DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-11, 13, 15, and 51-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spurrell et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0000983) in view of Solli et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0148453).
Regarding claim 1: Spurrell discloses a method for assembling an insulated box assembly, the method comprising:
positioning an inner corrugated portion (Fig. 2; via 108) and an insulated layer (via 104/106) between a plurality of side portions of an outer corrugated portion (via outer side portions 102), each side portion defining a handle, see for example (Figs. 1-2; inherently the final made container 100 is lifted by hand; any given portion of the side panels or bottom panel could be “defined” as a handle to carry and handle the container), the inner corrugated portion comprising a plurality of side panels hingedly coupled together (via the shown different panels or sides of 108) an defining a top end and a bottom end of the inner corrugated portion (Figs. 2 & 7; via the top and bottom ends of 104/106), the insulated layer extending around the plurality of side panels (via 104/106 rounds around the panels of 108), the insulated layer coupled to the inner corrugated portion (via 104/106 coupled to the inner corrugated portion 108), the insulated layer positioned between the inner corrugated portion and the outer corrugated portion (via 104/106 “entirely” positioned between the inner 108 & outer 102 layers; and paragraph 0042, “The insulating member may be corrugated…and any type of corrugated medium”), the insulated layer comprising at least one insulation batt (via “expanded polystyrene is the material of choice to use as thermal insulation” and/or “insulating members made from n encapsulated cellulose-based substrate may provide adequate insulation”), comprising an adhesive thermoplastic binder adhered to a cellulose fiber, see for example (paragraph 0043; “the container blanks will be encapsulated with a polymeric film…and sealing, adhering,… any bag opening or open sides of the wrapping” & paragraph 0067; “the hot melt adhesive used in the encapsulated blanks”); the plurality of side panels defining a top end and a bottom end of the inner corrugated portion (Fig. 8; via the top/bottom portions of final formed 102), a bottom panel being positioned at the bottom end below the insulated layer (Figs. 2 & 8; inherently the bottom folded panels positioned under and below insulation 104/106), the plurality of side panels and the bottom panel at least partially defining a cavity (Fig. 8; via forming inner container space), the cavity being insulated by the insulated layer (via surrounding of 104/106 around the inner of the formed container 102), an opening to the cavity being defined at the top end (Fig. 8; via top formed opening), and enclosing the cavity with a top (Figs. 8-9; via closing the 102 with the top flaps 136/138).
Spurrell may not suggest the positioning of the insulated layer to be coupled to the inner corrugated portion between the top end and the bottom end of the inner corrugated portion. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Spurrell’s insulated layer to be positioned between the inner corrugated portion between the tope and bottom ends, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Further, it is noted that positioning an insulated materials between top and bottom ends of a corrugated inner portion is old and well known in the art, see for example the following documents:
-U.S. Pat. No. 11,066,228; Figs. 1 & 7-13; via 130 between the top/bottom ends of inner portion 120.
-U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0148410; Figs. 4, 7, & 9; via 310 between to/bottom ends of inner portion 520.
-U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0327171; Figs. 3-5.
-U.S. Pat. No. 5,441,170; Figs. 3 & 6.
Spurrell does not disclose show an insulated layer defining an open top end, an open bottom end, and extending around the plurality of side panels. However, Sollie discloses similar method with a use of insulated layer with an open top end, an open bottom end, and extending around plurality of side panels, see for example (Figs. 1 and 6-8; via climate control and insulating liners 600 with shown cavity 650 around box 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have substituted Spurrell’s insulated layer by another layer with an open top end, an open bottom end, and extending around plurality of side panels, as a matter of design choice and suggested by Sollie, in order to gain more control of the inner temperature (paragraph 0006-0009).
Regarding claim 2: Spurrell discloses that wherein enclosing the cavity with a top comprises: positioning the top between the plurality of side portions; and covering the opening with the top (via flaps 136/138 positioned and closed between the side panels of the container 102).
Regarding claim 6: Spurrell discloses that wherein enclosing the cavity with a top comprises positioning the top between the plurality of side panels (via flaps 136/138 positioned and closed between the side panels of the container 102).
Regarding claim 7: Spurrell discloses that the outer corrugated portion extends around the bottom panel and at least one side panel of the plurality of side panels (Fig. 2-4; via corrugated side panels of 102 surrounding the bottom panel 108).
Regarding claim 8: Spurrell discloses that: a portion of the outer corrugated portion is hingedly connected to the plurality of side portions; and the bottom panel is position between the plurality of side portions and above the portion (Fig. 2-4; via corrugated and hingedly side panels of 102 surrounding the bottom panel 108).
Regarding claim 9: Spurrell discloses that the bottom panel is positioned in facing contact with the portion (via bottom 108 in respect to completely formed 102).
Regarding claim 10: Spurrell discloses that the plurality of side panels comprises a first side panel, a second side panel, a third side panel, and a fourth side panel; and the insulated layer extends around the first side panel, the second side panel, the third side panel, and the fourth side panel, see for example (Figs.2-3; via side panels 110, 112, 114, 116).
Regarding claim 11: Spurrell further comprising: folding the second side panel about a first fold line to position the second side panel substantially perpendicular to the first side panel; folding the third side panel about a second fold line to position the third side panel substantially perpendicular to the second side panel; and folding the fourth side panel about a third fold line to position the fourth side panel substantially perpendicular to the third side panel, (Figs. 2-3; via the shown fold lines between the panels).
Regarding claim 13: Spurrell discloses that the inner corrugated layer comprises cardboard (via corrugated cardboard of 108).
Regarding claim 15: Spurrell discloses that the at least one insulation batt is adhesively coupled to the inner corrugated portion (inherently adhesive will be applied to secure the insulting materials to the panels; “hot melt adhesive used in the encapsulated blanks affects quality” and/or “a process utilizing adhesives to bond the polymeric films to each other and optionally to the cellulose-based substrate”).
Regarding claims 51-55 (the best understood): Spurrell discloses the claimed “insulation batt”, “cellulose fibers”, “thermoplastic binder”, “glass transition”, etc., see for example (Figs. 2 & 10; paragraph 0002, 0067, 0040).
Regarding claim 56: Spurrell discloses that the plurality of side portion of the outer corrugated portion comprises a first side portion and a second side portion, see for example (Figs. 2 & 7; via the shown sides panels/flaps of the container); and
The first side portion defines a first handle and the second side portion defines a second handle, see for example (Figs. 1 & 7; inherently the shown final made container is lifted by hand; any given portion of the side panels or bottom panel could be “defined” as a first and second handle portions to carry and handle the container).
Regarding claim 57: Spurrell does not show the first and second handle extend upwardly beyond the top end of the inner corrugated portion. However, the Office takes an official notice that a use of handles in a given corrugated container to be extended upwardly and beyond the top end of the box is something very old and well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Spurrell’s method for assembling a box by placing handles extended upwardly and beyond the top end portion of the box, in order to make the process of carrying and moving the box around easier.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 6-11, 13, 15, and 51-57 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection modified to address the latest filed amendments and added new claims.
In respect to applicant’s argument that the applied art of Spurrell ‘983 does not suggest the amended claims referring to “each side portion defining a handle”.
The Office draws applicant’s attention that the claims are given the broadest reasonable meaning, in this case the claimed language broadly referring to portions on the corrugated portion to be “defining a handle”, not necessarily to have a separate or new portion defining the “handle”. Any given section of the corrugated portion or made container could be considered as “handle” portion where a person could lift and carry the container. It is noted that the made container is being carried and moved around, therefore, any section of the container is carried by is considered “a handle” portion.
The Office believes that applicant is reading too much of the actual specified invention into the claimed language and arguing of something not positively cited in the claimed language.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731