DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-22 have been considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument concerning the TC55 reference, the Examiner disagrees. The camera is located in the same location as most cell phones, while the line scanner is located on the top edge. In the video 0:22 shows the linear imager and 0:18 shows the 8MP Camera
Upon further inspection, the division of Motorola that makes the TC55, was bought by a company called Zebra Technologies1 in October 2014. The manual for the TC-55, discontinued in 2017, can be found here https://topresale.ru/storage/tiny/resheniya/instructions/zebra_motorola_symbol_tc55_user_guide.pdf
And shows exactly what the video shows :
In regards to Applicant’s argument concerning Tajeddin, Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3, 7-8, 12, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plummer et al. (US 20190156086 A1), hereinafter Plummer in view of TCC55(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HSP_4CIDHDw; “Motorola TC55 Introduction mobile computer scanner barcode scanner”, April 20, 2015) in view of Khawand (PGPub 2013/0057713), hereafter Khawand.
Regarding claim 1, Plummer teaches a mobile device, comprising:
a camera (Plummer, para. [0117]: “
”);
a display (Plummer, para. [0084]: “
”);
a tracking sensor (Plummer, para. [0135]: “
”; where a tracking sensor is understood to mean a sensor that is used in tracking, and one of the image sensors of the mobile is used as a camera while another sensor is used as a tracking sensor); and
a controller connected to a repository of item identifiers and item positions in a facility frame of reference for items disposed on support surfaces within a facility (Plummer, fig. 1A; para. [0094], lines 1-14: “
”), the controller configured to:
track, via the tracking sensor, successive poses of the mobile device in the facility frame of reference (Plummer, para. [0094], lines 15-26: “
”);
control the camera to capture a stream of images while tracking the poses, and for each image (Plummer, para. [0092], lines 1-12: “
”):
determine, based on the tracked poses, whether to perform item detection (Plummer, para. [0092], lines 10-24: “
”), and
when the determination is affirmative, (i) use a sensor(Plummer, para. [0066]
, scanning the bar code) (ii) decode item identifiers from the indicia (Plummer, para. [0093], lines 1-18: “
”), (iii) generate positions of the detected indicia in the facility frame of reference, based on the poses of the mobile device (Plummer, para. [0093], lines 1-18 (see above); see lines 17-18 specifically), and (iv) update the repository with the decoded item identifiers and the generated positions (Plummer, para. [0081], lines 1-8; [0094], lines 55-60: “
;
”).
Plummer (Paragraph 66) discloses “In alternative embodiments, the container may include a simple identification means, such as a bar code. The movement and location of the container or object may be tracked by (1) first identifying the container or object by manual input of the identification code and/or scanning or capturing an image having a field of view noncollinear with the field of view of the camera to allow the image processing host to identify the specific container or object”, Thus discloses a sensor, such as a bar code sensor, to detect indicia affixed to the items. But does not explicitly disclose the orientation of the sensor, in particular “use a sensor having a centerline of a field of view at a non-zero angle with respect to a centerline of a field of view of the camera to
” (TC55, minutes 0:15 and 0:19, shows camera sensor and barcode reader with different fields of view
)
Examiner Note: At the store https://www.barcodesinc.com/, there are numerous barcode scanners + cameras devices for sale, which have scanner and camera having different fields of view.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to use the device of TC55 in order to capture the images and read the bar codes used in Plummer.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been it provides a convenient device which includes both the camera and scanner in one unit, which Plummer requires but fails to explicitly disclose.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Plummer discloses determining based on tracked poses whether to perform item detection, but Plummer does not expressly disclose “comparing device motion indicated by the tracked poses to a motion threshold and initiating the item detection when the device motion is below the motion threshold,”
Khawand teaches “comparing device motion indicated by the tracked poses to a motion threshold and initiating the item detection when the device motion is below the motion threshold,2” (Khawand, Fig. 7
)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to use the determined motion and threshold of Khawand to determine when to acquire images of Plummer.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to reduce Blur in the images. When the pose of camera is moving it will cause blurring images during acquisition.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Plummer with Khawand and TC55 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand teaches the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive a task definition containing one of the item identifiers (Plummer, para. [0066], lines 1-7: “
”; where the task definition is tracking and recording the movement and position of items and the item identifier is the matrix code);
determine whether an item position corresponding to the one of the item identifiers is in the visible subset (Plummer, para. [0097], lines 1-7 and 18-25 (see claim 2 rejection); understanding the limitation to mean determining if an item location corresponding to an item identifiers is in the repository); and
when the item position corresponding to the one of the item identifiers is in the visible subset, highlight the corresponding one of the indicators in an overlay to the image (Plummer, para. [0097] (see claim 2 rejection); para. [0088]: “
”; where the indicators are locations and directions to the items, and the highlighted indicators are the arrows that show the direction of travel).
Regarding claim 7, Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand teaches the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to update the repository by transmitting the decoded item identifiers and the generated positions to a server hosting the repository (Plummer, para. [0081], lines 1-8; para. [0094], lines 55-67; para. [0117], lines 1-5: “
;
;
”).
Regarding claim 8, Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand teaches the mobile device of claim 1, further comprising a memory storing the repository (Plummer, para. [0082]: “
”).
With regards to claims 12,14 and 18-19, they recite the functions of the mobile device of claims 1-3 and 7-8 as a method. Plummer discloses “system and methods for tracking items” (Plummer, abstract). Regarding the remaining limitations of claims 12,14 and 18-19, the analysis in rejecting claims 1,3 and 7-8 is equally applicable to claims 12,14 and 18-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 9-10, 15-16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand in view of Tajeddin et al. (US 20200182622 A1), hereinafter Tajeddin.
Regarding claim 4, Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand teaches the mobile device of claim 1.
Plummer fails to teach wherein the item identifiers and item positions of the repository include initial item identifiers and item positions detected by a mobile automation apparatus.
However, Tajeddin teaches wherein the item identifiers and item positions of the repository include initial item identifiers and item positions detected by a mobile automation apparatus (Tajeddin, fig. 1; fig. 2B; para. [0026]; para. [0029]: “
”; where the shelf data includes the location of the shelf and images of shelf products, and include initial item identifiers and item positions since all identifiers and positions are found using the mobile apparatus).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to add “the item identifiers and item positions of the repository include initial item identifiers and item positions detected by a mobile automation apparatus“ as disclosed by Tajeddin into the inventory guidance and mapping system of Plummer.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been the benefits of automating a process, which include reduced human error, faster production, and lower operating costs.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tajeddin with Plummer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand teaches the mobile device of claim 1.
Plummer fails to teach wherein the tracking sensor includes at least one of an inertial measurement unit (IMU) and a depth sensor.
However, Tajeddin teaches wherein the tracking sensor includes at least one of an inertial measurement unit (IMU) and a depth sensor (Tajeddin, para. [0034]: “
”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to add “the tracking sensor includes at least one of an inertial measurement unit (IMU) and a depth sensor” as disclosed by Tajeddin into the inventory guidance and mapping system of Plummer.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to accurately measure distance information in an enclosed space.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tajeddin with Plummer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand teaches the mobile device of claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to:
store, with each decoded item identifier and generated position, a timestamp indicating when the decoded item identifier was most recently detected at the generated position (Plummer, para. [0081], lines 1-8 (see claim 7 rejection).
Plummer fails to teach:
assign a confidence level to the decoded item identifier; and
periodically updating the confidence level based on an age of the decoded item identifier.
However, Tajeddin teaches:
assign a confidence level to the decoded item identifier (Tajeddin, abstract: “
”; where the decoded item identifier is the localization); and
periodically updating the confidence level based on an age of the decoded item identifier Tajeddin, abstract (see above); where the age is the set amount of time between each repetition).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to add “assign a confidence level to the decoded item identifier; and periodically updating the confidence level based on an age of the decoded item identifier” as disclosed by Tajeddin into the inventory guidance and mapping system of Plummer.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to increase the accuracy of the mobile device (Tajeddin, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tajeddin with Plummer in view of TC55 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand in view of Tajeddin teaches the mobile device of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to track the successive poses by:
retrieving at least a portion of the repository (Plummer, para. [0081], lines 1-8 (see claim 7 rejection)).
Plummer fails to teach selecting an anchor subset of item identifiers and associated positions, having confidence levels above a threshold.
However, Tajeddin teaches selecting an anchor subset of item identifiers and associated positions, having confidence levels above a threshold (Tajeddin, fig. 5B; para. [0053]: “
”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to add “selecting an anchor subset of item identifiers and associated positions, having confidence levels above a threshold” as disclosed by Tajeddin into the inventory guidance and mapping system of Plummer.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to increase the accuracy of the mobile device (Tajeddin, abstract).
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Tajeddin with Plummer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
With regards to claims 15-16 and 20-21, they recite the functions of the mobile device of claims 4-5 and 9-10 as a method. Plummer discloses “system and methods for tracking items” (Plummer, abstract). Regarding the remaining limitations of claims 15-17 and 20-21, the analysis in rejecting claims 4-5 and 9-10 is equally applicable to claims 15-16 and 20-21.
Claims 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand , in view of Stenning et al. (US 20180328753 A1), hereinafter Stenning.
Regarding claim 11, Plummer in view of TC55 teaches the mobile device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to generate the positions of the detected indicia in the facility frame of reference, by:
storing timestamps in association with [each tracked pose and] each of the images (Plummer, para. [0081], lines 1-8 (see claim 7 rejection); where the timestamp is the time and date information).
Plummer fails to teach:
storing timestamps in association with each tracked pose and each of the images; and
responsive to detecting the indicia in the image, retrieving a tracked pose having a timestamp matching the image timestamp.
However, Stenning teaches:
storing timestamps in association with each tracked pose and each of the images (Stenning, fig. 4A; para. [0011]; para. [0084]; para. [0085], lines 1-6: “
”; where para. [0084] discusses how each pose is timestamped and para. [0085] discusses how periodic sensor data (like that from a camera in para. [0011]) are also timestamped); and
responsive to detecting the indicia in the image, retrieving a tracked pose having a timestamp matching the image timestamp (Stenning, para. [0084] (see above); fig. 8; para. [0099]: “
”; where the landmarks are visual features that are equivalent to indicia).
Plummer includes timestamps with image taken which is associated, but does not explicitly teach having timestamps associated with the tracked poses. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to add “storing timestamps in association with each tracked pose and each of the images; and responsive to detecting the indicia in the image, retrieving a tracked pose having a timestamp matching the image timestamp” as disclosed by Stenning into the inventory guidance and mapping system of Plummer.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to identify features on the travel path of the mobile device which can then be used to constrain the created map of the environment (Stenning, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Stenning with Plummer in view of TC55 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Plummer in view of TC55 in view of Khawand in view of Stenning teaches:
generating the positions of the detected indicia using the retrieved tracked pose (Plummer, para. [0093]).
With regards to claim 22, it recites the functions of the mobile device of claim 11 as a method. Plummer discloses “system and methods for tracking items” (Plummer, abstract). Regarding the remaining limitations of claim 22, the analysis in rejecting claim 11 is equally applicable to claim 22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GANDHI THIRUGNANAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 Same name as the pending Applicant.
2 This claim is supported by Paragraph 45 and 34 of the disclosure as filed.