DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 04/24/2026. Claims 1-21 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 8, and 18 are independent claims. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments 04/24/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejection under prior art:
Applicant summarizes the applied art and suggests it does not teach the amended claims. Applicant does not appear to substantiate how the amendments overcome the art.
Examiner disagrees. The amended claims do not overcome the art.
For clarity the interpretation of the claims in view of the art is elaborated on below in the interest of compact prosecution.
As discuss in the interview 04/06/2026, Applicant appears to attempt to claim that the determining of efficiency is not part of a “pre-training” or profiling stage as described in the art. To overcome this discrepancy Applicant has amended this claim to recite “determining, while the neural network is written to the first memory device… can be determined more efficiently” and further “using data corresponding to the neural network written to the first memory device to perform a subsequent quantity of iterations of the training operation of the neural network”. Examiner highlights that the cited art highlights that profiling (i.e determining efficiency of computation on each device) occurs via first performing profiling “while the neural network is written to the first memory device”. (see Park Section 7 and Narayanan Section 3.1 para 003).
Further, as claimed the first quantity of iterations are performed on a first device, while subsequent and further subsequent quantities are performed on second devices via the pipeline processes described (Park figure 1 and Narayanan Figure 4).
Examiner highlights further that while not required by the present claims the art describes performing profiling via first training on a first GPU [i.e memory device] (Section 3.1 Narayanan “PipeDream records the computation time taken by the forward and backward pass [Examiner note: training passes]… profiling run of 1000 minibatches on a single GPU:”), therefore, future amendments should make clear that the efficiency determination is determined in a some way beyond according to generalized training operations based on data on a first device.
The rejection is updated accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al “HetPipe: Enabling Large DNN Training on (Whimpy) Heterogeneous GPU Clusters through Integration of Pipelined Model Parallelism and Data Parallelism”, further in view of Narayanan “PipeDream: Generalized Pipeline Parallelism for DNN Training”
Regarding claim 1
Park teaches, determining characteristics of a first memory device of a memory system, wherein the first memory device includes a first type of memory; writing a neural network to the first memory device; determining characteristics of a second memory device of the memory system, wherein the second memory device includes a second type of memory… (Section 3 pg 5 “To train DNN models based on pipelined model parallelism in virtual workers, the resource allocator first assigns k GPUs to each virtual worker… the resource allocation policy must consider several factors such as the performance of individual GPUs…Then, for the given DNN model and allocated k GPUs, the model partitioner divides the model into k partitions for the virtual worker …” Section 8.1 pg 10 “In our experiments, we use four nodes with two Intel Xeon Octa-core E5-2620 v4 processors (2.10 GHz) connected via InfiniBand (56 Gbps). Each node has 64 GB memory… Each node is configured with a different type of GPU as shown in Table 1” pg 2 multiple memory devices are assigned. GPUs include first and second memory types. These GPUs have different memory properties such as size and bandwidth and clock speed and as such considered first and second memory types as claimed. Allocating model partitions amounts to writing the neural network.) determining, while the neural network is written to the first memory device, whether one or more second weights for the hidden layer of the neural network can be determined more efficiently on the second memory device; (Section 7 pg 9 “To obtain a performance model to predict the execution time of each layer of a model in a heterogeneous GPU, we first profile the DNN model on each of the different types of GPUs in a cluster, where we measure the computation time of each layer of the model. For GPU memory usage, we measure the usage of each layer” the profiling is performed based on the layer computations time on at least a first device, the result of the partitioning algorithm is whether training of weights can be performed more efficiently in other devices. Pg 10 Section 8.1 “Our main performance metric is throughput (images/second) of training a DNN model.” The success of profiling is based on the speed of training; therefore the profiling is a determination of supposed efficiency of determining weights. This determination is made while the network is written to a first device.) based on a determination that the one or more second weights for the hidden layer of the neural network cannot be determined performed more efficiently on the second memory device: and based on a determination that the one or more second weights for the hidden layer of the neural network can be performed more efficiently on the second memory device: (pg 5 We refer to our system as HetPipe as it is heterogeneous, in GPUs, across and, possibly, within virtual workers and makes use of pipelining in virtual workers for resource efficiency…. Then, for the given DNN model and allocated k GPUs, the model partitioner divides the model into k partitions for the virtual worker such that the performance of the pipeline executed in the virtual worker can be maximized” pg 9 Section 7 “Recall that the goal of our partitioning algorithm is to minimize the maximum execution time of the partitions within the bounds of satisfying the memory requirement.” The model and subsequent training operations are performed based on determinations of the partitioner accordioning to efficient performance. Training as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art is the determining or updating of weights in layers of the neural network. The system architecture in figure 2 pg 5 shows the network having multiple hidden layers. Further, DNN or deep neural networks, are characterized by inclusion of multiple hidden layers each containing multiple weights.) using data corresponding to the neural network written to the first memory device to perform a first quantity of iterations of a training operation of the neural network to determine one or more first weights for a hidden layer of the neural network; …using data corresponding to the neural network written to the first memory device to perform a subsequent quantity of iterations of the training operation of the neural network to determine the one or more second weights for the hidden layer of the neural network; … and using the data corresponding to the neural network written to the second memory device to perform the subsequent quantity of iterations of the training operation of the neural network to determine the one or more second weights for the hidden layer of the neural network. (pg 5 Section 3 “Then, for the given DNN model and allocated k GPUs….Each virtual worker has a local copy of the global weights and periodically synchronizes the weights with the parameter server” pg 7 “the virtual worker updates the local version of the weights, wlocal as wlocal = wlocal + up, where up is the updates computed by processing minibatch p.” updating weights periodically (i.e for a first and second set of weights) amounts determining new weights of hidden layers.) figure 1 pg 5 caption
the figure describes the ordered performance of first and second weight updated in neural network hidden layers. The waves are partially parallel in that the data on one device is used to perform future quantities of iterations on other devices subsequent to prior training.)
Park does not explicitly teach, transferring the neural network and the data corresponding to the neural network from the first memory device to the second memory device;
Narayanan when addressing profiling the neural network operation on a single device teaches, transferring the neural network and the data corresponding to the neural network from the first memory device to the second memory device; (pg 2 “PipeDream automatically determines how to partition the operators of the DNN based on a short profiling run performed on a single GPU, balancing computational load among the different stages while minimizing communication for the target platform” pg 5 “PipeDream records three quantities for each layer l, using a short (few minutes) profiling run of 1000 minibatches on a single GPU… Our partitioning algorithm takes the output of the profiling step, and computes: 1) a partitioning of layers into stages, 2) the replication factor (number of workers) for each stage, and 3) optimal number of in-flight minibatches to keep the training pipeline busy… PipeDream’s optimizer solves dynamic programming problems progressively from the lowest to the highest level. Intuitively, this process finds the optimal partitioning within a server and then uses these partitions to split a model optimally across servers” based on the neural network and its data on a first profiling run on a first device the network is split or transferred from the first device to 2nd devices on the same or different servers.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multiple GPU training system described by Park to automatic partitions across works to improve training speed as described by Narayanan. One would have motivated to make this combination because “Pipeline-parallel DNN training helps reduce the communication overheads that can bottleneck intra-batch parallelism” (Narayanan Section 6 conclusion)
Regarding claim 2
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 1
Further Park teaches, receiving, by the first memory device, training data corresponding to the neural network; providing the training data to an input layer of the neural network; and writing, within the first memory device or the second memory device, or both, data associated with an output of the neural network. (Section 2.1 “Data parallelism (DP) utilizes multiple workers to speed up training of a DNN model. It divides the training dataset into subsets and assigns each worker a different subset. Each worker has a replica of the DNN model and processes each minibatch in the subset, thereby computing the weight updates.” Pg 5 Section 3 “The system that we propose in this paper leverages both pipelined model parallelism (PMP) and data parallelism (DP) to enable training of such large DNN models” pg 9 Section 7 “we first derive the amount of input data for each layer in the forward and backward pass from the model graph” training data is received. Deep neural networks are type of model known by PHOSITA to process training data via an input layer.)
Regarding claim 5
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 1
Further Park teaches, performing, prior to writing the data corresponding to the neural network to the second memory device, an operation to select particular vectors from the data corresponding to the neural network; and writing the particular vectors from the data corresponding to the neural network to the second memory device. (Section 2.1 “Data parallelism (DP) utilizes multiple workers to speed up training of a DNN model. It divides the training dataset into subsets and assigns each worker a different subset.” Assigning a subset amounts to selecting particular vectors of training data)
Regarding claim 6
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 1
Further Park teaches, wherein the first memory device or the second memory device has a higher data processing bandwidth than the other of the first memory device or the second memory device. (pg 10 Section 8.1 “Each node is configured with a different type of GPU as shown in Table 1.” Table 1 is provided, which shows the various bandwidths
)
Regarding claim 7
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 1
Further Park teaches, storing a copy of the data corresponding to a first state of the neural network in the first memory device or the second memory device, or both; (pg 5 Section 3 “As any typical DP, multiple virtual workers must periodically synchronize the global parameters via parameter servers or AllReduce communication; Each virtual worker has a local copy of the global weights and periodically synchronizes the weights with the parameter server” the local copy is the copy stored on both the first and second memory device.) determining that the first state of the neural network has been updated to a second state of the neural network; and deleting the copy of the data corresponding to the first state of the neural network in response to determining that the first state of the neural network has been updated to the second state. ( pg 7 “Let local staleness be the maximum number of missing updates from the most recent minibatches that is allowed for a minibatch to proceed in a virtual worker…For example, as shown in Figure 1 where slocal = 3, at the end of clock 0, the virtual worker pushes the aggregated updates of wave 0, which is composed of minibatches from 1 to 4, and at the end of clock 1, the aggregated updates of wave 1, which is composed of minibatches from 5 to 8, and so on.” pg 8 “When a virtual worker pulls the global weights at the end of clock c to maintain this distance, it may need to wait for other virtual workers to push their updates upon completion of wave c−D.” pulling new weights amounts to determining that the first weights or states need to be updated or synchronized after at the end of the clock. Synchronization and updating is understood to mean that old data is replaced with new data, i.e the old data is deleted at some point.)
Regarding claim 8
Park teaches, An apparatus, comprising: a memory system; a first memory device of the memory system; a second memory device of the memory system coupled to the first memory device of the memory system; and a processing device coupled to the first memory device and the second memory device, the processing device to: (pg 5 “Figure 2 shows the architecture of the proposed cluster system composed of H nodes. Each node comprises a homogeneous set of GPUs, but the GPUs (and memory capacity) of the nodes themselves can be heterogeneous”)
The remaining limitations are rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Park and Narayanan are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1
Regarding claim 9
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 8
Park teaches, the first memory device has a first bandwidth associated therewith; and the second memory device has a second bandwidth associated therewith, the second bandwidth being greater than the first bandwidth. (pg 10 Section 8.1 “Each node is configured with a different type of GPU as shown in Table 1.” Table 1 is provided, which shows the various bandwidths, which includes a device with greater bandwidth
)
Regarding claim 10
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 8
Park teaches, determine the one or more first weights for the hidden layer of the neural network as part of performance of a first level of training the neural network; determine the one or more second weights for the hidden layer of the neural entwork as part of performance of a second level of training the neural network. ( pg 12 “From the results, we can see that the performance of both Horovod and HetPipe increases when additional whimpy GPUs are used for training. With additional GPUs, HetPipe can increase the total number of concurrent minibatches processed, having up to 2.3 times speedup. This scenario can be thought of as an answer to when new, higher end nodes are purchased, but one does not know what to do with existing nodes” the memory devices perform at different levels, low end low level devices are utilized, i.e perform, in tandem with higher end devices of a higher level.)
Regarding claim 11
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 8
Park teaches, wherein the first memory device comprises a processing unit resident thereon, and wherein the processing unit is to cause performance of an operation to pre-process data corresponding with the neural network prior to the data corresponding to the neural network being written to the second memory device. ( pg 5 figure 1 caption “Figure 1: Pipeline execution of minibatches where Mp,k indicates the execution of a minibatch p in partition k, which is executed in GPUk and the yellow and green colors indicate the forward and backward passes, respectively”
as shown in the figure pre-processing of initial iterations are performed in wave zero before parameter updates or “data corresponding to the neural network” is written to the GPUs for the 2nd wave.)
Regarding claim 12
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 8
Park teaches, wherein the processing device is to: write data corresponding to the neural network to the first memory device subsequent to the determination of the second weights for the hidden layer of the neural network and determine, by the first memory device, one or more third weights for the hidden layer of the neural network. (pg 5 Section 3 “Then, for the given DNN model and allocated k GPUs….Each virtual worker has a local copy of the global weights and periodically synchronizes the weights with the parameter server” pg 7 “the virtual worker updates the local version of the weights, wlocal as wlocal = wlocal + up, where up is the updates computed by processing minibatch p.” updating weights periodically (i.e for a first and second and third set of weights) amounts to an operation on at least the first device including determining new weights of hidden layers.)
Regarding claim 13
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 8
Park teaches, write a copy of data corresponding to a first data state associated with the neural network to the first memory device or the second memory device, or both; (pg 5 Section 3 “As any typical DP, multiple virtual workers must periodically synchronize the global parameters via parameter servers or AllReduce communication; Each virtual worker has a local copy of the global weights and periodically synchronizes the weights with the parameter server” the local copy is the copy stored on both the first and second memory device.) determine that the first data state associated with the neural network written to the first memory device or the second memory device, or both, has been updated to a second data state associated with the neural network; and delete the copy of the data corresponding to the first data state in response to determining that the first data state has been updated to the second data state. ( pg 7 “Let local staleness be the maximum number of missing updates from the most recent minibatches that is allowed for a minibatch to proceed in a virtual worker…For example, as shown in Figure 1 where slocal = 3, at the end of clock 0, the virtual worker pushes the aggregated updates of wave 0, which is composed of minibatches from 1 to 4, and at the end of clock 1, the aggregated updates of wave 1, which is composed of minibatches from 5 to 8, and so on.” pg 8 “When a virtual worker pulls the global weights at the end of clock c to maintain this distance, it may need to wait for other virtual workers to push their updates upon completion of wave c−D.” pulling new weights amounts to determining that the first weights or states need to be updated or synchronized after at the end of the clock. Synchronization and updating is understood to mean that old data is replaced with new data, i.e the old data is deleted at some point.)
Regarding claim 14
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 13
Park teaches, determine that an error involving the neural network has occurred; retrieve a copy of data corresponding to the second data state from the first memory device or the second memory device, or both; and perform an operation to recover the neural network using the copy of the data corresponding to the second data state. (pg 9 “The set Et and the noisy weight parameter w˜t are defined similarly and the difference between wt and w˜t is
where Rt is the index set of missing updates in the reference weight parameter but not in noisy weight parameter…the parameter learned from the synchronized update is R[W]…
Thus, when we bound the regret of the two functions, we can bound the error of the noisy updates incurred by the distributed pipeline staleness gradient descent”. The error R involving the neural network is computed during the synchronization. The weights are updated or recovered on the devices in the system based on the copy of data.)
Regarding claim 15
Park teaches, control circuitry comprising a processing device and a memory resource configured to operate as a cache for the processing device; and a memory system comprising a plurality of memory devices coupled to the control circuitry, wherein the control circuitry is to:
(pg 5 “Figure 2 shows the architecture of the proposed cluster system composed of H nodes. Each node comprises a homogeneous set of GPUs, but the GPUs (and memory capacity) of the nodes themselves can be heterogeneous” pg 8 Section 8.1 “In our experiments, we use four nodes with two Intel Xeon Octa-core E5-2620 v4 processors (2.10 GHz) connected via InfiniBand (56 Gbps). Each node has 64 GB memory and 4 homogeneous GPUs. Each node is configured with a different type of GPU as shown in Table 1.” The GPU memory operates a memory resource and associated cache memory)
The remaining limitations are rejected for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Park and Narayanan are combined for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1
Regarding claim 16
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 15
Park teaches, wherein the control circuitry is to: write the data corresponding to the neural network to the first memory device based on a determination that at least one characteristic of the first memory device meets a first set of criterion; and write the data corresponding to the neural network to the second memory device based on a determination that at least one characteristic of the second memory device meets a second set of criterion.(pg 7-8 “Recall that the goal of our partitioning algorithm is to minimize the maximum execution time of the partitions within the bounds of satisfying the memory requirement. To obtain a performance model to predict the execution time of each layer of a model in a heterogeneous GPU, we first profile the DNN model on each of the different types of GPUs in a cluster, where we measure the computation time of each layer of the model. For GPU memory usage, we measure the usage of each layer…To find the best partitions of a DNN model, we make use of CPLEX, which is an optimizer…The algorithm will return partitions for a model with a certain batch size only if it finds partitions that meet the memory requirement for the given GPUs.” Partitions of the neural network, or data, is allocated to the different GPUs based on the devices meeting memory and speed (i.e. first and second criteria) to optimize execution time.)
Regarding claim 17
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 15
Park teaches, write a copy of data corresponding to a first data state associated with the neural network to the first memory device or the second memory device, or both;(pg 5 Section 3 “As any typical DP, multiple virtual workers must periodically synchronize the global parameters via parameter servers or AllReduce communication; Each virtual worker has a local copy of the global weights and periodically synchronizes the weights with the parameter server” the local copy is the copy stored on both the first and second memory device.) determine that the first data state associated with the neural network written to the first memory device or the second memory device, or both, has been updated to a second data state associated with the neural network; delete the copy of the data corresponding to the first data state in response to determining that the first data state has been updated to the second data state ( pg 7 “Let local staleness be the maximum number of missing updates from the most recent minibatches that is allowed for a minibatch to proceed in a virtual worker…For example, as shown in Figure 1 where slocal = 3, at the end of clock 0, the virtual worker pushes the aggregated updates of wave 0, which is composed of minibatches from 1 to 4, and at the end of clock 1, the aggregated updates of wave 1, which is composed of minibatches from 5 to 8, and so on.” pg 8 “When a virtual worker pulls the global weights at the end of clock c to maintain this distance, it may need to wait for other virtual workers to push their updates upon completion of wave c−D.” pulling new weights amounts to determining that the first weights or states need to be updated or synchronized after at the end of the clock. Synchronization and updating is understood to mean that old data is replaced with new data, i.e the old data is deleted at some point.) determine that an error involving the neural network has occurred; retrieve a copy of data corresponding to the second data state from the first memory device or the second memory device, or both; and perform an operation to recover the neural network using the copy of the data corresponding to the second data state. (pg 9 “The set Et and the noisy weight parameter w˜t are defined similarly and the difference between wt and w˜t is
where Rt is the index set of missing updates in the reference weight parameter but not in noisy weight parameter…the parameter learned from the synchronized update is R[W]…
Thus, when we bound the regret of the two functions, we can bound the error of the noisy updates incurred by the distributed pipeline staleness gradient descent”. The error R involving the neural network is computed during the synchronization. The weights are updated or recovered on the devices in the system based on the copy of data.)
Regarding claim 18
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 15
Park teaches, wherein the first memory device has a first bandwidth associated therewith and the second memory device has a second bandwidth associated therewith, the first bandwidth being lower than the second bandwidth. (pg 10 Section 8.1 “Each node is configured with a different type of GPU as shown in Table 1.” Table 1 is provided, which shows the various bandwidths, which includes a device with greater bandwidth
)
Regarding claim 19
Park teaches claim 15
Park/Narayanan teaches, the first memory device has a first capacity associated therewith and the second memory device has a second capacity associated therewith, the first capacity being greater than the second capacity. (pg 10 Section 8.1 “Each node is configured with a different type of GPU as shown in Table 1.” Table 1 is provided, which shows the various memory capacity. The second device has a greater capacity than the first
)
Regarding claim 20
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 15
Park teaches, wherein the first memory device has a first latency associated therewith and the second memory device has a second latency associated therewith, the first latency being greater than the second latency. (pg 10 Section 8.1 “Each node is configured with a different type of GPU as shown in Table 1.” Table 1 is provided, which shows the various different clock speeds or latencies.
)
Regarding claim 21
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 15
Park teaches, subsequent to writing the data corresponding to the neural network to the second memory device, write observed data to the first memory device; and execute the neural network on the second memory device using the observed data written to the first memory device. ( pg 5 figure 1 caption “Figure 1: Pipeline execution of minibatches where Mp,k indicates the execution of a minibatch p in partition k, which is executed in GPUk and the yellow and green colors indicate the forward and backward passes, respectively”
as shown in the figure data is first written to a first gpu G1, the subsequent activations and weight updates are used by the other GPUs.)
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Park/Narayanan, further in view of Mailthody et al. “DeepStore: In-Storage Acceleration for Intelligent Queries”
Regarding claim 3
Park/Narayanan teaches claim 1
Narayanan teaches, and wherein the second memory device is a volatile memory device (pg 10 Section 6 “Our evaluation was conducted on a GPU farm with 8 hosts. Each host had 4 Nvidia 2080TI GPUs, 20 CPU cores… and 64 GB RAM. Each GPU had 11 GB physical memory” RAM is volatile memory. Examiner notes that while not explicitly taught, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the described GPUs include at least nominal amounts of non-volatile memory such as with EEPROM. Further it is noted that the claim does not require the memory device to consist of only a single type of memory. Rather, the BRI requires that the device consists of at least the named type of memory to justify the label in the claim.)
Nevertheless Park/Narayanan does not explicitly teach, wherein the first memory device is a non-volatile memory device
Mailthody however when addressing SSD (i.e NAND) memory within GPUs for neural network applications teaches, wherein the first memory device is a non-volatile memory device (pg 3 “to achieve high-performance intelligent queries against massive datasets, a common approach is to use GPUs in-conjunction with SSDs for fast data retrieval and parallel similarity comparison. In this paper, we conduct the first characterization study of typical intelligent query workloads. We use two recent generations of high-end NVIDIA GPUs to run the query and a high-end NVMe SSD for data storage” Section 2.2 “SSDs have a large number of dense NAND flash memory elements organized into multiple levels”. The GPUs combined with SSD storage are together a computing device which is called non-volatile memory device because it includes non-volatile NAND memory.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multiple GPU training system described by Park to include non-volatile memory for faster efficient computation as described by Mailthody. One would have motivated to make this combination because as noted by Mailthody: “our characterization with various intelligent-query workloads developed with deep neural networks (DNNs), shows that the storage I/O bandwidth is still the major bottleneck… DeepStore exploits SSD parallelisms with design space exploration for achieving the maximal energy efficiency for in-storage accelerators… improves the query performance by up to 17.7×” (Mailthody abstract pg 1)
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Park/Narayanan/ Mailthody, further in view of Zhu et al “Performance Evaluation and Optimization of HBM-Enabled GPU for Data-Intensive Applications”
Regarding claim 4
Park/Narayanan/Mailthody teaches claim 3
Mailthody teaches, wherein the non-volatile memory device is a NAND memory device(pg 3 “a common approach is to use GPUs in-conjunction with SSDs … We use two recent generations of high-end NVIDIA GPUs to run the query and a high-end NVMe SSD for data storage” Section 2.2 “SSDs have a large number of dense NAND flash memory elements organized into multiple levels”. The GPUs combined with SSD storage are together a computing device which is called non-volatile memory device because it includes non-volatile NAND memory.)
Park/Narayanan/Mailthody does not explicitly teach, and wherein the volatile memory device is a 3D stacked SDRAM memory device
Zhu however when addressing HBM memory for GPUs in data intensive application such as neural network training teaches, and wherein the volatile memory device is a 3D stacked SDRAM memory device (abstract “, a new memory technology called high-bandwidth memory (HBM) based on 3-D die-stacking technology… In this paper, we implement two representative data-intensive applications, convolutional neural network (CNN) and breadth-first search (BFS) on an HBM enabled GPU to evaluate the improvement brought by the adoption of the HBM” pg 1 “HBM is a new type of stacked DRAM memory that vertically integrates multiple memory dies” the GPU used for neural network workload includes 3d stacked RAM. As noted previously RAM is volatile memory. On of ordinary skill in the art would understand that HBM is “3D-stacked synchronous dynamic random-access memory”.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multiple GPU training system described by Park to include volatile 3d stacked memory described by Zhu. One would have been motivated to make this combination because as noted by Zhu “Experimental results demonstrate that our pipelined CNN training achieves a 1.63× speedup on an HBM-enabled GPU compared with the best high performance GPU in market”
Conclusion
Prior art not relied upon: Liu et al “Processing-in-Memory for Energy-efficient Neural Network Training: A Heterogeneous Approach” describes neural network training with heterogenous memory systems as claimed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R.G./
Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122