DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments of 14 August 2025 is acknowledged. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 8 remains canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the claims overcame each and every drawing objection, specification objection, 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection, and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 19 February 2025. Claims 1-7 and 9 are presented for examination on the merits.
Drawings
The amended drawings were received on 14 August 2025. These drawings are acceptable and entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following structures must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claim 1, “wherein the support includes a front support portion facing the jaw-protecting portion of the protector”, it appears the jaw-protecting portion 34 is shown in the first embodiment of the helmet and Fig. 2, but not shown in the fifth embodiment of the helmet as described in para. 29 or in the amended drawings of Figs. 8-10 to support the claimed limitation;
Claim 1, “two opposite rear support portions facing the cheek-protecting portion of the shell”, it appears the cheek-protecting portion 24 is shown in the first embodiment of the helmet and Fig. 2, but not shown in or a part of the fifth embodiment of the helmet as described in para. 29 or in the amended drawings of Figs. 8-10 to support the claimed limitation;
Claim 1, “two opposite intermediate support portions connected between the front and the rear support portions and facing the neck-protecting portion of the protector”, it appears the neck-protecting portion 56 is shown in the third embodiment of the helmet and Fig. 6, but not shown in the fifth embodiment of the helmet as described in para. 29 or in the amended drawings of Figs. 8-10 to support the claimed limitation;
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendment filed 14 August 2025 is acknowledged and entered in part. The following recitation of amended para. 29 is acceptable: “two opposite rear support portions 73 facing the cheek-protecting portion 24 of the shell 20, and two opposite intermediate support portions 75 connected between the front and rear support portions 71, 73 and facing the neck-protecting portion 36 of the protector 30”.
The amendment filed 14 August 2025 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure in para. 29 is as follows: “The support 70 includes a front support portion 71 facing the jaw-protecting portion 34 of the protector 30”. Examiner notes that the fifth embodiment of the helmet as shown in Figs. 8-9 of para. 29 does not previously disclose a jaw protecting portion 34.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: amended para. 29, “neck-protecting portion 36 of the protector 30” should be amended to read “neck-protecting portion 56 of the protector 30”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as being indefinite or failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim how “The support 70 includes a front support portion 71 facing the jaw-protecting portion 34 of the protector 30”. After a full review of Applicant’s disclosure, it is unclear where the jaw-protecting portion 34 exists on the protector 30 in Fig. 8-9. It appears the jaw-protecting portion 34 exists on the protector 30 in the third embodiment of Fig. 6, as shown by a cavity in the protector 30, but no such cavity exists in the fifth embodiment of Fig. 8. It is further unclear which structure is the jaw-protecting portion 34 in Fig. 8. Applicant is respectfully advised to clarify where the jaw-protecting portion 34 exists on the protector 30 in the fifth embodiment of the helmet and in at least Fig. 8. For examination purposes, Examiner interprets a portion on the protector 30 of Fig. 8 as a jaw-protecting portion (see annotated Fig. of the rejection of claim 1 below). Examiner notes the term “portion” is very broad and merely means “a part of a whole; fraction”, see defn. no. 1 of Collins English Dictionary- Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition, 2014, entry via thefreedictionary.com/portion. Claim 1 is rejected as best understood by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durham et al. (US 2017/0318893 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Durham discloses a helmet (10; Figs. 10-11), comprising:
a shell (20) having a body (22) and a front frame (100) integrally disposed at a front edge of the body (Fig. 10 shows that once 20, 22, and 100 are attached, 100 is “integrally disposed” at a front edge of 22; it has been held that the term “integral” is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding; see annotated Fig. 10 below showing a front edge of the body), the body having a head-protecting portion (24 of 22; Fig. 10) and two opposing cheek-protecting portions (see annotated Fig. 10 below of left and right cheek-protecting portions), the two cheek- protecting portions extending downward (see annotated Fig. 10 below), integrally from left and right ends of the head-protecting portion (see annotated Fig. 10 below), respectively;
a protector (100, 32) having a jaw-protecting portion (110, 120, and 130 of 100) and a neck-protecting portion (32), the neck- protecting portion extending backward, integrally from a back end of the jaw-protecting portion (once assembled, 32 is extending backward and integrally from 124; the location of 124 is a back end of the jaw-protecting portion), wherein a top edge of the neck-protecting portion of the protector (see annotated Fig. 10 below) connects to bottom edges of the cheek-protecting portions of the shell (once assembled, the top edge of the neck-protecting portion shown in annotated Fig. 10 below connects to bottom edges of the cheek-protecting portions of the shell shown in annotated Fig. 10 above; the bottom edges are the left and right edge portions shown in annotated Fig. 10 above);
and a foam liner (40; para. 28 discloses 40 is made of expanded foam) disposed on an entire inner side of the shell (Fig. 10 as assembled places 40 on an entire inner side of 20, and 26 is the entire inner side of 20 that faces 40) and on an entire inner side of the protector (Fig. 10 shows 134 as an inner side of the protector and 40 is on “an entire inner side” because 40 attaches to 134 when assembled) to couple the shell and the protector together (Fig. 10 as assembled; paras. 28 and 36, where 40 lines 20 and 40 couples with 100 when assembled);
wherein the helmet further comprises a support (150, 160) disposed within the protector (Fig. 10) and enclosed entirely by the foam liner (Fig. 10 & paras. 38-39, where 150 and 160 are co-molded with foam liner 40, and therefore, “enclosed entirely by the foam liner” inasmuch as claimed);
wherein bottom edges of the front frame connect to a top edge of the jaw-protecting portion of the protector (Fig. 10 as assembled; see annotated Fig. 10 below of a top edge of 100);
the support is disposed within the protector (para. 41 discloses “the right flange 150 and the left flange 160 are offset from the exterior 112, the right extension plate 152 is thinner than the right padding engagement surface 124, the left extension plate 162 is thinner than the left padding engagement surface 134”, and therefore, is “disposed within the protector” because it is narrower than the thickness profile of 100 at 124 and 134) and faces side sections of the jaw- protecting portion (Fig. 10), wherein the support includes a front support portion (see annotated Fig. 10 below) facing the jaw-protecting portion of the protector (see annotated Fig. 10 below, where the annotated front support portion faces 110, 120, and 130 of 100; Examiner notes the term “portion”, used in this limitation and hereinafter, is very broad and merely means “a part of a whole; fraction”, see defn. no. 1 of Collins English Dictionary- Complete and Unabridged, 12th Edition, 2014, entry via thefreedictionary.com/portion), two opposite rear support portions (see annotated Fig. 10 below) facing the cheek-protecting portion of the shell (see annotated Fig. 10 above and below, which show the two opposite rear support portions facing the annotated cheek-protecting portion of the shell; see Fig. 10 as assembled), and two opposite intermediate support portions connected between the front and rear support portions and facing the neck-protecting portion of the protector (see annotated Fig. 10 below and Fig. 10 as assembled).
Regarding claim 2, Durham discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the protector is formed by connecting two opposing curved bars (see annotated Fig. 10 below), front ends of the two curved bars (see annotated Fig. 10 below, where the front two ends are the ends facing toward 110) are connected to jointly form the jaw- protecting portion (Fig. 10), and back ends of the two curved bars (see annotated Fig. 10 below, where the back ends of the two opposing curved bars are facing towards 32) are connected to jointly form the neck- protecting portion (Fig. 10 as assembled and annotated Fig. 10 below show the back ends of the two curved bars to connect to 32 via 40, and therefore “connected to jointly form the neck-protecting portion” inasmuch as claimed).
Regarding claim 3, Durham discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the protector has two opposing curved bars (see annotated Fig. 10 above of claim 2 rejection) and a terminal cover (para. 44 discloses a vent defined at 110), front ends of the two curved bars are connected to the terminal cover such that the front ends of the two curved bars and the terminal cover jointly form the jaw-protecting portion (Fig. 10 & para. 44 as assembled; see annotated Fig. 10 above of claim 2 rejection, where the front two ends are the ends facing toward 110), and back ends of the two curved bars (the rearmost ends of the two curved bars shown in annotated Fig. 10 above of claim 2 rejection) are connected to jointly form the neck-protecting portion (Fig. 10 as assembled, the rearmost ends of the two curved bars shown in annotated Fig. 10 below connect to 32 via 40, and therefore “connected to jointly form the neck-protecting portion” inasmuch as claimed).
Regarding claim 4, Durham discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the protector is annular (Fig. 10 as assembled shows 100 and 32 as annular).
Regarding claim 5, Durham discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein a plurality of conical portions (paras. 38-39 disclose a screw in both 154 and 164) facing the protector (paras. 38-39 disclose a screw in both 154 and 164, and once assembled, the screws are “facing the protector” inasmuch as claimed) is disposed on a side of the support (paras. 38-39 disclose a screw in both 154 and 164, and once assembled, the screws is/are “disposed on a side of the support”, and further disposed on a left or right side, inasmuch as claimed).
Regarding claim 6, Durham discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the protector has a plurality of hollowed-out recesses (see annotated Fig. 10 below), and the foam liner is disposed on the inner side of the protector except for the hollowed- out recesses (see annotated Fig. 10 below).
Regarding claim 7, Durham discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the shell has a plurality of hollowed-out recesses (see annotated Fig. 3 below), and the foam liner is disposed on the inner side of the shell except for the hollowed-out recesses (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 9, Durham discloses the helmet of claim 1, wherein the support is disposed within the protector (para. 41 discloses “the right flange 150 and the left flange 160 are offset from the exterior 112, the right extension plate 152 is thinner than the right padding engagement surface 124, the left extension plate 162 is thinner than the left padding engagement surface 134”, and therefore, is “disposed within the protector” because it is narrower than the thickness profile of 100 at 124 and 134) and faces a front end of the jaw-protecting portion (Fig. 10, where the front end of 100 is the surface of 134, and therefore, the protector faces 134).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 14 August 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In view of applicant’s amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.Q.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/KHOA D HUYNH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732