DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Amendment and Remarks filed on 10/22/2025. This Action is made FINAL.
Claims 1-19 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
(A) Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-13, filed “Applicant emphasizes the concurrent display of at least two speed commands and/or modes or performance classes as shown in FIG. 3, where at least two of the speed commands, modes, or performance classes correspond to, or are, or represent, speed commands in different jurisdictions. See FIG. 3, screen 320, showing, for example, US(representing the sdiction of the United States) "1 Class 1 PAS Only, 20 mph" and EU(representing the jurisdiction of the European Union), "1 EPAC PAS Only 25 mph." None of the cited references, including Slaton, disclose or suggest this type of display configuration, operation, or functionality” on 10/22/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
As to point (A), upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schieffelin(US20170106866A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-12 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behbehani (US8876657B1) in view of Slaton (US20160082963A1) and Schieffelin(US20170106866A1).
Regarding claim 1, Behbehani teaches A vehicle system comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a vehicle performance alteration command from a computing device(Behbehani: Col. 7 Lines 14-26 “The user selects the preferred operating mode. For example, in a long distance drive mode, the hand controller 90 sends a signal to the motor transmitter 34 and motor controller 32 with directions for the motor 24 to operate at a constant selected speed suitable for driving in an open area, which would not require frequent stopping. In a city use driving mode, it is contemplated that the power transferred to the beam gear 26 and ration gear 40 is less than that of the long distance driving mode, considering numerous stops that can be anticipated in the city. In a climbing mode, it is contemplated that the controller sends a signal to the motor 24 to deliver power to the ration gear 40 suitable to provide a steady speed to the bike 10 against and inclined terrain”);
an electronic display configured to display first vehicle commanded performance information(Behbehani: Col. 5 Lines 22-26 “the controller 70 using algorithms and/or formulas generally known, can calculate the speed and send a control signal by the processor 82. This information may be displayed on the display 80, which may be any suitable type of computer display”); and
a controller configured to receive the vehicle performance alteration command from the receiver (Behbehani: Col. 5-6 Lines 59-7 “The controller 70 detects speed of the bike 10, in real time, by detecting the rotational speed of the tire 14 and/or also detecting the rotational speed of the ration gear 40. The detected rotational speed data is transmitted to the controller 70 either through hardwired connection to the controller 70 or wirelessly. In addition, the motor 24 and motor controller 32 transmits operating power data to the controller 70 using the transmitter 34. The controller 70 calculates the real time speed of the bike 10 based on the rotational speeds of the tire 14 and electric ration gear 40, respectively. The calculated real-time bike speed is compared to the pre-selected bike speed. Based on the comparison controller 70 sends a signal to the motor assembly 14 to either activate the motor speed control in order to speed up the bike 10, or reduce or stop the speed of the motor 24, to slow down the automatic gear bike 10”; Col. 3 Lines 32-40 “The motor controller 32 is adapted to receive a control signal from the control assembly 22 to selectively control power sent to the motor 24. As such the motor controller 32 controls whether the motor 24 is on or off. The transmitter 34 is adapted to receive signals from the control assembly 22. The transmitter 34 can communicate with the control assembly 22 through a hard wired connection, or remote wireless connection, such as Bluetooth, GPS, infrared, or radio, for example”).
Yet Behbehani do not teach …provide an indication causing a change from first vehicle command information to second vehicle command information corresponding to the vehicle performance alteration command;
wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of:
a plurality of user selectable maximum speed commands, wherein one user selectable maximum speed command is a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second user selectable maximum speed command is a second maximum speed in a second jurisdiction;
a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction; and
a plurality of performance classes, wherein one user selectable performance class represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second performance class represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Slaton teaches provide an indication causing a change from first vehicle command information to second vehicle command information corresponding to the vehicle performance alteration command (Slaton: Fig. 4 and 5A-B Element 162; Para 4 “The operator notifications may include a speed control band adjustment notification that indicates a proposed change from a currently active speed control band to another of the available speed control bands. Presentation of the speed control band adjustment notification may be based on, for example, a speed change event in which a new PCC set speed is outside the currently active speed control band, or a count of speed change events in which PCC set speeds are outside the currently active speed control band”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle system of Behbehani with the feature of provide an indication causing a change from first vehicle command information to second vehicle command information corresponding to the vehicle performance alteration command disclosed by Slaton. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “increase the amount of information presented to enable operators to reap greater benefits from the PCC system” (Slaton: Para 21) .
Yet the combination of Behbehani and Slaton do not explicitly teach wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of:
a plurality of user selectable maximum speed commands, wherein one user selectable maximum speed command is a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second user selectable maximum speed command is a second maximum speed in a second jurisdiction;
a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction; and
a plurality of performance classes, wherein one user selectable performance class represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second performance class represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Schieffelin teaches wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of:
a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction(Schieffelin: Para 106 “different states and/or countries have different laws governing the use of electric bicycles. For example, the definition and/or restrictions of electric bicycles and their power can be different in each state and/or country. Laws regarding the maximum speed of electric bicycles can also be different. For example, the U.S. federal law defines and restricts electric bicycles to bicycles with electric motors of less than 750 Watts and with a top motor-powered speed of less than 20 miles per hour with a rider that weighs less than 170 pounds. In comparison, California restricts the maximum power output of electric bicycles to 1000 Watts, and Florida allows electric bicycles with a maximum power output of up to 5000 Watts”; Para 156 “FIG. 7 illustrates an overview of one embodiment of a method of controlling the maximum output of a motor of an electric bicycle. In some embodiments, a user and/or rider inputs or selects via a user access point system a jurisdiction where the electric bicycle is located at block 644. In certain embodiments, the user access point system is configured to display only certain jurisdictions, such as certain states and/or countries. In other embodiments, the system is configured to automatically detect the jurisdiction”; Para 151 “the software and/or user interface of the user access point system 624 is configured such that a user only needs to select a state or jurisdiction where the user is currently located. The user access point system 624 in certain embodiments comprises a pre-stored database that comprises data of each jurisdiction's electric bicycle regulations and/or laws. For example, a user access point system 624 can have pre-stored the maximum power and/or speed of electric bicycles allowed by law of one or more jurisdictions. In other embodiments, data related to the maximum power and/or speed of electric bicycles allowed by law of one or more jurisdictions is stored in the electric bicycle computing system 610 and/or main computing system 604”; Para 152 “when a rider selects a particular jurisdiction, the user access point system 624, electric bicycle computing system 610, and/or main computing system 604 is configured to determine the maximum power and/or speed limit of the selected jurisdiction using a pre-stored database and restrict the electric bicycle accordingly”; i.e. jurisdictions, such as certain states and countries encompassed first and second jurisdiction and select a state or jurisdiction encompassed user selectable modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle system of the combination of Behbehani and Slaton with the feature of wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of: a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction disclosed by Schieffelin. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “uses software and a computer system(s) to control the maximum power output and/or speed within the regulations of each jurisdiction” (Schieffelin: Para 108).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Behbehani, Slaton, and Schieffelin teaches The vehicle system of claim 1, Behbehani further teaches wherein the vehicle comprises an electric motorbike (Behbehani: Fig. 1; Col. 3 Lines 5-17 “the speed control system 12 is mounted to the bike 10, and operatively connected to a rear tire 14 of the bike 10, to selectively transfer power to the tire 14. While the speed control system 12 is applicable for operative connection to the rear tire 14, it notably can also be positioned on a front tire 16 of the bike 10 to control the speed of the front tire 16, and accordingly, should not be construed in a limiting sense. As further shown in FIG. 1, the speed control system 12 can include a gear assembly 18 for transferring power to the rear tire 14, a motor assembly 20 in operative engagement with the gear assembly 18 to provide power to the gear assembly 18, and a control assembly 22 adapted to control power transferred from the motor assembly 20 to the gear assembly 18”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Behbehani, Slaton, and Schieffelin teaches The vehicle system of claim 1, Behbehani further teaches wherein the vehicle performance alteration command comprises a maximum speed for the vehicle (Behbehani: Col. 5 Lines 51-57 “In operation of the automatic gear bike 10 having a bike speed control system 12, the user selects a desired operating mode, which in this embodiment, can be a normal driving mode, or automatic mode. In automatic mode, the user selects a desired bike speed value, which can be, for example 10 km/h. This selection can be done by either inputting the value directly into the controller 70 using the interface 76, or by remotely transmitting the value to the controller 70, via Bluetooth, wireless and/or any other tools suitable for transmitting signals remotely”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Behbehani, Slaton, and Schieffelin teaches The vehicle system of claim 1, Behbehani further teaches wherein the vehicle performance alteration command comprises a desired performance class or a desired performance mode (Behbehani: Col. 5 Lines 51-57 “In operation of the automatic gear bike 10 having a bike speed control system 12, the user selects a desired operating mode, which in this embodiment, can be a normal driving mode, or automatic mode. In automatic mode, the user selects a desired bike speed value, which can be, for example 10 km/h. This selection can be done by either inputting the value directly into the controller 70 using the interface 76, or by remotely transmitting the value to the controller 70, via Bluetooth, wireless and/or any other tools suitable for transmitting signals remotely”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Behbehani, Slaton, and Schieffelin teaches The vehicle system of claim 5, Behbehani further teaches wherein the controller translates the desired performance class or the desired performance mode to a performance attribute (Behbehani: Col. 7 Lines 14-26 “The user selects the preferred operating mode. For example, in a long distance drive mode, the hand controller 90 sends a signal to the motor transmitter 34 and motor controller 32 with directions for the motor 24 to operate at a constant selected speed suitable for driving in an open area, which would not require frequent stopping. In a city use driving mode, it is contemplated that the power transferred to the beam gear 26 and ration gear 40 is less than that of the long distance driving mode, considering numerous stops that can be anticipated in the city. In a climbing mode, it is contemplated that the controller sends a signal to the motor 24 to deliver power to the ration gear 40 suitable to provide a steady speed to the bike 10 against and inclined terrain”) transmitted to and displayable on the display(Behbehani: Col. 5 Lines 22-26 “the controller 70 using algorithms and/or formulas generally known, can calculate the speed and send a control signal by the processor 82. This information may be displayed on the display 80, which may be any suitable type of computer display”).
Regarding claim 7, Behbehani teaches A vehicle comprising:
a controller configured to receive a vehicle performance alteration command (Behbehani: Col. 5-6 Lines 59-7 “The controller 70 detects speed of the bike 10, in real time, by detecting the rotational speed of the tire 14 and/or also detecting the rotational speed of the ration gear 40. The detected rotational speed data is transmitted to the controller 70 either through hardwired connection to the controller 70 or wirelessly. In addition, the motor 24 and motor controller 32 transmits operating power data to the controller 70 using the transmitter 34. The controller 70 calculates the real time speed of the bike 10 based on the rotational speeds of the tire 14 and electric ration gear 40, respectively. The calculated real-time bike speed is compared to the pre-selected bike speed. Based on the comparison controller 70 sends a signal to the motor assembly 14 to either activate the motor speed control in order to speed up the bike 10, or reduce or stop the speed of the motor 24, to slow down the automatic gear bike 10”; Col. 3 Lines 32-40 “The motor controller 32 is adapted to receive a control signal from the control assembly 22 to selectively control power sent to the motor 24. As such the motor controller 32 controls whether the motor 24 is on or off. The transmitter 34 is adapted to receive signals from the control assembly 22. The transmitter 34 can communicate with the control assembly 22 through a hard wired connection, or remote wireless connection, such as Bluetooth, GPS, infrared, or radio, for example”); and
an electronic display configured to receive a displayable first vehicle command performance attribute from the controller and display the displayable first vehicle command (Behbehani: Col. 5 Lines 21-33 “The sensors 72 and 74 can provide signals to the control assembly 22 controller 70. As such, the controller 70 using algorithms and/or formulas generally known, can calculate the speed and send a control signal by the processor 82. This information may be displayed on the display 80, which may be any suitable type of computer display. The controller/processor 82 may be associated with, or incorporated into, any suitable type of computing device, for example, a personal computer or a programmable logic controller 82. The display 80, the processor 82, the memory 78, and any associated computer readable media are in communication with one another using a data bus or any suitable type of device”);
Yet Behbehani do not teach wherein the electronic display changes the displayable first vehicle command to a displayable second vehicle command when the displayable performance alteration command is received from the controller;
wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of:
a plurality of user selectable maximum speed commands, wherein one user selectable maximum speed command is a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second user selectable maximum speed command is a second maximum speed in a second jurisdiction;
a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction; and
a plurality of performance classes, wherein one user selectable performance class represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second performance class represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Slaton teaches wherein the electronic display changes the displayable first vehicle command to a displayable second vehicle command when the displayable performance alteration command is received from the controller (Slaton: Fig. 4 and 5A-B Element 162; Para 4 “The operator notifications may include a speed control band adjustment notification that indicates a proposed change from a currently active speed control band to another of the available speed control bands. Presentation of the speed control band adjustment notification may be based on, for example, a speed change event in which a new PCC set speed is outside the currently active speed control band, or a count of speed change events in which PCC set speeds are outside the currently active speed control band”; Para 53 “In the display state 300 shown in FIG. 4, the function tell-tale 162 indicates that the base cruise control system is active with cruise set speed of 55 mph”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle system of Behbehani with the feature of wherein the electronic display changes the displayable first vehicle command to a displayable second vehicle command when the displayable performance alteration command is received from the controller disclosed by Slaton. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “increase the amount of information presented to enable operators to reap greater benefits from the PCC system” (Slaton: Para 21) .
Yet the combination of Behbehani and Slaton do not explicitly teach wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of:
a plurality of user selectable maximum speed commands, wherein one user selectable maximum speed command is a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second user selectable maximum speed command is a second maximum speed in a second jurisdiction;
a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction; and
a plurality of performance classes, wherein one user selectable performance class represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second performance class represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Schieffelin teaches wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of:
a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction(Schieffelin: Para 106 “different states and/or countries have different laws governing the use of electric bicycles. For example, the definition and/or restrictions of electric bicycles and their power can be different in each state and/or country. Laws regarding the maximum speed of electric bicycles can also be different. For example, the U.S. federal law defines and restricts electric bicycles to bicycles with electric motors of less than 750 Watts and with a top motor-powered speed of less than 20 miles per hour with a rider that weighs less than 170 pounds. In comparison, California restricts the maximum power output of electric bicycles to 1000 Watts, and Florida allows electric bicycles with a maximum power output of up to 5000 Watts”; Para 156 “FIG. 7 illustrates an overview of one embodiment of a method of controlling the maximum output of a motor of an electric bicycle. In some embodiments, a user and/or rider inputs or selects via a user access point system a jurisdiction where the electric bicycle is located at block 644. In certain embodiments, the user access point system is configured to display only certain jurisdictions, such as certain states and/or countries. In other embodiments, the system is configured to automatically detect the jurisdiction”; Para 151 “the software and/or user interface of the user access point system 624 is configured such that a user only needs to select a state or jurisdiction where the user is currently located. The user access point system 624 in certain embodiments comprises a pre-stored database that comprises data of each jurisdiction's electric bicycle regulations and/or laws. For example, a user access point system 624 can have pre-stored the maximum power and/or speed of electric bicycles allowed by law of one or more jurisdictions. In other embodiments, data related to the maximum power and/or speed of electric bicycles allowed by law of one or more jurisdictions is stored in the electric bicycle computing system 610 and/or main computing system 604”; Para 152 “when a rider selects a particular jurisdiction, the user access point system 624, electric bicycle computing system 610, and/or main computing system 604 is configured to determine the maximum power and/or speed limit of the selected jurisdiction using a pre-stored database and restrict the electric bicycle accordingly”; i.e. jurisdictions, such as certain states and countries encompassed first and second jurisdiction and select a state or jurisdiction encompassed user selectable modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle system of the combination of Behbehani and Slaton with the feature of wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of: a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction disclosed by Schieffelin. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “uses software and a computer system(s) to control the maximum power output and/or speed within the regulations of each jurisdiction” (Schieffelin: Para 108).
As per claim 8, it recites a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 2 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 9, it recites a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 10, it recites a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Behbehani, Slaton, and Kemnitz teaches The vehicle of claim 10, Behbehani further teaches wherein the controller translates the desired performance class or the displayable performance attribute command (Behbehani: Col. 7 Lines 14-26 “The user selects the preferred operating mode. For example, in a long distance drive mode, the hand controller 90 sends a signal to the motor transmitter 34 and motor controller 32 with directions for the motor 24 to operate at a constant selected speed suitable for driving in an open area, which would not require frequent stopping. In a city use driving mode, it is contemplated that the power transferred to the beam gear 26 and ration gear 40 is less than that of the long distance driving mode, considering numerous stops that can be anticipated in the city. In a climbing mode, it is contemplated that the controller sends a signal to the motor 24 to deliver power to the ration gear 40 suitable to provide a steady speed to the bike 10 against and inclined terrain”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Behbehani, Slaton, and Kemnitz teaches The vehicle of claim 7, Behbehani further teaches wherein the vehicle receives the vehicle performance alteration command from a smartphone over a wireless communication channel(Behbehani: Col. 5 Lines 6-12 “a controller 70 for implementing embodiments of apparatuses and methods for automatically controlling the gear bike 10. It should be understood that the controller 70 may represent, for example, a portable computing device, a cell phone, smart phone, a PDA, or networked portable device having a transmitter capable of communicating with the motor transmitter 34”).
Regarding claim 14, Behbehani teaches A vehicle comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a vehicle performance alteration command (Behbehani: Fig. 2 Element 34; Col. 3 Lines 18-29 “The motor assembly 20 is remotely connected to the control assembly 22 to selectively provide power to the gear assembly 14. Continuing with FIG. 2, the motor assembly 20 includes a motor 24, which can be a DC motor 24 or any other suitable type of motor 24, capable of selectively providing power to the motor assembly 20. The motor assembly 20 further includes a beam gear 26, a shaft 28 to enable power transfer from the motor 24 to the beam gear 26, a power source 30 for providing power to the motor 24, a motor controller 32 for controlling power flow to the motor 24, and a transmitter 34 for transmitting and receiving a signal from the motor assembly 20 to the control assembly 22”; Col. 7 Lines 14-26 “The user selects the preferred operating mode. For example, in a long distance drive mode, the hand controller 90 sends a signal to the motor transmitter 34 and motor controller 32 with directions for the motor 24 to operate at a constant selected speed suitable for driving in an open area, which would not require frequent stopping. In a city use driving mode, it is contemplated that the power transferred to the beam gear 26 and ration gear 40 is less than that of the long distance driving mode, considering numerous stops that can be anticipated in the city. In a climbing mode, it is contemplated that the controller sends a signal to the motor 24 to deliver power to the ration gear 40 suitable to provide a steady speed to the bike 10 against and inclined terrain”);
a controller configured to receive the vehicle performance alteration command from the receiver (Behbehani: Col. 5-6 Lines 59-7 “The controller 70 detects speed of the bike 10, in real time, by detecting the rotational speed of the tire 14 and/or also detecting the rotational speed of the ration gear 40. The detected rotational speed data is transmitted to the controller 70 either through hardwired connection to the controller 70 or wirelessly. In addition, the motor 24 and motor controller 32 transmits operating power data to the controller 70 using the transmitter 34. The controller 70 calculates the real time speed of the bike 10 based on the rotational speeds of the tire 14 and electric ration gear 40, respectively. The calculated real-time bike speed is compared to the pre-selected bike speed. Based on the comparison controller 70 sends a signal to the motor assembly 14 to either activate the motor speed control in order to speed up the bike 10, or reduce or stop the speed of the motor 24, to slow down the automatic gear bike 10”; Col. 3 Lines 32-40 “The motor controller 32 is adapted to receive a control signal from the control assembly 22 to selectively control power sent to the motor 24. As such the motor controller 32 controls whether the motor 24 is on or off. The transmitter 34 is adapted to receive signals from the control assembly 22. The transmitter 34 can communicate with the control assembly 22 through a hard wired connection, or remote wireless connection, such as Bluetooth, GPS, infrared, or radio, for example”); and
an electronic display configured to receive and display a first vehicle performance command (Behbehani: Col. 5 Lines 21-33 “The sensors 72 and 74 can provide signals to the control assembly 22 controller 70. As such, the controller 70 using algorithms and/or formulas generally known, can calculate the speed and send a control signal by the processor 82. This information may be displayed on the display 80, which may be any suitable type of computer display. The controller/processor 82 may be associated with, or incorporated into, any suitable type of computing device, for example, a personal computer or a programmable logic controller 82. The display 80, the processor 82, the memory 78, and any associated computer readable media are in communication with one another using a data bus or any suitable type of device”)…
Yet Behbehani do not teach receive and display a second vehicle performance command in response to and corresponding to the vehicle performance alteration command;
wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of:
a plurality of user selectable maximum speed commands, wherein one user selectable maximum speed command is a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second user selectable maximum speed command is a second maximum speed in a second jurisdiction;
a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction; and
a plurality of performance classes, wherein one user selectable performance class represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second performance class represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Slaton teaches receive and display a second vehicle performance command displayed on the electronic display in response to and corresponding to the vehicle performance alteration command (Slaton: Fig. 4 and 5A-B Element 162; Para 4 “The operator notifications may include a speed control band adjustment notification that indicates a proposed change from a currently active speed control band to another of the available speed control bands. Presentation of the speed control band adjustment notification may be based on, for example, a speed change event in which a new PCC set speed is outside the currently active speed control band, or a count of speed change events in which PCC set speeds are outside the currently active speed control band”; Para 53 “In the display state 300 shown in FIG. 4, the function tell-tale 162 indicates that the base cruise control system is active with cruise set speed of 55 mph”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle system of Behbehani with the feature of receive and display a second vehicle performance command in response to and corresponding to the vehicle performance alteration command disclosed by Slaton. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “increase the amount of information presented to enable operators to reap greater benefits from the PCC system” (Slaton: Para 21) .
Yet the combination of Behbehani and Slaton do not explicitly teach wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of:
a plurality of user selectable maximum speed commands, wherein one user selectable maximum speed command is a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second user selectable maximum speed command is a second maximum speed in a second jurisdiction;
a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction; and
a plurality of performance classes, wherein one user selectable performance class represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second performance class represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Schieffelin teaches wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of:
a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction(Schieffelin: Para 106 “different states and/or countries have different laws governing the use of electric bicycles. For example, the definition and/or restrictions of electric bicycles and their power can be different in each state and/or country. Laws regarding the maximum speed of electric bicycles can also be different. For example, the U.S. federal law defines and restricts electric bicycles to bicycles with electric motors of less than 750 Watts and with a top motor-powered speed of less than 20 miles per hour with a rider that weighs less than 170 pounds. In comparison, California restricts the maximum power output of electric bicycles to 1000 Watts, and Florida allows electric bicycles with a maximum power output of up to 5000 Watts”; Para 156 “FIG. 7 illustrates an overview of one embodiment of a method of controlling the maximum output of a motor of an electric bicycle. In some embodiments, a user and/or rider inputs or selects via a user access point system a jurisdiction where the electric bicycle is located at block 644. In certain embodiments, the user access point system is configured to display only certain jurisdictions, such as certain states and/or countries. In other embodiments, the system is configured to automatically detect the jurisdiction”; Para 151 “the software and/or user interface of the user access point system 624 is configured such that a user only needs to select a state or jurisdiction where the user is currently located. The user access point system 624 in certain embodiments comprises a pre-stored database that comprises data of each jurisdiction's electric bicycle regulations and/or laws. For example, a user access point system 624 can have pre-stored the maximum power and/or speed of electric bicycles allowed by law of one or more jurisdictions. In other embodiments, data related to the maximum power and/or speed of electric bicycles allowed by law of one or more jurisdictions is stored in the electric bicycle computing system 610 and/or main computing system 604”; Para 152 “when a rider selects a particular jurisdiction, the user access point system 624, electric bicycle computing system 610, and/or main computing system 604 is configured to determine the maximum power and/or speed limit of the selected jurisdiction using a pre-stored database and restrict the electric bicycle accordingly”; i.e. jurisdictions, such as certain states and countries encompassed first and second jurisdiction and select a state or jurisdiction encompassed user selectable modes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle system of the combination of Behbehani and Slaton with the feature of wherein the electronic display is configured to concurrently display at least one of: a plurality of user selectable modes, wherein one user selectable mode represents a first maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a first jurisdiction and a concurrently displayed second mode represents a second maximum speed commandable by the controller that the vehicle may attain, operate at, and not exceed when operating in a second jurisdiction disclosed by Schieffelin. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “uses software and a computer system(s) to control the maximum power output and/or speed within the regulations of each jurisdiction” (Schieffelin: Para 108).
As per claim 15, it recites a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 16, it recites a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 17, it recites a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 18, it recites a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 12 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Claim 3, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behbehani (US8876657B1) and Slaton (US20160082963A1) and Schieffelin(US20170106866A1) further in view of Enomoto (US20110205044A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Behbehani, Slaton, and Schieffelin teaches The vehicle system of claim 1, the vehicle comprising a power source (Behbehani: Fig. 1; Col. 3 Lines 30-32 “The power source 30 can be a battery, or solar power cell, for example, or any source of power suitable for powering the motor 24”) and an electrical ignition system(Behbehani: Fig. 1; Col. 3 Lines 32-35 “The motor controller 32 is adapted to receive a control signal from the control assembly 22 to selectively control power sent to the motor 24. As such the motor controller 32 controls whether the motor 24 is on or off”), wherein when the electrical ignition system is powered off the electronic display displays at least one performance attribute of the vehicle (Behbehani: Col. 5 Lines 21-33 “The sensors 72 and 74 can provide signals to the control assembly 22 controller 70. As such, the controller 70 using algorithms and/or formulas generally known, can calculate the speed and send a control signal by the processor 82. This information may be displayed on the display 80, which may be any suitable type of computer display. The controller/processor 82 may be associated with, or incorporated into, any suitable type of computing device, for example, a personal computer or a programmable logic controller 82. The display 80, the processor 82, the memory 78, and any associated computer readable media are in communication with one another using a data bus or any suitable type of device”).
Yet the combination of Behbehani, Slaton, and Schieffelin do not teach when the electrical ignition system is powered off the electronic display displays at least one performance attribute of the vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Enomoto teaches when the electrical ignition system is powered off the electronic display displays at least one performance attribute of the vehicle (Enomoto: Para 170 “After the ignition is turned off, the second display control unit 52 of FIG. 4 displays the total score and lifetime score that are calculated in the current driving cycle on the second display unit 15. FIG. 14 shows an example of this display, which is presented instead of the display of FIG. 2( b) after the ignition is turned off”; Para 171 “A bar 75 indicates the lifetime score value. For example, when the lifetime score is 5000 points and is in the first stage, the bar 75 extending to the center of the region 73 a of the first stage is displayed as shown in the figure. Thus, after turning off the engine, a driver can recognize the evaluation result of the driving operation in the current driving cycle from the viewpoint of fuel efficiency and which level his/her lifetime score, that is, his/her driving skill regarding the fuel efficiency reaches”; Para 172 “Other information such as a travel distance in the current driving cycle may be displayed on the screen as shown in FIG. 14”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vehicle system of the combination of Behbehani, Slaton, and Schieffelin with the feature of when the electrical ignition system is powered off the electronic display displays at least one performance attribute of the vehicle disclosed by Enomoto. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “a driver can recognize the evaluation result of the driving operation in the current driving cycle” (Enomoto: Para 171) .
As per claim 13, it recites a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 19, it recites a vehicle having limitations similar to those of claim 3 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/ANSHUL SOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667