DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to amendments filed on 08/27/2025. Claims 10, 18, and 19 were amended. Claims 1-9 were cancelled. No claims were added. Therefore, claims 10-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 10-14, 16-20 and 22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kuppuraj, et al. (US 2014/0330146 A1) in view of Keller (US 9,164,656 B1) in further view of Petersen, et al. (US 2013/0267792 A1).
With regards to claim 10, Kuppuraj teaches a method for providing a user of a mobile device access to patient information and patient physiological data (see at least ¶ 0002, systems and methods for obtaining and processing patient health data, such as electrocardiograph (ECG) data, and displaying the data to a healthcare professional on a handheld device), the method comprising: receiving, by one or more processors, user input indicating a user command to display a …screen (see at least ¶ 0050, mobile web server 116 may be configured to interact with physician devices 102, such as to accept user (physician, patient or administrator) inputs and generate appropriate displays to facilitate user interaction with the physician application program 112); in response to the user input, displaying the …screen on the mobile device (see at least ¶ 0050, mobile web server 116 may be configured to generate a window-metaphor based computer user interface on a screen of physician device(s) 102 or screen (not shown) coupled to the remote server systems 106, or the browser web server 114 and/or mobile web server 116 may generate web pages that are rendered by a browser or application of the physician devices 102), the …screen displaying one or more patient icon groups… (see at least figures 6-8); receiving, by the one or more processor, a user selection of a patient icon from the one or more patient icon groups (see at least figures 6-8, ¶ 0064, patients may be classified into one of a plurality of patient groups based on a number, recency, and/or severity of detected arrhythmic events. For example, as shown in FIG. 6, patient groups may be represented by indicia, in this case, a plurality of indicia having different colors and sizes. In one embodiment, the patient groups may include a first group for “review,” including patients that have experienced an arrhythmic event within a recent time threshold, such as within the past month, week, or day, or since the physician last reviewed the interface of FIG. 6. Patient groups may include a second group for “continuing,” including patients that have not experienced an arrhythmic event within a recent time threshold, such as within the past month, week, or day, or since the physician last reviewed the interface of FIG. 6. Patient groups may include a third group for “convert,” or “diagnosis,” including patients that have completed a prescribed monitoring period… Physician interface 800 of FIG. 8 may be configured to display ECG data and detected arrhythmic event indicia for a plurality of patients. In addition, interface 800 may be configured to sort ECG data and detected arrhythmic event indicia for the plurality of patients based on a classification of the patients into one or more of the patient groups described above, including e.g. a “review” group, “convert or diagnose” group, and “continuing” group. In one embodiment, interface 800 may first display, at a top of the interface, the patient ECG indicia 802 for patients in the “review” group because those patients have experienced an arrhythmic event within a threshold time period, and are therefore of most concern. Interface 800 may next display, after patients in the “review” group, the patient ECG indicia 804 for patients in the “convert or diagnose” group because those patients have completed their prescribed monitoring period, and should therefore be diagnosed or converted to a different type of monitoring device or treatment. Interface 800 may finally display, at the bottom of the interface, the patient ECG indicia 806 for patients in the “continuing” group because those patients have not experienced an arrhythmic event within a threshold time period, and are therefore of relatively less concern); and in response to the user selection of the patient icon, displaying a plurality of windows on the mobile device (see at least figures 8-9, ¶ 0073, FIG. 9 depicts an interface 900 which provides a somewhat more detailed view of a physician interface for reviewing a patient's ECG data 901, while still also providing a limited view of ECG data 922 for other patients under the physician's care. In one embodiment, the ECG data 922 for other patients may resemble the ECG data displayed in the overview interface 800 of FIG. 8, while a more detailed ECG data 901 is displayed for the selected patient. The physician may request and therefore receive the interface view of FIG. 9 by tapping or otherwise selecting one of the patients in the interface view of FIG. 8), the plurality of windows comprising: a first window displaying first health information associated with a period of time, the first health information comprising first patient physiological data, wherein the first window comprises a first indicator that indicates a first patient physiological data portion corresponding to a sub-period of time with respect to the period of time, and a second window synchronized with the first window and displaying second health information associated with the period of time, the second health information comprising second patient physiological data, wherein the second window comprises a second indicator that indicates a second patient physiological data portion corresponding to the sub-period of time (See at least figure 9, ¶ 0074, in the detailed view of interface 900, additional ECG or other health data may be displayed for the selected patient, including a categorized list of arrhythmic events 902 (e.g., “SVT” [supraventricular tachycardia], “VT” [ventricular tachycardia], “Pauses,” and “Bradycardia”), and heart rate parameters 904 (e.g., beats per minute (“bpm”), average bpm, and maximum bpm). Also, as in the interface 800, interface 900 may display the ECG waveform [first window with first patient physiological data], heart rate trendline 914 [second window], and indicia of detected arrhythmic events in relation to the ECG waveform at a position associated with a time of the detected arrhythmic event [second window physiological data synchronized with the first window]. The indicia of detected arrhythmic events may include minor event indicia 908, moderate event indicia 910, and major event indicia 912. In addition to what is displayed in interface 800, the more detailed interface 900 may also display for the selected patient an extended ECG waveform 918, which may be a “zoomed-in” display of a subset selection 920 [sub-period of time] of an even more extended duration ECG waveform 916).
Kuppuraj does not explicitly teach …task; …each patient icon group representing a respective location within a facility and comprising two or more patient icons and being associated with a respective time before exceeding a time period, each patient icon being representative of a respective patient at the respective location and a respective task to be performed within the time period and being selected for display in a respective patient icon group based on the respective time, and each patient icon group displaying a sub-set of patient physiological data of a respective patient, the sub-set of patient physiological data being updated in real-time responsive to data received from one or more monitoring devices; …the patient icons in each of the plurality of patient icon groups being displayed in an order based on respective times.
Keller teaches …task (see at least figure 1 (118), column 6, lines 44-45); …each patient icon group representing a respective location within a facility (see at least figure 1 (114, 116), column 6, lines 38-39, Numeric indicia 114 and 116 indicate the respective room numbers, as in a hospital, where the patients are located) and comprising two or more patient icons (see at least figure 1 (110, 112), column 6, lines 36-37, patient icon for male patient and another icon for female patient [two or more patient icons]) and being associated with a respective time before exceeding a time period (see at least figure 1, column 6, line 49 – column 7, line 1, as time passes, the task icons “float” on this “river” of time. The river normally flows steadily from right to left. With it, the task icons move gradually from right to left …The third feature is a “now” bridge indicator 124 that extends down the center of the display. Bridge 124 is a transparent yellow line, although other types of lines can be used. The location of bridge 124 normally remains fixed at the center of display 102 while the task icons 118, etc., float by from right to left beneath it. Tasks whose icons are to the right of bridge 124 are those whose deadlines have not yet arrived in time [before exceeding a time period]), each patient icon being representative of a respective patient at the respective location and respective task to be performed within the time period (see at least figure 1, 110, 112 are patient icons representative of the respective patient, 114 and 116 indicate the respective room numbers, as in a hospital, where the patients are located [respective patient at respective location] and 118, 128, 134 are task icons that are respective tasks to be performed in the time period shown) and being selected for display in a respective patient icon group based on the respective time (see at least figure 1, column 6, line 61 – column 7, line 7, a “now” bridge indicator 124 that extends down the center of the display. Bridge 124 is a transparent yellow line, although other types of lines can be used. The location of bridge 124 normally remains fixed at the center of display 102 while the task icons 118, etc., float by from right to left beneath it. Tasks whose icons are to the right of bridge 124 are those whose deadlines have not yet arrived in time. Those to the left are tasks whose deadlines have passed. When a moving icon approaches bridge 124, the task that the icon represents is now due. The nurse performs the task and marks it done or completed, as described below. In the illustration, it is now 10:12 AM. Bridge 124 is thus nearly midway between the 10:00 AM signpost and the 10:30 AM signpost), …the patient icons in each of the plurality of patient icon groups being displayed in an order based on respective times (see at least figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the patient task system of Keller into the patient ECG screens of Kuppuraj with the motivation of making the provider more efficient for effective patient care (Keller, column 3, line 42 – column 4, line 16, column 4, line 67 – column 5, line 2).
Petersen teaches …and each patient icon group displaying a sub-set of patient physiological data of a respective patient, the sub-set of patient physiological data being updated in real-time responsive to data received from one or more monitoring devices (see at least figures 2, 4, ¶ 0035-0037, user interface includes plurality of display tiles, each display tile providing physiological data for a different patient, physiological data includes continuous physiological parameters that are updated typically at one second intervals [real-time], other parameters are possible [displayed parameters are a sub-set]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the patient information tiles of Petersen into the patient ECG screens of Kuppuraj with the motivation of more easily viewed patient data by clinicians (Petersen, ¶ 0022).
Claims 18 and 19 recite similar limitations and are rejected for the same reasons.
With regards to claim 11, Kuppuraj teaches the method of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first indicator and the second indicator comprises a …scrubber bar comprising a viewing window (see at least figure 9, ¶ 0074, the more detailed interface 900 may also display for the selected patient an extended ECG waveform 918, which may be a “zoomed-in” display of a subset selection 920 of an even more extended duration ECG waveform 916. The physician may then slide subset selection 920 [scrubber bar], as defined, e.g., by a shaded portion or bracket along extended duration ECG waveform 916 to change the displayed portion of zoomed-in waveform 918).
Kuppuraj does not explicitly recite …beveled. However, the Examiner asserts that matters of design choice, such as how a scrubber bar is shaped, does not patentably distinguish a claimed invention over the prior art. “Matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function can not be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art”, see In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947).
With regards to claim 12, Kuppuraj teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the patient physiological data comprises electrocardiogram (ECG) data (see at least figure 9, ¶ 0074).
With regards to claim 13, Kuppuraj teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising processing, by the one or more processors, user-specific data to determine the one or more patient icons, each patient icon representing the respective task as a time-sensitive, patient-associated task (see at least ¶ 0068-0069, interface 800 may be configured to sort ECG data and detected arrhythmic event indicia for the plurality of patients based on a classification of the patients into one or more of the patient groups described above, including e.g. a “review” group, “convert or diagnose” group, and “continuing” group. In one embodiment, interface 800 may first display, at a top of the interface, the patient ECG indicia 802 for patients in the “review” group because those patients have experienced an arrhythmic event within a threshold time period, and are therefore of most concern. Interface 800 may next display, after patients in the “review” group, the patient ECG indicia 804 for patients in the “convert or diagnose” group because those patients have completed their prescribed monitoring period, and should therefore be diagnosed or converted to a different type of monitoring device or treatment. Interface 800 may finally display, at the bottom of the interface, the patient ECG indicia 806 for patients in the “continuing” group because those patients have not experienced an arrhythmic event within a threshold time period, and are therefore of relatively less concern … the interface 800 of FIG. 8 provides physicians with a useful, effective, and engaging way to review numerous patients under the physician's care, where the patients with the most recent and/or severe detected arrhythmic events are displayed more prominently than other patients with less recent or severe detected arrhythmic events).
With regards to claim 14, Keller teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising receiving user input indicating completion of the time-sensitive, patient-associated task of the patient icon, and in response, providing a signal to a back-end system indicating completion of the time-sensitive, patient- associated task (see at least column 8, lines 18-19, 24-27, a “detail box” 132 that is displayed when a task icon is tapped …Once the box is displayed, the user can tap on it to get a screen (not shown in this diagram) offering various operations on the task, especially “Mark as completed (done)”, at least column 10, lines 2-6, Server 405 is arranged to …receive work history, i.e., tasks …completed …recorded on device 100. This information is stored in a database associated with server 405). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the patient task system of Keller into the patient ECG screens of Kuppuraj with the motivation of making the provider more efficient for effective patient care (Keller, column 3, line 42 – column 4, line 16, column 4, line 67 – column 5, line 2).
With regards to claim 16, Keller teaches the method of claim 13, wherein each time-sensitive, patient-associated task is determined to be within a threshold time period (see at least column 7, lines 9-12, the background color of the task is yellow to signify the task is due within the next fifteen minutes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the patient task system of Keller into the patient ECG screens of Kuppuraj with the motivation of making the provider more efficient for effective patient care (Keller, column 3, line 42 – column 4, line 16, column 4, line 67 – column 5, line 2).
With regards to claim 17, Keller teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the time-sensitive, patient-associated task is determined to be within the threshold time period when a difference between a current time and a time associated with the time-sensitive, patient-associated task is within the threshold time period (see at least column 7, lines 9-12, the background color of the task is yellow to signify the task is due within the next fifteen minutes). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the patient task system of Keller into the patient ECG screens of Kuppuraj with the motivation of making the provider more efficient for effective patient care (Keller, column 3, line 42 – column 4, line 16, column 4, line 67 – column 5, line 2).
With regards to claim 20, Keller teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the user input indicates selection of a time- sensitive icon representing the user command to display the task screen (see at least column 7, lines 14-18, The nurse indicates that a task is done by touching the icon for that task. The sequence of steps to mark a task done in one embodiment is: (1) touch the task's icon to pop up the task's detail box, (2) touch the detail box to switch to the Task Detail screen; column 8, lines 18-26, a “detail box” 132 that is displayed when a task icon is tapped. In this an icon 134 contains a representation of a thermometer. When icon 134 is tapped, its rectangular outline expands to show more information, in this case the alphanumerics “00:27 Vital Signs”. The box contains a description of the task, and the number of minutes remaining until its deadline is reached. Once the box is displayed, the user can tap on it to get a screen (not shown in this diagram) offering various operations on the task). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the patient task system of Keller into the patient ECG screens of Kuppuraj with the motivation of making the provider more efficient for effective patient care (Keller, column 3, line 42 – column 4, line 16, column 4, line 67 – column 5, line 2).
With regards to claim 22, Keller teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the user selection of the patient icon initiates execution of the respective task, which partially comprises using the plurality of windows on the mobile device to execute the respective task (see at least column , lines , a “detail box” 132 that is displayed when a task icon is tapped. In this an icon 134 contains a representation of a thermometer. When icon 134 is tapped, its rectangular outline expands to show more information, in this case the alphanumerics “00:27 Vital Signs”. The box contains a description of the task, and the number of minutes remaining until its deadline is reached. Once the box is displayed, the user can tap on it to get a screen (not shown in this diagram) offering various operations on the task; column 12, lines 59-61, nurse 400 enters tasks into device 100, performs the tasks, enters information such as vital signs, and marks tasks complete. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the patient task system of Keller into the patient ECG screens of Kuppuraj with the motivation of making the provider more efficient for effective patient care (Keller, column 3, line 42 – column 4, line 16, column 4, line 67 – column 5, line 2).
Claim 15 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kuppuraj, et al. (US 2014/0330146 A1) in view of Keller (US 9,164,656 B1) in further view of Petersen, et al. (US 2013/0267792 A1) in further view of Nightingale, et al. (US 2011/0145012 A1).
With regards to claim 15, Kuppuraj does not explicitly teach the method of claim 14, further comprising removing the patient icon from display in the task screen. Nightingale teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising removing the patient icon from display in the task screen (see at least ¶ 0059, When one of the one or more tasks is completed …The task may be …removed from task status display area 508). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the patient treatment tasks of Nightingale into the patient ECG screens of Kuppuraj with the motivation of more efficient treatment of a patient (Nightingale, ¶ 0013).
Claim 21 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kuppuraj, et al. (US 2014/0330146 A1) in view of Keller (US 9,164,656 B1) in further view of Petersen, et al. (US 2013/0267792 A1) in further view of Rosow, et al. (US 2008/0312975 A1).
With regards to claim 21, Kuppuraj does not explicitly teach the method of claim 10, wherein the user input further indicates selection of a location from a set of locations, the plurality of patient icon groups being specific to the location. Rosow teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the user input further indicates selection of a location from a set of locations, the plurality of patient icon groups being specific to the location (see at least figure 19, ¶ 0101, interactive user screens …FIG. 19 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of how patient information can be viewed in a dynamic and interactive Unit Detail—floor plan mode, shown in screen 172. The unit details can also be viewed in a table mode using the tab at 174. In the embodiment depicted, there is shown a graphical view of an intensive care unit, namely Bliss 10-E identified at block 175. Views of other units can be viewed using the pull-down indicator at 176. The room number for each room on the unit is identified at 177 and each bed is presented as a square icon, generally referred to by the reference numeral 178, in a simplified floor plan view of the unit. In a preferred embodiment, colors are used to indicate the selected attribute of the patient or bed. For example, the display in FIG. 19 may be configured to show available beds using icons 178 in green and occupied beds in red. Additionally, the bed icons can be viewed in different colors depending on the attributes of the beds displayed. For example, the pull down selector 179 allows a user to view the icons for the occupied beds color-coded based on the sex of the patient. In this view the screen, 172 may display the male occupied bed icons in blue and the icons for female occupied beds in pink. Flashing gray icons 178 may represent beds with pending discharges. Closed or inactive beds may be color-coded black as is the bed icon 180. Many other color-coded options are available via pull-down selector 179. These include patient and bed attributes such as gender, monitored bed, negative pressure room, and type of medical service (i.e. cardiology, surgery, orthopedics, etc.). In addition, each bed icon 178 can also display numeric values indicating how many hours remain until a patient is scheduled to be transferred or discharged. For example, the bed icon at 182 represents a patient having been requested to be transferred in 27 hours. The triangle at the lower right corner of the icon 182 indicates the receiving unit has not yet assigned a bed to the patient. Similarly, the patient in the bed represented by the icon 184 is scheduled to be discharged in 2 hours. Conversely, these numeric indicators can also indicate how long a patient has been in a given bed. This feature is important in that hospitals typically do not have an outpatient remain in a “outpatient status” for longer than 23 hours. The icon 186 has a triangle in the upper left corner used to identify the patient as an outpatient. The bed management system 10 can effectively alert (via flashing icons, audible alarms, e-mail, pager, phone call, etc.) the appropriate personnel when this 23 hour threshold has been reached or is near. Additionally, the negative numbers are used to indicate past due transactions. For example, if a patient is still occupying a bed 2 hours past a scheduled discharge, then the icon indicators would be −2D representing the overdue discharge). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the unit patient icon views of Rosow into the patient ECG screens of Kuppuraj with the motivation of more efficient treatment of a patient (Rosow, ¶ 0009).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejections set forth in the previous office action have been considered, but are not persuasive. In an effort to advance prosecution, the Examiner has provided a response to applicant's arguments. Applicant argues:
Keller fails to teach "each patient icon group representing a respective location within a facility."
Keller also fails to teach "each patient icon group ... being associated with a respective time before a time period, each patient icon being representative of a respective patient and a respective task to be performed within the time period and being selected for display in a respective patient icon group based on the respective time" and "the patient icons in each of the plurality of patient icon groups being displayed in an order based on respective times."
In response to Applicant’s argument Keller fails to teach "each patient icon group representing a respective location within a facility", the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Keller teaches …each patient icon group representing a respective location within a facility by displaying (figure 1) a patient icon for a male patient (116) and another for a female patient (114), each of these patient icons representing a group of task icons for that patient (118, 128, 132, etc.), each patient icon group indicates the respective room number for the patient (114, 116) [location] where the patients are located within a hospital [facility].
In response to Applicant’s argument Keller also fails to teach "each patient icon group ... being associated with a respective time before a time period, each patient icon being representative of a respective patient and a respective task to be performed within the time period and being selected for display in a respective patient icon group based on the respective time" and "the patient icons in each of the plurality of patient icon groups being displayed in an order based on respective times”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Keller teaches each patient icon group …being associated with a respective time before a time period, each patient icon being representative of a respective patient and respective task to be performed within the time period and being selected for display in a respective patient icon group based on the respective time and the patient icons in each of the plurality of patient icon groups being displayed in an order based on respective times by displaying (figure 1) multiple tasks icons grouped for each patient icon to the right and left of a “now” bridge indicator (124) indicating the current time, where the location of bridge remains fixed at the center of display while the task icons 118, etc., float by from right to left beneath it. Tasks whose icons are to the right of bridge are those whose time deadlines have not yet arrived and those to the left of the bridge are those whose time has exceeded their deadline, which means they are in order according to the time they were or are supposed to be executed according to the timeline (120, 122) displayed below the icons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Garg, et al. (US 2008/0270188 A1) which discloses a dynamic graphical display for presenting patient data received from a medical device automatically sorts the patient data into a Venn diagram type format. In one embodiment, the graphical display includes two or more graphic objects representing different types of physiological parameters or events derived from the physiological parameters. The graphic objects define at least a first section corresponding to a first subset of patient data, a second section corresponding to a second subset of patient data, and a third section corresponding to a conjunction of the first and second subsets of patient data. In some embodiments, a user may select one of the sections of the graphical display to obtain further details about the respective subset of patient data or conjunction of subsets of data.
Stewart (US 2009/0054743 A1) which discloses a novel method of generating and representing the status of various physiological parameters that are monitored for patients during hospitalization. The system of present invention allows healthcare providers to easily view, at a glance, the status or trend of a patient or a plurality of patients as well as any changes in the parameter values.
Q. Zhou, J. Chen, T. Liu and H. Fu, "Design and Implementation of Client Software in the Remote Monitoring System," 2010 4th International Conference on Bioinformatics and Biomedical Engineering, Chengdu, China, 2010, pp. 1-4, doi: 10.1109/ICBBE.2010.5514681 which discloses a Remote Home Monitoring System is one of important steps of the national medical and health system innovation. In this paper, we present a Remote Home Monitoring System (RHMS) which is consisted by the client side that in patients' houses and the server side that in hospitals. The key points are the design of client side software and multimedia interactive technology. The Visual C++ and SQL programming tools are used in the system to realize the functions of interactive man-machine interface, processing and sending of physiological data, management of physical database and the multimedia doctor-patient interactive system. Our client side software system can not only successfully make patient's physiological data monitored by doctor remotely, but also build audio/video communication between the doctor and patient.
/JOSEPH D BURGESS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681