Detailed Action
This Office Action is a Final Rejection in response arguments and amendments filed on 12/23/2025 for application 17/158,641. Claims 1, 10 and 19 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that new claim 1 language
and assign the visual representation depicting the multi-dimensional model of the slice to a user account or a computing device for rendering based on the role of a user profile associated with the user account or computing device, wherein the visual representation of the slice is an interactive visual representation allowing the user to re-slice based on updated slicing criteria; and receive input from a user specifying one or more updated values of the slicing criteria to modify criteria applied to the slice, causing computation of a different asset cluster for a different slice;
and display interactively the visual representation of the different slice.
is not taught by cited reference arts Lukas, Cella and Chiba. Applicant argues that, “Cella's disclosure of interactive digital twins and real-time-updates of the digital twin does not involve user-defined slicing criteria or recomputation of clusters… Furthermore, the … "digital twin" does not read on the claimed invention because a digital twin in Cella is a persistent virtual representation of a real-world enterprise entity or system and does not equate to user-driven modification of slicing criteria… In Cella, a digital twin is generated as a model of an underlying physical, organizational, or operational entity (e.g., facilities, supply-chain systems, enterprise structures). Once generated, that digital twin maintains a fixed identity corresponding to the real-world entity it represents. User interaction with the digital twin is limited to navigation, inspection, role-based access, and real-time updating of state data within the same model,” or in other words, the user doesn’t actually interact with the system in terms of the slicing, only in terms of managing the already sliced data.
However, in previously uncited portion of Cella (Par. [0392]), the user is allowed to configure the hybrid AI system to take inputs from user selected data sources of the value chain, which would impact the slicing or “causing computation of a different asset cluster for a different slice” as required by new claim 1 language. The digital twin is capable of capable of making the slicing changes and “display(ing) interactively the visual representation” as required by the new final claim 1 limitation. Therefore, the argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lukas et al. (US Pub. 2014/0136682) in view of Cella et al. (US Pub. 2021/0182996) and Chiba et al. (US Pub. 2005/0256874).
Regarding claim 1, Lukas teaches
A system comprising: one or more processors and a memory configured to cause the system to: receive data of a computer environment including a plurality of assets; (Fig. 1 #128; Par. [0026] database performance monitor receives data about virtual and hardware networks)
filter, using the data and one or more first criteria, the plurality of assets to identify a subset of filtered assets, the one or more first criteria including at least one of an exposure to a specific vulnerability or a cybersecurity attack; (Fig. 1 #128; Par. [0026, 44] database performance monitor receives data about virtual (i.e. first filter criteria) and hardware networks, which can include information about database performance issues due to security issues (i.e. criteria including exposure to a cybersecurity attack))
Lukas does not explicitly teach
cluster the subset of filtered assets into a plurality of different slices using the state of each of asset of the subset of filtered assets and one or more values of slicing criteria for clustering the subset of filtered assets into the plurality of different slices, the slicing criteria defined based on user profiles for various users of the computer environment, each slice of the plurality of different slices including assets of the subset of filtered assets of interest to one or more users having a role associated with a corresponding user profile of the user profiles and identified based on corresponding state of each asset and corresponding one or more values of the slicing criteria, wherein each slice of the plurality of different slices is dynamically updated responsive to changes in state of the assets and attributes of user profiles;
generate a visual representation of a slice of the plurality of different slices, the visual representation depicting a multi- dimensional model of the slice to represent inter-dependencies between assets in the slice and a size of each filtered asset in the slice with respect to the one or more first criteria, wherein the multi-dimensional model comprises nodes representing assets in the slice and links between nodes represent the inter-dependencies between corresponding assets, wherein a shape, size and color of each node represents a feature of the corresponding asset and a length, thickness and color of the links represent a feature of the inter-dependencies, wherein the size of each node represents at least one of the security state or the risk score of the corresponding asset, wherein the visual representation is dynamically updated responsive to changes in state of the assets and attributes of user profiles;
and assign the visual representation depicting the multi-dimensional model of the slice to a user account or a computing device for rendering based on the role of a user profile associated with the user account or computing device, wherein the visual representation of the slice is an interactive visual representation allowing the user to re-slice based on updated criteria.
However, from the same field Cella teaches
cluster the subset of filtered assets into a plurality of different slices using the state of each of asset of the subset of filtered assets and one or more values of slicing criteria for clustering the subset of filtered assets into the plurality of different slices, the slicing criteria defined based on user profiles for various users of the computer environment, each slice of the plurality of different slices including assets of the subset of filtered assets of interest to one or more users having a role associated with a corresponding user profile of the user profiles and identified based on corresponding state of each asset and corresponding one or more values of the slicing criteria, wherein each slice of the plurality of different slices is dynamically updated responsive to changes in state of the assets and attributes of user profiles; (Fig. 12; Par. [0097, 0370-73, 441, 630]) the storage layer (#624) stores data including data clusters based on (i.e. second criteria) the particular expertise (i.e. user profile) and asset tags (#1178) associated with the user, as well as over various state information handled by a set of state and event managers (#1450)) and can be displayed to user as a digital twin in real-time
generate a visual representation of a slice of the plurality of different slices, the visual representation depicting a multi- dimensional model of the slice to represent inter-dependencies between assets in the slice and a size of each filtered asset in the slice with respect to the one or more first criteria, wherein the visual representation is dynamically updated responsive to changes in state of the assets and attributes of user profiles; (Par. [0097, 0343, 374, 441, 630]) real-time (i.e. visual representation is dynamically updated responsive to changes in state) visual monitoring systems (#1930) allows for the visualization of a number of items, including factors or parameters of entities (i.e. multiple dimensions containing interdependencies; #652))
and assign the visual representation depicting the multi-dimensional model of the slice to a user account or a computing device for rendering based on the role of a user profile associated with the user account or computing device, wherein the visual representation of the slice is an interactive visual representation allowing the user to re-slice based on updated slicing criteria; and (Par. [0097, 0370, 374-5, 441, 630]) an identity management system can assign an identifier to a user and can use asset tags associated with the data for access control and visualization, including a display that allows user to interface with the visualization (i.e. allowing a user to re-slice based on updated criteria))
receive input from a user specifying one or more updated values of the slicing criteria to modify criteria applied to the slice, causing computation of a different asset cluster for a different slice; (Fig. 15; Par. [0392] the user input (#3020) allows user to specify which data sources to use (i.e. slicing criteria) as input to adaptive intelligent system (#614) (examiner notes that changing the input sources impacts the slicing))
and display interactively the visual representation of the different slice. (Par. [0097, 0343, 374, 441, 630]) real-time (i.e. visual representation is dynamically updated responsive to changes in state) visual monitoring systems (#1930) allows for the visualization of a number of items, including factors or parameters of entities)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the asset visualization system of Cella into the database performance monitoring of Lukas. The motivation for this combination would have been to improve intelligence of a distributed asset system as explained in Cella (Par. [0337]).
The combination of Lukas and Cella do not explicitly teach
wherein the multi-dimensional model comprises nodes representing assets in the slice and links between nodes represent the inter-dependencies between corresponding assets, wherein a shape, size and color of each node represents a feature of the corresponding asset and a length, thickness and color of the links represent a feature of the inter-dependencies, wherein the size of the each node represents at least one of the security state or the risk score of the corresponding assets;
However, from the same field, Chiba teaches
wherein the multi-dimensional model comprises nodes representing assets in the slice and links between nodes represent the inter-dependencies between corresponding assets, wherein a shape, size and color of each node represents a feature of the corresponding asset and a length, thickness and color of the links represent a feature of the inter-dependencies, wherein the size of each node represents at least one of the security state or the risk score of the corresponding assets; (Par. [0067] when creating a graph for user visualization, the line color (i.e. link color), line thickness, line kind, character font, character color, background color, dot size (i.e. node size), dot color, expansion and contraction (i.e. shapes and lengths), and security features among other criteria are taken into consideration)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the document perusal systems of Chiba into the database performance monitoring of Lukas. The motivation for this combination would have been to make it possible for the file user to peruse the converted document file as explained in Chiba (Par. [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, Lukas, Cella and Chiba teach claim 1 as shown above, and Lukas further teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more first criteria include at least one of: an asset type; a solution stack; or a geolocation. (Fig. 1 #128; Par. [0026] database performance monitor receives data about virtual (i.e. first filter criteria containing an asset type) and hardware networks)
Regarding claim 3, Lukas, Cella and Chiba teach claim 1 as shown above, and Cella further teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the state of each asset of the set of filtered assets includes at least one of: a rank of the asset; a stress level of the asset; a compliance state of the asset; configuration settings of the asset; dependencies of the asset; or communications of the asset with a predefined time interval. (Par. [0547] partial dependence plot is included in visualization)
Regarding claim 4, Lukas, Cella and Chiba teach claim 1 as shown above, and Lukas further teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more slicing criteria include at least one of: an asset category; an asset functionality; an asset type; a solution stack; a geolocation; or one or more user profiles. (Fig. 1 #128; Par. [0026] database performance monitor receives data about virtual and hardware (i.e. second filter criteria containing an asset type) networks)
Regarding claim 5, Lukas, Cella and Chiba teach claim 1 as shown above, and Cella further teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and the memory are configured, in generating the visual representation of the slice, to cause the system to generate a three-dimensional (3D) model of the slice. (Par. [0630] 3D rendering of assets in an environment is generated)
Regarding claim 6, Lukas, Cella and Chiba teach claim 5 as shown above, and Cella further teaches
The system of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors and the memory are configured to cause the system to augment the 3D model with metadata of assets of the slice of the plurality of different slices. (Par. [0629-30] 3D rendering of assets in an environment is generated with properties (i.e. metadata) presented for user adjustment)
Regarding claim 7, Lukas, Cella and Chiba teach claim 1 as shown above, and Cella further teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the visual representation of the slice is an interactive visual representation. (Par. [0629-30] 3D rendering of assets in an environment is generated with properties presented for user adjustment (i.e. interactive))
Regarding claim 8, Lukas, Cella and Chiba teach claim 1 as shown above, and Lukas further teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and the memory are configured to cause the system to transmit the visual representation to the computing device associated with the user profile. (Fig. 8-14; Par. [0047] a visual list is presented indicating virtual and hardware network statuses)
Regarding claim 9, Lukas, Cella and Chiba teach claim 1 as shown above, and Cella further teaches
The system of claim 1, wherein the user profile includes a team profile. (Par. [1107] user investigating performance of various groups can include optional data filters including ones for a product team or marketing team among others)
Regarding claim 10, please see the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, please see the rejection for claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, please see the rejection for claim 3.
Regarding claim 13, please see the rejection for claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, please see the rejection for claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, please see the rejection for claim 6.
Regarding claim 16, please see the rejection for claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, please see the rejection for claim 8.
Regarding claim 18, please see the rejection for claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, please see the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, please see the rejection for claim 4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J MITCHELL CURRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2169
/SHERIEF BADAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2169