DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the cartridge pocket and the cartridge the have mating geometries” in Lines 2-3. The last recitation of the term “the” in the recitation creates a lack of clarity as to whether a limitation is missing from the claim or if it is merely a grammatical/typographical issue. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6-8, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels (US Patent No. 5,788,426 A) in view of Arai et al. (JP 11-179610 A) and one of Crespin et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0232533 A1) or Filippov et al. (SU 1399014 A1) and one of Shibuya et al. (US Patent No. 10,744,574 B2) or Robinson et al. (US Patent No. 6,739,807 B2) as evidenced by Shibuya et al. (US Patent No. 10,744,574 B2) and Briggs (US Patent No. 3,606,666).
(Claim 25) Daniels discloses a rotary cutting tool cutter body (Figs. 1-3) having a rotational axis that extends axially between a shank end (18, 20 end capable of being fixed to a shank) and a cutter end (12), a circumferential exterior surface (Figs. 1-3), a plurality of cartridge pockets (Figs. 1-3) disposed in the circumferential exterior surface, and a channel disposed in the circumferential exterior surface and spaced apart from the shank end (Fig. 2; Col. 2, Lines 37-39). The channel is axially located between the plurality of cartridge pockets (28; Figs. 1-3, locations where the cartridges reside) and the shank end (18, 20). The cutter body includes a plurality of cartridge fastener threaded apertures (38). Each of said cartridge fastener threaded apertures is disposed in the cutter body in communication with one cartridge pocket of the plurality of cartridge pockets (Figs. 1-3). Each of the cartridge fastener threaded apertures extends along a cartridge fastener threaded apertures axis disposed at an angle, the angle being an included angle between a radial line perpendicular to the cutter body rotational axis and the cartridge fastener threaded aperture axis of the respective cartridge fastener threaded aperture of the plurality of cartridge fastener threaded apertures (Fig. 2). Each said cartridge pocket extends between the cutter end (12) of the cutter body and the annular channel (Fig. 2). The cutter body includes a plurality of set screw threaded apertures (48). Each of said set screw threaded apertures (48) extend axially between the annular channel and the shank end (20). Each respective said set screw threaded apertures (48) of the plurality of set screw threaded apertures is aligned with one cartridge pocket (Figs. 2, 3; Col. 3, Lines 17-34).
Each cartridge (30) of a plurality of cartridges (Figs. 1-4) has a cartridge body configured to be received within one of said cartridge pockets (28). The cartridge body has a fastener aperture (34, 54) that extends along a fastener aperture axis that is disposed at the angle. Each of a plurality of fasteners (36) extends through the fastener aperture of a respective said cartridge (Figs. 2, 3), and in threaded engagement with a respective said cartridge fastener threaded aperture (Fig. 2; Col. 2, Lines 56-61). Each of a plurality of cartridge axial adjustment mechanisms (46, 48) has a screw (46) and an engagement head (48). Each of the engagement heads (48) are disposed in the annular channel (22; Fig. 2). Each said screw is in threaded engagement with one set screw threaded aperture of the plurality of set screw threaded apertures (Fig. 2). Each said fastener (36) holds a respective said cartridge of the plurality of cartridges against one cartridge pocket (28) of the plurality of cartridge pockets, and biases the said cartridge against a said engagement head (as they are in contact when the fastener is locked in place, there is a bias applied). Daniels does not explicitly disclose the channel being annular, the cartridge fastener threaded aperture axis being disposed at an acute angle, or the cartridge axial adjustment mechanism having a set screw threaded into an engagement nut.
Arai et al. (“Arai”) discloses an annular channel (32; Translation ¶ 0009) axially located between a plurality of cartridge (4) pockets (Figs. 1-4) and the shank end (25). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the cutting tool disclosed in Daniels with an annular groove as taught by Arai in order to provide space for a wrench to adjust the axial stops, and thereby, the axial position of the cutting edges (Translation ¶ 0012).
Crespin et al. (“Crespin”) discloses a cartridge (10) with a fastening aperture (17) and cartridge fastener threaded aperture (¶ 0053; Figs. 1, 3, 4) in the cutter body (12; Figs. 1, 3, 4) disposed at an acute angle (Figs. 1, 3, 4; ¶ 0061 – discloses that the threaded aperture may go into wall 36 or 38, in either case, due to the incline of the fastening aperture along axis B, the included angle with the rotation axis of the tool would be acute). Tightening a fastener (19) moves (¶ 0061) the cartridge against a side wall (44, 46, 36, 38) and the axial rear wall (40, 22), which is an axial adjustment mechanism. At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotary cutter disclosed in Daniels with a fastening aperture and cartridge fastener threaded aperture to have an acute angle as taught by Crespin in order to secure the cartridge against side walls of the cartridge pocket and the rear support wall/stop with holding forces acting on the side walls and axial stop (¶ 0061). This modification provides an oblique force acting on the cartridge pocket (and therefore the axial adjustment stop).
In the alternative to Crespin, Filippov et al. (“Filippov”) discloses a cartridge (2) with a fastening aperture (5) and cartridge fastener threaded aperture (6; Fig. 1) in the cutter body (1; Fig. 1) disposed at an acute angle (Fig. 1 – complementary angle of d; ¶ 0009). Tightening a fastener (4) moves (¶ 0009) the cartridge against a side wall (9) and the axial rear wall (10). At a time prior to filing it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotary cutter disclosed in Daniels with a fastening aperture and cartridge fastener threaded aperture to have an acute angle as taught by Filippov in order to secure the cartridge against the side wall of the cartridge pocket and the rear support wall/stop with holding forces acting on the side wall and axial stop (¶ 0009). This modification provides an oblique force acting on the cartridge pocket (and therefore the axial adjustment stop).
Shibuya et al. (“Shibuya”) discloses a threaded screw (29) threaded into an adjusting nut (27; Col. 20, Lines 45-47). At a time prior to filing one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the rotary cutter disclosed in Daniels with an adjustment nut threaded onto a screw as suggested by Shibuya as a simple substitution of one known element for another that provides the predictable result of providing axial adjustment. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007) (reciting several exemplary rationales that may support a finding of obviousness, including ‘simple substitution’ of one known element for another).
In an alternative teaching to Shibuya alone, Robinson et al. (“Robinson”) discloses that axial adjustment stops (50, 52) are well known in the art (Col. 3, Lines 26-32). The stop may be a “flat headed screw engaging threaded holes in tool body 12, and studs mounted to tool body 12 with head members, wherein the stud and/or the head member are adjustable to position the blade abutting surface relative to tool body 12.” (Col. 3, Lines 26-32). That is, the head may be adjustable relative the threaded stud or set screw. This is a common configuration known in the art as evidenced by Shibuya et al. (US Patent No. 10,744,574 B2) (disclosing a threaded screw 29 threaded into an adjusting nut 27) (Col. 20, Lines 45-47) and Briggs (US Patent No. 3,606,666) (disclosing a screw 46 engaging with adjustment nut 42). At a time prior to filing one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the rotary cutter disclosed in Daniels with an adjustment nut threaded onto a screw as suggested by Robinson (as evidenced by Shibuya et al. and Briggs) as a simple substitution of one known element for another that provides the predictable result of providing axial adjustment. KSR, 550 U.S. at 418.
(Claims 2 and 3) The modified Daniels device discloses an acute angle but does not explicitly disclose the claimed acute angle value. Yet, the angle is a result-effective variable because it impacts the clamping forces between the cartridge and the tool body wall(s) and axial stop (Crespin ¶ 0061; Filippov ¶ 0009). Therefore, it would have been obvious at a time prior to filing for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the modified Daniels cutter with an angle within the range claimed in order to optimize the clamping forces between the cartridge and holder. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”).
(Claim 6) The plurality of cartridge pockets and the plurality of cartridges have mating geometries (Daniels Fig. 1; Col. 3, Lines 36-39).
(Claim 7) Each of the plurality of cartridge pockets has converging side walls configured in a V-shape, and each of the plurality of cartridges has a V-shaped body geometry that mates with the cartridge pocket (Daniels Fig. 1; Col. 3, Lines 36-39).
(Claim 8) Each of the plurality of cartridges include a cutting insert attached to the respective cartridge body (Daniels Fig. 4; Col. 3, Lines 13-16).
(Claim 21) Each said set screw threaded aperture (48) extends axially parallel to the cutter body rotational axis (Daniels Figs. 2, 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Kondou reference merely discloses that the fastener holds the cartridge against a surface. This argument is moot due to the new grounds of rejection. Applicant further argues, in conclusory fashion, that the Robinson, Briggs and Shibuya references disclose respective structure clearly different from the claimed structure. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Koik et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0363243 A1) (disclosing a cutting tool having a V-shaped pocket for a V-shaped cartridge and an annular groove capable of receiving adjustment screw heads); Okunishi et al. (JP 62-157710 A) (disclosing a cutting tool having an annular groove that receives an adjustment screw therein); Kinoshita et al. (US Patent No. 10,807,173 B2) (disclosing a cutting tool with adjustment screws located in an annular groove of the tool body); and Sung et al. (KR 2010-0121802 A) (disclosing adjustment screws located in arcuate slots or, alternatively, an annular groove).
/RYAN RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722