Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 14-19, 24-27, and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being taught by Swonger, Jr (US 5,124,702).
With respect to claim 1, Swonger teaches an elevator signalization device comprising:
a panel (16) configured to provide information associated with an elevator system (fig. 1); and
a processing unit (30) configured to: receive at least one trigger signal,
adapt contrast (column 3, lines 19-57) in at least one section of the panel based on the at least one trigger signal (column 3, lines 19-57; from input 15).
With respect to claim 2, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal comprises a first trigger signal and a second trigger signal (column 3, lines 19-57; 15 and from second input 18), and the processing unit is configured to adapt the contrast in the at least one section of the panel in response to the first trigger signal and the second trigger signal simultaneously (column 3, lines 39-56; combination of two).
With respect to claim 3, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal comprises a first trigger signal (15) and a second trigger signal (18), and the processing unit is configured to adapt the contrast in the at least one section of the panel in response to the first trigger signal and the second trigger signal consecutively (column 3, lines 39-56; signal from 15 then 18 or vice-verse).
With respect to claim 8, Swonger teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to:
In response to an elevator car passing a floor, increase the contrast of a signalization button (19) associated with the floor; and
In response to the floor has been passed, decrease contrast the on the signalization button associated with the floor (column 4, lines 26-56).
With respect to claim 9, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal comprises a first trigger signal indicating a deceleration phase of an elevator car and a second trigger signal indicating an elevator car door operating phase, and the processing unit is configured to:
Adapt the contrast, provide a first color (column 5, lines 1-19) with a section of the panel in response to the first trigger signal; and
adapt the contrast, provide a second color (column 5, lines 1-19) with the section of the panel in response to the second trigger signal.
With respect to claim 10, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal is configured to indicate an elevator car operating state, and the processing unit is configured to:
Adapt the contrast to provide, a first color (column 5, lines 1-19) with a section of the panel in response to the trigger signal.
With respect to claim 11, Swonger teaches wherein the panel comprises a light-emitting panel (column 2, lines 18-25), wherein the processing unit is configured to control the light-emitting panel to provide the contrast.
With respect to claim 14, Swonger teaches wherein the elevator signalization device comprises a car operating panel (16).
With respect to claim 15, Swonger teaches wherein the elevator signalization device comprises a landing signalization device (22).
With respect to claim 16, Swonger teaches an elevator car (10) comprising the elevator signalization device of claim 1.
With respect to claim 17, Swonger teaches controller of an elevator system, the controller comprising:
at least one processing unit (30); and
at least one memory (32);
wherein the at least one memory stores program instructions (column 3, lines 39-56; software/instructions) that, when executed on the at least one processing unit, causes the controller to,
receive at least one trigger event (column 3, lines 19-57; from input 15); and send at least one trigger signal to an elevator signalization device (20) in order to adapt contrast (column 3, lines 19-57) in at least one section of a panel (16) of the elevator signalization device.
With respect to claim 18, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal comprises a first trigger signal and a second trigger signal (column 3, lines 19-57; 15 and from second input 18), and the at least one processing unit is configured to adapt contrast in the at least one section of the panel in response to the first trigger signal and the second trigger signal simultaneously (column 3, lines 39-56; combination of two).
With respect to claim 19, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal comprises a first trigger signal and a second trigger signal, and the at least one processing unit is configured to adapt contrast in the at least one section of the panel in response to the first trigger signal and the second trigger signal consecutively (column 3, lines 39-56; signal from 15 then 18 or vice-verse).
With respect to claim 24, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal comprises: a first trigger signal (column 3, lines 19-57; 15) configured to increase the contrast of a signalization button associated with the floor when an elevator car passes a floor; and
a second trigger signal (column 3, lines 19-57; second input 18) configured to decrease the contrast on the signalization button associated with the floor after the elevator car has passed the floor.
With respect to claim 25, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal comprises:
a first trigger signal (column 3, lines 19-57; 15) configured to indicate a deceleration phase of an elevator car to the elevator signalization device to provide a first color (column 5, lines 1-19) with a at least one section of the panel; and
a second trigger signal (column 3, lines 19-57; second input 18) configured to indicate an elevator car door operating phase to the elevator signalization device to provide a second color (column 5, lines 1-19) with the at least one section of the panel.
With respect to claim 26, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal is configured to indicate an elevator car (10) operating state to provide a first color (column 5, lines 1-19) with the at least one section of the panel.
With respect to claim 27, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one memory stores the program instructions that, when executed on the at least one processing unit (30), causes the controller to control the elevator signalization device (20) to provide the adapted contrast via a light-emitting panel (column 2, lines 18-25).
With respect to claim 29, Swonger teaches a method for an elevator signalization device, the method comprising:
receiving at least one trigger signal (column 3, lines 19-57; from input 15);
adapting contrast (column 3, lines 19-57) in at least one section of a panel (16) of the elevator signalization device (20) based on the at least one trigger signal that is received, the panel being configured to provide information associated with an elevator (10) system to a user (column 5, lines 22-42; display).
With respect to claim 30, Swonger teaches a method for a controller of an elevator system, the method comprising:
receiving at least one trigger event (column 3, lines 19-57; from input 15); and
sending at least one trigger signal to an elevator signalization device (20) in order to adapt contrast (column 3, lines 19-57) in at least one section of a panel (16) of the elevator signalization device.
With respect to claim 31, Swonger teaches a computer program comprising program (column 3, lines 39-56; software/instructions) code which, when executed by at least one processing unit (30), causes the at least one processing unit to perform the method of claim 29.
With respect to claim 32, Swonger teaches computer readable medium comprising a computer program (column 3, lines 39-56; software/instructions) comprising program code which, when executed by at least one processing unit (30), causes the at least one processing unit to perform the method of claim 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 12-13, 20-23, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swonger, Jr (US 5,124,702).
With respect to claim 4, Swonger teaches the processing unit is configured to: adapt the contrast in (column 3, lines 39-56; signal from 15) a first section of the panel in response to the first trigger signal.
Swonger does not teach wherein the at least one trigger signal comprises a first trigger signal indicating a passenger approaching the elevator signalization device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for elevator to sense passenger approaching, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 5, Swonger teaches wherein the first section of the panel comprises at least one edge (fig. 1, 16) of the panel.
With respect to claim 6, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one trigger signal comprises a second trigger signal indicating close proximity of the passenger to the elevator signalization device, and the processing unit is configured to: adapt the contrast in a second section of the panel in response to the second trigger signal (column 3, lines 39-56; signal from 18).
With respect to claim 7, Swonger teaches wherein the second section of the panel comprises at least one signalization button (19) provided by the panel.
With respect to claim 12, Swonger does not teach wherein the panel comprises a touch- sensitive display, wherein processing unit is configured to control the touch-sensitive display to provide the contrast.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for elevator to have touch screen display, since it has been held to be within the general skill of
a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 13, Swonger teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to provide the contrast by colors (column 5, lines 1-19) displayed on the touch- sensitive display.
With respect to claim 20, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one memory stores the program instructions (column 3, lines 39-56; software/instructions) that, when executed on the at least one processing unit, causes the controller to receive a first trigger event from a first sensor (18).
Swonger does not teach the first trigger event indicating an approaching passenger, wherein the at least one trigger signal is configured to adapt the contrast in a first section of the panel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for elevator to sense passenger approaching, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 21, Swonger teaches wherein the first section of the panel comprises at least one edge (fig. 1, 16) of the panel.
With respect to claim 22, Swonger teaches wherein the at least one memory (32) stores the program instructions that, when executed on the at least one processing unit (30), causes the controller to receive the second trigger event (column 3, lines 19-57; from second input 18), from the second sensor (18), wherein the at least one trigger signal to adapt the contrast in a second section of the panel.
Swonger does not teach second trigger signal indicating close proximity of the passenger to the elevator signalization device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for elevator to sense passenger approaching, since it has been held to
be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
With respect to claim 23, Swonger teaches wherein the second section of the panel comprises at least one signalization button (19) provided by the panel.
With respect to claim 28, Swonger does not teach wherein the at least one memory (32) stores the program instructions (column 3, lines 39-56; software/instructions) that, when executed on the at least one processing unit (30).
Swonger does not teach the controller to control the elevator signalization device to provide the adapted contrast via a touch-sensitive display.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to for elevator to have touch screen display, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to independent claims 1, 17, 29 and 20, applicant’s only argument is that applicant believes that Swonger does not teach, “a processing unit configured to: receive at least one trigger signal; and adapt contrast in at least one section of the panel based on the received at least one trigger signal.” Swonger teach the processing unit (30) and adapting contrast in one section of panel (column 3, lines 19-27). The examiner believes an illuminated LED display screen that changes, is considered to be “adapting contrast”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERICK D GLASS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837