DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the decision from the pre-appeal conference requested February 14, 2024. The decision pursuant the pre-appeal conference was to reopen prosecution that the best rejection may be set forth. Due to a filing miscommunication, only recently was the application returned to the examiner’s docket for further action. Please see the new rejection set forth within the action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Chiang (US Patent No. 7587961), or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. as obvious further in view of Prevey et al. (US Patent No. 7159425), Runton (US Patent No. 3903761), Pulley et al. (US Patent No. 6164880), and Olson (US Patent No. 5038869).
In regards to claim 1, Chiang discloses
A ratchet tool comprising:
a head portion (head 11, fig. 1, 2) including an interior wall portion (at least chamber 12, curved recesses 14, orifice 15, fig. 2) forming a cavity (compartment 13, fig. 2) adapted to at least partially enclose components (abstract: A reversible ratchet tool includes a rotary member received in a housing and having a number of teeth, a cover secured to the housing and having three depressions located around an axle, two pawl members mounted in the housing and each having one or more teeth for being biased to engage with the rotary member),
wherein the interior wall portion (at least chamber 12, curved recesses 14, orifice 15, fig. 2) includes an interior wall portion surface (see annotated fig. 2); and
a ratchet gear (wheel gear or rotary member 20, fig. 20) rotatably disposed (abstract: A reversible ratchet tool includes a rotary member received in a housing and having a number of teeth) in the drive cavity portion (chamber 12, fig. 2) and having a drive portion (driving stem 21, fig. 2) that projects outwardly from the cavity (at least chamber 12, compartment 13, curved recesses 14, orifice 15, fig. 2) and a toothed portion (teeth 22, fig. 2), wherein surfaces of the ratchet gear (wheel gear or rotary member 20, fig. 20) include a layer.
While Chiang fails to disclose the surfaces of the interior wall portion “include a first compressive residual stress layer”, this limitation within the tool falls under the domain of “product by process.”
Furthermore, pursuant of MPEP 2113(I), it has been held that "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." A tool side wall with a compressive stress layer (since it is resultant from shot peening or cold working process) would be obvious in view of a tool side wall.
However, in arguendo, in search and consideration, the application of a cold working process to create a compressive stress layer within a tool has been found obvious.
Prevey teaches “The shot peening method and apparatus (FIG. 13) of the present invention utilizes control of the shot peening coverage to provide higher surface compression and comparable depth of compression to conventional 100% coverage peening but with reduced cold working providing improved thermal stability and reduction in shot peening time and cost (Abstract).” Prevey also teaches “There was no systematic trend with coverage in these reductions although the reductions decreased with depth from the surface, and initial cold work level, to about 0.05 mm (0.002 in.) for all coverage levels. Beyond 0.05 mm depth, where the initial cold work level was less than nominally 5%, there were no significant changes in residual stress or cold work. It should now be apparent to one skilled in the art that cold work from shot peening, even at less than 100% coverage, is sufficient to induce significant residual stress relaxation in surface and near surface layers at modest temperatures. Accordingly, where such reduction cannot be tolerated, surface enhancement techniques, such as low plasticity burnishing, laser shock, or coverage controlled shot peening to provide adequate compression with minimum or controlled levels of cold working may be used (column 7 line 56 – column 8 line 9).” See also fig. 4 showing affected range between 0 inches and 0.016 inches.
Chiang is analogous to the claimed apparatus as it is in the same field of endeavor, relating with ratcheting hand tools. Prevey is analogous as it pertains to the same problem, which is applying a cold working method to yield improved structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiang to incorporate the teachings of Prevey to apply shot peening to the surface of a tool given resulting in a residual compressive layer in order to increase the durability and longevity of the tool.
Chiang fails to disclose the surfaces of the ratchet gear “have a second compressive residual stress layer”. However, Pulley teaches “Many strategies are known for increasing bending strength of a gear without altering the general gear design, including, but not limited to, use of better materials, hardening methods, and shot peening (column 1 lines 18-22).”
Chiang and Pulley are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they fall within the art of gears undergoing stress. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiang to incorporate the teachings of Pulley and apply the shot peening process to the surface of the ratchet gear, resulting in a compressive residual stress layer, in order to increase the bending strength (column 1 lines 18-19).
Chiang fails to disclose the surfaces of the driving portion “have a second compressive residual stress layer”. However, Olson teaches a drive engaging portion, see column 6 lines 16-23, “It is preferable that the entire spindle end 12 (except distal end 33), be hardened in accordance with standard metallurgical practice. This practice may include gas carburizing, austenitizing, quenching and tempering. In addition, shot peening of the male tang 30 and transition portion 42 can be used to create residual compressive surface stresses in the finished product. These residual stresses are known in the art to extend fatigue life.”
Chiang and Olson are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they fall within the art tools with driving portions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiang to incorporate the teachings of Olson and provided a drive portion that has undergone shot peening to in order to extend fatigue life (Olson column 6 line 23).
In regards to claim 2, Chiang as modified discloses
The tool of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second compressive residual stress layer has a depth of about 0.002 to 0.02 inches (see Prevey fig. 4)
In regards to claim 3, Chiang as modified discloses
The tool of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second compressive residual stress layers is created by shot peening (see rejection of claim 1).
In regards to claim 4, Chiang as modified discloses
The tool of claim 1, wherein the interior wall portion (at least chamber 12, curved recesses 14, orifice 15, fig. 2) includes a sidewall (wall of chamber 12, fig. 2) forming a periphery of the cavity (compartment 13, fig. 2), and the sidewall (wall of chamber 12, fig. 2) includes the first compressive residual stress layer.
Examiner’s Note: As claim 1 recites “surfaces of the cavity” include a “compressive residual stress layer”, and that the cavity sidewall would constitute a surface of the sidewall, one of ordinary skill in the art would consider the sidewall a surface capable of being improved through shot peening, therein would be anticipated by the teachings under the 103 rejection established in claim 1. Please note this understanding is considered applicable to claim 5 as well.
In regards to claim 5, Chiang as modified discloses
The tool of claim 1, wherein the interior wall portion includes (at least chamber 12, curved recesses 14, orifice 15, fig. 2) a head portion surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) that encloses one side of the cavity (compartment 13, fig. 2), and the head portion surface (see annotated fig. 2 below) includes the first compressive residual stress layer (see rejection of claim 1 and examiner’s note of claim 4).
In regards to claim 6, Chiang as modified discloses
The tool of claim 1, wherein the interior wall portion (at least chamber 12, curved recesses 14, orifice 15, fig. 2) includes a head portion surface (see annotated fig. 2 from rejection of claim 5) that encloses one side of the cavity (compartment 13, fig. 2), a drive cavity sidewall portion (chamber 12, fig. 2), a pawl cavity sidewall portion (recesses 14, fig. 2).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang (US Patent No. 7587961) in view of, Prevey et al. (US Patent No. 7159425), Runton (US Patent No. 3903761), Pulley et al. (US Patent No. 6164880), Olson (US Patent No. 5038869) and in further view of Reed (US Patent No. 4674365).
In regards to claim 7, Chiang as modified discloses
The tool of claim 6, wherein a drive cavity edge portion (see annotated fig. 2 below) that is substantially at an intersection of the drive cavity sidewall portion (chamber 12, fig. 2) and the head portion surface (see annotated fig. 2 of claim 5).
Chiang as modified fails to explicitly disclose that the drive cavity edge portion that is substantially at an intersection of the drive cavity sidewall portion and the head portion surface “includes the first compressive residual stress layer”.
However, Reed teaches “A method for extending the life of a cutting tool includes shot peening the surface of the tool, including all cutting edges thereof, with substantially spherical shot peening media of glass beads. Maximum life extension is achieved by optimizing the parameters of the peening process, including the Almen intensity and the shot size and uniformity. Cutting tools, especially steel tools, shot peened in accordance with the present method display many-fold increases in life (abstract).” Though Chiang doesn’t explicitly disclose an edge, to someone that is of ordinary skill in the art, it would be understood that the edge of a surface would be included in the surface. As Reed teaches the application of shot peening to adjust properties of tools results in improved performance, someone of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to apply shot peening to any surface or edge that would benefit from increased strength and durability.
Chiang and Reed are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they fall within the art of tools that undergo stress while in use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiang to incorporate the teachings of Reed and create a residual compressive layer on the edge of the surface to increase the life of the tool (abstract).
In regards to claim 8, Chiang as modified discloses
The tool of claim 6, wherein a pawl cavity edge portion (see annotated fig. 2 below) is substantially at an intersection of the drive cavity sidewall portion (chamber 12, fig. 2) and the head portion surface (see annotated fig. 2 of claim 5).
Chiang as modified fails to explicitly disclose that then pawl cavity edge portion that is substantially at an intersection of the drive cavity sidewall portion and the head portion surface “includes the first compressive residual stress layer”.
However, Reed teaches “A method for extending the life of a cutting tool includes shot peening the surface of the tool, including all cutting edges thereof, with substantially spherical shot peening media of glass beads. Maximum life extension is achieved by optimizing the parameters of the peening process, including the Almen intensity and the shot size and uniformity. Cutting tools, especially steel tools, shot peened in accordance with the present method display many-fold increases in life (abstract).” Though Chiang doesn’t explicitly disclose an edge, to someone that is of ordinary skill in the art, it would be understood that the edge of a surface would be included in the surface. As Reed teaches the application of shot peening to adjust properties of tools results in improved performance, someone of ordinary skill in the art would find it advantageous to apply shot peening to any surface or edge that would benefit from increased strength and durability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chiang to incorporate the teachings of Reed and create a residual compressive layer on the edge of the surface to increase the life of the tool (abstract).
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723