DETAILED ACTION
Reassignment of the Application
1. Please note that this application has been reassigned to Examiner Kaijiang Zhang, in Art Unit 1684. In order to expedite accurate processing of the application papers, all future correspondence with the Office should reflect this change.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of the “applicator” species as recited in claim 11 (thus claims 4-10 and 12-13 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected species) in the reply filed on 7/14/2025 is acknowledged.
4. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application. Claims 4-10 and 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-3, 11 and 14-30 are currently under examination.
Double Patenting
6. Claims 1-3, 11 and 14-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 31-50 of copending Application No. 19/460,975 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 31-50 of copending Application No. 19/460,975 teach or render obvious all the steps and elements as recited in instant claims 1-3, 11 and 14-30. Specifically, claims 31 and 37 of copending Application No. 19/460,975 teach all the steps and elements as recited in instant claim 1. In addition, the other features as recited in dependent claims 2-3, 11 and 14-30 are also taught or rendered obvious by claims 31-50 of copending Application No. 19/460,975.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-3, 11, 14-15, 17-20 and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vickovic et al. (Nat. Commun. 2016, 7:13182).
Regarding claim 1
Vickovic et al. teach, throughout the whole document, a method for delivering a reagent to a substrate surface, comprising: (a) providing a substrate (e.g., microarray of barcoded DNA oligonucleotides printed on an activated glass slide) surface comprising a plurality of nucleic acid molecules (e.g., barcoded DNA oligonucleotides) immobilized adjacent thereto (see Figure 1; page 2, column 2, paragraph 2); and (b) using an applicator (e.g., nozzle of a FACS machine, or pipette tip) to direct a solution comprising said reagent (e.g., a solution comprising cells and saline sodium citrate (SSC), where either cells or saline sodium citrate (SSC) may be regarded as reagent) to contact at least a subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules simultaneously, by moving said applicator, said substrate surface, or both said applicator and said substrate surface relative to each other (see Figure 1; page 7, column 1, paragraphs 2 and 4-5).
Regarding claim 2
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein said at least said subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules is disposed along an axis of said substrate surface (see Figure 1. The nucleic acid molecules immobilized on each feature of the microarray are disposed along the central axis perpendicular to the circular-shaped feature.).
Regarding claim 3
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein, in (b), an additional subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules is contacted with said solution simultaneously with said at least said subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules, wherein said additional subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules is disposed along a second axis of said substrate surface, different than said axis (see Figure 1; page 7, column 1, paragraph 2. For the embodiment using a pipet tip as the applicator, the cell solution pipetted onto the array surface would touch multiple features of the array, where each feature has a different central axis perpendicular to the circular-shaped feature. In addition, when the cell solution on the array surface is “smeared with a side of a pipette tip”, it would also touch multiple features simultaneously, where each of these multiple features has a different central axis perpendicular to said circular-shaped feature.).
Regarding claim 11
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein said applicator comprises a dispense probe configured for curtain coating, wherein said dispense probe dispenses said solution as a curtain or a flat sheet to said substrate surface as a continuous stream across said substrate surface (see Figure 1; page 7, column 1, paragraph 2. For the embodiment using a pipet tip as the applicator, when the cell solution on the array surface is “smeared” with a side of the pipette tip, it would form a curtain or a flat sheet to the array surface as a continuous stream across the array surface.).
Regarding claims 14-15
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein said applicator moves said solution from a first location to a second location on said substrate surface, wherein said applicator comprises a physical scraper or a squeegee, and (b) comprises using said physical scraper or said squeegee to spread a volume of said solution from said first location to said second location (see Figure 1; page 7, column 1, paragraph 2. For the embodiment using a pipet tip as the applicator, when the cell solution on the array surface is “smeared” with a side of the pipette tip, it’s moved from a first location to a second location on the array surface, wherein the pipet tip serves as a physical scraper or a squeegee that spreads a volume of the cell solution from said first location to said second location.).
Regarding claim 17
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein, subsequent to (b), said substrate surface comprises a film of said solution with substantially uniform thickness (see Figure 1; page 7, column 1, paragraph 2. For the embodiment using a pipet tip as the applicator, when the cell solution on the array surface is “smeared” with a side of the pipette tip, a film of said solution with substantially uniform thickness would form on the array surface.).
Regarding claims 18-19
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein said substantially uniform thickness is between about 10 nanometers (nm) to about 1 millimeters (mm), wherein said substantially uniform thickness is at least 10 micrometers (µm) (see Figure 1; page 7, column 1, paragraph 2. Since a film of “single cells” is formed by using the pipetting and smearing approach, the film would have a thickness of at least 10 micrometers and less than 60 micrometers because the human or mouse cells used by Vickovic et al. have a diameter in the range of 10-30 micrometers.).
Regarding claim 20
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein said moving of said applicator, said substrate surface, or both said applicator and said substrate surface relative to each other comprises translating (see Figure 1; page 7, column 1, paragraphs 2 and 4-5).
Regarding claim 22
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein during (b), said moving comprises translating said applicator or said substrate surface or both relative to each other (see Figure 1; page 7, column 1, paragraphs 2 and 4-5).
Regarding claim 23
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein said substrate surface is substantially planar (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 24
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein said substrate surface is patterned (see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 25
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein said substrate surface is patterned using surface chemistry (e.g., surface chemistry that allows barcoded DNA oligonucleotides to be immobilized on the array features) (see Figure 1; page 2, column 2, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 26
The method according to Vickovic et al., wherein said substrate surface comprises a plurality of individually addressable locations (see Figure 1).
10. Claims 1-3, 16, 20, 22-26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dave et al. (US 2016/0076978 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 26 and 28
Dave et al. teach, throughout the whole document, a method for delivering a reagent to a substrate surface, comprising: (a) providing a substrate surface comprising a plurality of nucleic acid molecules immobilized adjacent thereto, wherein said substrate surface comprises a plurality of individually addressable locations in the form of a two-dimensional pattern of biological capture beads deposited on the planar surface of the substrate, wherein each biological capture bead is coupled/conjugated with a subset of the plurality of nucleic acid molecules, and wherein each biological capture bead is immobilized to an individually addressable location of said plurality of individually addressable locations (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]; claims 186-187); and (b) using an applicator (e.g., the applicator that delivers/directs a solution comprising an analyte) to direct a solution comprising said reagent (e.g., a solution comprising an analyte) to contact at least a subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules (e.g., a subset of the plurality of nucleic acid molecules that is coupled/conjugated to a first biological capture bead) simultaneously, by moving said applicator, said substrate surface, or both said applicator and said substrate surface relative to each other (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]; claims 186-187).
Regarding claim 2
The method according to Dave et al., wherein said at least said subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules is disposed along an axis of said substrate surface (e.g., the axis that passes the center of the first biological capture bead and is perpendicular to the substrate surface) (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]; claims 186-187).
Regarding claim 3
The method according to Dave et al., wherein, in (b), an additional subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules (e.g., an additional subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules that is coupled/conjugated to a second biological capture bead) is contacted with said solution simultaneously with said at least said subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules, wherein said additional subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules is disposed along a second axis of said substrate surface (e.g., the axis that passes the center of the second biological capture bead and is perpendicular to the substrate surface), different than said axis (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]; claims 186-187).
Regarding claim 16
The method according to Dave et al., further comprising subjecting said substrate surface to vibration to move said solution from a first location to a second location on said substrate surface (see paragraphs [0009], [0042] and [0057]-[0073]).
Regarding claim 20
The method according to Dave et al., wherein said moving of said applicator, said substrate surface, or both said applicator and said substrate surface relative to each other comprises translating or rotating or both (see paragraphs [0057]-[0073]; claims 171-187).
Regarding claim 22
The method according to Dave et al., wherein during (b), said moving comprises translating said applicator or said substrate surface or both relative to each other (see paragraphs [0057]-[0073]; claims 171-187).
Regarding claim 23
The method according to Dave et al., wherein said substrate surface is substantially planar (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]; claims 186-187).
Regarding claim 24
The method according to Dave et al., wherein said substrate surface is patterned (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]; claims 186-187).
Regarding claim 25
The method according to Dave et al., wherein said substrate surface is patterned using surface chemistry (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]; claims 186-187).
Regarding claim 29
The method according to Dave et al., wherein said bead comprises nucleic acid molecules having sequence identity (see paragraphs [0036] and [0043]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 30
The method according to Dave et al., wherein said at least said subset of said plurality of nucleic acid molecules are coupled to a plurality of beads, wherein each bead of said plurality of beads is immobilized to a different individually addressable location of said plurality of individually addressable locations (see paragraphs [0043]-[0044]; claims 186-187).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dave et al. (US 2016/0076978 A1).
Dave et al. teach the method of claims 1 and 20 as discussed above. Although Dave et al. teach the moving comprises rotating the substrate surface about a rotational axis (see paragraphs [0009] and [0057]-[0067]), Dave et al. do not specifically disclose the preferred or optimal rotational speed range as recited in claim 21. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to optimize the rotational speed by routine experimentation thus arriving at the preferred or optimal rotational speed range as recited in the claim. The MPEP states that “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or working ranges by routine experimentation” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”) (see MPEP 2144.05.II).
14. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vickovic et al. (Nat. Commun. 2016, 7:13182).
Vickovic et al. teach the method of claims 1 and 26 as discussed above. Although the method of Vickovic et al. is designed to be “high-throughput” (see Abstract) and Vickovic et al. provide example(s) where thousands of single cells are analyzed (involving the use of a substrate surface comprising thousands of individually addressable locations) (see Abstract; page 2, column 2, paragraph 2), Vickovic et al. do not specifically disclose the use of a substrate surface comprising at least 50,000,000,000 individually addressable locations. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to scale up the method of Vickovic et al. to use a substrate surface comprising at least 50,000,000,000 individually addressable locations to arrive at a method of higher throughput, because mere scaling up of the method by scaling up the size of the substrate surface is deemed obvious (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A): “…mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled…”).
Conclusion
15. No claim is allowed.
/KAIJIANG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684