DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 5-11 and 13-20 are currently pending. Claims 10-11 and 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention In response to the office action mailed 9/10/2025 submitted arguments for claims 1and amended claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20050126351 A1 to Becker et al. in view of US 20140240844 A1 to Scherrer further in view of US 20150295615 A1 to Smith et al. in view of US 20190152831 A1 to An et al.
Regarding Claim 1. Becker discloses a tool housing for a tool comprising: a display unit (Fig. 10 LCD display 89); and a display housing assembly adapted to be coupled to the tool housing (See Fig. 3), the display housing assembly includes a lens (Fig. 10 lens 90), a base formed over the lens (See Fig. 10 bezel 91), and buttons formed over the base (See at least Fig. 1 key 113).
Becker does not specifically disclose a base over-molded to the lens; wherein the lens and base respectively have curved shapes; buttons over-molded to the base.
However, Scherrer discloses a base over-molded to a lens (para 42 “over-mold the bezel to the lens in a complete bezel mold and the gasket to the lens”) to create a one piece lens and base.
In addition, An discloses that that each of the lens and base has a curved shape (as shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2) as the substitution of one known shape for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Further, Smith discloses buttons over-molded to a base (para 98) to reduce thickness and improve cosmetics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include a base over-molded to the lens; wherein the lens and base respectively have curved shapes; buttons over-molded to the base.
Regarding Claim 3. Becker further discloses each of the curved shapes of the lens and base has a shape that substantially corresponds to an external geometry of the tool housing (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5. Becker further discloses the display unit is one of either an LCD or LED display (See Fig. 10 LCD display 89).
Regarding Claim 6. An further discloses the lens includes first and second layers (See Fig. 2 glass module 110 with thin film glass 111, the transparent polymer film 112).
Regarding Claim 9. Becker further disclose the base includes a lens opening adapted to retain the lens and a button opening (as shown in Fig. 10 rectangular aperture 92).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker, Scherrer, Smith and An applied to claim 6 in view of US 20200257156 A1 to Reeves.
Regarding Claim 7. As stated above, Becker, Scherrer, Smith and An discloses all the limitations of base claim 6.
Becker, Scherrer, Smith and An do not specifically disclose that the second layer is disposed on an outer surface of the first layer and the first layer forms a peripheral lip that substantially surrounds the second layer.
However, Reeves discloses that the second layer is disposed on an outer surface of the first layer and the first layer forms a peripheral lip that substantially surrounds the second layer (as shown in Fig. 1d curved window/cover component 2 and component 6, where component 2 forms a peripheral lip that substantially surrounds the component 6 and component 6 is disposed on an outer surface of component 2) as the substitution of one known shape for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP2143(I)(B), KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the second layer is disposed on an outer surface of the first layer and the first layer forms a peripheral lip that substantially surrounds the second layer.
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker, Scherrer, Smith and An as applied to claim 1 in view of US 20140332786 A1 to Nakazawa et al.
Regarding Claim 8. As stated above, Becker, Scherrer, Smith and An discloses all the limitations of base claim 1.
Becker, Scherrer, Smith and An do not specifically disclose that the lens is composed of a nylon material.
However, Nakazawa discloses that that the lens is composed of a nylon material (para 94), The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to include that the lens is composed of a nylon material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant generally argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose all the limitations of claim 1 and amended claim 7 and that the rationale provide for the proposed combination is deficient.
Regarding deficiency of the prior art of record, the above provided rejection identifies the limitations disclosed by the prior art of record.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the references themselves explicitly provides sufficient teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combined the proposed teachings in the above rejection. Further, the limitation not taught in the primary reference is a process and structural teaching widely employed in numerous devices across multiple fields of endeavor, thus the teachings are in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDMOND C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871