DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments and remarks, filed on 1/6/2026, have been entered. The previous prior art rejection has been withdrawn and a new prior art rejection is applied to address the claim amendments.
Claim Status
Claims 1-3 and 5-25 are pending with claims 1-3, 5-10, and 25 being examined and claims 11-24 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 20170234861 A1; hereinafter “Chen”; already of record) in view of Oganesian et al (US 20160043240 A1; hereinafter “Oganesian”; already of record) in view of Johnson et al (US 20130164859 A1; hereinafter “Johnson”).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a sensing device (Chen; Abstract; field-effect transistor based sensor), comprising: a sensing unit comprising: a base layer (Chen; Fig. 1; para [10]; silicon wafer); a first coating on the base layer (Chen; para [6]; a reduced graphene oxide layer with aluminum oxide layer); a second coating on the base layer, wherein the second coating comprises a chemical functionality dopant (Chen; para [40]; graphene-based sheets decorated with nanoparticle-probe conjugates), wherein the dopant is an impurity element which is added to the sensing unit in order to alter its properties (Chen; para [101]; The response of the DNA-functionalized devices to the solution with Hg2+ is significantly higher than that to the solution without Hg2+ due to the rearrangement of the Hg2+-binding DNA sequence by Hg2+); a third coating on the base layer (Chen; para [42]; a reduced graphene-oxide layer coated with a passivation layer).
Chen does not teach the sensing device comprising a series of sensing units, wherein each of the sensing units a series of spacers between the sensing units of the series of sensing units, wherein the spacers electrically isolate the sensing units from each other such that electric measurements comprising resistance may be made for each individual sensing unit; and a housing.
However, Oganesian teaches a sensing device (Oganesian; Abstract), comprising: a series of sensing units (Oganesian; Fig. 1O; para [7]; one or more detectors), wherein each of the sensing units comprises: a base layer (Oganesian; Fig. 1O; para [22]; a host substrate 36); a series of spacers between the sensing units of the series of sensing units (Oganesian; Fig. 1O; para [32]; the spacer material 26), wherein the spacers electrically isolate the sensing units from each other (Oganesian; Fig. 1O; para [21]; Substrate 10 is then singulated/diced to separate each sensor 12 and its respective packaging; the Examiner notes that the spacers isolate the sensors from one another as depicted in Figure 1O) such that electric measurements comprising resistance may be made for each individual sensing unit (Oganesian; Fig. 1O; para [18]; the opening 24 can also expose the sensor active areas 17 to the environment, allowing chemical sensor detectors to detect physical substances such as gas and chemicals to which the sensor is exposed; Examiner notes that each individual sensing unit is capable of m); and a housing (Oganesian; para [28]; a housing 62). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to duplicate the sensing unit of Chen to comprise the series of sensing units as taught by Oganesian as this is known and suitable for a system to comprise multiple sensing units in the art. The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See MPEP 2144.04 VI). Further, Oganesian teaches that any sensor may be used (Oganesian; para [17]), thus one of ordinary skill in the art would modify Chen to comprise a series of sensing units.
Modified Chen does not teach wherein a first sensing unit of the series of sensing units comprises a first chemical functionality dopant and a second sensing unit of the series of sensing units comprises a second chemical functionality dopant different from the first chemical functionality dopant.
However, Johnson teaches an analogous art of single-stranded DNA-graphene chemical sensor device (Johnson; Abstract) comprising a first chemical functionality dopant (Johnson; para [39, 40]; ssDNA sequences “Sequence 1”) and a second chemical functionality dopant different from the first chemical functionality dopant (Johnson; para [39, 41]; ssDNA sequences “Sequence 2”). It would have been obvious to one to have modified the first sensing unit of modified to Chen to comprise the first chemical functionality dopant and the second sensing unit of modified Chen to comprise the second chemical functionality dopant, because Johnson teaches that the sequence has different sensitivity to different compounds (Johnson; Table 1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Chen teaches the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the first coating comprises a graphene coating (Chen; para [40]; graphene-based sheets).
Regarding claim 5, modified Chen teaches the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the second coating corresponds to a chemical sensitivity of the sensing device (Chen; para [101]; The response of the DNA-functionalized devices to the solution with Hg2+ is significantly higher than that to the solution without Hg2+ due to the rearrangement of the Hg2+-binding DNA sequence by Hg2+).
Regarding claim 6, modified Chen teaches the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the third coating comprises a metal oxide (Chen; Fig. 1; para [44]; the passivation layer may comprise aluminum oxide).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chen teaches the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the third coating comprises a DNA dopant (Chen; para [42]; gold nanoparticles in contact with the passivation layer).
Regarding claim 10, modified Chen teaches the sensing device of claim 1, further comprising a channel through which fluids are able to pass (Chen; Fig. 1; para [82, 88]; leaving only the sensing region (rGO coated with Au NPs) accessible for the liquid solutions…the sensor responded within a few seconds for the Hg2+ ions to diffuse through the liquid drop on the top of the device). The Examiner interprets the channel to be the area between the electrodes.
Regarding claim 25, modified Chen teaches the sensing device of claim 1, wherein the DNA dopant comprises functionalized ssDNA (Chen; Fig. 1). The examiner notes that the strand is discussed in para [95].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Oganesian in view of Johnson, and in further view of Ahmad (US 20080056946 A1; hereinafter “Ahmad”; already of record).
Regarding claim 2, modified Chen teaches the sensing device of claim 1, with the base layer.
Modified Chen does not teach wherein the base layer is a metal tube.
However, Ahmad teaches an analogous art of a sensing apparatus (Ahmad; Abstract) comprising a base layer, wherein the base layer is a metal tube (Ahmad; para [183]; the substrate 25 placed on a plastic annulus 26 with the metals facing the inner cylinder). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the base layer of modified Chen in the manner of the metal tube as taught by Ahmad as this is a known and suitable substitution for base layers in the art. Further, it is a matter of engineering design to substitute the base layers in different ways, where the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected result, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Finally, one would have a reasonable expectation of success by changing the base layer of modified Chen to be the metal tube as taught by Ahmad claimed limitation as teaches this arrangement is a known and suitable arrangement in the art. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Oganesian in view of Johnson, and in further view of Olmsted et al (US 20170312555 A1; hereinafter “Olmsted”; already of record; IDS filed on 7/14/2021).
Regarding claim 8, modified Chen teaches the sensing device of claim 1.
Modified Chen does not teach a voltage generator configured to generate a voltage across the series of sensing units; an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert resistances across each of the series of sensing units to electrical signals; and a processor configured to process the electrical signals.
However, Olmsted teaches an analogous art of a gas sensor comprising a voltage generator configured to generate a voltage across a series of sensing units (Olmsted; para [24]; Power supply circuit 170 may convert the received power to a voltage, Vin, which is provided to the computer 140 and chemiresistors 110, 115, 120); an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert resistances across each of the series of sensing units to electrical signals (Olmsted; para [22]; Analog to digital convers (ADCs) 125, 130, 135 are coupled to respective chemiresistors 110, 115, and 120. The ADCs provide digital signals that change based on the change in resistance of the chemiresistors responsive to exposure to various chemicals); and a processor configured to process the electrical signals (Olmsted; para [24]; A computer 140 is coupled to the ADCs and receives the digital signals). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date to have modified the device of modified Chen to comprise the voltage generator, the analog-to-digital convertor, and the processor as taught by Olmsted, because Olmsted teaches that the power supply circuit provides power to the sensors, the ADCs convert the sensors into a digital signal, and the computer receives and analyzes the signal (Olmsted; para [20, 22, 24]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chen teaches the sensing device of claim 1, further comprising a battery (Olmsted; para [24]; a button type battery 165 or other battery or power source). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date to have modified the device of modified Chen to comprise the battery as taught by Olmsted, because Olmsted teaches that the battery provides power to the power supply circuit (Olmsted; para [24]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed, 1/6/2026, have been entered. The claim amendments overcome the previous prior art rejection, and a new prior art rejection is applied to address the claim amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Q.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796