DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 10/22/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-13, 16, 24-25, 27, 29 and 32-45 are pending.
Claims 3, 10, 14-15, 17-23, 26, 28 and 30-31 are canceled.
Claims 2 and 38 are objected to.
Claims 11-13, 16, 25, 27 and 32-35 are allowable.
Claims 1, 4-9, 24, 27, 29, 36-37 and 39-45 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210392620 A1) in view of Hou et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210076433 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Ashraf and Hou.
In regard to Claim 1, Ashraf teaches A method comprising: determining, by a wireless device (performed by a UE for SL transmission, Para. 84, FIGS. 13, 14), that a remaining set of available candidate resources (Referring to FIG. 14, the operation to control 1304 transmission of the data and the CSI report and/or CSI-RS to use the at least one resource that is selected within the overlapping region of the CSI selection window and the data selection window, can include: selecting 1400 a first resource for transmission of the data within the overlapping region of the CSI selection window and the data selection window, Para. 97, FIGS. 13, 14), after applying a first exclusion procedure (The operations identify 1302 a data selection window containing candidate resources for use in SL transmission of data, Para. 84, FIG. 13) [the examiner notes that identifying a certain resource indicates excluding other resources] to an initial set of available candidate resources (and which at least partially overlaps a region of the CSI selection window, Para. 84, FIG. 13) configured for sidelink transmission (FIG. 13 illustrates operations that can be performed by a UE for SL transmission of a CSI report and/or a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS), Para. 84, FIG. 13), is smaller than a threshold (The selection of the first resource is performed responsive to determining that any one or more of the following conditions is satisfied: an associated reference signal received power and/or a received signal strength indication measurement is below a first threshold value, Para. 99, 101, FIG. 14).
Ashraf teaches applying, based on the determining that the remaining set is smaller than the threshold (The selection of the first resource is performed responsive to determining that any one or more of the following conditions is satisfied: an associated reference signal received power and/or a received signal strength indication measurement is below a first threshold value, Para. 99, 101, FIG. 14), based on a second threshold (the selection of the second resource is performed responsive to determining that any one or more of the following conditions is satisfied: the associated reference signal received power and/or the received signal strength indication measurement is below a second threshold value, Para. 99, 102, FIG. 14), and to the initial set of available candidate resources (within the overlapping region of the CSI selection window and the data selection window, Para. 97, FIG. 14), a second exclusion procedure to determine a second remaining set of candidate resources (selecting 1402 a second resource for transmission of the CSI report and/or CSI-RS, Para. 97, FIG. 14) [the examiner notes that identifying a certain resource indicates excluding other resources].
Ashraf teaches sending, to a second wireless device (UE2 has both CSI report and data to transmit to UE1, Para. 66) and via a resource selected (Performed by a UE for SL transmission of a CSI report and/or a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS), Para. 84, FIGS. 13, 14. Initiating 1406 transmission of the CSI report and/or CSI-RS using the second resource, Para. 97, FIGS. 13, 14) based on the applying the second exclusion procedure (selecting 1402 a second resource for transmission of the CSI report and/or CSI-RS, Para. 97, FIG. 14) [the examiner notes that identifying a certain resource indicates excluding other resources], at least one sidelink message (Performed by a UE for SL transmission of a CSI report and/or a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS), Para. 84, FIGS. 13, 14. Initiating 1406 transmission of the CSI report and/or CSI-RS using the second resource, Para. 97, FIGS. 13, 14).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Ashraf fails to explicitly teach applying, based on the determining that the remaining set is smaller than the threshold, based on a second threshold, a second exclusion procedure.
Hou teaches applying, based on the determining that the remaining set is smaller than the threshold (performing both of the following sets of steps (a) and (b): where the set of steps (a) comprises: (ii) comparing the determined signal power for said RB with a selected, calculated or predetermined first threshold (Th0), Para. 22), based on a second threshold (where the set of steps b comprises: (iv) comparing the determined difference in signal power between the RBs comprising the pair of RBs with a selected, calculated or predetermined second threshold (Th1)), a second exclusion procedure ((v) identifying any candidate RB pair where the determined difference in signal power between the RBs comprising the pair of RBs is greater than the second threshold (Th1) and excluding any such candidate RB pair from further processing, Para. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hou with the teachings of Ashraf since Hou provides a technique for organizing utilization thresholds and subsequent actions into a sequence of steps, which can be introduced into the system of Ashref to permit threshold values and associated resource selections to be performed sequentially for a more organized utilization.
In regard to Claim 37, Ashraf teaches An apparatus (performed by a UE for SL transmission, Para. 84, FIGS. 13, 14) comprising: one or more processors (processor circuit 2003, Para. 172, FIG. 20); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the apparatus (The memory circuit 2005 stores computer readable program code that when executed by the processor circuit 2003 causes the processor circuit 2003 to perform operations, Para. 172, FIG. 20) to: determine that a remaining set of available candidate resources (Referring to FIG. 14, the operation to control 1304 transmission of the data and the CSI report and/or CSI-RS to use the at least one resource that is selected within the overlapping region of the CSI selection window and the data selection window, can include: selecting 1400 a first resource for transmission of the data within the overlapping region of the CSI selection window and the data selection window, Para. 97, FIGS. 13, 14), after applying a first exclusion procedure (The operations identify 1302 a data selection window containing candidate resources for use in SL transmission of data, Para. 84, FIG. 13) [the examiner notes that identifying a certain resource indicates excluding other resources] to an initial set of available candidate resources (and which at least partially overlaps a region of the CSI selection window, Para. 84, FIG. 13) configured for sidelink transmission (FIG. 13 illustrates operations that can be performed by a UE for SL transmission of a CSI report and/or a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS), Para. 84, FIG. 13), is smaller than a threshold (The selection of the first resource is performed responsive to determining that any one or more of the following conditions is satisfied: an associated reference signal received power and/or a received signal strength indication measurement is below a first threshold value, Para. 99, 101, FIG. 14).
Ashraf teaches apply, based on the determining that the remaining set is smaller than the threshold (The selection of the first resource is performed responsive to determining that any one or more of the following conditions is satisfied: an associated reference signal received power and/or a received signal strength indication measurement is below a first threshold value, Para. 99, 101, FIG. 14), based on a second threshold (the selection of the second resource is performed responsive to determining that any one or more of the following conditions is satisfied: the associated reference signal received power and/or the received signal strength indication measurement is below a second threshold value, Para. 99, 102, FIG. 14), and to the initial set of available candidate resources (within the overlapping region of the CSI selection window and the data selection window, Para. 97, FIG. 14), a second exclusion procedure to determine a second remaining set of candidate resources (selecting 1402 a second resource for transmission of the CSI report and/or CSI-RS, Para. 97, FIG. 14) [the examiner notes that identifying a certain resource indicates excluding other resources].
Ashraf teaches send, to a wireless device (UE2 has both CSI report and data to transmit to UE1, Para. 66) and via a resource selected (Performed by a UE for SL transmission of a CSI report and/or a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS), Para. 84, FIGS. 13, 14. Initiating 1406 transmission of the CSI report and/or CSI-RS using the second resource, Para. 97, FIGS. 13, 14) based on the applying the second exclusion procedure (selecting 1402 a second resource for transmission of the CSI report and/or CSI-RS, Para. 97, FIG. 14) [the examiner notes that identifying a certain resource indicates excluding other resources], at least one sidelink message (Performed by a UE for SL transmission of a CSI report and/or a CSI reference signal (CSI-RS), Para. 84, FIGS. 13, 14. Initiating 1406 transmission of the CSI report and/or CSI-RS using the second resource, Para. 97, FIGS. 13, 14).
Although providing an implicit teaching, Ashraf fails to explicitly teach apply, based on the determining that the remaining set is smaller than the threshold, based on a second threshold, a second exclusion procedure.
Hou teaches apply, based on the determining that the remaining set is smaller than the threshold (performing both of the following sets of steps (a) and (b): where the set of steps (a) comprises: (ii) comparing the determined signal power for said RB with a selected, calculated or predetermined first threshold (Th0), Para. 22), based on a second threshold (where the set of steps b comprises: (iv) comparing the determined difference in signal power between the RBs comprising the pair of RBs with a selected, calculated or predetermined second threshold (Th1)), a second exclusion procedure ((v) identifying any candidate RB pair where the determined difference in signal power between the RBs comprising the pair of RBs is greater than the second threshold (Th1) and excluding any such candidate RB pair from further processing, Para. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hou with the teachings of Ashraf since Hou provides a technique for organizing utilization thresholds and subsequent actions into a sequence of steps, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf to permit threshold values and associated resource selections to be performed sequentially for a more organized utilization.
Claim(s) 4-6, 9, 39-41 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf in view of Hou, and further in view of He et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200037343 A1), hereafter referred to as He.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches selected resource.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach selected resource is included in a selection window.
He teaches the selected resource is included in a selection window (a sidelink (SL) may convey signals from UEs to other UEs, Para. 13. Where nCHRBstart and noffset are the starting RB index of the PSCCH+PSSCH resource pool and the offset in number of RBs relative to the starting RB index of the PSCCH+PSSCH resource pool, Para. 431, FIG. 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since He provides a technique for arranging sidelink resources among UEs, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure proper coordination among UEs in sensing and selecting resources for transmissions that reduces interference between communication among UEs.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the initial set of available candidate resources.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach receiving at least one first message, wherein the at least one first message is associated with sidelink resource selection and comprises an indication for determining at least one reservation period of a plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods associated with the initial set of available candidate resources.
He teaches receiving at least one first message, wherein the at least one first message is associated with sidelink resource selection and comprises an indication for determining at least one reservation period of a plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods associated with the initial set of available candidate resources (PSCCH resource m in slot k is associated with the feedback channel resource n in slot k+2 with a slot offset koffset of 2 relative to PSCCH resource m in slot k, Para. 433, FIG. 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since He provides a technique for determine a specific resource with respect to a control channel, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure that a proper resource among multiple available resources with respect assignments is utilized in conjunction with the specific control channel.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the initial set of available candidate resources.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach receiving at least one first message, wherein the at least one first message indicates a sidelink communication resource pool comprising: a first slot resource not being monitored by the wireless device; and at least one candidate resource included in the initial set of available candidate resources.
He teaches receiving at least one first message, wherein the at least one first message indicates a sidelink communication resource pool comprising: a first slot resource not being monitored by the wireless device; and at least one candidate resource included in the initial set of available candidate resources (PSCCH resource m in slot k is associated with the feedback channel resource n in slot k+2 with a slot offset koffset of 2 relative to PSCCH resource m in slot k. PSCCH resource m+1 in slot k+K−2 is associated with the feedback channel resource n+1 in slot k+K. Para. 433, FIG. 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since He provides a technique for determine a specific resource with respect to a control channel, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure that a proper resource among multiple available resources with respect assignments is utilized in conjunction with the specific control channel.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the wireless device.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach sending, via a first slot resource not being monitored by the wireless device, at least one packet; and skipping, during a time period comprising the first slot resource, monitoring of a sidelink channel.
He teaches sending, via a first slot resource not being monitored by the wireless device, at least one packet; and skipping, during a time period comprising the first slot resource, monitoring of a sidelink channel (FIG. 8 shows the scheduled six consecutive slot/mini-slot resources for a UE, Para. 150. When there is a conflict in the indicated consecutive slot/mini-slot resources for the UE with resources reserved by other UEs, the gNB may signal to the UE whether the overlapped resources reserved by other UEs are preempted or skipped, Para. 151, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since He provides a technique for determine a specific resource with respect to a control channel, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure that a proper resource among multiple available resources with respect assignments is utilized in conjunction with the specific control channel.
In regard to Claim 39, as presented in the rejection of Claim 37, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches selected resource.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach the selected resource is included in a selection window.
He teaches the selected resource is included in a selection window (a sidelink (SL) may convey signals from UEs to other UEs, Para. 13. Where nCHRBstart and noffset are the starting RB index of the PSCCH+PSSCH resource pool and the offset in number of RBs relative to the starting RB index of the PSCCH+PSSCH resource pool, Para. 431, FIG. 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since He provides a technique for arranging sidelink resources among UEs, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure proper coordination among UEs in sensing and selecting resources for transmissions that reduces interference between communication among UEs.
In regard to Claim 40, as presented in the rejection of Claim 37, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the initial set of available candidate resources.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach receive at least one first message, wherein the at least one first message is associated with sidelink resource selection and comprises an indication for determining at least one reservation period of a plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods.
He teaches receive at least one first message, wherein the at least one first message is associated with sidelink resource selection and comprises an indication for determining at least one reservation period of a plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods (PSCCH resource m in slot k is associated with the feedback channel resource n in slot k+2 with a slot offset koffset of 2 relative to PSCCH resource m in slot k, Para. 433, FIG. 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since He provides a technique for determine a specific resource with respect to a control channel, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure that a proper resource among multiple available resources with respect assignments is utilized in conjunction with the specific control channel.
In regard to Claim 41, as presented in the rejection of Claim 37, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the initial set of available candidate resources.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach receive at least one first message, wherein the at least one first message indicates a sidelink communication resource pool comprising: a first slot resource not being monitored by the apparatus; and at least one candidate resource included in the initial set of available candidate resources.
He teaches receive at least one first message, wherein the at least one first message indicates a sidelink communication resource pool comprising: a first slot resource not being monitored by the apparatus; and at least one candidate resource included in the initial set of available candidate resources (PSCCH resource m in slot k is associated with the feedback channel resource n in slot k+2 with a slot offset koffset of 2 relative to PSCCH resource m in slot k. PSCCH resource m+1 in slot k+K−2 is associated with the feedback channel resource n+1 in slot k+K. Para. 433, FIG. 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since He provides a technique for determine a specific resource with respect to a control channel, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure that a proper resource among multiple available resources with respect assignments is utilized in conjunction with the specific control channel.
In regard to Claim 43, as presented in the rejection of Claim 37, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the apparatus.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach send, via a first slot resource not being monitored by the apparatus, at least one packet; and skip, during a time period comprising the first slot resource, monitoring of a sidelink channel.
He teaches send, via a first slot resource not being monitored by the apparatus, at least one packet; and skip, during a time period comprising the first slot resource, monitoring of a sidelink channel (FIG. 8 shows the scheduled six consecutive slot/mini-slot resources for a UE, Para. 150. When there is a conflict in the indicated consecutive slot/mini-slot resources for the UE with resources reserved by other UEs, the gNB may signal to the UE whether the overlapped resources reserved by other UEs are preempted or skipped, Para. 151, FIG. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of He with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since He provides a technique for determine a specific resource with respect to a control channel, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure that a proper resource among multiple available resources with respect assignments is utilized in conjunction with the specific control channel.
Claim(s) 7-8, 36 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf in view of Hou, and further in view of Freda et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210410129 A1), hereafter referred to as Freda.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the method.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach determining, from a plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods associated with a sensing window, a subset of the plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods.
Freda teaches determining, from a plurality of sidelink resource sidelink resource reservation periods associated with a sensing window, a subset of the plurality of sidelink resource sidelink resource reservation periods (a condition that a percentage of the time periods where resource selection would have failed is determined to be below a threshold percentage, Para. 3. Avoiding selection of a carrier if the number of links/bearers on that carrier or the amount of usable resources on that carrier for links/bearers is above a threshold; and/or scaling or changing certain resource selection parameters based on the presence/number of links or amount of usable resources, Para. 254).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since Freda provides a technique for determining which available resources to select based on changing parameters, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure only certain resources of available resources are utilized that promote reliable wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the method.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach the determining the subset of the plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods is based on at least one of: a probability of excluding at least one reservation period; a probability of selecting at least one reservation period; a priority associated with at least one reservation period; a period length of at least one reservation period; or a measurement of a channel busy ratio.
Freda teaches the determining the subset of the plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods is based on at least one of: a probability of excluding at least one reservation period; a probability of selecting at least one reservation period; a priority associated with at least one reservation period; a period length of at least one reservation period; or a measurement of a channel busy ratio (parameters may include a probability of keeping (e.g., renewing a reservation of) resources at each reservation period, Para. 254).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since Freda provides a technique for determining which available resources to select based on changing parameters, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure only certain resources of available resources are utilized that promote reliable wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 36, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the first exclusion procedure.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach the applying the first exclusion procedure comprises excluding one or more candidate resources, of the initial set of candidate resources, based on a selection probability of one or more reservation periods associated with the one or more candidate resources.
Freda teaches the applying the first exclusion procedure comprises excluding one or more candidate resources, of the initial set of candidate resources, based on a selection probability of one or more reservation periods associated with the one or more candidate resources (a condition that a percentage of the time periods where resource selection would have failed is determined to be below a threshold percentage, Para. 3. Avoiding selection of a carrier if the number of links/bearers on that carrier or the amount of usable resources on that carrier for links/bearers is above a threshold; and/or scaling or changing certain resource selection parameters based on the presence/number of links or amount of usable resources, Para. 254. Parameters may include a probability of keeping (e.g., renewing a reservation of) resources at each reservation period, Para. 254).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since Freda provides a technique for determining which available resources to select based on changing parameters, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure only certain resources of available resources are utilized that promote reliable wireless communications.
In regard to Claim 42, as presented in the rejection of Claim 37, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the apparatus.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach determining, from a plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods associated with a sensing window, a subset of the plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods.
Freda teaches determining, from a plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods associated with a sensing window, a subset of the plurality of sidelink resource reservation periods (a condition that a percentage of the time periods where resource selection would have failed is determined to be below a threshold percentage, Para. 3. Avoiding selection of a carrier if the number of links/bearers on that carrier or the amount of usable resources on that carrier for links/bearers is above a threshold; and/or scaling or changing certain resource selection parameters based on the presence/number of links or amount of usable resources, Para. 254).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Freda with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since Freda provides a technique for determining which available resources to select based on changing parameters, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure only certain resources of available resources are utilized that promote reliable wireless communications.
Claim(s) 24 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf in view of Hou, and further in view of Hole (Pub. No.: US 20130039190 A1), hereafter referred to as Hole.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the method.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach the first exclusion procedure excludes a plurality of candidate resources associated with a first slot resource not being monitored by the wireless device and at least one additional candidate resource that is offset, from the first slot resource, by at least one reservation period, and wherein the first exclusion procedure further excludes at least one second additional candidate resource that is offset, from the first slot resource, by at least one second reservation period.
Hole teaches the first exclusion procedure excludes a plurality of candidate resources associated with a first slot resource not being monitored by the wireless device and at least one additional candidate resource that is offset, from the first slot resource, by at least one reservation period, and wherein the first exclusion procedure further excludes at least one second additional candidate resource that is offset, from the first slot resource, by at least one second reservation period (Based on the sequence of blocks received on the first and remaining carrier, the MS can know that the unmonitored timeslots on the second carrier are again in use and can begin fully monitoring all the assigned timeslots of the second carrier, for example, in the next radio block period, Para. 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hole with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since Hole provides a technique for utilizing resources based on them being unmonitored at certain times, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure certain resources are utilized at a later time based on when they were not monitored in a previous time.
In regard to Claim 44, as presented in the rejection of Claim 37, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the apparatus.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach the first exclusion procedure excludes a plurality of candidate resources associated with a first slot resource not being monitored by the apparatus and at least one additional candidate resource that is offset, from the first slot resource, by at least one reservation period, and wherein the first exclusion procedure further excludes at least one second additional candidate resource that is offset, from the first slot resource, by at least one second reservation period.
Hole teaches the first exclusion procedure excludes a plurality of candidate resources associated with a first slot resource not being monitored by the apparatus and at least one additional candidate resource that is offset, from the first slot resource, by at least one reservation period, and wherein the first exclusion procedure further excludes at least one second additional candidate resource that is offset, from the first slot resource, by at least one second reservation period (Based on the sequence of blocks received on the first and remaining carrier, the MS can know that the unmonitored timeslots on the second carrier are again in use and can begin fully monitoring all the assigned timeslots of the second carrier, for example, in the next radio block period, Para. 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hole with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since Hole provides a technique for utilizing resources based on them being unmonitored at certain times, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure certain resources are utilized at a later time based on when they were not monitored in a previous time.
Claim(s) 29 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashraf in view of Hou, and further in view of Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190045465 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
In regard to Claim 29, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the second exclusion procedure.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach the second exclusion procedure excludes, based on a received signal reception power (RSRP) measurement: at least one second resource from the initial set of available candidate resources, and wherein the first exclusion procedure and the second exclusion procedure are not repeated before the sending the at least one sidelink message.
Lee teaches the second exclusion procedure excludes, based on a received signal reception power (RSRP) measurement: at least one second resource from the initial set of available candidate resources, and wherein the first exclusion procedure and the second exclusion procedure are not repeated before the sending the at least one sidelink message (a resource selection (/reservation) for a specific carrier is performed, together with a candidate resource exclusion operation (e.g., a resource occupied by another UE or a resource of high interference is excluded) (in a selection window) based on a sensing operation (e.g., S-RSSI measurement, PSSCH-RSRP measurement), after (additional) candidate resource exclusion operation (in a selection window) considering the transmission capability excess problem, Para. 209).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since Lee provides a technique for performing a resource exclusion operation until a number of selectable candidate resources reaches a threshold value, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure monitor operations are performed by a UE until sufficient sub-frames are determined to be available by reaching a threshold value.
In regard to Claim 45, as presented in the rejection of Claim 37, Ashraf in view of Hou teaches the second exclusion procedure.
Ashraf in view of Hou fails to teach the second exclusion procedure excludes, based on a received signal reception power (RSRP) measurement: at least one second resource from the initial set of available candidate resources, and wherein the first exclusion procedure and the second exclusion procedure are not repeated before the sending the at least one sidelink message.
Lee teaches the second exclusion procedure excludes, based on a received signal reception power (RSRP) measurement: at least one second resource from the initial set of available candidate resources, and wherein the first exclusion procedure and the second exclusion procedure are not repeated before the sending the at least one sidelink message (a resource selection (/reservation) for a specific carrier is performed, together with a candidate resource exclusion operation (e.g., a resource occupied by another UE or a resource of high interference is excluded) (in a selection window) based on a sensing operation (e.g., S-RSSI measurement, PSSCH-RSRP measurement), after (additional) candidate resource exclusion operation (in a selection window) considering the transmission capability excess problem, Para. 209).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Ashraf in view of Hou since Lee provides a technique for performing a resource exclusion operation until a number of selectable candidate resources reaches a threshold value, which can be introduced into the system of Ashraf in view of Hou to ensure monitor operations are performed by a UE until sufficient sub-frames are determined to be available by reaching a threshold value.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-13, 16, 25, 27 and 32-35 are allowed.
Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12-13, filed 10/22/2025, with respect to the Claim Rejection under 35 USC § 103 of Claim 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejection under 35 USC § 103 of Claim 11 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
12-12-2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477