect data obtained from remote sensor data (para 38-43, 49-50). More importantly, whereas Yun does not use the term “exogenous” (in haec verba), Yun’s disclosure teaches data derived externally and generated at a production and delivery network location and delivered to a home network in the following:
[0050] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the production & delivery network 200 transfers values sensed by the sensor to the home network 201. Furthermore, at the side of the home network 201, current temperatures of the home network and a home where the home network is installed need to be recorded in order to process the XML data of FIG. 3 received from the production & delivery network 200. Accordingly, by comparing the current temperature of the home with a temperature corresponding to the XML data received from the production & delivery network 200, the temperature of the home is controlled to reach the corresponding temperature. Such a control may be implemented by controlling relevant devices (an air-conditioner, an electric fan, a heater, and the like).
The teachings of Kim and Cook dove-tail with the teachings of Yun which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood the benefit of obtaining data generated during the production of media content (i.e., exogenous data) and acquiring sensory information relating to the environment that will be altered by the realistically reproducing devices like heaters, air-conditioners, fans, and lighting elements. The combination would have enabled the inventions of Kim and Cook to allow for sensing the current environment at the home network (e.g., temperature) and then control the temperature of the home network with temperature corresponding to the collected data received from a broadcast provider (e.g., production and delivery network 200) in order to provide the viewer with an immersive 4D media viewing.
Whereas Kim, Cook, and Yun do not use the term “exogenous” as recited in the limitation “retrieving exogenous data relating to capture and production of the content asset,” the inferences drawn from the prior art are further evidenced by the teachings in Kondo, Zhou, and Gupta as will be discussed below. For example, Kondo teaches and invention comprising a presentation device 14 provides stimulation to the five senses of the user, whereby a device can be configured that realizes a sensation, with objects making up the content, which could be obtained if observed in the real world (Kondo para 284-297) wherein sensory data is combined with data obtained from a content creator (Kondo para 89-93 and 123-127). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably inferred that the content creator obtains exogenous data in order to be reproduced at the viewer location to provide stimulation to the five senses of the user, whereby a device can be configured that realizes a sensation, with objects making up the content, which could be obtained if observed in the real world. Kondo does not use the terms “machine-learning display adaptation tool.”
Whereas the prior art to Kim, Cook, Yun, and Kondo disclose sensory information, the prior art to Zhou discloses how sensory data is replicated at the viewer location based on a current environment, but does not disclose machine learning adaptation as claimed, wherein Zhou teaches the following in relation to sensory information relating to the environment in which the presented device is located:
[0037] In this embodiment of the present application, the function information of the external device is information corresponding to a function of the external device. The function information may comprise, for example, function type information. In some possible implementing manners, the function information may further comprise function parameter information. For example, a function type of a fan is blowing, and function parameter information may comprise, for example, information about a capacity of discharged air and an air discharging direction and range.
[0038] In a possible implementing manner, the working status information is information related to a working status of the external device. For example, the working status information may comprise: information about whether the external device is working, for example, whether the fan is in an on state or an off state. In some possible scenarios, the external device may have multiple working modes. For example, an air conditioner has heating and cooling modes, a strong-wind mode to a weak-wind mode, and a high-temperature mode to a low-temperature mode. Therefore, in some possible implementing manners, optionally, the working status information may further comprise working mode information.
[0039] In another possible implementing manner, optionally, the working status information may further comprise other information related to sense experience of the user, for example, information about a temperature that is set on the air conditioner and information about a current temperature.
[0285] The presentation device 14 provides stimulation to the five senses of the user, whereby a device can be configured that realizes a sensation, with objects making up the content, which could be obtained if observed in the real world.
[0286] That is to say, the presentation device 14 can be made up of, for example, a speaker to stimulate the hearing by outputting (presenting) sound, a display to stimulate the seeing by displaying (presenting) images, an odor-emitting device to stimulate the olfactory sense by emitting an odor (presenting), and so forth.
[0287] Other than these, the presentation device 14 can be made up of devices that perform various types of presentation, such as a negative-ion generator to generate negative ions, a chair with an actuator to provide motion to the user sitting therein, a taste-realizing device to realize a flavor, an air conditional to adjust the temperature, a humidifier to adjust the humidity, and so forth.
[0288] Thus, with the transmission/reception system in FIG. 1, the object information for each object is transmitted with the transmission device 12, and content is generated with the reception device 13 based on the object information from the transmission device 12, so presentation of content (output of sound, display of images, emitting odor, realizing flavor, etc) can be performed flexibly.
Whereas the prior art to Haberman, Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, and Zhou disclose sensory information, the prior art to Gupta also discloses how sensory data is replicated at the viewer location based on a current environment data at the viewer location devices. For example, teaches the environmental simulation devices 192 include lighting input/output modules 180 (e.g., for controlling visual ambiance within a physical gaming suite), audio input/output modules 181 (e.g., including audio system 112 and one or more microphones, speakers, and the like), video input/output modules 182 (e.g., including projectors 105 and cameras 103), olfactory input/output modules 183 (e.g., including one or more odor emitters and particle counters), humidity input/output modules 184 (e.g., including one or more humidifiers and misters), temperature input/output modules 185 (e.g., including one or more a/c and heating units), metabolic input/output modules 186 (e.g., including one or more human body sensors), heat mapping movement modules 187, and kinetic tracking modules 188 for floor kinetic tracking. See Gupta ¶ [0097] and FIG. 1C. As evidenced in the teachings of Gupta, the prior art teaches temperature input/output modules which a person of ordinary skill have reasonably inferred that the input modules correspond to the sensors for obtaining environmental information (i.e., sensory information relating to the environment in which the presentation device is located), including but not limited to lightning data, audio system, particle counters, metabolic input/output modules etc. Gupta does not disclose machine learning adaptation as claimed.
Navin teaches the deficiency of Haberman, Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, and Gupta relating to machine learning adaptation wherein Navin para 17, 24, 28-30, 42 as claimed to utilizing training data to control a presentation device wherein the prior art discloses - In various embodiments, one or more machine learning or artificial intelligence systems may be incorporated into the systems and methods described herein in order to adjust and refine certain recommended settings. The machine learning systems may be utilized in ACR, for example by incorporating object recognition, facial recognition or video fingerprints or audio fingerprints, or may be utilized in determining and recommending settings for adjustments to user devices. For example, the machine learning systems may evaluate different settings over different content types of associated a range of particular settings or adjustments associated with different content types. Additionally, the machine learning systems may incorporate user feedback to tune or adjust trained models to provide enhanced user experiences.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman’s invention for managing presentation settings of a content presentation device wherein presentation settings may include settings specifying the presentation of content by further incorporating known elements of Kim’s invention for receiving presentation device information from a viewer device and a request for a set of data to configure currently-available realistically reproducing devices when presenting a content asset to provide an four-dimension viewing experience and by further incorporating known elements of Cook’s invention for packaging data with video content in order to utilize the data to configure sensory devices while displaying the video content in order to provide configuration data based only on devices and sensors in the viewer’s environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman, Kim and Cook’s invention for providing an immersive video program viewing experience which generates the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices, and provide a realistic broadcasting service to a user device based on the curated content and the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices by further incorporating known elements of Yun’s invention acquiring sensory information relating to the environment that will be altered by the realistically reproducing devices like heaters, air-conditioners, fans, and lighting elements to allow for sensing/identifying the current environment at the home network (e.g., temperature, ambient light) and then control the temperature and lighting of the home network with temperature and lighting that corresponds to the collected data received from a broadcast provider (e.g., production and delivery network 200) in order to provide the viewer with an immersive 4D media viewing as disclosed in Zhou’s invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman, Kim, Cook, and Yun’s invention for providing an immersive video program viewing experience which generates the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices, and provide a realistic broadcasting service to a user based on the curated content and the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices and further acquiring sensory information relating to the environment that will be altered by the realistically reproducing devices and further incorporate the teachings of Kondo for enabling a presentation device to provides stimulation to the five senses of the user, whereby a device can be configured that realizes a sensation, with objects making up the content, which could be obtained if observed in the real world comprising exogenous data pertaining to sensory data is combined with data obtained from a content creator in order to provide the viewer with an immersive 4D media viewing as disclosed in Zhou’s invention based on the creators artistic intent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman, Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, and Zhou for providing an immersive video program viewing experience which generates the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices, and provide a realistic broadcasting service to a user based on the curated content and the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices and further acquiring sensory information relating to the environment that will be altered by the realistically reproducing devices and further incorporate the teachings of Gupta for enabling a presentation device to provides stimulation to the five senses of the user, whereby a device can be configured that realizes a sensation, with objects making up the content, which could be obtained if observed in the real world comprising exogenous data pertaining to sensory data is combined with data obtained from a content creator in order to provide the viewer with an immersive 4D media viewing as disclosed in Zhou’s invention based on the creators artistic intent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman, Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, and Gupta for providing an immersive video program viewing experience which generates the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices, and provide a realistic broadcasting service to a user based on the curated content and the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices and further acquiring sensory information relating to the environment that will be altered by the realistically reproducing devices and further incorporate the teachings of Navi for enabling a presentation device to provides device setting adjustments based on the viewed media content and utilizing machine learning protocols a device can be configured that realizes a sensation, with objects making up the content, which could be obtained if observed in the real world comprising exogenous data pertaining to sensory data is combined with data obtained from a content creator in order to improve the viewing experience wherein Navis states machine learning systems may evaluate different settings over different content types of associated a range of particular settings or adjustments associated with different content types and the machine learning systems may incorporate user feedback to tune or adjust trained models to provide enhanced user experiences.
Regarding claim 3, “wherein the provider presentation settings comprise one or more setting profiles, each setting profile corresponding to an environmental condition” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein Kim does not use the exact term as a “configuration profile”, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that a policy about a scenario to be reproduced is set as disclosed in Kim corresponds to a configuration profile that will be utilized to configure the viewer’s media devices for converting the received content into the sensory content by curating curation information included in the content according to each modality of the content para 0021, 0040, 0070-0073, 0078. For example, in an analogous art, Cook Fig. 10, 12 and para 0079-0089 - teaches packing data with video content in order to utilize the data to configure sensory devices while displaying the video content (para 0079). See also Haberman para 33, 39-44, 46-47 wherein See also Haberman [0047] In some embodiments, the presentation settings PS1-PS5, may be defined by the content creators or editors when the content is prepared for dissemination to service providers 115, networks 110, or directly to content presentation devices 405. As such, the settings defined in the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be well-defined and chosen by professionals for determining the optimal settings in which to consume the given content. In some embodiments, the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be determined and/or modified based on a sensor 215 configured to detect user or environmental conditions associated with the content presentation device 405.
Regarding claim 6, “wherein the environmental data is an ambient light level of an environment including the presentation device” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein Cook Fig. 10, 12 and para 0073, 0079-0089 - teaches packing data with video content in order to utilize the data to configure sensory devices while displaying the video content (para 0079). See also Haberman para 0037-0039 wherein Haberman 0038 teaches “The sensor 215 may include any type of sensor capable of measuring or otherwise obtaining information that may relate to the presentation settings 210 and/or the optimization or configuration thereof. Non-limiting examples of sensors 215 may include a photo sensor, a light sensor, a decibel, a temperature sensor, and a motion sensor. In some embodiments, data from the sensor 215 may be used to adapt or further adapt the presentation settings 210 to ensure a quality display. For example, if the sensor 215 detects a high amount of ambient light, the presentation settings 210 may be altered to increase the brightness of the display of a content presentation device 205 to provide for a better viewing. In another example, if the sensor 215 detects that the room is dark, the brightness of the display of a content presentation device 205 may be decreased to reduce eye-strain or to otherwise optimize the presentation of content.” See also Haberman [0039] teaches the computing device (or television, smart television, etc.) may revert back to original settings when not watching the movie or if another event occurs (e.g., decreasing the brightness level if a “low battery” event occurs, increasing the brightness if a sensor detects a low light environment, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, “wherein the environmental data is an air-quality condition” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein Cook Fig. 10, 12 and para 0073, 0079-0089 - teaches packing data with video content in order to utilize the data to configure sensory devices while displaying the video content comprising smell/olfactory sources and wind generators interpreted as the quality of the air. See also Kim para 0042 teaches olfactory sense may be provided by an olfactory sense experience device 204 capable to reproduce fragrance. See also Gupta disclosing particle counters element 183.
Regarding claim 8, “wherein the environmental data is an audio signal” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 wherein and Kim para 0042 teaches auditory senses reproducing devices. See also Cook para 27 sound generators. See also Haberman [0037-0038 disclosing a decibel sensor] In some embodiments, a sensor 215 may be used to detect certain ambient light and sound characteristics which can be used to further configure the presentation settings 210 alone or in combination with presentation information and/or provider presentation settings (e.g., sensor 215 information may supplant and/or augment presentation information and/or provider presentation settings).
Regarding claim 10, “wherein the configuration profile further includes the exogenous data” is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claims 1, 3, 6-8 wherein Kondo para 54, 91, 123-126 teaches providing/obtaining content reflecting the intent of the content creator, i.e. data necessary for presentation of content after editing by the content creator, and transmits this as broadcast data; See also Kondo teaches and invention comprising a presentation device 14 provides stimulation to the five senses of the user, whereby a device can be configured that realizes a sensation, with objects making up the content, which could be obtained if observed in the real world (Kondo para 284-297) wherein sensory data is combined with data obtained from a content creator (Kondo para 89-93 and 123-127). Kondo further teaches lighting data and location data is obtained (para 71) and the sensor data is further modified with content created metadata (Kondo para 89-93 and 123-127, para 284-297). See also Kondo para 125. See also Cook Fig. 10, 12 and para 0035, 0079-0089 - teaches packing data with video content in order to utilize the data to configure sensory devices while displaying the video content. See also Haberman para 43 teaching media content recorded and created for 4K resolution may also include presentation settings for scaling such content to a lower resolution could reasonably be interpreted as camera settings identified during the production of media content. See also Yun teaches the following:
[0050] According to the exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the production & delivery network 200 transfers values sensed by the sensor to the home network 201. Furthermore, at the side of the home network 201, current temperatures of the home network and a home where the home network is installed need to be recorded in order to process the XML data of FIG. 3 received from the production & delivery network 200. Accordingly, by comparing the current temperature of the home with a temperature corresponding to the XML data received from the production & delivery network 200, the temperature of the home is controlled to reach the corresponding temperature. Such a control may be implemented by controlling relevant devices (an air-conditioner, an electric fan, a heater, and the like).
Regarding the method claims 16-18, 20-24, the claims are grouped and rejected with the method claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10 because the steps of the method claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10 are met by the disclosure of the apparatus and methods of the reference(s) as discussed in the rejection of claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10 and because the steps of the method of claims 17-18, 20-24 mirrors the elements of claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10 are easily converted into steps of a method by one of ordinary skill in the art. With respect to the microphone of claim 22 not discussed in claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10 Cook teaches the microphone in para 0088, and light sensor and heat sensors (i.e., thermal sensors of claim 23) in para 0027-0028; See also Haberman para 38 teaching a temperature sensor which may reasonably be interpreted as a thermal sensor of claim 23. Kim para 0067 interpreted as comprising motion sensors of claim 24.
With respect to claim 18 reciting “obtaining environmental data from a sensor coupled to the presentation device”, the limitation is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in claim 1 wherein Haberman para 37-38 teaches the presentation device is coupled to sensors for obtaining data from user device environment. With respect to “content identifier,” Haberman para 57 teaches metadata encoded with the media content is utilized to identify the media content (i.e., corresponds to “content identifier”) wherein Haberman teaches “The computing element 625 may analyze the movie or otherwise access or receive information associated therewith in order to recognize the movie, content of the movie, or characteristics thereof. For instance, the computing element 625 may access a watermark, fingerprint, signature, or other data element encoded in or otherwise associated with the movie. Responsive to accessing the watermark, the computing element 625 may communicate with the cloud 630, a content distribution system 100, or components of a content distribution system 100 to identify the content and/or to obtain provider presentation settings relating thereto. The content presentation device 605 may receive the provider presentation settings and/or provide a prompt 620 to implement and/or download the provider presentation settings.” See also Kim [0036, 0051, 0072, 0079] teaches the realistic broadcasting platform determines a policy on how to reproduce the sensory content, and generate a scenario on how to provide the realistic broadcasting service; Kim paragraph 13, 54-60, 75-76 discloses that the prior art recognizes collecting surrounding environment information of a user where user devices are located and then the currently available realistically reproducing devices voluntarily sensed are transmitted to the realistic broadcasting platform in order to provide an immersive media presentation based on the extracted sensory elements. See also Yun’s invention comprising a home network for 4D broadcasting (para 37-49) and further teaches obtaining environment data at the side of a home network in order to compare collected realistic effect data obtained from remote sensor data (para 38-43, 49-50). The combination would have enabled the inventions of Kim and Cook to allow for sensing the current environment at the home network (e.g., temperature) and then control the temperature of the home network with temperature corresponding to the collected data received from a broadcast provider (e.g., production and delivery network 200) in order to provide the viewer with an immersive 4D media viewing. See also Gupta discloses how sensory data is replicated at the viewer location based on a current environment data at the viewer location devices. For example, teaches the environmental simulation devices 192 include lighting input/output modules 180 (e.g., for controlling visual ambiance within a physical gaming suite), audio input/output modules 181 (e.g., including audio system 112 and one or more microphones, speakers, and the like), video input/output modules 182 (e.g., including projectors 105 and cameras 103), olfactory input/output modules 183 (e.g., including one or more odor emitters and particle counters), humidity input/output modules 184 (e.g., including one or more humidifiers and misters), temperature input/output modules 185 (e.g., including one or more a/c and heating units), metabolic input/output modules 186 (e.g., including one or more human body sensors), heat mapping movement modules 187, and kinetic tracking modules 188 for floor kinetic tracking. See Gupta ¶ [0097] and FIG. 1C. As evidenced in the teachings of Gupta, the prior art teaches temperature input/output modules which a person of ordinary skill have reasonably inferred that the input modules correspond to the sensors for obtaining environmental information (i.e., sensory information relating to the environment in which the presentation device is located), including but not limited to lightning data, audio system, particle counters, metabolic input/output modules etc. See also Navin with respect to “content identifier” in para 35 and 42 teaching “setting recommendation service 310 may include a content identifier database 312. The content identifier database 312 may include information to categorize content, such as tags associated with a content genre (e.g., drama, action, horror, etc.), a content type (e.g., sports, movie, video game, etc.), a content source (e.g., live, streamed, etc.), or the like. It should be appreciated that content may be associated with multiple tags or identifiers.”
Regarding the system claims 30-31, the claims are grouped and rejected with the method claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 16-18 because the steps of the method claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 16-18 are met by the disclosure of the apparatus and methods of the reference(s) as discussed in the rejection of claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 16-18 and because the steps of the method of claim 30 mirrors the elements of claims 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 16-18 are easily converted into steps of a method by one of ordinary skill in the art. Wherein claim 30-31 recites that presentation device information is obtained from a service provider, the teachings of Haberman cited in the rejection of claim 1 renders the limitation obvious. See also Kim para 36, 70 for storing presentation device information and storing sensory content in a database (upon reception, the user information and the realistically reproducing device information are stored in a database wherein a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably infer the obvious benefit of obtaining stored information to process the video stream and sensory data). With respect to claim 30 reciting “transmit presentation device information and environmental data from the one or more environmental sensors to the service provider, wherein the environmental data includes information relating to the environment in which the presentation device is located”, the limitation is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in claim 1 wherein Kim [0036, 0051, 0072, 0079] teaches the realistic broadcasting platform determines a policy on how to reproduce the sensory content, and generate a scenario on how to provide the realistic broadcasting service; Kim paragraph 13, 54-60, 75-76 discloses that the prior art recognizes collecting surrounding environment information of a user where user devices are located and then the currently available realistically reproducing devices voluntarily sensed are transmitted to the realistic broadcasting platform in order to provide an immersive media presentation based on the extracted sensory elements. See also Yun’s invention comprising a home network for 4D broadcasting (para 37-49) and further teaches obtaining environment data at the side of a home network in order to compare collected realistic effect data obtained from remote sensor data (para 38-43, 49-50). The combination would have enabled the inventions of Kim and Cook to allow for sensing the current environment at the home network (e.g., temperature) and then control the temperature of the home network with temperature corresponding to the collected data received from a broadcast provider (e.g., production and delivery network 200) in order to provide the viewer with an immersive 4D media viewing.
With respect to claim 31, the limitation is further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in claim 1 wherein Kim [0036, 0051, 0072, 0079] teaches the realistic broadcasting platform determines a policy on how to reproduce the sensory content, and generate a scenario on how to provide the realistic broadcasting service; Kim paragraph 13, 54-60, 75-76 discloses that the prior art recognizes collecting surrounding environment information of a user where user devices are located and then the currently available realistically reproducing devices voluntarily sensed are transmitted to the realistic broadcasting platform in order to provide an immersive media presentation based on the extracted sensory elements. See also Yun’s invention relating to exogeneous data wherein Yun teaches a home network for 4D broadcasting (para 37-49) and further teaches obtaining environment data at the side of a home network in order to compare collected realistic effect data obtained from remote sensor data (para 38-43, 49-50). The combination would have enabled the inventions of Kim and Cook to allow for sensing the current environment at the home network (e.g., temperature) and then control the temperature of the home network with temperature corresponding to the collected data received from a broadcast provider (e.g., production and delivery network 200) in order to provide the viewer with an immersive 4D media viewing.
Claims 4-5, 11, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haberman; Seth US 20170006351 A1 (hereafter Haberman) and in further view of KIM; Sung-Hee et al. US 20140115649 A1 (hereafter Kim) and in further view of Cook; Michael et al. US 20130198786 A1 (hereafter Cook) and in further view of Yun et al., PG Pub 2012/0127268A1 (hereafter Yun) and in further view of Kondo; Tetsujiro US 20100325678 A1 (hereafter Kondo) and in further view of Zhou; Liang US 20170154451 A1 (hereafter Zhou) and in further view of Gupta; Sameer M. et al. US 20160279516 A1 (hereafter Gupta) and in further view of Navin; Ashwin et al. US 20190327526 A1 (hereafter Navin) and in further view of Hutten; Curt US 20160029088 A1 (hereafter Hutten).
Regarding claim 4, “wherein the presentation instructions include choosing a nearest setting profile based on the environmental data” Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, and Gupta do not explicitly disclose the terms “nearest setting profile.” Haberman, however, teaches in paragraph 46 that “the settings defined in the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be well-defined and chosen by professionals for determining the optimal settings in which to consume the given content. In some embodiments, the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be determined and/or modified based on a sensor 215 configured to detect user or environmental conditions associated with the content presentation device 405. In some embodiments, the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be determined and/or modified based on a user profile and/or user preferences associated with a viewer and/or a content presentation device. In some embodiments, the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be determined and/or modified based on third party users, such as preferred and/or suggested settings obtained through Internet services (e.g., websites, social network services, blogs, etc.).” As such, Haberman’s teaching, may alone, further read on the limitations of claim 4 based on the reasonable inferences drawn from paragraph 46 of Haberman (i.e., the original profile setting is modified based on additional factors based on environmental data from sensors).
In an analogous art, Hutten teaches generating an experience policy utilizing feeds that best match the totality of terms included in the experience policy (para 34-35, 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman, Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, Gupta, and Navin’s invention for receiving presentation device information from a viewer device and a request for a set of data to configure currently-available realistically reproducing devices when presenting a content asset to provide an four-dimension viewing experience by further incorporating known elements of Hutten’s invention for packing data with video content comprising a best match an experience policy in order to utilize the data to configure sensory devices while displaying the video content in order to provide configuration data based only on devices in the viewer’s environment and fully utilize all the viewer’s resources to provide a more engaging viewing experience.
Regarding claim 5, “wherein the presentation instructions include calculating between two setting profiles based on the environmental data” Kim, Cook, Kondo, Yun, and Gupta do not explicitly disclose the terms “calculating between two setting profiles based on the environmental data.” Haberman, however, teaches in paragraph 46 that “the settings defined in the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be well-defined and chosen by professionals for determining the optimal settings in which to consume the given content. In some embodiments, the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be determined and/or modified based on a sensor 215 configured to detect user or environmental conditions associated with the content presentation device 405. In some embodiments, the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be determined and/or modified based on a user profile and/or user preferences associated with a viewer and/or a content presentation device. In some embodiments, the presentation settings PS1-PS5 may be determined and/or modified based on third party users, such as preferred and/or suggested settings obtained through Internet services (e.g., websites, social network services, blogs, etc.).” As such, Haberman’s teaching, may alone, further read on the limitations of claim 5 based on the reasonable inferences drawn from paragraph 46 of Haberman (i.e., the original profile setting is modified based on additional factors based on environmental data from sensors).
In an analogous art, Hutten teaches generating an experience policy utilizing a selection of feeds that best match the totality of terms included in the experience policy (para 34-35, 80). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated the obvious benefit of how selecting the best matching feeds would provide the best available sensory experience while viewing video content.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman, Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, Gupta, and Navin’s invention for receiving presentation device information from a viewer device and a request for a set of data to configure currently-available realistically reproducing devices when presenting a content asset to provide an four-dimension viewing experience by further incorporating known elements of Hutten’s invention for packing data with video content comprising a best match an experience policy in order to utilize the data to configure sensory devices while displaying the video content in order to provide configuration data based only on devices in the viewer’s environment and fully utilize all the viewer’s resources to provide a more engaging viewing experience.
Regarding claim 11, “wherein the exogenous data includes at least one of camera-type, camera settings, camera position, camera motion, camera rotation lens type, focus setting, lighting setting, location, time of day, date, weather forecast” Kim, Cook and Yun do not explicitly use the terms “exogenous data” (i.e., in haec verba) in relation to weather data. In the rejection of claim 1, Kondo further teaches lighting data and location data is obtained (para 71) and the sensor data is further modified with content created metadata (Kondo para 89-93 and 123-127, para 284-297). See also Kondo para 125. See also Cook Fig. 10, 12 and para 0035, 0079-0089 - teaches packing data with video content in order to utilize the data to configure sensory devices while displaying the video content. See also Haberman para 43 teaching media content recorded and created for 4K resolution may also include presentation settings for scaling such content to a lower resolution could reasonably be interpreted as camera settings.
In an analogous art, Hutten teaches a motivation of modifying the teachings of Haberman, Kim, Cook, Kondo, Yun, Zhou, Gupta, and Navin wherein Hutten teaches generating video feeds comprising exogenous data acquired by sensors (para 27-28, 42, 88, 0089 e.g., a mechanical sensor, a biometric sensor, a chemical sensor, a weather sensor, a radar, an infrared sensor, an image sensor, a video sensor, an audio sensor, or any other commercially suitable sensor that can construct or acquire sensor data.) and further teaches “[0029] An experience policy 112 related to an event 110 preferably includes event attributes, commands, and other terms that can dictate how an experience feed is to be constructed. It is contemplated that an experience policy 112 can be generated by one or more persons or entities, including for example, a viewer, a system or event manager, a broadcaster, or a conflicts manager. Where multiple persons or entities contribute to generation of an experience policy, it is contemplated that data relating some or all of the terms (e.g., rules, commands, costs, fees, subscriptions, bids, etc.) can be transmitted via one or more interfaces 160, 170 to a policy generation module (not shown) for generation of an experience policy.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman, Kim, Cook, Kondo, Yun, Zhou, Gupta, and Navin invention for providing an immersive video program viewing experience which generates the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices, and provide a realistic broadcasting service to a user based on the curated content and the information about one or more realistically reproducing devices and further acquiring sensory information relating to the environment that will be altered by the realistically reproducing devices and further enabling a presentation device to provides stimulation to the five senses of the user, whereby a device can be configured that realizes a sensation, with objects making up the content, which could be obtained if observed in the real world comprising exogenous data pertaining to sensory data is combined with data obtained from a content creator in order to provide the viewer with an immersive 4D media viewing as disclosed in Hutten’s invention based on the creators artistic intent.
Regarding the method claims 26, the claims are grouped and rejected with the method claims 1, 4-5, 10-11, 16-17 because the steps of the method claims 1, 4-5, 10-11, 16-17 are met by the disclosure of the apparatus and methods of the reference(s) as discussed in the rejection of claims 1, 4-5, 10-11, 16-17 and because the steps of the method of claims 26 mirrors the elements of claims 1, 4-5, 10-11, 16-17 and are easily converted into steps of a method by one of ordinary skill in the art. See Hutton para 0027 weather sensor.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haberman; Seth US 20170006351 A1 (hereafter Haberman) and in further view of KIM; Sung-Hee et al. US 20140115649 A1 (hereafter Kim) and in further view of Cook; Michael et al. US 20130198786 A1 (hereafter Cook) and in further view of Yun et al., PG Pub 2012/0127268A1 (hereafter Yun) and in further view of Kondo; Tetsujiro US 20100325678 A1 (hereafter Kondo) and in further view of Zhou; Liang US 20170154451 A1 (hereafter Zhou) and in further view of Gupta; Sameer M. et al. US 20160279516 A1 (hereafter Gupta) and in further view of Navin; Ashwin et al. US 20190327526 A1 (hereafter Navin) and in further view of LEE; Hae-Ryong et al. US 20080046944 A1 (hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 12, “wherein the presentation device information includes a manufacturer” Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, Gupta, and Navin do not explicitly disclose a device manufacturer. See Haberman para 52 teaching the selection of content C1 through the EPG 505 may invoke a prompt requesting whether the user would like download or otherwise access the corresponding presentation settings PS1, for example, from a third party (e.g., the content creator, the service provider, the content presentation device manufacturer, etc.). A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably infer that in order to receive the third party presentation settings for a device manufacturer, then the client device would need to provide a device manufacturer identifier. In an analogous art, Lee teaches the deficiency of Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, Gupta, and Navin (para 125 device manufacturer obtained in an invention for providing a reality effect and since information on device control and reality effect may be different every device, it is preferred to receive the information from a device manufacturer. It is also possible to collect more realistic data through a semantic web. Also, the user suggests satisfaction on the reality effect of a specific scene through on-line, thereby creating user participant type media where highly satisfactional reality effect is preferentially selected and the level of the media is incrementally raised.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman, Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, Gupta, and Navin’s invention for receiving presentation device information from a viewer device and a request for a set of data to configure currently-available realistically reproducing devices when presenting a content asset to provide an four-dimension viewing experience by further incorporating known elements of Lee’s invention for utilizing device manufacturer information obtained in an invention for providing a reality effect and since information on device control and reality effect may be different every device, it is preferred to receive the information from a device manufacturer so to collect more realistic data.
Claims 13-15, 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haberman; Seth US 20170006351 A1 (hereafter Haberman) and in further view of KIM; Sung-Hee et al. US 20140115649 A1 (hereafter Kim) and in further view of Cook; Michael et al. US 20130198786 A1 (hereafter Cook) and in further view of Yun et al., PG Pub 2012/0127268A1 (hereafter Yun) and in further view of Kondo; Tetsujiro US 20100325678 A1 (hereafter Kondo) and in further view of Zhou; Liang US 20170154451 A1 (hereafter Zhou) and in further view of Gupta; Sameer M. et al. US 20160279516 A1 (hereafter Gupta) and in further view of Navin; Ashwin et al. US 20190327526 A1 (hereafter Navin) and in further view of Chung; Ki-Sook et al. US 20090158353 A1 (hereafter Chung).
Regarding claim 13, “wherein the presentation device information includes a model number” Kim, Cook, Yun, Zhou, and Gupta do not explicitly disclose a model number. See Haberman para 43, 59 disclosing the types of televisions and models but not a particular number. In an analogous art, Chung teaches the deficiency of Haberman, Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, Gupta and Navin (para 42-43 device model number 205).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Haberman, Kim, Cook, Yun, Kondo, Zhou, Gupta and Navin invention for receiving presentation device information from a viewer device and a request for a set of data to configure currently-available realistically reproducing devices when presenting a content asset to provide an four-dimension viewing experience by further incorporating known elements of Chung invention for utilizing device model number information obtained in an invention for providing a reality effect and since information on device control and reality effect may be different every device, it is preferred to receive the information from a device manufacturer and model so to collect more realistic data.
Regarding claims 14-15 “wherein the presentation device information includes a display type” and “wherein the display type is one of QLED, OLED, LCD, LED, plasma, microLED, high-definition, ultra-high definition, 4K resolution, 8K resolution” are further rejected on obviousness grounds as discussed in the rejection of claim 13 wherein Chung teaches obtaining a model number and wherein Cook further teaches the user devices comprise iPhone of iPad which a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably infer that a model of a iPhone of iPad comprise a type of device which are high-definition devices. See also Haberman para 35, 43, 59 disclosing presentation settings 210 may include any type of setting capable of specifying the presentation of content through the content presentation device 205 and other characteristics (e.g., HD, UHD, etc.)) . The presentation settings 210 may be configured based on the type of content presentation device 205 and/or content presentation elements, hardware, and/or software associated therewith. For a visual display content presentation device 205 (e.g., any type of content presentation device 205 configured to present visual content through a screen), illustrative settings may include, without limitation, brightness, contrast, sharpness, color settings (red, green, blue (RGB)), dynamic color range. For a content presentation device 205 capable of presenting audio content, illustrative settings may include, without limitation, volume, treble, bass, fade, balance.
Regarding the method claims 27-29, the claims are grouped and rejected with the method claims 13-15 because the steps of the method claims 13-15 are met by the disclosure of the apparatus and methods of the reference(s) as discussed in the rejection of claims 13-15 and because the steps of the method of claims 13-15 mirrors the elements of claims 27-29 and are easily converted into steps of a method by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/ALFONSO CASTRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421