DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed August 12, 2026 has been received and entered. The arguments filed March 9, 2026 have been received and considered. The declaration of Jordan Rubin, filed March 9, 2026 has been received and considered. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code, not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. Any rejection set forth in a previous Office action that is not specifically set forth below is withdrawn.
3. Claims 18-20, 22, and 24-28 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant’s election with traverse of the combination of Mulberry, Blackberry, Hawthorn, Apple, Aronia, Persimmon, Noni, Guava, Papaya, Soursop, Fig and Pomegranate, in the reply filed on April 9, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 18-20, 22, and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement for the reasons set forth in the previous Office action.
All of applicant’s arguments regarding this ground of rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues:
Without imputing a collection-of-species limitation that the present invention never intended, the instant specification meets all the requirements of 35 U.S.C. Section 112 written description a different way. Written description may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species, but a different analysis applies here, because the USPTO does not always require the explicit listing of particular species to support a well described invention. The requirement is not that species must be listed, but rather that the disclosure must be sufficient to show that the inventor was in possession of the full scope of the invention. This specification makes clear that it is the selection of multiple types of leaves from trees that bear edible fruit, and simmering these selected leaves for twelve minutes, that is the key to the invention - not which fruit tree leaves to choose. Many exemplary trees that bear edible fruit are listed in the specification, and (for example) paragraph 12 identifies many many trees that "may be used as sources," not that "may be useful," as the Examiner has inaccurately asserted. Examples 1 and 2 contain no "maybe" hedge, either. Instead, there is no question that virtually anyone in the nutraceutical field knows that "leaves from trees that bear edible fruit"-mean exactly that. There is no failure of written description here at all.
However, MPEP section 2163 specifically states:
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species… A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)…
Since there are thousands of types of plants that bear fruit, there would be considerable variation within this large grouping. This variation is demonstrated by Hodgson (https://laidbackgardener.blog/2021/08/29/plants-that-are-both-edible-and-poisonous/ ) which teaches that numerous plants which bear edible fruit have leaves that are toxic. The question is not whether or not an artisan could successfully make a tea from the leaves of plants that bear fruit, rather the question is whether or not applicant was in possession of the broad scope of the claimed invention. The art demonstrates that there is a wide variety in characteristics between the thousands of plant encompassed by applicant’s claims. Applicant is seeking patent protection for a broad claim that encompasses literally millions of variations. Applicant’s specification clearly does not show possession of millions of variations with the disclosure of only a handful of types of leaves. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant also argues:
Interestingly, the accompanying Supplemental Declaration of Jordan S. Rubin, and Exhibit A', also corroborate the unimportance of which fruit tree leaves are assembled and decocted, but that instead there be many of them (at least twelve) and that they be prepared a certain way. In other words, the Supplemental Declaration submitted herewith is convincing of, given the results reported, that Dr. Rubin really did mean and adequately disclose to select twelve (or more) different kinds of leaves from trees that bear edible fruit-especially now that he has given many concrete yet varied examples to support his assertions.
To address the Examiner's concern that some leaves from trees that bear edible fruit might contain poisons or toxins, the present specification addressed this very issue head-on in paragraphs 9 and 10. In paragraph 9, the specification explains:
[N]ot all botanical constituents are intrinsically benign, [and] they are typically present in
amounts or molecular configurations that are beneficial even though closely related
compounds at higher dosages would be deadly. (Anthocyanins can be very beneficial
medicinal botanicals whereas, of course, cyanides can be lethal, as one of many examples).
Because the present infusion is denatured through heating, it includes both a broad
spectrum of botanical active agents AND contains those multiple agents at relatively low
individual concentrations, [so] the presence of compounds or compositions that would be toxic at higher concentrations is optimized in that-in low amounts-such actives can provide a therapeutic effect nonetheless or, at worst, will do nothing (no harm).
In other words, the present specification explains that the invention guards against toxicity issues with a two- fold approach-heating to denature toxins, and dilution by requiring multiple leaf types (at least twelve) not just a single or even just a few leaf types. Given this safeguard, when Dr. Rubin says, "any leaf from a tree that bears edible fruit," that is exactly what he means.
Paragraph 10 goes on to identify that "To repeat, heating of leaves will generally destroy
or denature any antinutrients present in the leaves." Interestingly, the Examiner's citation to Hodgson is consistent with the present specification, because Hodgson teaches both that "Bitter cassava needs to be boiled to remove its toxic properties," and "kidney beans contain far more phytohemagglutinin, the toxic element, than other types of beans [and] [t]hey must be soaked then boiled for a minimum of 10 minutes so the toxin drops to an acceptable and safe level." Moreover, Hodgson says the same about cyanide precursors as the present specification does, namely, "The flesh of various Prunus species (plums, cherries, peaches, etc.) is edible, but the leaves, stems and pits are toxic, containing a precursor of cyanide."
Dr. Rubin admitted this in paragraph 9, and explained the fix-again, the required and claimed heating and substance dilution among at least twelve different leaf types. Finally, Hodgson does not address at all heating leaves from trees that bear edible fruit-if he had, he presumably would have taught the same destruction or denaturization by heat as Dr. Rubin did, here.
In noting the above, all interested parties will bear in mind that the leaves are moreover treated twice, both of which treatments work to denature or resolve any toxicity issues. Yes, the leaves are brewed for 12 minutes, but before brewing claim 18 requires " wherein said combined leaves are initially pretreated by heating, steeping in the sun, carbon dioxide extraction, fermentation or ethanol or other solvent extraction," prior to brewing. These method steps are deliberately engineered to address the safe decoction of leaves from trees bearing edible fruit, as described and claimed.
As alluded to above, the various combinations of fruit tree leaves in the Exhibits A and A' (see below) show that various combinations of twelve leaves from trees bearing edible fruit, when prepared according to claim 18, all give new and unexpected results across various combinations. As Dr. Rubin stipulates in his Supplemental Declaration submitted herewith, at the end of Paragraph 3, "I further provide this objective evidence to show that various combinations of leaves, from trees bearing edible fruit and prepared according to currently amended claim 18 (which I have read and understand) do not require specific choices of fruit tree leaves but instead require at least twelve different types of leaves with the key preparation parameters as set forth in the claims." This statement of Dr. Rubin is backed up by the data submitted herewith.
Finally, it is inaccurate to assert "Applicant has only demonstrated [that] the specific combination of soursop, moringa, pomegranate, jabuticaba, tamarillo, key lime, mango, baobab, fig, loquat, and olive is useful." This misstates the last part of Example 2, where Dr. Rubin called out the constituency of these leaf types, one-by-one, to highlight certain beneficial constituents. He never meant to suggest that there was some sort of limiting species in that list, but instead was augmenting the specificity of the overall invention disclosure with additional particular information, leaf-by-leaf. Stated a different way, if one wants to call "leaves of trees bearing edible fruit" a genus, that genus has been well defined (and convincingly experimentally corroborated) in the instant specification and this prosecution history, with multiple disclosures and ultimate identification of leaf constituents to help the reader's understanding.
However, all of these arguments and the declaration are drawn to showing that the claimed invention would be able to function as claimed, i.e. that the invention is enabled. The rejection is not based on enablement. Rather, the rejection is a written description rejection because applicant is not in possession of all of the numerous number of embodiments encompassed by the claims. Therefore, the rejection is still considered valid for the reasons set forth above and in the previous Office action.
6. Claims 18-20, 22, and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As discussed in the previous Office action, claim 18 is indefinite because at line 7, the term “potent” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “potent” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what characteristics a liquid must have in order to be a “potent” liquid. The term “potent” has not been removed from the claim despite applicant’s statement in the arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 18-20, 22, and 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazed (US 2009/0252796), Wang (J. Agric. Food Chem., 48:140 (2000)) and Chang (US 2015/0181917) for the reasons set forth in the previous Office action.
All of applicant’s arguments regarding this ground of rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
The Mazed et al. published U.S. patent application (US 2009/0252796) cannot teach or
suggest the claimed invention, namely, claim 18. Mazed et al might mention in passing a few fruit tree types, but there is NO brewing or heating anywhere in Mazed et al. Moreover, there are SO very many botanicals of all sorts, not just leaves of trees bearing edible fruit, that one would not suspect the criticality of specifically fruit tree leaves from reading Mazed. While it is true that "a species can anticipate (or make obvious) a genus," in this case the patent claims are the species (fruit tree leaves only, simmered for twelve minutes) and Mazed et al. is the logical genus-with many many botanicals, discussion of extracts but no heating or brewing at all, let alone for the critical 12 minutes' simmering. Mazed et al. fails as a primary reference, because it does not teach or suggest these key features of the present invention, especially the criticality of choosing leaves from only trees that bear edible fruit. The amendment of claim 18 to the transitional phrase, "consisting essentially of" together with these remarks rich in prosecution history estoppel that there MUST be at least twelve fruit tree leaves, distinguishes Mazed without question. The secondary references do not "cure" this deficiency of Mazed.
However, Mazed teaches a combination of at least twelve different botanical species where the botanical ingredient can be leaves from the plants. The reference specifically teaches the use of Soursop (Annona muricata), Aronia, Hawthorn (Crataegus), Fig (Ficus indica), Apple (Malus domestica), Noni (Morinda citrifolia), Mulberry (Morus alba), Guava (Psidium guajava), Persimmon, Papaya, Pomegranate (Punica granatum), and Blackberry (Rubus villosus) (see claim 1 and paragraph 346). Claim 1 of the reference specifically allows for the selection of these plants and does not require the selection of anything outside of this embodiment; thus, this embodiment is considered well within the teaching of the reference and meets the requirement of applicant’s claim 18 in regards to a composition that consists essentially of leaves from twelve different species of plant that are also able to bear fruit.
Applicant also argues:
Similarly to Mazed et al., Chang discloses a super broad collection of botanicals, much
broader than leaves of trees bearing edible fruit. While there is a teaching of "brewing for 5-30 minutes," the material brewed could be all sorts of things-indeed the laundry list of paragraph 33 of the published patent application contains over eight hundred botanicals nowhere near limited or directed to leaves of trees bearing edible fruit-artichokes, cereal grains, nori seaweed, flaxseed, ginseng, sweet potato, fenugreek, licorice root, and on and on. Chang therefore, just like Mazed, does not even address the "species" of leaves of
edible fruit tree leaves, in disclosing its own broad genus description of all sorts of botanicals, as now required with the "consisting essential of" transitional phrase in claim 18. One cannot learn the present invention from Chang or Mazed. The specific timing of when to harvest the leaves is not specifically taught by the secondary reference, either.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Wang demonstrates that as fruiting plants become older and fruits ripen, nutraceutical compounds decrease in leaves and increase in fruits. (Abstract; p. 145, column 2, 24 full paragraph). As such, as in claim 18, it is obvious to choose leaves prior to the ripening of the fruit, in order to maximize nutraceutical content.
Applicant also states that the Rubin declaration supports a claim for patentability. However, the declaration is not commensurate in scope with the broadly claimed invention. See MPEP section 716.02(d). The declaration discusses results for a small selection of plants and the claims are drawn without limitation to any leaf from a perennial plant that is able to bear fruit. Thus, the declaration is not persuasive to support patentability for the broadly claimed invention.
8. No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655