DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment ("Response”) received on June 1st, 2026 in response to the Office Action dated January 30, 2026. This action is made Non-Final.
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Claims 1, 13, 14, 20, 21, and 25 are independent claims.
Claims 1-26 are rejected.
Applicant’s Response
In Applicant’s Response, Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 14, 15, 21, and 22, and submitted arguments against the prior art in the Office Action dated January 30, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 11-16, 19-23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botimer et al., US Publication 2021/0011732 (“Botimer”), in view of Mathew et al., US Publication 2018/0181864 (“Mathew”), and further in view of Nagy et al., US Publication 2021/0241082 (“Nagy”).
Claim 1:
Botimer teaches or suggests a processor implemented neural network layer convolution operation method, the method comprising:
obtaining a first input plane of an input feature map and a first weight plane of a weight kernel (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0002 - exemplary convolution of a weights matrix 110 with an input feature map matrix 120 according to the convention art; para. 0005 – current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights.);
generating base planes, each corresponding to an intermediate operation between ... of the first input plane and ... at least a portion of available weight values of the weight kernel (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0) from memory 210 into a multiply and accumulation unit. be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights.);
generating first accumulation data by: determining a first target plane (see Fig. 1-4B; para. multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0) during the first cycle (T=0). At 330, the operations at 310 and 320 can be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights.); and
generating a first output plane of an output feature map based on the first accumulation data (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0006 - current accumulated value from the multiply and accumulate unit can be output as a corresponding output feature map value. output as a corresponding output feature map value (1,1 ,0) in a first output channel of the output feature map.).
Botimer does not explicitly disclose generating corresponding to an intermediate operation between each element of the first input plane and a respective one of at least a portion of available weight values of the weight kernel.
Mathew more specifically teaches or suggests generating corresponding to an intermediate operation between each element of the first input plane and a respective one of at least a portion of available weight values of the weight kernel (see para. 0024 - coefficients or weights of the filters; para. 0046 - Each data element of a block of the feature map corresponding to the coefficient value is then multiplied 1002 by the coefficient value and the results of the multiplications are added 1004 to corresponding data elements in a block of the output feature map; para. 0047 – A block of a feature map corresponds to a coefficient value when all of the data elements in the block would be multiplied by the coefficient value as the filter is applied across the feature map using the prior art convolution; para. 0080 - multiplies each of the values in all or a subset of an input feature map/image/data block by the respective weight value and accumulates the product of the multiplication with a corresponding value of a previous feature map to generate a respective output value. for each of the values in all or a subset of an input feature map/image/data block with respect to a single weight value.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include generating corresponding to an intermediate operation between each element of the first input plane and a respective one of at least a portion of available weight values of the weight kernel for the purpose of efficiently carrying out convolution operations by performing operations for an individual weight value prior to carrying out convolution operations for other weight values for the same feature map, allowing convolution operations to be skipped, improving convolutional neural network performance, as taught by Mathew (0033, 0077, and 0080).
Botimer does not explicitly disclose corresponding to a weight value of a first weight element of the first weight plane among the base planes; determining a first target region in the first target plane based on an offset determined based on a position of the first weight element in the first weight plane; and performing an accumulation operation based on target elements of the first target region.
Nagy teaches or suggests corresponding to a weight value of a first weight element of the first weight plane among the base planes; determining a first target region in the first target plane based on an offset determined based on a position of the first weight element in the first weight plane; and performing an accumulation operation based on target elements of the first target region (see Fig. 3-13B; para. 0129 - single weight coefficient per output plane, the convolution core 415 may calculate partial results for a DWxDH area on M output tiles OT(n) simultaneously by element-wise multiplication of the single weight coefficient and the input data of the DWxDH area in M processing elements 418; para. 0132 - convolution control unit 433 may step over all weight matrix coefficients of W(n,c) and may read input data of cardinality of DWxDH as an offset from calculation area origins corresponding to the coefficient position; para. 0143 - positioning may be influenced by a mapping to values of a filter kernel 805. may be a respective weight coefficient selected by the position in the filter kernel 805 for a corresponding output tile; para. 0144 – may accumulate up to R output tiles per processing element 418, in sequential steps, using a corresponding weight kernel for the actual output plane along R; para. 0145 – input window iterates over all positions of the input area according to the filter kernel 805 at the input area origin 801 to accumulate all element based products to generate the convolution result; para. 0160 - current input tile is of the last input plane and the current weight coefficient is at the last position of the filter kernel both horizontally and vertically, then the current results generated by sum 437; para. 0162 - tile-oriented and area-based calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window enables an efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data; para. 0163 - Positioning of the input window relative to input area origin 801 may correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix according to filter kernel 805; para. 0171 - input window 901 is positioned around the origin 908 of the plurality of input area origins 903 resulting in input windows 901, 909, 911, and 913 that are processed with regard to respective weight coefficients of the weight matrix; para. 0173 - Weight coefficients from the weight matrix may be selected at respective positions according to the filter kernel 907 for which input data is sampled by the respective input windows. correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0188 - positioning of the input window relative to the input area origin 1301 may correspond to an actual position of a weight coefficient in the weight matrix. location offsets of partial results propagation patterns corresponding to output areas 1317, 1319, 1325, 1331 relative to the output area origin 1308 may correspond to the actual position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0192 - positioning of the input window on an input area with regard to a position of coefficient values.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagy with those of Botimer. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficient calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window, based on weight position as an offset, enabling efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data and using parallel processing of output tiles, improving convolution operations and neural network performance, as taught by Nagy (0162, 0163, and 0188).
Claim(s) 13 and 14:
Claim(s) 13 and 14 correspond to Claim 1, and thus, Botimer, Mathew, and Nagy teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 13 and 14 as well.
Claim 2:
Botimer further teaches or suggests determining the first target plane … among the first input plane and the base planes (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - computation of the convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0) during the first cycle (T=0). At 330, the operations at 310 and 320 can be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights. At 340, the operations at 310-330 can be iterated through kernel height and kernel width of the weights, and corresponding map width and map height of the input feature map. For example, at a second cycle (T=l), a second weight value (0,0,1) and a second input feature map value (0,0, 1) can be loaded from memory into the multiply and accumulate unit 240. The product 410 of the current weight value and the current input feature map value can be added 420 to the accumulated value from the first cycle and held in the accumulator.).
Nagy further teaches or suggests corresponding to the weight value of the first weight element of the first weight plane (see Fig. 3-13B; para. 0129 - single weight coefficient per output plane, the convolution core 415 may calculate partial results for a DWxDH area on M output tiles OT(n) simultaneously by element-wise multiplication of the single weight coefficient and the input data of the DWxDH area in M processing elements 418; para. 0132 - convolution control unit 433 may step over all weight matrix coefficients of W(n,c) and may read input data of cardinality of DWxDH as an offset from calculation area origins corresponding to the coefficient position; para. 0143 - positioning may be influenced by a mapping to values of a filter kernel 805. may be a respective weight coefficient selected by the position in the filter kernel 805 for a corresponding output tile; para. 0144 – may accumulate up to R output tiles per processing element 418, in sequential steps, using a corresponding weight kernel for the actual output plane along R; para. 0145 – input window iterates over all positions of the input area according to the filter kernel 805 at the input area origin 801 to accumulate all element based products to generate the convolution result; para. 0160 - current input tile is of the last input plane and the current weight coefficient is at the last position of the filter kernel both horizontally and vertically, then the current results generated by sum 437; para. 0162 - tile-oriented and area-based calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window enables an efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data; para. 0163 - Positioning of the input window relative to input area origin 801 may correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix according to filter kernel 805; para. 0171 - input window 901 is positioned around the origin 908 of the plurality of input area origins 903 resulting in input windows 901, 909, 911, and 913 that are processed with regard to respective weight coefficients of the weight matrix; para. 0173 - Weight coefficients from the weight matrix may be selected at respective positions according to the filter kernel 907 for which input data is sampled by the respective input windows. correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0188 - positioning of the input window relative to the input area origin 1301 may correspond to an actual position of a weight coefficient in the weight matrix. location offsets of partial results propagation patterns corresponding to output areas 1317, 1319, 1325, 1331 relative to the output area origin 1308 may correspond to the actual position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0192 - positioning of the input window on an input area with regard to a position of coefficient values.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagy with those of Botimer. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficient calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window, based on weight position as an offset, enabling efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data and using parallel processing of output tiles, improving convolution operations and neural network performance, as taught by Nagy (0162, 0163, and 0188).
Claim(s) 15:
Claim(s) 15 correspond to Claim 2, and thus, Botimer, Mathew, and Nagy teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 15 as well.
Claim 3:
Nagy further teaches or suggests wherein the determining of the first target region comprises determining the first target region using a first pointer to the first target region among pointers to different regions of the first target plane based on the offset of the first weight element (see Fig. 3-13B; para. 0129 - single weight coefficient per output plane, the convolution core 415 may calculate partial results for a DWxDH area on M output tiles OT(n) simultaneously by element-wise multiplication of the single weight coefficient and the input data of the DWxDH area in M processing elements 418; para. 0132 - convolution control unit 433 may step over all weight matrix coefficients of W(n,c) and may read input data of cardinality of DWxDH as an offset from calculation area origins corresponding to the coefficient position; para. 0143 - positioning may be influenced by a mapping to values of a filter kernel 805. may be a respective weight coefficient selected by the position in the filter kernel 805 for a corresponding output tile; para. 0144 – may accumulate up to R output tiles per processing element 418, in sequential steps, using a corresponding weight kernel for the actual output plane along R; para. 0145 – input window iterates over all positions of the input area according to the filter kernel 805 at the input area origin 801 to accumulate all element based products to generate the convolution result; para. 0160 - current input tile is of the last input plane and the current weight coefficient is at the last position of the filter kernel both horizontally and vertically, then the current results generated by sum 437; para. 0162 - tile-oriented and area-based calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window enables an efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data; para. 0163 - Positioning of the input window relative to input area origin 801 may correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix according to filter kernel 805; para. 0171 - input window 901 is positioned around the origin 908 of the plurality of input area origins 903 resulting in input windows 901, 909, 911, and 913 that are processed with regard to respective weight coefficients of the weight matrix; para. 0173 - Weight coefficients from the weight matrix may be selected at respective positions according to the filter kernel 907 for which input data is sampled by the respective input windows. correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0188 - positioning of the input window relative to the input area origin 1301 may correspond to an actual position of a weight coefficient in the weight matrix. location offsets of partial results propagation patterns corresponding to output areas 1317, 1319, 1325, 1331 relative to the output area origin 1308 may correspond to the actual position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0192 - positioning of the input window on an input area with regard to a position of coefficient values.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagy with those of Botimer. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficient calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window, based on weight position as an offset, enabling efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data and using parallel processing of output tiles, improving convolution operations and neural network performance, as taught by Nagy (0162, 0163, and 0188).
Claim(s) 16:
Claim(s) 16 correspond to Claim 3, and thus, Botimer, Mathew, and Nagy teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 16 as well.
Claim 5:
Botimer further teaches or suggests wherein generating first accumulation data further comprises:
determining a second target plane corresponding to a weight value of a second weight element of the first weight plane among the first input plane and the base planes; and the performing of the accumulation operation comprises accumulating target elements of the first target region and corresponding target elements of the second target region (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - computation of the convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0) during the first cycle (T=0). At 330, the operations at 310 and 320 can be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights. At 340, the operations at 310-330 can be iterated through kernel height and kernel width of the weights, and corresponding map width and map height of the input feature map. For example, at a second cycle (T=l), a second weight value (0,0,1) and a second input feature map value (0,0, 1) can be loaded from memory into the multiply and accumulate unit 240. The product 410 of the current weight value and the current input feature map value can be added 420 to the accumulated value from the first cycle and held in the accumulator.).
Botimer does not explicitly disclose determining a second target region in the second target plane based on an offset of the second weight element.
Nagy teaches or suggests determining a second target region in the second target plane based on an offset of the second weight element (see Fig. 3-13B; para. 0129 - single weight coefficient per output plane, the convolution core 415 may calculate partial results for a DWxDH area on M output tiles OT(n) simultaneously by element-wise multiplication of the single weight coefficient and the input data of the DWxDH area in M processing elements 418; para. 0132 - convolution control unit 433 may step over all weight matrix coefficients of W(n,c) and may read input data of cardinality of DWxDH as an offset from calculation area origins corresponding to the coefficient position; para. 0143 - positioning may be influenced by a mapping to values of a filter kernel 805. may be a respective weight coefficient selected by the position in the filter kernel 805 for a corresponding output tile; para. 0144 – may accumulate up to R output tiles per processing element 418, in sequential steps, using a corresponding weight kernel for the actual output plane along R; para. 0145 – input window iterates over all positions of the input area according to the filter kernel 805 at the input area origin 801 to accumulate all element based products to generate the convolution result; para. 0160 - current input tile is of the last input plane and the current weight coefficient is at the last position of the filter kernel both horizontally and vertically, then the current results generated by sum 437; para. 0162 - tile-oriented and area-based calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window enables an efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data; para. 0163 - Positioning of the input window relative to input area origin 801 may correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix according to filter kernel 805; para. 0171 - input window 901 is positioned around the origin 908 of the plurality of input area origins 903 resulting in input windows 901, 909, 911, and 913 that are processed with regard to respective weight coefficients of the weight matrix; para. 0173 - Weight coefficients from the weight matrix may be selected at respective positions according to the filter kernel 907 for which input data is sampled by the respective input windows. correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0188 - positioning of the input window relative to the input area origin 1301 may correspond to an actual position of a weight coefficient in the weight matrix. location offsets of partial results propagation patterns corresponding to output areas 1317, 1319, 1325, 1331 relative to the output area origin 1308 may correspond to the actual position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0192 - positioning of the input window on an input area with regard to a position of coefficient values.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagy with those of Botimer. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficient calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window, based on weight position as an offset, enabling efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data and using parallel processing of output tiles, improving convolution operations and neural network performance, as taught by Nagy (0162, 0163, and 0188).
Claim 7:
Nagy further discloses wherein the offset of the first weight element corresponds to a position of the first weight element in the first weight plane (see Fig. 3-13B; para. 0129 - single weight coefficient per output plane, the convolution core 415 may calculate partial results for a DWxDH area on M output tiles OT(n) simultaneously by element-wise multiplication of the single weight coefficient and the input data of the DWxDH area in M processing elements 418; para. 0132 - convolution control unit 433 may step over all weight matrix coefficients of W(n,c) and may read input data of cardinality of DWxDH as an offset from calculation area origins corresponding to the coefficient position; para. 0143 - positioning may be influenced by a mapping to values of a filter kernel 805. may be a respective weight coefficient selected by the position in the filter kernel 805 for a corresponding output tile; para. 0144 – may accumulate up to R output tiles per processing element 418, in sequential steps, using a corresponding weight kernel for the actual output plane along R; para. 0145 – input window iterates over all positions of the input area according to the filter kernel 805 at the input area origin 801 to accumulate all element based products to generate the convolution result; para. 0160 - current input tile is of the last input plane and the current weight coefficient is at the last position of the filter kernel both horizontally and vertically, then the current results generated by sum 437; para. 0162 - tile-oriented and area-based calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window enables an efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data; para. 0163 - Positioning of the input window relative to input area origin 801 may correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix according to filter kernel 805; para. 0171 - input window 901 is positioned around the origin 908 of the plurality of input area origins 903 resulting in input windows 901, 909, 911, and 913 that are processed with regard to respective weight coefficients of the weight matrix; para. 0173 - Weight coefficients from the weight matrix may be selected at respective positions according to the filter kernel 907 for which input data is sampled by the respective input windows. correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0188 - positioning of the input window relative to the input area origin 1301 may correspond to an actual position of a weight coefficient in the weight matrix. location offsets of partial results propagation patterns corresponding to output areas 1317, 1319, 1325, 1331 relative to the output area origin 1308 may correspond to the actual position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0192 - positioning of the input window on an input area with regard to a position of coefficient values.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagy with those of Botimer. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficient calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window, based on weight position as an offset, enabling efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data and using parallel processing of output tiles, improving convolution operations and neural network performance, as taught by Nagy (0162, 0163, and 0188).
Claim 11:
Botimer further teaches or suggests wherein the first input plane and the first weight plane correspond to a first input channel among a plurality of input channels, and the first output plane corresponds to a first output channel among a plurality of output channels (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0002 - exemplary convolution of a weights matrix 110 with an input feature map matrix 120 according to the convention art; para. 0005 – current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights. parameters of the weights matrix 110, the input feature map matrix 120 and the output feature map 130 are set forth in Table 1.; para. 0006 - current accumulated value from the multiply and accumulate unit can be output as a corresponding output feature map value. output as a corresponding output feature map value (1,1 ,0) in a first output channel of the output feature map.).
Claim 12:
Botimer further teaches or suggests generating second accumulation data based on a second input plane of the input feature map and a second weight plane of the weight kernel, wherein the generating of the first output plane comprises generating the first output plane by accumulating the first accumulation data and the second accumulation data (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - computation of the convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0) during the first cycle (T=0). At 330, the operations at 310 and 320 can be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights. At 340, the operations at 310-330 can be iterated through kernel height and kernel width of the weights, and corresponding map width and map height of the input feature map. For example, at a second cycle (T=l), a second weight value (0,0,1) and a second input feature map value (0,0, 1) can be loaded from memory into the multiply and accumulate unit 240. The product 410 of the current weight value and the current input feature map value can be added 420 to the accumulated value from the first cycle and held in the accumulator.).
Claim 19:
Botimer further teaches or suggests further comprising a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the processor to perform the obtaining of the first input plane, the generating of the base planes, the generating of the first accumulation data, and the generating of the first output plane (see Fig. 1-5.).
Claim 20:
As indicated above, Botimer, Mathew, and Nagy teach or suggest the apparatus of claim 14.
Mathew further teaches or suggests and a camera configured to generate an input image based on detected visual information, wherein the apparatus of claim 14 is a processor, and the input feature map corresponds to the input image (see Fig. 15; para. 0024 - coefficients or weights of the filters; para. 0046 - Each data element of a block of the feature map corresponding to the coefficient value is then multiplied 1002 by the coefficient value and the results of the multiplications are added 1004 to corresponding data elements in a block of the output feature map; para. 0047 – A block of a feature map corresponds to a coefficient value when all of the data elements in the block would be multiplied by the coefficient value as the filter is applied across the feature map using the prior art convolution; para. 0068 - BMA-based convolution kernel as described herein in which the CNN is trained to process frames captured by the camera; para. 0080 - multiplies each of the values in all or a subset of an input feature map/image/data block by the respective weight value and accumulates the product of the multiplication with a corresponding value of a previous feature map to generate a respective output value. for each of the values in all or a subset of an input feature map/image/data block with respect to a single weight value.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include and a camera configured to generate an input image based on detected visual information, wherein the apparatus of claim 14 is a processor, and the input feature map corresponds to the input image for the purpose of efficiently carrying out convolution operations by performing operations for an individual weight value prior to carrying out convolution operations for other weight values for the same feature map, allowing convolution operations to be skipped, improving convolutional neural network performance, as taught by Mathew (0033,0077, and 0080).
Claim 21:
Botimer teaches or suggests a processor configured to
obtain a first input plane of an input feature map corresponding to the input image and a first weight plane of a weight kernel (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0002 - exemplary convolution of a weights matrix 110 with an input feature map matrix 120 according to the convention art; para. 0005 – current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights.);
generate base planes corresponding to an intermediate operation ... of the first input plane and ... at least a portion of available weight values of the weight kernel (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0) from memory 210 into a multiply and accumulation unit. be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights.);
generate first accumulation data by determining a first target plane (see Fig. 1-4B; para. multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0) during the first cycle (T=0). At 330, the operations at 310 and 320 can be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights.); and
generate a first output plane of an output feature map based on the first accumulation data (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0006 - current accumulated value from the multiply and accumulate unit can be output as a corresponding output feature map value. output as a corresponding output feature map value (1,1 ,0) in a first output channel of the output feature map.).
Botimer does not explicitly disclose a camera configured to generate an input image based on detected visual information; generate corresponding to an intermediate operation between each element of the first input plane and a respective one of at least a portion of available weight values of the weight kernel.
Mathew more specifically teaches or suggests a camera configured to generate an input image based on detected visual information; generate corresponding to an intermediate operation between each element of the first input plane and a respective one of at least a portion of available weight values of the weight kernel (see Fig. 15; para. 0024 - coefficients or weights of the filters; para. 0046 - Each data element of a block of the feature map corresponding to the coefficient value is then multiplied 1002 by the coefficient value and the results of the multiplications are added 1004 to corresponding data elements in a block of the output feature map; para. 0047 – A block of a feature map corresponds to a coefficient value when all of the data elements in the block would be multiplied by the coefficient value as the filter is applied across the feature map using the prior art convolution; para. 0068 - BMA-based convolution kernel as described herein in which the CNN is trained to process frames captured by the camera; para. 0080 - multiplies each of the values in all or a subset of an input feature map/image/data block by the respective weight value and accumulates the product of the multiplication with a corresponding value of a previous feature map to generate a respective output value. for each of the values in all or a subset of an input feature map/image/data block with respect to a single weight value.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include generating corresponding to multiplication results between each element of the input plane and a respective one or available weight values of the weight kernel for the purpose of efficiently carrying out convolution operations by performing operations for an individual weight value prior to carrying out convolution operations for other weight values for the same feature map, allowing convolution operations to be skipped, improving convolutional neural network performance, as taught by Mathew (0033,0077, and 0080).
Botimer does not explicitly disclose corresponding to a weight value of a first weight element of the first weight plane among the base planes; determining a first target region in the first target plane based on an offset determined based on a position of the first weight element in the first weight plane; and performing an accumulation operation based on target elements of the first target region.
Nagy teaches or suggests corresponding to a weight value of a first weight element of the first weight plane among the base planes; determining a first target region in the first target plane based on an offset determined based on a position of the first weight element in the first weight plane; and performing an accumulation operation based on target elements of the first target region (see Fig. 3-13B; para. 0129 - single weight coefficient per output plane, the convolution core 415 may calculate partial results for a DWxDH area on M output tiles OT(n) simultaneously by element-wise multiplication of the single weight coefficient and the input data of the DWxDH area in M processing elements 418; para. 0132 - convolution control unit 433 may step over all weight matrix coefficients of W(n,c) and may read input data of cardinality of DWxDH as an offset from calculation area origins corresponding to the coefficient position; para. 0143 - positioning may be influenced by a mapping to values of a filter kernel 805. may be a respective weight coefficient selected by the position in the filter kernel 805 for a corresponding output tile; para. 0144 – may accumulate up to R output tiles per processing element 418, in sequential steps, using a corresponding weight kernel for the actual output plane along R; para. 0145 – input window iterates over all positions of the input area according to the filter kernel 805 at the input area origin 801 to accumulate all element based products to generate the convolution result; para. 0160 - current input tile is of the last input plane and the current weight coefficient is at the last position of the filter kernel both horizontally and vertically, then the current results generated by sum 437; para. 0162 - tile-oriented and area-based calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window enables an efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data; para. 0163 - Positioning of the input window relative to input area origin 801 may correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix according to filter kernel 805; para. 0171 - input window 901 is positioned around the origin 908 of the plurality of input area origins 903 resulting in input windows 901, 909, 911, and 913 that are processed with regard to respective weight coefficients of the weight matrix; para. 0173 - Weight coefficients from the weight matrix may be selected at respective positions according to the filter kernel 907 for which input data is sampled by the respective input windows. correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0188 - positioning of the input window relative to the input area origin 1301 may correspond to an actual position of a weight coefficient in the weight matrix. location offsets of partial results propagation patterns corresponding to output areas 1317, 1319, 1325, 1331 relative to the output area origin 1308 may correspond to the actual position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0192 - positioning of the input window on an input area with regard to a position of coefficient values.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagy with those of Botimer. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficient calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window, based on weight position as an offset, enabling efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data and using parallel processing of output tiles, improving convolution operations and neural network performance, as taught by Nagy (0162, 0163, and 0188).
Claim 22:
Botimer further teaches or suggests determining the first target plane … among the first input plane and the base planes (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - computation of the convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0) during the first cycle (T=0). At 330, the operations at 310 and 320 can be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights. At 340, the operations at 310-330 can be iterated through kernel height and kernel width of the weights, and corresponding map width and map height of the input feature map. For example, at a second cycle (T=l), a second weight value (0,0,1) and a second input feature map value (0,0, 1) can be loaded from memory into the multiply and accumulate unit 240. The product 410 of the current weight value and the current input feature map value can be added 420 to the accumulated value from the first cycle and held in the accumulator.).
Nagy further teaches or suggests corresponding to the weight value of the first weight element of the first weight plane (see Fig. 3-13B; para. 0129 - single weight coefficient per output plane, the convolution core 415 may calculate partial results for a DWxDH area on M output tiles OT(n) simultaneously by element-wise multiplication of the single weight coefficient and the input data of the DWxDH area in M processing elements 418; para. 0132 - convolution control unit 433 may step over all weight matrix coefficients of W(n,c) and may read input data of cardinality of DWxDH as an offset from calculation area origins corresponding to the coefficient position; para. 0143 - positioning may be influenced by a mapping to values of a filter kernel 805. may be a respective weight coefficient selected by the position in the filter kernel 805 for a corresponding output tile; para. 0144 – may accumulate up to R output tiles per processing element 418, in sequential steps, using a corresponding weight kernel for the actual output plane along R; para. 0145 – input window iterates over all positions of the input area according to the filter kernel 805 at the input area origin 801 to accumulate all element based products to generate the convolution result; para. 0160 - current input tile is of the last input plane and the current weight coefficient is at the last position of the filter kernel both horizontally and vertically, then the current results generated by sum 437; para. 0162 - tile-oriented and area-based calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window enables an efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data; para. 0163 - Positioning of the input window relative to input area origin 801 may correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix according to filter kernel 805; para. 0171 - input window 901 is positioned around the origin 908 of the plurality of input area origins 903 resulting in input windows 901, 909, 911, and 913 that are processed with regard to respective weight coefficients of the weight matrix; para. 0173 - Weight coefficients from the weight matrix may be selected at respective positions according to the filter kernel 907 for which input data is sampled by the respective input windows. correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0188 - positioning of the input window relative to the input area origin 1301 may correspond to an actual position of a weight coefficient in the weight matrix. location offsets of partial results propagation patterns corresponding to output areas 1317, 1319, 1325, 1331 relative to the output area origin 1308 may correspond to the actual position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0192 - positioning of the input window on an input area with regard to a position of coefficient values.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagy with those of Botimer. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficient calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window, based on weight position as an offset, enabling efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data and using parallel processing of output tiles, improving convolution operations and neural network performance, as taught by Nagy (0162, 0163, and 0188).
Claim 23:
Nagy further teaches or suggests wherein the determining of the first target region comprises determining the first target region using a first pointer to the first target region among pointers to different regions of the first target plane based on the offset of the first weight element (see Fig. 3-13B; para. 0129 - single weight coefficient per output plane, the convolution core 415 may calculate partial results for a DWxDH area on M output tiles OT(n) simultaneously by element-wise multiplication of the single weight coefficient and the input data of the DWxDH area in M processing elements 418; para. 0132 - convolution control unit 433 may step over all weight matrix coefficients of W(n,c) and may read input data of cardinality of DWxDH as an offset from calculation area origins corresponding to the coefficient position; para. 0143 - positioning may be influenced by a mapping to values of a filter kernel 805. may be a respective weight coefficient selected by the position in the filter kernel 805 for a corresponding output tile; para. 0144 – may accumulate up to R output tiles per processing element 418, in sequential steps, using a corresponding weight kernel for the actual output plane along R; para. 0145 – input window iterates over all positions of the input area according to the filter kernel 805 at the input area origin 801 to accumulate all element based products to generate the convolution result; para. 0160 - current input tile is of the last input plane and the current weight coefficient is at the last position of the filter kernel both horizontally and vertically, then the current results generated by sum 437; para. 0162 - tile-oriented and area-based calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window enables an efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data; para. 0163 - Positioning of the input window relative to input area origin 801 may correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix according to filter kernel 805; para. 0171 - input window 901 is positioned around the origin 908 of the plurality of input area origins 903 resulting in input windows 901, 909, 911, and 913 that are processed with regard to respective weight coefficients of the weight matrix; para. 0173 - Weight coefficients from the weight matrix may be selected at respective positions according to the filter kernel 907 for which input data is sampled by the respective input windows. correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0188 - positioning of the input window relative to the input area origin 1301 may correspond to an actual position of a weight coefficient in the weight matrix. location offsets of partial results propagation patterns corresponding to output areas 1317, 1319, 1325, 1331 relative to the output area origin 1308 may correspond to the actual position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0192 - positioning of the input window on an input area with regard to a position of coefficient values.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagy with those of Botimer. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficient calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window, based on weight position as an offset, enabling efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data and using parallel processing of output tiles, improving convolution operations and neural network performance, as taught by Nagy (0162, 0163, and 0188).
Claim 25:
Botimer teaches or suggests a processor-implemented neural network layer convolution method, the method comprising:
obtaining an input plane of an input feature map and a weight plane of a weight kernel (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0002 - exemplary convolution of a weights matrix 110 with an input feature map matrix 120 according to the convention art; para. 0005 – current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights.);
generating base planes corresponding to multiplication results between ... of the input plane and ... available weight values of the weight kernel (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0) from memory 210 into a multiply and accumulation unit. be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights.);
determining target regions among the base planes and the input plane that correspond to wight elements of the weight plane, based on weight values of the weight elements and positions of the weight elements in the weight plane (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - computation of the convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0) during the first cycle (T=0). At 330, the operations at 310 and 320 can be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights. At 340, the operations at 310-330 can be iterated through kernel height and kernel width of the weights, and corresponding map width and map height of the input feature map. For example, at a second cycle (T=l), a second weight value (0,0,1) and a second input feature map value (0,0, 1) can be loaded from memory into the multiply and accumulate unit 240. The product 410 of the current weight value and the current input feature map value can be added 420 to the accumulated value from the first cycle and held in the accumulator.); and
generating a portion of an output plane of an output feature map by accumulating the target regions (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - computation of the convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0) during the first cycle (T=0). At 330, the operations at 310 and 320 can be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights. At 340, the operations at 310-330 can be iterated through kernel height and kernel width of the weights, and corresponding map width and map height of the input feature map. For example, at a second cycle (T=l), a second weight value (0,0,1) and a second input feature map value (0,0, 1) can be loaded from memory into the multiply and accumulate unit 240. The product 410 of the current weight value and the current input feature map value can be added 420 to the accumulated value from the first cycle and held in the accumulator.).
Mathew more specifically teaches or suggests generating corresponding to multiplication results between each element of the input plane and a respective one or available weight values of the weight kernel (see para. 0024 - coefficients or weights of the filters; para. 0046 - Each data element of a block of the feature map corresponding to the coefficient value is then multiplied 1002 by the coefficient value and the results of the multiplications are added 1004 to corresponding data elements in a block of the output feature map; para. 0047 – A block of a feature map corresponds to a coefficient value when all of the data elements in the block would be multiplied by the coefficient value as the filter is applied across the feature map using the prior art convolution; para. 0080 - multiplies each of the values in all or a subset of an input feature map/image/data block by the respective weight value and accumulates the product of the multiplication with a corresponding value of a previous feature map to generate a respective output value. for each of the values in all or a subset of an input feature map/image/data block with respect to a single weight value.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include generating corresponding to multiplication results between each element of the input plane and a respective one or available weight values of the weight kernel for the purpose of efficiently carrying out convolution operations by performing operations for an individual weight value prior to carrying out convolution operations for other weight values for the same feature map, allowing convolution operations to be skipped, improving convolutional neural network performance, as taught by Mathew (0033,0077, and 0080).
Nagy further teaches or suggests and positions of the weight elements in the weight plane (see Fig. 3-13B; para. 0129 - single weight coefficient per output plane, the convolution core 415 may calculate partial results for a DWxDH area on M output tiles OT(n) simultaneously by element-wise multiplication of the single weight coefficient and the input data of the DWxDH area in M processing elements 418; para. 0132 - convolution control unit 433 may step over all weight matrix coefficients of W(n,c) and may read input data of cardinality of DWxDH as an offset from calculation area origins corresponding to the coefficient position; para. 0143 - positioning may be influenced by a mapping to values of a filter kernel 805. may be a respective weight coefficient selected by the position in the filter kernel 805 for a corresponding output tile; para. 0144 – may accumulate up to R output tiles per processing element 418, in sequential steps, using a corresponding weight kernel for the actual output plane along R; para. 0145 – input window iterates over all positions of the input area according to the filter kernel 805 at the input area origin 801 to accumulate all element based products to generate the convolution result; para. 0160 - current input tile is of the last input plane and the current weight coefficient is at the last position of the filter kernel both horizontally and vertically, then the current results generated by sum 437; para. 0162 - tile-oriented and area-based calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window enables an efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data; para. 0163 - Positioning of the input window relative to input area origin 801 may correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix according to filter kernel 805; para. 0171 - input window 901 is positioned around the origin 908 of the plurality of input area origins 903 resulting in input windows 901, 909, 911, and 913 that are processed with regard to respective weight coefficients of the weight matrix; para. 0173 - Weight coefficients from the weight matrix may be selected at respective positions according to the filter kernel 907 for which input data is sampled by the respective input windows. correspond to the position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0188 - positioning of the input window relative to the input area origin 1301 may correspond to an actual position of a weight coefficient in the weight matrix. location offsets of partial results propagation patterns corresponding to output areas 1317, 1319, 1325, 1331 relative to the output area origin 1308 may correspond to the actual position of the weight coefficient in the weight matrix; para. 0192 - positioning of the input window on an input area with regard to a position of coefficient values.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nagy with those of Botimer. One would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of efficient calculation of the convolution operation by positioning an input window, based on weight position as an offset, enabling efficient retrieval of input data and coefficient data and using parallel processing of output tiles, improving convolution operations and neural network performance, as taught by Nagy (0162, 0163, and 0188).
Claim(s) 4 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botimer, in view of Mathew, in view of Nagy, and further in view of Croxford, US Publication 2020/0110995 (“Croxford”).
Claim 4:
Botimer further teaches or suggests wherein each of the base planes correspond to a respective available weight value among the portion of available weight values, and the determining of the first target plane comprises determining, as the first target plane, a base plane corresponding to an available weight value (see Fig. 1-4B; para. 0005 - computation of the convolution can begin with loading a current weight value (0,0,0) and a current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0). multiply and accumulate operation can be performed using the current weight value and the current input feature map value to generate a corresponding current accumulated value. For example, the multiply and accumulate unit 210 can accumulate the product of the current weight value (0,0,0) and the current input feature map value (0,0,0) during the first cycle (T=0). At 330, the operations at 310 and 320 can be iterated through corresponding input channels of the input feature map and corresponding input channels of the weights. At 340, the operations at 310-330 can be iterated through kernel height and kernel width of the weights, and corresponding map width and map height of the input feature map. For example, at a second cycle (T=l), a second weight value (0,0,1) and a second input feature map value (0,0, 1) can be loaded from memory into the multiply and accumulate unit 240. The product 410 of the current weight value and the current input feature map value can be added 420 to the accumulated value from the first cycle and held in the accumulator.).
Botimer does not explicitly disclose equal to an absolute value of the weight value of the first element.
Croxford teaches or suggests equal to an absolute value of the weight value of the first element (see para. 0041 - number of ways to order a kernel set, however one way is to calculate an absolute sum of the weights of each channel in the kernel; para. 0042 - absolute sum of the weights of each portion of the kernel is calculated and then the kernels having a higher absolute sum, representing the kernels which have the most significant impact when processed, are placed higher in the ordering than those having a lower absolute sum; para. 0062 - method of ordering the kernel channels 520 is to calculate an absolute sum of the weights of each channel of the kernel A,B,C. For example, kernel channel A, based on the weights shown in FIG. 5, would have an absolute sum of 5, kernel channel B will have an absolute sum of 2, and kernel channel C will have an absolute sum of 4; 0063 - kernel channels 520 are ordered according to their absolute sum of weights.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include equal to an absolute value of the weight value of the first element for the purpose of efficiently determining order in a CNN based on weight values, improving CNN operation, as taught by Croxford (0041 and 0062).
Claim 26:
As indicated above, Botimer teaches or suggests generating base planes and for each value.
Botimer does not explicitly disclose for each absolute value of the available weight values greater than one.
Croxford teaches or suggests for each absolute value of the available weight values greater than one (see para. 0035 - multiplying and accumulating 320 will result in a low or negative input value 325 to the activation function 330. This results in an activation output value 335 of zero i.e. the neuron is not 'activated'; para. 0041 - number of ways to order a kernel set, however one way is to calculate an absolute sum of the weights of each channel in the kernel; para. 0042 - absolute sum of the weights of each portion of the kernel is calculated and then the kernels having a higher absolute sum, representing the kernels which have the most significant impact when processed, are placed higher in the ordering than those having a lower absolute sum; para. 0062 - method of ordering the kernel channels 520 is to calculate an absolute sum of the weights of each channel of the kernel A, B, C. For example, kernel channel A, based on the weights shown in FIG. 5, would have an absolute sum of 5, kernel channel B will have an absolute sum of 2, and kernel channel C will have an absolute sum of 4. smaller weight values may be ignored as described above; 0063 - kernel channels 520 are ordered according to their absolute sum of weights.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include for each absolute value of the available weight values greater than one for the purpose of efficiently determining order and significance in a CNN based on weight values, improving CNN operation, as taught by Croxford (0041 and 0062).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botimer, in view of Mathew, in view of Nagy, and further in view of Diamond et al., US Publication 2019/0079764 (“Diamond”).
Claim 6:
As indicated above, Botimer teaches or suggests the first target region.
Daimond further teaches or suggests wherein the first target region corresponds to one-dimensional (1D) vector data of a single-instruction multiple-data (SIMD) operation (see Fig. 2A, 2B; para. 0010 - multiple SIMD source vectors are loaded. source vectors is multiplied with respective convolution coefficient vectors; para. 0014 – SIMD instruction may be provided to perform a de-interlacing operation on computed data vectors; para. 0045 – vector instructions may be defined as single instruction-multipledata (SIMD) instructions in the classical sense, in that they may define the same operation to be performed on multiple data elements in parallel; para. 0047 - one-dimensional convolution operation; para. 0063 - weighted value is computed using a Multiply-and-Add vector instruction common to many SIMD architectures; para. 0085 - performing direct convolution operations using SIMD instructions available on general purpose CPU cores, convolutions may be performed that are as efficient or more efficient that possible using specialized spatial convolutional neural network hardware while fitting into a conventional processor pipeline and thus minimizing or eliminating extra hardware.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include wherein the first target region corresponds to one-dimensional (1D) vector data of a single-instruction multiple-data (SIMD) operation for the purpose of efficiently performing convolutions more directly, improving CNN operation, as taught by Diamond (0085).
Claim(s) 8, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botimer, in view of Mathew, in view of Nagy, and further in view of Darvish Rouhani et al., US Publication 20200210840 (“Darvish”).
Claim 8:
Darvish further teaches or suggests wherein a number of available weight values is determined based on a bit precision of the weight kernel (see para. 0028 - NN weights and activation values can be represented in a lower-precision quantized format with an acceptable level of error introduced; para. 0039 - lowering the precision of a number can include reducing the range of values that can be used to represent an exponent of the number; para. 0087 - the computational cost of matrix-vector multiplication can be further reduced by reducing mantissa widths. 4-bit fixed point number can only represent values in the range [0001 2 , 1111 2 ]; para. 0140 - lower precision number format such as a two- or three-bit precision block floating-point format can be used early in training and the precision of numbers used to represent activation values, weights, and/or gradients for the neural network can be increased for successive training operations, as indicated by the performance metric.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include wherein a number of available weight values is determined based on a bit precision of the weight kernel for the purpose of efficiently adjusting parameters including weights, improving CNN fine tuning, as taught by Darvish (0087 and 0140).
Claim 9:
Darvish further teaches or suggests wherein a bit precision of the weight kernel is less than or equal to 3 bits (see para. 0028 - NN weights and activation values can be represented in a lower-precision quantized format with an acceptable level of error introduced; para. 0039 - lowering the precision of a number can include reducing the range of values that can be used to represent an exponent of the number; para. 0087 - the computational cost of matrix-vector multiplication can be further reduced by reducing mantissa widths. 4-bit fixed point number can only represent values in the range [0001 2 , 1111 2 ]; para. 0140 - lower precision number format such as a two- or three-bit precision block floating-point format can be used early in training and the precision of numbers used to represent activation values, weights, and/or gradients for the neural network can be increased for successive training operations, as indicated by the performance metric.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include wherein a bit precision of the weight kernel is less than or equal to 3 bits for the purpose of efficiently adjusting parameters including weights, improving CNN fine tuning, as taught by Darvish (0087 and 0140).
Claim(s) 17:
Claim(s) 17 correspond to Claim 9, and thus, Botimer, Mathew, Nagy, and Darvish teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 17 as well.
Claim(s) 10, 18, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botimer, in view of Mathew, in view of Nagy, and further in view of Ruff, US Publication 2021/0049463 (“Ruff”).
Claim 10:
As indicated above, Botimer teaches or suggests the intermediate operation result of the first input plane corresponds to a multiplication operation of the first input plane, and the generating of the base planes comprises generating the base planes corresponding to the multiplication operation.
Ruff further teaches or suggests through a shift operation and an add operation instead of directly performing the multiplication operation (see Fig. 1-11; para. 0007 - object of this invention to provide an alternative so that convolutional filter multiplications may be entirely replaced by simpler addition and bit shifting that are less costly in terms of silicon real estate and power consumption but critically without significant or indeed any loss of network accuracy and by so replacing these multiplications within the novel computational device then the present invention supplies a highly efficient novel computational device for deploying a complete CNN; para. 0009 - avoids any multiplication once the shared intermediate significand tensor)* [37] has been computed and even that may be computed it will be shown without multiplication; para. 0010 – instead uses the elementwise addition operator of linear algebra to combine the intermediate maps ) by indexing with v and *(p,q) positional shift and since the addition operator is very inexpensive to compute then the novel convolutional computational device presented offers huge processing cost and power consumption advantage over the current state of the art convolutional accelerator devices; para. 0030 - allows computation of the output O by a process of shifted-addition-and-accumulation one 2D slice at a time from the shared scaled significand tensor one such slice for each coefficient sequentially for a bank of convolutional filters W, and so by computing di once then the convolution result for each coefficient separately may be computed without multiplication and only using addition.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include a shift operation and an add operation instead of directly performing the multiplication operation for the purpose of efficiently performing convolution without multiplication, reducing convolution computational costs, as taught by Ruff (0007, 0009, and 0010).
Claim(s) 18:
Claim(s) 18 correspond to Claim 10, and thus, Botimer, Mathew, Nagy, and Ruff teach or suggest the limitations of claim(s) 18 as well.
Claim 24:
As indicated above, Botimer teaches or suggests the intermediate operation result of the first input plane corresponds to a multiplication operation of the first input plane, and the processor is configured to generate the base planes corresponding to the multiplication operation.
Ruff further teaches or suggests through a shift and add operation instead of directly performing the multiplication operation (see Fig. 1-11; para. 0007 - object of this invention to provide an alternative so that convolutional filter multiplications may be entirely replaced by simpler addition and bit shifting that are less costly in terms of silicon real estate and power consumption but critically without significant or indeed any loss of network accuracy and by so replacing these multiplications within the novel computational device then the present invention supplies a highly efficient novel computational device for deploying a complete CNN; para. 0009 - avoids any multiplication once the shared intermediate significand tensor)* [37] has been computed and even that may be computed it will be shown without multiplication; para. 0010 – instead uses the elementwise addition operator of linear algebra to combine the intermediate maps ) by indexing with v and *(p,q) positional shift and since the addition operator is very inexpensive to compute then the novel convolutional computational device presented offers huge processing cost and power consumption advantage over the current state of the art convolutional accelerator devices; para. 0030 - allows computation of the output O by a process of shifted-addition-and-accumulation one 2D slice at a time from the shared scaled significand tensor one such slice for each coefficient sequentially for a bank of convolutional filters W, and so by computing di once then the convolution result for each coefficient separately may be computed without multiplication and only using addition.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method, taught in Botimer, to include through a shift and add operation instead of directly performing the multiplication operation for the purpose of efficiently performing convolution without multiplication, reducing convolution computational costs, as taught by Ruff (0007, 0009, and 0010).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s further arguments have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments do not correspond to the rationales as used in the current rejection.
Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nagy et al., US Publication 2021/0173787.
Conclusion
/ANDREW T MCINTOSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144