DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 6/4/26, amended claim(s) 11 and 22, and canceled claim(s) 12 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15-16, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 11, the claim language “wherein the rigid pre-curved body is free of notches to realize motion decoupling between the rigid pre-curved body and the flexible distal segment, such that displacement of the rigid pre-curved body is submillimeter when the flexible distal segment bends” is ambiguous. The claim language seems at odds with one another because on one had it recites “realize motion decoupling,” but then recites that “displacement of the rigid pre-curved body is submillimeter when the flexible distal segment bends.” So although the claim recites “motion decoupling,” the pre-curved body and the distal segment seem to have their motion coupled together because the pre-curved body displaces when the distal segment bends. Applicant’s specification was consulted to clarify the issue, but the specification appears to further confound the issue. In looking for support for the above claim language, page 13 of Applicant’s specification states
So if the structure responsible for enabling the motion decoupling is a monolithically fabricated tube, how does decoupling of motion happen if the pre-curved body and the flexible distal segment are monolithically fabricated together? The claim is just examined such that a monolithically fabricated single tube is a structure capable of meeting the functional language of “realize motion decoupling between the rigid pre-curved body and the flexible distal segment, such that displacement of the rigid pre-curved body is submillimeter when the flexible distal segment bends.”
Dependent claim(s) 13, 15-16, 18, and 22 fail to cure the ambiguity of independent claim 11, thus claim(s) 11, 13, 15-16, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15-16, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0212728 to Greening in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0015839 to Eastwood et al. (hereinafter “Eastwood”).
For claim 11, Greening discloses a neurosurgical (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) instrument (Abstract) comprising a rigid, straight outer tube (20) (Fig. 1) (para [0122]) (also see para [0123] and [0129]) and an inner tube (30) (Figs. 5-6) (para [0122]) with a rigid pre-curved body (33) (Fig. 12-14) (“pre-curved,” para [0163]) and a flexible (Examiner’s Note: Applicant’s specification providing support that the “flexible” characteristic is imparted by notches, see first full paragraph of Applicant’s specification as originally filed) distal segment (32) (Figs. 12-14) (see “grooves,” para [[0138]) monolithically fabricated from a single tubing of super-elastic Nickel Titanium Alloy (para [0149]), wherein the rigid body and the flexible distal segment do not overlap (see Figs. 12-14), wherein the outer tube and the inner tube are concentric at a proximal end of the neurosurgical instrument (as can be seen in Figs. 3-4 and 8), and the outer tube constrains the inner tube to maintain a straight configuration of the instrument upon complete withdrawal of the inner tube into the outer tube (as can be seen in Figs. 10-14) (para [0123]);
wherein the rigid pre-curved body is free of notches (as can be seen in Figs. 12-14) to realize (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) (Examiner’s Note: also see 112(b) rejection above) motion decoupling between the rigid pre-curved body and the flexible distal segment (para [0149]), such that displacement of the rigid pre-curved body is submillimeter when the flexible distal segment bends (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) (Examiner’s Note: also see 112(b) rejection above) (para [0149]), and the flexible distal segment can achieve (Examiner’s Note: capable of) a bending angle of up to 90° (para [0027]) with a curvature ≥150 m-1 (para [0142]).
Greening does not expressly disclose wherein the flexible distal segment of the inner tube comprises at least one symmetric or asymmetric notch parameter selected from notch shape, notch pattern, and notch dimension, wherein the flexible distal segment is configured to bend with a 1-degree of freedom (DoF) or 2-DoF motion driven by actuation cables.
However, Eastwood teaches wherein a flexible distal segment comprises at least one symmetric or asymmetric notch parameter selected from a notch shape, notch pattern, and notch dimension (as can be seen in Fig. 3), wherein the flexible distal segment is configured to bend with a 1-degree of freedom (DoF) or 2-DoF motion (as can be seen in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Greening wherein the flexible distal segment of the inner tube comprises at least one symmetric or asymmetric notch parameter selected from notch shape, notch pattern, and notch dimension, wherein the flexible distal segment is configured to bend with a 1-degree of freedom (DoF) or 2-DoF motion driven by actuation cables, in view of the teachings of Eastwood, for the obvious advantage of having control over flexibility in a particular direction or directions.
For claim 13, Greening further discloses wherein the rigid body and the flexible distal segment are fabricated from a medical grade material selected from Nickel Titanium and Stainless Steel (para [0149]).
For claim 15, Greening further discloses at least one end effector (34).
For claim 16, Greening does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one end effector is a biopsy forceps, scissors, a grasping forceps, a dissecting forceps, a suction tool, an irrigation tool, or an endoscopic camera.
However, Eastwood teaches wherein the at least one end effector is a biopsy forceps, scissors, a grasping forceps, a dissecting forceps, a suction tool, an irrigation tool, or an endoscopic camera (Fig. 15) (para [0127]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Greening wherein the at least one end effector is a biopsy forceps, scissors, a grasping forceps, a dissecting forceps, a suction tool, an irrigation tool, or an endoscopic camera, in view of the teachings of Eastwood, as another means by which to dissect the ovarian wall to be able to harvest eggs in the ovary, which is what Greening wants to do.
For claim 22, Greening does not expressly disclose wherein the segment features asymmetric notch patterns and dimensions, with the asymmetric notches on one side of the segment having different notch dimensions compared to the asymmetric notches on the opposite side of the segment.
However, Eastwood teaches wherein the segment features asymmetric notch patterns and dimensions (see “Asymmetric” in Fig. 3), with the asymmetric notches on one side of the segment having different notch dimensions compared to the asymmetric notches on the opposite side of the segment (see “Serially Stacked” in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Greening wherein the segment features asymmetric notch patterns and dimensions, with the asymmetric notches on one side of the segment having different notch dimensions compared to the asymmetric notches on the opposite side of the segment, in view of the teachings of Eastwood, for the obvious advantage of varying the flexibility, including its directionality, along an axial length of the distal segment.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greening in view of Eastwood, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0223123 to Lai et al. (hereinafter “Lai”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0100576 to Pansky et al. (hereinafter “Pansky”).
For claim 18, Greening and Eastwood do not expressly disclose flexible sheaths made from metal or polymer, wherein the sheaths are constrained by Nitinol wire, and that serve as actuation tendons or rod routing channels, and comprising at least one sensor within the lumen of the instrument, wherein the at least one sensor comprise at least one Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG).
However, Lai teaches sheaths (101) (Fig. 6) (para [0045]) (also see para [0013]), wherein the sheaths are constrained by Nitinol wire (211) (Fig. 10a) (para [0064]) (also see para [0003]), and comprising at least one sensor within the lumen of the instrument (as can be seen in Fig. 6), and hold sensors within the lumen of the instrument (107a/b) (as can be seen in Figs. 6 and 8) (para [0053]-[0054]), wherein the at least one sensor comprise at least one Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG) (para [0053]).
Additionally, Pansky teaches sheaths made from metal or polymer (para [0216]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Eastwood to include flexible sheaths made from metal or polymer, wherein the sheaths are constrained by Nitinol wire, and that serve as actuation tendons or rod routing channels, and comprising at least one sensor within the lumen of the instrument, wherein the at least one sensor comprise at least one Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG), in view of the teachings of Lai and Pansky, for the obvious advantage of being able to measure strain in Greening’s system and metal or polymer is a suitable material by which to make a sheath to protect Greening’s tubular structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/4/26 have been fully considered.
With respect to the objection to the drawings, Applicant’s amendments and arguments are persuasive and thus the objection withdrawn.
With respect to the 102/103 rejection(s), Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but the outstanding 112(b) issue(s) prevent the argument from being persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that the integrated design in Greening prevents the motion decoupling, but Applicant’s specification identifies that the monolithic fabrication is the feature responsible for the motion decoupling (see the 112(b) rejection above). Therefore, the evidence of record does not support Applicant’s arguments. With respect to the argument that Greening does not teach the degrees of freedom, the rejection does not rely on Greening for the degrees of freedom. Instead, Eastwood is brought in to teach this claimed subject matter. With respect to the argument that Eastwood does not teach the motion decoupling, Greening is now relied upon for that feature. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). With respect to the declaration, these arguments appear to copy the arguments in the response (or vice versa). Therefore, the examiner provides the same response.
Conclusion
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791