DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The allowable subject matter within a combination of Claims 1 and 18 is: A second reception region having a first reception aperture and a second reception aperture (Claim 1), wherein “tops of the first and second reception apertures being coplanar with each other, and bottoms of the first and second reception apertures being coplanar with each other” (Claim 18).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Examiner cannot locate any additional patent or non-patent literature whose disclosures in combination or alone are obvious over the claimed invention set forth by the combination of Claims 1 and 18. The closest prior art to the allowable subject matter is Breitkopf et al., DE 102013222090 A1 (previously cited).
Breitkopf discloses a cell connection unit (CCU) comprising:
a plurality of busbars (busbar 12 [0022-0023], Figs. 2-4 and 6-8), each busbar of the plurality of busbars being connected to cell terminals of at least two battery cells of the plurality of aligned battery cells ([0019]); and
a plurality of carrier rails (holding element 15’ having holding arms 21 and 21’ [0026-0028], Figs. 5-8), at least some carrier rails of the plurality of carrier rails being mechanically connected to at least three busbars of the plurality of busbars (busbars 12 are fastened in the middle of the respective holding arm by fastening elements 25 [0028]);
a first reception region at one end and connected to one busbar of the at least three busbars of the plurality of busbars ([0023-0028]), and receives the one busbar (Figs. 5.1 and 7.1-7.3), and
a separate second reception region at another end (Annotated Fig. 7.3) connected to two busbars of the at least three busbars of the plurality of busbars, the second reception region physically separating the two busbars and electrically insulating the two busbars from each other, and the second reception region receiving the two busbars from opposite directions ([0020, 0028], Figs. 7.1-7.3);
wherein the first reception region has a U-shape that wraps around a bottom surface, a side surface, and a top surface of a middle portion of the one busbar (recess 23 busbar 12 is held on one side in an undercut provided in the wall 24 of the recess 23 [0023]; see U-shape in Fig. 5.1),
wherein the second reception region has a first reception aperture (recess 23) and a second reception aperture (receiving hole 26 [0023]) shifted with respect to the first reception aperture along a lengthwise direction of a carrier rail of the at least some carrier rails the first reception aperture and the second reception aperture accommodating the two busbars of the at least three busbars (Fig. 7), and
wherein each carrier rail of the plurality of carrier rails extends in a lengthwise direction that is orthogonal to a lengthwise direction of each busbar of the plurality of busbars (Figs. 6-8).
Breitkopf – Annotated Fig. 7.3
Regarding the Claim 18 limitation “the first and second reception apertures of the second reception region are aligned along a direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of one of the battery cells,” Breitkopf’s first reception aperture (recess 23) and second reception aperture (receiving bore 26) meet the limitation (See Examiner’s Annotated Figs. 2 and 5.1). However, Breitkopf does not disclose “tops of the first and second reception apertures being coplanar with each other, and bottoms of the first and second reception apertures being coplanar with each other” which is also required by Claim 18.
Breitkopf – Annotated Figs. 2 and 5.1
The Claim 18 limitation “tops of the first and second reception apertures being coplanar with each other, and bottoms of the first and second reception apertures being coplanar with each other” is best shown by the orientation of the first reception aperture (34) and second reception aperture (35) in Applicant’s Fig. 5, annotated by Examiner:
17/162,085 –Annotated Fig. 5
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to modify Breitkopf’s first and second reception apertures such that tops of the first and second reception apertures are coplanar with each other, with bottoms of the first and second reception apertures also coplanar with each other, as required by Claim 18. Such a modification would require “a substantial reconstruction and redesign of the elements” disclosed by Breitkopf [MPEP 2143.01 VI].
For example, Breitkopf’s second reception aperture is a through-hole in a carrier rail (receiving bore 26 in holding arm 21), to receive a busbar (rod-shaped busbar fastener 25). To meet the limitations of Claim 18, one would need to “close” a bottom portion of the second reception aperture (26) to create a “bottom of the second reception aperture” coplanar with a bottom of the first aperture. However, doing so would modify Breitkopf’s “through-hole” design and block/prevent the second aperture from receiving the busbar. Such a modification would be “a change in the basic principle under which the construction [Breitkopf’s through-hole] was designed to operate” [MPEP 2143.01 VI], and would create a structure that no longer met the Claim 1 requirement for the second aperture to receive a busbar.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amended claims and corresponding arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered. Applicant has added new dependent Claims 17-21. The limitations for Claims 17, 18, 20, and 21 are supported by the instant drawings. The limitations of Claim 19 are not clearly written, and as best understood by the Examiner, do not appear to be supported by the instant disclosure. See 35 USC 112(a) and (b) Sections in this action for additional detail regarding Claim 19.
Applicant’s amendments include changing independent Claim 1 to require "at least some carrier rails of the plurality of carrier rails being mechanically connected to at least four busbars of the plurality of busbars." Examiner agrees the limitation regarding “at least four busbars” is not taught or suggested by the references cited in the previous rejection for Claim 1 (Breitkopf in view of Lee). However, after further review of the written specification, the claimed “four busbars” are not supported by the written description. See 35 USC 112(a) Section in this action for additional detail regarding Claim 1.
During a phone discussion on 1/23/2026 with Lilia Lord, Attorney of Record for Applicant, Examiner Garcia recommended amending the claims to place the Application in condition for allowance. After an updated search and consideration of the amended claims, Examiner recommends Applicant submit the following After Final amendments to place the application in condition for allowance:
Amend Claim 1 by changing all “four busbars” recitations to “three busbars” on lines 6, 10, 12, and 21 of the claim (see 35 USC 112(a) Section in this action for additional detail)
Add the allowable subject matter of Claim 18 to Claim 1
Applicant may add the entirety of Claim 18 to Claim 1 and subsequently cancel Claim 18; OR
Add the allowable subject matter of Claim 18 (“tops of the first and second reception apertures being coplanar with each other, and bottoms of the first and second reception apertures being coplanar with each other”) to Claim 1, and keep the limitation “the first and second reception apertures of the second reception region are aligned along a direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of one of the battery cells” in Claim 18.
Cancel claims directed to non-elected invention (Claims 13-15, currently withdrawn)
Cancel Claim 19 (see 35 USC 112(a) and (b) Sections in this action for additional detail)
If desired, Applicant may request an interview with the Examiner to review and discuss the proposed claim amendments prior to the After Final submission.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 17 recites “the one busbar is between two parallel portions of the U-shape of the first reception region, the two parallel portions overlapping two major surfaces of the one busbar, respectively.” The instant disclosure does not provide a special definition of “major surfaces of the one busbar,” and therefore the “two major surfaces” are being interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation as “two surfaces of the bus bar with the largest surface area.”
For a rectangular busbar such as Breitkopf’s busbar 12, the “two major surfaces” are upward and downward-facing surfaces. Edge surfaces of the busbar would be considered “minor surfaces.”
Breitkopf – Annotated Fig. 7
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-12 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “four busbars” on lines 6, 10, 12, and 21 of the claim. Although it may appear the inset carrier rails are mechanically connected to at least four busbars (see inset carrier rail 37 and inset busbars 22 in Fig. 1), Applicant’s written description does not support limitations regarding “four busbars,” including the limitation “at least some carrier rails of the plurality of carrier rails being mechanically connected to at least four busbars of the plurality of busbars” (lines 5-6).
Applicant’s disclosure only provides support for the second reception region (32) having a structure to accommodate two separate busbars (see [0039-0040] of the instant specification and apertures 34 and 35 in Fig. 5). The disclosure does not state the first reception region (31) also has the same structure (apertures 34 and 35) to accommodate two additional busbars, in order to arrive at the claimed “at least four busbars” per carrier rail.
17/162,085 – Fig. 1 (left) and Fig. 5 (right)
To overcome the rejection, please change all recitations of “four busbars” in Claim 1 to “three busbars.”
Claims 2-12 and 17-21 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 recites “four busbars” on line 2 of the claim. Although Applicant may change “four busbars” to “three busbars” to overcome this rejection, the claim also lacks clarity. See 35 USC 112(b) Section for additional detail. To expedite a forthcoming Notice of Allowance, Examiner recommends Applicant cancel Claim 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 requires connection portions of the two busbars be “adjacent to each along a direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of one of the battery cells” (see lines 1-3 of the claim). The limitation “adjacent to each along a direction” is unclear.
Examiner believes “adjacent to each along a direction” is a typographical error for “adjacent to each other along a direction,” in an attempt to claim an orientation of two connection portions on a busbar. However, it is possible “each” is in reference to another claimed component. For example, it is possible connection portions on the two busbars are adjacent to each guide, latch, and/or reception aperture “along a direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of one of the battery cells.”
For the purpose of this action, Claim 19 will be examined under the broadest reasonable interpretation of “connection portions of the two busbars of the at least four busbars are adjacent to each other along a direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of one of the battery cells.” Examiner notes Claim 19 in its current form is not allowable subject matter. To expedite a forthcoming Notice of Allowance, Examiner recommends Applicant cancel Claim 19 instead of amending the claim.
Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breitkopf et al., DE 102013222090 A1, and further in view of Lee, US 20150171405 A1 (references previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Breitkopf discloses a cell connection unit (CCU) for connecting a plurality of aligned battery cells of a battery module (a cell contacting system [0004-0007]), the CCU comprising:
a plurality of busbars (busbar 12 [0022-0023], Figs. 2-4 and 6-8), each busbar of the plurality of busbars being connected to cell terminals of at least two battery cells of the plurality of aligned battery cells ([0019], Fig. 2); and
a plurality of carrier rails (holding element 15’ having holding arms 21 and 21’ [0026-0028], Figs. 5-8), at least some carrier rails of the plurality of carrier rails being mechanically connected to at least three busbars of the plurality of busbars (busbars 12 are fastened in the middle of the respective holding arm by fastening elements 25 [0028], Figs. 6-8; see Annotated Fig. 7 for “some carrier rails of the plurality of carrier rails” and connection to three busbars)
Breitkopf Annotated Fig. 7.1 - “some carrier rails of the plurality of carrier rails”
Breitkopf Annotated Fig. 7.2 - “Some carrier rails” connected to three separate busbars
wherein each of the at least some carrier rails of the plurality of carrier rails is connected to three separate busbars of the plurality of busbars (see Annotated Figs. 7.1 and 7.2) and includes:
a first reception region at one end (see Annotated Figs. 5 and 7.3) and connected to one busbar of the at least three busbars of the plurality of busbars ([0023-0028]), and receives the one busbar (see Annotated Figs. 5.1 and 7.1-7.3), and
a separate second reception region at another end (see Annotated Figs. 5 and 7.3) connected to two busbars of the at least three busbars of the plurality of busbars, the second reception region physically separating the two busbars and electrically insulating the two busbars from each other, and the second reception region receiving the two busbars from opposite directions ([0020, 0028], Fig. 7; Annotated Figs. 5.1 and 7.1-7.3),
wherein the first reception region has a U-shape that wraps around a bottom surface, a side surface, and a top surface of a middle portion of the one busbar (recess 23 adapted to the contour of the busbar 12, busbar 12 is held on one side in an undercut provided in the wall 24 of the recess 23 [0023], Annotated Fig. 5.2),
wherein the second reception region has a first reception aperture (recess 23) and a second reception aperture shifted with respect to the first reception aperture along a lengthwise direction of a carrier rail of the at least some carrier rails (receiving hole 26 [0023]), first reception aperture and second reception aperture accommodating the two busbars of the at least three busbars (Fig. 7), and
wherein each carrier rail of the plurality of carrier rails extends in a lengthwise direction that is orthogonal to a lengthwise direction of each busbar of the plurality of busbars (Figs. 6-8).
Breitkopf et al., DE 102013222090 A1 – Annotated Fig. 7.3 (left) and Annotated Fig. 5.1 (right)
Breitkopf et al., DE 102013222090 A1 – Annotated Fig. 5.2 (undercut not shown [0023])
Breitkopf does not disclose the second reception region extends completely between the two busbars to physically separate the two busbars. However, this limitation is disclosed by Lee.
Lee discloses a busbar holder with an insulating member extending completely between two busbars (insulating member 124 and busbars 130 [0016, 0051-0055], Figs. 3-5). Lee discloses the insulating member physically separates the t busbars to prevent a short circuit ([0016, 0055]), which is consistent with Breitkopf’s preference to insulate the busbars from each other (Breitkopf [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an insulating member as taught by Lee, to the second reception region of each carrier rail of Breitkopf, in order to physically separate the adjacent busbars and prevent a short circuit.
Lee, US 20150171405 A1 – Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 2, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses one carrier rail of the at least some carrier rails of the plurality of carrier rails extends in a longitudinal direction (Breitkopf [0021], Fig. 7), and the first reception region includes a reception space oriented in the longitudinal direction of the one carrier rail (Breitkopf, recess 23 [0021-0023], see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses one carrier rail of the at least some carrier rails of the plurality of carrier rails extends in a longitudinal direction (Breitkopf, [0021]), and the first reception aperture is oriented in a first direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the one carrier rail (see annotated Breitkopf Fig. 5.3) and the second reception aperture is oriented in a second direction opposite to the first direction (see annotated Breitkopf Fig. 5.3).
Breitkopf et al., DE 102013222090 A1 – Annotated Fig. 5.3
Regarding Claim 4, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses the plurality of carrier rails are formed of a plastic material (Breitkopf, [0007, 0020]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses the plurality of busbars and the plurality of carrier rails are interconnected in a rigid structure, for automated mounting of the CCU to the battery module (Breitkopf, cell contacting system is easy to handle during assembly on the battery module, fitting types include locking and force-fitting [0020-0023]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses the first reception aperture includes a guide that is configured to receive a corresponding connection portion of the busbar (Breitkopf, wall 24 of recess 23 [0023], Fig. 5), and a latch that is configured to latch the corresponding connection portion of the busbar (Breitkopf, undercut provided in wall 24 [0023], Fig. 5), and
the second reception aperture includes a guide that is configured to receive a corresponding connection portion of the busbar (Breitkopf, receiving hole 26 [0023], Fig. 5) and a latch that is configured to latch the corresponding connection portion of the busbar (Breitkopf, busbars have a fastening element 25 at the ends, busbars can also be attached by a screw [0028], Fig. 7).
Regarding the limitation “configured to latch the corresponding connection portion of the busbar,” a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP 2111.02, 2112.01 and 2114-2115.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses each busbar of the plurality of the busbars includes a first connection portion protruding from a first short side thereof and a second connection portion protruding from a second short side thereof opposite the first short side (Breitkopf, all busbars 12 preferably have fastening elements 25 both in the middle and at the ends thereof [0028], Fig, 7), and the first and second connection portions are accommodated in corresponding ones of the first and second reception apertures (Breitkopf, busbar end regions are attached or attachable to two holding arms 21' [0028]).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses the one busbar is between two parallel portions of the U-shape of the first reception region (see annotations), the two parallel portions overlapping two major surfaces of the one busbar, respectively (two parallel portions cover upward and downward-facing surfaces of busbar 12 in the vertical direction, see annotations).
Breitkopf – Figs. 5 and 7 Annotated by Examiner
Regarding Claim 19, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses connection portions of the two busbars of the at least three busbars are adjacent to each other along a direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of one of the battery cells (see Figs. 2 and 7 Annotated by Examiner).
Breitkopf – Figs. 2 and 7 Annotated by Examiner
Regarding Claim 20, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses each of the plurality of carrier rails has a linear shape in its entirety (Breitkopf, holding arms 21 and 21’ [0026-0028]; see linear shape in Figs. 5 and 7), the linear shape extending along a direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of one of the battery cells (see Breitkopf Figs. 1, 5, 7), and the first and second reception regions being at opposite sides of the linear shape along a longitudinal direction of the linear shape (first and second reception regions extend in longitudinal directions, towards opposing ends of the carrier rail).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Examiner notes the carrier rails (37) of the instant invention are “a length of one of the battery cells along a direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of the one of the battery cells” (see excerpt of instant Fig. 3) in order for the bus bars (21/22) to reach the terminals (12) of each battery:
17/162,085 – Fig. 3
While modified Breitkopf does not specifically disclose “a length of each of the plurality of carrier rails substantially equals a length of one of the battery cells along a direction parallel to a longitudinal direction of the one of the battery cells,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the length of the carrier rails, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Breitkopf as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Matsumura et al., US 20200020913 A1 (see enclosed PTO-892).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses inset busbars connected to cell terminals of "2n" number of battery cells (Breitkopf, [0004-0005, 0019-0020]) and inset carrier rails (Breitkopf, holding arms 21 and 21’). Modified Breitkopf does not disclose two terminal busbars connected to cell terminals of "n" number of battery cells, and two terminal carrier rails forming terminal ends of the CCU. However, Matsumura discloses this limitation.
Matsumura discloses a battery module comprising a battery connection module 20 that includes two terminal busbars connected to cell terminals of "n" number of battery cells (external connection electrode bus bars 21A [0039], Figs. 1 and 3), and two terminal carrier rails forming terminal ends of the connection module (pair of fixing members 30A and 30B [0054-0055], Fig. 3). Matsumura discloses the external connection electrode bus bars 21A are fixed and held by retainer portions of the fixing members, and the external connection electrode bus bars 21A are connection points for the battery module to provide power ([0058, 0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add two terminal busbars and two terminal carrier rails, as taught by Matsumura, to the cell connection unit of modified Breitkopf, in order to support the terminals and provide external electrical connection points to the module.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf discloses the middle portion of each inset busbar is accommodated in a corresponding reception space of a corresponding first reception region (Breitkopf, the busbar 12 is expediently held in the middle of its longitudinal extent in the recess 23 [0023]).
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Breitkopf as applied to the Claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Nakamori, US 20110143179 A1 (provided on previous PTO-892).
Regarding Claims 8 and 12, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf does not disclose two terminal carrier rails each including two third reception regions at terminal ends thereof, and each third reception region includes a single reception aperture (Claim 8), and the two terminal carrier rails further include a battery module housing attachment (Claim 12). However, these limitations are disclosed by Nakamori.
Nakamori discloses a battery case 1 comprising a battery cover 20 and a thin-wall resin battery tray 10 loaded with a plurality of batteries V ([0024-0025]], Fig. 2 and 3B), wherein the battery tray 10 is surrounded by a peripheral side wall 12, and is provided with a plurality of first partition walls 125 extending in the lateral direction of the battery tray 10 ([0027], Fig. 2). Nakamori discloses two terminal carrier rails (end pieces of the battery tray 10, disclosed as end parts of the peripheral side wall 12 [0028]) each including two third reception regions at terminal ends thereof (flange portion 13 is provided extendedly outwardly [0028]), and each third reception region includes a single reception aperture (six reception apertures highlighted in Annotated Fig. 2 below).
Nakamori, US 20110143179 A1 – Annotated Fig. 2
Nakamori further discloses a cover-side flange portion 23 on the battery cover 20, wherein the battery cover 20 is mounted on the upper side of the battery tray 10. The cover-side flange portion 23 of the battery cover 20 is disposed on the flange portion 13 of the battery tray 10. The cover-side flange portion 23 and the flange portion 13 are fixed on the housing-shaped frame 30 by blind nuts 51 and bolts 52 ([0033]). Nakamori discloses the battery case design has high strength, high rigidity and higher seal compared to adhesive-based sealing methods ([0008-0009]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the design of the end pieces of the battery tray, wherein the two terminal carrier rails each including two third reception regions at terminal ends thereof, and each third reception region includes a single reception aperture (Claim 8) and the two terminal carrier rails further include a battery module housing attachment (Claim 12), as taught by Nakamori, as the terminal ends in the cell connection unit of modified Breitkopf, in order to create a battery casing design that offers high strength, rigidity, and superior sealing capabilities.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Breitkopf as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Imai et al., US 20170149225 A1 (provided on previous PTO-892).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Breitkopf discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Breitkopf does not disclose some of the carrier rails include a module cover mount, a temperature sensor mount, or cable clips. However, this limitation is disclosed by Imai et al.
Imai discloses a busbar module includes a plurality of busbars 6 supported by a busbar holding unit 10 ([0038-0041], Figs. 1 and 2). Imai discloses the busbar module also comprises voltage detection wires W, and the link portion 8 and wire routing body 20 (akin to the claimed “cable clips”) not only holds and guides the wire to each battery, but the routing body also assists with supporting and stabilizing the busbar 6 ([0043-0046, 0051-0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add cable clips to some of the carrier rails, as taught by Imai, in the cell connection unit of modified Breitkopf, in order to secure wiring such as voltage detection wiring to the cell connection unit, and also offer additional stability to Breitkopf’s busbars.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721