DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 8/25/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10-13 under the final have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the references cited below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (CN 104927528) and in view of Ling (CN 107353678) and in view of and in view of Andreas (EP 2508478) and in view of Li (CN 101569852), EPO translation.
Luo describes a composition that includes an aqueous emulsion of titanium dioxide nanopowder, clay, bentonite (which is alumina) and other compounds (abstract). Optionally, Luo describes adding an adsorbent for removing indoor “harmful gas concentration”, which can include a zeolite powder (page 2, last para). The mixture is crushed and ground (see page 2, section (1)). The mixture can be used as a paint composition (abstract).
Luo does not teach that the zeolite used is a purified natural zeolite added to the mixture in an amount of 1-15wt% of the composition.
Ling teaches an air purifying paint (title). The reference explains that use of a natural zeolite provides a low carbon energy-saving means to purify air, adjust air humidity, fire-proof, sound-proof, antibacterial and other multifunctional means useful in coating an object (page 2, lines 25-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ natural zeolite, as taught by Ling for use as the zeolite used in the coating mixture of Luo because Ling explains that natural zeolite has a number of uses to include use as a low carbon energy-saving means to purify air, adjust air humidity, fire-proof, sound-proof, antibacterial and other multifunctional means useful in coating an object.
As to the type of natural zeolite, Andreas states that differences between natural zeolites relate to the purity of the material (pg 3, last para) and that natural zeolites have a much wider range of minor mineral and purities than synthetic kinds, which can affect the properties of the zeolite (pg. 3, last para).
As to the purification, Li explains that heating and washing natural zeolite powder is a known way to remove soluble impurities from the material (see para. 9). As to a specific temperature, Li teaches that the rinsed natural zeolite is heated at a temperature of 104 degrees C (para. 34).
Therefore, since Andreas teaches that natural zeolite has known impurities that can affect the properties of the zeolite, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to wash the natural zeolite, as taught by Li because washing and heating are known methods to remove soluble impurities from the zeolite.
As to the intended use of the material, the claims are composition-type claims and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition would be effective in the same way described (specifically for reducing pollutants from air by adsorption).
As to Claim 2, Luo teaches that their material is used for coating a surface with paint (abstract).
As to Claim 7, Luo teaches that the adsorbent can be a zeolite powder (page 2, last para). The adsorbent has a size of 0.1 to 10 microns (page 3, para. 1).
Ling teaches an air purifying paint (title). The reference explains that use of a natural zeolite provides a low carbon energy-saving means to purify air, adjust air humidity, fire-proof, sound-proof, antibacterial and other multifunctional means useful in coating an object (page 2, lines 25-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a natural zeolite in Luo, as taught by Ling because Ling explains that use of a natural zeolite provides a low carbon energy-saving means to purify air, adjust air humidity, fire-proof, sound-proof, antibacterial and other multifunctional means useful in coating an object.
As to Claim 8, Luo teaches employing a dispersant (abstract).
As to Claim 9, Luo teaches inclusion of an aqueous emulsion (abstract).
As to Claims 10 and 11, Luo teaches that the material contains pigment resin (page 3, lines 23-25).
As to Claim 12, Luo teaches inclusion of an antifoam agent (abstract).
As to Claim 13, Luo teaches that the product includes polycarboxylic, silicon acrylic, silicon, hemp fiber, viscose fibre, water glass, emulsion powder, alumina, silica sol (abstract). One of these can be considered the rheological additive.
Claim(s) 3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo, Ling, Andreas and Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou (CN 107337391).
As to Claim 3, Andreas teaches that natural zeolite milled with other compounds are used in building material (abstract and title). The composition can include cement materials (pg. 3, para. 2). In their process, this ground natural zeolite is solidified in a solid mass (pg. 3, para. 2), but does not state that their product is molded.
Zhou describes use of a concrete material into floor slabs, which are molded into shapes and contain concrete and zeolite powder (see Claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to shape the zeolite-containing cement material, as taught by Zhou for use with the composition of Luo, Ling, Andreas and Li because it is known to shape these building materials for use in various uses, such as flooring.
As to Claim 5, since Andreas describes using the same materials, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same materials would be effective in the same way.
Claim(s) 6, 10, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo, Ling, Andreas and Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kirov (BG 98225).
Kirov describes a zeolite pigment (title) useable in paints (“Description”, pg. 1, para. 2).
Natural zeolites that are milled are known for use in this function (“Description”, pg 1, para. 2). Kirov explains that the surface of zeolites particles may be modified to impart a color (pg 3, last two paras.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to impart a color onto the zeolite, as taught by Kirov for use with the milled zeolite of Luo, Ling, Andreas and Li because use of these to modify paints in this way is known to be effective.
As to Claim 11, Kirov teaches that instead of using their composition in paints, they can be applied to thermoplastic polymers (see Claim 8).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to apply the thermoplastic polymers by its functional equivalent paints in Luo, Ling, Andreas and Li with expected success. See MPEP 2144.06.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 September 29, 2025