DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on November 6, 2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 8, 13, 18 and 29 have been amended, claims 1-7, 9, 17 and 26-28 have been cancelled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 8, 10-16, 18-25 and 29-31 are presently pending in this application. Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the claim objection and the §112(a) and §112(b) rejections of the previous action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed November 6, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 8, 10-25 and 29-31 under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) and with respect to the rejections of claims 8 and 10-25 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chouinard US 2004/0176740 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 lines 2-3 recites that the second braid profile is rotationally offset from the first braid profile to rotationally offset the first filar array from the second filar array…”. Claim 8, from which claim 10 depends, lines 6-7 recite “…the first braid profile is a tubular shape…”, and claim 8 lines 12-13 recite “…the second braid profile is a second tubular shape…”. It is not clear how a tubular shape can be rotationally offset. Additionally, it is not clear how braid profiles are related to offset the first filar array from the second filar array because those filar arrays only make up the first braid profile. Additionally, claim 10 lines 4-5 recite braid profiles relative to the longitudinal axis. It is not clear how braid profiles which are tubular shapes have angles relative to the catheter longitudinal axis. No art has been applied to claim 10 because it is not clear how a tubular shape can be rotationally offset.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 12-16, 18-25 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chouinard US 2004/0176740 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Chouinard discloses a catheter assembly (intraluminal delivery system 1, P0025), comprising: a catheter body (sheath 2, shown in Figs. 3-6, wherein the braid of Fig. 5a overlays the braid of Fig. 5b as described in P0043, wherein the braid of Fig. 5a has a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer that provides a sheath with greater longitudinal compressive stiffness) extending from a catheter proximal portion to a catheter distal portion (catheter proximal portion toward the hub end, and catheter distal portion toward the tip end); a first braided metal layer (braid layer 9 of Fig. 5b, metal P0046) within the catheter body, wherein: the first braided metal layer includes at least a first filar array (strands 14 P0042 wound clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5b) and a second filar array (strands 14 P0042 wound counter clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5b), and the first filar array is interlaced with the second filar array (Fig. 5b, and braid configuration of P0039); and the first braided metal layer has a first braid profile, and the first braid profile is a tubular shape (Fig. 6); a second braided metal layer (braid layer 8 of Fig. 5a, metal P0046) coupled along an exterior of the first braided metal layer (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer, and P0045-0046 describe the method of making, wherein the second braid layer is slid over the first braid layer), wherein: the second braided metal layer includes at least a third filar array (strands 13 P0042 wound clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5a) and a fourth filar array (strands 13 P0042 wound counter clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5a), and the third filar array is interlaced with the fourth filar array (Fig. 5a, and braid configuration of P0039); and the second braided metal layer has a second braid profile, and the second braid profile is a second tubular shape (Fig. 6); and wherein the first braided metal layer and the second braided metal layer are configured to expand to an expanded configuration with application of an axial force along a catheter longitudinal axis (radially expanded configuration results from longitudinal compression of the sheath), and in the expanded configuration: the first braided metal layer is configured to expand at a first rate (due to braid angle 12), the first braided metal layer being within the second braided metal layer (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer); and the second braided metal layer is configured to expand at a second rate less than the first rate of expansion (due to braid angle 11 being greater than braid angle 12), and the second braided metal layer is configured to constrain and brace the first braided metal layer (the dissimilarity of the angles of the braid layers create resistance to relative movement radially, P0043).
Regarding claim 12, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 8, wherein the second braided metal layer constrains and braces the first braided metal layer and minimizes kinking of the catheter body (greater longitudinal compressive stiffness from the dissimilarity of the angles of the braid layers create resistance to relative movement radially, P0043).
Regarding claim 13, Chouinard discloses a catheter assembly (intraluminal delivery system 1, P0025), comprising: a catheter body (sheath 2, shown in Figs. 3-6, wherein the braid of Fig. 5a overlays the braid of Fig. 5b as described in P0043, wherein the braid of Fig. 5a has a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer that provides a sheath with greater longitudinal compressive stiffness) extending from a catheter proximal portion to a catheter distal portion (catheter proximal portion toward the hub end, and catheter distal portion opposite the proximal portion) having a distal tip (distal tip 5, P0026); a first braided metal layer (braid layer 9 of Fig. 5b, metal P0046) within the catheter body, wherein: the first braided metal layer includes a first braided profile and the first braided profile is a tubular shape (Fig. 6); and the first braided metal layer includes at least a first filar array (strands 14 P0042 wound clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5b) and a second filar array (strands 14 P0042 wound counter clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5b), and the first filar array is interwoven with the second filar array (Fig. 5b, and braid configuration of P0039); a second braided metal layer (braid layer 8 of Fig. 5a, metal P0046) coupled along an exterior of the first braided metal layer (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer, and P0045-0046 describe the method of making, wherein the second braid layer is slid over the first braid layer), wherein: the second braided metal layer includes a second braided profile and the second braided profile is a second tubular shape (Fig. 6), wherein the first braided metal layer is within the second braided metal layer; and the second braided metal layer includes at least a third filar array (strands 13 P0042 wound clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5a) and a fourth filar array (strands 13 P0042 wound counter clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5a), and the third filar array is interwoven with the fourth filar array (Fig. 5a, and braid configuration of P0039); and wherein the first braided metal layer and the second braided metal layer are configured to expand to an expanded configuration with application of an axial force along a catheter longitudinal axis (radially expanded configuration results from longitudinal compression of the sheath), and in the expanded configuration: the first braided metal layer is configured to expand at a first rate (due to braid angle 12), the first braided metal layer being within the second braided metal layer; and the second braided metal layer is configured to expand at a second rate less than the first rate of expansion (due to braid angle 11 being greater than braid angle 12), and the second braided metal layer is configured to constrain and brace the first braided metal layer (the dissimilarity of the angles of the braid layers create resistance to relative movement radially, P0043).
Regarding claim 14, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 13, wherein the first filar array includes a first filar and a second filar, and the first filar is spaced apart from the second filar by a first interstitial space (see annotated Figs. 5a-b below).
Regarding claim 15, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 14, wherein the second filar array includes a third filar and a fourth filar, and the third filar is spaced apart from the fourth filar by a second interstitial space (see annotated Figs. 5a-b above).
Regarding claim 16, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 15, wherein: the first filar and the second filar have a first orientation (clock-wise); the third filar and the fourth filar have a second orientation (counter clock-wise); and the first orientation is different than the second orientation.
Regarding claim 18, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 15, wherein at least a first portion of the first interstitial space is coincident with at least a second portion of the second interstitial space in correspondence with the first filar array interwoven with the second filar array (see annotated Figs. 5a-b above).
Regarding claim 19, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 18, wherein: the third filar array includes a fifth filar and a sixth filar, and the fifth filar is spaced apart from the sixth filar by a third interstitial space; the fourth filar array includes a seventh filar and an eighth filar, and the seventh filar is spaced apart from the eighth filar by a fourth interstitial space; at least a third portion of the third interstitial space is coincident with at least a fourth portion of the fourth interstitial space in correspondence with the third filar array interwoven with the fourth filar array (see annotated Figs. 5a-b above).
Regarding claim 20, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 19, wherein: the first filar and the second filar have a first orientation (clock-wise); the third filar and the fourth filar have a second orientation (counter clock-wise); the first orientation is different than the second orientation; the fifth filar and the sixth filar have a third orientation (clock-wise); the seventh filar and the eighth filar have a fourth orientation (counter clock-wise); and the third orientation is different than the fourth orientation.
Regarding claim 21, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 20, wherein one or more of the first orientation or the second orientation are different than one or more of the third orientation or the fourth orientation (see claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 22, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 19, wherein the first filar and the second filar of the first filar array and the third filar and the fourth filar of the second filar array are located radially inwards of the fifth filar and the sixth filar of the third filar array and the seventh filar and the eighth filar of the fourth filar array (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer, and P0045-0046 describe the method of making, wherein the second braid layer is slid over the first braid layer).
Regarding claim 23, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 22, wherein the fifth filar and the sixth filar of the third filar array and the seventh filar and the eighth filar of the fourth filar array extend along exteriors of the first filar and the second filar of the first filar array and of the third filar and the fourth filar of the second filar array (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer, and P0045-0046 describe the method of making, wherein the second braid layer is slid over the first braid layer).
Regarding claim 24, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 23, wherein the first filar and the second filar of the first filar array and the third filar and the fourth filar of the second filar array are not interwoven with the fifth filar and the sixth filar of the third filar array and the seventh filar and the eighth filar of the fourth filar array (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer, and P0045-0046 describe the method of making, wherein the second braid layer is slid over the first braid layer).
Regarding claim 25, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 23, wherein the first braided metal layer is not interwoven with the second braided metal layer (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer, and P0045-0046 describe the method of making, wherein the second braid layer is slid over the first braid layer).
Regarding claim 29, Chouinard discloses a catheter assembly (intraluminal delivery system 1, P0025), comprising: a catheter body (sheath 2, shown in Figs. 3-6, wherein the braid of Fig. 5a overlays the braid of Fig. 5b as described in P0043, wherein the braid of Fig. 5a has a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer that provides a sheath with greater longitudinal compressive stiffness) extending from a catheter proximal portion to a catheter distal portion (catheter proximal portion toward the hub end, and catheter distal portion toward the tip end); a first braided metal layer (braid layer 9 of Fig. 5b, metal P0046) within the catheter body, wherein: the first braided metal layer includes at least a first filar array (strands 14 P0042 wound clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5b) and a second filar array (strands 14 P0042 wound counter clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5b), and the first filar array is interlaced with the second filar array (Fig. 5b, and braid configuration of P0039); and the first braided metal layer has a first braid profile, and the first braid profile is a tubular shape (Fig. 6); a second braided metal layer (braid layer 8 of Fig. 5a, metal P0046) coupled along an exterior of the first braided metal layer (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer), wherein: the second braided metal layer includes at least a third filar array (strands 13 P0042 wound clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5a) and a fourth filar array (strands 13 P0042 wound counter clock-wise as shown in Fig. 5a), and the third filar array is interlaced with the fourth filar array (Fig. 5a, and braid configuration of P0039); and the second braided metal layer has a second braid profile, and the second braid profile is a second tubular shape (Fig. 6) with the first braided metal layer within the second tubular shape (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer, and P0045-0046 describe the method of making, wherein the second braid layer is slid over the first braid layer); and wherein: the first braided metal layer and the second braided metal layer are configured to expand to an expanded configuration with an application of axial force along a catheter longitudinal axis (radially expanded configuration results from longitudinal compression of the sheath), and in the expanded configuration: the first braided metal layer is configured to expand at a first rate (due to braid angle 12); and the second braided metal layer is configured to expand at a second rate less than the first rate of expansion (due to braid angle 11 being greater than braid angle 12), and the expansion at the second rate is configured to constrain and brace the first braided metal layer (the dissimilarity of the angles of the braid layers create resistance to relative movement radially, P0043); (see annotated Figs. 5a-c below for the following limitations) the first filar array includes a first filar and a second filar, and the first filar is spaced apart from the second filar by a first interstitial space; the second filar array includes a third filar and a fourth filar, and the third filar is spaced apart from the fourth filar by a second interstitial space; the third filar array includes a fifth filar and a sixth filar, and the fifth filar is spaced apart from the sixth filar by a third interstitial space; the fourth filar array includes a seventh filar and an eighth filar, and the seventh filar is spaced apart from the eighth filar by a fourth interstitial space; at least a first portion of the first interstitial space is coincident with at least a second portion of the second interstitial space in correspondence with the first filar array interlaced with the second filar array; and at least a third portion of the third interstitial space is coincident with at least a fourth portion of the fourth interstitial space in correspondence with the third filar array interlaced with the fourth filar array.
Regarding claim 30, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 29, wherein: the first filar and the second filar have a first orientation (clock-wise); the third filar and the fourth filar have a second orientation; (counter clock-wise) the first orientation is different than the second orientation; the fifth filar and the sixth filar have a third orientation (clock-wise); the seventh filar and the eighth filar have a fourth orientation (counter clock-wise); and the third orientation is different than the fourth orientation.
Regarding claim 31, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 29, wherein: the interlaced filars of the third filar array and the fourth filar array extend along an exterior of the interlaced filars of the first filar array and the second filar array (sheath 2 of P0043 and shown in Figs. 5a-b, having a smaller braid angle 12 layer circumferentially covered by a larger braid angle 11 layer); and the interlaced filars of the first filar array and the second filar array are not interlaced with the interlaced filars of the third filar array and the fourth filar array (P0045-0046 describe the method of making, wherein the second braid layer is slid over the first braid layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chouinard in view of Stigall et al. (Stigall) US 2014/0058257 A1.
Regarding claim 11, Chouinard discloses the catheter assembly of claim 8.
Chouinard does not teach the catheter assembly further comprising: a coil proximate to the catheter distal portion, the coil having a first section and a second section, wherein: the first section of the coil extends toward a distal tip, and the first section has a first imaging characteristic; the second section is swaged and extends from the first section to the distal tip, and the second section of the coil has a second imaging characteristic, and the distal tip includes the second section of the coil; and the second imaging characteristic differs from the first imaging characteristic, and the first imaging characteristic and second imaging characteristics are configured to contrast and emphasize visibility of the distal tip relative to a remainder of the catheter body.
However, Stigall teaches a catheter body (body 510, P0055) comprising: a coil (coil 120, P0056) proximate to the catheter distal portion (distal shaft portion 545 includes the marker coil 120, P0056), the coil having a first section (loosely wound section 160, P0063) and a second section (tightly wound section 155, P0063), wherein: the first section of the coil extends toward a distal tip (see annotated Fig. 14 below), and the first section has a first imaging characteristic (less radiopacity, P0038); the second section is swaged (Fig. 10 showing the coil swaged) and extends from the first section to the distal tip (see annotated Fig. 14 below), and the second section of the coil has a second imaging characteristic (greater radiopacity, P0038), and the distal tip includes the second section of the coil (see annotated Fig. 14 below); and the second imaging characteristic differs from the first imaging characteristic (coil 120 forms blocks of greater radiopacity or radiodensity than the loosely wound sections 160, see P0039-0040), and the first imaging characteristic and second imaging characteristics are configured to contrast and emphasize visibility of the distal tip relative to a remainder of the catheter body (P0038 and Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the catheter assembly of Chouinard with the coil of Stigall for the purpose of visualizing the progress of the catheter assembly towards the target location within a patient’s body, as taught by Stigall P0003.
Conclusion
/J.A.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783