Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 13-17, 19, 24 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15, 29 and 30 recite “disabling, by the UE independent of network signaling, cross-carrier scheduling of data in another serving cell.” However, a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would have understood the cross scheduling occurs by including cross-carrier scheduling of resources in a PDCCH transmitted by a base station. Accordingly, disabling cross-carrier scheduling occurs at a base station. A person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would not have understood how a UE could perform ““disabling cross-carrier scheduling of data,” which happens at/by a base station, and additionally would not have under stood how that could happen without signaling being transmitted between the UE and the network.
Claim(s) 2-3, 5, 10, 13-14, 16-17, 19, 24 and 27-28 are rejected because they depend from Claims 1, 15, 29 and 30.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 15-17, 19, 24 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda et al. (US 2013/0201884) in view of Babaei (US 2021/0204309) (and provisional Application 62/954,642), and further in view of Murray et al. (US 2022/0191793)
Regarding claim 1, Freda discloses a method of wireless communication (Freda, paragraph [0002], wireless networks), comprising:
determining, by a user equipment (UE), at least one serving cell comprising a primary cell for carrier aggregation (Freda, paragraph [0086], carrier aggregation with a Primary Cell (PCell))
overlaps a dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) bandwidth (Freda, Fig. 7, perform sensing in DSS channel; paragraph [0080], LTE coexistence with secondary users in DSS bands; paragraph [0095], deploy LTE in DSS bands, LTE cells may operate only over dynamic and shared spectrum, or small cells may be deployed in dynamic and shared spectrum with macro cell in licensed spectrum in a different band, the cell operating in the DSS may not be able to anchor [schedule] the LTE system to a cell in licensed spectrum; paragraphs [0110]-[0111], based on sensing performed by WTRU to detect the presence of secondary signals, algorithm triggered to determine configuration, algorithm uses direct information about the WiFi system to manage the coexistence of systems in the DSS bands, if the determined configuration does not match the current configuration, change the configuration, repeat the process periodically; paragraph [0118], sensing information from the WTRUs is used to determine the best coexistence algorithm; paragraph [0242], link adaptation may be used to manage interference over a shared channel by different wireless systems operating in a same band; paragraph [0260], WTRU may first evaluate whether the configuration is for a supplementary cell and applies to the shared spectrum band);
disabling, by the UE, cross-carrier scheduling of data in another serving cell comprising a secondary cell for the carrier aggregation (Freda, Fig. 22; paragraphs [0110]-[0111], based on sensing performed by WTRU to detect the presence of secondary signals, algorithm triggered to determine configuration, algorithm uses direct information about the WiFi system to manage the coexistence of systems in the DSS bands, if the determined configuration does not match the current configuration, change the configuration, repeat the process periodically; paragraph [0118], sensing information from the WTRUs is used to determine the best coexistence algorithm; paragraph [0234], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH; paragraph [0236], eNB may stop transmitted RSs, PSS and SSS during the period that is defined for coexistence in the shared spectrum; paragraph [0242], link adaptation may be used to manage interference over a shared channel by different wireless systems operating in a same band; paragraph [0249], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH on the primary cell as well as the PDCCH on the supplementary cell during an active time, a last transmission may have been received from the supplementary cell through cross-carrier scheduling from the primary or secondary cell PDCCH; paragraph [0259], reconfiguration may modify cross-carrier scheduling rules for supplementary cells; paragraph [0260], WTRU determines the PDCCH configuration for supplementary cells, and if WTRU is not configured for cross carrier scheduling; Table 8: Cross carrier scheduling allowed Boolean, Cross-carrier scheduled Serving Cell ID Integer; paragraph [0263], each WTRU may have a local store of supplementary cell configurations corresponding to each operating mode; paragraph [0304], secondary cell control is similar to supplementary cell control)
by one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) received in the at least one serving cell (Freda, paragraph [0234], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH; paragraph [0236], eNB stops transmitting RSs and PSS and SSS during DRX period defined for coexistence; paragraph [0249], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH on the primary cell as well as the PDCCH on the supplementary cell during an active time, a last transmission may have been received from the supplementary cell through cross-carrier scheduling from the primary or secondary cell PDCCH)
based on a determination by the UE determining that the at least one cell overlaps the DSS bandwidth (Freda, Fig. 7, WTRU performs sensing to determine a DSS channel; paragraph [0080], LTE coexistence with secondary users in DSS bands; paragraph [0095], deploy LTE in DSS bands, LTE cells may operate only over dynamic and shared spectrum, or small cells may be deployed in dynamic and shared spectrum with macro cell in licensed spectrum in a different band, the cell operating in the DSS may not be able to anchor [schedule] the LTE system to a cell in licensed spectrum; paragraphs [0110]-[0111], based on sensing performed by WTRU to detect the presence of secondary signals, algorithm triggered to determine configuration, algorithm uses direct information about the WiFi system to manage the coexistence of systems in the DSS bands, if the determined configuration does not match the current configuration, change the configuration, repeat the process periodically; paragraph [0118], sensing information from the WTRUs is used to determine the best coexistence algorithm; paragraph [0242], link adaptation may be used to manage interference over a shared channel by different wireless systems operating in a same band; paragraph [0260], WTRU may first evaluate whether the configuration is for a supplementary cell and applies to the shared spectrum band); and
moving, by the UE, monitoring of PDCCHs from the at least one serving cell to the another serving cell (Freda, Fig. 22; paragraphs [0110]-[0111], based on sensing performed by WTRU to detect the presence of secondary signals, algorithm triggered to determine configuration, algorithm uses direct information about the WiFi system to manage the coexistence of systems in the DSS bands, if the determined configuration does not match the current configuration, change the configuration, repeat the process periodically; paragraph [0118], sensing information from the WTRUs is used to determine the best coexistence algorithm; paragraph [0234], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH; paragraph [0236], eNB may stop transmitted RSs, PSS and SSS during the period that is defined for coexistence in the shared spectrum; paragraph [0242], link adaptation may be used to manage interference over a shared channel by different wireless systems operating in a same band; paragraph [0249], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH on the primary cell as well as the PDCCH on the supplementary cell during an active time, a last transmission may have been received from the supplementary cell through cross-carrier scheduling from the primary or secondary cell PDCCH; paragraph [0259], reconfiguration may modify cross-carrier scheduling rules for supplementary cells; paragraph [0260], WTRU determines the PDCCH configuration for supplementary cells, and if WTRU is not configured for cross carrier scheduling; Table 8: Cross carrier scheduling allowed Boolean, Cross-carrier scheduled Serving Cell ID Integer; paragraph [0263], each WTRU may have a local store of supplementary cell configurations corresponding to each operating mode; paragraph [0267], PDCCH may be carried by secondary cells and monitored by all WTRUs; paragraph [0304], secondary cell control is similar to supplementary cell control)
based on the UE determining that the at least one serving cell overlaps the DSS bandwidth (Freda, Fig. 7, perform sensing in DSS channel; paragraph [0080], LTE coexistence with secondary users in DSS bands; paragraph [0095], deploy LTE in DSS bands, LTE cells may operate only over dynamic and shared spectrum, or small cells may be deployed in dynamic and shared spectrum with macro cell in licensed spectrum in a different band, the cell operating in the DSS may not be able to anchor the LTE system to a cell in licensed spectrum; paragraphs [0110]-[0111], based on sensing performed by WTRU to detect the presence of secondary signals, algorithm triggered to determine configuration, algorithm uses direct information about the WiFi system to manage the coexistence of systems in the DSS bands, if the determined configuration does not match the current configuration, change the configuration, repeat the process periodically; paragraph [0118], sensing information from the WTRUs is used to determine the best coexistence algorithm; paragraph [0242], link adaptation may be used to manage interference over a shared channel by different wireless systems operating in a same band; paragraph [0260], WTRU may first evaluate whether the configuration is for a supplementary cell and applies to the shared spectrum band),
wherein the moving monitoring of the PDCCHs to the another serving cell reduces PDCCH monitoring on the at least one serving cell at which moved PDCCHs were previously monitored (Freda, paragraph [0080], LTE coexistence with secondary users in DSS bands may include the use of coexistence gaps/silent periods in an LTE transmission; paragraph [0234], onDuration timer of DRX specifies the amount of the WTRU should remain on and monitor the PDCCH, monitoring does not occur the remaining portion of the DRX cycle; paragraph [0236], eNB stops transmitting RSs and PSS and SSS during DRX period defined for coexistence; paragraph [0249], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH on the primary cell during the DRX active time as well as the PDCCH on the supplementary cell; during LTE off periods of DRX, only resources on the supplementary cell are scheduled).
Although Freda discloses that PDCCH monitoring configuration is reconfigured based on determining that that a primary cell overlaps DSS bandwidth, and that reconfiguring PDCCH monitoring may include turning off/on and/or reconfiguring cross carrier scheduling, and that LTE cells in licensed [not-shared] carriers should not be anchored in [scheduled by] a cell operating in shared DSS spectrum, the Examiner includes the Babaei reference that more explicitly discloses that cross-carrier scheduling is reconfigured to a non-shared carrier because DSS scheduling capacity may be limited.
Babaei discloses at least one serving cell comprising a primary cell for carrier aggregation overlaps a dynamic spectrum sharing (DSS) bandwidth (Babaei, paragraph [0224], with carrier aggregation, a DSS cell may be a PCell or a SCell) (Babaei provisional 62/954,642, paragraph [0209], with carrier aggregation, a DSS cell may be a PCell or a SCell);
disabling, by the UE, cross-carrier scheduling of data in another serving cell comprising a secondary cell for the carrier aggregation by one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) received in the at least one serving cell based on by the UE determining that the at least one cell overlaps the DSS bandwidth (Babaei, paragraph [0095], bandwidth adaptation to dynamically adapt transmit and receive bandwidth; paragraph [0220], cross-carrier scheduling presence true/false field in PDCCH DCI; paragraph [0221], spectrum coexistence in DSS may be achieved based on dynamic scheduling; paragraph [0224], with carrier aggregation, scheduling capacity on a DSS cell may be limited, so a non-DSS SCell may schedule transmission on a PCell, and to enable overhead reduction, a single PDCCH may schedule multiple cells; paragraph [0225], PDCCH of SCell schedules PCell using cross-carrier scheduling in carrier aggregation; paragraph [0226], cross-carrier scheduling of a primary cell by a secondary cell; paragraph [0248], reconfiguration to indicate that a secondary cell is not a scheduling cell for the primary cell) (Babaei provisional 62/954,642, paragraphs [0209]-[0211]); and
moving, by the UE, monitoring of PDCCHs from the at least one serving cell to the another serving cell based on the UE determining that the at least one serving cell overlaps the DSS bandwidth, wherein the moving monitoring of the PDCCHs to the another serving cell reduces PDCCH monitoring on the at least one serving cell at which moved PDCCHs were previously monitored (Babaei, paragraph [0095], bandwidth adaptation to dynamically adapt transmit and receive bandwidth; paragraph [0220], cr0ss-carrier scheduling presence true/false field in PDCCH DCI; paragraph [0221], spectrum coexistence in DSS may be achieved based on dynamic scheduling; paragraph [0224], with carrier aggregation, scheduling capacity on a DSS cell may be limited, so a non-DSS SCell may schedule transmission on a PCell, and to enable overhead reduction, a single PDCCH may schedule multiple cells; paragraph [0225], PDCCH of SCell schedules PCell using cross-carrier scheduling in carrier aggregation; paragraph [0226], cross-carrier scheduling of a primary cell by a secondary cell; paragraph [0248], reconfiguration to indicate that a secondary cell is not a scheduling cell for the primary cell) (Babaei provisional 62/954,642, paragraphs [0209]-[0211]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a non-DSS cell to cross-scheduling a DSS cell, as in Babaei, in the invention of Freda. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conserve the limited scheduling capacity on a DSS cell.
Freda does not explicitly disclose that a UE autonomously (independent of network signaling) modifies a PDCCH monitoring configuration .
Murray discloses reconfiguring, by the UE independent of network signaling, cross-carrier scheduling of data in another serving cell comprising a secondary cell for the carrier aggregation by one or more physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) received (Murray, paragraph [0115], bandwidth adaptation by indicating to the UE which configured BWPs are currently active; paragraph [0160], PDCCH monitoring adaptation may be autonomously done by the UE based on predefined rules or tied to traffic; paragraph [0333], if UE has not been self-scheduled on a particular SCell during X ms then it falls back to cross-carrier scheduling, if UE is scheduled on the SCell with one cross-carrier DCI, it activates self-scheduling on the cell).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a UE to autonomously (independent of network scheduling) enable and/or disable cross-carrier scheduling, as in Murray, in the inventions of Freda and Babaei. The motivation to combine the references would have been to reduce network signaling and free up resources.
Regarding claim 2, Freda in view of Babaei, and further in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the moving the PDCCH monitoring of PDCCHs to the another serving cell based on determining reduces PDCCH monitoring in the DSS bandwidth (Freda, paragraph [0080], LTE coexistence with secondary users in DSS bands may include the use of coexistence gaps/silent periods in an LTE transmission; paragraph [0234], onDuration timer of DRX specifies the amount of the WTRU should monitor the PDCCH; paragraph [0249], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH on the primary cell during the DRX active time as well as the PDCCH on the supplementary cell; during LTE off periods of DRX, only resources on the supplementary cell are scheduled) (Babaei, paragraph [0224], with carrier aggregation, scheduling capacity on a DSS cell may be limited, so a non-DSS SCell may schedule transmission on a PCell, and to enable overhead reduction, a single PDCCH may schedule multiple cells; paragraph [0225], PDCCH of SCell schedules PCell using cross-carrier scheduling in carrier aggregation; paragraph [0226], cross-carrier scheduling of a primary cell by a secondary cell) (Babaei provisional 62/954,642, paragraphs [0209]-[0211]).
Regarding claim 3, Freda in view of Babaei, and further in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 2, wherein one or more PDCCHs received by the UE by the monitoring of the PDCCHs of the another serving cell includes cross-carrier scheduling of data in the at least one serving cell (Freda, paragraph [0080], LTE coexistence with secondary users in DSS bands may include the use of coexistence gaps/silent periods in an LTE transmission; paragraph [0234], onDuration timer of DRX specifies the amount of the WTRU should monitor the PDCCH; paragraph [0249], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH on the primary cell during the DRX active time as well as the PDCCH on the supplementary cell; during LTE off periods of DRX, only resources on the supplementary cell are scheduled; paragraph [0259], modified cross-carrier scheduling rules for supplementary cells; paragraph [0260], WTRU determines the PDCCH configuration for supplementary cells, and if WTRU is not configured for cross carrier scheduling; Table 8: Cross carrier scheduling allowed Boolean, Cross-carrier scheduled Serving Cell ID Integer; paragraph [0304], secondary cell control is similar to supplementary cell control) (Babaei, paragraph [0224], with carrier aggregation, scheduling capacity on a DSS cell may be limited, so a non-DSS SCell may schedule transmission on a PCell, and to enable overhead reduction, a single PDCCH may schedule multiple cells; paragraph [0225], PDCCH of SCell schedules PCell using cross-carrier scheduling in carrier aggregation; paragraph [0226], cross-carrier scheduling of a primary cell by a secondary cell) (Babaei provisional 62/954,642, paragraphs [0209]-[0211]).
Regarding claim 5, Freda in view of Babaei, and further in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the primary cell comprises a primary cell of a master cell group (MCG) or a primary secondary cell of a secondary cell group (SCG) (Freda, paragraph [0211], small cells under control of the same macro cell [master cell]; paragraph [0249], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH on the primary cell during the DRX active time as well as the PDCCH on the supplementary cell; during LTE off periods of DRX, only resources on the supplementary cell are scheduled).
Regarding claim 10, Freda in view of Babaei, and further in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining, by the UE, that the primary cell overlaps the DSS bandwidth (Freda, paragraph [0080], LTE coexistence with secondary users in DSS bands may include the use of coexistence gaps/silent periods in an LTE transmission; paragraph [0260], WTRU may first evaluate whether the configuration is for a supplementary cell and applies to the shared spectrum band; paragraph [0264], upon receiving a supplementary cell reconfiguration, the WTRU may be to stop the active operating mode in order to effect the requested change; paragraph [0267], network may signal the operating mode to use) (Babaei, paragraph [0224], with carrier aggregation, scheduling capacity on a DSS cell may be limited, so a non-DSS SCell may schedule transmission on a PCell, and to enable overhead reduction, a single PDCCH may schedule multiple cells; paragraph [0225], PDCCH of SCell schedules PCell using cross-carrier scheduling in carrier aggregation; paragraph [0226], cross-carrier scheduling of a primary cell by a secondary cell) (Babaei provisional 62/954,642, paragraphs [0209]-[0211]); and
using, by the UE, cross-carrier scheduling based on PDCCH from the secondary cell to schedule data for the primary cell (Freda, paragraph [0249], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH on the primary cell during the DRX active time as well as the PDCCH on the supplementary cell; during LTE off periods of DRX, only resources on the supplementary cell are scheduled; paragraph [0259], modified cross-carrier scheduling rules for supplementary cells; paragraph [0260], WTRU determines the PDCCH configuration for supplementary cells; Table 8: Cross carrier scheduling allowed Boolean, Cross-carrier scheduled Serving Cell ID Integer) based on the UE determining that the primary cell overlaps the DSS bandwidth (Freda, paragraph [0253], WTRU may be expected to follow operating procedures for the operating mode of a cell; paragraph [0080], LTE coexistence with secondary users in DSS bands may include the use of coexistence gaps/silent periods in an LTE transmission; paragraph [0110], sensing performed by WTRU to detect the presence of secondary signals, determine duty cycle configuration, manage the coexistence of systems in the DSS bands; paragraph [0260], WTRU may first evaluate whether the configuration is for a supplementary cell and applies to the shared spectrum band; paragraph [0264], upon receiving a supplementary cell reconfiguration, the WTRU may be to stop the active operating mode in order to effect the requested change) (Babaei, paragraph [0224], with carrier aggregation, scheduling capacity on a DSS cell may be limited, so a non-DSS SCell may schedule transmission on a PCell, and to enable overhead reduction, a single PDCCH may schedule multiple cells; paragraph [0225], PDCCH of SCell schedules PCell using cross-carrier scheduling in carrier aggregation; paragraph [0226], cross-carrier scheduling of a primary cell by a secondary cell) (Babaei provisional 62/954,642, paragraphs [0209]-[0211]).
Claims 15-17, 19 and 24 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 1-3, 5 and 10, respectively. Freda further discloses a processing system that includes at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor in paragraph [0060].
Claim 29 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1. Freda further discloses program code executable by a computer in paragraph [0305].
Claim 30 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim(s) 13-14 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda in view of Babaei, and further in view of Murray, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0368447).
Regarding claim 13, Freda in view of Babaei, and further in view of Murray discloses the method of claim 10, wherein:
the secondary cell does not overlap the DSS bandwidth (Freda, paragraph [0259], there be may [and, thus, may not be] overlapping geographic coverage areas for different technologies) (Babaei, paragraph [0224], with carrier aggregation, scheduling capacity on a DSS cell may be limited, so a non-DSS SCell may schedule transmission on a PCell, and to enable overhead reduction, a single PDCCH may schedule multiple cells; paragraph [0225], PDCCH of SCell schedules PCell using cross-carrier scheduling in carrier aggregation; paragraph [0226], cross-carrier scheduling of a primary cell by a secondary cell) (Babaei provisional 62/954,642, paragraphs [0209]-[0211]).
Freda does not explicitly disclose, but Kim discloses the PDCCH from the secondary cell comprises non-fallback downlink control information (DCI) associated with DCI format 1_1 or 0_1 (Kim, paragraph [0077], DCI format 1_1 used as non-fallback DCI).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the PDCCH from the second cell comprises non-fallback downlink control information (DCI) associated with DCI format 1_1 or 0_1 in the invention of Freda. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conform to well known standards.
Regarding claim 14, Freda in view of Babaei, and further in view of Murray, and further in view of Kim discloses the method of claim 13, wherein, based on the determining by the UE that the primary cell overlaps the DSS bandwidth (Freda, paragraph [0249], WTRU may monitor the PDCCH on the primary cell during the DRX active time as well as the PDCCH on the supplementary cell; during LTE off periods of DRX, only resources on the supplementary cell are scheduled) (Babaei, paragraph [0224], with carrier aggregation, scheduling capacity on a DSS cell may be limited, so a non-DSS SCell may schedule transmission on a PCell, and to enable overhead reduction, a single PDCCH may schedule multiple cells; paragraph [0225], PDCCH of SCell schedules PCell using cross-carrier scheduling in carrier aggregation; paragraph [0226], cross-carrier scheduling of a primary cell by a secondary cell) (Babaei provisional 62/954,642, paragraphs [0209]-[0211]):
Freda does not explicitly disclose, but Kim one or more fallback DCIs for the primary cell and one or more other DCIs for the primary cell are received in the primary cell, the one or more other DCIs for the primary cell are distinct from non-fallback DCIs for the primary cell (Kim, paragraph [0071], UE performs monitoring on a fallback DCI format and a non-fallback DCI format; paragraph [0208], Pcell, PScell).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one or more fallback DCIs associated with DCI format 1_0 or 0_0 for the first cell to be received in the first cell in the invention of Freda. The motivation to combine the references would have been to conform to well known standards.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 13-14, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 28, 2025 have been fully considered but they moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419