DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/17/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19, 21, 23-24, 26-30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Su (Pub No 20220159580) and further in view of newly cited Karaki (Pub No 20200022174), Tang (Pub 20210160867), and Kim (Pub No 20160227425),
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues that the prior art teaches RRC IE specifying the LBT resources for the UE and the DCI for activating the resources for LBT.
However the examiner relies on newly cited Karaki to teach RRC IE specifying the LBT resources for the UE.
All other arguments are fully addressed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10-15, 21, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (Pub No 20220159580) and further in view of Karaki (Pub No 20200022174), Tang (Pub 20210160867), and Kim (Pub No 20160227425),
Regarding claim 1 and 29,
Su teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: (interpreted as all include but are not limited to the above-described units, and some other units (such as a memory unit, a data processing unit and the like) may be further added according to the needs, or the above units may also be combined. See para [0206])
determining a set of resources for a listen-before-talk procedure performed by the UE in an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band and when operating in full-duplex mode; (interpreted as Subsequently, in step S120, the terminal may determine whether a front loaded reference signal is transmitted according to the acquired configuration information. The transmitting of the front loaded reference signal means transmitting the reference signal on one or more time domain symbols before a time domain physical resource indicated by the configuration information of the uplink or downlink data transmission. As an example, the front loaded reference signal may be a reference signal for measuring cross-link interference, see para [0148]. Also see the present disclosure introduces a “listen-before-talk” mechanism to resolve an inter-cell cross-link interference problem, see para [0050] interpreted as for the full-duplex system, it is assumed that both the UE and the base station have the ability to operate in the full-duplex mode [0144]))
performing, by sensing an energy of a channel (interpreted as The so called “listen-before-talk” refers to that a terminal firstly measures a magnitude of the cross-link interference on the allocated physical resource before transmission, see para [0050]) during a duration in which the UE has not been scheduled to receive any downlink transmission, the listen-before-talk procedure on the set of resources for a channel in the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band, (interpreted as Hereinafter, in step S730, according to a result of the interference measurement, the terminal may perform an operation of: performing the data transmission according to the acquired configuration information for the uplink or downlink data transmission, or not performing the data transmission. As an example, the terminal may compare the measured interference with a preset interference threshold, see para [0179]), wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure on the set of resources is based at least in part on the UE operating in the full-duplex mode; (interpreted as for the full-duplex system, it is assumed that both the UE and the base station have the ability to operate in the full-duplex mode [0144])
transmitting, while operating in the full-duplex mode, an uplink transmission over the channel and on the set of resources based at least in part on the listen-before-talk procedure. (Interpreted as and in response to the measured interference being less than the preset interference threshold, the terminal may perform the data transmission according to the acquired configuration information for the uplink or downlink data transmission, see para [0179])
However Su does not teach performing in an unlicensed system;
the RRC IE indicating resources for LBT procedure;
the resources having a periodicity.
Karaki teaches unlicensed;(see unlicensed spectrum (US-SPS grant) para 0094]) wherein the set of resources is determined based at least in part on a radio resource control information element configuring the set of resources on which the UE is to perform the listen-before-talk procedure in the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band and (interpreted as RRC IE may indicate a configuration of time-domain, code-domain, and/or frequency-domain resource parameters for multiplexing of transmissions on an UL control channel defined on the US-SPS radio resource, see para [0099]. Also see the RRC IE may indicate a UE specific LBT backoff offset to avoid intra-cell collisions due to an aligned starting point of transmissions by different UEs sharing at least a part of the US-SPS radio resources, see para [0100]) an indication in a downlink control information message that actives one or more resources of the configured set of resources; (interpreted as To take into account that the access node 100 can activate, release or re-activate the US-SPS at any time, the UE 10 should continuously monitor the PDCCH or ePDCCH for the control information which controls activation and release of the US-SPS grant. This may be accomplished using DCI format 0A or 4A on the PDCCH or ePDCCH of the PCell, , see para [0102])
determining a periodicity of the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure; (interpreted as Since the US-SPS grant is valid in for radio resources which reoccur periodically, the UE 10 may perform multiple UL radio transmissions on the US-SPS resources, without requiring further scheduling by the access node 100. In the example of FIG. 7, the UE 10 again performs CCA at block 707 and then a further UL radio transmission 708 on the US-SPS resources, and the access node 100 then sends HARQ feedback 709 for the UL radio transmission 708. Further, the UE 10 again performs CCA at block 710 and then a still further UL radio transmission 711 on the US-SPS resources, and the access node 100 then sends HARQ feedback 712 for the UL radio transmission 711, see para [0132])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the RRC taught by Su with the RRC for LBT as taught by Karaki for the benefit of configuring contention free random access such as LBT.
Su in view of Karaki teaches the RRC IE configuring resources for uplink control channel but do not explicitly state that the UL control channel is used for LBT/CCA.
Tang teaches UL control channel is used for LBT/CCA. (interpreted as performing LBT on the uplink control channel, see para [0063])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the UL resources taught by Su in view of Karaki with the UL resources for LBT/CCA as taught by Tang with the moitivation being to mitigate collision by performing CCA/LBT.
However Su in view of Karaki and Tang do not teach the resources comprising zero-power reference signal resources.
Kim teaches the set of resources comprising one or more zero-power reference signal resources. (Interpreted as 3. A Channel State Measurement Through ZP CSI-RS The terminal measures interference in an area in which ZP CSI-RS is set (e.g., set through ZP CSI-RS resource configuration, csi-SubframePatternConfig), see para [0143])
It would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the channel access taught by Su in view of Karaki and Tang with the zero power resources taught by Kim to provide multiple uses of the same resources while prioritizing and therefore increasing the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 21 and 30,
Su teaches A method for wireless communication at a network device, comprising:
a processor; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: (interpreted as all include but are not limited to the above-described units, and some other units (such as a memory unit, a data processing unit and the like) may be further added according to the needs, or the above units may also be combined. See para [0206]. Also see for the full-duplex system, it is assumed that both the UE and the base station have the ability to operate in the full-duplex mode [0144])
determining a set of resources for a listen-before-talk procedure in an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band and when operating in a full-duplex mode; and (interpreted as Subsequently, in step S120, the terminal may determine whether a front loaded reference signal is transmitted according to the acquired configuration information. The transmitting of the front loaded reference signal means transmitting the reference signal on one or more time domain symbols before a time domain physical resource indicated by the configuration information of the uplink or downlink data transmission. As an example, the front loaded reference signal may be a reference signal for measuring cross-link interference, see para [0148]. Also see the present disclosure introduces a “listen-before-talk” mechanism to resolve an inter-cell cross-link interference problem, see para [0050]) during which the UE is not scheduled to receive any downlink transmission (interpreted as base station schedules uplink transmission of a terminal and downlink transmission of another terminal simultaneously on the same time domain and frequency domain resources, see para [0145])
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control message comprising a configuration of the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure, wherein a period associated with the listen-before-talk procedure comprises a duration in which the network device has not scheduled the UE to receive any downlink transmission. (Interpreted as the base station may transmit configuration information for uplink or downlink data transmission. Here, the configuration information may at least include information indicating whether physical resource(s) for a terminal to perform interference measurement are reserved. In step S1320, in response to the configuration information including the information indicating that the physical resource(s) for the terminal to perform the interference measurement are reserved, the base station may perform data transmission with the terminal after time domain symbol(s) where the terminal performs the interference measurement., see para [0202])
receiving an uplink transmission on the set of resources based at least in part on transmitting the radio resource control message; (interpreted as Specifically, in the step S130, the terminal may acquire the configuration information of the reference signal, and transmit the reference signal according to the configuration information of the reference signal, see para [0150])
However Su does not teach performing in an unlicensed system;
the RRC IE indicating resources for LBT procedure;
the resources having a periodicity.
Karaki teaches unlicensed;(see unlicensed spectrum (US-SPS grant) para 0094]) wherein the set of resources is determined based at least in part on a radio resource control information element configuring the set of resources on which the UE is to perform the listen-before-talk procedure in the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band and (interpreted as RRC IE may indicate a configuration of time-domain, code-domain, and/or frequency-domain resource parameters for multiplexing of transmissions on an UL control channel defined on the US-SPS radio resource, see para [0099]. Also see the RRC IE may indicate a UE specific LBT backoff offset to avoid intra-cell collisions due to an aligned starting point of transmissions by different UEs sharing at least a part of the US-SPS radio resources, see para [0100]) an indication in a downlink control information message that actives one or more resources of the configured set of resources; (interpreted as To take into account that the access node 100 can activate, release or re-activate the US-SPS at any time, the UE 10 should continuously monitor the PDCCH or ePDCCH for the control information which controls activation and release of the US-SPS grant. This may be accomplished using DCI format 0A or 4A on the PDCCH or ePDCCH of the PCell, , see para [0102])
determining a periodicity of the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure; (interpreted as Since the US-SPS grant is valid in for radio resources which reoccur periodically, the UE 10 may perform multiple UL radio transmissions on the US-SPS resources, without requiring further scheduling by the access node 100. In the example of FIG. 7, the UE 10 again performs CCA at block 707 and then a further UL radio transmission 708 on the US-SPS resources, and the access node 100 then sends HARQ feedback 709 for the UL radio transmission 708. Further, the UE 10 again performs CCA at block 710 and then a still further UL radio transmission 711 on the US-SPS resources, and the access node 100 then sends HARQ feedback 712 for the UL radio transmission 711, see para [0132])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the RRC taught by Su with the RRC for LBT as taught by Karaki for the benefit of configuring contention free random access such as LBT.
Su in view of Karaki teaches the RRC IE configuring resources for uplink control channel but do not explicitly state that the UL control channel is used for LBT/CCA.
Tang teaches UL control channel is used for LBT/CCA. (interpreted as performing LBT on the uplink control channel, see para [0063])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the UL resources taught by Su in view of Karaki with the UL resources for LBT/CCA as taught by Tang with the moitivation being to mitigate collision by performing CCA/LBT.
However Su in view of Karaki and Tang do not teach the resources comprising zero-power reference signal resources.
Kim teaches the set of resources comprising one or more zero-power reference signal resources. (Interpreted as 3. A Channel State Measurement Through ZP CSI-RS The terminal measures interference in an area in which ZP CSI-RS is set (e.g., set through ZP CSI-RS resource configuration, csi-SubframePatternConfig), see para [0143])
It would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the channel access taught by Su in view of Karaki and Tang with the zero power resources taught by Kim to provide multiple uses of the same resources while prioritizing and therefore increasing the flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 2,
Su teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: receiving, from a network device, a radio resource control message comprising a configuration of the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure, wherein determining the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the radio resource control message.
Karaki teaches further comprising: receiving, from a network device, a radio resource control message comprising a configuration of the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure, wherein determining the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the radio resource control message (interpreted as RRC IE may indicate a configuration of time-domain, code-domain, and/or frequency-domain resource parameters for multiplexing of transmissions on an UL control channel defined on the US-SPS radio resource, see para [0099]. Also see the RRC IE may indicate a UE specific LBT backoff offset to avoid intra-cell collisions due to an aligned starting point of transmissions by different UEs sharing at least a part of the US-SPS radio resources, see para [0100])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the RRC taught by Su with the RRC for LBT as taught by Karaki for the benefit of configuring contention free random access such as LBT.
Regarding claim 3,
Su teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure in at least a time domain based at least in part on the configuration, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the set of resources in at least the time domain. (interpreted as reporting the capability information in an uplink shared channel of Msg3 in a four-step random access procedure, wherein the predetermined physical resource is associated with the capability information and includes at least one of: predetermined random access preamble sequence(s); predetermined time domain resource(s) for transmitting a random access channel; and predetermined frequency domain resource(s) for transmitting a random access channel, see Su para [0019])
Regarding claim 6,
Su teaches the method of claim 2, however does not teach further comprising: determining a periodicity of the set of resources based at least in part on the configuration.
Karaki teaches determining a periodicity of the set of resources based at least in part on the configuration; (interpreted as Since the US-SPS grant is valid in for radio resources which reoccur periodically, the UE 10 may perform multiple UL radio transmissions on the US-SPS resources, without requiring further scheduling by the access node 100. In the example of FIG. 7, the UE 10 again performs CCA at block 707 and then a further UL radio transmission 708 on the US-SPS resources, and the access node 100 then sends HARQ feedback 709 for the UL radio transmission 708. Further, the UE 10 again performs CCA at block 710 and then a still further UL radio transmission 711 on the US-SPS resources, and the access node 100 then sends HARQ feedback 712 for the UL radio transmission 711, see para [0132])
It would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the LBT taught by Su with the LBT for periodic resources as taught by Karaki since it would have been a simple modification producing expected results of using periodic resources for communications.
Regarding claim 9,
Su teaches the method of claim 2, however does not teach wherein the radio resource control message comprises a radio resource control information element indicating the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure in the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band.
Karaki teaches wherein the radio resource control message comprises a radio resource control information element indicating the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure in the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band. (interpreted as RRC IE may indicate a configuration of time-domain, code-domain, and/or frequency-domain resource parameters for multiplexing of transmissions on an UL control channel defined on the US-SPS radio resource, see para [0099]. Also see the RRC IE may indicate a UE specific LBT backoff offset to avoid intra-cell collisions due to an aligned starting point of transmissions by different UEs sharing at least a part of the US-SPS radio resources, see para [0100])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the RRC taught by Su with the RRC for LBT as taught by Karaki for the benefit of configuring contention free random access such as LBT.
Regarding claim 10,
Su teach the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: receiving, from a network device, a downlink control information message, comprising the indication that activates the oneor more resources of the configured the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure in the unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band, wherein determining the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the downlink control information message. (interpreted as To take into account that the access node 100 can activate, release or re-activate the US-SPS at any time, the UE 10 should continuously monitor the PDCCH or ePDCCH for the control information which controls activation and release of the US-SPS grant. This may be accomplished using DCI format 0A or 4A on the PDCCH or ePDCCH of the PCell, , see para [0102])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the RRC taught by Su with the RRC for LBT as taught by Karaki for the benefit of configuring contention free random access such as LBT.
Regarding claim 11,
Su teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: determining timing information, or frequency information, or both, associated with the set of resources based at least in part on the indication, wherein determining the set of resources for the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the timing information or the frequency information, or both, associated with the set of resources. (interpreted as reporting the capability information in an uplink shared channel of Msg3 in a four-step random access procedure, wherein the predetermined physical resource is associated with the capability information and includes at least one of: predetermined random access preamble sequence(s); predetermined time domain resource(s) for transmitting a random access channel; and predetermined frequency domain resource(s) for transmitting a random access channel, see Su para [0019])
Regarding claim 12,
Su teaches the method of claim 10, further comprising: activating one or more resources of the set of resources based at least in part on the indication, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the activating of the one or more resources of the set of resources. (interpreted as Specifically, the configured bandwidth or bandwidth part may be an uplink and/or downlink bandwidth or bandwidth part currently activated by the terminal, see Su para [0223])
Regarding claim 13,
Su teaches the method of claim 10, deactivating one or more second resources of the configured set of resources based at least in part on the indication, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the deactivating of the one or more second resources of the configured set of resources. (interpreted as The control information may define a first configuration applicable for a first UL carrier and a second configuration applicable for a second UL carrier, see para [0136]. Also see The deactivation or release of the semi-persistent allocation of radio resources may be actively initiated by the wireless communication network or triggered in an implicit manner, e.g., by lack of usage of the semi-persistently allocated radio resources. In the following, it is assumed that the semi-persistent allocation of radio resources in the unlicensed frequency spectrum is based on an SPS (semi-persistent scheduling) grant, using control information conveyed on different protocol layers, in particular on a physical control channel, on a MAC (Medium Access Control) layer, and/or on an RRC (Radio Resource Control) layer, see para [0031])
Regarding claim 14 and 28,
Su teaches the method of claim 10, however does not teach further comprising: selecting the one or more second resources of the configured set of the resources based at least in part on the indication, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the selecting of the one or more resources of the configured set of resources
Karaki teaches further comprising: selecting one or more resources of the set of resources based at least in part on the indication, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the selecting of the one or more resources of the set of resources (interpreted as The control information may define a first configuration applicable for a first UL carrier and a second configuration applicable for a second UL carrier, see para [0136]. Also see the RRC IE may indicate a UE specific LBT backoff offset, see para [0100]. In the example of FIG. 4A, the radio device starts a random backoff counter at t3 and defers for a corresponding number of time slots. The random backoff counter may be selected as a random integer of not more than a backoff contention window size CW. To avoid recurring collisions, the backoff contention window size CW may be doubled whenever a collision is detected, up to a limit CWmax. When a transmission attempt is successful without collision the contention window is reset back to its initial value, see para [0070])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the RRC taught by Su with the RRC for LBT as taught by Karaki for the benefit of configuring contention free random access such as LBT.
Regarding claim 15,
Su teaches method of claim 1, further comprising: determining an overlap between the set of resources and a channel access occasion associated with the listen-before-talk procedure in a time domain, or a frequency domain, or both; and terminating the listen-before-talk procedure based at least in part on the overlap between the set of resources and the channel access occasion associated with the listen-before-talk procedure. (Interpreted as a method for processing the overlapping phenomenon according to the exemplary embodiment of the present application. Specifically, according to the exemplary embodiment, when the timing advance for transmitting the reference signal is less than the timing advance for transmitting the uplink data and the time domain symbol for transmitting the reference signal and the time domain symbol for transmitting the uplink data are adjacent to each other, time domain signals before a time domain termination location at which the reference signal is transmitted, among time domain signals of the uplink data are not transmitted while the uplink data transmission is performed, or the time domain signal after a time domain starting location of the uplink data, among time domain signals of the reference signal is not transmitted while the reference signal is transmitted, see Su para [0160])
Regarding claim 27,
Su teaches further comprising: deactivating one or more resources of the set of resources based at least in part on the indication, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the deactivating of the one or more resources of the set of resources. (interpreted as The deactivation or release of the semi-persistent allocation of radio resources may be actively initiated by the wireless communication network or triggered in an implicit manner, e.g., by lack of usage of the semi-persistently allocated radio resources. In the following, it is assumed that the semi-persistent allocation of radio resources in the unlicensed frequency spectrum is based on an SPS (semi-persistent scheduling) grant, using control information conveyed on different protocol layers, in particular on a physical control channel, on a MAC (Medium Access Control) layer, and/or on an RRC (Radio Resource Control) layer, see para [0031])
Claim(s) 4, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (Pub No 20220159580) and further in view of Karaki (Pub No 20200022174), Tang (Pub 20210160867), Kim (Pub No 20160227425), and Moon (Pub No 20200280971).
Regarding claim 4,
Su teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising: indicating the set of resources in at least the time domain based at least in part on the configuration, the set of resources comprising one or more orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbols in the time domain, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure (interpreted as reporting the capability information in an uplink shared channel of Msg3 in a four-step random access procedure, wherein the predetermined physical resource is associated with the capability information and includes at least one of: predetermined random access preamble sequence(s); predetermined time domain resource(s) for transmitting a random access channel; and predetermined frequency domain resource(s) for transmitting a random access channel, see Su para [0019])
However, Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim does not teach is based at least in part on the bitmap
Moon teaches is based at least in part on the bitmap. (interpreted as the base station may transmit to the terminal a bitmap indicating a listen before talk (LBT) subband(s) (e.g., resource block (RB) set (s)) in which at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion is configured. The terminal may receive the bitmap from the base station, see para [0026], [0096])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with the bitmap taught by Moon since it is known in the art of communications to use bitmap as a form of indicating information
Regarding claim 23,
Su teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising: indicating the set of resources in at least the time domain based at least in part on the configuration, the set of resources comprising one or more orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbols in the time domain, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure (interpreted as reporting the capability information in an uplink shared channel of Msg3 in a four-step random access procedure, wherein the predetermined physical resource is associated with the capability information and includes at least one of: predetermined random access preamble sequence(s); predetermined time domain resource(s) for transmitting a random access channel; and predetermined frequency domain resource(s) for transmitting a random access channel, see Su para [0019])
However, Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim does not teach indicating resources based in part on the bitmap
Moon teaches indicating resources based in part on the bitmap. (interpreted as the base station may transmit to the terminal a bitmap indicating a listen before talk (LBT) subband(s) (e.g., resource block (RB) set (s)) in which at least one physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion is configured. The terminal may receive the bitmap from the base station, see para [0026], [0096])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with the bitmap taught by Moon since it is known in the art of communications to use bitmap as a form of indicating information
Claim(s) 5, 7, 24, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (Pub No 20220159580) and further in view of Karaki (Pub No 20200022174), Tang (Pub 20210160867), Kim (Pub No 20160227425), and Dinan (Pub No 20170223677)
Regarding claim 5,
Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim teaches the method of claim 3, however does not teach further comprising: identifying, based at least in part on the configuration, a beginning symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, an ending symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or a length of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or any combination thereof, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the beginning symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, the ending symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or the length of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or the combination thereof.
Dinan teaches further comprising: identifying, based at least in part on the configuration, a beginning symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, an ending symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or a length of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or any combination thereof, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the beginning symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, the ending symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or the length of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or the combination thereof. (interpreted as An eNB may indicate a starting symbol for LBT to one or more UEs (e.g. in the same group). An eNB may indicate a starting symbol for uplink transmission to one or more UEs (e.g. in the same group), see Dinan para [0148])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with starting symbol by Dinan for the benefit of reducing interference by indicating resources to be used.
Regarding claim 7,
Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim teaches the method of claim 2, however does not teach further comprising: determining a symbol boundary or a slot boundary, or both, associated with the set of resources in at least a time domain based at least in part on the configuration, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the symbol boundary, or the slot boundary, or both, associated with the set of resources in at least the time domain.
Dinan teaches further comprising: determining a symbol boundary or a slot boundary, or both, associated with the set of resources in at least a time domain based at least in part on the configuration, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the symbol boundary, or the slot boundary, or both, associated with the set of resources in at least the time domain (interpreted as If LBT fails during the first period (e.g. a first symbol), the UE may try LBT on next duration (e.g. next symbols) and may transmit data/reservation signals in UL when LBT passes within configured LBT window considering a maximum LBT duration period, see Dinan para [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with starting symbol by Dinan for the benefit of reducing interference by indicating resources to be used.
Regarding claim 24,
Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim teaches the method of claim 21, however does not teach further comprising: identifying, based at least in part on the configuration, a beginning symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, an ending symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or a length of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or any combination thereof, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the beginning symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, the ending symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or the length of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or the combination thereof.
Dinan teaches further comprising: identifying, based at least in part on the configuration, a beginning symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, an ending symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or a length of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or any combination thereof, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the beginning symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, the ending symbol of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or the length of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or the combination thereof. (interpreted as An eNB may indicate a starting symbol for LBT to one or more UEs (e.g. in the same group). An eNB may indicate a starting symbol for uplink transmission to one or more UEs (e.g. in the same group), see Dinan para [0148])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with starting symbol by Dinan for the benefit of reducing interference by indicating resources to be used.
Regarding claim 26,
Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim teaches the method of claim 21, however does not teach further comprising: determining a symbol boundary or a slot boundary, or both, associated with the set of resources in at least a time domain based at least in part on the configuration, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the symbol boundary, or the slot boundary, or both, associated with the set of resources in at least the time domain.
Dinan teaches further comprising: determining a symbol boundary or a slot boundary, or both, associated with the set of resources in at least a time domain based at least in part on the configuration, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the symbol boundary, or the slot boundary, or both, associated with the set of resources in at least the time domain (interpreted as If LBT fails during the first period (e.g. a first symbol), the UE may try LBT on next duration (e.g. next symbols) and may transmit data/reservation signals in UL when LBT passes within configured LBT window considering a maximum LBT duration period, see Dinan para [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with starting symbol by Dinan for the benefit of reducing interference by indicating resources to be used.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (Pub No 20220159580) and further in view of Karaki (Pub No 20200022174), Tang (Pub 20210160867), Kim (Pub No 20160227425), and Narashima (Pub No 20220132420)
Regarding claim 8,
Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim teaches the method of claim 2, however does not teach further comprising: determining, based at least in part on the configuration, a resource pattern of the set of resources in at least a time domain, or at least a frequency domain, or both, wherein the set of resources are aperiodic based at least in part on the resource pattern, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the resource pattern of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or in at least the frequency domain, or both.
Narashima teaches further comprising: determining, based at least in part on the configuration, a resource pattern of the set of resources in at least a time domain, or at least a frequency domain, or both, wherein the set of resources are aperiodic based at least in part on the resource pattern, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the resource pattern of the set of resources in at least the time domain, or in at least the frequency domain, or both. (interpreted as receiving configuration information to indicate periodic on-durations and aperiodic wakeup occasions for a LBT procedure on a channel; and performing the LBT procedure on the channel based on the configuration information, see para [0149])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with aperiodicity by Narashima for the benefit of allowing for adaptability for times when the probability of the channel is lower than other times.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (Pub No 20220159580) and further in view of Karaki (Pub No 20200022174), Tang (Pub 20210160867), Kim (Pub No 20160227425), Pang (Pub No 20140241285).
Regarding claim 16,
Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim teaches the method of claim 1, however they do not teach further comprising: determining an overlap between the set of resources and a channel access occasion associated with the listen-before-talk procedure in a time domain, or a frequency domain, or both; and adjusting a channel access parameter based at least in part on the overlap between the set of resources and the channel access occasion associated with the listen-before-talk procedure, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the adjusting of the channel access parameter.
Pang teaches further comprising: determining an overlap between the set of resources and a channel access occasion associated with the listen-before-talk procedure in a time domain, or a frequency domain, or both; and adjusting a channel access parameter based at least in part on the overlap between the set of resources and the channel access occasion associated with the listen-before-talk procedure, wherein performing the listen-before-talk procedure is based at least in part on the adjusting of the channel access parameter (interpreted as when the random access parameter recorded in contents of the random access report includes a collision indicator, statistic are performed for the random access reports reported by multiple user terminals, and if a collision probability is greater than a threshold for the collision probability, the adjusting the random access parameter further includes: increasing resource numbers of the common enhanced dedicated channel, see Pang para [0131])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date combine the configuration taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with the deactivation taught by Pang for the benefit of controlling resources used by the terminal so that transmissions can occur with lower interference.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (Pub No 20220159580) and further in view of Karaki (Pub No 20200022174), Tang (Pub 20210160867), Kim (Pub No 20160227425), and Nogami (Pub No 20160028520).
Regarding claim 17,
Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: receiving, from a network device, a downlink transmission on a second set of resources; rate matching the second set of resources around the set of resources; and decoding the downlink transmission based at least in part on the rate matching of the second set of resources.
Nogami teaches further comprising: receiving, from a network device, a downlink transmission on a second set of resources; rate matching the second set of resources around the set of resources; and decoding the downlink transmission based at least in part on the rate matching of the second set of resources. (interpreted as the physical downlink control channel is decoded in such a manner that the physical downlink control channel is rate-matched based on a prescribed reference signal, and in which, in the step of monitoring, in a case where the physical downlink control channel is monitored in the second enhanced physical downlink control channel-physical resource block set, the physical downlink control channel is decoded in such a manner that the physical downlink control channel is rate-matched based on a reference signal that is set individually for each terminal, see para [0018])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with the rate matching taught by Nogami for the benefit of extracting received information.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (Pub No 20220159580) and further in view of Karaki (Pub No 20200022174), Tang (Pub 20210160867), Kim (Pub No 20160227425), and Yum (Pub No 20200304192)
Regarding claim 18,
Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: receiving, from a network device, a downlink transmission on a second set of resources; puncturing the second set of resources based at least in part on the set of resources; and decoding the downlink transmission based at least in part on the puncturing of the second set of resources.
Yum teaches further comprising: receiving, from a network device, a downlink transmission on a second set of resources; puncturing the second set of resources based at least in part on the set of resources; and decoding the downlink transmission based at least in part on the puncturing of the second set of resources (interpreted as wherein the processor receives control information indicating an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) resource, the control information being masked with an aperiodic CSI-RS-related identifier, to determine that the aperiodic CSI-RS resource indicated by the control information is a resource element (RE) puncturing pattern for a downlink data channel or an enhanced downlink control channel when the control information does not indicate an aperiodic CSI-RS resource for each terminal in a cell, and to decode the downlink data channel or the enhanced downlink control channel using the RE puncturing pattern, see para [0018])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with the puncturing taught by Yum for the benefit of interference mitigation by puncturing.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (Pub No 20220159580) and further in view of Karaki (Pub No 20200022174), Tang (Pub 20210160867), Kim (Pub No 20160227425), and Kim (Pub No 20180152927).
Regarding claim 19,
Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim teaches the method of claim 1, however does not teach further comprising: receiving, from a network device, a downlink transmission on a second set of resources; determining that an overlap between the set of resources and the second set of resources satisfies a threshold, wherein the second set of resources comprise downlink resources; and refraining from decoding the downlink transmission based at least in part on the determining of the overlap between the set of resources and the second set of resources satisfying the threshold.
Kim927 teaches further comprising: receiving, from a network device, a downlink transmission on a second set of resources; determining that an overlap between the set of resources and the second set of resources satisfies a threshold, wherein the second set of resources comprise downlink resources; and refraining from decoding the downlink transmission based at least in part on the determining of the overlap between the set of resources and the second set of resources satisfying the threshold. (Interpreted as That is, the BS may determine the amount of overlap resources. For example, if the amount of the overlap resources is equal to or smaller than a threshold value, the BS determines that the decoding performance influence due to the interference is low, and may perform decoding through combining the data received at operation S1208 with the data currently stored in the HARQ buffer. In contrast, if the amount of the overlap resources is larger than the threshold value, the BS determines that the decoding performance influence due to the interference is high, and may skip the operation of storing the data received at operation S1207 in the HARQ buffer, see para [0151])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the full duplex system (uplink and downlink at the same time) taught by Su in view of Karaki, Tang, and Kim with the overlap threshold taught by Kim for the benefit of preventing waste of resources decoding on packets with too much interference.
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461