DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s amendment submitted on 12/5/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of Invention I, which encompasses claims 1-7 and 15-17, without traverse in the reply filed on 10/23/2023 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-14 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/23/2023.
Applicant failed to respond to the Election of Species requirement filed 3/16/2023. Accordingly, the Examiner has examined:
A single form of the administered composition, as stated in claim 5: a solid.
One or more specific mucous membrane infections, as stated in claim 6: gastroenteritis.
One or more specific plurality of organisms, as stated in claim 7: Escherichia coli.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-7 and 15-17 are under examination on the merits.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 1-2 of the Applicant’s Remarks, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, Starzl (US PGPub 20120141458 A1, filed 11/22/2011, published 6/7/2012; hereinafter referred to as “Starzl”) as evidenced by Yonezawa, et al. (Yonezawa H, Osaki T, Kamiya S. Biomed Res Int. 2015;2015:914791. doi: 10.1155/2015/914791. Epub 2015 May 19. PMID: 26078970; hereinafter referred to as “Yonezawa, et al.”) fail to teach testing its compositions to be safe for ingestion by an animal with respect to harmful microbial and heavy metal contents. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 is raised below. See below.
Rejections Removed
The following rejections and objections are withdrawn due to amendment or a granted terminal disclaimer:
35 U.S.C. §102: The previous rejection of Claims 1-7 and 15-17 as being anticipated by Starzl (US PGPub 20120141458 A1, filed 11/22/2011, published 6/7/2012; hereinafter referred to as “Starzl”) as evidenced by Yonezawa, et al. (Yonezawa H, Osaki T, Kamiya S. Biomed Res Int. 2015;2015:914791. doi: 10.1155/2015/914791. Epub 2015 May 19. PMID: 26078970; hereinafter referred to as “Yonezawa, et al.”) is withdrawn due to the amendment of the claims.
Claim Interpretation
The disclosure does not define “treating”, so in applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the term, “treating” is being interpreted as only treating infection, and not preventing infection.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starzl (US PGPub 20120141458 A1, filed 11/22/2011, published 6/7/2012; hereinafter referred to as “Starzl”) in view of Sharma, et al. (Journal of Applied Microbiology, Volume 121, Issue 2, 1 August 2016, Pages 309–319; hereinafter referred to as “Sharma, et al.”), Yonezawa, et al. (Biomed Res Int. 2015;2015:914791. PMID: 26078970; hereinafter referred to as “Yonezawa”), Zhang, et al. (Infect Immun. 2019 Feb 21;87(3):e00619-18. doi: 10.1128/IAI.00619-18. PMID: 30559219; hereinafter referred to as “Zhang”) and Elemental Impurities Analysis (ThermoFisher Scientific, 4-page printout, published 3/10/2019, https://www.thermofisher.com/us/en/home/industrial/pharma-biopharma/pharma-biopharma-learning-center/pharmaceutical-qa-qc-information/elemental-impurities-information.html, retrieved from WayBack machine; hereinafter referred to as “ThermoFisher”).
The claimed invention encompasses a composition for treatment of mucosal infection in an animal by application to a mucous membrane, the composition comprising, a mixture of IgY antibodies specific for a plurality of antigens obtained from a plurality of organisms, wherein the plurality of organisms can cause infection of the mucous membrane, and wherein the mixture is tested to be safe for ingestion by the animal with respect to harmful microbial and heavy metal contents; and a protective matrix comprising non-hyperimmune colostrum combined with the mixture of IgY antibodies, wherein the protective matrix comprises at least 20% by weight of the composition.
Starzl teaches compositions and methods for immunizations, wherein a specific binding molecule, such as a specific immunoglobulin, is combined with a carrier matrix to provide a composition for oral or mucosal administration for management of microorganisms, including treatment or prophylaxis of a pathogenic infection (Abstract; para. [0013]). These infections may be pathogenic infections of mucosal membranes (para. [0194]). Starzl also teaches that the specific binding molecule can be IgY antibodies, and an example of the matrix that can harbor the antibodies can be bovine colostrum (paras. [0014]-[0015] and [0027]), or specifically non-hyperimmune colostrum (paras. [0155] and [0160]). Starzl further teaches that the specific molecules bind to a pathogen, or pathogen’s toxin, adhesion element, or combination thereof, and the pathogen may be an enteric or gastrointestinal pathogen that causes gastroenteritis (para. [0018]). The pathogen may be one or a combination of human or veterinary pathogens, including adenovirus, parasitic organisms, fungal organisms, Escherichia coli, Candida albicans, Yersinia enterocolitica, Salmonella typhimurium, Clostridium difficile, Mycoplasma spp., Streptococcus spp., Clostridium perfringens, and Helicobacter pylori (paras. [0019], [0128], [0130] & [0142]; claim 6). Additionally, the pathogen may be one or a combination of human or veterinary pathogens that cause gastroenteritis (claim 5; para. [0130]). Starzl also teaches immunization of chickens with mixed antigens preparations to obtain mixed antigen-specific IgY from their eggs (paras. [0106]-[0112]). Further, Starzl teaches its composition may comprise equivalent weight amount of dried immune egg product co-packaged with specific weight amount of commercial dried non-hyperimmune bovine colostrum, such as 0.5 to 3g of dried immune egg product to a single dose packet with 1 to 5g of dried colostrum added to the same packet (para. [0197]). Starzl teaches that its compositions may be administered in solid form, as a powder in suspension, as a liquid, a spray, an or an aerosol (paras. [0169], [0170], [0182], [0183] & [0185]). Starzl indicates its compositions may provide safe and effective treatments (para. [0245]). Sharma, et al. provides evidence that Escherichia coli forms biofilms (Sharma, generally), and Starzl teaches that its compositions can be directed against Escherichia coli. Yonezawa provides evidence that Helicobacter pylori forms biofilms (Yonezawa, generally), and Starzl teaches that its compositions can be directed against Helicobacter pylori. Therefore, a mixture of IgY antibodies specific for a plurality of antigens obtained from a plurality of organisms that cause infection of a mucous membrane or form biofilms, and a protective matrix comprising non-hyperimmune colostrum combined with the mixture of IgY antibodies, wherein the protective matrix comprises at least 20% by weight of the composition would have been obvious before filing.
However, Starzl does not teach testing of the mixture to be safe for ingestion by the animal with respect to harmful microbial and heavy metal contents, as required by the instant claims.
Zhang discloses that IgY has attracted much attention as a strategy to prevent and control infectious diseases, and that passive immunity using specific IgY is an effective protective approach against bacterial infections in poultry (p. 9, para. 1). Additionally, Zhang discloses that IgY has been administered by the intravenous route, intramuscular, and oral (in the feed) routes (p. 9, para. 1). Zhang teaches IgY from vaccinated chicken egg yolks protected chickens against Gallibacterium anatis infection (Abstract; Fig. 5). Zhang also specifically discloses that prior to application, sterility testing of IgY antibody is performed to confirm there is no bacterial growth on lysogeny broth (LB) agar, to ensure safe IgY application without any bacterial contamination (p. 5, para. 2).
ThermoFisher teaches that for over 100 years, regulators have demanded the testing of heavy metal impurities in pharmaceutical products, monitoring a range of metal elemental pharmaceutical materials, including Cd, Pb, As, Hg, Co, V, Ni, Ti, Au, Pd, Ir, Os, Rh, Ru, Se, Ag, Pt, Li, Sb, Ba, Mo, Cu, Sn, and Cr (p. 1, para. 2; p. 1, para. 7; p. 2, table). ThermoFisher also explains that elemental impurities in pharmaceutical formulations can interfere with drug efficacy or even elicit a direct toxic effect on the patient (p. 1, para. 1). ThermoFisher further discloses that elemental impurities in pharmaceutical formulations can come from catalysts, formulation ingredients, and process vessels (p. 1, para. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to test the IgY and colostrum compositions taught by Starzl for safety by the methods disclosed by Zhang and ThermoFisher. Starzl discloses combination of IgY antibodies, which can be specific for a plurality of antigens from a plurality of organisms that can cause infection of a mucous membrane. Starzl also discloses testing the mixture for safety, and the combination of IgY with bovine colostrum at certain proportions, including 0.5 to 3g of dried immune egg product combined with 1 to 5g of dried colostrum, which would result in at least 20% colostrum by weight. Zhang describes a method of testing the sterility of IgY antibody for growth on lysogeny broth (LB) agar, which ensures safe IgY application without any bacterial contamination. ThermoFisher discloses that for over 100 years regulators have demanded the testing of heavy metal impurities in pharmaceutical products, monitoring a range of metal elemental pharmaceutical materials, including Cd, Pb, As, Hg, Co, V, Ni, Ti, Au, Pd, Ir, Os, Rh, Ru, Se, Ag, Pt, Li, Sb, Ba, Mo, Cu, Sn, and Cr. ThermoFisher also explains that elemental impurities in pharmaceutical formulations can interfere with drug efficacy or even elicit a direct toxic effect on the patient.
The determination of whether a preamble limits a claim is made on a case-by-case basis in light of the facts in each case; there is no litmus test defining when a preamble limits the scope of a claim. Catalina Mktg. Int’l v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 808, 62 USPQ2d 1781, 1785 (Fed. Cir. 2002). MPEP §2111.02. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020). "[W]here a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation." Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997). MPEP §2111.02(II). In the instant case, the preambles of claims 1 and 15 are merely intended uses of the compositions, for treatment of mucosal infection in an animal by application to a mucous membrane and for therapeutic treatment of biofilms, respectively. The preambles are not given patentable weight; however, even if they were, since all structural feature of the claimed composition are in the obvious composition here, the intended uses would be doable as they flow inherently from the composition structure. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, the treatment requirements of claims 15 and 1 will necessarily occur.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provide IgY and non-hyperimmune colostrum compositions effective for treating mucosal infections in an animal by application to a mucous membrane and biofilms. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because testing for heavy metals in pharmaceuticals, and bacterial contaminants in IgY compositions, is known in the prior art, as disclosed by Zhang and ThermoFisher, and Starzl indicates its compositions may provide safe and effective treatments. Therefore, claims 1-7 and 15-17 were prima facie obvious before the priority date of the instant invention.
Applicant presents the following arguments:
Claims 1 and 15 have been amended to address the previous rejections. Specifically, the amendments to claims 1 and 15 specify that testing is performed with respect to harmful microbial and heavy metal contents. Starzl is silent on such testing. Starzl only describes any risk factors in [0225]: “the nature of the treatment makes the associated risk factors comparable to that of eating food from the source where the antibodies were harvested (e.g., risk factors would be similar to that of eating an egg and a glass of milk). This is an effective treatment with less toxicity than the currently available alternative medicines.”
While Starzl describes clinical trials and very briefly discusses any risk factors, Starzl does not describe testing the composition to be safe for ingestion by an animal with respect to harmful microbial and heavy metal contents. Hence Starzl does not disclose each and every element of amended claims 1 and 15. These claims and corresponding dependent claims 2-7 and 14-17 are in a condition for allowance over Starzl as evidenced by Yonezawa.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive because:
It is true that Starzl does not describe specific testing performed with respect to harmful microbial and heavy metal contents. The previous rejection of Claims 1-7 and 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. §102 as being anticipated by Starzl as evidenced by Yonezawa is withdrawn above. However, the instant claims 1-7 and 15-17 are not allowable because they are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Starzl (supra) as evidenced by Sharma (supra) in view of Zhang, et al. (supra) and ThermoFisher (supra) in the new rejection above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 15, and 17 of copending Application No. 19/341,976 (PGPub US20260021179, filed 9/26/2025, claimed priority date 10/3/2018; hereinafter referred to as “’976”) in view of Starzl (supra) as evidenced by Sharma (supra) and Yonezawa (supra), Zhang (supra) and ThermoFisher (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The instant set of claims is drawn to a composition for treatment of an infected animal, comprising a mixture of IgY antibodies specific for a plurality of antigens obtained from a plurality of organisms, wherein the mixture is tested to be safe for animal ingestion, and a protective matrix that comprises at least 20% by weight of the composition. The claims differ in that the instant application is drawn to a composition with the intended use of treating a mucosal infection, and is applied to a mucous membrane (claims 1-7) or a composition for therapeutic treatment of biofilms (claims 15-17), whereas the copending Application has the intended use of treatment or prevention of diarrhea or enteric infection in animals (copending claims 1-7, 15, and 17). The claimed invention (see claim 1 of the instant invention) recites an intended use of "for treatment of mucosal infection in an animal by application to a mucous membrane", or “for therapeutic treatment of biofilms” (see claim 15 of the instant invention). The MPEP § 2111.02 (II) recites, "If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention's limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction." Therefore, if the other claimed invention (‘976) in view of secondary references teaches the structural requirements of the claimed composition of the instant invention, it is interpreted to render obvious said composition.
The claims also differ in that the protective matrix of the instant application comprises non-hyperimmune colostrum, whereas the copending Application's protective matrix is more generic, being a protein derived from a non-hyperimmune animal source, and does not specifically include a colostrum limitation. Additionally, the claim sets differ in that the instant application has embodiments related to the administration form of the composition (e.g., solid, powder suspended liquid, etc.; claim 5), whereas the copending Application does not.
Starzl teaches compositions and methods for immunizations, wherein a specific binding molecule, such as a specific immunoglobulin, is combined with a carrier matrix to provide a composition for oral or mucosal administration for management of microorganisms, including treatment or prophylaxis of a pathogenic infection (Abstract; para. [0013]). These infections may be pathogenic infections of mucosal membranes (para. [0194]). Starzl also teaches that the specific binding molecule can be IgY antibodies, and an example of the matrix that can harbor the antibodies can be bovine colostrum (paras. [0014]-[0015] and [0027]), or specifically non-hyperimmune colostrum (para. [0160]). Starzl further teaches that the specific molecules bind to a pathogen, or pathogen's toxin, adhesion element, or combination thereof, and the pathogen may be an enteric or gastrointestinal pathogen that causes gastroenteritis (para. [0018]). The pathogen may be one or a combination of human or veterinary pathogens, including adenovirus, parasitic organisms, fungal organisms, Escherichia coli, Candida albicans, Yersinia enterocolitica, Salmonella typhimurium, Clostridium difficile, Mycoplasma spp., Streptococcus spp., Clostridium perfringens, and Helicobacter pylori (paras. [0019], [0128], [0130] & [0142]; claim 6). Additionally, the pathogen may be one or a combination of human or veterinary pathogens that cause gastroenteritis (claim 5; para. [0130]). Starzl also teaches immunization of chickens with mixed antigens preparations to obtain mixed antigen-specific IgY from their eggs (paras. [0106]-[0112]). Starzl teaches that its compositions may be administered in solid form, as a powder in suspension, as a liquid, a spray, an or an aerosol (paras. [0169], [0170], [0182], [0183] & [0185]). Starzl indicates its compositions may provide safe and effective treatments (para. [0245]). Sharma, et al. provides evidence that Escherichia coli forms biofilms (Sharma, generally), and Starzl teaches that its compositions can be directed against Escherichia coli. Yonezawa provides evidence that Helicobacter pylori forms biofilms (Yonezawa, generally), and Starzl teaches that its compositions can be directed against Helicobacter pylori.
Another difference in the instant and copending claims is that the instant claims require the mixture is tested to be safe for ingestion by the animal with respect to harmful microbial and heavy metal contents, whereas the copending application merely requires the mixture is tested to be safe for animal ingestion.
Zhang discloses that IgY has attracted much attention as a strategy to prevent and control infectious diseases, and that passive immunity using specific IgY is an effective protective approach against bacterial infections in poultry (p. 9, para. 1). Additionally, Zhang discloses that IgY has been administered by the intravenous route, intramuscular, and oral (in the feed) routes (p. 9, para. 1). Zhang teaches IgY from vaccinated chicken egg yolks protected chickens against Gallibacterium anatis infection (Abstract; Fig. 5). Zhang also specifically discloses that prior to application, sterility testing of IgY antibody is performed to confirm there is no bacterial growth on lysogeny broth (LB) agar, to ensure safe IgY application without any bacterial contamination (p. 5, para. 2).
ThermoFisher teaches that for over 100 years, regulators have demanded the testing of heavy metal impurities in pharmaceutical products, monitoring a range of metal elemental pharmaceutical materials, including Cd, Pb, As, Hg, Co, V, Ni, Ti, Au, Pd, Ir, Os, Rh, Ru, Se, Ag, Pt, Li, Sb, Ba, Mo, Cu, Sn, and Cr (p. 1, para. 2; p. 1, para. 7; p. 2, table). ThermoFisher also explains that elemental impurities in pharmaceutical formulations can interfere with drug efficacy or even elicit a direct toxic effect on the patient (p. 1, para. 1). ThermoFisher further discloses that elemental impurities in pharmaceutical formulations can come from catalysts, formulation ingredients, and process vessels (p. 1, para. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that colostrum could be used as the protective protein matrix in the copending Application, because the colostrum of Starzl is an example of a protective matrix comprising protein that is derived from a non-hyperimmune animal source. Instant claim 5 would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of Starzl because Starzl teaches that the compositions may be administered in solid form, as a powder in suspension, as a liquid, a spray, an or an aerosol. Further, the mixture being tested to be safe for ingestion by the animal with respect to harmful microbial and heavy metal contents would be obvious, because ‘976 requires the mixture is tested to be safe for animal ingestion, Zhang discloses a method of testing IgY compositions to confirm their sterility with regard to bacterial growth, and ThermoFisher teaches that regulators have demanded testing of heavy metal impurities in pharmaceutical products for 100 years, due to elemental impurities interfering with drug efficacy or eliciting a direct toxic effect.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Jeffrey Sifford whose telephone number is 571-272-7289. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. ET with alternating Fridays off.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Allen can be reached on 571-270-3497. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/JEFFREY MARK SIFFORD/Examiner, Art Unit 1671
/Michael Allen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1671