DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amendment of 07/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 12-26 are pending in this US patent application. Claim 13 remains withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/05/2024.
Claims 12 and 14-26 are currently under examination and were examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 14-19 remain rejected, and claims 20-26 are newly rejected as necessitated by amendment under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US patent application publication 2015/0071925 filed by Larson et al., published 03/12/2015.
Please note that this rejection has been slightly augmented to incorporate discussion of the newly-added limitations in the amended claims of 07/20/2026. However, because the basis of the rejections is unchanged, the rejections have been maintained.
Larson teaches liquid pharmaceutical formulations of proteins (see entire document, including page 2, paragraph 0022). The formulations are aqueous (page 9, paragraph 0102; cf. claim 12; an aqueous solution is capable of being applied to the eyes [“…ophthalmic formulation”] and contains water, which is a “lubricant” and a “carrier” and is “acceptable for ophthalmic application”). One of the proteins that can be formulated in the manner of Larson is 3K3A-APC (page 19, paragraph 0204; cf. claims 14-16; the 3K3A-APC variant fulfills the sequence identity requirements of instant claim 14). The viscosity lowering agent included in Larson’s formulation may be lactose (page 26, paragraph 0296), which may also serve as an excipient in the formulation (page 26, paragraph 0302). A wide variety of pharmaceutical excipients can be used in the formulations, including buffering agents, sugars, surfactants such as polysorbate-80, carriers such as PEG, and antioxidants such as ascorbic acid (pages 26-27, paragraph 0302; cf. claims 12 and 17-19). The buffer may be phosphate buffered saline (page 27, paragraph 0310; cf. claim 17). The concentration of the protein is between about 10-5000 mg/mL (page 3, paragraph 0023), and equivalent embodiments that may be ascertained using no more than routine experimentation are encompassed (page 42, paragraph 0455; cf. claims 18-19).
However, Larson does not explicitly teach an aqueous formulation containing 3K3A-APC, PBS, PEG, sugars, polysorbate-80, and ascorbic acid or the particular amounts of 3K3A-APC recited in instant claims 18-26.
While Larson does not explicitly teach an aqueous formulation consisting of 3K3A-APC, PBS, PEG, lactose, polysorbate-80, and ascorbic acid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce such a formulation based on the teachings of Larson because Larson suggests the inclusion of all of these ingredients in protein formulations. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that combining all of these ingredients as suggested by Larson, which would intrinsically produce a “unit dosage form for application to the eye” and a “single dosage form for intravitreal administration” as recited in instant claims 18 and 22-26, would successfully result in the production of a protein formulation that can be used to treat a patient. The Examiner reminds Applicant that the intended use of a composition does not structurally limit the composition. See MPEP § 2111.
The concentrations of protein recited in Larson (10-5000 mg/mL) do not overlap with the instantly recited concentration range of 0.1-8 mg/mL). However, the instantly recited amounts in claims 18-26 would be within the realm of routine experimentation. Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 part II A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants' invention was made to determine all operable and optimal concentrations of 3K3A-APC to include in a formulation for treating patients as taught by Larson because the concentration of a protein used to treat patients is an art-recognized, result-effective variable known to affect the treatment of the relevant symptoms, which would have been optimized in the pharmaceutical art to provide the desired therapeutic effect.
Therefore, claims 12 and 14-26 are rendered obvious by Larson and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
The Supreme Court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation…103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions……the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) (emphasis added).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 12 and 14-19 remain provisionally rejected, and claims 20-26 are newly provisionally rejected as necessitated by amendment on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6-7, 12-14, 16, 18-23, 26-27, and 29-30 of copending Application No. 19/109083 in view of US patent application publication 2015/0071925 filed by Larson et al., published 03/12/2015. The claims of ‘083 recite a method of administering a composition comprising an APC variant, which may be the instantly recited 3K3A-APC (‘083 claim 28). The claims of ‘083 do not recite the additional ingredients recited in the instantly claimed composition. However, including these ingredients in a composition comprising 3K3A-APC is rendered obvious by Larson, as discussed extensively above. As such, the instant claims are ‘rendered obvious’ by the claims of ‘083 in view of Larson and are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has traversed the above rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson. Applicant states that the claims have been amended to recite “consisting of” instead of “comprising” for the purpose of excluding the viscosity lowering agent of Larson. Applicant states that none of the components or optional components recited in claim 12 encompass the viscosity lowering agent that is a required component of Larson, and removing the viscosity lowering agent would destroy Larson for its intended purpose. Applicant states that the preferred viscosity lowering agent of Larson is camphorsulfonic acid, which would not be safe for administration to the eye (remarks, pages 6-8). This argument has been fully considered but has not been found persuasive.
The Examiner notes that the instant claims recite that the composition may contain an excipient (claim 12), which may be a sugar (claim 17). As discussed above, Larson teaches that the viscosity lowering agent may be lactose and also teaches that lactose may be an excipient for the composition. As such, the viscosity lowering agent of Larson falls within the scope of the recited components of the composition of claim 12, contrary to Applicant’s assertion. Regarding Larson’s preferred embodiment, the Examiner reminds Applicant that patents are prior art for all they contain, not merely for a preferred embodiment. See MPEP § 2123.
Applicant states that one reading Larson would not be motivated to lower the unit dose size or the protein concentration as recited in new claims 18-19. Applicant states that Larson establishes that protein concentration is a result-effective variable only for managing viscosity and that “Larson explicitly teaches that the dynamic, exponential problem of viscosity, and the subsequent need for its bulk polar organic additives, only triggers at high concentrations,” citing paragraph 0092 of Larson (remarks, pages 6-13). This argument has been fully considered but has not been found persuasive.
The Examiner notes that paragraph 0092 of Larson, as cited by Applicant, states the following, in its entirety: “Formulations may have protein concentrations between about 10 mg/mL and about 5,000 mg/mL. The formulations, including mAb formulations, may have a protein concentration greater than 100 mg/mL, preferably greater than 150 mg/mL, more preferably greater than about 175 mg/ml, even more preferably greater than about 200 mg/mL, even more preferably greater than about 225 mg/mL, even more preferably greater than about 250 mg/mL, and most preferably greater than or about 300 mg/mL. In the absence of a viscosity-lowering agent, the viscosity of a protein formulation increases exponentially as the concentration is increased. Such protein formulations, in the absence of a viscosity-lowering agent, may have viscosities greater than 100 cP, greater than 150 cP, greater than 200 cP, greater than 300 cP, greater than 500 cP, or even greater than 1,000 cP, when measured at 25°C. Such formulations are often unsuitable for SC or IM injection. The use of one or more viscosity-lowering agents permits the preparation of formulations having a viscosity less than or about 100 cP, preferably less than or about 75 cP, more preferably less than or about 50 cP, even more preferably less than or about 30 cP, even more preferably less than or about 20 cP, or most preferably less than or about 10 cP, when measured at 25°C.”. This paragraph makes no statements regarding the “problem of viscosity” only triggering at high concentrations. In contrast to Applicant’s assertion, the Examiner notes that paragraph 0093 of Larson explicitly states the following: “Although the viscosity-lowering agents may be used to lower the viscosity of concentrated protein formulations, they may be used in less-concentrated formulations as well” (emphasis added). The Examiner further notes that Larson in no way “establishes that protein concentration is a result-effective variable exclusively for managing viscosity,” as asserted by Applicant on page 9 of the remarks.
Applicant requests that the provisional double patenting rejection be held in abeyance until there are allowable claims of record (remarks, page 10). The Examiner notes that the rejection will remain of record until overcome, for example, by the amendment of the claims of either case to be patentably distinct from one another or by the filing of a terminal disclaimer.
Therefore, the Examiner has maintained the rejections presented above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Erin M. Bowers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653 09/29/2026