DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to amendments submitted on 12/02/2025.
2. Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims have been considered but they are not persuasive.
See response to applicants’ arguments at the end of the action.
3. Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, 14, 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TROTTMANN (EP 2727875 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 15-16, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses a system (10) and its corresponding method and computer program embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instruction for controlling a service access associated with an elevator car (6), the system comprising:
a divider configured to divide an elevator shaft into a plurality of service access zones (i.e. magnet in the elevator shaft 11 is arranged so that the additional magnet indicates the maintenance position 15. When the elevator car 6 moves over the maintenance position 15 when driving into the maintenance position 15… the position of the elevator car can be monitored in the maintenance position by means of the position detection unit. Via the operating unit 28, the lift 10 can be brought into a maintenance mode, in which the elevator car 6 can be moved at least into a maintenance position 15, which lies above the end position 14. Optionally, this maintenance position 15 can be monitored by means of the position detection unit 25. For this purpose, another magnet in the elevator shaft 11 is arranged so that the additional magnet indicates the maintenance position 15. When the elevator car 6 moves over the maintenance position 15 when driving into the maintenance position 15 or during an unintentional drive thereafter with the opening 9 open, this is detected by the position detection unit 25, which puts the lift 10 out of operation by the drive 20 being turned off and the assigned one Holding brake is activated. This ensures that the elevator car 6 does not get into an area of the elevator shaft 11 that is unreachable for the service technician); and
a controller (i.e. operating unit may include a control panel with controls, such security/safety controller 31) configured to control a locking state of at least one service access (i.e. locking unit 30. The control unit can already be connected to the elevator control system and can be installed under a cover in the area of the elevator cabin. In this embodiment, the control unit is arranged on the lift cabin via a cable, the cable being at least long enough for a maintenance technician to operate the lift from the shaft floor via the control unit. Alternatively, the control unit can be designed as a mobile device that can be connected to the elevator control system via an interface in the elevator cabin or via a wireless network), provided from inside the elevator car to the elevator shaft (i.e. an unlocking unit 35 allows the locking unit to be unlocked or released if the lift cab has reached an end position 14 in a region of a lowermost floor 1. The unlocking unit is arranged in a bottom portion of the lift shaft when the unlocking unit interacts with the locking unit, see Abstract and Description), based on a service access zone of the plurality of service access zones at which the elevator car is located (i.e. see Fig. 1, A lift with four levels of accessibility… In maintenance mode, lift cabin travel is possible to a limited extent. So can the Lift cabin be moved to a higher position to reach otherwise difficult to access waiting components, such as side buffers or guide rails. In addition, components arranged in the lower area of the elevator cabin, such as a catch brake or a suspension point of the elevator car, are also better accessible… the locking unit 30 can be unlocked or released for unlocking by the position detection unit 25 as soon as the position detection unit 25 has detected the end position 14. In this case, the position detection unit 25 assumes the function of the unlocking unit 35 from the first embodiment. The locking unit 30 after Fig. 3 has a motor that sets a mechanism in motion. Due to the detected end position 14, the position detection unit 25 sends a signal to the motor to set the mechanism in motion, thus bringing the latch directly to an open condition or releasing the latch for later manual operation. The opening of the cabin floor 7 is analogous to the first embodiment…At the elevator cabin 6, a security element 26 is provided to ensure safe operation of the lift 10 when the cabin floor 7 is open. The security element 26 monitors the opening state of the floor elements 8. The security element 26 can be designed as an electromechanical switch or contact. When swinging the bottom elements 8, the security element 26 is opened. The security element 26 is part of a security system that interrupts the operation of the lift 10 when the security element 26 is open. The monitoring of the opening state of the floor elements 8 by means of security element 26, the end position 14 and maintenance position 15 by means of the position detection unit 25 and the operation of the lift by means of the control unit 28 are of course also feasible, see Description).
In regards to claim 2, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses wherein the controller is configured to disable opening of the at least one service access in at least one service access zone of the plurality of service access zones (i.e. see Fig. 1, A lift with four levels of accessibility… In maintenance mode, lift cabin travel is possible to a limited extent. So can the Lift cabin are moved to a higher position to reach otherwise difficult to access waiting components, such as side buffers or guide rails. In addition, components arranged in the lower area of the elevator cabin, such as a catch brake or a suspension point of the elevator car, are also better accessible… the locking unit 30 can be unlocked or released for unlocking by the position detection unit 25 as soon as the position detection unit 25 has detected the end position 14. In this case, the position detection unit 25 assumes the function of the unlocking unit 35 from the first embodiment. The locking unit 30 after Fig. 3 has a motor that sets a mechanism in motion. Due to the detected end position 14, the position detection unit 25 sends a signal to the motor to set the mechanism in motion, thus bringing the latch directly to an open condition or releasing the latch for later manual operation. The opening of the cabin floor 7 is analogous to the first embodiment. The monitoring of the opening state of the floor elements 8 by means of security element 26, the end position 14 and maintenance position 15 by means of the position detection unit 25 and the operation of the lift by means of the control unit 28 are of course also feasible, see Description).
In regards to claim 3, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses wherein controller comprises a mechanical locking mechanism comprising a first mechanical element associated with the service access and a second mechanical element associated with the elevator shaft, wherein the first and second mechanical elements are configured to act together to disable opening of the service access in the at least one service access zone of the plurality of service access zones (see Description and Figs. 2-elements 30 and 35, i.e. in the area of the lowest floor 1 and is about to reach an end position 14. In this end position 14, the locking unit 30 can be unlocked by an unlocking unit 35 or released for unlocking. The unlocking unit 35 is arranged on the shaft floor 13 to such an extent that in the end position 14 of the elevator car 6, the unlocking unit 35 interacts with the locking unit 30, through which the Locking unit 30 only entrieglet or is releasable for unlocking, In the illustrated embodiment according to Fig. 1 the unlocking unit 35 is designed as a pin, pipe, mandrel or the like, which protrudes vertically from the shaft bottom 13 into the interior of the elevator shaft 11 and which comes into mechanical interaction with the locking unit 30. In this case, the pin 35 is guided in an insertion opening of the locking unit 30 and sets a mechanism of the locking unit 30 in motion. The mechanism either places the latch directly in its open position or releases the latch for later manual operation).
In regards to claim 4, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses wherein at least one service access zone corresponds to a length and position of the second mechanical element.
In regards to claims 5 and 17, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses wherein the first mechanical element comprises at least one lever, safety catch, sleeve, valve, or arm (see Description, i.e. lift cabin travel is possible to a limited extent. So can the Lift cabin are moved to a higher position to reach otherwise difficult to access waiting components, such as side buffers or guide rails. In addition, components arranged in the lower area of the elevator cabin, such as a catch brake or a suspension point of the elevator car, are also better accessible).
In regards to claims 7 and 20, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses the controller comprises an electrical lock coupled to each service access and controlled based on a location of the elevator in the elevator shaft (see Description, i.e. It is understood that the mechanism of the locking unit may have an electric motor which directly actuates the bolt or latch or releases it for opening. In this case, the mechanical interaction can be converted, for example, into a movement of a switch. The interaction that sets the above mechanism in motion may also be electrical, magnetic or electromagnetic in nature. In an electrical interaction, for example, an electrical contact between the unlocking unit and the locking unit is closed, which feeds an electric motor of the locking unit. The electric motor drives the mechanism of the locking unit when the contact is closed. In the case of a magnetic interaction, the unlocking unit has, for example, a magnet and the locking unit has a Hall sensor which measures the magnetic field generated by the magnet detected. Evaluation electronics connected to the Hall sensor evaluates the signals of the Hall sensor and, with a corresponding approach of the locking unit to the unlocking unit, can control an electric motor for actuating the mechanism).
In regards to claim 8, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses the divider comprises at least one switch coupled to the elevator shaft and configured to indicate borders of the plurality of service access zones (see Figs. 2-3, elements 14/14.1, 15/15.1; i.e. The elevator cabin 6 keeps according to Fig. 1 in the area of the lowest floor 1 and is about to reach an end position 14. In this end position 14, the locking unit 30 can be unlocked by an unlocking unit 35 or released for unlocking. The unlocking unit 35 is arranged on the shaft floor 13 to such an extent that in the end position 14 of the elevator car 6, the unlocking unit 35 interacts with the locking unit 30, through which the Locking unit 30 only entrieglet or is releasable for unlocking… the position of the elevator car 6 is monitored in the end position 14 by means of a position detection unit 25. The position detection unit 25 is preferably arranged on the elevator car 6 and comprises a sensor, for example a Hall sensor, which is suitable for detecting the position of a magnet which is arranged in the area of the elevator shaft 11 in such a way that it indicates the end position 14.When the elevator car 6 moves out of the area of the end position 14 when the opening 9 is open, this detects the position detection unit 25 and activates a cabin brake 21… The locking unit 30 after Fig. 3 has a motor that sets a mechanism in motion. Due to the detected end position 14, the position detection unit 25 sends a signal to the motor to set the mechanism in motion, thus bringing the latch directly to an open condition or releasing the latch for later manual operation. The opening of the cabin floor 7 is analogous to the first embodiment. The monitoring of the opening state of the floor elements 8 by means of security element 26, the end position 14 and maintenance position 15 by means of the position detection unit 25 and the operation of the lift by means of the control unit 28 are of course also feasible).
In regards to claim 10, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses wherein the system further comprises: a detector configured to detect that at least one service access is open; and a mechanism configured for disabling movement of the elevator car to a service access zone in which opening of the respective service access is configured to be disabled (see Description, i.e. he retraction of the elevator car into the end position can preferably be detected by means of a position detection unit which acts as an unlocking unit. Due to this position detection, the locking unit can be activated. In this case, the locking unit can be unlocked or released for unlocking. s and a security controller. At least one contact and/or switch is connected to the safety bus via a bus node. The safety controller queries via the safety bus the state of the at least one contact and / or switch. When the safety controller detects an unsafe condition of a contact and / or switch, the safety controller sends a stop signal to the drive unit or interrupts the power supply to the drive unit. In this case, the operation of the lift is interrupted. Advantageously, the position of the elevator car in the end position can be monitored by means of the position detection unit, wherein unintentional car travel can be detected when the opening is open by means of the position detection unit and, accordingly, a brake can be activated to stop the unintentional cab ride…. The safety controller 31 interrogates the status of the security element 26 periodically and, upon detecting an opened security element 26, disables the drive 20 and activates the associated holding brake. In addition, the position of the elevator car 6 is monitored in the end position 14 by means of a position detection unit 25. The position detection unit 25 is preferably arranged on the elevator car 6 and comprises a sensor, for example a Hall sensor, which is suitable for detecting the position of a magnet which is arranged in the area of the elevator shaft 11 in such a way that it indicates the end position 14. When the elevator car 6 moves out of the area of the end position 14 when the opening 9 is open, this detects the position detection unit 25 and activates a cabin brake 21).
In regards to claim 14, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses an elevator system comprising the system (see abstract).
In regards to claim 21, TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses further comprising: a mechanical limit device on a guide rail of the elevator car and configured to prevent movement of the elevator car when triggered (i.e. In maintenance mode, lift cabin travel is possible to a limited extent. So can the Lift cabin are moved to a higher position to reach otherwise difficult to access waiting components, such as side buffers or guide rails. In addition, components arranged in the lower area of the elevator cabin, such as a catch brake or a suspension point of the elevator car, are also better accessible, … It is advantageous to use already existing elevator components, such as a shaft limit switch or a shaft information system for activating the locking unit. In this case, these elevator components also assume the function of the unlocking unit, see Description)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 6 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by TROTTMANN (EP 2727875 A1) in view of TROTTMANN (WO 2014191380 A1, hereafter TROTTMANN 1380’) or in alternative TROTTMANN (EP 2727875 A1) in view of KOMATSU (CN 108689286 A).
In regards to claims 6 and 18-19, TROTTMANN does not explicitly discloses wherein the second mechanical element comprises a ramp or a tumbler plate.
However, TROTTMANN 1380’ further discloses and shows an elevator system (2) with a shaft door (4.1, 4.2, 4.3) arranged on a floor (8.1, 8.2, 8.3); an elevator car (10); a door latch (32) arranged on the shaft door (4.1, 4.2, 4.3) for locking the shaft door (4.1, 4.2, 4.3), wherein the door latch (32) can be brought from a locked position into an unlocked position in order to unlock the shaft door (4.1, 4.2, 4.3) from a shaft door (4.1, 4.2, 4.3) face facing the floor (8.1, 8.2, 8.3) using a key; a blocking element (34) which prevents the shaft door (4.1, 4.2, 4.3) from being opened in a blocking position of the blocking element, the mechanical element comprises a ramp or a tumbler plate (see Figs. 3A, 3B, 5, as shown the mechanical element comprises a ramp, i.e. actuator 38 along with blocking means 38 prevents blocking element 34, which is located in its blocking position shown in FIG. 3A, that the door latch 32 can be moved from its locked position into its unlocked position. The corresponding movement of the door bolt 32, for example, the pivoting movement about its pivot axis 33, is prevented).
Furthermore, KOMATSU also discloses and shows (Fig. 2) wherein the second mechanical element comprises a ramp or a tumbler plate (i.e. in the elevator 110, carrying the passenger car 111 via a main rope 115 connected with the hammer 112. the driving rope 115 by winch 113, the car 111 and the counterweight 112 in the hoistway 116 bucket-type lifting. the drive winch 113 according to the control signal of the control device 140.
Thus, given the teaching of TROTTMANN 1380’ and/or KOMATSU, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of TROTTMANN to employ a ramp attached to the shaft as to ensure opening or closing to be enable or disable at the time the service access is started, consequently improving the system reliability and security.
8. Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by TROTTMANN (EP 2727875 A1) in view of Bastelli (US 20200223663 A1).
In regards to claim 9, TROTTMANN does not explicitly discloses the divider comprises a computer device configured to store at least one threshold value associated with location information of borders of the plurality of service access zones.
However, it is implicit and obvious that elevator controllers must be preset with elevator operational values such as thresholds of structure limits, boundaries, and/or borders to avoid possible accidents, to manage accurately the stops and for all control processes.
Moreover, Bastelli discloses and shows (Fig. 1) an elevator installation subject to maintenance by a technician, a drive system is operated to move an elevator car along an elevator shaft in response to a call entered by the technician on a first floor. The drive system is deactivated in response to a control signal generated by an elevator controller when a safety circuit of the elevator is interrupted. Interrupting the safety circuit is caused by a detector mounted on the elevator car detecting a signal transmitted by a service tool. The controller must be preset with elevator thresholds of structure limits, boundaries, and/or borders to avoid possible accidents, to manage accurately the stops and for all control processes (see pars. 4, 33, 45, i.e. A distance from a first ceiling position at which an elevator car usually stops at a landing to a second position at which the ceiling is equal to a floor from where a maintenance and inspection person is allowed to move between the floor and the ceiling of the car is stored as a distance data in a memory of a controller… the processor unit 50 is configured to perform processing tasks, as described herein, to store set operational values, and/or to record events, such as time and duration of tool activation, generation of warning signals, and/or processing results. For these functions, the processing unit 50 may include a storage device. The components may be arranged on a common carrier plate, e.g., a printed circuit board (PCB) 52… when the elevator car 4 is at a certain (threshold) distance from the service tool 34, the detected signal intensity reaches the threshold value and continues to fall below the threshold value. When that happens, the method proceeds along the YES branch to a step S5).
Thus, given the teaching of Bastelli, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of TROTTMANN to employ storing features within the controller to store essential data such limits, border distance and other operational threshold to ensure the integrity and safety of the elevator structure, the passengers and service technicians, consequently improving the system reliability and security.
9. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by TROTTMANN (EP 2727875 A1) in view of (JP 2008514527 A).
In regards to claims 11-12, TROTTMANN discloses the pit is accessible for maintenance through the maintenance opening. Since the maintenance opening remains open during the stay of service personnel in the pit, now extends the shelter from the shaft bottom to the bottom of the cabin roof (see Description).
TROTTMANN does not explicitly discloses an elevator car roof service access disabled zone in which an elevator car roof service access is disabled when the elevator car is located in a top part in the elevator shaft and an elevator car roof service access enabled zone in which the elevator car roof service access is enabled when the elevator car is located in other parts of the elevator shaft
However, it is implicit and obvious that elevator controllers must be preset security locking mechanisms to allow the service personnel to safely operate withing different service zones such the roof door or cabin, bottom/floor accesses or any other service zone with the car driving hoist way and to provide structural secured working space and lock features as to avoid or disable the entrance to be accessed when the elevator space is not suitable for service and vice-versa; and middle service access zone in which an elevator car roof service access is enabled and an elevator car floor service access is disabled when the elevator car is located in a middle part in the elevator shaft , a top service access zone in which the elevator car roof service access is disabled, and the elevator car floor service access is disabled when the elevator car is located in a top part in the elevator shaft, a bottom service access zone-404) in which the elevator car roof service access is enabled, and the elevator car floor service access is disabled when the elevator car is located in a bottom part in the elevator shaft and a close to bottom floor service access zone in which the elevator car roof service access is enabled and the elevator car floor service access is enabled when the elevator car
Moreover, (JP 2008514527 A) discloses and shows an elevator car roof service access disabled zone in which an elevator car roof service access is disabled when the elevator car is located in a top part in the elevator shaft and an elevator car roof service access enabled zone in which the elevator car roof service access is enabled when the elevator car is located in other parts of the elevator shaft (i.e. the elevator car (3) safety stop device (1) has a small free space at the top (4) and / or the bottom (6) of the shaft in normal operation ( 3) the safety stop device (1) of at least one box (1) arranged at a corresponding height of the speed limit cable (5) of the car overspeed safety device with respect to the shaft 9, 9 '), the box (9, 9') comprising an articulated bifurcated element (15, 15 '), which is in the service position of the device in the cage. The elevator car is restrained and at least a safety space for the operator is left in the cabin roof (37) or the shaft bottom (6)… e safety space for workers on the cabin roof allows for such a longer car safe stop distance. Accordingly, the height of the safety space in the shaft corresponds to the height of engagement with the cable by the bifurcated element of the connecting element plus the maximum car safe stop distance. Whether the activation switch is activated directly to check the elevator, is automatically activated as soon as the landing door is opened, or is a safety maintenance switch built into the locking mechanism or a safety maintenance switch that is activated when the door is opened Thus, as soon as an operator accesses the cabin roof, the device of the present invention is in the service position.
Thus, given the teaching of (JP 2008514527 A), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of TROTTMANN to disable and enable the use of the roof entrance for service when the space of the car is within a particular safe space to ensure the integrity and safety of the elevator structure, the passengers and service technicians, consequently improving the system reliability and security.
10. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by TROTTMANN (EP 2727875 A1) in view of Cervera et al. (US 20210002101 A1).
In regards to claims 13, Although TROTTMANN shows (Figs. 1-3) and discloses a mechanical limit device configured to prevent driving of the elevator car and counterweight of the elevator car when an elevator car wall service access is in use (see Description, The drive power of the drive 20 is transmitted to a support means 17 by a drive pulley operatively connected to the drive 20. At one end of the support means 17, the elevator car 6 is suspended. To compensate for the weight of the elevator car 6, a counterweight 16 is provided, which is suspended at a second end of the support means 17. Needless to say, the person skilled in the art, in addition to the illustrated 1: 1 suspension of the lift cabin 6 and the counterweight 16, also deviates from possible solutions in which suspension ratios of 2: 1 and more are selected. Furthermore, the lift can also be realized without weight. As a support means 17 are ropes, belts or the like), he does not explicitly disclose and discloses further comprising: a mechanism configured to prevent driving of the elevator car within a predetermined distance from a counterweight of the elevator car when an elevator car wall service access is in use.
However, Cervera shows and discloses further comprising: a mechanism configured to prevent driving of the elevator car within a predetermined distance from a counterweight of the elevator car when an elevator car wall service access is in use (see pars. 29-31, 34).
Thus, given the teaching of Cervera, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of TROTTMANN to employ a security feature such as a mechanism configured to prevent driving of the elevator car within a predetermined distance from a counterweight of the elevator car when an elevator car wall service access in order to prevent the elevator car from moving to the top of the elevator shaft. This results in a space above the elevator car being made available, allowing maintenance or inspection procedures to be safely carried out., consequently improving the system reliability and security.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments filed on 12/02 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The examiner believes that the prior arts made of record still read on the added limitations.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claims 1and 15, that Trottmann '875 does not disclose "a divider configured to divide an elevator shaft into a plurality of service access zones ", since the magnets do not divide the elevator shaft into any zones, hence it fails to also disclose a plurality of service access zones, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner respectfully reminds the applicant that the claims and only the claims form the metes and bounds of the invention. “Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Moreover, limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d, 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969)”. (Refer to Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, Eighth Edition Revision 8: July 2010).
The Examiner still considers the prior-art of Trottmann, clearly comprises all structures and components as to execute the claimed features and broadly claimed (Emphasis added). The Examiner has full latitude to interpret each claim in the broadest reasonable sense. The Examiner will reference prior art using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. The claimed arguments given a fair broad interpretation only request a system for controlling a service access associated with an elevator car comprising a divider configured to divide an elevator shaft into a plurality of service access zones.
First of all, based on applicant specs this divider for example may be one of “a locking means may comprise at least one component configured to divide the elevator shaft into the plurality of service access zones. In an example embodiment, the elevator shaft may be divided into the plurality of service access zones with the mechanical locking mechanism such that at least one service access zone corresponds to a length and position of the second mechanical element along the elevator shaft”, OR “at least one switch may be used to divide the elevator shaft into the plurality of service access zones such that at least one service access zone is located above the switch and at least one service access zone below the switch” OR “a computer device may be configured to divide the elevator shaft into the plurality of service access zones”. The examiner believes that said divider can easily interpreted as any determination of how a service technician can operate the elevator car as to stop in any point of the elevator shaft (hatchway) as to exit to perform a maintenance action. As previously mentioned, this dividing action of dividing the elevator shaft into a plurality of service access zones, can be performed by multiple locking mechanism, corresponds to a length and position of the second mechanical element, a switch or merely a computer control action. The examiner has introduced Trottmann which clearly discloses a lift (10) comprising a lift cab (6) movable in a lift shaft (11) between a shaft ceiling and a shaft floor by a drive unit and locking unit (30) locks the floor element on the cab floor. An unlocking unit (35) allows the locking unit to be unlocked or released if the lift cab has reached a position. For example, the brake may be designed as a cabin brake, wherein the brake is attached to the elevator car and acts on guide rails of the elevator car. When the cab brake is activated, the lift cab is held to the guide rails. In maintenance mode, lift cabin travel is possible to a limited extent. So can the Lift cabin are moved to a higher position to reach otherwise difficult to access waiting components, such as side buffers or guide rails. The signal transmission cable is preferably long enough for the operating unit 28 to hang under the elevator cabin 6 when the cabin floor 7 is open until it reaches the working area of the service technician. An evaluation electronics connected to the Hall sensor evaluates the signals of the Hall sensor and, with a corresponding approach of the locking unit to the unlocking unit, can control an electric motor for actuating the mechanism. The position detection unit 25 can monitor the position of the elevator car 6 after reaching the maintenance position 15. Moreover the system comprises means 14.1, 15.1 which can be interpreted as for dividing an elevator shaft 11 into a plurality of service access zones above a maintenance position 15 and between a maintenance position 15 to an end position 14 and below an end position 14.
Thus, the system comprises a service lane area for based on which the elevator car 6 is located in a plurality of service access areas (referring essentially to a plurality of service lanes areas in connection with the lift shaft between two end positions and directly depending on the control of drive 20 which execute the upward and downward action of the elevator car 6), the latching unit 30 and the unlatching unit 35 (equivalent to the means to control the latching status) are controlled to the latching status from the interior of the elevator car to at least one bottom element 8 of the elevator shaft. Hence, when the elevator car 6 moves over the maintenance position 15 when driving into the maintenance position 15 with the opening 9 open, this is detected by the position detection unit 25, which puts the lift 10 out of operation by the drive 20 being turned off and the assigned one Holding brake is activated. This ensures that the elevator car 6 does not get into an area of the elevator shaft 11 that is unreachable for the service technician.
Thus, it is clearly stated that Trottmann system can control the elevator car into at least two position to allow the technician exit from floor elements 8 to execute the maintenance over the full length between those points, and this by means of the control of the drive 20 and said locking unit 30 and maintenance positions 14/15 (14.4, 15.1).
Hence, the examiner believes that all the limitations of the claims will be considered met so long as the device of the prior art meets all structural limitations. The prior art apparatus as identified in the rejected claims are also capable of performing all the claimed intended use and/or desired functional language. Therefore, all the limitations as claimed are still met or anticipated as pointed out in the previous office actions and in this final office action. It is well settled that anticipation law requires distinction be made between invention described or taught and invention claimed. It does not require that the reference "teach" what subject patent application teaches, it is only necessary that the claim under attack, as construed by the Court, "read on" something disclosed in the reference, i.e., all limitations of the claim are found in reference, or are "fully met" by it. Kalman v. Kimberly Clark Corp., 218 USPQ 781,789 (CAFC 1983). Moreover, the Claims8-19 and 37 are drawn to an apparatus must distinguish from prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danlv, 120 USPQ 528 (CCPA 1959) and MPEP 2114.
Finally, the examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in its entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner and the additional related prior arts made of record that are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure to further show the general state of the art.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846