DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Argument
Applicant argues that “Okui does not disclose or suggest the claimed dual use of the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter”. Assuming Applicant referring to aforementioned items of the same page (page 7 of the Remarks):
Applicant argues that “Okui does not disclose or suggest the claimed dual use of the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter”. Assuming Applicant referring to aforementioned items of the same page (page 7 of the Remarks):
"receives a sensed load-current signal, determines a harmonic component of the load current, and controls the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter to generate a compensating harmonic current injected toward the utility supply in an active-filtering mode," and
"detects an interruption in power from the utility supply and, in response, controls the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter to supply a fundamental current to the load from the first energy storage device in a UPS mode" (see Applicant’s Remarks page 7);
Applicant also argues that “Okui does not disclose a controller that controls the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter to generate a compensating harmonic current in active-filtering mode and also to supply fundamental current from the energy storage device in UPS mode, as recited in independent claim 2”; and “Okui does not disclose a controller that controls the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter to generate a compensating harmonic current in active-filtering mode and also to supply fundamental current from the energy storage device in UPS mode, as recited in independent claim 2” (see Applicant Remarks page 11).
In response, the arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagree because in paragraph [0028], Okui discloses “the power converter 1 of the voltage control type, when the commercial power supply AC is in a normal or silent condition, functions to convert AC power of the commercial power supply AC into DC power, to thereby carry out power rectifying operation of charging the storage battery 3 through the DC/DC converter 2 and active filter operation of flowing a current for compensating a harmonic current and/or a reactive current flowing to the load L”. Accordingly, Okui clearly discloses in the normal or silent condition, the converter 1 performing two functions: converting AC power from the commercial power supply into DC power to charge the battery 3 through the DC/DC converter 2; and the DC/DC converter and the converter 1 were used to perform active filter operation. Therefore, Okui clearly discloses mode (a).
Okui also discloses in paragraph [0035] “When the power failure detection circuit 15 detects that the commercial power supply falls into a power failure condition, the DC/DC converter 2 starts conversion operation for discharging the storage battery 3. The DC/DC converter 2 carries out boosting operation so as to feed the power converter 1 with a constant DC voltage based on a DC voltage accumulated in the storage battery 3 during a period of time for which it has a power failure detection signal inputted thereto from the power failure detection circuit 15”. It clearly shows that Okui discloses the DC/DC converter and the converter 1 were used to supply power to the load when the commercial power failure is detected. Thus, Okui clearly discloses mode (b).
Claims 2-21 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6, 8-9, and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okui US Patent Publication 20020036911; hereinafter “Okui” in view of MONDAL, WO Patent Publication 2014011706; hereinafter “MONDAL” and further in view of Mandalakas et al., US Patent Publication 2008/0315685; hereinafter “Mandalakas”.
Regarding claim 2, Okui discloses a system (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
an active filter (power converter 1 [0028]) configured to electrically couple to transformers (Fig. 1, 140 and 150) including secondary coils in a wye configuration;
an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) (power converter 1, DC/DC converter 2, and the battery 3 [0028]) including:
a multi-level inverter (power converter 1) electrically coupled to the transformers; and
a DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter (power converter 1) and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device (battery 3); and
a controller (control command generation means 10) operably coupled to the DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) and the multi-level inverter (power converter 1) of the UPS (power converter 1, DC/DC converter 2, and the battery 3 [0028]), the controller configured to:
(a) receive a sensed load-current signal (current transformer CT1 [0029]), determine a harmonic component of the load current ([0028] “compensating a harmonic current” indicates harmonic current must be monitored), and control the same DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) and the same multi-level inverter (power converter 1) generate a compensating harmonic current injected toward the utility supply in an active-filtering mode ([0028] “the power converter 1 of the voltage control type, when the commercial power supply AC is in a normal or silent condition, functions to convert AC power of the commercial power supply AC into DC power, to thereby carry out power rectifying operation of charging the storage battery 3 through the DC/DC converter 2 and active filter operation of flowing a current for compensating a harmonic current and/or a reactive current flowing to the load L”), and
(b) detect an interruption in power from the utility supply and, in response, control the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter to supply a fundamental current to the load from the first energy storage device in a UPS mode [0012] [0035].
Okui does not disclose the active filter configured to electrically couple to transformers; the inverter is a multi-level inverter. MONDAL discloses a 3-phase medium voltage UPS system having transformers (Fig. 1, 140 and 150) electrically couple to an UPS (Fig. 2, 210) including:
a multi-level inverter (Fig. 2, 240) electrically coupled to the transformers (Fig. 2, 150); and
a DC-DC converter (Fig. 2, 220) electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter (Fig. 2, 240) and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device (Fig. 2, 205). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okui to incorporate the teaching of MONDAL and provide transformers; and use a multi-level inverter to have the active filter configured to electrically couple to transformers;
the uninterruptible power supply (UPS) including:
a multi-level inverter electrically coupled to the transformers; and
a DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device. Doing so would allow the active filter UPS system be placed in a medium voltage transmission line before using transformers stepping down to low voltage system; and using the multi-level inverter for generate accurate waveforms to counteract the distortion in the transmission system.
The combination of Okui and MONDAL does not explicitly disclose the transformers including secondary coils in a wye configuration. Mandalakas discloses an active filter system having a transformer (Fig 1, T) including a secondary coil in a wye configuration ([0048] suggest secondary side can be wye connection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui and MONDAL to incorporate the teaching of Mandalakas and use transformers with secondary coil having wye configuration. Doing so would allow converting delta to wye transmission system when a return line is required which only available in wye configuration.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising a line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) electrically coupled between an electrical grid (Fig. 2, 165) and the transformers (Fig. 2, 150).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 3 above, MONDAL also discloses the line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) is electrically coupled between the electrical grid (Fig. 2, 165) and a cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006], and
wherein the UPS is electrically coupled to the cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006].
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, Okui also discloses the system further comprising a current sensor (current transformer CT1) configured to sense a load current [0029],
wherein the controller filters the load current to obtain a harmonic portion of the load current ([0028] “compensating a harmonic current” indicates a harmonic portion of the current must be obtained) and controls the DC-DC converter and the multi-level inverter of the UPS to generate the harmonic current based on the harmonic portion of the load current [0008] [0028] [0012].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the further comprising an LCL filter (Fig. 2, 250) [0043] coupled to an output of the multi-level inverter of the UPS (Fig. 2, 240).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, Mandalakas also discloses each transformer includes primary coils in a delta configuration (Fig. 1, transformer T shows Δ-Δ and par. [0048] suggests secondary side could be wye connection).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising a line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) electrically coupled to the transformers (Fig. 2, 100).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the active filter includes a second energy storage device MONDAL (Fig. 2, energy storage device 105 including a plurality of batteries B [0009]) and a two-level inverter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 120 is a two-level inverter).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising an LCL filter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 250 is a LCL filter [0043]) electrically coupled to the active filter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 120 is a two-level inverter).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 12 above, MONDAL also discloses the second energy storage device includes an ultracapacitor, a battery MONDAL (Fig. 2, energy storage device 105 including a plurality of batteries B [0009]), or a combination of an ultracapacitor and a battery.
Regarding claim 15, Okui discloses a system (Figs. 1-5) comprising:
an active filter (power converter 1 [0028]) configured to electrically couple to transformers including secondary coils in a wye configuration;
an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) (power converter 1, DC/DC converter 2, and the battery 3 [0035]) including:
a multi-level inverter (power converter 1) electrically coupled to the transformers; and
a DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter (power converter 1) and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device (battery 3); and
a controller (control command generation means 10) coupled to the DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) and the multi-level inverter (power converter 1) of the UPS (power converter 1, DC/DC converter 2, and the battery 3 [0028]), the controller:
(a) receiving a sensed load-current signal (current transformer CT1 [0029]), determining a harmonic component of the load current ([0029] “compensating a harmonic current” indicates harmonic current must be monitored), and controlling the same DC-DC converter (DC/DC converter 2) and the same multi-level inverter (power converter 1) to generate a compensating harmonic current injected toward the utility supply in an active-filtering mode ([0028] “the power converter 1 of the voltage control type, when the commercial power supply AC is in a normal or silent condition, functions to convert AC power of the commercial power supply AC into DC power, to thereby carry out power rectifying operation of charging the storage battery 3 through the DC/DC converter 2 and active filter operation of flowing a current for compensating a harmonic current and/or a reactive current flowing to the load L”), and
(b) detecting an interruption in power from the utility supply and, in response, controlling the same DC-DC converter and the same multi-level inverter to supply a fundamental current to the load from the first energy storage device in a UPS mode [0012] [0035].
Okui does not disclose the active filter configured to electrically couple to transformers; the inverter is a multi-level inverter. MONDAL discloses a 3-phase medium voltage UPS system having transformers (Fig. 1, 140 and 150) electrically couple to an UPS (Fig. 2, 210) including:
a multi-level inverter (Fig. 2, 240) electrically coupled to the transformers (Fig. 2, 150); and
a DC-DC converter (Fig. 2, 220) electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter (Fig. 2, 240) and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device (Fig. 2, 205). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okui to incorporate the teaching of MONDAL and provide transformers; and use a multi-level inverter to have the active filter configured to electrically couple to transformers;
the uninterruptible power supply (UPS) including:
a multi-level inverter electrically coupled to the transformers; and
a DC-DC converter electrically coupled to the multi-level inverter and configured to electrically couple to a first energy storage device. Doing so would allow the active filter UPS system be placed in a medium voltage transmission line before using transformers stepping down to low voltage system; and using the multi-level inverter for generate accurate waveforms to counteract the distortion in the transmission system.
The combination of Okui and MONDAL does not explicitly disclose the transformers including secondary coils in a wye configuration. Mandalakas discloses an active filter system having a transformer (Fig 1, T) including a secondary coil in a wye configuration ([0048] suggest secondary side can be wye connection). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui and MONDAL to incorporate the teaching of Mandalakas and use transformers with secondary coil having wye configuration. Doing so would allow converting delta to wye transmission system when a return line is required which only available in wye configuration.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 15 above, MONDAL also discloses the active filter includes a second energy storage device MONDAL (Fig. 2, energy storage device 105 including a plurality of batteries B [0009]) and a two-level inverter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 120 is a two-level inverter).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 16 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising an LCL filter MONDAL (Fig. 2, 250 is a LCL filter [0043]) electrically coupled to the active filter MONDAL (Fig. 2, two-level inverter 120).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 16 above, MONDAL also discloses the second energy storage device includes an ultracapacitor, a battery (Fig. 2, energy storage device 105 including a plurality of batteries B [0009]), or a combination of an ultracapacitor and a battery.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 15 above, MONDAL also discloses the system further comprising a line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) electrically coupled between an electrical grid (Fig. 2, 165) and the transformers (Fig. 2, 140 and 150).
Claim(s) 5, 7, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas in view of Czamara et al., US Patent 10,082,857; hereinafter “Czamara”.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 2 above, MONDAL discloses the UPS is electrically coupled to the cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006]. The combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas does not explicitly disclose the cooling system is selected from the group consisting of fans for drawing hot air through evaporator coils, a cooling distribution unit (CDU) having a pump, a cooling system pump, a fluid cooler having fans, a chiller having a compressor, and combinations thereof. Czamara discloses a power distribution system including an UPS system is electrically coupled to the cooling system; wherein the cooling system is a chiller having a compressor (Column 3 lines 20-23, an air conditioner has a compressor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas to incorporate the teaching of Czamara and use a chiller having a compressor. Doing so would save energy since it is well-known in the art that cooling system using compressor is the most energy efficiency cooling system.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claims 2 and 19 above, MONDAL discloses the UPS system for medium voltage transmission system having transformers, one transformer for stepping up voltage of the UPS to the medium voltage transmission system, and one transformer to stepping down the medium voltage to low voltage transmission system. The combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas does not expressly disclose transformers for further stepping down low voltage transmission to a lower voltage that suitable for electrical equipment. Czamara discloses a power distribution system including an UPS system having transformers, wherein the transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies (Fig. 1, 120; each UPS drive one or more PDU 120 (Column 5, lines 25-27) and each PDU comprising a transformer (Column 5, lines 42-44)) and fan variable frequency drives (Fig. 1, each rack has a respective VFD fan 130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas to incorporate the teaching of Czamara and have transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies and fan variable frequency drives. Doing so would allow further stepping down voltage that suitable for electrical equipment, since using transformer to step-up or step-down voltage is well-known in the art.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 19 above, MONDAL also discloses the line reactor (Fig. 2, 170) is electrically coupled between the electrical grid (Fig. 2, 165) and a cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006], and
wherein the UPS is electrically coupled to the cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006]. MONDAL discloses the UPS is electrically coupled to the cooling system (Fig. 2, 155) [0006]. MONDAL discloses the UPS system for medium voltage transmission system having transformers, one transformer for stepping up voltage of the UPS to the medium voltage transmission system, and one transformer to stepping down the medium voltage to low voltage transmission system. The combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas does not explicitly disclose the transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies and fan variable frequency drives. transformers for further stepping down low voltage transmission to a lower voltage that suitable for electrical equipment. Czamara discloses a power distribution system including an UPS system having transformers, wherein the transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies (Fig. 1, 120; each UPS drive one or more PDU 120 (Column 5, lines 25-27) and each PDU comprising a transformer (Column 5, lines 42-44)) and fan variable frequency drives (Fig. 1, each rack has a respective VFD fan 130). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas to incorporate the teaching of Czamara and have transformers are electrically coupled to respective server power supplies and fan variable frequency drives. Doing so would allow further stepping down voltage that suitable for electrical equipment, since using transformer to step-up or step-down voltage is well-known in the art.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Okui, MONDAL, Mandalakas and Czamara discloses the system of claim 19 above, Czamara also discloses the cooling system is selected from the group consisting of fans for drawing hot air through evaporator coils (Column 3 lines 20-23, an air handler of an air conditioner has fan and evaporator coils), a cooling distribution unit (CDU) having a pump, a cooling system pump, a fluid cooler having fans, a chiller having a compressor, and combinations thereof.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas in view of Abolhassani et al., US Patent Publication 2010/0072824; hereinafter “Abolhassani”.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas discloses the system of claim 19 above, the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas does not disclose the secondary coils are electrically coupled to leakage inductance coils, respectively. Abolhassani discloses transformer having a secondary coil are electrically coupled to leakage inductance coils, respectively (Fig. 3, secondary coils with phase shifting coils). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was filed to have modified the combination of Okui, MONDAL and Mandalakas to incorporate the teaching of Abolhassani and provide the transformer having secondary coils are electrically coupled to leakage inductance coils, respectively. Doing so would allow turning the secondary side to a desired phase.
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836