Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This is a non-final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 11/25/2025. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 2 is cancelled. Claims 1 and 3 – 9 are pending in the current Office action.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment, is presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of prior art being used in the current rejection. Specifically, in the new grounds of rejection below, the previously cited prior art is further modified by newly cited prior art: Fukumoto (US PG Pub. 2010/0227207 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 – 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (JP2004079356A – cited in previous Office action mailed 09/05/2025) in view of Kaijura (US PG Pub. 2001/0019798 A1 – cited in previous Office action mailed 09/05/2025), Fukumoto (US PG Pub. 2010/0227207 A1), Yokoyama (US PG Pub. 2017/0054147 A1), Watari (JP2001202993A – cited in previous Office action mailed 09/05/2025), and Shinoda (JP2000294295A – cited in previous Office action mailed 09/05/2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Ota discloses a coin-type secondary cell for soldering by reflow method (Fig. 1; [0007];[0014];[0053]), comprising a positive electrode (Fig. 1, 2; [0014]) and a negative electrode (Fig. 1, 3; [0014]).
Amongst other methods, Ota teaches that the positive electrode and negative electrode may be formed from net-like electrode substrates ([0015];[0023]). Positive electrode active materials taught to be used by Ota include lithium composite oxides, metallic sulfides, and metallic oxides that do not include lithium ([0016];[0019]). Negative electrode active materials taught by Ota include metal or compounds capable of combining with lithium and carbonaceous materials capable of doping/de-doping lithium ion ([0022];[0024]).
Ota does not explicitly disclose an embodiment of the cell where the positive electrode and the negative electrode are porous.
Kaijura teaches forming nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery cells with a positive electrode of porous sintered material and a negative electrode of a porous sintered material ([0011]). The electrodes are taught to provide the benefit of sufficient active material and electrolyte solution contact and increased electric capacity in the battery by reducing dead space in the electrodes of the battery ([0005 – 0006]). Positive electrode materials taught to be used by Kaijura include various lithium transition metal oxides and the negative electrode materials taught to be used by Kaijura include carbon materials or oxides of Groups IIIb-Vb, metallic aluminum, silicon, and silicon compounds ([0013];[0023]).
Since Kaijura teaches electrode materials within the scope of materials taught by Ota, and since Kaijura’s exemplifies using their sintered, porous electrodes in coin-type cells ([0041 – 0042]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electrodes of Ota to be the sintered, porous electrodes, as taught by Kaijura, and thus obtain the claimed porous positive electrode and porous negative electrode, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining electrodes suitable for Ota’s coin-type cell and a battery with increased electric capacity.
Ota further discloses the coin-type secondary cell comprising a porous separator, that is Ota discloses a nonwoven fabric separator having a porosity of 10 – 50%, provided between said positive and negative electrode (Fig. 1, 4; [0014]) and an electrolytic solution ([0014];[0029]).
Ota teaches using a fibrous resin having a high heat distortion temperature to form the nonwoven fabric separator because such a material will not be deformed by heat and keeps the space between the positive electrode and negative electrode shielded ([0027]). Ota further generally teaches that glass fiber or the like can also be used as the separator in addition to the resin ([0026]).
Modified Ota does not explicitly disclose wherein the porous separator is formed of a ceramic selected from the group consisting of MgO, Al2O3, ZrO2, SiC, Si3N4, AIN, and cordierite.
Fukumoto teaches for a nonaqueous secondary battery, including coin-type batteries, a porous heat-resistant layer that functions similarly to a separator comprising a porous film made of resin but is formed from ceramic particles that are held together by binder ([0021 – 0022];[0144]). The heat porous heat-resistant layer in Fukumoto is particularly taught to be formed form magnesium oxide and binder ([0039];[0043];[0046]). The porous heat-resistant layer taught by Fukumoto can serve as a battery separator and, when used as a battery separator, is taught to enhance battery safety under abnormal conditions {i.e. exposure to high temperature conditions} because it does not shrink due heat ([0053]). Additionally, the heat-resistant layer is taught to allow for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery with good discharge characteristics ([0039 – 0041]).
Since Ota is desires to use separators formed from a material that does not shrink when exposed to high temperature conditions ([0027]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery Ota by using the porous heat-resistant layer taught by Fukumoto as the separator, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a separator would be suitable alternative to the fibrous resin-based separator for the battery of Ota {i.e. would not deform/shrink under exposure to high heat as desired by Ota} [See MPEP 2144.06(II)] and further provide a battery with improved discharge characteristics and safety (Fukumoto: [0039 – 0041];[0053]).
By utilizing the heat resistant layer as taught by Fukumoto, modified Ota includes a separator formed of magnesium oxide, which is within the claimed scope of a ceramic selected from the group consisting of MgO, Al2O3, ZrO2, SiC, Si3N4, AIN, and cordierite.
Modified Ota does not explicitly disclose the electrolyte impregnating the said positive electrode, said negative electrode, and said separator; however, since the electrolyte of the cell is a liquid solution (Ota: [0014];[0029]) and the electrodes and separator are porous (Ota: [0053] and Kaijura: [0012];[0014];[0023]), one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the separator and electrodes of modified Ota to be impregnated by the electrolytic solution.
Ota further discloses a cell case having an enclosed space in which said positive electrode, said negative electrode, said separator, and said electrolytic solution are housed (Fig. 1, 6; [0014];[0035]) and wherein the cell case includes a positive electrode can in which said positive electrode is housed (Fig. 1, 8; [0035 – 0036]); a negative electrode can in which the negative electrode is housed (Fig. 1, 9; [0035];[0037]) and that is arranged relative to said positive electrode so that said negative electrode faces said positive electrode with said separator sandwiched therebetween (Fig. 1; [0035]); and an insulating gasket provided between a peripheral wall portion of said positive electrode can and a peripheral wall portion of the negative electrode can (Fig. 1, 7; [0039 – 0040]).
In Ota the gasket 7 is shown to be included around the positive electrode with a gap between the positive electrode and the gasket (Refer to Fig. 1); therefore, modified Ota does not particularly disclose said gasket filled around said positive electrode or said negative electrode.
Yokoyama teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery that, in an example embodiment, is a coin type battery ([0307]). The coin type battery includes a gasket 2c and the gasket is shown to fill the space between a portion of the battery housing and electrode stack included within the housing (Refer to Fig. 1; [0308 – 0311]). The gasket configuration shown in Yokoyama fixes the electrodes so that the negative electrode can and positive electrode do not contact one another through the gasket and further allows the gasket to airtightly and liquid-tightly block the space between the inside of the case 2 and its outside ([0311]).
Since Yokoyama indicates that it is already known in the art to manufacture coin cells with a gasket that particularly fills the space around a positive electrode/negative electrode, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery of Ota to have the gasket-electrode assembly configuration shown in Yokoyama, and thus obtain the claimed gasket structure, with a reasonable expectation of success that a configuration would be suitable for the coin type battery cell of Ota {i.e. the structure in Yokoyama is a known coin type structure that still achieves Ota’s desired effects of insulation between the negative and positive electrode cans and leakage prevention (Ota: [0052])}.
Ota teaches controlling the volume of the nonaqueous electrolytic solution contained in the internal space of the cell case to be 50 – 80% of the volume of the void formed by containing the electrode assembly {i.e. plurality of electrodes and separators} in the internal space of the cell case ([0054]). If the ratio is less than 50%, Ota teaches that the amount of electrolyte injected is too small ([0055]). If the ratio is greater than 80%, Ota teaches that, when the battery is exposed to a high-temperature environment, such as an environment during reflow soldering, there is no room for the electrolytic solution to expand in volume and leakage of the electrolyte can occur ([0004];[0055]). Setting the volumetric ratio within the claimed range is further taught by Ota to suppress the deterioration of cell characteristics and prevent the deformation of the case and leakage of the electrolyte when the cell is exposed to a high temperature environment ([0056]).
Modified Ota does not explicitly disclose wherein a value obtained by dividing a volume of said electrolytic solution by a total volume of voids in said positive electrode, said negative electrode, and said separator ranges from 1.025 to 2.4
Watari teaches, for nonaqueous electrolyte secondary batteries, controlling the volume of the electrolytic solution to be 120 – 140% {i.e. 1.2 – 1.4} of the total pore volume to the positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator ([0015];[0017 – 0019]). Watari’s taught ratio provides an amount of electrolyte that prevents electrolyte depletions while also allowing for both safety and improved battery performance ([0018 – 0019]).
Since modified Ota’s electrodes and separator are porous, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Ota’s electrolyte amount also satisfy the volumetric ratio taught by Watari, and thus have a value obtained by dividing a volume of electrolytic solution by a total volume of voids in the positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator within the claimed range, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a battery with an electrolyte amount sufficient for a porous electrode assembly that allows for both safety and improved battery performance ([0018 – 0019]).
Modified Ota further does not disclose a value obtained by dividing a volume of said cell case by the volume of said electrolytic solution ranging from 1.6 to 3.2, wherein said volume of said cell case is the internal volume of said enclosed space of said cell case before housing said positive electrode, said negative electrode, said separator, and said electrolytic solution.
One with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the gasket modified Ota, due to its shape and position within the cell case (Refer to Fig. 1 in Yokoyama), would necessarily limit the volume of the enclosed space of the cell case before housing the positive electrode, negative electrode, separator, and electrolytic solution.
Furthermore, modified Ota teaches a desire to include a volume of electrolyte that allows for some space in the cell case for volume expansion of the electrolyte when the battery is subjected to a high temperature environment (Ota: [0055]). That is Ota teaches a volume ratio electrolyte stored in the internal space to be within the range of 50% or more and 80% or less with respect to the voids {i.e. gaps formed in the internal space of the case once the electrodes and separator are housed}. As such, due to the gap/void in modified Ota being smaller than the volume of the case (Refer to gap shown between the housing and negative electrode in Fig. 1 of Yokoyama) and modified Ota requiring a volume of the electrolytic solution by a total volume of voids in said positive electrode, said negative electrode, and separator to be within the claimed range of 1.6 to 3.2 (Watari: [0015];[0017 – 0019]), one with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate the battery cell of modified Ota to be capable of providing an internal cell case volume to electrolyte volume greater than 1, and thus have an internal cell case volume to electrolyte volume ratio overlapping or encompassing the claimed range of 1.6 to 3.2.
The electrodes of modified Ota are taught to have a suitable size according to usage, particularly, the thickness is the adjusted to be less than 2 mm to reduce internal resistances of the battery (Kaijura: [0012]). The separator of modified Ota allows electrolytic solution to pass through while shielding the electrodes from one another to prevent short circuit (Ota: [0025]).
Ota further teaches that when the amount of electrolyte injected into the battery is too small, cell characteristics are deteriorated ([0055]).
Watari further teaches that if the volume occupied by the electrolyte is small relative to the total pore volume of the electrodes and separators, which additionally relates to the total volume of the electrodes and separators in the battery case, the safety of the battery is improved but the cycle life performance is reduced because the utilization rate of active material decreases which decreases the battery capacity ([0019]). Excess electrolyte, while beneficial to prevent electrolyte depletion, is taught by Watari to hinder lithium ion movement, and if decomposed due to an abnormality, is taught to increase internal battery pressure which increases the risk of the battery exploding and thereby reduces safety ([0018];[0004]).
Shinoda teaches that for nonaqueous electrolyte batteries, the amount of power generating element needs to be increased to increase the capacity of the battery ([0001];[[0025]) .
As such, selection of a volume of electrolyte that provides a ratio of internal case volume to electrolyte solution volume within the claimed range of 1.6 – 3.2, would have would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the effects of the electrolyte amount {i.e. utilization of active material vs. reducing safety/hindering lithium ion movement} and the effects of the electrode/separator size and by extension battery element volume {i.e. effects internal resistances, shielding ability of the separator, and battery capacity} while also ensuring a void space within the battery casing for volume expansion of the electrolyte during abnormalities/high temperature situations , as desired by Ota, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Ota discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Ota further discloses wherein said positive electrode and negative electrode are sintered bodies (Kaijura: [0012];[0014];[0023]).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Ota discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Ota further discloses wherein said positive electrode has a porosity of 15 to 60% (Kaijura: [0014]), which significantly overlaps the claimed range of 20 – 60%.
Kaijura further teaches a preference for porosities of 25 – 50% ([0014]). The taught porosity range allows for an increased amount of active material in the electrode while also allowing for electrolyte to penetrate into the electrode ([0014]).
Since Kaijura already teaches utilizing porosities within the claimed range, selection of a porosity within the overlapping portion of Kaijura’s taught range and the claimed range would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the amount of active material in the positive electrode and the capability of electrolyte to penetrate the positive electrode in modified Ota, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)]
Modified Ota further discloses wherein the mean pore diameter is 0.01 to 100 µm (Kaijura: [0014]), which encompasses the claimed range of 0.1 to 10 µm.
Kaijura further teaches a particular preference for average pore diameters of 0.1 to 10 µm for the electrode ([0014]). Kaijura teaches that pore diameters smaller than 0.01 µm are not suitable for practical use and further do not allow for easy penetration of the electrolyte, and that the diameters must be smaller than 100 µm to protect the electrode structure ([0014]). The diameter is taught by Kaijura to be preferably large such that resistance does not become too large even if the current density becomes comparatively large ([0014]).
Since Kaijura already teaches a particular preference for utilizing mean pore diameters within the claimed range, selection of an mean diameter within the overlapping portion of Kaijura’s taught range and the claimed range would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the capability of the electrolyte to penetrate the electrode, the resistance of the electrode, and structural integrity of the electrode, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)]
Regarding Claim 6, modified Ota discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Ota further discloses wherein said negative electrode has a porosity of 15 to 60% (Kaijura: [0023]), which significantly overlaps the claimed range of 20 – 60%.
Kaijura further teaches a preference for porosities of 25 – 50% ([0014];[0023]). The taught porosity range allows for an increased amount of active material in the electrode while also allowing for electrolyte to penetrate into the electrode ([0014]).
Since Kaijura already teaches utilizing porosities within the claimed range, selection of a porosity within the overlapping portion of Kaijura’s taught range and the claimed range would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the amount of active material in the negative electrode and the capability of electrolyte to penetrate the negative electrode in modified Ota, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)]
Modified Ota further discloses wherein the mean pore diameter is 0.01 to 100 µm (Kaijura: [0023]), which encompasses the claimed range of 0.1 to 10 µm.
Kaijura further teaches a particular preference for average pore diameters of 0.1 to 10 µm for the electrode ([0023]). Kaijura teaches that pore diameters smaller than 0.01 µm are not suitable for practical use and further do not allow for easy penetration of the electrolyte, and that the diameters must be smaller than 100 µm to protect the electrode structure ([0014]). The diameter is taught by Kaijura to be preferably large such that resistance does not become too large even if the current density becomes comparatively large ([0014]).
Since Kaijura already teaches a particular preference for utilizing mean pore diameters within the claimed range, selection of an mean diameter within the overlapping portion of Kaijura’s taught range and the claimed range would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the capability of the electrolyte to penetrate the electrode, the resistance of the electrode, and structure integrity of the electrode, with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation [See MPEP 2144.05(II)]
Regarding Claim 9, modified Ota discloses all limitations as set forth above. In modified Ota, the ratio of the volume of the electrolytic solution to the total pore volume of the positive electrode, negative electrode, and separator of the cell is 120 – 140% {i.e. 1.2 – 1.4} (Watari: ([0015];[0017 – 0019]).
In the instant specification, the applicant indicates that the suppression of capacity loss during reflow soldering is correlated to the cell having an electrolytic solution to void ratio higher than or equal to 1.05 and less than or equal to 2.2 ([0020 – 0021]).
Although modified Ota does not explicitly disclose the coin-type secondary cell having a capacity higher than or equal to 65% of the capacity of the coin-type secondary cell before the reflow soldering, one with ordinary skill in the art would expect modified Ota’s cell to provide a capacity higher than or equal to 65% of the capacity cell before reflow soldering, because modified Ota’s taught ratio is within the range of electrolytic solution to void ratios disclosed by the applicant to achieve such a capacity.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (JP2004079356A), Kaijura (US PG Pub. 2001/0019798 A1), Fukumoto (US PG Pub. 2010/0227207 A1), Watari (JP2001202993A), Yokoyama (US PG Pub. 2017/0054147 A1) and Shinoda (JP2000294295A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyamoto (US 2016/0056468 A1 – cited in previous Office action mailed 09/05/2025).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ota discloses all limitations as set forth above. The negative electrode of modified Ota utilizes a carbon material, an oxide of Groups IIIb-Vb, metallic aluminum, silicon, or a silicon compound as the electrode material, and further has porosity of 15 – 60%, and more particularly, 25 – 50% (Kaijura: [0023]). The positive electrode of modified Ota utilizes a lithium transition metal oxide as the electrode material, and further has a porosity of 15 – 60 %, and more particularly, 25 – 50% (Kaijura: [0013 – 0014]).
In the instant specification, the applicant discloses using materials such Li4Ti5O12 for the negative electrode material and lithium composite oxides for the positive electrode material ([0041];[0031]). The porosity disclosed by applicant for both the negative electrode and positive electrode ranges from 20 – 60% ([0037];[0046]).
Although modified Ota does not explicitly disclose an energy density of 35 to 200 mWh/cm3 before reflow soldering, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect modified Ota’s cell to provide energy densities overlapping or encompassing the claimed range, because modified Ota utilizes electrode materials also taught by the applicant as well as electrode porosities encompassed in the range disclosed by the applicant for the purpose of optimizing energy density in addition to output characteristics.
Miyamoto teaches, for a nonaqueous electrolyte battery, controlling the electrode porosity to optimize both the energy density and cycle property of the battery ([0008];[0059];[0078]). For the negative electrode, Miyamoto teaches a porosity of 25 – 40% and for the positive electrode, Miyamoto teaches a porosity of 20 – 30%. ([0059];[0078]). Miyamoto further teaches, from a viewpoint of capacity and output characteristics, that a carbon material or lithium-transition metal composite oxide is preferable for a negative electrode and a lithium transition metal composite oxide is preferable for a positive electrode ([0030];[0068]).
Selection of a porosity and active material that provides the claimed energy density for modified Ota would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because such energy densities are within the scope of the materials and/or porosities taught by Ota, and, as taught by Miyamoto, such a selection would have a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at a negative and/or positive electrode with an optimized capacity/output characteristics and a battery with an optimized energy density and cycle property.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (JP2004079356A), Kaijura (US PG Pub. 2001/0019798 A1), Fukumoto (US PG Pub. 2010/0227207 A1), Watari (JP2001202993A), Yokoyama (US PG Pub. 2017/0054147 A1) and Shinoda (JP2000294295A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takasugi (JP2002063942A – cited in previous Office action mailed 09/05/2025).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Ota discloses all limitations as set forth above. Ota further discloses wherein the coin-type secondary cell is a lithium secondary cell ([0014]).
Ota teaches that the electrolytic solution includes a high boiling point solvent such as pentaglyme, tetraglyme, sulfolane, 3-methylsulfolane, and/or methyloxazolidinone and, further may include one or more of a one or more of propylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate, and γ-butyrolactone solvent ([0029]). Electrolytic salts taught to be used by Ota include at least one of lithium trifluoromethasulfonate {i.e. LiCF3SO3}, lithium bis(trifluoromethylsulfonyl) imide {i.e. LiN(CF3SO2)2}, and lithium bis(perfluoromethylsulfonyl) imide {i.e. LiN(CF2F5SO2)2} ([0030]).
Modified Ota does not disclose an embodiment of the electrolytic solution containing lithium borofluoride in a nonaqueous solvent composed of at least one kind selected from the group consisting of γ-butyrolactone, ethylene carbonate, and propylene carbonate.
Takasugi teaches a coin-type secondary battery that can withstand reflow soldering temperatures with an electrolyte solution that includes a nonaqueous solvent having a boiling point stable at the reflow temperature ([0011];[0023];[0026]). Supporting electrolyte salts taught by Takasugi include lithium salts such as lithium perchlorate {i.e. LiClO4}, lithium hexafluorophosphate {i.e. LiPF6}, lithium borofluoride {i.e. LiBF4}, lithium hexafluoride {i.e. LiAsF6}, lithium trifluoromethansulfonate {i.e. LiCF3SO3}, lithium bistrifluoromethylsulfonylimide {i.e. LiN(CF3SO2)2}, thiocyanate, and aluminum fluoride ([0027]). Takasugi teaches that, for reflow soldering, LiPF6, LiBF4, and LiCF3SO3 are more thermally and electrically stable than chlorine-based salts such as LiClO4 ([0028]).
Since the electrolyte taught by Takasugi includes salts and solvents also taught by Ota (See solvents in [0023] of Takasugi), and both Takasugi and Ota teach a finite selection of salts and solvents, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include LiBF4 as a salt and at least one of propylene carbonate, ethylene carbonate, and γ-butyrolactone in the solvent of modified Ota’s electrolytic solution, and thus obtain an electrolyte composition within the claimed scope, with a reasonable expectation of success that such a selection would be a suitable salt and solvent combination for the electrolyte of a coin-type secondary cell subjected to high temperature processes such as reflow soldering, as desired by Ota and taught by Takasugi (Ota: [0029 – 0032] and Takasugi: [0023];[0026 – 0028]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (JP2004079356A), Kaijura (US PG Pub. 2001/0019798 A1), Fukumoto (US PG Pub. 2010/0227207 A1), Watari (JP2001202993A), Yokoyama (US PG Pub. 2017/0054147 A1)and Shinoda (JP2000294295A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN203707230U – cited in previous Office action mailed 09/05/2025).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Ota discloses all limitations as set forth above. Ota teaches mounting their coin-type secondary cell to a printed circuit board ([0003];[0005]). Furthermore, while not particularly limiting the size of the battery, Ota exemplifies preparing a coin cell with a diameter of 6.8 mm and thickness of 2.1 mm ([0065]).
Modified Ota does not disclose an embodiment of the coin-type secondary cell wherein the cell has a thickness of 0.7 to 1.6 mm and a diameter of 10 to 20 mm.
In the instant application, the applicant discloses that the claimed size range is necessary to achieve downsizing of the circuit board assembly that includes the claimed coin-type secondary cell ([0024]).
Li teaches a utility model for a button battery ([0006]). One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, when having a significantly small thickness, a button battery has the same shape as a coin cell. Therefore, the sizing of a button battery is similar to that of coin cell. Li further teaches that button batteries having diameters ranging from 4.8 to 30 mm and thicknesses ranging from 1.0 to 7.7 mm are widely used in micro-electronic products due to their small size ([0004]).
Since Ota teaches applying the coin-cell to a circuit board, which one with ordinary skill in the art would appreciate to be applicable in micro-electronics, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when forming modified Ota’s coin cell, to select dimensions from a diameter of 4.8 to 30 mm and a thickness from 1.0 and 7.7 mm, as taught by Li, because such a modification is a change is size and further would have a reasonable expectation success in forming a coin-cell suitable for small-sized electronic applications [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
Furthermore, it would have been within the purview of the one with ordinary skill in the art to specifically select diameters and thicknesses from the taught range that are within the claimed range for the purpose of selecting cell dimensions most appropriate for the taught coin cell application {i.e. mounting to circuit board}.
Conclusion
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751