DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 – 16 are pending.
Claims 1 – 7 and 9 are rejected.
Claim 8 is objected.
Claims 10 – 16 are withdrawn.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1 – 7 and 9 as being unpatentable over Ahn WO2017/30283 A1 as evidenced by https://www.gigacalculator.com /calculators/half-life-calculator.php in view of Moon et al. WO 2018/151470 A1 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to recite the scope, wherein
Examination: Applicant’s amendments necessitate extending the search in accordance with MPEP §803.02. The search has been further extended to include the scope, wherein in the compound of formula 2:
Ar2 represents a 17-membered heteroaryl, wherein the 17-membered heteroaryl is a phenanthrothiazolyl substituted with an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 5, line 12: The phrase “… a phenoxazinyl, a (C6-C30)aryl substituted with at least one…” is grammatically incorrect because it is missing a coordinating conjunction “and” between the last two Markush group of alternatives. In order to overcome the objection, Applicant may amend the phrase as follows: “… a phenoxazinyl, and a (C6-C30)aryl substituted with at least one…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn WO2017/030283 A1 (pub. February 23, 2017) as evidenced by https://www.gigacalculator.com /calculators/half-life-calculator.php (Accessed: March 28, 2024) in view of Moon et al. WO 2018/151470 A1 (publ. August 23, 2018).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Ahn teaches organic electroluminescent compounds represented by formula 1 and organic electroluminescent devices comprising said compounds. See, e.g., paragraphs [9] and [22]. Ahn teaches that “low driving voltage, excellent efficiency, and a significantly improved operative lifespan of an organic electroluminescent device could be achieved by using a phenanthrene compound, in which a 5-membered heteroaryl is condensed with a side benzene ring of the phenanthrene backbone, as a host or in the electron buffer layer”. See, e.g., paragraph [8]. Ahn specifically teaches the compounds C-27 – C-30 (See, e.g., paragraphs [50]-[51]) as presented below:
Ahn teaches that the organic electroluminescent material comprising said compounds can also further include “conventional materials generally used in organic electroluminescent materials”. See, e.g., paragraph [64]. Ahn teaches that the organic electroluminescent device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and at least one organic layer between the first and
second electrodes. “One of the first and second electrodes may be an anode, and the other may be a cathode”. See, e.g., paragraphs [65]-[66]. Ahn further teaches that the compound can be “comprised in the light-emitting layer as a host material or in an electron buffer layer … If necessary, another compound besides the organic electroluminescent compound of formula 1 may be comprised as a second host material”. See, e.g., paragraph [67].
Ahn does not teach the plurality of host materials comprising a second host material comprising the compound of formula 2.
Moon et al. teach an organic electroluminescence device comprising an organic electroluminescent compound. The device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and at least one organic layer between the electrodes. The compound is contained in an electron transport layer and/or an electron buffer layer, within the organic layer. See, e.g., Abstract, and paragraph [82]. Moon specifically teaches the organic electroluminescent compound C-111 (See, e.g., paragraph [68]) as presented below:
.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Compared to claim 1, Ahn does not explicitly teach the plurality of host materials comprising a second host material comprising the compound of formula 2.
Rationale for a prima facie case of obviousness
Ahn teaches organic electroluminescent compounds represented by formula 1. See, e.g., paragraphs [9]-[10]. The compound of formula 1 is presented below:
. Ahn further specifically teaches that the compound of formula 1 includes similar compounds C-24 and C-39 (See, e.g., Device Examples 1 and 3, paragraphs [190]-[194] and [198]-[200]. The compounds C-24 and C-39 are presented below:
. Ahn presents that the organic electroluminescent device comprising the compound C-24 as a host material has a luminance of 1,000 cd/m2, and a luminous efficiency of 24.4 cd/A at 4.4 V. With an early luminance of 100%, the time taken to be reduced to 90% of the luminance at 5,0000 nits was at least 43 hours. See, e.g., paragraph [194]. Similarly, the organic electroluminescent device comprising the compound C-39 as a host material has a luminance of 1,000 cd/m2, and a luminous efficiency of 22.9 cd/A at 4.5 V. With an early luminance of 100%, the time taken to be reduced to 90% of the luminance at 5,0000 nits was at least 38 hours. See, e.g., paragraph [200]. Using half-life calculator, https://www.gigacalculator.com/calculators/half-life-calculator.php, the half-life of the organic electroluminescent device of Examples 1 and 3 was calculated to be 283 hours and 250 hours respectively.
Moon et al. teach an organic electroluminescence device comprising an organic electroluminescent compound. The device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and at least one organic layer between the electrodes. The compound is contained in an electron transport layer and/or an electron buffer layer, within the organic layer. See, e.g., Abstract, and paragraph [82]. The organic layer may also comprise additional light-emitting layer, hole transport layer, electron blocking layer, hole blocking layer, or electron transport layer. See, e.g., paragraph [83]. Each hole transport layer, electron blocking layer, hole blocking layer, or electron transport layer can use a plurality of compounds. See, e.g., paragraphs [84]-[85]. According to MPEP §2141(III), one of the rationales in the KSR decision states “(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention”. KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Moon teaches that the device comprising the compound of formula I possesses superior improved light-emitting efficiency and electroluminescent properties in terms of luminous efficiency. See, e.g., Tables 1-2. Ahn teaches that the organic electroluminescent material comprising the compounds C-27 – C-30 can also further include “conventional materials generally used in organic electroluminescent materials”. See, e.g., paragraph [64]. These organic electroluminescent material can further comprise another compound as a second host material. See, e.g., paragraph [67]. Moon et al. teach that the organic electroluminescence device comprises a first electrode, a second electrode, and at least one organic layer between the electrodes. The organic layer may also comprise additional layers and each of the layers can further comprise a plurality of said compounds. Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have observed that it is critical and would have been motivated to combine an appropriate electroluminescent compound as the first host material with the benzo[c]phenanthren-5-yl compound as the second host material in order to improve the overall performance of the material layers. The skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success that the compounds can be used for the purpose of making plurality of host materials comprising a first host material comprising the compounds C-27 – C-30, and a second host material comprising the compound C-57.
The prior art would have rendered the instant claims prima facie obvious as presented below:
Claims 1 – 2 and 4, directed to a plurality of host materials:
wherein:
One of X1 and Y1 represents –N=, and the other of X1 and Y1 represents -O- or -S-;
a is 1; R1 represents an unsubstituted C6 aryl;
b is 2, each R2 are H;
c is 2; each R3 is H;
d is 3, each R4 is H;
L1 represents a single bond;
R5 and R6 represent unsubstituted C6 aryl, C6 aryl substituted with 13-membered heteroaryl (further substituted with C6 aryl), C6 aryl substituted with C6 aryl, and C13 aryl substituted with two C1 alkyl; and
wherein:
T5 and T6 are linked to each other to form a ring represented by the following formula 3:
;
T1 to T4, and T8 to T14 each represent H;
T7 represents -L2-Ar2-;
L2 represents a single bond; and
Ar2 represents a 17-membered heteroaryl, wherein the 17-membered heteroaryl is a phenanthrothiazolyl substituted with an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl); or alternatively,
T1 to T4, T7 to T9 and T11 to T14 each represent H;
T10 represents -L2-Ar2-;
L2 represents a single bond; and
Ar2 represents a 17-membered heteroaryl, wherein the 17-membered heteroaryl is a phenanthrothiazolyl substituted with an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl).
Claim 3, wherein the formula 1 (compound C-27) is represented by the formula 1-2:
wherein:
a is 1; R1 represents an unsubstituted C6 aryl;
b is 2, each R2 are H;
c is 2; each R3 is H;
d is 3, each R4 is H;
L1 represents a single bond;
R5 and R6 represent unsubstituted C6 aryl and C6 aryl substituted with 13-membered heteroaryl (further substituted with C6 aryl).
The formula 1 (compounds C-28 – C-30) are represented by formula 1-1:
a is 1; R1 represents an unsubstituted C6 aryl;
b is 2, each R2 are H;
c is 2; each R3 is H;
d is 3, each R4 is H;
L1 represents a single bond;
R5 and R6 represent C6 aryl substituted with C6 aryl, and C13 aryl substituted with two C1 alkyl.
Claim 5, wherein the formula 2 is represented by the formula 2-2:
wherein:
T5 and T6 are linked to each other to form a ring represented by the following formula 3:
;
T1 to T4, and T8 to T14 each represent H;
T7 represents -L2-Ar2-;
L2 represents a single bond; and
Ar2 represents a 17-membered heteroaryl, wherein the 17-membered heteroaryl is a phenanthrothiazolyl substituted with an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl); or alternatively,
T1 to T4, T7 to T9 and T11 to T14 each represent H;
T10 represents -L2-Ar2-;
L2 represents a single bond; and
Ar2 represents a 17-membered heteroaryl, wherein the 17-membered heteroaryl is a phenanthrothiazolyl substituted with an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl).
Claim 6, wherein the formula 2 is represented by the following formula:
wherein:
T1 to T4, and T8 to T14 each represent H;
T7 represents -L2-Ar2-;
L2 represents a single bond; and
Ar2 represents a 17-membered heteroaryl, wherein the 17-membered heteroaryl is a phenanthrothiazolyl substituted with an unsubstituted C6 aryl (phenyl).
Claim 7, wherein the compounds represented by formula are
Claim 9, directed to an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and at least one light-emitting layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein at least one layer of the light-emitting layers comprises the plurality of host materials according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Sagar Patel/Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626