DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant's arguments, filed 04/16/2026, have been fully considered. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicants have amended their claims, filed 04/16/2026, and therefore rejections newly made in the instant office action have been necessitated by amendment.
Applicants have amended claims 1, 15, 16, 27, and 28.
Applicants have left claims 2-4, 10-11, 13, 14, 17, and 19-22 as originally filed/previously presented.
Applicants have canceled/previously cancelled claims 5-9, 12, 18, 23-26, and 29.
Claims 1-4, 10-11, 13-17, 19-22, and 27-28 are the current claims hereby under examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections - Withdrawn and Newly Applied Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
Claims 1, 16, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, lines 26-27 recite “the detected correlations between analyte trends”, however it appears it should read --the detected user dependent correlations between said trends-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 16, lines 4-5 recite “a group of living creatures”, however it appears it should read --the group of living creatures-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 27, lines 24-25 recite “the detected correlations between analyte trends”, however it appears it should read --the detected user dependent correlations between said trends-- (emphasis added) to maintain consistent claim language.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2 of Remarks, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to claims 15 and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicants have amended the claims, rendering the objections moot. The objections of claims 15 and 16 has been withdrawn. However, there are new claim objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Newly Applied Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
Claims 1-4, 10-11, 13-17, 19-22, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation "the same user" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the same user” is the same as, related to, or different from “a living creature”, recited in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, “the same user” is being interpreted as “the living creature”. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to recite consistent claim language.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Regarding claim 1, the claim has been amended to recite “the same user” in line 18. However, claim 1 further recites “a user” in line 20 and “the user” in line 22. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the same user” is intended to be related to “a user” and “the user”. For the purposes of examination “a user” and “the user” recited in claim 1 as being interpreted as any user. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to either clearly differentiate or clearly link the two recitations.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “a user” twice in line 5. However, claim 1 has been amended to recite “the same user” in line 18, and claim 1 recites “a user” in line 20 and “the user” in line 22. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “a user” is the same as, related to, or different from the recitations of “user” in claim 1. For the purposes of examination, the recitations of “a user” recited in claim 11 are being interpreted as being related to “a user” in claim 1, line 20 and “the user” in claim 1, line 22. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend claim 11, line 5 to read along the lines of --the user or for prompting the user for input-- (emphasis added).
Regarding claim 27, the claim recites the limitation "the same user" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the same user” is the same as, related to, or different from “a living creature”, recited in claim 27. For the purposes of examination, “the same user” is being interpreted as “the living creature”. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to recite consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 27, the claim has been amended to recite “the same user” in line 16. However, claim 27 further recites “a user” in line 18 and “the user” in line 20. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the same user” is intended to be related to “a user” and “the user”. For the purposes of examination “a user” and “the user” recited in claim 27 as being interpreted as any user. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to either clearly differentiate or clearly link the two recitations.
Regarding claim 28, the claim recites the limitation "the same user" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the same user” is the same as, related to, or different from “a living creature”, recited in claim 28. For the purposes of examination, “the same user” is being interpreted as “the living creature”. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to recite consistent claim language.
Regarding claim 28, the claim has been amended to recite “the same user” in line 18. However, claim 28 further recites “a user” in line 20 and “the user” in line 22. In light of the specification, it is currently unclear if “the same user” is intended to be related to “a user” and “the user”. For the purposes of examination “a user” and “the user” recited in claim 28 as being interpreted as any user. It is recommended to the Applicant to amend the claims to either clearly differentiate or clearly link the two recitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Newly Applied Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
Claims 1-4, 10-11, 13-17,19-20, 22, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert Kaleal (Pub. No. US 2017/0206795) (cited in the IDS, filed 06/23/2022) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Kaleal, in view of Gratzl et al. (US 2004/0180391 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Gratzl, in view of Rack-Gomer et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0289821) (cited in the IDS, filed 02/24/2021) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Rack-Gomer, in view of Mensinger et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0066843) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Mensinger, in view of Brockway et al. (US 20060010090 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Brockway.
The claims are generally directed towards a health monitoring system for monitoring health of a living creature, the health monitoring system comprising: an implantable sensor for simultaneously measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes in bodily tissue or bodily fluids of the living creature, thus obtaining a metabolic fingerprint for the living creature comprising concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes at any given moment in time; the implantable sensor being configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analytes simultaneously, said concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes being derived from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition; a processor programmed for determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within a respective predetermined range, wherein the predetermined ranges are based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures, and further programmed for detecting trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over a period of time, and programmed for detecting user dependent correlations between said trends from the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model; and an output port for providing output to a user, a medical practitioner or medical team and wherein the health monitoring system is programmed for providing personalized recommendations to the user through the output port based on the detected correlations between analyte trends and on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends, the health monitoring system being configured for triggering additional measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes or to alter a frequency of measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes based on the determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within the respective predetermined range.
Regarding claim 1, Kaleal discloses a health monitoring system for monitoring health of a living creature (Abstract, “system includes a reception component configured to receive bio-chemical information about a physiological state or condition of a user …”, Fig. 1), the health monitoring system comprising:
an implantable sensor (Fig. 1, element 104, “sensor devices”) for measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes in bodily tissue or bodily fluids of the living creature, thus obtaining a metabolic fingerprint for the living creature comprising concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes at any given moment in time (para. [0048], “one or more sensor devices can be worn or otherwise attached to the user to capture the physical and physiological data … in real-time or substantially real-time”, para. [0051], “biosensor device can include a blood-testing device that is implanted into the body … detect biochemical information regarding at least one of: glucose level, cortisol, potassium level … creatine kinase, vitamin B12 … electrolytes …”);
a processor (Fig. 2, element 210 and 212, “processing module” and “analysis component”) programmed for determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within a respective predetermined range (para. [0088-0090], “analysis component is configured to analyze raw physical and physiological data for a user to determine or infer feature values corresponding to what the raw physical and physiological data represents … occur in real-time … biometric data, biochemical data ….”, para. [0091], “determine whether and to what degree levels of the respective biomarkers are abnormal (e.g., with respect to predefined values or ranges for normal vs abnormal levels)…”, para. [0093]);
an output port for providing output to a user, a medical practitioner or a medical team and wherein the health monitoring system is programmed for providing personalized recommendations to the user through the output port (Fig. 1, element 106, “client device”, para. [0060], “client device can include avatar platform to provide for processing and analyzing of user’s physical and physiological activity data … various visual and/or audible actions of the avatar generated and displayed at client device …”, para. [0087], “processing module is configured to process various input data received to facilitate guiding and assisting the user with performance of a specific program, routine or task … through an avatar …”).
However, Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the implantable sensor simultaneously measures the plurality of metabolism analytes; and the implantable sensor being configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analyte simultaneously, said concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes being derived from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition.
Gratzl teaches an analogous system of monitoring chemical and biochemical species with a sensor probe (Abstract, para. [0009]). Gratzl further teaches the system and probe are configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analyte simultaneously (para. [0010], [0023], [0075-0080], [0089], [0179]). Gratzl further teaches said concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes being derived from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition (para. [0149], para. [0179], para. [0237]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implantable sensor and health monitoring system disclosed by Kaleal to additionally be configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analyte simultaneously, said concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes being derived from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition, as taught by Gratzl. This is because Gratzl teaches simultaneously measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes over a period of time, multiple times, from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition allows for a single probe to obtain multiple different concentrations, while determining a relationship between the concentrations (para. [0023], [0089-0095], para. [0237]).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined ranges are based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures.
Rack-Gomer teaches of an analogous system for obtaining several factors in order to determine an urgency index, or range, for a patient (Abstract, para. [0007]). Rack-Gomer teaches a continuous analyte sensor (Fig. 3, element 10) configured to be implanted in the body to measure concentration of analytes within the host, which can include a plurality of analytes (para. [0073], para. [0113], para. [0213]) and user information (para. [0026]). Rack-Gomer teaches that based on a plurality of measurements, an urgency index can be calculated (Fig. 7, element 252, and para. [0140]). Rack-Gomer further teaches the urgency index is based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures (Fig. 7, element 256, para. [0140-0141], para. [0306-0309]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined ranges taught by modified Kaleal to explicitly be based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures, as taught by Rack-Gomer. This is because Rack-Gomer teaches that by using historical analyte concentrations, more accurate current trending analyses can be determined for the specific living creature, therefore increasing the accuracy (para. [0140-0141]).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the processor is further programmed for detecting trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over the period of time, and programmed for detecting user dependent correlations between said trends for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model, and providing personalized recommendations to the user through the output port, based on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends.
Mensinger teaches an analogous system for monitoring health of a living organism (Abstract) by measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes of the living creature with sensors (Fig. 1, element 102, para. [0057], para. [0076], Fig. 2, element 216, para. [0079], Fig. 3). Mensinger further teaches a processor is programmed for detecting trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over the period of time, and providing personalized recommendations to the user through an output port, based on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends (para. [0063-0064], “therapy recommendations … send alerts, warnings …”, para. [0077], “CGM module processes the inputs … produce one or more outputs … output may be to a trend graph displayed”, trends are calculated for the inputs, para. [0159], “rate of change, trend, and/or directional information”, and para. [0076]). Mensinger further teaches the processor is configured to detect correlations between the trends for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model (para. [0078], “correlative algorithms and/or pattern recognition algorithms may be used to process the various inputs and to provide outputs … correlate and/or identify relationships between the various inputs …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor disclosed by modified Kaleal to additionally detect trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over the period of time and detect user dependent correlations between said trends for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model, as taught by Mensinger. This is because Mensinger teaches that determining trends and correlating the trends, relationships between the inputs can be determined (para. [0078]), which allows for a more informative output than an output solely based on the sensor data (para. [0008]).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the health monitoring system being configured for triggering additional measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes or to alter a frequency of measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes based on the detected correlations between analyte trends and on the determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within the respective predetermined range.
Brockway teaches of an analogous system of using a plurality of sensors to facilitate diagnosis and medical decision making for a patient (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, para. [0011-0012]). Brockway further teaches triggering additional measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes or to alter a frequency of measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes based on the detected correlations between analyte trends and on the determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within the respective predetermined range (para. [0035], “frequency of monitoring a physiological or device parameter is changed based on an instruction received from an inference engine …”, para. [0063], “data derived from one data source can be used to modify data derived from another sensor … one sensor indicates a particular condition … a threshold value exceeded, then the frequency of data sampling of a particular sensor is adjusted …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by modified Kaleal to additionally be configured for triggering additional measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes or to alter a frequency of measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes based on the detected correlations between analyte trends and on the determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within the respective predetermined range, as taught by Brockway. This is because Brockway teaches by adjusting a frequency of measurements based on correlations and trends, the system can tailor the analysis of the data and reporting of detected conditions (para. [0063]), thereby improving the detecting of patient conditions based on a plurality of sensors.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein the processor furthermore is programmed for deriving from said determination a homeostatic and/or alleostatic condition of the living creature (para. [0091], “determine whether and to what degree levels of the respective biomarkers are abnormal … ranges for normal vs abnormal … further determine or infer conditions or disease of the body that are attributed to the abnormal levels of the respective biomarkers …”, para. [0092-0111] - the analysis component is configured to determine a condition of a user based on the determination biomarkers are within or out of a predetermined range).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of metabolism analytes comprises at least three different metabolism analytes (Kaleal, para. [0089], “biochemical information can include information regarding presence and/or concentration of various biomarkers … biochemical information regarding at least one of: glucose level, cortisol level … creatine kinase, vitamin B12 … electrolytes …”, para. [0091], and para. [0097-0103]; Gratzl, para. [0010] - further see the rejection of claim 1 regarding the combination of at least Kaleal and Gratzl).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of metabolism analytes is a selection of two or more of glucose, ketones, lactate, lactic acid, acetic acid, nitrite, creatinine, hormones, vitamin B11, vitamin B12, acetate, propionic acid, propionate, butyric acid, butyrate, phenyl sulfate, urea, pyruvate, ethanol, sugar, pH, uric acid, lactate dehydrogenase, fasting glucose, sodium, potassium or cholesterol (Kaleal, para. [0051], “biosensor device can include a blood-testing device that is implanted into the body … detect biochemical information regarding at least one of: glucose level, cortisol, potassium level … creatine kinase, vitamin B12 … electrolytes …”, para. [0089], “biochemical information can include information regarding presence and/or concentration of various biomarkers … biochemical information regarding at least one of: glucose level, cortisol level … creatine kinase, vitamin B12 … electrolytes …”, para. [0091], and para. [0097-0103]; Gratzl, para. [0010] - further see the rejection of claim 1 regarding the combination of at least Kaleal and Gratzl).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1, the health monitoring system further comprising an input port for obtaining information regarding one or more physiological parameters of the living creature at the time of measurement of the plurality of metabolism analytes in bodily tissue or bodily fluids of the living creature (para. [0048], “a client device configured to receive and/or capture physical and physiological activity data about the user … sensor devices can be worn or otherwise attached to the user ...”, and para. [00087-0088], “processing module process user physical and physiological information and context information as it is received and in view of user profile information … analyze raw physical and physiological data for a user to determine or infer feature values corresponding to what the raw physical and physiological data represents …”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 10, wherein the input port of the health monitoring system is configured for receiving the information regarding one or more physiological parameters from a wearable, worn by the living creature (Fig. 1, element 104, “sensor devices”, and para. [0048], “client device configured to receive and/or capture physical and physiological activity data … one or more sensor devices can be worn or otherwise attached to the user …”), or wherein the health monitoring system is configured for receiving user input from a user or for prompting a user for input when one or more of the plurality of metabolism analyte concentrations outside the predetermined range is detected (para. [0074], “received input for a user … determinations and inferences can be made …”, para. [0076], “input can also include profile information … contextual information …”, para. [0149]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 10, wherein the health monitoring system is configured for deriving from the one or more physiological parameters a stress condition and for identifying that the measured plurality of metabolism analytes are determined under the stress condition (para. [0095], “determine a degree of inflammation experienced by a user … inflammation is a natural reaction to stress …”, para. [0107], para. [0114], “user can select a specific activity or program … stress reduction program …”, para. [0119], para. [0227]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein the health monitoring system comprises an input port for obtaining information regarding one or more of the living creature’s location, hobbies, ethnic background, age, gender, and socio-economical status. (para. [0080-0082], “avatar guidance platform with updated profile information … health history, preferences, demographics … social affiliations … reception component can receive information regarding a user’s location … environment …”, para. [0128], “user demographic information can define … gender, age, nationality …”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1.
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured for comparing with the predetermined ranges for the metabolism analyte concentrations, whereby the predetermined ranges are based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations from the living creature.
Rack-Gomer further teaches the predetermined ranges are based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations from the living creature (Fig. 7, element 256, para. [0140-0141]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by modified Kaleal to explicitly use the predetermined ranges are based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations from the living creature, as taught by Rack-Gomer. This is because Rack-Gomer teaches that by using historical analyte concentrations, more accurate current trending analyses can be determined for the specific living creature, therefore increasing the accuracy (para. [0140-0141]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1.
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured for comparing with the predetermined ranges for the metabolism analyte concentrations, whereby the predetermined ranges are based on previously measured plurality of metabolism analytes obtained from a group of living creatures.
Rack-Gomer further teaches that the predetermined ranges are based on previously measured plurality of metabolism analytes obtained from a group of living creatures (Fig. 7, element 256, para. [0140-0141], para. [0306-0309]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by modified Kaleal to explicitly use the predetermined ranges that are based on previously measured plurality of metabolism analytes obtained from a group of living creatures, as taught by Rack-Gomer. This is because Rack-Gomer teaches that by comparing a plurality of analyte information, trends can be better determined in what the margins should be for the analyte information (para. [0308-0309]), which can be used by the urgency index (para. [0140], “external data”).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 16, wherein the system is adapted for obtaining information regarding to any of gender, age, ethnicity or body mass index (para. [0080-0082], “avatar guidance platform with updated profile information … health history, preferences, demographics … social affiliations … reception component can receive information regarding a user’s location … environment …”, para. [0128], “user demographic information can define … gender, age, nationality …”).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor furthermore is configured for comparing with predetermined ranges that are based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations obtained from a group of living creatures having a same gender, and/or age.
Rack-Gomer further teaches the collection of analyte information from a plurality of users can be grouped with some similarity, for example, geography, doctor, age, gender, and ethnicity (para. [0308-0309]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by modified Kaleal to explicitly group the group of living creatures with similar gender and age, as taught by Rack-Gomer. This is because Rack-Gomer teaches that by comparing analyte concentration information with similar people, more accurate margin of errors are able to be compared for use when determining an urgency index (para. [0308-0309]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1.
Kaleal suggests measuring and determining a hydration status (para. [0103], and para. [0119]). However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the system furthermore comprising an impedance spectroscopy sensor for deriving a hydration status.
Rack-Gomer further teaches the urgency index can be based on physiological data information, such as hydration information (para. [0073], and para. [0182]). Rack-Gomer further teaches that the hydration information can be obtained from a spectroscopy sensor (para. [0073], para. [0108], and para. [0120]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by modified Kaleal to additionally determine a hydration status of the patient with an impedance spectroscopy sensor, as taught by Rack-Gomer. This is because Rack-Gomer teaches that a hydration status can be used in addition to the plurality of analyte measurements when determining an urgency index for the patient (para. [0194]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kaleal discloses a health monitoring platform, the health monitoring platform comprising a plurality of health monitoring systems according to claim 1 for use by a plurality of individual users and the health monitoring platform further comprising a central processing unit for processing metabolic fingerprint information obtained from the plurality of health monitoring systems (para. [0060-0061], “some or all of the processing and analysis of the physical and physiological activity data is performed by a remote avatar server …”, para. [0294], “interference component analyze … for a plurality of user’s … machine learning techniques to optimized determinations regarding how a specific user’s appearance will be affected …”, multiple platforms can be combined and used with machine learning to optimize determinations).
Regarding claim 22, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1, wherein the implantable sensor further comprises one or more of an electrochemical sensing device, an enzymatic sensing device, an electronic impedance sensing device, a resonant electronic circuit sensing device, or an electrical sensing device (para. [0048-0051]).
Regarding claim 27, Kaleal discloses a health monitoring system for monitoring health of a living creature (Abstract, “system includes a reception component configured to receive bio-chemical information about a physiological state or condition of a user …”, Fig. 1), the health monitoring system comprising:
an implantable sensor (Fig. 1, element 104, “sensor devices”) for measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes in bodily tissue or bodily fluids of the living creature, thus obtaining a metabolic fingerprint for the living creature comprising concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes at any given moment in time (para. [0048], “one or more sensor devices can be worn or otherwise attached to the user to capture the physical and physiological data … in real-time or substantially real-time”, para. [0051], “biosensor device can include a blood-testing device that is implanted into the body … detect biochemical information regarding at least one of: glucose level, cortisol, potassium level … creatine kinase, vitamin B12 … electrolytes …”);
a processor (Fig. 2, element 210 and 212, “processing module” and “analysis component”) programmed for determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within a respective predetermined range (para. [0088-0090], “analysis component is configured to analyze raw physical and physiological data for a user to determine or infer feature values corresponding to what the raw physical and physiological data represents … occur in real-time … biometric data, biochemical data ….”, para. [0091], “determine whether and to what degree levels of the respective biomarkers are abnormal (e.g., with respect to predefined values or ranges for normal vs abnormal levels)…”, para. [0093]);
an output port for providing output to a user, a medical practitioner or a medical team and wherein the health monitoring system is programmed for providing personalized recommendations to the user through the output port (Fig. 1, element 106, “client device”, para. [0060], “client device can include avatar platform to provide for processing and analyzing of user’s physical and physiological activity data … various visual and/or audible actions of the avatar generated and displayed at client device …”, para. [0087], “processing module is configured to process various input data received to facilitate guiding and assisting the user with performance of a specific program, routine or task … through an avatar …”).
However, Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the implantable sensor simultaneously measures the plurality of metabolism analytes; and the implantable sensor being configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analyte simultaneously, and wherein the implantable sensor comprises an optical sensor configured for spectroscopic measurement of the plurality of metabolism analytes in the bodily tissue or the bodily fluids and the implantable sensor is configured for deriving the simultaneously measured plurality of metabolism analytes in the bodily tissue or the bodily fluids of the living creature from the same spectroscopic measurement.
Gratzl teaches an analogous system of monitoring chemical and biochemical species with a sensor probe (Abstract, para. [0009]). Gratzl further teaches the system and probe are configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analyte simultaneously (para. [0010], [0023], [0075-0080], [0089], [0179]). Gratzl further teaches wherein the implantable sensor comprises an optical sensor configured for spectroscopic measurement of the plurality of metabolism analytes in the bodily tissue or the bodily fluids and the implantable sensor is configured for deriving the simultaneously measured plurality of metabolism analytes in the bodily tissue or the bodily fluids of the living creature from the same spectroscopic measurement (para. [0149], para. [0179], para. [0237]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implantable sensor and health monitoring system disclosed by Kaleal to additionally be configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analyte simultaneously, and to additionally include an optical sensor configured for spectroscopic measurement of the plurality of metabolism analytes in the bodily tissue or the bodily fluids and the implantable sensor is configured for deriving the simultaneously measured plurality of metabolism analytes in the bodily tissue or the bodily fluids of the living creature from the same spectroscopic measurement, as taught by Gratzl. This is because Gratzl teaches simultaneously measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes over a period of time, multiple times, from the same spectroscopic measurement from an optical sensor allows for a single probe to obtain multiple different concentrations, while determining a relationship between the concentrations (para. [0023], [0089-0095], para. [0237]).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined ranges are based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures.
Rack-Gomer teaches of an analogous system for obtaining several factors in order to determine an urgency index, or range, for a patient (Abstract, para. [0007]). Rack-Gomer teaches a continuous analyte sensor (Fig. 3, element 10) configured to be implanted in the body to measure concentration of analytes within the host, which can include a plurality of analytes (para. [0073], para. [0113], para. [0213]) and user information (para. [0026]). Rack-Gomer teaches that based on a plurality of measurements, an urgency index can be calculated (Fig. 7, element 252, and para. [0140]). Rack-Gomer further teaches the urgency index is based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures (Fig. 7, element 256, para. [0140-0141], para. [0306-0309]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined ranges taught by modified Kaleal to explicitly be based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures, as taught by Rack-Gomer. This is because Rack-Gomer teaches that by using historical analyte concentrations, more accurate current trending analyses can be determined for the specific living creature, therefore increasing the accuracy (para. [0140-0141]).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the processor is further programmed for detecting trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over the period of time, and programmed for detecting user dependent correlations between said trends for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model, and providing personalized recommendations to the user through the output port, based on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends.
Mensinger teaches an analogous system for monitoring health of a living organism (Abstract) by measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes of the living creature with sensors (Fig. 1, element 102, para. [0057], para. [0076], Fig. 2, element 216, para. [0079], Fig. 3). Mensinger further teaches a processor is programmed for detecting trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over the period of time, and providing personalized recommendations to the user through an output port, based on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends (para. [0063-0064], “therapy recommendations … send alerts, warnings …”, para. [0077], “CGM module processes the inputs … produce one or more outputs … output may be to a trend graph displayed”, trends are calculated for the inputs, para. [0159], “rate of change, trend, and/or directional information”, and para. [0076]). Mensinger further teaches the processor is configured to detect correlations between the trends for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model (para. [0078], “correlative algorithms and/or pattern recognition algorithms may be used to process the various inputs and to provide outputs … correlate and/or identify relationships between the various inputs …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor disclosed by modified Kaleal to additionally detect trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over the period of time and detect user dependent correlations between said trends for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model, as taught by Mensinger. This is because Mensinger teaches that determining trends and correlating the trends, relationships between the inputs can be determined (para. [0078]), which allows for a more informative output than an output solely based on the sensor data (para. [0008]).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the health monitoring system being configured for triggering additional measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes or to alter a frequency of measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes based on the detected correlations between analyte trends and on the determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within the respective predetermined range.
Brockway teaches of an analogous system of using a plurality of sensors to facilitate diagnosis and medical decision making for a patient (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, para. [0011-0012]). Brockway further teaches triggering additional measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes or to alter a frequency of measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes based on the detected correlations between analyte trends and on the determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within the respective predetermined range (para. [0035], “frequency of monitoring a physiological or device parameter is changed based on an instruction received from an inference engine …”, para. [0063], “data derived from one data source can be used to modify data derived from another sensor … one sensor indicates a particular condition … a threshold value exceeded, then the frequency of data sampling of a particular sensor is adjusted …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by modified Kaleal to additionally be configured for triggering additional measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes or to alter a frequency of measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes based on the detected correlations between analyte trends and on the determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within the respective predetermined range, as taught by Brockway. This is because Brockway teaches by adjusting a frequency of measurements based on correlations and trends, the system can tailor the analysis of the data and reporting of detected conditions (para. [0063]), thereby improving the detecting of patient conditions based on a plurality of sensors.
Regarding claim 28, Kaleal discloses a health monitoring system for monitoring health of a living creature (Abstract, “system includes a reception component configured to receive bio-chemical information about a physiological state or condition of a user …”, Fig. 1), the health monitoring system comprising:
an implantable sensor (Fig. 1, element 104, “sensor devices”) for measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes in bodily tissue or bodily fluids of the living creature, thus obtaining a metabolic fingerprint for the living creature comprising concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes at any given moment in time (para. [0048], “one or more sensor devices can be worn or otherwise attached to the user to capture the physical and physiological data … in real-time or substantially real-time”, para. [0051], “biosensor device can include a blood-testing device that is implanted into the body … detect biochemical information regarding at least one of: glucose level, cortisol, potassium level … creatine kinase, vitamin B12 … electrolytes …”);
a processor (Fig. 2, element 210 and 212, “processing module” and “analysis component”) programmed for determining for each of the plurality of metabolism analytes whether the obtained concentration information is within a respective predetermined range (para. [0088-0090], “analysis component is configured to analyze raw physical and physiological data for a user to determine or infer feature values corresponding to what the raw physical and physiological data represents … occur in real-time … biometric data, biochemical data ….”, para. [0091], “determine whether and to what degree levels of the respective biomarkers are abnormal (e.g., with respect to predefined values or ranges for normal vs abnormal levels)…”, para. [0093]);
an output port for providing output to a user, a medical practitioner or a medical team and wherein the health monitoring system is programmed for providing personalized recommendations to the user through the output port (Fig. 1, element 106, “client device”, para. [0060], “client device can include avatar platform to provide for processing and analyzing of user’s physical and physiological activity data … various visual and/or audible actions of the avatar generated and displayed at client device …”, para. [0087], “processing module is configured to process various input data received to facilitate guiding and assisting the user with performance of a specific program, routine or task … through an avatar …”).
However, Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the implantable sensor simultaneously measures the plurality of metabolism analytes; and the implantable sensor being configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analyte simultaneously, said concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes being derived from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition.
Gratzl teaches an analogous system of monitoring chemical and biochemical species with a sensor probe (Abstract, para. [0009]). Gratzl further teaches the system and probe are configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analyte simultaneously (para. [0010], [0023], [0075-0080], [0089], [0179]). Gratzl further teaches said concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes being derived from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition (para. [0149], para. [0179], para. [0237]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the implantable sensor and health monitoring system disclosed by Kaleal to additionally be configured to measure, over a period of time, multiple times the plurality of metabolism analyte simultaneously, said concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes being derived from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition, as taught by Gratzl. This is because Gratzl teaches simultaneously measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes over a period of time, multiple times, from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition allows for a single probe to obtain multiple different concentrations, while determining a relationship between the concentrations (para. [0023], [0089-0095], para. [0237]).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined ranges are based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures.
Rack-Gomer teaches of an analogous system for obtaining several factors in order to determine an urgency index, or range, for a patient (Abstract, para. [0007]). Rack-Gomer teaches a continuous analyte sensor (Fig. 3, element 10) configured to be implanted in the body to measure concentration of analytes within the host, which can include a plurality of analytes (para. [0073], para. [0113], para. [0213]) and user information (para. [0026]). Rack-Gomer teaches that based on a plurality of measurements, an urgency index can be calculated (Fig. 7, element 252, and para. [0140]). Rack-Gomer further teaches the urgency index is based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures (Fig. 7, element 256, para. [0140-0141], para. [0306-0309]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined ranges taught by modified Kaleal to explicitly be based on previously measured metabolism analyte concentrations, being historical analyte data, obtained from the living creature or from a group of living creatures, as taught by Rack-Gomer. This is because Rack-Gomer teaches that by using historical analyte concentrations, more accurate current trending analyses can be determined for the specific living creature, therefore increasing the accuracy (para. [0140-0141]).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the processor is further programmed for detecting trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over the period of time, and programmed for detecting user dependent correlations between said trends for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model, and providing personalized recommendations to the user through the output port, based on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends.
Mensinger teaches an analogous system for monitoring health of a living organism (Abstract) by measuring a plurality of metabolism analytes of the living creature with sensors (Fig. 1, element 102, para. [0057], para. [0076], Fig. 2, element 216, para. [0079], Fig. 3). Mensinger further teaches a processor is programmed for detecting trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over the period of time, and providing personalized recommendations to the user through an output port, based on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends (para. [0063-0064], “therapy recommendations … send alerts, warnings …”, para. [0077], “CGM module processes the inputs … produce one or more outputs … output may be to a trend graph displayed”, trends are calculated for the inputs, para. [0159], “rate of change, trend, and/or directional information”, and para. [0076]). Mensinger further teaches the processor is configured to detect correlations between the trends for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model (para. [0078], “correlative algorithms and/or pattern recognition algorithms may be used to process the various inputs and to provide outputs … correlate and/or identify relationships between the various inputs …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor disclosed by modified Kaleal to additionally detect trends in the concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes measured multiple times over the period of time and detect user dependent correlations between said trends for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model, as taught by Mensinger. This is because Mensinger teaches that determining trends and correlating the trends, relationships between the inputs can be determined (para. [0078]), which allows for a more informative output than an output solely based on the sensor data (para. [0008]).
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose the health monitoring system being configured for triggering additional measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes or to alter a frequency of measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes based on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends.
Brockway teaches of an analogous system of using a plurality of sensors to facilitate diagnosis and medical decision making for a patient (Abstract, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, para. [0011-0012]). Brockway further teaches triggering additionally measurements of a sensor or to alter a frequency of measurements of a sensor based on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends (para. [0035], “frequency of monitoring a physiological or device parameter is changed based on an instruction received …”, para. [0063], “data derived from one data source can be used to modify data derived from another sensor … one sensor indicates a particular condition … a threshold value exceeded, then the frequency of data sampling of a particular sensor is adjusted …”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by modified Kaleal to additionally be configured for triggering additional measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes or to alter a frequency of measurements of one or more of the plurality of metabolism analytes based on the detected user dependent correlations between said trends, as taught by Brockway. This is because Brockway teaches by adjusting a frequency of measurements based on trends, the system can tailor the analysis of the data and reporting of detected conditions (para. [0063]), thereby improving the detecting of patient conditions based on a plurality of sensors.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robert Kaleal (Pub. No. US 2017/0206795) (cited in the IDS, filed 06/23/2022) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Kaleal, in view of Gratzl et al. (US 2004/0180391 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Gratzl, in view of Rack-Gomer et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0289821) (cited in the IDS, filed 02/24/2021) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Rack-Gomer, in view of Mensinger et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0066843) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Mensinger, in view of Brockway et al. (US 20060010090 A1) (previously cited), hereinafter referred to as Brockway as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crawshaw et al. (“Ethanol, Body Temperature, and Thermoregulation”) (previously cited 02/23/2024), hereinafter referred to as Crawshaw, and Green et al. (“The Influence of Intravenous Glucose on Body Temperature”) (previously cited 02/23/2024), hereinafter referred to as Green.
Regarding claim 21, modified Kaleal discloses the health monitoring system according to claim 1.
However, modified Kaleal does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured for determining body temperature from the measurement of the plurality of metabolism analytes.
Crawshaw teaches that an ethanol concentration effects the body temperature (pg. 150, Mechanism of Action of Ethanol, “ethanol administration led to decreases in body temperature”, Fig. 2).
Green teaches that different concentrations of glucose or mannitol causes effects on the core and skin temperature (pg. 465, Introduction, pg. 470-471, Body temperature, “core temperature decreased … after the start of glucose infusion”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processor disclosed by modified Kaleal to additionally determine body temperature from the measurement of the plurality of metabolism analytes, as taught by Crawshaw and Green. This is because Crawshaw and Green teach that different metabolism analytes, such as ethanol and glucose, cause effects on the body, such as a body temperature. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a body temperature can be measured based on a change in the metabolism analytes without the need of an additional temperature sensor, reducing the cost of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants have argued on page 13 of Remarks, filed 04/16/2026, that “Gratzl likewise does not disclose the recited spectroscopic limitation … a single spectroscopic measurement captures combined information and the concentration of the plurality of metabolism analytes is derived from that one measurement via spectral decomposition”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited in the newly applied rejection above, Gratzl explicitly discloses said concentration information of the plurality of metabolism analytes being derived from a single spectroscopic measurement via spectral decomposition (Gratzl, para. [0149], para. [0179], para. [0237]).
Applicants have argued on pages 13-14 and page 17 of Remarks, filed 04/16/2026, that “The cited historical data of Rack-Gomer is used for urgency-index/trending purposes, not as the claimed respective predetermined ranges for a plurality of metabolism analytes within the metabolic-fingerprint architecture of the current claims. The predetermined ranges in Rack-Gomer … appear to be clinically pre-defined thresholds …”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited in the rejection above, Kaleal discloses the claimed respective predetermined ranges, not Rack-Gomer. Rack-Gomer is specifically introduced to teach predetermined ranges are based on historical analyte data, as reiterated above in the rejection. Further, Applicants arguments regarding the differences between urgency-index/trending purposes and the metabolic-fingerprint architecture are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. The claims do not limit or further define what “a personal metabolic fingerprint model” is.
Applicants have argued on pages 15-16 of Remarks, filed 04/16/2026, that “The “correlative algorithms” of Mensinger relate various inputs such as CGM data and contextual or auxiliary module inputs and do not disclose or suggest user dependent correlations between trends of simultaneously measured metabolism analytes for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint module … Mensinger remains fundamentally glucose-centric …”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As recited above, Mensinger explicitly disclose detecting trends in a plurality of metabolism analytes and for detecting user dependent correlations between said trends to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model. Further, Applicants arguments regarding the correlations between trends, the personal metabolic fingerprint model, and the personalized recommendations are not commensurate in scope. The claims do not limit or further define how these elements are detected or generated. Further, as recited in the rejection above, Mensinger is not glucose-centric. Mensinger discloses the auxiliary data used for correlation includes other analytes, such as ketones and lactate.
Applicants have argued on pages 16-17 of Remarks, filed 04/16/2026, that “Brockway neither teaches nor suggests the claimed use of user dependent correlations between trends … to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model … it does not teach using correlations between trends of different analyte concentrations as a basis for triggering additional measurements or altering measurement frequency … Brockway’s expert system operates … without any concept of a metabolic fingerprint”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Specifically, as recited above, modified Kaleal teaches user dependent correlations between trends of simultaneously measured metabolism analytes for the same user to generate a personal metabolic fingerprint model. Brockway is introduced to specifically teach triggering additional measurements, as recited above. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognizing modifying modified Kaleal in view of Brockway to adjust a frequency of measurements, based on elements of modified Kaleal, allows for the improvement and tailoring of the sensors.
Conclusion
/K.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JASON M SIMS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791