DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Amendment filed on 10/06/2025 in which claims 2 and 15 have been amended, claim 1 has been canceled and entered of record.
Claims 2-21 are pending for examination.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-10 of the Amendment with respect to the amended independent claims 2 and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection below.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 2 and 15 lines 11 and 16 of each claim recite “control the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter” should be “control the DC-DC converter and the multi-level inverter” since “the” or “said” would be sufficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 8-9, and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okui US Patent Publication 20020036911; hereinafter “Okui” in view of MONDAL, WO Patent Publication 2014011706; hereinafter “MONDAL” and further in view of Mandalakas et al., US Patent Publication 2008/0315685; hereinafter “Mandalakas”.
Regarding claim 2, Okui discloses a system (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
an active filter (power converter 1 [0028]) configured to electrically couple to transformers (Fig. 1, 140 and 150) including secondary coils in a wye configuration;
an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) (power converter 1, DC/DC converter 2, and the battery 3 [0028]) including:
a multi-level inverter (power converter 1) electrically coupled to the transformers; and
a DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter (power converter 1) and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device (battery 3); and
a controller (control command generation means 10) operably coupled to the DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) and the multi-level inverter (power converter 1) of the UPS (power converter 1, DC/DC converter 2, and the battery 3 [0028]), the controller configured to:
(a) receive a sensed load-current signal (current transformer CT1 [0029]), determine a harmonic component of the load current ([0029] “compensating a harmonic current” indicates harmonic current must be monitored), and control the same DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) and the same multi-level inverter (power converter 1) generate a compensating harmonic current injected toward the utility supply in an active-filtering mode ([0028] Okui discloses an improvement by adding a capacitor in front of the DC/DC converter to minimize the use of the battery for prolong the life of the battery; [0008] “The power converter carries out power inverting operation of inverting DC power into AC power to feed the AC power to the load mainly using the storage battery as a power supply therefor when the commercial power supply is in a condition other than the silent condition” indicates the battery is also used for active filter when the system is not in silent condition; [0012] “when a voltage across the capacitor is reduced to a level equal to or below a predetermined voltage level. This permits smooth changing-over from discharge of the capacitor to that of the storage battery without causing over-discharge of the capacitor” indicates that during harmonic compensating period, if the voltage of the capacitor falls below the predetermined voltage level, power from the battery 3 is used, thus the DC/DC converter is also used), and
(b) detect an interruption in power from the utility supply and, in response, control the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter to supply a fundamental current to the load from the first energy storage device in a UPS mode [0012].
Okui does not disclose the active filter configured to electrically couple to transformers; the inverter is a multi-level inverter. MONDAL discloses a 3-phase medium voltage UPS system having transformers (Fig. 1, 140 and 150) electrically couple to an UPS (Fig. 2, 210) including:
a multi-level inverter (Fig. 2, 240) electrically coupled to the transformers (Fig. 2, 150); and
a DC-DC converter (Fig. 2, 220) electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter (Fig. 2, 240) and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device (Fig. 2, 205). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okui to incorporate the teaching of MONDAL and provide transformers; and use a multi-level inverter to have the active filter configured to electrically couple to transformers;
the uninterruptible power supply (UPS) including:
a multi-level inverter electrically coupled to the transformers; and
a DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device. Doing so would allow the active filter UPS system to be placed in a medium voltage transmission line before using transformers stepping down to low voltage system; and using the multi-level inverter for generate accurate waveforms to counteract the distortion in the transmission system.
The combination of Okui and MONDAL does not explicitly disclose the transformers including secondary coils in a wye configuration. Mandalakas discloses an active filter system having a transformer (Fig 1, T) including a secondary coil in a wye configuration ([0048] suggest secondary side can be wye connection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui and MONDAL to incorporate the teaching of Mandalakas and use transformers with secondary coil having wye configuration. Doing so would allow converting delta to wye transmission system when a return line is required which only available in wye configuration.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising a line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) electrically coupled between an electrical grid (Fig. 2, 165) and the transformers (Fig. 2, 150).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 3 above, MONDAL also discloses the line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) is electrically coupled between the electrical grid (Fig. 2, 165) and a cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006], and
wherein the UPS is electrically coupled to the cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, Okui also discloses the system further comprising a current sensor (current transformer CT1) configured to sense a load current [0029],
wherein the controller filters the load current to obtain a harmonic portion of the load current ([0028] “compensating a harmonic current” indicates a harmonic portion of the current must be obtained) and controls the DC-DC converter and the multi-level inverter of the UPS to generate the harmonic current based on the harmonic portion of the load current [0008] [0028] [0012].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the further comprising an LCL filter (Fig. 2, 250) [0043] coupled to an output of the multi-level inverter of the UPS (Fig. 2, 240).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, Mandalakas also discloses each transformer includes primary coils in a delta configuration (Fig. 1, transformer T shows Δ-Δ and par. [0048] suggests secondary side could be wye connection).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising a line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) electrically coupled to the transformers (Fig. 2, 100).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the active filter includes a second energy storage device MONDAL (Fig. 2, energy storage device 105 including a plurality of batteries B [0009]) and a two-level inverter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 120 is a two-level inverter).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising an LCL filter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 250 is a LCL filter [0043]) electrically coupled to the active filter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 120 is a two-level inverter).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 12 above, Okui also discloses the second energy storage device includes an ultracapacitor, a battery (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, battery 10), or a combination of an ultracapacitor and a battery.
Regarding claim 15, Okui discloses a system (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
an active filter (power converter 1 [0028]) configured to electrically couple to transformers including secondary coils in a wye configuration;
an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) (power converter 1, DC/DC converter 2, and the battery 3 [0028]) including:
a multi-level inverter (power converter 1) electrically coupled to the transformers; and
a DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter (power converter 1) and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device (battery 3); and
a controller (control command generation means 10) coupled to the DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) and the multi-level inverter (power converter 1) of the UPS (power converter 1, DC/DC converter 2, and the battery 3 [0028]), the controller:
(a) receiving a sensed load-current signal (current transformer CT1 [0029]), determining a harmonic component of the load current ([0029] “compensating a harmonic current” indicates harmonic current must be monitored), and controlling the same DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) and the same multi-level inverter (power converter 1) to generate a compensating harmonic current injected toward the utility supply in an active-filtering mode ([0028] Okui discloses an improvement by adding a capacitor in front of the DC/DC converter to minimize the use of the battery for prolong the life of the battery; [0008] “The power converter carries out power inverting operation of inverting DC power into AC power to feed the AC power to the load mainly using the storage battery as a power supply therefor when the commercial power supply is in a condition other than the silent condition” indicates the battery is also used for active filter when the system is not in silent condition; [0012] “when a voltage across the capacitor is reduced to a level equal to or below a predetermined voltage level. This permits smooth changing-over from discharge of the capacitor to that of the storage battery without causing over-discharge of the capacitor” indicates that during harmonic compensating period, if the voltage of the capacitor falls below the predetermined voltage level, power from the battery 3 is used, thus the DC/DC converter is also used), and
(b) detecting an interruption in power from the utility supply and, in response, controlling the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter to supply a fundamental current to the load from the first energy storage device in a UPS mode [0012].
Okui does not disclose the active filter configured to electrically couple to transformers; the inverter is a multi-level inverter. MONDAL discloses a 3-phase medium voltage UPS system having transformers (Fig. 1, 140 and 150) electrically couple to an UPS (Fig. 2, 210) including:
a multi-level inverter (Fig. 2, 240) electrically coupled to the transformers (Fig. 2, 150); and
a DC-DC converter (Fig. 2, 220) electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter (Fig. 2, 240) and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device (Fig. 2, 205). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okui to incorporate the teaching of MONDAL and provide transformers; and use a multi-level inverter to have the active filter configured to electrically couple to transformers;
the uninterruptible power supply (UPS) including:
a multi-level inverter electrically coupled to the transformers; and
a DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device. Doing so would allow the active filter UPS system be placed in a medium voltage transmission line before using transformers stepping down to low voltage system; and using the multi-level inverter for generate accurate waveforms to counteract the distortion in the transmission system.
The combination of Okui and MONDAL does not explicitly disclose the transformers including secondary coils in a wye configuration. Mandalakas discloses an active filter system having a transformer (Fig 1, T) including a secondary coil in a wye configuration ([0048] suggest secondary side can be wye connection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui and MONDAL to incorporate the teaching of Mandalakas and use transformers with secondary coil having wye configuration. Doing so would allow converting delta to wye transmission system when a return line is required which only available in wye configuration.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 15 above, MONDAL also discloses the active filter includes a second energy storage device MONDAL (Fig. 2, energy storage device 105 including a plurality of batteries B [0009]) and a two-level inverter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 120 is a two-level inverter).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 16 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising an LCL filter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 250 is a LCL filter [0043]) electrically coupled to the active filter MONDAL (Fig. 2, two-level inverter 120).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 16 above, Okui also discloses the second energy storage device includes an ultracapacitor, a battery (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, battery 10), or a combination of an ultracapacitor and a battery.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 15 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising a line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) electrically coupled between an electrical grid (Fig. 2, 165) and the transformers (Fig. 2, 140 and 150).
Claim(s) 5, 7, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas in view of Czamara et al., US Patent 10,082,857; hereinafter “Czamara”.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL discloses the UPS is electrically coupled to the cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006]. The combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas does not explicitly disclose the cooling system is selected from the group consisting of fans for drawing hot air through evaporator coils, a cooling distribution unit (CDU) having a pump, a cooling system pump, a fluid cooler having fans, a chiller having a compressor, and combinations thereof. Czamara discloses a power distribution system including an UPS system is electrically coupled to the cooling system; wherein the cooling system is a chiller having a compressor (Column 3 lines 20-23, an air conditioner has a compressor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas to incorporate the teaching of Czamara and use a chiller having a compressor. Doing so would save energy since it is well-known in the art that cooling system using compressor is the most energy efficiency cooling system.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claims 2 and 19 above, MONDAL discloses the UPS system for medium voltage transmission system having transformers, one transformer for stepping up voltage of the UPS to the medium voltage transmission system, and one transformer to stepping down the medium voltage to low voltage transmission system. The combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas does not expressly disclose transformers for further stepping down low voltage transmission to a lower voltage that suitable for electrical equipment. Czamara discloses a power distribution system including an UPS system having transformers, wherein the transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies (Fig. 1, 120; each UPS drive one or more PDU 120 (Column 5, lines 25-27) and each PDU comprising a transformer (Column 5, lines 42-44)) and fan variable frequency drives (Fig. 1, each rack has a respective VFD fan 130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas to incorporate the teaching of Czamara and have transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies and fan variable frequency drives. Doing so would allow further stepping down voltage that suitable for electrical equipment, since using transformer to step-up or step-down voltage is well-known in the art.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 19 above, MONDAL also discloses the line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) is electrically coupled between the electrical grid (Fig. 2, 165) and a cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006], and
wherein the UPS is electrically coupled to the cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006]. MONDAL discloses the UPS is electrically coupled to the cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006]. MONDAL discloses the UPS system for medium voltage transmission system having transformers, one transformer for stepping up voltage of the UPS to the medium voltage transmission system, and one transformer to stepping down the medium voltage to low voltage transmission system. The combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas does not explicitly disclose the transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies and fan variable frequency drives. transformers for further stepping down low voltage transmission to a lower voltage that suitable for electrical equipment. Czamara discloses a power distribution system including an UPS system having transformers, wherein the transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies (Fig. 1, 120; each UPS drive one or more PDU 120 (Column 5, lines 25-27) and each PDU comprising a transformer (Column 5, lines 42-44)) and fan variable frequency drives (Fig. 1, each rack has a respective VFD fan 130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas to incorporate the teaching of Czamara and have transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies and fan variable frequency drives. Doing so would allow further stepping down voltage that suitable for electrical equipment, since using transformer to step-up or step-down voltage is well-known in the art.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Okui, MONDAL, Mandalakas and Czamara discloses the system of claim 19 above, Czamara also discloses the cooling system is selected from the group consisting of fans for drawing hot air through evaporator coils (Column 3 lines 20-23, an air handler of an air conditioner has fan and evaporator coils), a cooling distribution unit (CDU) having a pump, a cooling system pump, a fluid cooler having fans, a chiller having a compressor, and combinations thereof.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas in view of Abolhassani et al., US Patent Publication 2010/0072824; hereinafter “Abolhassani”.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 19 above, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas does not disclose the secondary coils are electrically coupled to leakage inductance coils, respectively. Abolhassani discloses transformer having a secondary coil are electrically coupled to leakage inductance coils, respectively (Fig. 3, secondary coils with phase shifting coils). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to have modified the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas to incorporate the teaching of Abolhassani and provide the transformer having secondary coils are electrically coupled to leakage inductance coils, respectively. Doing so would allow turning the secondary side to a desired phase.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836