In view of the Appeal brief filed on 06/26/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new ground of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-16, starting with the section pointed towards Jang, filed 06/26/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tibberts (US 20170311768 A1) in view of Goff (US 20190261826 A1), Moon (US 20180184870 A1), Payne (US 6039817 A), Kasper (US 20070067945 a1) and Kajihara (US 6079077 A).
Applicant's remaining arguments, see Pages 9-11 filed 06/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicants remaining argument pointed towards Tibberts, Applicant argues that the towelette or mop roller and its associated support roller are not positioned in any of the two suction channels and as such Tibberts fails to disclose the claimed “mop roller… [with] an upper position of the mop roller exposed to the cavity and a lower portion of the mop roller externally exposed at the mop opening forming a second airflow pathway from the mop opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, The claim in question first requires “a mop opening opposite the top interior” requiring a mop opening at the bottom of the enclosure. The claim then goes onto to require “an upper portion of the mop roller exposed to the cavity and a lower portion of the mop roller externally exposed at the mop opening forming a second airflow pathway from the mop opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump;”
Firstly, this limitation requires the upper portion of the mop roller be exposed to the cavity. Merriam webster defines exposed as “not shielded or protected”. The top portion of the roller is not shielded or protected from the cavity or the airflows therein, as it is not a closed or sealed space (See annotated figure C reproduced below).
Secondly, annotated Figure A, (reproduced below) shows a mop roller externally exposed at the mop opening.
Finally, an air flow pathway is formed from the mop opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump, as illustrated in Annotated Figure C below, airflow from the cavity is clearly able to flow from the mop opening to the cavity. As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
Annotated Figure A (Figure 3 of Tibberts)
Annotated Figure C (Fig. 3 of Tibberts)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 10, Claim 10 cites “a selection flap located…” in line 23 this is unclear, as it is unclear if this selection flap is the same selection flap claimed in the limitation “a cleaning head comprising an enclosure, a brush roller, a mop roller, and a selection flap,” as such the claim is indefinite, for the purposes of examination the limitation will be interpreted as “the selection flap located”.
Regarding Claim 10, the claim cites “forming a first airflow pathway from the brush opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump” on Line 14 this is unclear, as this is no antecedent basis for “the brush opening” in the claim. As such the claim is indefinite, for the purposes of examination, this will be interpreted as “forming a first airflow pathway from a brush opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump”
Regarding Claim 10, the claim cites “forming a second airflow pathway from the mop opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump” on Line 20 this is unclear, as this is no antecedent basis for “the mop opening” in the claim. As such the claim is indefinite, for the purposes of examination, this will be interpreted as “forming a second airflow pathway from a mop opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump”
Regarding Claim 10, the claim cites “and the controller connects the first end of the brush roller and the first end of the mop roller to a first interior of the enclosure, the controller configured to control rotational movement of the brush roller and the mop roller.” On Page 6 line 8 this is unclear, as this is no antecedent basis for “the first end of the mop roller” in the claim. As such the claim is indefinite, for the purposes of examination, this will be interpreted as “a first end of the mop roller…”
Claims 11-18 are rejected based upon their dependence to claim 10.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 objected to because of the following informalities:
“wherein the first position is permits air flow” should be “wherein the first position permits air flow”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tibberts (US 20170311768 A1) in view of Goff (US 20190261826 A1), Moon (US 20180184870 A1), Payne (US 6039817 A), Kasper (US 20070067945 a1) and Kajihara (US 6079077 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Tibberts teaches a cleaning head of a vacuum, the self-actuated cleaning head comprising:
an enclosure (12) having a first interior opposite a second interior (Annotated Figure B, below), a front interior opposite a back interior (Annotated Figure B), and a top interior opposite a ground plane (Annotated Figure A), the enclosure having a brush opening adjacent to the front interior (Annotated Figure A and B), a mop opening opposite the top interior (Annotated Figure A), and an outlet in the back interior (Annotated Figure A), the outlet connected to a vacuum pump opening to a cavity within the enclosure (Annotated Figure A);
a brush roller (28) having an elongated cylindrical structure (See Annotated Figures A and B), a first end (Annotated Figure A), and a second end (Annotated Figure opposite side of brush roll shown in figure A), the brush roller disposed toward a front of the enclosure with the first end secured along the first interior and the second end secured along the second interior (Annotated Figure A and b), a first portion of the elongated cylindrical structure exposed to the cavity and a second portion of the elongated cylindrical structure externally exposed at the brush opening (Annotated Figure A) forming a first airflow pathway from the brush opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump (See flow paths in Annotated Figure C), the first end including a rotation assembly (See Para [0025] “The front rotating brush 28, the rear rotating brush 30 and the interposed support roller 34 are all rotated by a motor 38 contained within the floor head 12. The motor 38 turns the front rotating brush 28, the rear rotating brush 30 and the support roller 34 using flexible drive belts 35.”);
a mop roller (34) having a first end (First end seen in Annotated Figure A) and a second end (opposite end of the one shown in Annotated Figure A), the mop roller (34) structured behind the brush roller (28) in the enclosure (12) and with the first end of the mop roller secured along the first interior of the enclosure (See Annotated Figures A and B) and the second end of the mop roller secured along the second interior of the enclosure (See Annotated Figures A and B), the first end including a rotation assembly (35, See Para [0025] “The motor 38 turns the front rotating brush 28, the rear rotating brush 30 and the support roller 34 using flexible drive belts 35. The towelette 36 can be made cylindrical or flat. If flat, the towelette 36 is wrapped around the support roller 34.”), an upper portion of the mop roller exposed to the cavity (Upper portion of mop roller is connected and exposed to the cavity, as portion (40 and 31) are connected and inside the enclosure See annotated figure C) and a lower portion of the mop roller externally exposed at the mop opening (See annotated figure A) forming a second airflow pathway from the mop opening through the cavity and to the outlet and to the outlet connect to the vacuum pump (See annotated figure C showing airflow paths);
an actuator (44) connected to one linkage (mechanical linkage 42, See Fig 5 and Tibberts Para [0027] “The vertical position of the support roller 34 is manually controlled using mechanical linkages 42 that are attached to a foot lever 44. In this manner, by pressing the foot lever 44 with the user's foot, a user can change the position of the support roller 34 from the extended position of FIG. 3 to the retracted position of FIG. 4 and back again.”).
Annotated Figure A (Figure 3 of Tibberts)
Annotated Figure B (Figure 2 of Tibberts)
Annotated Figure C (Fig. 3 of Tibberts)
However, Tibberts does not explicitly disclose
Wherein the cleaner is an autonomous cleaner
a selection flap located within the enclosure and hinged to the cavity, wherein the selection flap is configured to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is permits air flow through the first airflow pathway and the second airflow pathway and the second position impedes air flow through the first airflow pathway and permits air flow through the second air flow pathway
The actuator connected to one or more four-bar linkages that secure the back interior of the enclosure to a body of the autonomous vacuum, the actuator configured to move the enclosure vertically; and
a controller connecting the first rotation assembly of the first end of the brush roller and the second rotation assembly of the first end of the mop roller to the enclosure, the controller configured to control the first rotation assembly of the brush roller to rotate the brush roller and to control the second rotation assembly of the mop roller to rotate the mop roller.
However, Goff teaches a floor cleaner with a main body and an enclosure, a four-bar linkage (44 and 30) that secure the back portion of cleaning head (24) to the body of a cleaner (12 and see Fig 1) the actuator configured to move the enclosure vertically (See Fig 1, 2 4 and 6);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tibberts, as modified, in view of Goff to have a vertically adjustable cleaning head, adjustable via a four-bar linkage, allowing for better obstacle avoidance, and more effective cleaning on different material surfaces, and for allowing for easier transport of the cleaner.
And Moon teaches an autonomous cleaner including a cleaning head (110) and a controller (Para [0050] “The cleaner main body 110 is provided with various components in addition to a controller (not illustrated) for controlling the cleaner 100.”) connecting the first rotational assembly of the first end of the brush roller and the second rotational assembly of the first end of the mop roller to the enclosure, the controller configured to control the first rotational assembly of the brush roller to rotate the brush roller and to control the second rotational assembly of the mop roller to rotate the mop roller (Controller is capable of controlling the rotational assembly, See Para [0066] “On the other hand, when the brush module 150 is mounted on the module mounting portion 110a, the controller may generate suction force for sucking air on the floor by driving a motor and a fan. In addition, the controller may control the brush module 150 connected to the rotation driving portion 110b to sweep dust and foreign substances on the floor, by driving the rotation driving portion 110b.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaner of Tibberts as modified to be an autonomous robotic cleaner as doing so would allow for the benefits of cleaning without requiring user input, allowing for the near effortless cleaning of the desired surface for the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Tibberts, as modified, in view of Moon to include a more comprehensive controller that is capable of controlling the rotational assembly and the speed of the brush and mop rollers, as doing so allows for fine control over the cleaner, allowing for increased cleaning efficiency and greater utility.
Payne discloses a similar cleaner head with three airflow paths (Fig. 1 main airflow path 22, and secondary airflow paths 24 and 26), a valve assembly (31) located within the enclosure, wherein the valve is configured to permit air flow through the primary valve in a first position, and one or more of the secondary airflow paths in a second position (Col 3 Line 56-64 “The valve assembly 31 is positioned between fan 14 and duct system 16 and, as discussed in more detail with reference to FIGS. 5(a)-(c), includes an internal slide valve (not shown) that is repositioned by a solenoid actuator 30. By operating a switch on the handle of the vacuum, the operator can set the position of the solenoid actuator 30, which opens or closes valve ports, redirecting suction from main suction inlet 29 to one or both of the edge cleaning fittings 28.”).
Additionally, Payne suggests an alternative embodiment that wherein the valve assembly can be configured to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is permits air flow through the first airflow pathway and the second airflow pathway and the second position impedes air flow through the first airflow pathway and permits air flow through the second air flow pathway (See Col 1 Line 60-67 “According to another aspect of the invention, the valve selectively directs suction to one of a central duct leading to the main inlet and a side duct leading to the side inlet, to the exclusion of the other. Although the valve assembly can be designed to deliver suction to both the central duct and the side duct at the same time, and when spot or edge cleaning is desired, the valve assembly can be switched to direct suction solely to the side duct.”).
Additionally, Payne discloses that different valve assemblies could be used, or that multiple different valves could be used to selectively choose between one or more different airflow paths (See Col 4 Line 33 – Col 5 Line 9, cited below discussing different valve configurations
“Referring to FIG. 5(a), valve assembly 31' includes a rectangular housing 39 that houses a sliding valve plate 40 whose sliding position is controlled by an actuator arm 42 that is connected to the solenoid actuator of the valve assembly. Valve plate 40 slides in upper and lower retainer tracks 44, which are secured within housing 39 and allow for lateral sliding movement of the valve plate. Valve plate 40 is a three-position valve and includes a center opening 46 that is selectively positioned in front of one of three suction input ducts 48, 50, 52. Input duct 48 connects with side duct 26 (FIG. 1), input duct 50 connects with central duct 22 and input duct 52 connects with side duct 24. The location of center opening 46 determines which duct suction is drawn through. The back side of valve assembly includes an outlet duct 54 that connects to the fan inlet. If the cleaning head is designed with a single side duct, then valve assembly 31' would need only a two-position valve plate, one for the central duct and one for the single side duct.
Other choices for valve assemblies are possible, different from that shown in FIG. 5(a). For example, in FIG. 5(b), a rotary valve assembly 31" includes a rotary spool 60 with an arcuate opening 62. Spool 60 fits within a cylindrical valve piece with three inlet ducts 48', 50' and 52', which correspond to the three inlet ducts of the valve assembly of FIG. 5(a). Not shown is a suitable rotary mechanism for rotating spool 60 to selectively direct suction from a desired inlet duct. FIG. 5(c) shows a modified version of the valve assembly of FIG. 5(a). With this embodiment, valve plate 40 is connected to outlet duct 54, yet still slides within rails 44 to selectively position outlet duct 54 into registry with one of the inlet ducts 48, 50, 52. A flexible hose would be required for connecting to outlet duct 54 in order to allow for lateral movement of the valve plate.
Alternatively, three separate valves could be used, each with its own actuator, one for each suction input duct. Also, a valve assembly could be built with two input ducts. In such a valve assembly, one duct could be attached to the central duct and the other to a single duct that is routed to both edge suction fittings. A mechanical lever or knob mechanism could be used in place of the switch and solenoid to actuate the valve. This mechanical lever or knob could be located as a hand control on the vacuum cleaner handle or on the cleaning head as a foot control. The valve slider could be replaced by a rotating disk or cylinder.”
Additionally, Kasper discloses a wet/dry cleaner including a diverter valve (108), for switching between a wet vacuuming and dry vacuuming (See Para [0059] “The vacuum cleaner 10 can selectively be switched between wet and dry vacuuming modes by rotation of the diverter valve 108 in relation to the stand conduit 150. When the diverter valve 108 is in an "open position" used for wet vacuuming, the aperture 114 is oriented toward the front of the vacuum cleaner 10. When the diverter valve 108 is in a "closed position" used for dry vacuuming the sidewall 112 is oriented toward the front of the vacuum cleaner 10 so that working air is forced down the standpipe 150 into a water bath. The external diverter knob 116 is connected to the diverter valve 108 so that a user can rotate the diverter valve 108 between the wet and dry vacuuming positions. Markings can be included on the bottom surface 95 to indicate the selected mode to the user.”).
Finally, Kajihara discloses a cleaner with a selection flap (switch valve 20, with handle 10 and hinge 34), with a first position (Fig. 5a) permits an airflow through a first airflow pathway (26) and a second position (Fig. 5b) permits an airflow through a second airflow pathway (27).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to include a valve assembly wherein said valve assembly is configured to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is permits air flow through the first airflow pathway and the second airflow pathway and the second position impedes air flow through the first airflow pathway and permits air flow through the second air flow pathway, as advantageously suggested by Payne as doing so would allow for the cleaner direct more suction power in such a way as to focus on a specific function as required by the operator such as edge cleaning or spot cleaning (See Col 1 Line 60-67 “According to another aspect of the invention, the valve selectively directs suction to one of a central duct leading to the main inlet and a side duct leading to the side inlet, to the exclusion of the other. Although the valve assembly can be designed to deliver suction to both the central duct and the side duct at the same time, and when spot or edge cleaning is desired, the valve assembly can be switched to direct suction solely to the side duct.”), or for focusing on a wet vacuuming mode or a dry vacuuming mode (Para [0059] of Kasper.
It would be further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the diverter valve to be a selection flap, as a selection flap is a two way valve, and Payne discusses a two way valve as an equivalent for selectively diverting airflow towards a chosen airflow path, as it has been held that substituting equivalent known in the art for the same purpose would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Examiner provides the following annotated figure for clarity on how Tibberts is modified by Payne, Kasper and Kajihara.
Annotated Figure E (Fig. 3 of Tibberts)
Examiner notes that Tibberts as modified discloses a selection flap (10 and 20 of Kajihara) located within the enclosure (See Annotated Figure E) and hinged to the cavity (See Annotated Figure E), wherein the selection flap is configured to switch between a first position (See Annotated Figure E) and a second position (See Annotated Figure E), wherein the first position is permits air flow through the first airflow pathway and the second airflow pathway (See Annotated Figure E) and the second position impedes air flow through the first airflow pathway and permits air flow through the second air flow pathway (See Annotated Figure E, a closed selection flap at the location would close off the first airflow pathway while allowing the second).
The actuator (44 of Tibberts) connected to one or more four-bar linkages (Goff 44 and 30) that secure the back interior of the enclosure to a body of the autonomous vacuum (Tibberts as modified is an autonomous robotic cleaner), the actuator configured to move the enclosure vertically (See Goff Fig 1, 2 4 and 6); and
a controller (Moon Para [0050] “The cleaner main body 110 is provided with various components in addition to a controller (not illustrated) for controlling the cleaner 100.”)connecting the first rotation assembly of the first end of the brush roller and the second rotation assembly of the first end of the mop roller to the enclosure, the controller configured to control the first rotation assembly of the brush roller to rotate the brush roller and to control the second rotation assembly of the mop roller to rotate the mop roller(Controller of Moon is capable of controlling the rotational assembly, See Para [0066] “On the other hand, when the brush module 150 is mounted on the module mounting portion 110a, the controller may generate suction force for sucking air on the floor by driving a motor and a fan. In addition, the controller may control the brush module 150 connected to the rotation driving portion 110b to sweep dust and foreign substances on the floor, by driving the rotation driving portion 110b.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and additionally teaches, wherein the selection flap (20 of Kajihara) is an elongated piece of material (see figures 4 and 5 of Kajihara) with and hinged at a top portion of the cavity (See Annotated Figure E above).
Regarding Claim 6, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 5 and in addition discloses and suggests but may not explicitly disclose wherein the selection flap (See Annotated Figure E) extends over the first portion of the elongated cylindrical structure of the brush roller (28 of Tibberts) when the brush roller rotates clockwise (See Annotated Figure E above) and extends over the top portion of the cavity when the brush roller rotates counterclockwise (See Annotated Figure E).
Examiner notes, that as claimed, claim 6 requires a selection flap capable extending over the first portion of the elongated cylindrical structure of the brush roller when the brush roller rotates clockwise and extends over the top portion of the cavity when the brush roller rotates counterclockwise which the selection flap as taught by Tibberts as modified is capable of doing so. It does not require that the selection flap is rotated by the brush roller.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the location and orientation of the selection flap in the first airflow pathway of Tibberts as modified to directly extend over the first portion of the elongated cylindrical structure of the brush roller and extend over the top portion of the cavity as doing so would be a simple matter of rearrangement of parts that would not affect the operation of the invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding Claim 9, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach the enclosure has a height of less than 3 inches.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the enclosure to have a height of less than 3 inches as it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Tibberts as modified would not operate differently an enclosure with a height of less than 3. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to keep the height of the enclosure less than 3 inches in order to decrease the profile of the cleaner, increase its portability and storability and increase the cleaner’s access to areas to clean thereby increasing the utility of the cleaner.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tibberts (US 20170311768 A1) in view of Goff (US 20190261826 A1), Moon (US 20180184870 A1), Payne (US 6039817 A), Kasper (US 20070067945 a1) and Kajihara (US 6079077 A) as modified in claim 1, and in further view of Xia (US 10092155 B2).
Regarding Claim 2, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition teaches wherein the mop roller is a cylindrical structure having a predefined length (See Figure 2 of Tibberts) but does not explicitly teach and an outer surface of the mop roller along the predefined length having of diagonal strips of microfiber cloth alternating with abrasive material.
However, Xia does teach a cleaner with a roller that includes a cylindrical structure (See figure 9) having a predefined length and an outer surface of the mop roller along the predefined length having of diagonal strips of microfiber cloth (49) alternating with abrasive material (48) (See figure 9) (See Col 3 Line 9-14 “a surface cleaning apparatus is provided with a hybrid brush roll that includes multiple agitation materials to optimize cleaning performance on different types of surfaces to be cleaned, including hard and soft surfaces, and for different cleaning modes, including wet and dry vacuum cleaning.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tibberts in view of Xia to modify the brush roll to comprise the microfiber and abrasive materials in view of Xia in order to optimize cleaning operation and work for different surfaces, increasing the utility of the cleaner.
Regarding Claim 3, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition teaches wherein the abrasive material is nylon bristles (48 of Xia).
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tibberts (US 20170311768 A1) in view of Goff (US 20190261826 A1), Moon (US 20180184870 A1), Payne (US 6039817 A), Kasper (US 20070067945 a1), Kajihara (US 6079077 A) and Xia (US 10092155 B2) as modified in claim 2 and in further view of Jiang (US 20110047733 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 2 but does not explicitly teach wherein the abrasive material is scouring pads
However, Jiang does teach a mop roller with Scouring Pads (Jiang Para [0035] “Further, all or a portion of the sponge roller 3 may include a scouring surface. Examples of scouring surface may be brushes, bristles, nonwoven (similar to a… ...scouring pad, available from 3M Company of St. Paul Minn.).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the roller of Tibberts in view of Jiang to include scouring pads as an abrasive material in order to enhance the ability to remove dirt from surfaces, especially when the mop is in a locked position (Jiang Para [0035] “For example, the sponge roller may include one or more stripes of a scouring material directly on the roller. As discussed, when the sponge roller 3 is in a locked position, then the scouring surface may enhance the ability to remove dirt from the surface being cleaned.”).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tibberts (US 20170311768 A1) in view of Goff (US 20190261826 A1), Moon (US 20180184870 A1), Payne (US 6039817 A), Kasper (US 20070067945 a1) and Kajihara (US 6079077 A) as modified in claim 1, and in further view of Lee2 (US 20150107038 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach further comprising a mop cover rotatably positioned against an outer surface of the mop roller, wherein the mop cover is a partial cylindrical shell.
However, Lee2 does teach a roller with a cover, including further comprising a cover (40) rotatably positioned against an outer surface of the mop roller (See Figure 9), wherein the mop cover is a partial cylindrical shell (See Figure 9).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mop roller of Tibberts as advantageously taught by Lee2 to include a roller cover, in order to protect the roller while not in active use or to clean the mop roller after use (Para [0002] of Lee2).
Regarding Claim 8, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 7 but does not explicitly wherein the mop cover rotate to extend over the lower portion of the mop roller when the mop roller rotates counterclockwise (Lee2 Para [0029] “The rotary cover 40 can rotate by 360.degree. in both directions (in clockwise direction and counter-clockwise direction) about the longitudinal direction of the support roller 20.”).
Claims 10, 14, 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tibberts (US 20170311768 A1) in view of Goff (US 20190261826 A1), Gunter (US 20200008641 A1), Moon (US 20180184870 A1), Kajihara (US 6079077 A) and Harsh (US 20070251050 A1).
Regarding Claim 10 Tibberts discloses: A self-actuated cleaning head of an autonomous vacuum, the self-actuated cleaning head comprising:
a cleaning head (12) comprising an enclosure (26), a brush roller (28), a mop roller (34), wherein:
the enclosure comprises a plurality of interiors (31 and 32) that connect to form a cavity, a subset of the plurality of interiors including one or more openings (See Mop opening and Brush opening in Annotated Figure D, reproduced below),
wherein an outlet (Annotated Figure D) disposed in a back interior of the enclosure connects to a vacuum pump (See Tibberts Para [0022] “Likewise, the rear rotating brush 30 is located in the mouth of a rear suction channel 31. Accordingly, any dirt or debris agitated by the two rotating brushes 30, 32 will be sucked into the vacuum assembly 10 and deposited into the canister 18.”);
the brush roller (28) is configured inside the enclosure toward a front interior of the enclosure (See Annotated Figure D), the brush roller having an elongated cylindrical structure (See Annotated Figures D and B reproduced below), a first end (See Annotated Figure D), and a second end (Opposite side of brush roller seen in Annotated Figure D), a first portion of the elongated cylindrical structure internally facing the cavity (upper portion of brush role faces into the opening of the cavity) and a second portion of the elongated cylindrical structure externally facing a first opening in the enclosure forming a first airflow pathway from the brush opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump (See Annotated Figure C, showing airflow paths);
the mop roller (34) is configured behind the brush roller in the enclosure (See Annotated Figure D), the mop roller comprising an elongated cylindrical structure (See Annotated Figure B or fig. 2 of Tibberts) that is externally facing a second opening (Mop opening in Annotated Figure D) in the enclosure.
an actuator assembly (44) comprising an actuator (44), wherein:
the actuator is connected to one or more linkages (See Para [0027] “The vertical position of the support roller 34 is manually controlled using mechanical linkages 42 that are attached to a foot lever 44.”)
But does not explicitly disclose a selection flap
The mop roller internally facing the cavity forming a second airflow pathway from the mop opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump; and
a selection flap located within the enclosure and hinged to the cavity, wherein the selection flap is configured to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is permits air flow through the first airflow pathway and the second airflow pathway, and the second position impedes air flow through the first airflow pathway and permits air flow through the second airflow pathway; and
the actuator is connected to one or more four-bar linkages that connect the back interior of the enclosure to a body of the autonomous vacuum, the actuator configured to move the enclosure vertically; and
the controller connects the first end of the brush roller and the first end of the mop roller to a first interior of the enclosure, the controller configured to control rotational movement of the brush roller and the mop roller.
However, Goff teaches a floor cleaner with a main body and an enclosure, a four-bar linkage (44 and 30) that secure the back portion of cleaning head (24) to the body of a cleaner (12 and see Fig 1) the actuator configured to move the enclosure vertically (See Fig 1, 2 4 and 6);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tibberts in view of Goff to have a vertically adjustable cleaning head, allowing for better obstacle avoidance, and more effective cleaning on different material surfaces.
Gunter Teaches a mop roller (3) and associated holder (2) with a cavity (18) at the top side (see figure 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the enclosure of Tibberts as modified to include a channel to expose the mop to the cavity as doing so would allow the cleaner to automatically remove dirty water and debris from the mop during use of the cleaner.
And Moon teaches an autonomous cleaner including and a controller (Para [0050] “The cleaner main body 110 is provided with various components in addition to a controller (not illustrated) for controlling the cleaner 100.”), the controller connects the first end of the brush roller and a first end of the mop roller to a first interior the enclosure, the controller configured to control rotational movement of the brush roller and the mop roller (Controller is capable of controlling the rotational assembly, See Para [0066] “On the other hand, when the brush module 150 is mounted on the module mounting portion 110a, the controller may generate suction force for sucking air on the floor by driving a motor and a fan. In addition, the controller may control the brush module 150 connected to the rotation driving portion 110b to sweep dust and foreign substances on the floor, by driving the rotation driving portion 110b.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Tibberts in view of Moon to include a controller to control the brush rollers and mops and to control the autonomous cleaning of the cleaner allowing the cleaner to work autonomously without user interaction.
Payne discloses a similar cleaner head with three airflow paths (Fig. 1 main airflow path 22, and secondary airflow paths 24 and 26), a valve assembly (31) located within the enclosure, wherein the valve is configured to permit air flow through the primary valve in a first position, and one or more of the secondary airflow paths in a second position (Col 3 Line 56-64 “The valve assembly 31 is positioned between fan 14 and duct system 16 and, as discussed in more detail with reference to FIGS. 5(a)-(c), includes an internal slide valve (not shown) that is repositioned by a solenoid actuator 30. By operating a switch on the handle of the vacuum, the operator can set the position of the solenoid actuator 30, which opens or closes valve ports, redirecting suction from main suction inlet 29 to one or both of the edge cleaning fittings 28.”).
Additionally, Payne suggests an alternative embodiment that wherein the valve assembly can be configured to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is permits air flow through the first airflow pathway and the second airflow pathway and the second position impedes air flow through the first airflow pathway and permits air flow through the second air flow pathway (See Col 1 Line 60-67 “According to another aspect of the invention, the valve selectively directs suction to one of a central duct leading to the main inlet and a side duct leading to the side inlet, to the exclusion of the other. Although the valve assembly can be designed to deliver suction to both the central duct and the side duct at the same time, and when spot or edge cleaning is desired, the valve assembly can be switched to direct suction solely to the side duct.”).
Additionally, Payne discloses that different valve assemblies could be used, or that multiple different valves could be used to selectively choose between one or more different airflow paths (See Col 4 Line 33 – Col 5 Line 9, cited below discussing different valve configurations
“Referring to FIG. 5(a), valve assembly 31' includes a rectangular housing 39 that houses a sliding valve plate 40 whose sliding position is controlled by an actuator arm 42 that is connected to the solenoid actuator of the valve assembly. Valve plate 40 slides in upper and lower retainer tracks 44, which are secured within housing 39 and allow for lateral sliding movement of the valve plate. Valve plate 40 is a three-position valve and includes a center opening 46 that is selectively positioned in front of one of three suction input ducts 48, 50, 52. Input duct 48 connects with side duct 26 (FIG. 1), input duct 50 connects with central duct 22 and input duct 52 connects with side duct 24. The location of center opening 46 determines which duct suction is drawn through. The back side of valve assembly includes an outlet duct 54 that connects to the fan inlet. If the cleaning head is designed with a single side duct, then valve assembly 31' would need only a two-position valve plate, one for the central duct and one for the single side duct.
Other choices for valve assemblies are possible, different from that shown in FIG. 5(a). For example, in FIG. 5(b), a rotary valve assembly 31" includes a rotary spool 60 with an arcuate opening 62. Spool 60 fits within a cylindrical valve piece with three inlet ducts 48', 50' and 52', which correspond to the three inlet ducts of the valve assembly of FIG. 5(a). Not shown is a suitable rotary mechanism for rotating spool 60 to selectively direct suction from a desired inlet duct. FIG. 5(c) shows a modified version of the valve assembly of FIG. 5(a). With this embodiment, valve plate 40 is connected to outlet duct 54, yet still slides within rails 44 to selectively position outlet duct 54 into registry with one of the inlet ducts 48, 50, 52. A flexible hose would be required for connecting to outlet duct 54 in order to allow for lateral movement of the valve plate.
Alternatively, three separate valves could be used, each with its own actuator, one for each suction input duct. Also, a valve assembly could be built with two input ducts. In such a valve assembly, one duct could be attached to the central duct and the other to a single duct that is routed to both edge suction fittings. A mechanical lever or knob mechanism could be used in place of the switch and solenoid to actuate the valve. This mechanical lever or knob could be located as a hand control on the vacuum cleaner handle or on the cleaning head as a foot control. The valve slider could be replaced by a rotating disk or cylinder.”
Additionally, Kasper discloses a wet/dry cleaner including a diverter valve (108), for switching between a wet vacuuming and dry vacuuming (See Para [0059] “The vacuum cleaner 10 can selectively be switched between wet and dry vacuuming modes by rotation of the diverter valve 108 in relation to the stand conduit 150. When the diverter valve 108 is in an "open position" used for wet vacuuming, the aperture 114 is oriented toward the front of the vacuum cleaner 10. When the diverter valve 108 is in a "closed position" used for dry vacuuming the sidewall 112 is oriented toward the front of the vacuum cleaner 10 so that working air is forced down the standpipe 150 into a water bath. The external diverter knob 116 is connected to the diverter valve 108 so that a user can rotate the diverter valve 108 between the wet and dry vacuuming positions. Markings can be included on the bottom surface 95 to indicate the selected mode to the user.”).
Finally, Kajihara discloses a cleaner with a selection flap (switch valve 20, with handle 10 and hinge 34), with a first position (Fig. 5a) permits an airflow through a first airflow pathway (26) and a second position (Fig. 5b) permits an airflow through a second airflow pathway (27).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to include a valve assembly wherein said valve assembly is configured to switch between a first position and a second position, wherein the first position is permits air flow through the first airflow pathway and the second airflow pathway and the second position impedes air flow through the first airflow pathway and permits air flow through the second air flow pathway, as advantageously suggested by Payne as doing so would allow for the cleaner direct more suction power in such a way as to focus on a specific function as required by the operator such as edge cleaning or spot cleaning (See Col 1 Line 60-67 “According to another aspect of the invention, the valve selectively directs suction to one of a central duct leading to the main inlet and a side duct leading to the side inlet, to the exclusion of the other. Although the valve assembly can be designed to deliver suction to both the central duct and the side duct at the same time, and when spot or edge cleaning is desired, the valve assembly can be switched to direct suction solely to the side duct.”), or for focusing on a wet vacuuming mode or a dry vacuuming mode (Para [0059] of Kasper.
It would be further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the diverter valve to be a selection flap, as a selection flap is a two way valve, and Payne discusses a two way valve as an equivalent for selectively diverting airflow towards a chosen airflow path, as it has been held that substituting equivalent known in the art for the same purpose would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Examiner provides the following annotated figure for clarity on how Tibberts is modified by Payne, Kasper and Kajihara.
Annotated Figure E (Fig. 3 of Tibberts)
Examiner notes that Tibberts as modified discloses the mop roller (34 of Tibberts) is configured behind the brush roller in the enclosure (See Annotated Figure D), the mop roller comprising an elongated cylindrical structure (See Annotated Figure B or fig. 2 of Tibberts) that is externally facing a second opening (Mop opening in Annotated Figure D) in the enclosure the mop roller internally facing the cavity forming a second airflow pathway from the mop opening through the cavity and to the outlet connected to the vacuum pump (as modified by Gunter see Annotated Figure D); and
a selection flap (10 and 20 of Kajihara) located within the enclosure (See Annotated Figure E) and hinged to the cavity (See Annotated Figure E), wherein the selection flap is configured to switch between a first position (See Annotated Figure E) and a second position (See Annotated Figure E), wherein the first position is permits air flow through the first airflow pathway and the second airflow pathway (See Annotated Figure E) and the second position impedes air flow through the first airflow pathway and permits air flow through the second air flow pathway (See Annotated Figure E, a closed selection flap at the location would close off the first airflow pathway while allowing the second).
the actuator is connected to one or more four-bar linkages (44 and 30 of Goff) that connect the back interior of the enclosure to a body of the autonomous vacuum (12 and see Fig 1 of Goff), the actuator configured to move the enclosure vertically (See Fig 1, 2 4 and 6) of Goff; and
the controller connects the first end of the brush roller and the first end of the mop roller to a first interior of the enclosure, the controller configured to control rotational movement of the brush roller and the mop roller (Controller is capable of controlling the rotational assembly, See Moon Para [0066] “On the other hand, when the brush module 150 is mounted on the module mounting portion 110a, the controller may generate suction force for sucking air on the floor by driving a motor and a fan. In addition, the controller may control the brush module 150 connected to the rotation driving portion 110b to sweep dust and foreign substances on the floor, by driving the rotation driving portion 110b.”).
Annotated Figure D (Fig. 3 of Tibberts)
Reproduced Annotated Figure B (Fig. 2 of Tibberts)
Reproduced Annotated Figure C (Fig. 3 of Tibberts)
Regarding Claim 14, Tibberts as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 10 and in addition discloses wherein the selection flap (20 of Kajihara) is an elongated piece of material hinged (See Annotated Figure E above) hinged at a top portion of the cavity (See Annotated Figure E above).
Regarding Claim 15, Tibberts as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 14 and in addition discloses and suggests but may not explicitly disclose wherein the selection flap (See Annotated Figure E) extends over a portion of the elongated cylindrical structure of the brush roller (28 of Tibberts) when the brush roller rotates clockwise (see Closed position in Annotated Figure E above) and extends over the top portion of the cavity when the brush roller rotates counterclockwise (See open Position of 41 in Annotated Figure E above).
Examiner notes, that as claimed, claim 15 requires a selection flap capable extending over the first portion of the elongated cylindrical structure of the brush roller when the brush roller rotates clockwise and extends over the top portion of the cavity when the brush roller rotates counterclockwise which the selection flap as taught by Tibberts as modified is capable of doing so. It does not require that the selection flap is rotated by the brush roller.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the location and orientation of the selection flap in the first airflow pathway of Tibberts as modified to directly extend over the first portion of the elongated cylindrical structure of the brush roller and extend over the top portion of the cavity as doing so would be a simple matter of rearrangement of parts that would not affect the operation of the invention. See MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding Claim 18, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 10, but does not teach the enclosure has a height of less than 3 inches.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the enclosure to have a height of less than 3 inches as it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Tibberts as modified would not operate differently an enclosure with a height of less than 3. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to keep the height of the enclosure less than 3 inches in order to decrease the profile of the cleaner, increase its portability and storability and increase the cleaner’s access to areas to clean thereby increasing the utility of the cleaner.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tibberts (US 20170311768 A1) in view of Goff (US 20190261826 A1), Moon (US 20180184870 A1), Payne (US 6039817 A), Kasper (US 20070067945 a1) and Kajihara (US 6079077 A), as modified in Claim 10 and in further view of Xia (US 10092155 B2).
Regarding Claim 11, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and in addition teaches wherein the mop roller is a cylindrical structure having a predefined length (See Figure 2 of Tibberts) but does not explicitly teach and an outer surface of the mop roller along the predefined length having of diagonal strips of microfiber cloth alternating with abrasive material.
However, Xia does teach a cleaner with a roller that includes a cylindrical structure (See figure 9) having a predefined length and an outer surface of the mop roller along the predefined length having of diagonal strips of microfiber cloth (49) alternating with abrasive material (48) (See figure 9) (See Col 3 Line 9-14 “a surface cleaning apparatus is provided with a hybrid brush roll that includes multiple agitation materials to optimize cleaning performance on different types of surfaces to be cleaned, including hard and soft surfaces, and for different cleaning modes, including wet and dry vacuum cleaning.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Tibberts in view of Xia to modify the brush roll in view of Xia in order to optimize cleaning operation and work for different surfaces, increasing the utility of the cleaner.
Regarding Claim 12, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 11 and in addition teaches wherein the abrasive material is nylon bristles (48 of Xia).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tibberts (US 20170311768 A1) in view of Goff (US 20190261826 A1), Moon (US 20180184870 A1), Payne (US 6039817 A), Kasper (US 20070067945 a1), Kajihara (US 6079077 A) and Xia (US 10092155 B2) as modified in Claim 11 and in further view of Jiang (US 20110047733 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 11 but does not explicitly teach wherein the abrasive material is scouring pads
However, Jiang does teach a mop roller with Scouring Pads (Jiang Para [0035] “Further, all or a portion of the sponge roller 3 may include a scouring surface. Examples of scouring surface may be brushes, bristles, nonwoven (similar to a... …scouring pad, available from 3M Company of St. Paul Minn.).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the roller of Tibberts in view of Jiang to include scouring pads as an abrasive material in order to enhance the ability to remove dirt from surfaces, especially when the mop is in a locked position (Jiang Para [0035] “For example, the sponge roller may include one or more stripes of a scouring material directly on the roller. As discussed, when the sponge roller 3 is in a locked position, then the scouring surface may enhance the ability to remove dirt from the surface being cleaned.”).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tibberts (US 20170311768 A1) in view of Goff (US 20190261826 A1), Moon (US 20180184870 A1), Payne (US 6039817 A), Kasper (US 20070067945 a1) and Kajihara (US 6079077 A) as modified in Claim 10 and in further view Lee2 (US 20150107038 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 10 but does not explicitly teach further comprising a mop cover rotatably positioned against an outer surface of the mop roller, wherein the mop cover is a partial cylindrical shell.
However, Lee2 does teach a roller with a cover, including further comprising a cover (40) rotatably positioned against an outer surface of the mop roller (See Figure 9), wherein the mop cover is a partial cylindrical shell (See Figure 9).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mop roller of Tibberts as advantageously taught by Lee2 to include a roller cover, in order to protect the roller while not in active use or to clean the mop roller after use (Para [0002] of Lee2).
Regarding Claim 17, Tibberts as modified teaches all the limitations of claim 16 and further teaches wherein the mop cover rotate to extend over the lower portion of the mop roller when the mop roller rotates counterclockwise (Lee2 Para [0029] “The rotary cover 40 can rotate by 360.degree. in both directions (in clockwise direction and counter-clockwise direction) about the longitudinal direction of the support roller 20.”).
Conclusion
/T.J.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723