DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 31 and 33-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,067,112 (hereafter ‘112) In view of Lou. (CN 104511170)
With respect to claim 31, claims 1 and 7 of ‘112 teaches a method for collecting data using an autonomous sensor fish, the method comprising: providing a nearly neutrally buoyant sensor fish comprising a power source, processing circuitry, a microcontroller, and a ballasting member; dispatching the sensor fish into an environment to collect data; collecting data with the sensor fish using the processing circuitry; and actuating the microcontroller to release the ballasting member to cause the sensor fish to become more buoyant.
The claims of ‘112 do not explicitly teach an autonomous sensor fish defining a simulated fish body having a body between a head and a tail and defining dorsal and tail fins, dispatching the sensor fish below the surface of a body of water, mimicking the behavior of a live fish using one or more of the body, the dorsal and/or tail fins of the sensor fish, or collecting collision data below the surface of the body of water.
Lou teaches an autonomous sensor fish (single pendulum white dolphin) defining a simulated fish body having a body between a head and a tail and defining dorsal and tail fins, and a method of dispatching the fish below the surface of a body of water and mimicking the behavior of a live fish using one more of the body, dorsal and/or tail fins of the sensor fish and collecting collision data below the surface of the body of water. (translation, Abstract, par. 12, Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of ‘112 to operate with a simulated fish body, as taught by Lou, in order to readily move the fish body underwater while emulating a fish.
With respect to claim 33, claim 1 of ‘112, as modified by Lou, teaches using the sensor fish to detect at least one parameter comprising one or more of orientation, acceleration, rotational velocity, magnetic field intensity, pressure, and/or external temperature.
With respect to claim 34, claim 7 of ‘112, as modified by Lou, teaches the sensor fish is nearly neutrally buoyant prior to releasing the ballasting member.
With respect to claim 35, claim 8 of ‘112, as modified by Lou, teaches sampling data using the sensor fish at up to 8,192 Hz for a preselected programmable period of time.
With respect to claim 36, claim 9 of ‘112, as modified by Lou, teaches triggering an alarm to facilitate identification and location of the sensor fish.
With respect to claim 37, claim 10 of ‘112, as modified by Lou, teaches identifying the sensor fish using an LED.
With respect to claim 38, claim 11 of ‘112, as modified by Lou, teaches identifying the sensor fish using a radio frequency (RF) beacon.
With respect to claim 39, claim 12 of ‘112, as modified by Lou, teaches selectively activating or deactivating the microcontroller by a magnetic field.
With respect to claim 40, claim 13 of ‘112, as modified by Lou, teaches downloading data collected during use and/or charging a battery of the sensor fish via docking station.
Claims 31-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 10,935,536 (hereafter ‘536) in view of Lou. (CN 104511170)
With respect to claim 31, claims 1 and 4 of ‘536 teach a method for collecting data using an autonomous sensor fish, the method comprising: providing a nearly neutrally buoyant sensor fish comprising a power source, processing circuitry, a microcontroller, and a ballasting member; dispatching the sensor fish into an environment to collect data; collecting data with the sensor fish using the processing circuitry; and actuating the microcontroller to release the ballasting member to cause the sensor fish to become more buoyant.
The claims of ‘536 do not explicitly teach an autonomous sensor fish defining a simulated fish body having a body between a head and a tail and defining dorsal and tail fins, dispatching the sensor fish below the surface of a body of water, mimicking the behavior of a live fish using one or more of the body, the dorsal and/or tail fins of the sensor fish, or collecting collision data below the surface of the body of water.
Lou teaches an autonomous sensor fish (single pendulum white dolphin) defining a simulated fish body having a body between a head and a tail and defining dorsal and tail fins, and a method of dispatching the fish below the surface of a body of water and mimicking the behavior of a live fish using one more of the body, dorsal and/or tail fins of the sensor fish and collecting collision data below the surface of the body of water. (translation, Abstract, par. 12, Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of ‘536 to operate with a simulated fish body, as taught by Lou, in order to readily move the fish body underwater while emulating a fish.
With respect to claim 32, claim 2 of ‘536, as modified by Lou, teaches downloading data from the microcontroller and erasing a portion of memory of said microcontroller to prepare said microcontroller for a subsequent deployment.
With respect to claim 33, claim 3 of ‘536, as modified by Lou, teaches using the sensor fish to detect at least one parameter comprising one or more of orientation, acceleration, rotational velocity, magnetic field intensity, pressure, and/or external temperature.
With respect to claim 34, claim 4 of ‘536, as modified by Lou, teaches the sensor fish is nearly neutrally buoyant prior to releasing the ballasting member.
With respect to claim 35, claim 5 of ‘536, as modified by Lou, teaches sampling data using the sensor fish at up to 8,192 Hz for a preselected programmable period of time.
With respect to claim 36, claim 6 of ‘536, as modified by Lou, teaches triggering an alarm to facilitate identification and location of the sensor fish.
With respect to claim 37, claim 7 of ‘536, as modified by Lou, teaches identifying the sensor fish using an LED.
With respect to claim 38, claim 8 of ‘536, as modified by Lou, teaches identifying the sensor fish using a radio frequency (RF) beacon.
With respect to claim 39, claim 9 of ‘536, as modified by Lou, teaches selectively activating or deactivating the microcontroller by a magnetic field.
With respect to claim 40, claim 10 of ‘536, as modified by Lou, teaches downloading data collected during use and/or charging a battery of the sensor fish via docking station.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelton et al. (US 6,662,742, hereafter Shelton) in view of Lou. (CN 104511170)
With respect to claim 31, Shelton teaches a method for collecting data using an autonomous sensor fish, the method comprising: providing a nearly neutrally buoyant sensor fish (fish 10, col. 7, lines 9-11, col. 13. lines 55-60) comprising a power source (battery 52, col. 14, lines 20-25), processing circuitry, a microcontroller (control electronics, col. 11, lines 1-22), and a ballasting member (col. 29, lines 3-6); wherein the sensor fish is configured to mimic the behavior of a live fish using one or more of the body, the dorsal and/or tail fins of the sensor fish; dispatching the sensor fish into an environment to collect data; collecting data with the sensor fish using the processing circuitry; and actuating the microcontroller to release the ballasting member to cause the sensor fish to become more buoyant. (col. 18, line 59 – col. 19, line 6)
Shelton does not explicitly teach an autonomous sensor fish defining a simulated fish body having a body between a head and a tail and defining dorsal and tail fins, dispatching the sensor fish below the surface of a body of water, mimicking the behavior of a live fish using one or more of the body, the dorsal and/or tail fins of the sensor fish, or collecting collision data below the surface of the body of water.
Lou teaches an autonomous sensor fish (single pendulum white dolphin) defining a simulated fish body having a body between a head and a tail and defining dorsal and tail fins, and a method of dispatching the fish below the surface of a body of water and mimicking the behavior of a live fish using one more of the body, dorsal and/or tail fins of the sensor fish and collecting collision data below the surface of the body of water. (translation, Abstract, par. 12, Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Shelton to operate with a simulated fish body, as taught by Lou, in order to more readily move the fish body underwater while emulating a fish.
.With respect to claim 32, Shelton, as modified by Lou, teaches all that is claimed, except for the step of downloading data from the microcontroller and erasing a portion of memory of said microcontroller to prepare said microcontroller for a subsequent deployment. However, it is well-known to reuse data storage memory and therefore this step would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed in order to facilitate collection of a larger amount of data.
With respect to claim 33, Shelton, as modified by Lou, teaches using the sensor fish to detect at least one parameter comprising one or more of orientation, acceleration, rotational velocity, magnetic field intensity, pressure, and/or external temperature. (Shelton, col. 11, lines 32-40 and col. 19, lines 30-51)
With respect to claim 34, Shelton, as modified by Lou, teaches the sensor fish is nearly neutrally buoyant prior to releasing the ballasting member. (Shelton, col. 28, lines 52-67)
With respect to claim 35, Shelton, as modified by Lou, teaches all that is claimed, except for explicitly teaching sampling data using the sensor fish at up to 8,192 Hz for a preselected programmable period of time. However, this is a common data collection procedure and would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed in order to effectively collect the sensor data.
With respect to claim 36, Shelton, as modified by Lou, teaches triggering an alarm to facilitate identification and location of the sensor fish. (Shelton, col. 29, lines 1-19)
With respect to claim 37, Shelton, as modified by Lou, teaches all that is claimed, as in the above rejection, except for explicitly teaching identifying the sensor fish using an LED. However, Shelton does teach the use of lights on the sensor fish and therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a light as an identifier in order to readily locate and recover the sensor fish.
With respect to claim 38, Shelton, as modified by Lou, teaches identifying the sensor fish using a radio frequency (RF) beacon. (Shelton, col. 29, lines 1-19)
With respect to claim 39, Shelton, as modified by Lou, teaches selectively activating or deactivating the microcontroller by a magnetic field. (Shelton, col. 16, lines 8-35)
With respect to claim 40, Shelton, as modified by Lou, teaches downloading data collected during use and/or charging a battery of the sensor fish via docking station. (Shelton, col. 11, lines 1-7)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 4, 2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 111516840 teaches an invention having similarities to the claimed subject matter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JILL E CULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853