DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/14/2026.
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-22 are pending and are subject to this Office Action.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 2 and 8 are cancelled.
Claims 13-21 are withdrawn for being directed to a non-elected group.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-10, filed 08/14/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant introduced new limitations to the claims, specifically regarding the two or more layers comprising an active ingredient prior to insertion of the oral product within user’s oral cavity.
On pages 7-8, the Applicant argues that the prior art Sebastian does not teach the new claim amendment “at least one of the two or more layers comprising an active ingredient prior to insertion of the oral product within a user’s oral cavity” because it is clear the presence of nicotine within a fleece layer Sebastian does not fall within the scope of what is recited.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sebastian explicitly discloses “if desired, flavoring ingredients, disintegration aids, and other desired components, may be incorporated within, or applied to, the pouch material.” ([0031]). Sebastian further discloses “flavorants can also be incorporated into the nonwoven web if desired, such as by coating or printing an edible flavorant ink onto the nonwoven web.” ([0074]). It is clear to one of ordinary skill in the art that Sebastian can in fact teach additional components that are applied to a pouch material prior to insertion in a user’s oral cavity and is merely silent to the desired components being an active ingredient, which is not outside of the scope of what is claimed.
Furthermore, “mint” is listed as an antioxidant in accordance with the Applicant’s disclosure (pages 29-30), and since Sebastian discloses mint as a flavorant that can be incorporated into the fleece layer, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Sebastian does in fact teach the layer comprising an active ingredient prior to insertion into the user’s oral cavity.
On pages 8-9, the Applicant further argues that Sebastian only provides specific guidance to include a component such as an active ingredient within a hydrophilic layer and that Sebastian teaches flavor components should be incorporated only within a hydrophilic layer.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Sebastian clearly is not limited to additional components only being added to a hydrophilic layer. Sebastian teaches in certain embodiments the relatively hydrophilic layer can comprise a flavor component ([0016]), but nowhere in the disclosure is Sebastian limited to only these certain embodiments.
Furthermore, Stahl discloses the pouch membrane may be hydrophilic or hydrophobic ([0157]), so the pouch layer comprising nicotine could obviously be applied to a similar layer of Sebastian, such as the hydrophilic layer.
On pages 9-10, the Applicant maintains their arguments regarding the combination of Sebastian with Stahl, since Stahl is directed to a single pouch membrane and Sebastian is a “unique layered design” and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have no reasonable expectation of success in modifying a multilayered laminated fleece in the manner required to implement the principles of Stahl and introduce nicotine within the material. The Applicant further argues that Stahl is directed to a single membrane and that the materials of Sebastian and Stahl are not the same and cannot be combined because the layers are different.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the materials in the pouched products are in fact the same and whether or not Stahl teaches a multi-layered fleece product, Stahl still teaches a similar pouched product comprising fleece material and teaches it is known in the art to add additives like active ingredients to a fleece pouch layer. There is no requirement in the claim that more than one layer comprises additives, so there is no requirement for Stahl to teach this. Sebastain already makes obvious that the pouch layers can comprise additional components/flavorants and is merely silent to an additional component including an additive like nicotine. Stahl is only relied upon to teach a pouch layer can comprise an additive, which is known in the art and therefore not a novel claim limitation.
Furthermore, Stahl is directed to pouch membranes and pouch materials. Stahl does not explicitly disclose a singular layer as the membrane material and is not limited to such. For example, Stahl lists references fleece materials for use as pouch membranes are described in other references such as WO2008152469, which is not cited in the rejection, and for example purposes only, teaches a multi-layered pouch product ([0027]). Therefore, the Examiner does not find the arguments limiting Stahl a single pouch layer persuasive.
Furthermore, Sebastian discloses an active ingredient in the form of a flavorant/botanical can be used in the nonwoven layers ([0039]) and if desired, flavoring ingredients, disintegration aids, and other desired components, may be incorporated within, or applied to, the pouch material ([0031]). Therefore, Sebastian teaches motivation to apply a “desired component” to the fleece layers and is clearly not limited to the components listed in the disclosure. It would indeed be obvious to one of ordinary skill to apply additional nicotine to at least one of the fleece layers to greatly improve the release of nicotine, as taught by Stahl ([0015]).
A modified rejection based on the amendments is provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian et. Al. (US 20160073689 A1, as cited in the IDS dated 05/17/2021) (Sebastian) and further in view of Advantage Converting (https://www.advantageconverting.com/converting-services/laminating/ and https://web.archive.org/web/20190720095125/https://www.advantageconverting.com/materials/), Acelli (https://web.archive.org/web/20200924214938/https://www.acelli.it/en/nonwovens-lamination) and Stahl et. Al. (US-20200383373-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sebastian, directed to a pouched tobacco product adapted for oral use with varying degrees of porosity (i.e., porous pouch) ([0059]) discloses:
The pouch can retain a composition adapted for oral use that is enclosed within the pouch (i.e., define a cavity) ([0059]),
Wherein the porous pouch is formed from two layers, an outer water-permeable pouch comprising an outer hydrophilic layer 50 and an inner hydrophobic layer 55 and formed from a fleece fabric to form a nonwoven fleece pouch product ([0043], [0060], and [0062]),
Sebastian teaches the two layers can be attached together so that they are in direct contact with one another and that the layers may be formed by attaching the two layers together using any means known in the art ([0060]),
Sebastian further teaches in certain embodiments, the outer hydrophilic layer can comprise a flavor component (such as any of the flavor components noted herein), which can be applied to the nonwoven layer in any conventional manner such as by coating, printing, and the like ([0061]). Sebastian further discloses some of the flavor components include natural or artificial flavors such as, mint, cinnamon, cherry or other fruit flavors) (i.e., active ingredients like terpenes) ([0039]).,
And Sebastian further discloses embodiments of the disclosure that are tobacco free, such as nicotine treated non-tobacco material (i.e., product is free of tobacco) ([0009]).
Sebastian does not explicitly disclose the two or more layers are laminated via heat and pressure to one another (I) and the at least one of the two or more layers comprises an active ingredient, prior to insertion of the oral pouched product within a user’s oral cavity, wherein the active ingredient is selected from the group consisting of a stimulant, an amino acid, a vitamin, an antioxidant, a nicotine component, a nutraceutical, a cannabinoid, a cannabimimetic, a pharmaceutical agent, and combinations thereof (II).
(I)
Sebastian discloses several methods of web bonding and that the web can be accomplished by any means known in the art, including thermal bonding which is a process that can use heat and/or pressure to bond the fibers of the non-woven web together ([0053]), but is silent on a specific method that involves laminating at least two layers via heat and pressure.
Advantage Converting discloses laminating is known for laminating parts in multi-sheet form (page 1) using materials such as non-woven fabrics (page 2, Fabrics & Mesh). Advantage Converting further discloses a thermal lamination, including heat-activated thermal bonds.
As evidenced by Acelli, “thermal lamination” includes pressure and heat. Acelli, directed to laminating multiple nonwoven layers, discloses that thermal lamination uses pressure and heat to adhere layers together (page 6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sebastian by bonding the nonwoven layers together using thermal lamination, as taught by Advantage Converting, which involves pressure and heat as evidenced by Acelli, because Sebastian discloses the nonwoven layers can be bonded by any means known in the art, Advantage Converting discloses a known lamination method for nonwoven material, and this merely involves applying a known means for attaching two layers together with a reasonable expectation of success of bonding layers of nonwoven material.
(II)
Sebastian explicitly discloses “if desired, flavoring ingredients, disintegration aids, and other desired components, may be incorporated within, or applied to, the pouch material.” ([0031]). Sebastian further discloses “flavorants can also be incorporated into the nonwoven web if desired, such as by coating or printing an edible flavorant ink onto the nonwoven web.” ([0074]). It is clear to one of ordinary skill in the art that Sebastian teaches additional components that are applied to a pouch material prior to insertion in a user’s oral cavity and is merely silent to the desired components being an active ingredient.
Furthermore, Stahl, directed to a nicotine pouched product discloses the pouch having a composition and a pouch membrane enclosing the pouch composition (abstract).
Stahl further discloses the pouch membrane includes nicotine in an amount of at least 15% by weight of a total content of nicotine in the pouched product (i.e., one of the layers comprising nicotine) ([0007]).
Stahl further discloses fleece materials for use in pouch membranes are an example of various types of pouch membrane materials that can be used ([0156] and [0161]) and that adding nicotine to the pouch layer is advantageous because a relatively fast release of nicotine is facilitated due to the inclusion of said further nicotine in the pouch membrane and greatly improves nicotine release over pouches containing nicotine only in the pouch composition ([0015]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Modified Sebastian, by making one of the pouch layers further comprise nicotine, as taught by Stahl, because both are directed to oral pouched products, Stahl teaches the addition of nicotine allows for faster release of nicotine and greatly improves the nicotine release over pouches only comprising nicotine in the pouch composition ([0015]), and this merely involves applying a known technique of adding nicotine to a pouch layer, such as a fleece layer, of a similar product to yield predictable results to advantageously improve the release of nicotine in the pouched product of Sebastian.
Regarding claim 3, Sebastian teaches that the pouch may be a multilayer composite made of two or more nonwoven layers ([0060]). The claimed range of three or more layers overlaps the range taught by the prior art, and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 4, Sebastian teaches the pouch comprises at least two layers; a hydrophilic layer and a hydrophobic layer, with differing physical properties ([0060]).
Sebastian further teaches the inner hydrophobic layer is in contact with the composition adapted for oral use 60, and stores the composition ([0060]).
Regarding claim 5, Sebastian teaches the hydrophilic layer, comprising a flavorant, will dissipate before the hydrophilic inner layer (i.e., physical properties including dissolution properties) ([0061]).
Regarding claim 7, Sebastian teaches the outer hydrophilic layer can comprise a flavor component ([0053]).
Sebastian further teaches the outer layer can comprise a flavor component that differs from the inner layer ([0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Sebastian teaches the outer hydrophilic layer can comprise a flavor component ([0053]), and further teaches the outer layer can comprise a flavor component that differs from the inner layer ([0061]) (i.e., two different flavorants).
Modified Sebastian further teaches at least one of the layers can comprise an active ingredient (Stahl [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Sebastian teaches the non-woven fibers may be laminated together by needle punching which shapes the pouched product ([0053] and advantage converting (page 2, Fabrics & Mesh)).
Regarding claim 22, Modified Sebastian discloses the active ingredient is nicotine (Stahl [0015]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian et. Al. (US 20160073689 A1, as cited in the IDS dated 05/17/2021) in view of Advantage Converting (https://www.advantageconverting.com/converting-services/laminating/ and https://web.archive.org/web/20190720095125/https://www.advantageconverting.com/materials/), Acelli (https://web.archive.org/web/20200924214938/https://www.acelli.it/en/nonwovens-lamination), and Stahl et. Al. (US-20200383373-A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Strickland et. Al. (US 20060191548 A1) (Strickland).
Regarding claim 6, Sebastian teaches an outer layer and an inner layer, but does not explicitly teach the outer layer being softer than the inner layer.
Strickland, directed to tobacco compositions, teaches the outer layer can be softer than the inner layer. ([0035]; [0036]). Strickland teaches the inner layer contains tobacco and the outer layer may contain flavors such breath freshening agents ([0036]). The pouch composition disintegrates when placed in the mouth of a user ([0036]).
Strickland further teaches the tobacco pouch compositions are advantageous from the perspective of size, ease of use, and controlled rate of disintegration ([0028]; [0056]), (i.e., how the pouch is designed, size, shape, or softness, is advantageous and are picked based on their properties). Individual layers in multilayer films may also be formed or aerated to provide desirable physical properties or desirable dissolution or disintegration rates ([0056]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Modified Sebastian, making the outer layer softer than the inner layer of the pouch, as taught by Strickland, because all are directed to multi layered products are directed to tobacco compositions, modifying properties like softness in the composition can affect the rate of disintegration, size, and ease of use ([0028]), and this involves modifying a known composition of a similar pouch material to have a known softness to yield predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian et. Al. (US 20160073689 A1, as cited in the IDS dated 05/17/2021) in view of Advantage Converting (https://www.advantageconverting.com/converting-services/laminating/ and https://web.archive.org/web/20190720095125/https://www.advantageconverting.com/materials/), Acelli (https://web.archive.org/web/20200924214938/https://www.acelli.it/en/nonwovens-lamination), and Stahl et. Al. (US-20200383373-A1), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Winterson et. Al. (US 9044049 B2) (Winterson).
Regarding claim 9, Sebastian teaches the outer layer can an active ingredient and a flavorant ([0039] and ([0061]) and further teaches the outer layer is configured for faster release of the flavorant ([0061]), but does not explicitly teach the inner layer configured for stain resistance.
Winterson, directed to tobacco pouch products, teaches an inner and outer liner (i.e., layer) within the pouch ([0044] - [0046]).
Winterson further teaches the layer(s) can reduce staining of the web ([0014]; [0022]; [0055]).
Winterson teaches the tobacco material may carry additives that stain or discolor the pouch ([0026]).
Winterson further teaches the inner layer of the web is configured for stain resistance by preventing the staining of the web from the tobacco component (claim 12).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Modified Sebastian, by making the inner layer stain resistant, as taught by Winterson, because all are directed to layers that can form a pouch, Winterson teaches the inner layer prevents the tobacco material from staining the pouch by using a stain resistant layer of web ([0026]; claim 12), and this merely involves modifying a similar inner layer with a known technique of making it stain resistant, to yield predictable results of a stain resistant inner layer of a pouch product.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sebastian et. Al. (US 20160073689 A1, as cited in the IDS dated 05/17/2021) (Sebastian) in view of Advantage Converting (https://www.advantageconverting.com/converting-services/laminating/ and https://web.archive.org/web/20190720095125/https://www.advantageconverting.com/materials/), Acelli (https://web.archive.org/web/20200924214938/https://www.acelli.it/en/nonwovens-lamination) and Stahl et. Al. (US-20200383373-A1), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Shikata et al. (US-20120298124-A1).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Sebastian teaches nicotine in the pouch layer (Stahl [0015]) and further discloses several botanical active ingredients, and that if desired, flavoring ingredients, disintegration aids, and other desired components, may be incorporated within, or applied to, the pouch material ([0031] and [0039]), but does not explicitly disclose a second active ingredient as defined in claim 1, applied to the pouch layer.
Shikata directed to a multi-layered pouch product ([0027]) discloses a first and second pouch layer, wherein the layers can optionally contain an additive such as an emulsifier, an antioxidant or a preservative. The pouch containing such an additive can be obtained by applying an additive-dissolving solution to the pouch ([0049]).
Shikata further discloses examples of the antioxidant or preservative include organic acids such as ascorbic acid, Vitamin E, acetic acid, citric acid, lactic acid, malic acid, sorbic acid and tartaric acid ([0050]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Modified Sebastian by applying an additional active ingredient such as a preservative or antioxidant, as taught by Shikata, because both are directed to pouched products comprising active ingredients, Shikata teaches preservatives and antioxidants are known active ingredients applied to pouch layers, and this merely involves applying an additional active ingredient known in the art of a similar product to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Keller et al. (US-20210068446-A1), oral product with cellulosic flavor stabilizer discloses a moisture-permeable container in the form of a pouch 102, which contains a material 104 comprising a mixture ([0159]).
Stahl et al. (US-20210329962-A1), directed to a nicotine pouched oral product, discloses nicotine in both the composition and the outer membrane layer ([0009]-[0015]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADELEINE P DELACRUZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755