DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoesel et al (US 2007/0082284) (Stoessel).
In reference to claim 1, 2-4, 6, 8-10, 12-15 and 21, Stoessel teaches a metal complex of formula 5 as shown below with a linking group Z between ligands to form a tetradentate ligand for use in organic electroluminescent devices (Stoessel [0031] abstract),
for example wherein in the compound of formula 5, M is Pt (Stoessel [0032]), one of X is N and each other X is CR (Stoessel [0036]), each R is either hydrogen, adjacent R that are alkoxyl or alkyl together define a ring system (Stoessel [0029]) that is a furan (Stoessel [0056]), Z is O (Stoessel [0038]), T is N (Stoessel [0037]) and c is 0 (Stoessel [0039]).
Stoessel discloses the compound of formula 5 that encompasses the presently claimed compound, including wherein in the compound of formula 5, M is Pt, one of X is N and each other X is CR, each R is either hydrogen or adjacent R adjacent R that are alkoxyl or alkyl together define a ring system that is a furan, Z is O, T is N, and c is 0. Each of the disclosed substituents from the substituent groups of Stoessel are considered functionally equivalent and their selection would lead to obvious variants of compound of formula 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application, in the absence of unexpected results, to have selected these substituents among those disclosed for compound of formula 5 to provide the compound described above, which is both disclosed by Stoessel and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
For Claim 1: Reads on formula I wherein X1 is N, X2 is C, L1 is not present, X3 is N, X4 is C, X5 is C, L2 is O, M is Pt, either RA and RC or RB and RD each represent alkyl and alkoxy that are fused to form a ring wherein the ring is a furan, each of the other R groups is hydrogen meeting condition i.
For Claim 3: Reads on X1 is N, X2 is C.
For Claim 4: Reads on X3 is N, X4 is C, X5 is C.
For Claim 6: Reads on wherein L1 is not present and L2 is O.
For Claim 8: Reads on furan.
For Claim 9: Reads on wherein they do not form a ring.
For Claim 10: The compound reads on a multiple fused ring system.
For Claim 12: Reads on
.
For Claim 13: Reads on L2 is O.
For Claim 14: Reads on a furan.
For Claim 15: Reads on
.
For Claim 21: Reads on compound 5-2.
In reference to claim 2, 7 and 11, Stoessel teaches the compound as described above for claim 1 and further teaches that the compound can optionally have additional substituents at any of the claimed positions, including alkyl groups, among others (Stoessel [0029]).
In the absence of unexpected results, the selection of a taught substituent at any one of these positions would have been expected by the ordinarily skilled artisan to have lead to a comparable material and such a substitution would be prima facie obvious as both Stoessel teach such substitutions.
Claim 17-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoessel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pflumm et al (US 2012/0068170) (Pflumm).
In reference to claim 17-20, Stoessel teaches the compound of claim 1. Stoessel further teaches that the compound is used in an organic electroluminescent device as an emission material doped into a matrix material and that such a use results in a high efficiency and long service lives (Stoessel [0062]).
However, Stoessel does not detail the inclusion of electrodes as instantly claimed or point to a specific matrix material as instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Pflumm teaches, in analogous art, a host material for organic EL devices that comprise anode and cathodes and is used in a display, (Pflumm [0090] [0140]) for example the compound shown below and further teaches that this host material provides improvements in in lifetime and power efficiency (Pflumm [0400] etc).
In light of the motivation of using the host as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the host as described by Pflumm in order to improve power efficiency and device lifetime and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the outstanding rejections over Stoessel, Applicant argues that the the claimed materials and devices give rise to unexpected results as evidenced by a declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 08/13/2026 (Feldman Declaration). This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing for at least the following reasons.
The Feldman declaration sets forth a table of values for HOMO, LUMO, singlet and Triplet energies and percentage of metal-to-ligand charge transfer as calculated using density functional theory calculations of compounds that are either claimed and those that are unclaimed.
For a finding of unexpected results, the results presented need to be of both statistical and practical significance and be commensurate in scope with the subject matter claimed (See MPEP 716.02).
The data presented by Applicant fails to meet any of these requirements.
Initially, the calculations do not allow for an evaluation of statistical significance. There is no experiment performed and consequently no experimental variability that can be measured and reported.
Additionally, these calculations are predictions of values for the materials. By definition, predictions are what is expected and not evidence of what is unexpected. An unexpected result might be a demonstration that while such DFT calculations predict an increase in, for example, the triplet energy T1 when a certain structural change is made, actual experiments demonstrate a reduction in that value instead. Listing of predicted values itself only sets forth what would be anticipated for these materials. Furthermore, it is not unexpected that materials with different structures have different electronic properties.
Further, these values do not have any clear practical significance. The results of such calculations do not have any clear practical value.
Finally, only a few materials are demonstrated whereas the instant claims are drawn to an immense genus of compounds comprising a near infinite number of discrete materials.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. Claim 5 is drawn to the compound of formula 1 wherein L1 is present and L2 is not present. A search of the prior art did not identify these compounds.
The closest prior art identified corresponds to Stoessel. Stoessel teaches a metal complex of formula 5 as shown below with a linking group Z between ligands to form a tetradentate ligand for use in organic electroluminescent devices (Stoessel [0031] abstract). The linking group Z corresponds to a position L2.
Stoessel does not reasonably teach an alternative linkage corresponding to the instantly claimed L1 instead. Neither Stoessel, nor the prior art as whole, provide sufficiently specific motivation to have modified the materials of formula 5 to arrive at those instantly claimed before the effective filing date of the instant application.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786