DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment filed on 12/10/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1, 14, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 2, 11, and 12 were previously cancelled.
Claims 3-10, 13, and 16-19 are as previously presented.
Claim 20 has been added.
Claims 1, 3-10, and 13-20 are pending in this application, with claims 1, 14, and 15 being independent.
Applicant's amendment overcomes the 7/14/2025 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1, 3-10, and 13-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 13-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (WO 2019059539 A1) in view of Friese (US 5172466 A).
Regarding claim 1,
Heo discloses:
A PTC heating device [see fig. 2; para. 0026: “FIG. 2 is a perspective view showing a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater according to an embodiment of the present invention.”; para. 0013: “In order to achieve the above-mentioned object, a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater according to the present invention comprises: … a PTC element inserted into the holder of the PTC frame within the housing…”] comprising:
a PTC element [fig. 3: PTC element #300]; and
a frame element [fig. 3: PTC frame #200]
which forms a recess circumferentially surrounding the PTC element [fig. 3: hollow holder #210; para. 0033: “… a PTC frame (200) installed in the housing (100) and having hollow holders (210) spaced apart at intervals along the longitudinal direction, a PTC element (300) inserted into the holder (210) of the PTC frame (200) within the housing (100)…”] and
being covered on opposed sides thereof by electrically insulating plates [fig. 3: upper frame #110 and lower frame #120, each comprising insulator #500; para. 0033: “As described above, a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater according to the present invention comprises a housing (100) formed by assembling an upper frame (110) and a lower frame (120)… and an insulator (500) interposed between the inner surface of the housing (100) and the terminal plate (400).”] that interact with the frame element for sealing the PTC element in the recess [para. 0034: “First, the housing (100) is a component that forms the exterior by assembling the upper frame (110) and the lower frame (120), and it safely protects the PTC frame (200), PTC element (300), terminal plate (400), and insulation (500) placed inside, while maintaining a solid fixed state.”], wherein
the insulating plates are each provided with a metallization on a portion thereof [fig. 4: terminal plate #400]
the metallization being connected, in an electrically conductive manner, to the PTC element [para. 0033: “…terminal plates (400) arranged to contact the PTC element (300) with the PTC element (300) interposed therebetween…”] and being connected, in an electrically conductive manner, to
an associated contact surface [fig. 3: terminal #410, #420; para. 0033: “…(+) terminals (410) and (-) terminals (420) extending in the longitudinal direction from the terminal plate (400)”] for an electrical connection to the PTC heating device [para. 0053: “The above PTC element (300) is energized by the (+) terminal (410) and the (-) terminal (420) and performs a heating action.”], wherein
each insulating plate [i.e., upper frame #110 and lower frame #120] includes a U-shaped strip [see annotated portion of fig. 3 below]
that is entirely free of metallization due to the metallization [i.e., terminal plate #400] being spaced apart from the longitudinal edges and a lower edge of the insulating plate by a width [Heo discloses that the upper frame #110 and lower frame #120 safely protects the terminal plate #400 placed inside (i.e., the terminal plate #400 does not protrude outside of the housing #100, see para. 0034), and that the terminal plate #400 is further secured in a groove #220 that is ‘sunken’ into the PTC frame #200. Furthermore, since Heo also discloses that the upper frame #110 and the lower frame #120 are joined together along a circumferential direction (see annotated fig. 2 below), there exists a width, along this shared joint surface that is entirely free of terminal plate #400; para. 0049: “In addition, the PTC frame (200) is formed with a terminal receiving groove (220) sunken to a certain depth so that the terminal plate (400) can be received inwardly so that stable surface contact with the terminal plate (400) can be achieved.”; para. 0060: “The upper frame (110) and the lower frame (120) according to the present invention are manufactured in such a way that they are joined together as one piece by welding along the circumferential direction of the joint surface where they are mutually assembled.”], and wherein
[annotated portion of fig. 3]
[annotated fig. 2]
longitudinal tie members of the frame element and a lower transverse tie member of the frame element each have a width [see annotated fig. 3 below]
that is matched with the width of the U-shaped strip of the insulating plates that is entirely free of the metallization [As presented above, the metallization #400 is disposed in a terminal receiving groove #220 formed in the frame element #200, the groove being defined by a width of the outer edges of the frame element (i.e., the longitudinal tie members and the lower transverse tie member of PTC frame #200), wherein the rectangular shape of the outer circumferential edge of the groove corresponds (i.e., matches) to the rectangular shape of the outer circumferential edge of the upper frame #110 and lower frame #120”], and wherein
[annotated fig. 3]
the frame element further comprises an upper transverse tie member that is aligned with an upper edge of the insulating plates that has the metallization [see annotated portion of fig. 3 below].
[annotated portion of fig. 3]
However, Heo does not disclose:
the associated contact surface provided on an outer surface of the electrically insulating plate.
Friese, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a PTC element [fig. 1: PTC resistor track #6] connected to a contact surface [fig. 1: contact areas #7, #7’], provided on an outer surface of an electrically insulating plate [fig. 1: film #1; col. 7, lines 15-17: “Electrical contact areas 7 and 7' composed of Pt/Al203 were printed on the rear side of the base film FILM 1.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the PTC heating device of Heo, by substituting the terminals extending from the metallization, by instead providing equivalent associated contact surfaces on the outer surface of the insulating plates that are electrically connected to the PTC element as taught by Friese, since this would also yield the predictable result of allowing power to be delivered to the PTC element.
Regarding claim 3, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 1.
Heo as modified Friese discloses:
wherein the contact surface on an outer main side surface of the electrically insulating plate is connected in an electrically conductive manner to the metallization on an inner main side surface of the electrically insulating plate by way of at least one via.
Specifically, Friese discloses wherein the contact surface on an outer main side surface of the electrically insulating plate is connected in an electrically conductive manner to the metallization on an inner main side surface of the electrically insulating plate by way of at least one via [fig. 1: interconnecting holes #5, #5'].
Regarding claim 4, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 1.
Heo further discloses:
wherein the electrically insulating plates are flat [see fig. 3 showing flat insulating plates #500].
Regarding claim 5, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 1.
Heo as modified by Friese discloses:
wherein the electrically insulating plates are formed of a ceramic material.
Specifically, Friese teaches the electrically insulating plates [fig. 1: film #1] are formed of a ceramic material [col. 5, lines 14-15: “…an insulation layer 3 and a hermetically sealing frame 4 are printed on a ceramic film Film 1…”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the PTC heating device of Heo, by forming the insulating plates of a ceramic material, as taught by Friese, since this would yield the predictable result of not allowing current to flow through the insulating plate.
Regarding claim 7, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 1.
Heo further discloses the PTC heating device further comprising:
contact plates [fig. 3: terminal #410, #420] which are each electrically connected to an associated contact surface [i.e., another terminal or wire] and which project on one side beyond an associated electrically insulating plate [see fig. 3; para. 0054: “…the (+) terminal (410) and (-) terminal (420) are components that extend outward from one end of the terminal plate (400) in the longitudinal direction and are connected to another terminal or wire that conducts current.”].
Regarding claim 10, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 1.
Heo further discloses:
wherein the PTC heating device is configured to be employed in a motor vehicle [para. 0012: “The present invention has been made to solve the above problems, and the purpose of the present invention is to provide a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater and a manufacturing method thereof, which can further enhance heat dissipation efficiency by improving the joint configuration of the heat rod assembly, and can significantly increase manufacturing speed and productivity through an automated assembly process.”].
Regarding claim 13, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 1.
Heo further discloses:
wherein the upper transverse tie member of the frame element is wider than the lower transverse tie member of the frame element [see annotated portion of fig. 3 below].
[annotated portion of fig. 3]
Regarding claim 14,
Heo discloses:
A PTC heating device [see fig. 2; para. 0026: “FIG. 2 is a perspective view showing a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater according to an embodiment of the present invention.”; para. 0013: “In order to achieve the above-mentioned object, a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater according to the present invention comprises: … a PTC element inserted into the holder of the PTC frame within the housing…”] comprising:
a PTC element [fig. 3: PTC element #300]; and
a frame element [fig. 3: PTC frame #200]
which forms a recess circumferentially surrounding the PTC element [fig. 3: hollow holder #210; para. 0033: “… a PTC frame (200) installed in the housing (100) and having hollow holders (210) spaced apart at intervals along the longitudinal direction, a PTC element (300) inserted into the holder (210) of the PTC frame (200) within the housing (100)…”] and
being covered on opposed sides thereof by electrically insulating plates [fig. 3: upper frame #110 and lower frame #120, each comprising insulator #500; para. 0033: “As described above, a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater according to the present invention comprises a housing (100) formed by assembling an upper frame (110) and a lower frame (120)… and an insulator (500) interposed between the inner surface of the housing (100) and the terminal plate (400).”] that interact with the frame element for sealing the PTC element in the recess [para. 0034: “First, the housing (100) is a component that forms the exterior by assembling the upper frame (110) and the lower frame (120), and it safely protects the PTC frame (200), PTC element (300), terminal plate (400), and insulation (500) placed inside, while maintaining a solid fixed state.”], the frame element including longitudinal tie members, a lower transverse tie member, and an upper transverse tie member at edges thereof [see annotated portions of fig. 3 above], wherein
the insulating plates are each provided with:
a metallization that is connected, in an electrically conductive manner, to the PTC element [fig. 4: terminal plate #400; para. 0033: “…terminal plates (400) arranged to contact the PTC element (300) with the PTC element (300) interposed therebetween…”] and that is connected, in an electrically conductive manner, to
an associated contact surface [fig. 3: terminal #410, #420; para. 0033: “…(+) terminals (410) and (-) terminals (420) extending in the longitudinal direction from the terminal plate (400)”] for an electrical connection to the PTC heating device [para. 0053: “The above PTC element (300) is energized by the (+) terminal (410) and the (-) terminal (420) and performs a heating action.”], and
a U-shaped strip [see annotated portion of fig. 3 above] free of metallization formed by the metallization being spaced apart from the longitudinal edges and a lower edge of the insulating plates by a width [Heo discloses that the upper frame #110 and lower frame #120 safely protects the terminal plate #400 placed inside (i.e., the terminal plate #400 does not protrude outside of the housing #100, see para. 0034), and that the terminal plate #400 is further secured in a groove #220 that is ‘sunken’ into the PTC frame #200. Furthermore, since Heo also discloses that the upper frame #110 and the lower frame #120 are joined together along a circumferential direction (see annotated fig. 2 below), there exists a width, along this shared joint surface that is entirely free of terminal plate #400; para. 0049: “In addition, the PTC frame (200) is formed with a terminal receiving groove (220) sunken to a certain depth so that the terminal plate (400) can be received inwardly so that stable surface contact with the terminal plate (400) can be achieved.”; para. 0060: “The upper frame (110) and the lower frame (120) according to the present invention are manufactured in such a way that they are joined together as one piece by welding along the circumferential direction of the joint surface where they are mutually assembled.”], wherein
the upper transverse tie member is aligned with an upper edge of the insulating plates that has the metallization [see annotated portion of fig. 3 above], while the longitudinal tie members and the lower transverse tie member each have a width that is matched to the width of the U-shaped strip of the insulating plates that is entirely free of the metallization [As presented above, the metallization #400 is disposed in a terminal receiving groove #220 formed in the frame element #200, the groove being defined by a width of the outer edges of the frame element (i.e., the longitudinal tie members and the lower transverse tie member of PTC frame #200), wherein the rectangular shape of the outer circumferential edge of the groove corresponds (i.e., matches) to the rectangular shape of the outer circumferential edge of the upper frame #110 and lower frame #120”].
However, Heo does not disclose:
the associated contact surface provided on an outer surface of the electrically insulating plate.
Friese, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a PTC element [fig. 1: PTC resistor track #6] connected to a contact surface [fig. 1: contact areas #7, #7’], provided on an outer surface of an electrically insulating plate [fig. 1: film #1; col. 7, lines 15-17: “Electrical contact areas 7 and 7' composed of Pt/Al203 were printed on the rear side of the base film FILM 1.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the PTC heating device of Heo, by substituting the terminals extending from the metallization, by instead providing equivalent associated contact surfaces on the outer surface of the insulating plates that are electrically connected to the PTC element as taught by Friese, since this would also yield the predictable result of allowing power to be delivered to the PTC element.
Regarding claim 15,
Heo discloses:
A PTC heating device [see fig. 2; para. 0026: “FIG. 2 is a perspective view showing a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater according to an embodiment of the present invention.”; para. 0013: “In order to achieve the above-mentioned object, a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater according to the present invention comprises: … a PTC element inserted into the holder of the PTC frame within the housing…”] comprising:
a PTC element [fig. 3: PTC element #300]; and
a frame element [fig. 3: PTC frame #200]
which forms a recess circumferentially surrounding the PTC element [fig. 3: hollow holder #210; para. 0033: “… a PTC frame (200) installed in the housing (100) and having hollow holders (210) spaced apart at intervals along the longitudinal direction, a PTC element (300) inserted into the holder (210) of the PTC frame (200) within the housing (100)…”] and
being covered on opposed sides thereof by electrically insulating plates [fig. 3: upper frame #110 and lower frame #120, each comprising insulator #500; para. 0033: “As described above, a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater according to the present invention comprises a housing (100) formed by assembling an upper frame (110) and a lower frame (120)… and an insulator (500) interposed between the inner surface of the housing (100) and the terminal plate (400).”] that interact with the frame element for sealing the PTC element in the recess [para. 0034: “First, the housing (100) is a component that forms the exterior by assembling the upper frame (110) and the lower frame (120), and it safely protects the PTC frame (200), PTC element (300), terminal plate (400), and insulation (500) placed inside, while maintaining a solid fixed state.”], the frame element including longitudinal tie members, a lower transverse tie member, and an upper transverse tie member at edges thereof [see annotated portions of fig. 3 above], wherein
wherein the insulating plates each have an inner main side surface [see fig. 3], which are each provided with
a metallization that is connected, in an electrically conductive manner, to the PTC element [fig. 4: terminal plate #400; para. 0033: “…terminal plates (400) arranged to contact the PTC element (300) with the PTC element (300) interposed therebetween…”];
the metallization being spaced apart from the longitudinal edges and a lower edge of the insulating plate by a width to form a U-shaped strip [see annotated portion of fig. 3 above] that is free of metallization [Heo discloses that the upper frame #110 and lower frame #120 safely protects the terminal plate #400 placed inside (i.e., the terminal plate #400 does not protrude outside of the housing #100, see para. 0034), and that the terminal plate #400 is further secured in a groove #220 that is ‘sunken’ into the PTC frame #200. Furthermore, since Heo also discloses that the upper frame #110 and the lower frame #120 are joined together along a circumferential direction (see annotated fig. 2 below), there exists a width, along this shared joint surface that is entirely free of terminal plate #400; para. 0049: “In addition, the PTC frame (200) is formed with a terminal receiving groove (220) sunken to a certain depth so that the terminal plate (400) can be received inwardly so that stable surface contact with the terminal plate (400) can be achieved.”; para. 0060: “The upper frame (110) and the lower frame (120) according to the present invention are manufactured in such a way that they are joined together as one piece by welding along the circumferential direction of the joint surface where they are mutually assembled.”];
wherein electrically insulating plates each have an outer main side surface provided opposite to the respective inner main side surface [see fig. 3],
wherein each outer main side [fig. 3: terminal #410, #420; para. 0033: “…(+) terminals (410) and (-) terminals (420) extending in the longitudinal direction from the terminal plate (400)”],
wherein the contact surface on the outer main side [fig. 3: terminal #410, #420; para. 0033: “…(+) terminals (410) and (-) terminals (420) extending in the longitudinal direction from the terminal plate (400)”] on the inner main side surface of the electrically insulating plate
wherein the upper transverse tie member is aligned with an upper edge of the insulating plates that has the metallization [see annotated portion of fig. 3 above], while the longitudinal tie members and the lower transverse tie member each have a width that is matched to the width of the U-shaped strip of the insulating plates that is entirely free of the metallization [As presented above, the metallization #400 is disposed in a terminal receiving groove #220 formed in the frame element #200, the groove being defined by a width of the outer edges of the frame element (i.e., the longitudinal tie members and the lower transverse tie member of PTC frame #200), wherein the rectangular shape of the outer circumferential edge of the groove corresponds (i.e., matches) to the rectangular shape of the outer circumferential edge of the upper frame #110 and lower frame #120”].
However, Heo does not disclose:
wherein the electrically insulating plates are formed of a ceramic material,
wherein each outer main side surface is provided with the contact surface,
wherein the contact surface is connected to the metallization on the inner main side surface of the electrically insulating plate by way of a plurality of vias.
Friese, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a PTC element [fig. 1: PTC resistor track #6] connected to a contact surface [fig. 1: contact areas #7, #7’], provided on an outer surface of an electrically insulating plate [fig. 1: film #1; col. 7, lines 15-17: “Electrical contact areas 7 and 7' composed of Pt/Al203 were printed on the rear side of the base film FILM 1.”], wherein the contact surface on the outer main side surface of the electrically insulating plate is connected in an electrically conductive manner to the PTC element on an inner main side surface of the electrically insulating plate by way of at least one via [fig. 1: interconnecting holes #5, #5']. Friese further teaches electrically insulating plates [fig. 1: film #1] that are formed of a ceramic material [col. 5, lines 14-15: “…an insulation layer 3 and a hermetically sealing frame 4 are printed on a ceramic film Film 1…”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the PTC heating device of Heo, by:
substituting the terminals extending from the metallization, by instead providing contact surfaces on the outer main side surface of the insulating plates that are electrically connected to the PTC element by way of at least one via as taught by Friese, since this would also yield the predictable result of allowing power to be delivered to the PTC element, and
forming the insulating plates of a ceramic material, as taught by Friese, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose [i.e., electrical insulation; col. 2, lines 30-31: “Particularly advantageous ceramic films -based on an insulator ceramic”] is within the level of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 17, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 15.
Heo further discloses the PTC heating device further comprising:
contact plates [fig. 3: terminal #410, #420] which are each electrically connected to an associated contact surface [i.e., another terminal or wire] and which project on one side beyond an associated electrically insulating plate [see fig. 3; para. 0054: “…the (+) terminal (410) and (-) terminal (420) are components that extend outward from one end of the terminal plate (400) in the longitudinal direction and are connected to another terminal or wire that conducts current.”].
Regarding claim 19, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 15.
Heo further discloses:
wherein the PTC heating device is configured to be employed in a motor vehicle [para. 0012: “The present invention has been made to solve the above problems, and the purpose of the present invention is to provide a heat rod assembly for a vehicle heater and a manufacturing method thereof, which can further enhance heat dissipation efficiency by improving the joint configuration of the heat rod assembly, and can significantly increase manufacturing speed and productivity through an automated assembly process.”].
Regarding claim 20, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 1.
Heo further discloses:
wherein the U-shaped strip of each insulating plate extends to an upper edge of the respective insulating plate [see fig. 3, showing the outer edge of lower frame #120 (i.e., the U-shaped strip) extending to an upper edge of the lower frame, adjacent the opening that allows terminal #420 to protrude to an exterior of the heating device].
Claims 6, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (WO 2019059539 A1) and Friese (US 5172466 A) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, respectively, and further in view of Wu (US 9927147 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 1.
Heo further discloses:
wherein [see figs. 2 and 3; para. 0033].
However, Heo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a layer with thermal conductivity and electrical conductivity is provided between the PTC element and the metallization.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a layer [fig. 5: contact electrode #24] with thermal conductivity and electrical conductivity [col. 6, lines 36-38: “The compressible conducting layer comprises polymer and a conducting material compounded with the polymer.”] is provided between a PTC element and a metallization [figs. 3-5; col. 6, lines 31-34: “In embodiments of the present disclosure, a contact electrode 24 is disposed between the PTC heating module 20 and each of the electrode plates 23, and adhered to the insulation fixing frame 22 by an adhesive.”], such that the elasticity of the layer allows heat generated by a PTC heating element to be conducted to the metallization fully, and the PTC heating element can be used safely for a long time under high voltage conditions [col. 6, lines 51-59: “Both the compressible conducting layer and the elastic sheet have elasticity so as to reduce the contact resistance and not affect the heat conduction at the interface, comparing with the conventional direct contact between the rigid PTC heating elements 21 and the electrode plates 23. Thus, the heat generated by the PTC heating elements 21 can be conducted to the electrode plates 23 fully, and the PTC heating elements 21 can be used safely for a long time under the high voltage condition.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the PTC heating device of Heo, by providing an elastic layer between the PTC element and the metallization, since Wu teaches that the layer allows heat generated by the PTC heating element to be conducted to the metallization fully, and the PTC heating element can be used safely for a long time under high voltage conditions.
Regarding claim 8, Heo in view of Friese and Wu discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 6.
Heo further discloses the PTC heating device further comprising:
contact plates [fig. 3: terminal #410, #420] which are each electrically connected to an associated contact surface [i.e., another terminal or wire] and project on one side beyond an associated electrically insulating plate [see fig. 3; para. 0054: “…the (+) terminal (410) and (-) terminal (420) are components that extend outward from one end of the terminal plate (400) in the longitudinal direction and are connected to another terminal or wire that conducts current.”].
Regarding claim 16, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 15.
Heo further discloses:
wherein [see figs. 2 and 3; para. 0033].
However, Heo does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a layer with thermal conductivity and electrical conductivity is provided between the PTC element and the metallization.
Wu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a layer [fig. 5: contact electrode #24] with thermal conductivity and electrical conductivity [col. 6, lines 36-38: “The compressible conducting layer comprises polymer and a conducting material compounded with the polymer.”] is provided between a PTC element and a metallization [figs. 3-5; col. 6, lines 31-34: “In embodiments of the present disclosure, a contact electrode 24 is disposed between the PTC heating module 20 and each of the electrode plates 23, and adhered to the insulation fixing frame 22 by an adhesive.”], such that the elasticity of the layer allows heat generated by a PTC heating element to be conducted to the metallization fully, and the PTC heating element can be used safely for a long time under high voltage conditions [col. 6, lines 51-59: “Both the compressible conducting layer and the elastic sheet have elasticity so as to reduce the contact resistance and not affect the heat conduction at the interface, comparing with the conventional direct contact between the rigid PTC heating elements 21 and the electrode plates 23. Thus, the heat generated by the PTC heating elements 21 can be conducted to the electrode plates 23 fully, and the PTC heating elements 21 can be used safely for a long time under the high voltage condition.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the PTC heating device of Heo, by providing an elastic layer between the PTC element and the metallization, since Wu teaches that the layer allows heat generated by the PTC heating element to be conducted to the metallization fully, and the PTC heating element can be used safely for a long time under high voltage conditions.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heo (WO 2019059539 A1) and Friese (US 5172466 A) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, respectively, and further in view of Bohlender (US 20180160480 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Heo in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 1.
However, Heo does not disclose the PTC heating device further comprising:
an electrically insulating collar which circumferentially surrounds the electrically insulating plates and the frame element at a height of the contact surfaces and to which the contact plates are connected.
Bohlender, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a PTC element [figs. 11, 12: PTC element #120], electrically insulating plates [figs. 11, 12: insulation layer #124], contact plates [figs. 11, 12: contact strips #42], and an electrically insulating collar [figs. 11, 12: sealing collar #48] that circumferentially surrounds the electrically insulating plates and the PTC element with the contact plates protruding [see figs. 11 and 12]. Bohlender further teaches that the collar is configured to for a fluid tight seal with a corresponding plug element holding fixture [para. 0051: “For the plug connection established after insertion, the PTC heating element 40 has a sealing collar 48 which is configured to be adapted to the dimension of the plug element holding fixture 44 and is formed from elastomeric material which is sealingly injected into the plug element holding fixture 44, so that the slots 46 are sealed fluidly tight against the circulation chamber 14.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the PTC heating device of Heo, by incorporating the electrically insulating collar of Bohlender, such that it circumferentially surrounds the electrically insulating plates and the frame element at a height of the contact surfaces, since this would allow for a fluid tight seal to be made with a corresponding plug element, as taught by Bohlender.
Regarding claim 18, Wu in view of Friese discloses the PTC heating device according to claim 17.
However, Heo does not disclose the PTC heating device further comprising:
an electrically insulating collar which circumferentially surrounds the electrically insulating plates and the frame element at a height of the contact surfaces and to which the contact plates are connected.
Bohlender, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a PTC element [figs. 11, 12: PTC element #120], electrically insulating plates [figs. 11, 12: insulation layer #124], contact plates [figs. 11, 12: contact strips #42], and an electrically insulating collar [figs. 11, 12: sealing collar #48] that circumferentially surrounds the electrically insulating plates and the PTC element with the contact plates protruding [see figs. 11 and 12]. Bohlender further teaches that the collar is configured to for a fluid tight seal with a corresponding plug element holding fixture [para. 0051: “For the plug connection established after insertion, the PTC heating element 40 has a sealing collar 48 which is configured to be adapted to the dimension of the plug element holding fixture 44 and is formed from elastomeric material which is sealingly injected into the plug element holding fixture 44, so that the slots 46 are sealed fluidly tight against the circulation chamber 14.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the PTC heating device of Heo, by incorporating the electrically insulating collar of Bohlender, such that it circumferentially surrounds the electrically insulating plates and the frame element at a height of the contact surfaces, since this would allow for a fluid tight seal to be made with a corresponding plug element, as taught by Bohlender.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with regards to amended claims 1, 14, and 15, in view of Heo (pp. 7-11), filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In this case, Applicant argues that “Heo fails to disclose each insulating plate having a U-shaped strip that is entirely free of metallization formed by the metallization being spaced apart from the longitudinal edges and the lower edge of the insulating plate, as called for in independent claims 1, 14, and 15. Heo further fails to disclose a frame element having longitudinal tie members and a lower transverse tie member of the frame element each having a width matched with the width of the U-shaped strip, as called for in independent claims 1, 14, and 15.” As presented above, Heo discloses that the metallization (terminal plate 400) is secured in a sunken groove (220) formed on the frame element (PTC frame 200). And while Examiner agrees with Applicant (p. 10) that “It is clear that the terminal plate 400 overlaps at least parts of the lower transverse tie member and the upper transverse tie member,” Examiner maintains that since the terminal plate “received inwardly” by this groove, the outer edges of this groove of the frame element (PTC frame 200) is not overlapped by the metallization. Thus, in view of Heo further disclosing that the outer circumferential edge of the upper and lower frames are welded together to protect the PTC elements, frame element, and metallizations sealed therein, wherein an opening is formed to allow terminals 410/420 to protrude through the housing formed by the insulating plates (110/120) (thereby forming a U-shape), the welded portion of the housing formed by the mating surfaces of the upper and lower frame 110/120 each has a corresponding width along the circumferential edge, shaped similarly (i.e., matching the rectangular shape) to the shape of the width formed by the walls of the groove 220 formed along the outer/exterior edges of the longitudinal tie members and lower transverse tie member of the frame element 200, that would be free of the metallization (since the metallization has been secured in the groove of the frame element, wherein the frame element is sealed by the upper and lower frame of the housing).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JOHN J NORTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761